Reading Reviews for Only a Piece of Wood
  
86 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Secret Santa A Day With Wood

21st December 2011:
Back for another chapter!

It was nice to see a chapter from Robin's POV. She definetely seems like a well rounded character, I like how she is feisty and individualistic and not really one of the popular girls. The potential love triangle is also intriguing, but it doesn't seem like Sarah brings a whole lot to the table other than crying all the time. Is Dai Chang Cho's older sister?

Robin and Oliver's interactions were very nice, and getting intoa quidditch argument was so in character for him. The part with filch was funny as well, and I like how Oliver stuck up for her to the Slytherins.

If I may make a suggestion, it would be to just add a few more descriptions, like for example, you could tell us what type of curse Flint used and describe the effects a little more.

Overall this is a really good story and I will definetely read the rest of it

Author's Response: Dai is Cho's cousin, yeah I need to bring more of Sarah but for now she doesn't have an important role for now.

Of course you can make a suggestion and that suggestion is a good one :) I'm glad you like the story, it makes me happy to see people are enjoying Oliver's tale.


 Report Review

Review #27, by Secret Santa Oliver Wood; Seventh Year

20th December 2011:
Back again for chapter 5!

I liked the further developments to Oliver's character, giving him some added layers of depth. First, we got to see how he kind of put academics on the backburner, which was toally in character. I also liked how he was totally awkward around girls, it makes sense given how much time he devoted to quidditch that he might not have the best social skills.

I really enjoyed Percy's inclusion. He is such a prat, but its totally in character. The parts with Fred and George were a nice touch as well.

I liked how Oliver stuck up for Robin, and their relationship seems to be developing at a nice pace so far.

Author's Response: Santa! Another present! Yay XD

Thank you :) Yeah I always thought Oliver wasn't very smooth, I mean he seemed so devoted to Quidditch and all. Percy seems like a prat but he isn't

I love Robin :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Secret Santa Oliver Wood; Side-tracked

20th December 2011:
Back again for chapter 4!

I love how you've been showing us various events from Oliver's life that give us really strong glimpses into what helped shape his personality.

That must have been really hard to have to find out that his dad was cheating from the other kids. It was totally believable that he would just want to play quidditch to take his mind of it andonly show his emotions in private. Since we only really see him in the quidditch scenes in the books, we don't relaly know what he was like aside from that, and I like how you've presented that so far.

I also realy enjoyed the inclusion of Charlie Weasley, one of the most underrated characters in the whole series. I like how Charlie was something of a role model for Oliver and was pretty much the ultimate Gryffindor.

The scene at the end was great too, I can see the tension starting to build with Robin, but its been just the right amount, not rushing it or anything

Author's Response: Secret Santa hello!

Originally this was written for a challenge about the life of any character we had chosen and I had never ever written anything about Oliver so I decided that it was my chance :) To my surprise I really enjoy it :) He was real challenge though since I feel that I see Oliver different form what others make him out to be.
I love Charlie which the reason I included him, hopefully I'll write about him or a death eater next..

:) Thank you Santa!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Anonymous  Hogwarts Newest Addition

19th December 2011:
This was another great chapter. Just one little complaint, I think it was probably a mistake that the scene from chapter 2 was repeated at the beginning.

Aside from that, I really enjoyed the depiction of Oliver starting at Hogwarts. The altercation at Madame Malkin's gace us great insights into his personality, we can see how he wants to do the right thing and also has a very feisty and competitive streak. Robin is a very interesting potential love interest as well.

I enjoyed the sorting hat scene and I liked how you wove Bill and Percy Weasley into the story. They both seemed completely in character. I will definetely keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll se more of Robin later on :) The beginning was not on purpose XD (my mistake!) I enjoyed Bill and Percy as well in fact I'm thinking of including more of Percy into the story.

 Report Review

Review #30, by Anonymous Keeper of the Glen

19th December 2011:
This was a very enjoyable chapter!

I loved the whole idea of the neighborhood kids gathering to play quidditch together, its just like the scenes of kids playing baseball or football/soccer in the streets.

I also really enjoyed how Oliver was playing with kids that were older and bigger than him, and how they underestimated him and were surprised with how good he actually was. We could see how Oliver really had something to prove, and that explains a lot about how his personality developed.

I can tell this is going to be a very enjoyable story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I loved the idea of the neighborood kids getting together and what better to get together than to play!

Oliver does have something to prove :) You'll see what I mean later on


 Report Review

Review #31, by Annoymous Prologue: Unexpected

18th December 2011:
I'm a big fan of Oliver so I knew I would like this story going into it, and so far I am not disapointed!

I like how you set up the backstory of Oliver's family and showed the challenges they faced starting a family while the war was going on. His parents seemed very sympathetic and admirable.

I relaly enjoyed how you tied in the celebrations of voldemort's defeat with Oliver's first exposure to flying, and helping explain how h became so obsessed with quidditch in the first place.

Great start, and I definetely want to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank yo your review made me smile. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as much!

 Report Review

Review #32, by hedwigs_theme Oliver Wood; Side-tracked

22nd November 2011:
Lovely chapter, I especially liked the ending when he bumped into Robin Watson. I also liked how you added in the fact that Oliver's dad had cheated on his mum. Great twist! Overall a fabulous four chapters that I have read but remember, if you want me to read more you will have to sign up again.

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response! Thank you for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by hedwigs_theme  Hogwarts Newest Addition

15th November 2011:
Fantastic! I loved how you metioned Bill Weasley as the prefect and how you described the Quidditch match! I noticed a couple of word errors that you probably did by accident, like leaving a letter out of a word. Apart from that, another brilliant chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by hedwigs_theme Keeper of the Glen

14th November 2011:
Fantastic 2nd chapter! I really like how you ended it, with the sunset! You repeated a sentence in the chapter, was that on purpose because it made a great effect?! Can't wait to read chapter 3.

hedwigs_theme/ potterweasleygranger

Author's Response: No that wasn't on purpose but I'm glad it had a nice effect anyway maybe I try to do it on purpose somewhere else.

 Report Review

Review #35, by Brittany Prologue: Unexpected

11th September 2011:
Of all the Oliver Wood centered stories, this on is the only one I've come across which hints towards why Oliver is so into Quidditch. I read a couple more chapters but this chapter really struck me as really, really, really unique.

Author's Response: Brittany your words mean alot. Thank you I've worked hard to make this Oliver/Oc as unique as possible :) I mean I always thought it'd be only reasonable to hint as to why our Ollie is soo into Quidditch, and of course to give him a quirky partner :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Owlpost68 The Lions and the Cup

11th September 2011:
I think this was a pretty good chapter, I liked the combination of Oliver obsessing over the cup, and Robin's brief appearance at dinner. I think it would have been kind of nice if she popped up at other points he was stressing out too. I think she's the perfect person to bring him down from those highs he gets to. Even if he kinda yelled or something, it seems she wouldn't back down easily. I'm glad you're back to writing! and thanks for mentioning me earlier that was sweet, I went awww lol Can't wait for what's next!

Author's Response: lol I'm hoping to update soon since I'm in love with Robin lately :) She'll pop up at various stress points and I'm glad she comes off the way she does it means I'm doing my job.

 Report Review

Review #37, by BellaFan202 Prologue: Unexpected

8th September 2011:
Here I am for that review that was requested like forever ago. :)

First things first: The summary says, "Oliver Wood was known to his classmates as a obsessive, perfectionist, and slightly insane Quidditch fan. " It should say, "Oliver Wood was known to his classmates as an obsessive, perfectionist, and slightly insane Quidditch fan."

'She pulled her cloak close to her skin careful to keep a tight grip on her wand.' There should be a comma between 'skin' and 'careful.'

These two paragraphs should be combined into ones: '“Charles,” she whispered as her husband suddenly stopped.
“Charles, is everything alright?” She asked suddenly, hearing him emitt a soft shocked sob. Her husband turned his brown eyes gave him an exhausted look and his hair stood on end.' and there should be a comma between 'soft' and 'sob.'

'She looked up, her eyes stared back at Charles who ran his hand through his hair.' There should be a comma after 'Charles' and after 'who.'

I didn't point out all the grammar mistakes, but there are still some in there. I know I beta "Building Dollhouses In The Sand," and I would like to review this one, but I don't have time to do so, what with school and such. However, I would, if I were you, find a beta to do this story as well.

I do think it was so sweet that Charles took Oliver on the broom. I loved that so much.

The chapter itself was good, but please think about what I said about a beta. :)

9/10
~BellaFan202~
(LiveLaughLoveHarryPotter on the forums)

Author's Response: first off sorry for the late response.

Thank for the lovely review, and I do know I have grammar mistakes which is why I'm taking a course to improve them soon :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Owlpost68 A Day With Wood

23rd August 2011:
Hi, just wanted to say that I really like this chapter, and can't wait until you right the next one. I thought it was pretty realistic the way you had her be teased by the slytherins and how wood tried to defend her in a way. I thought it was pretty cute :) I can't wait to see what you do next, I love this story as I'm sure you've guessed lol. :) Wood is so cute, he's like, yay I got to spend the morning with her :)

Author's Response: Jaja I have the chapter almost done :) I love your reviews they make me smile :) and I love that you love this story, in fact you've helped keep it going (sometimes I just feel soo uninspired it isn't even funny XD) SO thank you for your review :) *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #39, by Akussa Oliver Wood; Side-tracked

8th August 2011:
Hi again!

Wow, this chapter was an emotional roller-coaster for Oliver. Poor guy, learning that his father cheated on his mother is something rather horrible. And then, learning that he made quidditch captain but not being able to share it with his dad (because it's not like he cares, right?) that must be sad.

I quite like the way this story is moving forward. You only chose important and meaninful moments in the boy's life and play them very well. I like that Oliver stayed friends with Sophia, no matter that they got Sorted into different houses. I do sense a love traingle in the air though, with these two and Robin (Ah! I was right!).
Oh and I loved how Oliver didn't know his housemate. It's hard to believe but when you think of how this boy only thinks about one thing, it makes a bit of sense.

One sentence was hard for me to understand :

"As if this the first had been much more than before."

I'm pretty sure your beta will tell you about it too but, I needed to say it too! I really like this story, it is coming along nicely and I can't wait to see how Oliver will settle in his Captain role and how things with Robin will go!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Akussa! Hey!

True poor Oliver. his dad will play a big part in who he becomes in the end. Nope his father doesn't really care for our Ollie's Quidditch career :( I love Sophia :D But I don't think she'll end up with Ollie I'll have to see how his relationship with Robin ends up XD

Thank you for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Akussa  Hogwarts Newest Addition

8th August 2011:
Hello again!

See, I couldn't step away from this story; it's just so much fun! I really like those little snippets and enjoy seeing those differents sides of Oliver. We've now seen the noble Gryffindor that hides behind his slightly crazy and passionate personality!
I like the introduction to Robin, I'm guessing she will be important to this story, right? Oh and Percy? So Percy-like!! I really liked that scene. I have a question for you though, why did you put back the "August 1983" scene in this chapter too? Is it an error or volontary? Personaly, I didn't like that. I went back and forth a couple of times just to be sure I had really changed chapter and I really can't see the point of doing that, seiing as we have just read the previous chapter. It's your choice though (it IS a great scene!) but this is my opinion.

I noticed a couple little errors and typos through my read but nothing major so, I'll let your beta correct them! Great chapter and I can't wait to read more of the first years of Oliver at schoold (or any year for that matter; we've only ever seen him on the pitch!). Good work!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: The august 1983 was an error :P So I apologize. I'm glad Percy seemed percy-like that worried me for a while. Thank you again for your review and input! I really appreciative it :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Akussa Keeper of the Glen

8th August 2011:
Hello again!

That was such a cute chapter. I absolutly loved it! The way you write about quidditch and the children's passion is just so amazing; makes me feel like I was right there, on the side of the pitch. Or even closer; in the middle of the team huddles!

I like the idea of the children meeting up to play quidditch together, no matter their age. This is definitly the kind of things we did as children (although to us, it was baseball!) and it felt very believable.

This chapter though, wasn't as clean as the previous one. I know you are going through beta, right? So I'm guessing that this chapter hasn't been done yet but I still want to point out the most glaring mistakes I saw.

“Hanyes,”; in the next sentence, you call him Haynes and I believe this is the better version, right?

"...nodded his dark eyes"; one nods their head and not their eyes (though if you can do it, please, send me a video, I want to see that!!)

"That day for the first time the children of the north won a Quidditch game."; two things about this sentence. First, it is typed twice in a row in the chapter. Second, could be the ponctuation but it's hard to understand; I would suggest adding a coma or reformulating it all together.

"Elliot there his arm around Oliver."; again, I think you forgot some words in here because this sentence doesn't make much sense right now.

"yelling that he wasn't a small."; ... a small what? or did you mean 'that small'?

It was a really lovely chapter; I love the action and really like the little Oliver. These are such great snippets of his life, it's really enjoyable to read about the passionate boy's childhood! Oh and I absolutly loved the cameo of Lynch!!!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Akussa hello! I love your reviews Lol I was reading the review I can't believe I wrote he nodded his dark his eyes I am actually laughing (silently since it's late :P) Thank you for pointing out my mistakes.

Isn't Oliver a sweetheart? I love him too :)

Thank you for your review. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #42, by Akussa Prologue: Unexpected

8th August 2011:
Hello dearest!

I've been looking forward to erading this story for a little while now but couldn't find the right time. I have to say that I really enjoy this opening chapter. You really set up the Woods' lifestory well and manage to convey the fear of the war very well.
I quite like little Oliver as well as his parents. I like that you were honest when it comes to the father's emotions toward the little boy. It must be a horrible feeling to not only feel the need to protect your wirfe, but also a very hepless baby.

One sentence was a bit hard to understand for me :

"Her husband turned his brown eyes gave him an exhausted look..."; not sure if you forgot some words and all that would make the sentence flow better but right now, I'm a bit lost!

Also, one another thing I just want to point out; there is no need to change anything, I just want to check with you if this is really what you mean. You write :

"He had just turned five years old when his parents had finally taken him outside."

Do you mean that they had never taken him outside of the house in the five first years of his life? Because, this is what I understand here. The little boy's reaction doesn't really fit though; if it's the very first time he goes outside. And taht would be weird no? Having him locked up inside for the first five years of his life?
Like I said, no need to change anything, I simply wanted you to know how I understood that sentence!!

Overall, a strong opening chapter with lots of emotions and a lovely little boy!

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Hello fellow Lirate! Thank you for your review! You always write helpful reviews :)

Thank for your input, it was his first time out of the house at night. I think I should have explained that, that Oliver couldn't be outside all that time after all they were at war.

Again thank you for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by maskedmuggle Prologue: Unexpected

8th August 2011:
Ooh, I really liked this! I was expecting the prologue to be about Oliver on his first train ride, like many, many people do, so it was refreshing to be plunged back into the war era and get a glimpse of Oliver's parents. I really liked how you wrote Oliver's parents. I kind of want to know more about the Glen of Ravenclaw.. but it was nice to see them find safety in the midst of all the Death Eaters and everything.

The scene change was pretty good. It was nice to have it at the time when Voldemort was just defeated. I also liked the broomsticks - since we know Oliver loves quidditch! Overall, I really liked the plot of this chapter so far, the characterisation of the parents and the writing is great!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

Author's Response: Hello and thank you for the review :) You'll find out more about the Glen of Ravenclaw later on. I didn't want to start from Oliver train ride because it's a bit overdone plus I want to show people Oliver's life before Hogwarts :)

Yes his passion for Quidditch had to come from somewhere.

Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by CoLorful DreaM Prologue: Unexpected

6th August 2011:
Lirate, I'm back!

Her husband turned his brown eyes gave him an exhausted look and his hair stood on end. I get the idea but... I couldn't really fully understand this sentence. Is there any word missing? Is it about punctuation... Idk...
The chapter was, though, great. I never thought of Oliver as a descendent of Ravenclaw. Also, I could understand his father's worries, but same his mother's happiness, no matter there was war.
The moment you chose for Oliver to find out about flying was truly lovely. Little did he knew the obsession over flying will transform in one for Quidditch, I guess.

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Fellow Lirate, finally I can sit down and respond to this review.

The idea of Oliver being a Ravenclaw descent came when I needed to name where he lived :P I wanted to show both sides of the war which is why I used his parents. Like his father was worried because how could they bring a child into that! While his mom what to live their lives as normal, without fear of the Death Eaters.

His obsession of flying transformed into his obsession for Quidditch :P He's a passionate boy :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Silk Tea Oliver Wood; Seventh Year

25th July 2011:
Hey there! It's Silk Tea here from the forums.

First, I have to say that this is my first time reading an Oliver Wood story. I've always secretly loved him.

Second, when you started the story with the first chapter, I liked how you described how his dad was feeling with the war and the desperation to keep his family safe. Good job playing out the emotions. I was sad when I read that his father left them :(

Overall, you have done a good job! One suggestion: When I was reading, I got a bit confused with the dates and everything. Just make sure that it all flows together nicely. I felt like there were gaps.

Other then that, Great Job!

Author's Response: Lol I just edited the dates and put them in the queue and added things here and there. Thank you for your review I really appreciate it :D

 Report Review

Review #46, by Lunnah  Hogwarts Newest Addition

24th July 2011:
Hi there!!

I like how Oliver's sense of discipline and intensity about everything seems to stem from the hard time he has had growing up with a father like that. It has clearly made him stronger and adds a lot to the character. I think your Oliver is developing very well, if still a bit fast. I'm glad you did your research on Oliver's canon character and made him captain in his fourth year.

I do adore Charlie and I was so glad he was in some of your scenes! I think he is so undervalued and I love to read and write about him. Technically in canon I'm almost positive Charlie was on the team for a whole year (his seventh) after Oliver became captain, but as this doesn't really make sense anyway, I don't think its a big deal.

Sophia seems sweet and excitable, which makes for a pleasant character. I think she seems like a great friend for Oliver, but I would like to see her and Elliot developed more. I find myself lost as to who they are and what their stories are as I read about them.

The scene with Robin (love the name) was very cute. Just make sure she doesn't end up too much like Ginny (red hair and all)...I know that sounds absurd but a lot of people tend to characterize their character's red headed love interests after Ginny so I just thought I would mention it. Her character is very interesting to me and I would love to learn more about her!

Flipping through scenes works well in the introduction of stories, but are we going to jump around this much throughout the entire story? I would recommend slowing down and focusing your chapters on solid segments of time rather than showing multiple elements of a year in one chapter. This will allow the characters to develop more thoroughly and let us see more of Oliver's daily life. I would love to hear his thoughts/observations more.

The grammar in this chapter was much better, with a few exceptions here and there. Comma usage is what I notice the most, so I would recommend more slowly editing and reading through it. This isn't a major thing though!

I really like your story :-) I would be happy to review more chapters if you re-request in my thread! Hope this was helpful and I'm so glad you're writing a likeable Oliver character!

~Lunnah

Author's Response: Thank you. The story's going to slow down, I' m starting to edit so the story doesn't jump around much.

Believe Robin's (I love the name too :D) definitely not like Ginny. And now that I come to think of it I have seen lots Ginny-like red heads O.o I happy you think my Oliver's likeable :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by Lunnah Keeper of the Glen

24th July 2011:
Hello again! Sorry for the gap between reviews...I promise I will finish out all the chapters soon!

I am really enjoying your story and take on Oliver's character. I just love him! I liked that you've already shown what makes him a true Gryffindor and such a great Quidditch player through these little scenes. I feel like your grasp on what you want the character to be is very strong, which shows in your dialogue and his interactions with other people. However, I feel like more of a narration regarding his thoughts, reactions, and physical appearance would enrich his character further.

There is a LOT going on in this chapter. I think individually each of the scenes is very powerful but it might be more effective as a whole if it was split into two chapters and elaborated upon. Maybe the entire first part where he is still at home playing Quidditch could be its own chapter with more detail about his life and family before he goes to Hogwarts. Otherwise I thought the scenes narrated his journey to Hogwarts quite well!

I am liking his interactions with your minor characters. I warn you against letting Terrence be too much of a Draco character to Oliver, as the scene in the robe shop was similar and he is blonde and pure blood like Draco. These things are all fine as they are, I'm just referencing future characterization of this Slytherin boy. I thought it was lovely how he stood up to him on behalf of Robin. That really illuminated his character to me and I have always thought Oliver would be as fiercely devoted to doing the right thing as he is to winning a Quidditch match.

I absolutely loved the scene with Bill!! I don't think I have ever read a story with him at Hogwarts and I was so excited to see these minor canon characters pop up in your story. I hope we see more of Bill. I feel like he was a major presence at Hogwarts when he was in school.

The only thing I will point out is that I did notice some recurring grammatical and structural issues. These were mainly comma usage errors and such. If you have trouble with this I would recommend getting a beta! That's the easiest way to pick out those little grammatical things. Unfortunately, these sorts of things will distract from your plot and you don't want that! :-)

I hope this was helpful and I'm so glad you requested! I'm loving reading more about Oliver. Off to chapter two...

~Lunnah

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :D I'm dividing the chapters as I write so I can give more detail and better description of what going on in Oliver's day to day life. I love Bill.

I always thought Oliver was a passionate person and that's what I'm trying to express. His passion for life, Quidditich and anything he believes is right :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by searching17 Oliver Wood; Seventh Year

23rd July 2011:
Hmm you changed PoVs! I'd prefer it if you'd stick with Oliver, since he is the main character -- but this worked well. try not to throw more PoV changes in there unless you plan to do so regularly/alternatingly in the future! :P But I liked seeing things from Robin's mind. Besides a few spelling mistakes here and there, this is a good story! I'd only recommend you concentrate more on decription and details and less on dialogue, but that's just me :P Keep writing!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you I'm taking everyone's advice into consideration, and now that I've got a beta I hope I'll clear up the grammar soon :D I'm deciding that the story will be mostly in Oliver's p.o.v (90% Ollie maybe 10% Robin if that makes any sense XD)

 Report Review

Review #49, by searching17 Oliver Wood; Side-tracked

23rd July 2011:
I like how you made Oliver not smart -- showing his exclusion from his family and how his parents fight and how he has Quidditch to fall back on. He's already a 7th year, eh? Time flies rather fast in your story:P No worries though, it's good. Just one thing I noticed -- "Fortuna Major" said Elliot -- there should be a comma ending the quote, so "Fortuna Major," said Elliot. Other than that, good job!

Author's Response: Thanks lol I moved the story pretty fast didn't I haha :P Thank you for taking your time to review, the story :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by searching17  Hogwarts Newest Addition

23rd July 2011:
Aww can't believe his father cheated...it brings more depth to him, definitely. And the introduction of Charlie Weasley makes it more HP-real to me:) Love how Wood idolizes Charlie!

Author's Response: Lol I always thought Oliver though highly of Charlie, I mean he always was going on about how Charlie could have gone pro in the books. Plus I just wanted to give Charlie some love :P Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>