Reading Reviews for The Rise of the A.W.L.
  
128 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Teddy1993 Howling at the Moon.

28th May 2014:
Wow, Kreacher is still alive! He must be about a hundred years old now :D

I thought Fairfax was a bit of a jerk in this one. I can understand that a teacher is strict and gives a detention when someone doesn't turn in their homework twice in a row, but scheduling the detention on the same time as a Quidditch match seems a bit harsh. Especially because Scorpius didn't do something terrible.

Great chapter! I'm looking forward to reading more of your story.

Author's Response: Yeah, Kreacher must be pretty old all right.

Fairfax is pretty strict and isn't the sort of teacher to value things like extra-curricular activities. He thinks students should put their studies first. And it WAS pretty disrespectful for Scorpius to continue practicing Quidditch and not finish the punishment exercise he got for practicing Quidditch and not completing his homework. The punishment WAS a little over the top though.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Teddy1993 Blackburn Returns.

24th May 2014:
I'm still not convinced about Dora... :) I guess we'll find out in due time. It was good to see Blackburn back on her feet (more or les). Although her problems are far from over. Great chapter! I'll be looking forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Yeah, Blackburn isn't having the easiest time, but she has physically recovered at least, even if she's still dealing with the effects of the shock.

The next chapter shouldn't be TOO long. I'm working on it now. I'd imagine it'll be up within a week or so anyway. After that updates might slow up a bit, as I'm very busy in June and July, both at work and because one of my best friends is getting married


 Report Review

Review #28, by Teddy1993 Instant Invisibility Powder.

24th May 2014:
I'm still not convinced that Dora has something to do with it. Sure, her history and her connection to the A.W.L. makes her an easy suspect, but I think it might be a bit too obvious. And what to say about Fairfax? We really don't know much about him, what makes me think he tries to keep low profile. And he would of course be in the perfect position to tamper with the Wolfsbane potion. Great story so far. I'm really enjoying it!

Author's Response: Hmm, Fairfax? I think you're the second person to suspect him and he's definitely a good suspect. It would be easier for him to tamper with the potion than it would be for anybody else.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Teddy1993 Letters.

24th May 2014:
Another great chapter! You write very well. This is one of the first next gen series I read and it really impressed me so far. Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews. Really glad you're enjoying it. I love next gen, due to the freedom it allows. Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Teddy1993 Professor Merrickson

24th May 2014:
I think you write Neville very well. He reminds me a bit of Remus in his interaction with the students. I sure hope everything is alright with Blackburn and she will be able to teach soon. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted to show Neville as having come full circle and being as supportive of his students, and of others like Blackburn, as people like Remus were of him.

As you know now, there is more information about how Blackburn is handling things over the next few chapters.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Teddy1993 Things Fall Apart.

24th May 2014:
Good chapter. I liked McGonagall in this one. She really seems to be a good headmistress, looking out for both her students and teachers.

Author's Response: Yeah, for all her sternness, McGonagall is pretty kind really, isn't she?

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Teddy1993 Their Greatest Fears.

24th May 2014:
That was an amazing chapter. I've been wondering about Angie for quite some time now and I love the explanation you gave about her home situation. Great work!

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks. This is one of my own favourite chapters, so glad you liked it too.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Teddy1993 Clean Slates.

18th May 2014:
Well that must have been an anticlimax for Rose. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #34, by Teddy1993 Victoire's Woes.

17th May 2014:
That was a very good chapter. I loved George in this one. He never fails to annoy Percy.

Author's Response: Percy and George are pretty much polar opposites, aren't they?

Glad you liked the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #35, by Teddy1993 The End of Term.

16th May 2014:
Great chapter! I wonder what that look between Fairfax and Angie meant.

Author's Response: You might get some hints as to what the look between them meant in upcoming chapters. Some further information about Angie will be revealed in a couple of chapters.

Glad you liked the chapter. Things will start getting interesting again soon. Had a couple of filler chapters there, but they are coming to an end now.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Teddy1993 Searching for a Key.

16th May 2014:
I wonder what Flitwick was thinking when Rose told him about someone being invisible... Good chapter.

Author's Response: Hmm, that's something that won't ever be explicitly revealed - exactly what Flitwick is thinking, I mean. It'll probably be possible to figure it out when you find out whether or not the person was invisible and if so, how they mastered it, though.

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for your continued reviews.


 Report Review

Review #37, by Teddy1993 The Locked Trunk.

16th May 2014:
I love how you write James. He's exactly how I pictured him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you like James. I haven't shown as much of him as I'd like to, as he doesn't exactly associate with Albus and Rose. He might play a greater part in the chapter I'm currently working on - chapter 28 - though.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Pheonix Potioneer Blackburn Returns.

15th May 2014:
Yay! Blackburn returned!

I somewhat agree with Kate: I like nice, but strict and hardworking teachers. Not too strict, nothing like the teacher I modeled Professor Dire on where you get her death stare if you answer a question wrong, but teachers that really push you and give you work. As long as they're reasonably kind, I like them. So I disagree with Rose. Laid-back teachers are nice, but they don't really prepare you for the next year if you have a different, tougher teacher. I learned that the hard way.

I really don't think having a different but adequate teacher really affects OWLs. They are learning the same material right? But it is good that they have a teacher subbing most of them know.

I can see why Rose thinks Kate's priorities are messed up, since Kate seems more concerned about the OWLs than the welfare of their teacher, but Rose didn't actually hear the conversation. Maybe Kate is concerned, she just didn't voice it.

Is that whole Kate thing what you meant by Rose's alternating views?

One thing I like about Rose is her very strong morales. She was raised well. I observed that when she had a brief arguement with Dora. Rose is very loyal.

Isn't there some magical makeup or something Blackburn can use to cover up her scars? I'm pretty sure werewolf-inflicted scars cannot be magically taken away, but surely makeup or something will do the trick? What about a color-changing spell to make it the same color as her skin or something to make it less noticeable?

Wow, Scorpius is thinking to be a professional Quidditch player in only his second year? Wow. But I do agree with Rose. What if he changes his mind later on, and he doesn't have the marks. He should at least do a little bit of work. He should certainly have time to juggle both.

Go Teddy! That's nice of him to bring Blackburn out to dinner, but I wonder if there was tension because of the whole love triangle thing. Teddy probably didn't notice, but I'm sure Victoire did.

I agree with Teddy. Someone tampered with the potion. Who? Was it Dora or someone else? If the AWL is popular enough, they could have multiple connected members roaming Hogwarts. There's no easy way to tell.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, that was what I meant about showing an alternative point of view to Rose's. She was describing Merrickson as being really mean, but Kate, Hilda and Blackburn all say she's really nice and a very good teacher. Quite frankly, Rose wasn't really going to like whoever replaced Blackburn unless they were unbelievably nice altogether, just because she wanted to have Blackburn teaching and not anybody else. When I was at college, one of my favourite lecturers left and I had to make a conscious effort NOT to negatively compare the guy who replaced her with her all the time.

I think both Merrickson and Blackburn are good teachers really, just in very different ways. And Rose doesn't mind a lot of other stricter teachers - McGonagall, Fairfax, Jones, to a degree. She's just prejudiced where Merrickson is concerned. Blackburn could do with being a bit stricter sometimes, though.

I would have loved Blackburn when I was at school. I was the kind of kid who usually worked hard for teachers I liked and actually usually worked hard one way or the other, because I wanted to get good grades. If I had a teacher like Dire, I'd probably fail, because I used freak out so much, I did really stupid stuff. I once had a really strict Irish teacher and failed the summer test because I misinterpreted what a question meant, even though I KNEW what it meant, but I just talked myself out of it thinking, "but what if I'm wrong and that word actually means x instead. She'll kill me if I'm wrong. Yeah, it probably does mean x actually. I'd better answer it that way instead." I used feel physically sick before her classes. I might not mind Merrickson, but I'd definitely prefer Blackburn and would probably work extra hard because I'd want to make up for the people being mean to her. Like Rose and Angie, except no way would I have said anything to her like they do.

As regards Kate, you're definitely right that having a sub for a week or two isn't going to make much difference. If they were constantly changing teacher, it MIGHT, since teachers have slightly different styles and it can sometimes be hard to get into a new teacher's style and then sometimes they go back over something because they're not sure where the last teacher left off or something, but that would only be if they were having different subs every few weeks, not just having one in the year.

It's possible Kate is just freaking out because the O.W.L.S. seem pretty important and after all, a lot Ravenclaws are probably serious about their grades. Or there might be something more to her reaction.

I was deliberately avoiding having it too easy for Blackburn to cover the scars, because I wanted to show how embarrassed she is about them. I've read some stories where the person performs a concealment charm or something, but I wanted to show her anxiety.

And Scorpius IS a Slytherin. Ambition is one of their traits. He IS being ridiculously single-minded though. Actually this thing about him not having his homework done is turning into a bigger storyline than I intended.

One of the reasons I want to write these events from Blackburn's point of view is to show what happened between her, Teddy and Victoire. And also to explain about Merrickson not leaving until after breakfast that morning.

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thought you'd be glad to see Blackburn back.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Teddy1993 Investigating Again.

15th May 2014:
I wonder what Hermione would think if she knew Rose is pretty much doing the exact same thing as she, Harry and Ron used to do while they were at Hogwarts... :) Great chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* I'm not sure she'd be too pleased, to be honest. Ron would probably be proud, though. And of course, Rose isn't doing anything quite as dangerous as they did, as the A.W.L. are hardly comparable with Voldemort. You will hear Hermione making comments about the issue later on. She doesn't know, but she can guess a fair amount.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Teddy1993 The Hallowe'en Feast.

15th May 2014:
Great chapter again. You write really well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Teddy1993 Celebrations.

15th May 2014:
Very good chapter. That is indeed a nasty surprise. Things seem to be escalating again. I'm curious to see what will happen next.

Author's Response: Oh, there is worse in store than just vandalism /spoiler. But yes, things are getting nasty.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Teddy1993 Tensions Remain.

15th May 2014:
I think Draco is quite right telling Lucius he should stay out of politics after all he did in the past. I liked the eagle's question. It can't be easy to keep coming up with these. Good chapter.

Author's Response: No, it REALLY isn't easy to come up with them. I think they get worse as they go along actually, so glad you liked that one. I'm skipping them where I can, but obviously sometimes they're unavoidable.

And yes, Lucius should DEFINITELY stay out of politics. The Malfoys don't need any more bad publicity. He got away with a lot really and he'd be better off just being pleased with that.

Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw versus Slytherin.

15th May 2014:
I didn't expect Scorpius to turn up as the Slytherin Seeker, although it isn't really a surprise if you think about it. Great chapter!

Author's Response: You'll get a bit more about Scorpius as this story progresses. Albus and Rose are getting to know him a bit better now than they did in 1st year.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Teddy1993 The Full Moon.

14th May 2014:
I liked how you included the part about Ancient Runes. We saw very little of that in the books. I'm sure Blackburn could use some support from her students, which seems to be exactly what Rose and her friends want to give her. Too bad there are also students like Dora and Felicity. Their behaviour must make her feel even more insecure. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the stuff about Ancient Runes. As Rose and Albus will not necessarily take the same subjects as Harry did, we will be seeing some different subjects when I get to third and fourth year, so I wanted to introduce some of the other teachers. I also wanted to show some staff changes since Harry's day.

Yeah, Blackburn really could do with some support. It's a bit difficult though, when it comes to younger students, because she is grateful for their support, but at the same time, she obviously doesn't want to worry them.

Students like Dora and Felicity are DEFINITELY adding to her worries, though probably for slightly different reasons. Having Dora around is just generally worrying and it MUST be rather down-heartening to think somebody is terrified of you because of something you can't help.


 Report Review

Review #45, by Teddy1993 Reignited Fears.

14th May 2014:
Good chapter. I can see how Rose would be annoyed by the behaviour of the first years.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you are continuing to enjoy the story.

 Report Review

Review #46, by Teddy1993 The Ravenclaw Seeker.

13th May 2014:
I'm glad Albus made the team. I'm already looking forward to the game between Ravenclaw and Gryffindor. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Might be a while before Ravenclaw and Gryffindor play. I've been planning their match for third year, actually. I've more ideas for that than the second year one.

Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #47, by Teddy1993 Quidditch Try-Outs.

13th May 2014:
I think it's rather strange that a good teacher as Blackburn must fear for her job because she is a werewolf, while a lousy teacher as Binns has kept his job for years without anyone ever questioning it.

Good job on the Quidditch try-outs. I hope Albus makes the team, despite the fact he's only in his second year. Harry was only a first year when he made the Gryffindor team after all.

I liked the ending. James is surely bound to react when someone would disrespect Lupin. Although he never knew him, I'm sure Harry and Ginny would have told their children all about him. Great chapter. Very well written.

Author's Response: The wizarding world is a bit crazy sometimes. I can sort of see why parents would be worried about a werewolf living at the school with their children, particularly after what almost happened with Remus, but there has to be ways around that; after all it's only one night a month. And how Binns keeps his job is anybody's guess. He completely ignores anything that isn't "verifiable fact" for a start, which in history leaves out a lot of the most interesting stuff.

And yeah, James DEFINITELY wouldn't take too kindly to anybody disrespecting Remus. He might not have met him personally, but he considers Teddy a big brother and he knows how Teddy'd feel if he saw somebody treat his father's memory like that. And he knows how Harry felt about Remus too.

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #48, by Teddy1993 The Howler.

13th May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm curious to what will happen next.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. It's one of my favourites. Yeah, I do like torturing my characters. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #49, by Teddy1993 Professor Fairfax.

12th May 2014:
Nathan definitely gives Neville a run for his money. I'm feeling quite bad for Blackburn. She must be having a really tough time. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, Nathan has a good deal in common with Neville. He's rather more academic than Neville is, though.

And yes, Blackburn is DEFINITELY having a tough time. And over the next few chapters, it's only going to get worse.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Teddy1993 Remembering the Dead.

10th May 2014:
You would think that Dora would cool down a bit after Rose and Albus put her in her place last year, but she seems to be just as arrogant as before. I liked the Sorting Hat Song. Harry's speech was well written. I liked that you didn't drag it out too long, losing the interest of the reader. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the Sorting Hat's song. I usually avoid them, but an idea for this one just came to me in the middle of the night and I wrote it down with a pencil in a notebook.

Glad you liked Harry's speech too. This whole thing about commemorating the dead of the war only occurred to me when I was writing chapter 2 and figured they should come to SOME conclusion. But it came to play a pretty major part in the story.

One rather coincidental thing. I was planning the conversation about Remus in chapter three one day when travelling by train in Dublin and was wondering to what degree he'd be remembered, then realised I was in Connolly station, named after James Connolly, one of the leaders in the fight for Irish independence.

As for Dora, well, that's going to remain a question.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>