Reading Reviews for The Writing on the Wall.
  
117 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Teddy1993 The Chamber's Echo.

30th April 2014:
I'm not sure about Scorpius... I always imagined him to be kind of the odd one out in the Malfoy family, not following the ideas of his father and grandfather. But that has probably something to do with reading fanfiction. I'm sure there are also stories where he is a slimy git. Very good chapter. The story is really getting somewhere now and I like where it is going. Great job!

Author's Response: I did a lot of thinking as to how I could write Scorpius in an original way. I've read stories where he is a rival to Albus as Draco is to Harry and I've read stories where he forms a new trio with Rose and Albus, and while both of those can be really good and work really well, I wanted to do something different. I didn't want to subconsciously copy any of the stories I'd read. Now whether that something different involves making him the villain or something different altogether, I'm not going to give away here.

Glad you are continuing to enjoy this.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Teddy1993 Caught Red-Handed.

30th April 2014:
Another great chapter. I laughed at Filch muttering about Mrs Norris the first and the second. I also liked how McGonagall handled the situation. She seems pretty well in character as I remember her from the books.

Author's Response: Glad you found McGonagall in character. As you may have noticed, I write a lot of OCs or really minor characters, like Hesia Jones, where the issue of keeping them in character doesn't arise to the same degree.

And I got a lot of fun out of Filch and his cats. I was debating whether to give him the ghost of Mrs. Norris or whether he should have a new and lazier cat, but eventually decided on the latter.

Thanks again for your continued reviews. They are much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #28, by Teddy1993 Hallowe'en.

30th April 2014:
I enjoyed reading about the Halloween feast. We didn't really see much of that in the books, mainly because Harry was getting himself in trouble most Halloweens. This was a nice, easy chapter that ended on a sinister note. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your story!

Author's Response: Yeah, things tended to get rather interrupted in the books, due to the whole Dark Lord trying to kill Harry at all costs thing. While this is a mystery series, it's nowhere near as extreme as the events of the books.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the description of the Hallowe'en feast.


 Report Review

Review #29, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw v. Gryffindor.

29th April 2014:
I liked the Quidditch game. You wrote it very well. Good story so far.

Author's Response: Really glad you liked my description of the Quidditch game, as I'm not very good at descriptive writing.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. More is about to happen in a couple of chapters!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Teddy1993 The Flying Lesson.

29th April 2014:
Another good chapter. It's funny you chose Cho as flying instructor (at least I presume it's her). She's actually the new flying instructor in my story too.

Author's Response: That IS a weird coincidence. I took a look at your stories a few days ago - just the summaries - and they look interesting. Must have a read sometime.

Yeah, I realised I was short a flying instructor and decided to find somebody we already knew to fill the position. I went looking through the books for Quidditch players who might fit the bill and eventually came up with Cho. I COULD just have kept Madame Hooch, I guess, but I decided against it.


 Report Review

Review #31, by Teddy1993 Mysteries.

29th April 2014:
I wonder if Professor Blackburn might be a werewolf. It would explain her foul mood the other night and maybe Slughorn was there to give her Wolfsbane. Either way, there is something going on with her and I'm sure we'll find out in the future. The whole situation with Albus and the chocolate cauldrons seems innocent enough, but I can understand it would be more creepy once he found out his brother didn't sent them as a prank. I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Great job!

Author's Response: *grins* Glad you enjoyed it. This was MY favourite chapter of the early ones too. Although I liked the end of the previous one, as it was so bizarre - giving detentions for essentially walking down a corridor.

And I LOVE your theory. Her being a werewolf WOULD explain a certain amount - her absence, her bad mood, what she is thanking Slughorn for. I love to hear what people think is going on. It all will be explained eventually, but not for a while. This is going to carry on having significance into year two.

And yeah, sending somebody swelling solution isn't MAJORLY serious, but you can imagine that Albus would find it a bit creepy that nobody seems to show any sign of having done it, especially as he's just started boarding school and is a bit nervous anyway.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Teddy1993 The Gryffindor Quidditch Team.

29th April 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the Quidditch try-outs. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Teddy1993 The Slug Club.

27th April 2014:
I was kind of surprised to see that Slughorn is still teaching at Hogwarts, even though it's his final year. He must be pretty old by now :) Nice chapter! I'm really enjoying your story.

Author's Response: Yeah, I sort of fudged likelihood there, so that I could introduce new teachers a little more gradually, rather than having a load of new ones in first year and trying to introduce them all to readers.

Glad you're enjoying the story. I consider the plot to really get started in the next chapter. Looking forward to seeing what you think.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Teddy1993 A Magical Education

26th April 2014:
I love how you write Rose. You can clearly see that she is Hermione's daughter. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you liked Rose. Year 2 is from her point of view. She's definitely Hermione's daughter, though as time goes by, you might see some indications she's Ron's as well.

 Report Review

Review #35, by Teddy1993 The First Night.

25th April 2014:
Good first chapter. I was surprised to see that Albus and Rose were both sorted into Ravenclaw, but it kind of makes sense. Especially for Rose, being Hermione's daughter. I'm looking forward to seeing what you've done with this story.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

From the little we saw of Albus in the epilogue, he didn't exactly strike me as a Gryffindor or a Slytherin (plus I like to avoid the obvious). I honestly would probably have gone for Hufflepuff if it hadn't been for the fact that I wrote a next gen years ago before there were canon next gen characters in which I put Harry's son in Hufflepuff and he has some similarities with how I imagine Albus, so I wanted to avoid making the characters too similar.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Gabriella Hunter A Magical Education

5th April 2014:
HELLO!

BOOM! I'm here in your face for a review-swap (Thanks for leaving one on The Dark Lord's Prince for me, much appreciated, lovely) and I remember that I had been reading this story quite a long time ago but hadn't finished. I can't recall where I left off but I was pretty far along but didn't bless you with my silly reviews.

ANYHOO! So, I really love the little conflicted moments that you had Albus and his friends going through as they tried to get the hang of their first full day of school. There are so many interesting things that you've done here, with giving little hints of what's changed in the wizarding world and how their life with their family is after the War. The mention of Fred made me so sad...D':
Anyway, I think you've gone into some great detail and really thought of what you were going to be writing before you typed this out. I can t really see how much you cared about the world that the children were living in and how things were still, even after twenty years were still trying to set themselve's right.
Also, I love your kids! They seem like real children around that age, I particularly can't wait to see how Albus, Derek and Rose's relationships blossom in the future.
Your classroom scenes were great too, I never spend much time with them myself but I think you did a very nice job here. I liked the teachers you introduced as well, I can't wait to see more of them in the future! :D
This was a great read, I enjoy reading other Next Gen stories, its always so nice to see how different everyone's writing styles are when it comes to the grandchildren.
Thanks for the read! :D
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks for the review. I saw your request for a swap and was like, "hey, I never finished reading her story, so this is a good incentive to read on a little."

I'm glad you think the kids are convincing for their ages. I think 10-13 year olds are hard to write, because they aren't really little kids, but nor are they really teenagers and it's hard to avoid either making them too childish or else too mature.

Yeah, I'm trying to show that while things have improved, there are still problems. Some of the issues in the wizarding world seem to go back 1000 years, so they're not going to change in a generation, you know.

I enjoy writing the classroom scenes and one of my teachers in particular is going to become a significant character not just in this story, but throughout however much I write of the series. I've a subplot planned for them for Year Six, despite the fact, I have absolutely no main plot for Year Six.

And yeah, I like seeing the different ways in which people portray the characters and the future of the wizarding world. It's what I like about next gen. There are so many different ways you can go.


 Report Review

Review #37, by HEG Farewell Slughorn

11th February 2014:
I have finished this story and I did not think the baddie would be Dora. She was such a background character that you don't really notice her. I suspected Blackburn a bit because you put quite a lot of suspicion on her. I can't wait to find out what Blackburn s secret is. I have to guesses.

One she is a werewolf

Two she is an ex death eater

Author's Response: *grins* The first chapter of The Rise of the A.W.L. is titled "Professor Blackburn's Secret", so you'll find out soon enough.

I like both your theories. Like I said, I think somebody else guessed she was a werewolf, but don't think anybody guessed that she was an ex-Death Eater.


 Report Review

Review #38, by HEG The Destruction of the Universe.

11th February 2014:
I thought that the sound of the name of the chapter sounded very dramatic and I thought how is the destruction of the universe ever going to get solved. But I was wrong. It was a model solar system. Very good
HEG PoP

Author's Response: I was a little doubtful about the title of this chapter, because I thought people might be disappointed when they found out all that happened was a solar system being destroyed, but it was so appropriate, I couldn't resist using it.

Glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Anon Eleanor Lockhart.

11th February 2014:
I feel like this time just because albus doubts it, scorpius is gonna get some big important information

Author's Response: Hmm, it's possible.

You've only about another four chapters before you find out what's going on. Hope you like the resolution.


 Report Review

Review #40, by Anon The Malfoy Dynasty.

10th February 2014:
I can just imagine it now:
Scorpius: hey dad I made some new friends.
Draco:Oh nice, who?
Scorpius:Rose Weaseley and Albus Potter
Draco:*sigh* *thinks"out of all the people"*Thats great *fake smile*

Author's Response: *laughs* I can totally imagine that happening.

Thanks for the review. I really enjoyed reading it.


 Report Review

Review #41, by HEG Eleanor Lockhart.

10th February 2014:
Very good chapter. Very interesting. I wonder what will happen next. I have my suspicions that Blackburn is a werewolf!

Author's Response: Now THAT is an interesting suggestion. I think you may be the second person to suggest that. Love hearing people's theories.

Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Anon Hallowe'en.

9th February 2014:
Oh no did volley have a horcrux we didn't know about? Has the chamber of secrets been open again? And finally that's a terrible plan, informing harry potter, Ron Weasley, and Hermione Grangers children that the dark lord is returning(ever heard of the element of surprise)!

Author's Response: Those are really good theories. Another horcrux, hmm. That'd be scary.

And yes, I agree, if Voldemort IS still alive, announcing it to Harry's son, who would be bound to tell his father, would be really silly. But it may be just somebody trying to scare people. Or somebody who wants people to believe it's Voldemort when it's really somebody else.

Thanks for the review. Great to hear people's theories. I hope you'll enjoy the rest of the story.


 Report Review

Review #43, by HEG Home for Christmas.

7th February 2014:
Hello again. I've just read this chapter and I really love the way you've described their Christmas holidays and shopping. I like the name you've given to the broom stick.

THE GOLDEN ARROW.

I was really thinking of a born stick name and I quite like my name too. The Bullet.

One of the other things I liked was the fact that James was the only one behaving and he STILL got told off. And I also liked the way when lily wanted to hug James he said 'not in public' you have definitely got the right character.

I still don't know who to suspect. Hm. I doubt it's Scorpious I mean I know he's on the bad side but he's not a Death Eater or anything. I think maybe Blackburn but I'm not very sure.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I love hearing people's opinion.

Yeah, I noticed you'd also created a new type of broom. I liked the name "the Bullet" too. It makes sense as they are made for speed and you associate bullets with speed.

And yeah, poor James, he can't do right, can he? He very much has the reputation of being the naughty one.

Hmm, a lot of people seem to suspect Blackburn. Not saying anything about whether or not it's correct though.

And don't be too quick to judge Scorpius. Albus and Rose haven't really got to know him yet. Their opinions might change as they do. *grins*

Thanks again for the review. I love hearing people's thoughts.


 Report Review

Review #44, by HEG Suspecting Scorpius.

5th February 2014:
Very good. I've read a bit more today and it is getting more curious°! I hope you write some more books because I like these series. Suspecting Scorpious they think that it is Scorpious is the villain but it is different in my book because Scorpious and Albus are best friends!
HEG
:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I really hope you continue to enjoy the story.

At the moment, I am working on chapter 22 of Year 2, which is entitled "The Rise of the A.W.L.". I am actually interested to see what you will think of something that is revealed in the first chapter of "The Rise of the A.W.L." *grins*

I have seen your stories in the Recently Added list and when searching for next gen mysteries, but haven't got around to reading them yet. I recently saw your second story, but realised there was a prequel that I would need to read first. Maybe I'll take a look at them when I get a chance.

One thing I like about next gen, is the space for different interpretations, so in one story Albus and Scorpius can be best friends, in another worst enemies, in another dating, in another, Albus can believe Scorpius is his friend but be deceived and so on.

It is interesting to see how different people interpret each thing.


 Report Review

Review #45, by HEG The Slug Club.

30th January 2014:
I really like this story so far. Its good because its not predictable so I like it because some stories are predictable but not this one. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Always nice to get an unexpected review.

Glad you like it so far and I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story. The major events start happening at the end of the next chapter.

Really glad you found the events unpredictable, as there are quite a lot of next generation stories out there and it can be hard to come up with something original.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #46, by water_lily43175 Farewell Slughorn

29th September 2013:
Seems a bit unfair that while Dora loses so many points (quite rightly, mind you), Albus and Rose gain so few! Come on, McG, be a bit more fair!

Oh, Nathan. He really is the Neville of Albus' year!

Only Slughorn would make a speech upon leaving the school. So pompous! But I love him regardless.

Albus having more stuff than would fit in his trunk is a peril I expect to face next summer. I had a carful of stuff when I moved in last summer, and I've bought so much stuff since that I think we'll need to use the trailer as well! The woes of living in two places at once *giggles*

Oh, Albus, wanting a peaceful life. Not going to happen! On to year 2...

Author's Response: Yeah, Nathan is a bit like Neville, although he's rather better at the strictly academic stuff. He's also the typical smart but awkward kid. *huggles him*

Yeah, going home from college at the end of a year means a lot of stuff to move from one place to another. I guess boarding school would be the same, especially since the Hogwarts students don't even go home for weekends or anything. Since the last couple of weeks are exams, I used bring home some of my stuff before the exams, as I was in and out then and didn't need as much.

And yeah, peaceful life at Hogwarts? Not likely. Actually year 2 won't be the worst for him. Year 3 on the other hand...


 Report Review

Review #47, by water_lily43175 Questions and Answers.

29th September 2013:
"He paused, suddenly seeming to remember he was actually spending time with his uncool younger brother." Oh, James.

Good ploy, to leave the plants in Blackburn's room. I'd almost forgotten she was a suspect too! HMM.

DORA. Oh wow. Yeah, she was a bit of an obnoxious one, wasn't she. Related to the NOTTS. Oho. I like this, I like this a lot. Of course, the Malfoys got off because they seemed to have redeemed themselves, but that wouldn't mean a thing to Dora. Yeah, I like this! Dora Nottingham, Theodora Nott. So clever!

But Blackburn still has a secret. *ponders* I suspect that's Year 2's plot? ANYWAY, very satisfying reveal!

Author's Response: Oh yes, Blackburn still has a secret.

And now I can tell you what it was that made me think of your story about this. It was when it mentioned Blackburn's wand arm shaking. Made me think of a certain character in your stories and how something turned out to be more significant than it looked. I wondered if it would start you thinking here.

And Rose will yet regret leaving the plants in Blackburn's room. *grins*

Glad you liked the name change and the reveal in general.


 Report Review

Review #48, by water_lily43175 Rose's Plan.

29th September 2013:
That Herbology assignment sounds really fun. Especially being able to pick your plant. No surprise at so few people wanting the Fanged Geranium! I think I'd have to go for a Honking Daffodil *giggles*

I really do LOVE how you write Slughorn. I'll miss him when he leaves! Which reminds me, I have a Slughorn scene to write soon *plots*

Sluggy thinking about "staying on for Lily" ... that's SO like him, a bit like his wanting the whole "set" of Blacks in Slytherin.

I wonder what Harry said to James? It's probably not important, but it's intriguing all the same...

Author's Response: I LOVED creating that assignment. Not sure what I'd do. Not one of the most difficult ones anyway. I can't even remember what all the options were. *goes to check* Maybe I'd do the Flutterby Bush, just 'cause I like the sound of it.

This is one of my favourite chapters actually, largely because of the assignment.

Yeah, I was half-tempted to keep him on, but I do need new teachers for The Rise of the A.W.L., plus it was kind of time for Slughorn to retire anyway. He might show up again. Hmm, I might have him turn up for the Halloween feast in a chapter or two actually.

No, it's not really important what Harry said to James, just that he made out he was just trying to speak to them both privately and not that he was giving Albus something special.


 Report Review

Review #49, by water_lily43175 The Destruction of the Universe.

29th September 2013:
I remember you mentioning this chapter title being very dramatic. I'm intrigued to see how it fits!

How on earth did Angie not have a computer at home? Surely near enough everyone does already, let alone in the time period that this is set? HMM. Suggesting at something, I would say.

Oh NO, Albus' solar system! Oh, poor thing, that was AWESOME! And the chapter title is understood. I see why you couldn't resist using it, it's spot on. So. Who on earth broke it? *ponders* Still, at least his model's been fixed! And on that note ... seems a pointless thing to do, if it could be fixed so easily. Unless the person just wanted to make a point, because they obviously did that. But even so, why break something if it can be fixed so easily? It kind of suggests a First Year, or someone who can't do the spell, was behind it. Or maybe that's just me thinking too much. *ponders some more*

Teehee, I love the Quidditch permutations. :) Ah, that's sweet that Albus asked Scorpius to join them. Bless. And yay for Ravenclaw winning the Cup! Poor James ... but he's already too big for his boots, winning the Cup would just make him even worse!

Author's Response: Yeah, that was my dilemma. It fits so perfectly, but I didn't want people expecting like a Dark Wizard to try and blow up the world and then being disappointed when it's only a model that's broken.

And yes, the simplicity of much of the "crimes" is supposed to be suggestive. After all, the Swelling Solution was available for the person too.

Actually, that part about going in to Blackburn's office was partly just me being mischievous. A couple of people suspected her in reviews and stuff, so I wanted to make people wonder what'd happen when they were alone in her office.

Oh, those Quidditch permutations. I was writing scores out to try and figure out each house's odds of winning. It got confusing.

All the stuff about Angie - the lack of a computer, staying at Hogwarts over the holidays and something else that'll happen around chapter 3 of The Rise of the A.W.L. (nothing major, just another throwaway, doesn't-quite-fit thing like those) - all have one explanation.


 Report Review

Review #50, by water_lily43175 Easter.

29th September 2013:
I remember being suspicious of Angie before, when she stayed at Hogwarts over Christmas. And I'm suspicious again. I'm sure there's a logical reason for her staying at school - after all, Harry did - but I'm suspicious of everyone right now.

I do love all these references to Percy and Hermione encouraging their kids to work hard. Although as ever, it would do them some good to remember that there's more to life than books!

One minute you're flooring me with Eleanor Lockhart, and the next you're doing it with Derek's surname! *DIES* I swear that's not come up before, I'd have remembered noticing it!

I'm immensely jealous of all Albus and family's Easter chocolate. I think I feel fat just READING about it all!

I'd forgotten that you'd asked about what we did for Easter. Whoops! You definitely got it right, it's exactly how we'd celebrate it here, right down to Fred and Roxanne gorging out on chocolate before lunch. *giggles*

Author's Response: *laughs* Don't think ye're Easters are too different to ours. I just wanted to check, because sometimes there's a difference, like ye saying Boxing day for the day after Christmas, instead of St. Stephen's day that would probably jump out at an English person as being clearly wrong if the Irish version were included. *laughs*

Thanks for confirming that it's believable as is.

Actually, the part with the stuff inside the Easter egg is because I'm still displeased they don't usually do that any more. *pokes whoever makes Easter eggs* Now, they just have say two bars of Yorkie with a Yorkie Easter egg instead of those little individually wrapped Yorkie squares inside in the egg, which was SO MUCH COOLER. Yes, I am still annoyed about this after all those years. *cracks up*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>