Reading Reviews for The Rise of the A.W.L.
  
120 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Teddy1993 Victoire's Woes.

17th May 2014:
That was a very good chapter. I loved George in this one. He never fails to annoy Percy.

Author's Response: Percy and George are pretty much polar opposites, aren't they?

Glad you liked the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Teddy1993 The End of Term.

16th May 2014:
Great chapter! I wonder what that look between Fairfax and Angie meant.

Author's Response: You might get some hints as to what the look between them meant in upcoming chapters. Some further information about Angie will be revealed in a couple of chapters.

Glad you liked the chapter. Things will start getting interesting again soon. Had a couple of filler chapters there, but they are coming to an end now.


 Report Review

Review #28, by Teddy1993 Searching for a Key.

16th May 2014:
I wonder what Flitwick was thinking when Rose told him about someone being invisible... Good chapter.

Author's Response: Hmm, that's something that won't ever be explicitly revealed - exactly what Flitwick is thinking, I mean. It'll probably be possible to figure it out when you find out whether or not the person was invisible and if so, how they mastered it, though.

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for your continued reviews.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Teddy1993 The Locked Trunk.

16th May 2014:
I love how you write James. He's exactly how I pictured him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you like James. I haven't shown as much of him as I'd like to, as he doesn't exactly associate with Albus and Rose. He might play a greater part in the chapter I'm currently working on - chapter 28 - though.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #30, by Pheonix Potioneer Blackburn Returns.

15th May 2014:
Yay! Blackburn returned!

I somewhat agree with Kate: I like nice, but strict and hardworking teachers. Not too strict, nothing like the teacher I modeled Professor Dire on where you get her death stare if you answer a question wrong, but teachers that really push you and give you work. As long as they're reasonably kind, I like them. So I disagree with Rose. Laid-back teachers are nice, but they don't really prepare you for the next year if you have a different, tougher teacher. I learned that the hard way.

I really don't think having a different but adequate teacher really affects OWLs. They are learning the same material right? But it is good that they have a teacher subbing most of them know.

I can see why Rose thinks Kate's priorities are messed up, since Kate seems more concerned about the OWLs than the welfare of their teacher, but Rose didn't actually hear the conversation. Maybe Kate is concerned, she just didn't voice it.

Is that whole Kate thing what you meant by Rose's alternating views?

One thing I like about Rose is her very strong morales. She was raised well. I observed that when she had a brief arguement with Dora. Rose is very loyal.

Isn't there some magical makeup or something Blackburn can use to cover up her scars? I'm pretty sure werewolf-inflicted scars cannot be magically taken away, but surely makeup or something will do the trick? What about a color-changing spell to make it the same color as her skin or something to make it less noticeable?

Wow, Scorpius is thinking to be a professional Quidditch player in only his second year? Wow. But I do agree with Rose. What if he changes his mind later on, and he doesn't have the marks. He should at least do a little bit of work. He should certainly have time to juggle both.

Go Teddy! That's nice of him to bring Blackburn out to dinner, but I wonder if there was tension because of the whole love triangle thing. Teddy probably didn't notice, but I'm sure Victoire did.

I agree with Teddy. Someone tampered with the potion. Who? Was it Dora or someone else? If the AWL is popular enough, they could have multiple connected members roaming Hogwarts. There's no easy way to tell.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, that was what I meant about showing an alternative point of view to Rose's. She was describing Merrickson as being really mean, but Kate, Hilda and Blackburn all say she's really nice and a very good teacher. Quite frankly, Rose wasn't really going to like whoever replaced Blackburn unless they were unbelievably nice altogether, just because she wanted to have Blackburn teaching and not anybody else. When I was at college, one of my favourite lecturers left and I had to make a conscious effort NOT to negatively compare the guy who replaced her with her all the time.

I think both Merrickson and Blackburn are good teachers really, just in very different ways. And Rose doesn't mind a lot of other stricter teachers - McGonagall, Fairfax, Jones, to a degree. She's just prejudiced where Merrickson is concerned. Blackburn could do with being a bit stricter sometimes, though.

I would have loved Blackburn when I was at school. I was the kind of kid who usually worked hard for teachers I liked and actually usually worked hard one way or the other, because I wanted to get good grades. If I had a teacher like Dire, I'd probably fail, because I used freak out so much, I did really stupid stuff. I once had a really strict Irish teacher and failed the summer test because I misinterpreted what a question meant, even though I KNEW what it meant, but I just talked myself out of it thinking, "but what if I'm wrong and that word actually means x instead. She'll kill me if I'm wrong. Yeah, it probably does mean x actually. I'd better answer it that way instead." I used feel physically sick before her classes. I might not mind Merrickson, but I'd definitely prefer Blackburn and would probably work extra hard because I'd want to make up for the people being mean to her. Like Rose and Angie, except no way would I have said anything to her like they do.

As regards Kate, you're definitely right that having a sub for a week or two isn't going to make much difference. If they were constantly changing teacher, it MIGHT, since teachers have slightly different styles and it can sometimes be hard to get into a new teacher's style and then sometimes they go back over something because they're not sure where the last teacher left off or something, but that would only be if they were having different subs every few weeks, not just having one in the year.

It's possible Kate is just freaking out because the O.W.L.S. seem pretty important and after all, a lot Ravenclaws are probably serious about their grades. Or there might be something more to her reaction.

I was deliberately avoiding having it too easy for Blackburn to cover the scars, because I wanted to show how embarrassed she is about them. I've read some stories where the person performs a concealment charm or something, but I wanted to show her anxiety.

And Scorpius IS a Slytherin. Ambition is one of their traits. He IS being ridiculously single-minded though. Actually this thing about him not having his homework done is turning into a bigger storyline than I intended.

One of the reasons I want to write these events from Blackburn's point of view is to show what happened between her, Teddy and Victoire. And also to explain about Merrickson not leaving until after breakfast that morning.

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thought you'd be glad to see Blackburn back.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Teddy1993 Investigating Again.

15th May 2014:
I wonder what Hermione would think if she knew Rose is pretty much doing the exact same thing as she, Harry and Ron used to do while they were at Hogwarts... :) Great chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* I'm not sure she'd be too pleased, to be honest. Ron would probably be proud, though. And of course, Rose isn't doing anything quite as dangerous as they did, as the A.W.L. are hardly comparable with Voldemort. You will hear Hermione making comments about the issue later on. She doesn't know, but she can guess a fair amount.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Teddy1993 The Hallowe'en Feast.

15th May 2014:
Great chapter again. You write really well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Teddy1993 Celebrations.

15th May 2014:
Very good chapter. That is indeed a nasty surprise. Things seem to be escalating again. I'm curious to see what will happen next.

Author's Response: Oh, there is worse in store than just vandalism /spoiler. But yes, things are getting nasty.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Teddy1993 Tensions Remain.

15th May 2014:
I think Draco is quite right telling Lucius he should stay out of politics after all he did in the past. I liked the eagle's question. It can't be easy to keep coming up with these. Good chapter.

Author's Response: No, it REALLY isn't easy to come up with them. I think they get worse as they go along actually, so glad you liked that one. I'm skipping them where I can, but obviously sometimes they're unavoidable.

And yes, Lucius should DEFINITELY stay out of politics. The Malfoys don't need any more bad publicity. He got away with a lot really and he'd be better off just being pleased with that.

Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #35, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw versus Slytherin.

15th May 2014:
I didn't expect Scorpius to turn up as the Slytherin Seeker, although it isn't really a surprise if you think about it. Great chapter!

Author's Response: You'll get a bit more about Scorpius as this story progresses. Albus and Rose are getting to know him a bit better now than they did in 1st year.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Teddy1993 The Full Moon.

14th May 2014:
I liked how you included the part about Ancient Runes. We saw very little of that in the books. I'm sure Blackburn could use some support from her students, which seems to be exactly what Rose and her friends want to give her. Too bad there are also students like Dora and Felicity. Their behaviour must make her feel even more insecure. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the stuff about Ancient Runes. As Rose and Albus will not necessarily take the same subjects as Harry did, we will be seeing some different subjects when I get to third and fourth year, so I wanted to introduce some of the other teachers. I also wanted to show some staff changes since Harry's day.

Yeah, Blackburn really could do with some support. It's a bit difficult though, when it comes to younger students, because she is grateful for their support, but at the same time, she obviously doesn't want to worry them.

Students like Dora and Felicity are DEFINITELY adding to her worries, though probably for slightly different reasons. Having Dora around is just generally worrying and it MUST be rather down-heartening to think somebody is terrified of you because of something you can't help.


 Report Review

Review #37, by Teddy1993 Reignited Fears.

14th May 2014:
Good chapter. I can see how Rose would be annoyed by the behaviour of the first years.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you are continuing to enjoy the story.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Teddy1993 The Ravenclaw Seeker.

13th May 2014:
I'm glad Albus made the team. I'm already looking forward to the game between Ravenclaw and Gryffindor. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Might be a while before Ravenclaw and Gryffindor play. I've been planning their match for third year, actually. I've more ideas for that than the second year one.

Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Teddy1993 Quidditch Try-Outs.

13th May 2014:
I think it's rather strange that a good teacher as Blackburn must fear for her job because she is a werewolf, while a lousy teacher as Binns has kept his job for years without anyone ever questioning it.

Good job on the Quidditch try-outs. I hope Albus makes the team, despite the fact he's only in his second year. Harry was only a first year when he made the Gryffindor team after all.

I liked the ending. James is surely bound to react when someone would disrespect Lupin. Although he never knew him, I'm sure Harry and Ginny would have told their children all about him. Great chapter. Very well written.

Author's Response: The wizarding world is a bit crazy sometimes. I can sort of see why parents would be worried about a werewolf living at the school with their children, particularly after what almost happened with Remus, but there has to be ways around that; after all it's only one night a month. And how Binns keeps his job is anybody's guess. He completely ignores anything that isn't "verifiable fact" for a start, which in history leaves out a lot of the most interesting stuff.

And yeah, James DEFINITELY wouldn't take too kindly to anybody disrespecting Remus. He might not have met him personally, but he considers Teddy a big brother and he knows how Teddy'd feel if he saw somebody treat his father's memory like that. And he knows how Harry felt about Remus too.

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #40, by Teddy1993 The Howler.

13th May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm curious to what will happen next.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. It's one of my favourites. Yeah, I do like torturing my characters. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Teddy1993 Professor Fairfax.

12th May 2014:
Nathan definitely gives Neville a run for his money. I'm feeling quite bad for Blackburn. She must be having a really tough time. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, Nathan has a good deal in common with Neville. He's rather more academic than Neville is, though.

And yes, Blackburn is DEFINITELY having a tough time. And over the next few chapters, it's only going to get worse.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Teddy1993 Remembering the Dead.

10th May 2014:
You would think that Dora would cool down a bit after Rose and Albus put her in her place last year, but she seems to be just as arrogant as before. I liked the Sorting Hat Song. Harry's speech was well written. I liked that you didn't drag it out too long, losing the interest of the reader. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the Sorting Hat's song. I usually avoid them, but an idea for this one just came to me in the middle of the night and I wrote it down with a pencil in a notebook.

Glad you liked Harry's speech too. This whole thing about commemorating the dead of the war only occurred to me when I was writing chapter 2 and figured they should come to SOME conclusion. But it came to play a pretty major part in the story.

One rather coincidental thing. I was planning the conversation about Remus in chapter three one day when travelling by train in Dublin and was wondering to what degree he'd be remembered, then realised I was in Connolly station, named after James Connolly, one of the leaders in the fight for Irish independence.

As for Dora, well, that's going to remain a question.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Teddy1993 A Barbecue at the Burrow.

10th May 2014:
Great chapter. I like the scene at the Burrow. Of course Arthur would want to barbecue like Muggles. Percy was kind of a jerk in this chapter. It seems like he hasn't changed for the better.

Author's Response: Yeah, I got a bit of amusement out of Arthur being Arthur and everybody else being like "you'll burn down the house."

And yes, Percy hasn't changed. There'll be more about that in year three actually (provisional title: "The Pawn in the Game").

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #44, by Teddy1993 Diagon Alley.

10th May 2014:
Good chapter. Your writing is very good.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Teddy1993 A Council of War.

9th May 2014:
Good chapter. I wasn't surprised to see that Hermione is still as passionate about these things as before. Maybe we'll even witness a new feud with Rita Skeeter.

Author's Response: Yeah, Hermione is still fighting causes. She has calmed down a little though, to the point that she realises it should be the choice of the people actually involved rather than her forcing her views on them. But she does want to increase equality in the wizarding world.

And she is NOT fond of Rita Skeeter.

Thanks again for your reviews.


 Report Review

Review #46, by Teddy1993 Professor Blackburn's Secret.

9th May 2014:
Ha! I knew it :D Great first chapter. I'm interested to see where you'll be taking this.

Author's Response: *grins* I think you guessed that quicker than anybody else. A couple of other people did guess, but not until close to the end of the story, not right as soon as she started behaving oddly.

Oh, things are going to get rough for poor Blackburn, believe me.


 Report Review

Review #47, by Pheonix Potioneer Instant Invisibility Powder.

27th April 2014:
I didn't realize you had another chapter up!

Yes, I think I like Professor Basil Fronsac too. He sounds like an amazing teacher.

Yes, Fronsac does have a good point, that it's possible that something may have happened and he just didn't notice. And good for McGonagall, going around talking to portraits. She must be worried.

Wow, Scorpius is certainly dedicated. But then, what else does Scorpius have to do? Nothing.

That's smart for Rose to think of the Instant Invisibility Powder! I hadn't thought of that myself. Even if she didn't use Rose's, and Dora didn't have powder herself, Dora could have easily stolen someone else's. Surely somebody besides Rose in her dormitory had invibility powder. Why would Dora steal Rose's? She already knows Rose is suspicious. If Dora used Instant Invisibility Powder that is not her own, then she would have taken a person's who doesn't suspect anything. Then, there is the possibility Dora put her own powder in a spot where Rose didn't look.

I found Filch complaining about Mrs. Norris the third hilarious. Ha ha Filch. He really should retire, but won't be able to do so as long as there is mischief in the building.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks for the review. I wasn't sure if you'd seen the chapter was up or not.

McGonagall is definitely worried. If somebody DID tamper with the potion, it's pretty nasty. I'm tempted to write these events from Blackburn's point of view as a separate story, to give some indication of the teachers' perspective, since they aren't exactly going to take Rose into their confidence.

And that's a REALLY good point about how Dora could easily get hold of Instant Invisibility Powder without using Rose's and why it'd make no sense to use Rose's. Although Dora might DO just that to wind Rose up, knowing there was no way Rose could prove it was her.

Another reviewer mentioned Instant Invisibility Powder and it reminded me it had been a long time since I referred to it and I ought to bring it up again to remind people.

Glad you liked the part about Filch and his current cat. I was thinking having Mrs. Norris still around as a ghost, but then I thought it'd be funnier if he was trying to get another cat to spy on students like she did and they wouldn't. Especially since Rose and Albus aren't really major rule breakers, so there isn't as much fun to be gained from a cat who constantly spies on rule breakers.

And you'll see more of Scorpius's dedication as time goes on. Remember he IS a Slytherin and ambition is one of the Slytherin traits, so if he wants to do well at something, he'll work hard at it.


 Report Review

Review #48, by DracosGirl012 Instant Invisibility Powder.

21st April 2014:
Perhaps who ever it is does have instand invisibility powder of their own, as Albus suggested? It was a bit strange that none of the portraits saw anything, which certainly leads one to believe that the culprit was invisible. However I think it might not be Dora, though she's a likely suspect. It seems far too obvious that it WAS Dora, and she's one of those people that would brag about it. Certainly she's a suspect but that doesn't necessarily mean she actually did it. Maybe she just helped who ever it was. But I am curious to know what was in her trunk before. Perhaps it was something that would get her in trouble, but not anything actually relating to the incident with the memorial?
Anyhow, it was a wonderful chapter. I loved seeing Scorpius, and it made me laugh that he would be willing to practice Quidditch in a snowstorm. I can't wait to see what happens next!! :)
Hope you had a good Easter!!

Author's Response: Yeah, I had a good Easter. Hope you did too.

One thing I will point out here is that the story is being written from Rose's point of view, which isn't necessarily synonymous with objective reality. Her theories and even her basic assumptions can definitely be wrong.

You've noticed some significant things here. Can't say much more than that. It IS interesting none of the portraits noticed anything.

Glad you liked the chapter. It was a bit of an annoying one to write, because while there are some clues in it, there isn't really much happening.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #49, by HogwartsAlum Letters.

7th April 2014:
Hello, I have just read The Writing on the Walls and this in 2 days,haha. And although I loved the last story, this one is making me not like Rose too much. Maybe it is just me I don't know. Angie has become one of my favorite characters though. Maybe if you make a story about third year you can have her go and stay at Rose's for the summer since she has a rough family life. cant wait for the next chapter to see what happens next oh and in my personal opinion I think it is Fairfax and he used the Weasley's invisibility powder to change Lupin's face. And why hasn't anyone used the secret parchment from George it could make things easier then hiding in empty classrooms.

Author's Response: Oh wow, you read both stories in two days. I LOVE hearing that.

I think Rose is irritating a lot of people. *laughs* I was afraid of her coming across as too perfect in The Writing on the Wall, because she sort of has Hermione's intelligence and resourcefulness, without her insecurity or the same degree of obsession with rules. So maybe I've pushed back a bit too far to the opposite extent. She does just seem determined to fight with everybody though. I hadn't planned for her to get into half the fights she does.

A lot of people also seem to like Angie, which I find strange, since I only meant her to be a background character and somebody to act a little suspiciously in The Writing on the Wall. *laughs* I'm glad people like her though.

I LOVE hearing who and what people suspect because it tells me whether I'm giving too much or too little information or just the right amount.

Fairfax, hmm. Well, he certainly has the easiest access to the potion, doesn't he? He wouldn't even have to sneak around or anything. They are going to ask a few questions of the portraits in the next chapter, so that could possibly give some indication as to whether or not anybody's been seen sneaking into his office. Though if they can become invisible...

You are good at keeping note of things that have been mentioned. The powder would DEFINITELY be possible for the hexing of the statue. It only lasts a few minutes, but they'd only have to go out as far as the door, then pretend they were coming in for some other reason, if it was Fairfax or another teacher or a prefect, anyway. If it was somebody like a 1st or 2nd year, it might be a BIT more difficult, but not much. At worst, the teachers and all would probably think they were just trying to sneak a glance at how the hall was being decorated or to see what entertainment was planned or something.

As regards the parchment, Rose wanted to persuade Albus to go out in the cold with her in the first instance and in the second, she wanted to actually show him the letter without anybody noticing and also convince him to go questioning the portraits. I think it'd be easier for him to say no if she just wrote to him. But yeah, it'd definitely make life easier.

Thank you so much for the review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Pheonix Potioneer Letters.

6th April 2014:
Yes, it does answer a few questions about the potion! I love it when I ask questions and they're answered a few chapters later.

Wow. One, it's nice for the seventh year class to collaborate and send Blackburn a letter in the first place, and two, it's nice for Blackburn to reply back. *smiles* It's moments like that when I love people. *hugs them all*

Sort of near-ish to the beginning of the chapter, Rose says, "... Did she say anything about what the letter is supposed to have said." One, there is two spaces between "supposed" and "to" and two, the line should end in a question mark, not a period.

I find it amusing that Rose is freaking out about talking to a Quidditch captain. I remember those days when if I had to talk to a high school student, I would suddenly get really nervous.

I'm surprised Hermione's letter actually held some useful information, and wasn't completely useless like all the other adults.

Poor Rose, going through the "It's my fault" phase. That's never fun. It's not her fault.

When Rose got the letter, I was thinking "I hope nobody else finds this" but then Rose burned the letter! I was so proud of her.

Even though she's about to s=investigate again, I didn't scold Rose at all this chapter! Yay!

Can't wait to find out what goes on next!

Author's Response: When you asked those questions, I was thinking "oh, you'll find out soon", because I've been planning Hermione's letter since like last June or something.

And yeah, sending that letter to Blackburn was nice, wasn't it? I wanted to give her a nice 7th year class, because they are almost adults (well, they ARE legally adults by the standards of the wizarding world) and are old enough to be sympathetic and have some idea what she's going through. And also probably old enough to make things pretty tough on her if they WEREN'T nice.

One of the reasons I want to write the spin-off from Blackburn's point of view is to actually write those letters and show her reaction when she gets the letter and stuff.

I've sorted out those issues with that sentence and also done some other editing, as there are a few oddly-phrased sentences. Nothing that changes the meaning of what's happened though.

And yeah, a few years is a long time when you're 13. Actually, when I was in 5th year (I don't know if I mentioned that 4th year is optional here, so there were girls in my class who'd turned 17 before I turned 16), I was actually kind of shy around the girls just one year (or in some cases as little as about 3 months) older than me. *laughs*

The adults aren't really useless. Harry gave them some pretty useful information in 1st year and they are rather more up on things than Rose and Albus know. Like Hermione said to Rose at the beginning of this story, "whatever you might think, I haven't exactly been sitting around, doing nothing". Rose just kind of tends to assume if she doesn't know about something, it's not happening.

And yeah, it's not Rose's fault.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>