Reading Reviews for The Rise of the A.W.L.
  
135 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Veritaserum27 A Barbecue at the Burrow.

18th June 2014:
Hi!

Yay! An all Weasley chapter. I just love this family and I really liked that we got to see all of them interacting with each other on a regular sort of day.

Again, I am in love with your characterizations. You write each and every person with a specific personality. It comes through in their language, their actions AND how the other characters react to them as well. Not to mention the fact that you've kept true to canon with every character from the books and still have managed to find a distinct voice for each next gen character. Well done!

Haha - Mr. Weasely just has to be my favorite! He will be fascinated by muggles and their "gadgets" until his dying day. I felt bad for poor Derek, who was forced to work the grill with him and (I'm sure) answer question after question about the muggle world.

It is obvious that Rose and Hugo are close, and that Hugo is still a bit whiny from time to time. I liked the part where Hugo, Lily (and even Rose a little bit) were tired of hanging out with their younger cousins. Most of the time, the Weasleys are portrayed as getting on with each other so well, it is more realistic when there are family members who annoy each other. Perhaps they will all be better friends when they are a bit older.

So Percy is still a bit of a jerk, huh? Always focusing on the important things - like who you know and how much credit you get. I'm sure that he isn't intentionally being mean to Molly, but that is so cruel to tell a young girl that she needs to lose weight. I hope this doesn't have any negative repercussions for her down the line. :(

Rose is so like Hermione. She is so responsible and organized - packing days ahead of time. The little details you put in about her personality make me laugh!

I love how the Potter family is so much more laid back than the Ron Weasleys. They show up late to the train, but are not fussed over it. Hey, they got there before the train left, didn't they?

Who is this Felicity girl? I am a little concerned that her mother could cause some trouble for Professor Blackburn. Great way to end the chapter - a little bit of intrigue.

Until next time!

Beth

Author's Response: Felicity is a stranger to everybody at the moment. You'll see more of her as the story progresses. She's actually the daughter of one of the people who wrote into the Daily Prophet, complaining about how they didn't want a werewolf teaching their child.

And OH, there will be plenty of trouble for Blackburn before this story is out. Whether Felicity's mum is involved or not remains to be seen. And that's all I'm saying on that matter.

I didn't want to make all the Weasley cousins super-close, because honestly, there is little or nothing in canon to imply they would be. Even the Weasley kids don't all seem to be particularly close. Ron and Ginny are close and they both seem to be close enough to the twins, but the twins and Percy don't seem to get on at all and Bill and Charlie don't seem all that particularly close to the younger children, just because they were probably away at Hogwarts from the time Ron and Ginny were tiny and then they were abroad working. Plus, with the exception of Harry and Ginny's kids and Ron and Hermione's, most of the others would probably have cousins on the other side too, so they'd hardly be close to maybe 20+ people in total. Especially since they'd no doubt have friends who aren't related to them too.

So in my story, Albus and Rose are close as are Lily and Albus and Lily and Hugo and Hugo and Rose (even if Hugo does get on Rose's nerves a lot of the time). And Victoire and Dominique are close. But Lily and Hugo, especially Hugo, just think Fred irritating, Rose and James don't really get on and neither Rose nor James gets on with Louis.

I've probably portrayed Percy a bit meanly, but I like the bickering between him and George and I also like the pressure it puts on his kids to live up to his expectations for them. He wants his children to be perfect - healthy, intelligent, charismatic.

Thanks for your reviews. They are absolutely awesome.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Veritaserum27 Diagon Alley.

12th June 2014:
Hello!

I'm here for the next chapter. I'm working through this slowly, but I do plan to read it all!

Rose is so adorable in this chapter. You've kept her character really consistent. She is an academic through and through - wanting to get her books as soon as possible and just enjoying the book store.

We also see Hermione in her own high-strung, super focused character as well. I love it! Lily is a cute sweetheart and I just loved seeing all of the characters from the books in this chapter, including Neville, Hannah, Albus, Ginny - the list goes on!

In addition, you've introduced Angie. She seems very shy and sweet. I really liked how Rose picks up on this immediately and takes her under her wing. It must be so difficult for muggle borns to be thrown into the magical world. Rose (and I think Hermione, especially) realize this and act accordingly.

My one bit of cc in this chapter is that I think you could have accomplished everything without putting in every conversation that happened in every store. It was really interesting for them to visit all of the shops in Diagon Alley, but I felt a little like I was following them around all day long, listening to every small detail they were talking about.

On the flip side, you do have quite a knack for writing the dialog. You manage to be realistic with the phrasings for each character and it flows nicely when two people are having a conversation.

Another bit I noticed about Angie is that she either doesn't have a lot of money or is just far too shy in front of Rose's family to be comfortable with getting new robes or buy an ice cream.

Until next time!

Beth

Author's Response: Thanks a million for your reviews. They are absolutely awesome and detailed.

Particular thanks for the CC. I may have gone a little overboard with my characters' conversations here, admittedly.

I like your comments about Angie, particularly the idea that there may be more to her not getting new robes than just not needing them. Angie was actually meant to be a VERY minor character, but she seems determined to carve out a bigger role for herself.

And yeah, Rose is pretty protective, in general. Rather like her mum. You'll see more of that as the story goes on and not just in relation to Angie.


 Report Review

Review #28, by AlexFan Things Fall Apart.

8th June 2014:
Okay, so you entered this in the 5 Stages of Grief Challenge but I'm not entirely sure how the characters are dealing with any kind of loss in this chapter but perhaps I would need to read the entire story in order for this to make sense to me so it could be that. I may have also missed something (which does happen sometimes) so if I did miss anything, please do point it out to me.

I'm hoping that this will set up chapter 27 for me when I go and read it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

I guess I was thinking in terms of the permanent scarring caused by werewolf scratches and bites and also of the sort of loss of self (for want of a better term) involved in transforming into a vicious dark creature (which of course has sort of been true for a while, but which as a result of the events of this chapter, the character can really no longer deny to themself).

I may have been looking at grief a little too widely though. I was wondering at the time whether or not this chapter really fit. You may remember I pmed you about the matter and as I think I said at the time, it's possible I'm looking it in a way that you could really interpret anything bad that happens to a character as some form of loss.

And of course, I not only know the full story, but also the backstory of the characters, so I guess I may be seeing more than is actually directly expressed in the chapter.

Sorry about that and thanks for considering my chapter. Awesome challenge. I must take a look at some of the other entries if I ever again get some free time.


 Report Review

Review #29, by AussieLottie Howling at the Moon.

5th June 2014:
Great chapter! Really enjoying the story but quick comment... You say Neville entered the History of Magic classroom at the end, did you mean Nathan? :)

Otherwise excellent chapter! Can't wait for next chapter.

10/10
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: Yeah, it should have been. Thanks for pointing that out. It's really not a good idea to create an OC with a name that begins with the same letter and is much the same length as a canon character they have some personality traits in common with. It make confusion WAY too easy. I've corrected it now.

Thanks for the review. Glad you're enjoying this.


 Report Review

Review #30, by Veritaserum27 A Council of War.

2nd June 2014:
Hello!

I'm back for chapter two!

Before I get into the heart of the review for this particular chapter, I want to say that I found it really refreshing that you chose to write about Rose as a twelve year old. So many stories take place during sixth or seventh year, it's almost as if we don't think anything interesting could have happened before anyone turns sixteen! I think it may be because it is really, really hard to write a twelve year old. They are old enough to know a bit about the world, but they are still discovering how everything works.

First of all, I want to say that your articles from the Daily Prophet in this chapter were, again, spectacular. I was getting so angry when I read them and I could just imagine Hermione steaming mad with each passing article. You've done her justice, writing her as an intelligent, confident woman with some power to do something about it. She is still very clever and not naive as to how to best play her cards.

You've managed to weave a fair amount of information in this chapter, both plot-wise and character-wise. I really, really liked how you have played out the politics here. It is not as simple as just "fighting the bad guys," and perhaps that is one of the lessons that Rose will learn during the course of her second year at Hogwarts. The explanations as to why Shacklebolt can't just support a pro-werewolf legislation because of the politics at play were really well done, as well as the underlying meaning of the A.W.L. In the hands of a less skilled writer, this could have come across as confusing at the very least. You have built it into your story and explained it very well - through the eyes of a clever, but still twelve-year old girl. (Sorry that sounded incredibly formal!)

In addition, you have introduced a slew of new characters and handled their personalities fantastically. Hugo is still the annoying little brother - and Rose decides that giving in to him is easier than arguing. Ron is the "fun" parent. He remembers what it is like to be left out of an important meeting and information that everyone else is privy to. Uncle Harry is such a sweet guy. I loved the last bit, where he tosses a coin to his niece and nephew.

I noticed that you used the horizontal lines in this chapter and I think it really made a difference. I didn't have to go back and check when I thought that time was passing and it made reading smoother.

The last comment I want to make is how you use little details to tell us about a character. For example this line: It was awkward being alone with your Headmistress in your own home and Rose shifted uncomfortable as McGonagall continued to address her. tells us that Rose is very serious about school and reminds us that she is still only just finished her first year.

I also really liked it when Ginny said: "Wasn't too easy to find a babysitter," Ginny said. "Half the alternatives are on their way here. Eventually though, Mum said she'd let Dad attend by himself and have the kids over. I know you leave Rose and Hugo on their own every so often, but Rose is reliable. James on the other hand..." This little line, tells us a lot about Rose and James - and it also adds a little humor to the story!

Sorry this review is so long. I wanted to say a few things and then got carried away. Anyway, I really like the story so far and I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review.

I honestly never thought of setting these stories later in my characters' time at Hogwarts. I do intend, at least in theory, to follow them throughout their Hogwarts' years. I have ideas for 3rd and 4th year, and I have a subplot, but no main plot for 6th year. This is bizarre, as I actually have whole scenes planned for the subplot, but no actual mystery.

For some reason, I've always written a lot about characters around 12. When I was 8 or 9, I used to write about 12 year olds. Now, I'm well, let's just say quite a few years out of college, I write about 12 and 13 year olds less, but I still do use characters that age. I never thought exactly why before, but I think maybe it's because I like their perspective on the adult world. They are old enough to understand it and to WANT to be involved, but often too young to be able to do anything or to even control their own environment. I remember being around that age and being freaked out by political stuff and wishing I could vote, even though I knew one vote would make no difference, because at least I'd feel I was doing something. Now, considering most of what was freaking me out was pure propaganda, there's a very good reason kids of that age can't vote, but there is a beginning realisation of lack of power. I never connected those things before, but that is kind of how Rose feels in this chapter - that at least if she could attend the meeting, she'd KNOW what was going on.

And yeah, I think pre-teens can be HARD to write, most so 9-11 year olds than 12/13 year olds. It's very easy to either give them a maturity they shouldn't have or else make them act like young children and ignore what they should know.

I'm glad Kingsley's motivation came across correctly. I was afraid he might come across as being weak or something. I wanted to show that the wizarding world didn't exactly change overnight when Voldemort fell. After all, it sounds like these prejudices go back at least 1,000 years. It's going to take a while before things change completely. And there IS some reason to fear werewolves, considering events like the end of Prisoner of Azkaban. It's blown WAY out of proportion, but it's not like it's completely invented and you can see how people would be worried, particularly parents sending their eleven year old away to boarding school for the first time.

I can't seem to write completely evil characters anyway. Somehow I always end up getting some degree of understanding of their point of view.

Glad you liked the hints about Rose's and James's personalities. James is sort of the family troublemaker - at least among the older kids; Fred and Roxanne are still young.

Thanks again for the detailed review. Really glad to hear you're enjoying it and hope you continue to do so.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Veritaserum27 Professor Blackburn's Secret.

31st May 2014:
Hello!

I hope this this the story that involved the pranks. I thought I would start at the beginning. I really like the first chapter and I think you have set up the story nicely. Sometimes, I think authors give far to much background information and then, somewhere, within the chapter, give the pertinent story line. Yours flowed rather nicely, with enough information to establish the characters, time frame and back story, but still got to the meat of what the main problem is going to be. Great job!

I loved your characterization of Hugo! You portrayed the annoying little brother fantastically! His language, and eagerness to learn about quidditch and Hogwarts came through so nicely, it was like I could hear him buzzing over my shoulder as I was trying to read my spellbook - like Rose!

My one small bit of criticism would be for you to use some sort of separation between time frames. It happened a few times in the chapter that it switched to the next day, or later on in the same day from one paragraph to the next and it made me have to go back and re-read to make sure that I didn't miss something. I would suggest something like using the horizontal line or perhaps just a simple asterisk when some time has passed in the story.

I had to save the best for last, because you asked about it in your author's note, but I was planning on mentioning it anyway. I LOVED the articles written by Rita Skeeter! They were so well done, I don't think that J.K. herself could have written them better. The nasty twist that she gives to everything, but still manages to make it seem like her work isn't slanted, but rather fact or, even worse, popular opinion! It just made my skin crawl. Kudos!

I also love your Rose character. You've given her such personality. She is clearly bookish (sorted into Ravenclaw) and uninterested in quidditch, but she seems to have a bit of a Griffindor in her. She seems very loyal to friends and wants to do the right thing. I also detected a note of bravery with reporting a wrong to the authorities.

There is clearly more than one mystery going on here. What was Rose referring to about Dora's secret? And, more importantly, who is Dora and what did she do?

Great first chapter!

~Beth

Author's Response: Hiya. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I know you said you intended to, but I wasn't really expecting it. Yeah, this is the story the prank is played in, though it's not until whatever chapter I put up last, 27 or 28.

This is my second story about these characters, so I wasn't giving too much background detail, so as not to bore people who'd read the previous story. I think this should make sense on its own merits though. What happened with Dora and so on should become clear over the next few chapters.

Glad you like the way I portrayed Hugo and Rose. I think you are right about Rose having a Gryffindor side to her. I hadn't thought of that when I first created her and had her sorted, but you are the second reviewer to comment on it and that side is definitely there. She's Ron's daughter as well as Hermione's after all. And boy is Rose loyal to her friends. Loyal to a fault at the best of times.

Glad you liked Rita Skeeter's articles. They were HARD to write. Trying to get her sheer nastiness.

You're probably right about the transitions. I'll take a look at them when I've a chance and see if I could clarify a bit. I know I do sometimes skip time rather awkwardly all right. Have had to edit a couple of chapters to sort that out in them.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Pheonix Potioneer Howling at the Moon.

28th May 2014:
I accidently deleted and did not save anything I wrote... *smack self*

Scorpius, really? Despite Fairfax's disapproval, you're going to skip detention. Also, I don't like Fairfax's system of punishment. By adding punishment assignments and detentions, he's just making him fall even further behind since he doesn't have as much time, which we lead to more detentions... so it'll become an endless cycle.

I kind of liked Scorpius last book, but this book I just feel like yelling at him, "STUPID!"

If I didn't hate Flint, Orpington and Montague before, I DEFINITELY hate them now. Really? How low must they stoop? And Blackburn's their teacher!

This has shown me the difference between the boys and Dora. Where Flint and his friends are very open, and don't care about getting caught, Dora is much more sneaky when she does things, and manipulates Rose. I think Dora would have been a better Slytherin. Flint doesn't really strike me as clever enough, but Crabbe and Goyle were Slytherins.

I think Rose would be more likely to say "Oh Merlin" than "God Almighty". That's just a personal preference.

Excellent prank! I've been thinking of pranks myself for my fic, but none of them would have been right for this. I don't know whether to say Congratulations to you or James, but that was a good prank!

Author's Response: Yeah, Scorpius can definitely be an idiot when it comes to Quidditch stuff. He was in the first story too, when he snuck his broom into Hogwarts and then kept showing it off to everybody. He's rather single-minded when it comes to flying and Quidditch and really doesn't think about anything else when it comes to that.

You definitely have a point about Fairfax. He doesn't like being defied and he's making a point. I guess in a way this is the bad side of his detachment. The good part is that he doesn't hold a grudge and judges each assignment on its own merits, but the bad side is that he also judges misbehaviour on its own merits and doesn't see that Scorpius isn't trying to be defiant by skipping the punishment exercise.

*grins* I had that howling thing planned right from the start of the story and was debating whether to put it at the beginning or after that full moon. But I figured there were enough similar events at the beginning of the story.

It's cruel really, isn't it? Especially when Blackburn is still recovering from recent events.

Dora would DEFINITELY fit well in Slytherin. I had to put her in Ravenclaw, as obviously I needed her to be able to get into Rose and Albus's dormitories without difficulty and to be in their classes and stuff.

There's a reason James nicknamed Flint "Flinthead," even apart from the fact it's something rude that can easily be made out of his name. He's not exactly the brightest bulb in the box. In this case, though, he isn't in much danger of getting in trouble, as Blackburn is hardly likely to do much, as she was really too upset to react.

I don't think "Oh Merlin" is actually ever used in the books. I think it might be like "elementary, my dear Watson." Of course, that's not to say wizards don't use it, just that we haven't heard them. They use phrases like "Merlin's beard," but I don't know if we've ever actually seen "oh Merlin." And they definitely use phrases referencing God as well. Even Draco has used "God" as an exclamation. I think WeasleyTwinsMom or somebody did a blog entry once about the usage of all the phrases. So I use a bit of each, depending on what sounds best.

Really glad you liked the prank. That was something I added on later. Like I said, I'd Flint and his friends' actions planned right from the beginning and I was debating whether Rose should go and tell a teacher or what. Then recently it occurred to me Neville probably couldn't do much, because it would be sort of undermining Blackburn to intervene without her say-so and I figured Rose would want to get back at them. And then it occurred to me telling James would work pretty well.

I had a lot of difficulty thinking of a prank, which is why I started that thread. I thought the making them address a teacher in a certain way was a punishment that fit the crime and then started working on that. It was originally going to be "cockerel cornflakes", but I wasn't sure how they could ensure a certain person got certain cornflakes, then I remembered a conversation I had with an English girl I beta for, about a mention of "rashers of bacon" in her story. We'd just say "rashers", but I thought "roosters of bacon" worked fairly well as a name.


 Report Review

Review #33, by Teddy1993 Howling at the Moon.

28th May 2014:
Wow, Kreacher is still alive! He must be about a hundred years old now :D

I thought Fairfax was a bit of a jerk in this one. I can understand that a teacher is strict and gives a detention when someone doesn't turn in their homework twice in a row, but scheduling the detention on the same time as a Quidditch match seems a bit harsh. Especially because Scorpius didn't do something terrible.

Great chapter! I'm looking forward to reading more of your story.

Author's Response: Yeah, Kreacher must be pretty old all right.

Fairfax is pretty strict and isn't the sort of teacher to value things like extra-curricular activities. He thinks students should put their studies first. And it WAS pretty disrespectful for Scorpius to continue practicing Quidditch and not finish the punishment exercise he got for practicing Quidditch and not completing his homework. The punishment WAS a little over the top though.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Teddy1993 Blackburn Returns.

24th May 2014:
I'm still not convinced about Dora... :) I guess we'll find out in due time. It was good to see Blackburn back on her feet (more or les). Although her problems are far from over. Great chapter! I'll be looking forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Yeah, Blackburn isn't having the easiest time, but she has physically recovered at least, even if she's still dealing with the effects of the shock.

The next chapter shouldn't be TOO long. I'm working on it now. I'd imagine it'll be up within a week or so anyway. After that updates might slow up a bit, as I'm very busy in June and July, both at work and because one of my best friends is getting married


 Report Review

Review #35, by Teddy1993 Instant Invisibility Powder.

24th May 2014:
I'm still not convinced that Dora has something to do with it. Sure, her history and her connection to the A.W.L. makes her an easy suspect, but I think it might be a bit too obvious. And what to say about Fairfax? We really don't know much about him, what makes me think he tries to keep low profile. And he would of course be in the perfect position to tamper with the Wolfsbane potion. Great story so far. I'm really enjoying it!

Author's Response: Hmm, Fairfax? I think you're the second person to suspect him and he's definitely a good suspect. It would be easier for him to tamper with the potion than it would be for anybody else.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Teddy1993 Letters.

24th May 2014:
Another great chapter! You write very well. This is one of the first next gen series I read and it really impressed me so far. Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews. Really glad you're enjoying it. I love next gen, due to the freedom it allows. Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Teddy1993 Professor Merrickson

24th May 2014:
I think you write Neville very well. He reminds me a bit of Remus in his interaction with the students. I sure hope everything is alright with Blackburn and she will be able to teach soon. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted to show Neville as having come full circle and being as supportive of his students, and of others like Blackburn, as people like Remus were of him.

As you know now, there is more information about how Blackburn is handling things over the next few chapters.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Teddy1993 Things Fall Apart.

24th May 2014:
Good chapter. I liked McGonagall in this one. She really seems to be a good headmistress, looking out for both her students and teachers.

Author's Response: Yeah, for all her sternness, McGonagall is pretty kind really, isn't she?

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Teddy1993 Their Greatest Fears.

24th May 2014:
That was an amazing chapter. I've been wondering about Angie for quite some time now and I love the explanation you gave about her home situation. Great work!

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks. This is one of my own favourite chapters, so glad you liked it too.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Teddy1993 Clean Slates.

18th May 2014:
Well that must have been an anticlimax for Rose. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Teddy1993 Victoire's Woes.

17th May 2014:
That was a very good chapter. I loved George in this one. He never fails to annoy Percy.

Author's Response: Percy and George are pretty much polar opposites, aren't they?

Glad you liked the chapter.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Teddy1993 The End of Term.

16th May 2014:
Great chapter! I wonder what that look between Fairfax and Angie meant.

Author's Response: You might get some hints as to what the look between them meant in upcoming chapters. Some further information about Angie will be revealed in a couple of chapters.

Glad you liked the chapter. Things will start getting interesting again soon. Had a couple of filler chapters there, but they are coming to an end now.


 Report Review

Review #43, by Teddy1993 Searching for a Key.

16th May 2014:
I wonder what Flitwick was thinking when Rose told him about someone being invisible... Good chapter.

Author's Response: Hmm, that's something that won't ever be explicitly revealed - exactly what Flitwick is thinking, I mean. It'll probably be possible to figure it out when you find out whether or not the person was invisible and if so, how they mastered it, though.

Glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for your continued reviews.


 Report Review

Review #44, by Teddy1993 The Locked Trunk.

16th May 2014:
I love how you write James. He's exactly how I pictured him. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you like James. I haven't shown as much of him as I'd like to, as he doesn't exactly associate with Albus and Rose. He might play a greater part in the chapter I'm currently working on - chapter 28 - though.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #45, by Pheonix Potioneer Blackburn Returns.

15th May 2014:
Yay! Blackburn returned!

I somewhat agree with Kate: I like nice, but strict and hardworking teachers. Not too strict, nothing like the teacher I modeled Professor Dire on where you get her death stare if you answer a question wrong, but teachers that really push you and give you work. As long as they're reasonably kind, I like them. So I disagree with Rose. Laid-back teachers are nice, but they don't really prepare you for the next year if you have a different, tougher teacher. I learned that the hard way.

I really don't think having a different but adequate teacher really affects OWLs. They are learning the same material right? But it is good that they have a teacher subbing most of them know.

I can see why Rose thinks Kate's priorities are messed up, since Kate seems more concerned about the OWLs than the welfare of their teacher, but Rose didn't actually hear the conversation. Maybe Kate is concerned, she just didn't voice it.

Is that whole Kate thing what you meant by Rose's alternating views?

One thing I like about Rose is her very strong morales. She was raised well. I observed that when she had a brief arguement with Dora. Rose is very loyal.

Isn't there some magical makeup or something Blackburn can use to cover up her scars? I'm pretty sure werewolf-inflicted scars cannot be magically taken away, but surely makeup or something will do the trick? What about a color-changing spell to make it the same color as her skin or something to make it less noticeable?

Wow, Scorpius is thinking to be a professional Quidditch player in only his second year? Wow. But I do agree with Rose. What if he changes his mind later on, and he doesn't have the marks. He should at least do a little bit of work. He should certainly have time to juggle both.

Go Teddy! That's nice of him to bring Blackburn out to dinner, but I wonder if there was tension because of the whole love triangle thing. Teddy probably didn't notice, but I'm sure Victoire did.

I agree with Teddy. Someone tampered with the potion. Who? Was it Dora or someone else? If the AWL is popular enough, they could have multiple connected members roaming Hogwarts. There's no easy way to tell.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, that was what I meant about showing an alternative point of view to Rose's. She was describing Merrickson as being really mean, but Kate, Hilda and Blackburn all say she's really nice and a very good teacher. Quite frankly, Rose wasn't really going to like whoever replaced Blackburn unless they were unbelievably nice altogether, just because she wanted to have Blackburn teaching and not anybody else. When I was at college, one of my favourite lecturers left and I had to make a conscious effort NOT to negatively compare the guy who replaced her with her all the time.

I think both Merrickson and Blackburn are good teachers really, just in very different ways. And Rose doesn't mind a lot of other stricter teachers - McGonagall, Fairfax, Jones, to a degree. She's just prejudiced where Merrickson is concerned. Blackburn could do with being a bit stricter sometimes, though.

I would have loved Blackburn when I was at school. I was the kind of kid who usually worked hard for teachers I liked and actually usually worked hard one way or the other, because I wanted to get good grades. If I had a teacher like Dire, I'd probably fail, because I used freak out so much, I did really stupid stuff. I once had a really strict Irish teacher and failed the summer test because I misinterpreted what a question meant, even though I KNEW what it meant, but I just talked myself out of it thinking, "but what if I'm wrong and that word actually means x instead. She'll kill me if I'm wrong. Yeah, it probably does mean x actually. I'd better answer it that way instead." I used feel physically sick before her classes. I might not mind Merrickson, but I'd definitely prefer Blackburn and would probably work extra hard because I'd want to make up for the people being mean to her. Like Rose and Angie, except no way would I have said anything to her like they do.

As regards Kate, you're definitely right that having a sub for a week or two isn't going to make much difference. If they were constantly changing teacher, it MIGHT, since teachers have slightly different styles and it can sometimes be hard to get into a new teacher's style and then sometimes they go back over something because they're not sure where the last teacher left off or something, but that would only be if they were having different subs every few weeks, not just having one in the year.

It's possible Kate is just freaking out because the O.W.L.S. seem pretty important and after all, a lot Ravenclaws are probably serious about their grades. Or there might be something more to her reaction.

I was deliberately avoiding having it too easy for Blackburn to cover the scars, because I wanted to show how embarrassed she is about them. I've read some stories where the person performs a concealment charm or something, but I wanted to show her anxiety.

And Scorpius IS a Slytherin. Ambition is one of their traits. He IS being ridiculously single-minded though. Actually this thing about him not having his homework done is turning into a bigger storyline than I intended.

One of the reasons I want to write these events from Blackburn's point of view is to show what happened between her, Teddy and Victoire. And also to explain about Merrickson not leaving until after breakfast that morning.

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thought you'd be glad to see Blackburn back.


 Report Review

Review #46, by Teddy1993 Investigating Again.

15th May 2014:
I wonder what Hermione would think if she knew Rose is pretty much doing the exact same thing as she, Harry and Ron used to do while they were at Hogwarts... :) Great chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* I'm not sure she'd be too pleased, to be honest. Ron would probably be proud, though. And of course, Rose isn't doing anything quite as dangerous as they did, as the A.W.L. are hardly comparable with Voldemort. You will hear Hermione making comments about the issue later on. She doesn't know, but she can guess a fair amount.

 Report Review

Review #47, by Teddy1993 The Hallowe'en Feast.

15th May 2014:
Great chapter again. You write really well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #48, by Teddy1993 Celebrations.

15th May 2014:
Very good chapter. That is indeed a nasty surprise. Things seem to be escalating again. I'm curious to see what will happen next.

Author's Response: Oh, there is worse in store than just vandalism /spoiler. But yes, things are getting nasty.

Thanks for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #49, by Teddy1993 Tensions Remain.

15th May 2014:
I think Draco is quite right telling Lucius he should stay out of politics after all he did in the past. I liked the eagle's question. It can't be easy to keep coming up with these. Good chapter.

Author's Response: No, it REALLY isn't easy to come up with them. I think they get worse as they go along actually, so glad you liked that one. I'm skipping them where I can, but obviously sometimes they're unavoidable.

And yes, Lucius should DEFINITELY stay out of politics. The Malfoys don't need any more bad publicity. He got away with a lot really and he'd be better off just being pleased with that.

Thanks again for the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw versus Slytherin.

15th May 2014:
I didn't expect Scorpius to turn up as the Slytherin Seeker, although it isn't really a surprise if you think about it. Great chapter!

Author's Response: You'll get a bit more about Scorpius as this story progresses. Albus and Rose are getting to know him a bit better now than they did in 1st year.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>