Reading Reviews for The Writing on the Wall.
  
127 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Teddy1993 Piecing the Jigsaw Together.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm looking forward to the revelation of the story.

Author's Response: The villain is revealed in the second last chapter, so you've about five chapters to go. *grins* Hope you like it.

Thanks for all the reviews.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Teddy1993 The Malfoy Dynasty.

2nd May 2014:
Scorpius seems to be quite alright, although it's rather clear that he is a Malfoy when you look at his behaviour and the way he talks. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Scorpius doesn't exactly have an easy time, considering the way his family is now viewed.

 Report Review

Review #28, by Teddy1993 The Golden Arrow.

2nd May 2014:
Great chapter. I'm really enjoying the story.

Author's Response: YAY, the 100th review for this story. I've never had a story get into triple figures with reviews before. And yeah, this is the first fanfiction I've posted with 26 chapters, but still. Thank you so much for making it reach 100.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Teddy1993 Hagrid's Memories.

1st May 2014:
I'm usually not a big fan of mystery stories, but I must say that you grabbed my attention with this one. Great work!

Author's Response: *grins* I think one of the most awesome comments one can get on something one wrote is something like "I don't usually like x, but I do like this version". So thank you and I hope you enjoy the rest.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Teddy1993 Return to Hogwarts.

1st May 2014:
The relationship between Albus and Rose strongly reminds me of the relationship between Harry and Hermione. Good chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Teddy1993 Gifts and Games.

1st May 2014:
It seems like James is really hitting puberty. It was great to see all the Weasleys again. Very good chapter. It was chaotic and entertaining, just as a Weasley christmas should be.

Author's Response: Yeah, James is definitely being a young teenager. He'll grow up eventually.

Glad you liked the chapter; thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #32, by Teddy1993 Home for Christmas.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I like how you pictured all of the Potters together. It's pretty much how I imagined them. James being too cool to hug his little sister in public and Albus being more caring and thoughtfull. I loved his idea for his father's christmas present. I'm really enjoying the story so far!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it. It was good craic to be able to write more of a family scene and the relationship between Albus and his siblings and parents.

Glad you liked his dad's Christmas present. The reason he was stuck on it was because I was and I wanted to put off writing it for a while. *laughs* I eventually thought of the fact Hogwarts meant so much to Harry.


 Report Review

Review #33, by Teddy1993 The Empty Inkwell.

1st May 2014:
That was another great chapter. I like that the fact that Albus and Rose were sorted into Ravenclaw supplies a different perspective on Hogwarts. I can understand they would rather go to Flitwick than McGonagall as she can be quite intimidating. You write very well. Good work.

Author's Response: I'm trying to give Flitwick a bit of an increased role here as their Head of House. Hadn't thought of it giving a different perspective on Hogwarts, but I guess it does.

Thanks again for the continued reviews and for saying I write well. I'm grinning as I read this. Hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Teddy1993 What the Portraits Saw.

1st May 2014:
It's clear Albus and Rose inherited the detective gene from their parents. Good chapter!

Author's Response: *grins* Yeah, they really did, didn't they?

 Report Review

Review #35, by Teddy1993 Suspecting Scorpius.

1st May 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the scenes with Scorpius. It seems like Albus really is a lot like his father. The whole situation made me think of Harry suspecting Draco during their sixth year, although he was right back then. Good story so far!

Author's Response: Yeah, Albus has some traits in common with Harry, but he is rather more cautious and less likely to go rushing into danger. He's also a little more rule-abiding. And since he grew up in a much happier home, he trusts adults more and asks for advice rather than taking things into his own hands.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Teddy1993 The Chamber's Echo.

30th April 2014:
I'm not sure about Scorpius... I always imagined him to be kind of the odd one out in the Malfoy family, not following the ideas of his father and grandfather. But that has probably something to do with reading fanfiction. I'm sure there are also stories where he is a slimy git. Very good chapter. The story is really getting somewhere now and I like where it is going. Great job!

Author's Response: I did a lot of thinking as to how I could write Scorpius in an original way. I've read stories where he is a rival to Albus as Draco is to Harry and I've read stories where he forms a new trio with Rose and Albus, and while both of those can be really good and work really well, I wanted to do something different. I didn't want to subconsciously copy any of the stories I'd read. Now whether that something different involves making him the villain or something different altogether, I'm not going to give away here.

Glad you are continuing to enjoy this.


 Report Review

Review #37, by Teddy1993 Caught Red-Handed.

30th April 2014:
Another great chapter. I laughed at Filch muttering about Mrs Norris the first and the second. I also liked how McGonagall handled the situation. She seems pretty well in character as I remember her from the books.

Author's Response: Glad you found McGonagall in character. As you may have noticed, I write a lot of OCs or really minor characters, like Hesia Jones, where the issue of keeping them in character doesn't arise to the same degree.

And I got a lot of fun out of Filch and his cats. I was debating whether to give him the ghost of Mrs. Norris or whether he should have a new and lazier cat, but eventually decided on the latter.

Thanks again for your continued reviews. They are much appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Teddy1993 Hallowe'en.

30th April 2014:
I enjoyed reading about the Halloween feast. We didn't really see much of that in the books, mainly because Harry was getting himself in trouble most Halloweens. This was a nice, easy chapter that ended on a sinister note. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of your story!

Author's Response: Yeah, things tended to get rather interrupted in the books, due to the whole Dark Lord trying to kill Harry at all costs thing. While this is a mystery series, it's nowhere near as extreme as the events of the books.

Hope you continue to enjoy the story and thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the description of the Hallowe'en feast.


 Report Review

Review #39, by Teddy1993 Ravenclaw v. Gryffindor.

29th April 2014:
I liked the Quidditch game. You wrote it very well. Good story so far.

Author's Response: Really glad you liked my description of the Quidditch game, as I'm not very good at descriptive writing.

Thanks for the review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. More is about to happen in a couple of chapters!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Teddy1993 The Flying Lesson.

29th April 2014:
Another good chapter. It's funny you chose Cho as flying instructor (at least I presume it's her). She's actually the new flying instructor in my story too.

Author's Response: That IS a weird coincidence. I took a look at your stories a few days ago - just the summaries - and they look interesting. Must have a read sometime.

Yeah, I realised I was short a flying instructor and decided to find somebody we already knew to fill the position. I went looking through the books for Quidditch players who might fit the bill and eventually came up with Cho. I COULD just have kept Madame Hooch, I guess, but I decided against it.


 Report Review

Review #41, by Teddy1993 Mysteries.

29th April 2014:
I wonder if Professor Blackburn might be a werewolf. It would explain her foul mood the other night and maybe Slughorn was there to give her Wolfsbane. Either way, there is something going on with her and I'm sure we'll find out in the future. The whole situation with Albus and the chocolate cauldrons seems innocent enough, but I can understand it would be more creepy once he found out his brother didn't sent them as a prank. I think this was my favourite chapter so far. Great job!

Author's Response: *grins* Glad you enjoyed it. This was MY favourite chapter of the early ones too. Although I liked the end of the previous one, as it was so bizarre - giving detentions for essentially walking down a corridor.

And I LOVE your theory. Her being a werewolf WOULD explain a certain amount - her absence, her bad mood, what she is thanking Slughorn for. I love to hear what people think is going on. It all will be explained eventually, but not for a while. This is going to carry on having significance into year two.

And yeah, sending somebody swelling solution isn't MAJORLY serious, but you can imagine that Albus would find it a bit creepy that nobody seems to show any sign of having done it, especially as he's just started boarding school and is a bit nervous anyway.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Teddy1993 The Gryffindor Quidditch Team.

29th April 2014:
Nice chapter. I enjoyed the Quidditch try-outs. Great writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #43, by Teddy1993 The Slug Club.

27th April 2014:
I was kind of surprised to see that Slughorn is still teaching at Hogwarts, even though it's his final year. He must be pretty old by now :) Nice chapter! I'm really enjoying your story.

Author's Response: Yeah, I sort of fudged likelihood there, so that I could introduce new teachers a little more gradually, rather than having a load of new ones in first year and trying to introduce them all to readers.

Glad you're enjoying the story. I consider the plot to really get started in the next chapter. Looking forward to seeing what you think.

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #44, by Teddy1993 A Magical Education

26th April 2014:
I love how you write Rose. You can clearly see that she is Hermione's daughter. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you liked Rose. Year 2 is from her point of view. She's definitely Hermione's daughter, though as time goes by, you might see some indications she's Ron's as well.

 Report Review

Review #45, by Teddy1993 The First Night.

25th April 2014:
Good first chapter. I was surprised to see that Albus and Rose were both sorted into Ravenclaw, but it kind of makes sense. Especially for Rose, being Hermione's daughter. I'm looking forward to seeing what you've done with this story.

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

From the little we saw of Albus in the epilogue, he didn't exactly strike me as a Gryffindor or a Slytherin (plus I like to avoid the obvious). I honestly would probably have gone for Hufflepuff if it hadn't been for the fact that I wrote a next gen years ago before there were canon next gen characters in which I put Harry's son in Hufflepuff and he has some similarities with how I imagine Albus, so I wanted to avoid making the characters too similar.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #46, by Gabriella Hunter A Magical Education

5th April 2014:
HELLO!

BOOM! I'm here in your face for a review-swap (Thanks for leaving one on The Dark Lord's Prince for me, much appreciated, lovely) and I remember that I had been reading this story quite a long time ago but hadn't finished. I can't recall where I left off but I was pretty far along but didn't bless you with my silly reviews.

ANYHOO! So, I really love the little conflicted moments that you had Albus and his friends going through as they tried to get the hang of their first full day of school. There are so many interesting things that you've done here, with giving little hints of what's changed in the wizarding world and how their life with their family is after the War. The mention of Fred made me so sad...D':
Anyway, I think you've gone into some great detail and really thought of what you were going to be writing before you typed this out. I can t really see how much you cared about the world that the children were living in and how things were still, even after twenty years were still trying to set themselve's right.
Also, I love your kids! They seem like real children around that age, I particularly can't wait to see how Albus, Derek and Rose's relationships blossom in the future.
Your classroom scenes were great too, I never spend much time with them myself but I think you did a very nice job here. I liked the teachers you introduced as well, I can't wait to see more of them in the future! :D
This was a great read, I enjoy reading other Next Gen stories, its always so nice to see how different everyone's writing styles are when it comes to the grandchildren.
Thanks for the read! :D
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: *grins* Thanks for the review. I saw your request for a swap and was like, "hey, I never finished reading her story, so this is a good incentive to read on a little."

I'm glad you think the kids are convincing for their ages. I think 10-13 year olds are hard to write, because they aren't really little kids, but nor are they really teenagers and it's hard to avoid either making them too childish or else too mature.

Yeah, I'm trying to show that while things have improved, there are still problems. Some of the issues in the wizarding world seem to go back 1000 years, so they're not going to change in a generation, you know.

I enjoy writing the classroom scenes and one of my teachers in particular is going to become a significant character not just in this story, but throughout however much I write of the series. I've a subplot planned for them for Year Six, despite the fact, I have absolutely no main plot for Year Six.

And yeah, I like seeing the different ways in which people portray the characters and the future of the wizarding world. It's what I like about next gen. There are so many different ways you can go.


 Report Review

Review #47, by HEG Farewell Slughorn

11th February 2014:
I have finished this story and I did not think the baddie would be Dora. She was such a background character that you don't really notice her. I suspected Blackburn a bit because you put quite a lot of suspicion on her. I can't wait to find out what Blackburn s secret is. I have to guesses.

One she is a werewolf

Two she is an ex death eater

Author's Response: *grins* The first chapter of The Rise of the A.W.L. is titled "Professor Blackburn's Secret", so you'll find out soon enough.

I like both your theories. Like I said, I think somebody else guessed she was a werewolf, but don't think anybody guessed that she was an ex-Death Eater.


 Report Review

Review #48, by HEG The Destruction of the Universe.

11th February 2014:
I thought that the sound of the name of the chapter sounded very dramatic and I thought how is the destruction of the universe ever going to get solved. But I was wrong. It was a model solar system. Very good
HEG PoP

Author's Response: I was a little doubtful about the title of this chapter, because I thought people might be disappointed when they found out all that happened was a solar system being destroyed, but it was so appropriate, I couldn't resist using it.

Glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #49, by Anon Eleanor Lockhart.

11th February 2014:
I feel like this time just because albus doubts it, scorpius is gonna get some big important information

Author's Response: Hmm, it's possible.

You've only about another four chapters before you find out what's going on. Hope you like the resolution.


 Report Review

Review #50, by Anon The Malfoy Dynasty.

10th February 2014:
I can just imagine it now:
Scorpius: hey dad I made some new friends.
Draco:Oh nice, who?
Scorpius:Rose Weaseley and Albus Potter
Draco:*sigh* *thinks"out of all the people"*Thats great *fake smile*

Author's Response: *laughs* I can totally imagine that happening.

Thanks for the review. I really enjoyed reading it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>