Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Breaking Even
  
247 Reviews Found

Review #26, by lovemesomethinSirius The End

30th September 2013:
First of all, thank you so very much for the birthday wishes! And, of course, including me in your authors note! It made me grin like a Cheshire cat, let me tell you! Alright, on with the review!

I think this might be one of the saddest chapters, in its own way. Not really made-me-sob sad like when Sev gave up his memories, but really close. I mean, Sirius just about broke my heart! Your scenes are always so brilliant and realistic and I could really see Sirius sitting in that cell.. I wish I could give him a hug and tell him it's all gonna be okay..and a shower and a hot meal too, poor guy. Ahh, I'm so glad that Sarah visited him! And so sad that Bethy didn't. I'm a bit upset with her for that! She should know him better than that, he and James were her best friends! C'mon Beth! :(

I love how Sev and Beth are married- him playing with her ring, his insistence that just knowing she's his wife is enough. All so sweet! But, again, it's sad that she's missing the boys. I also love the memory of their first Christmas together, with them catching snowflakes on their tongues. Who hasn't done that?!

And REMUS!!! I'm so upset with that guy for shutting Beth out like that! Just grrr! I understand why, of course, but still!

Oh, I just had a random thought! You know how the map insults Sev years down the road? With Beth on there, that would also mean that Talons is insulting him then. Beth unknowingly ends up insulting her husband! For some reason, that makes me giggle. Maybe because the insulting bit was all James and Sirius. :)

Anyway, I'm sad it's over! Waaa! Maybe you could write another one, maybe Pre-Hogwarts or Hogwarts era? That would be amazing!

Thank you for letting us share this journey with you! What an amazing story. ♥

Author's Response: Happy birthday (again)! I think you're very right -- for me, at least, this is one of the saddest chapters, and just because I could feel a very oppressing air of finality about all of it as I was writing it. Sirius was included solely for Sarah's purposes, but he got a semi-happy ending from it, and Beth and Sev are nearly fully happy now, and it just took so long for them all to get there. Quite the journey, wouldn't you say?

Beth will always have a part of herself that is lost without her boys, but the love of a man like Severus will do her wonders. ♥ My dear character. I already miss her so much.

I LOVE that idea about "Talons" insulting Sev -- I've never thought of that! Oh my God, I'm going to have to write a one-shot about that, even if I never post it anywhere. That is just too good.

Thank you so much for being such a lovely reviewer throughout this trilogy! Your thoughts really were always appreciated, and I genuinely loved hearing from you and from everyone else.

And thank you for reading this trilogy in the first place, of course! ♥


 Report Review

Review #27, by Always Padfoot (and sometimes Snape) The End

29th September 2013:
AHHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!HHH!

I can't believe this is the end. It seems like just yesterday that you told me you finished writing Breaking Even and while I was sad about that, I could content myself with the fact that there was still loads of time and updates left before I had to say goodbye to Beth and Severus.

Gah. I wanted to be able to review the second you posted this, but luck had it that I woke up with a raging migraine and really bad vertigo. Basically I spent all day in bed because it felt like I was going to be tossed into the ceiling.

SIRIUS. YES. ♥ ♥ ♥ That was perfect. God, Azkaban is one of the most inhumane magical inventions ever. They don't even get glass on their windows. They sit in a little room and freeze and go mad and they can't bathe and jeez, that is such a dark and dismal fate. I'm so happy that Sarah Wright came to visit him and that she still believes in him even if no one else does. I'm endlessly depressed that Beth doesn't know he's innocent. It's just so wrong that he has to sit in there for the next decade and not get to see Harry grow up and not be godfather of Beth's children, too. But Beth is at a different place in her life now and it would be painful to think about any of the boys at all so I can't blame her for not wanting to go visit him.

Beth and Severus at Christmas! This chapter was so bittersweet, and I LOVE the image of Beth and Severus sitting together by the fire reading books, all rosy and happy, while the snow comes down. That's a lovely scene you painted for us, and I can see all the promise in their future. We went from experiencing Christmases in the Gryffindor tower to Beth and Severus's first Christmas together, and while we won't get to see it I can imagine Christmases later on down the road when Beth and Severus have started their family. I'm happy for them. They bring out such a sweetness in each other that nothing else can.

♥ THIS STORY. Not just Breaking Even but all of them. They're my favorite stories on the archive, written by my favorite author on HPFF, and I feel so honored that I got to have insider information (usually after wearing you down a good bit) and I got to be a part of the magic in a small way, cheering you on and cheering on Beth Bridger. I'm going to miss this story like nobody's business. You really achieved something amazing here. You gave Severus the happily ever after he SO deserved. Because of you, I can pretend that he doesn't grow up to be the bitter, lovelorn Professor Snape that Harry knew and hated. He's still got the same characteristics at his core, but thanks to Beth and the side of him that she brings out, he can be more. He can be more than a symbol, more than some guy who was rejected, looking after a dead girl's son. He's too intelligent of a character, too complex and interesting, to live only for the purpose of Lily Potter.

Your wonderful quality of writing, your ability to combine suspense, romance, adventure, humor, darkness, action - it's no wonder you've kept us all on the edges of our seats all this time later. A lot of people set out to write a novel and never finish. You finished three.

I'm going to admit here that my eyes are a wee bit teary because I'm going to miss Beth and Severus and Sirius and James and Lily and not Peter ever, and I'm going to miss seeing Order meetings and Death Eater headquarters and Lucius's pimp cane and Beth making Severus fall in love with her out of sheer willpower. But then I remember that the best from you is yet to come, and I'll get to read it all. Beth's story is over, but you're just getting started. I'm so excited to see everything you come up with next!

I LOVE YOU. I'm so proud of all your accomplishments. You are literally incapable of writing anything halfway. You have a remarkable gift and just (hug) (hug) (hug). THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS TRILOGY AND SHARING YOUR AWESOME WITH THE WORLD. Beth and her adventures have a permanent place in my head canon. I'll never be able to read the HP books in the same way again.



Author's Response: I AM GOING TO POWER THROUGH THIS RESPONSE AND IT'S GOING TO SUCK AND I WILL APOLOGIZE IN ADVANCE FOR IT. ♥ *steels nerves*

Dude, it feels like yesterday I started /writing/ Breaking Even. Or started writing Sneth in general. And it's been over two years and I don't like this whole "time flies" concept at all.

Sirius in Azkaban and Sarah Wright and bleakness and balls of hope/light are all for youuu. ♥ I was totally content with the reader never seeing Sirius again (except in Beth's flashback) but of course I can imagine you might have raged at me for it, and this is the very happiest I could make him, in all good masochistic conscience. I feel like Beth should go on another crusading mission and break him out. She broke into Hogwarts, right? It should be easy!

Gah. I told myself I would not cry. Definitely not after two weeks. But I MISS Beth and Severus, and writing their cozy moments, and having you cheer for them as they fought so hard to be together. OH MY GOD, BUT I'M REALLY CRYING. And I just don't know how to tell you how damn influential you were not just with this trilogy, but in my entire life, ever since I met you. No one has cheered louder or listened more intently or helped more patiently, and it's because of something you said -- yes, you -- that I'm trying to do something with writing at all. Do you remember the review you left me once, so long ago I can't even remember, that said something along the lines of "If you never do anything with writing in your professional life, I'll be very surprised"?

That was the night I decided I wanted to major in English writing. Professional writing came later, but YOU made made switch my major idea in the first place. You. One of my best friends, because of everything you've done for me in just under three years. ♥

Beth's story is over, and I'll be mopey about that for ages -- but I'm just getting started, and you're still cheering for me, and that's all I need, amirite?

(hug) I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH. THANK YOU FOR READING THIS AND BEING AMAZING AND ALL OF IT. PADFOOT TO MAH PRONGS. ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #28, by patronus_charm The End

29th September 2013:
AH. THE END HAS COME. SO EXCITED/SAD/CONFUSED/SUFEFERING FROM SNETH FEELS. VIRTUAL HUG RACHEL! AHAHAHA. I JUST CANíT/DONíT WANT TO BELIEVE IT.

Seeing Sirius in Azkaban seriously (no pun intended) brought tears to my eyes. I was just yelling I believe in you and the fact that my case and his was both hopeless was so sad and made me beginning blubbering. The air of Azkaban you caught was perfect, and Iím just so glad that we returned to him as it was so fitting to see that their stories wrap up well even if his one is a very sad one.

SARAH WRIGHT. I have a loved every single one of her random appearances mainly due to unpredictability and how theyíre just right and this one couldnít be more perfect. It was just like the light which gave him hope and fitted in really well with canon about how he managed to stay sane as she would have kept him like that.

YOU HAVE TO WRITE A SEQUEL ABOUT HOW THEY LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER NOW. OK? LOL. This review is turning into an explosion at the caps lock factory but I canít help it! Gah, I donít want this to be my last review. I guess I can go and re-read the series and review the chapters I havenít yet. Hmm, that idea is very tempting.

THEYíRE SO CUTE. They need to have babies, like now. Or in a one-shot about them having babies. They would be really cute ones so no need to worry about that. Gah, Iím so glad that you chose Christmas as itís all romantic and sweet but so feelsy and made me want to cry a lot which wasnít much of a surprise as this chapter has set me off a lot.

REMUS. WHY DIDNíT YOU GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER? Is he a wizard or a ghost (terrible attempt at changing it.)? Iím glad that Beth tried at least, but she needs to get her act together and visit Sirius whatís with all this she might ever not, she needs to. I can see lots of spin-off one-shot opportunities here Rachel. Hint, hint, wink, wink, nudges arm. ;)

The flashback was just perfect. Then Severus kissing her. Gah, I canít cope with it. Iíve just experienced Beth life her innocent young age to adulthood and even though Iíve only followed this story since February which isnít that long compared to some people Iíve loved every second of it and every second of their journey. Itís just been perfect and thank you so much for writing this!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

-Kiana

p.s. I've waited five minutes to post this review to see if the feels would have gone but they haven't :(

Author's Response: Virtual hugs! ♥ I know I'm late responding to this -- but the end is here! It's taken me two weeks to respond to these reviews because I just could not handle it sooner. It's still too weird for words not to have anything to post on Sundays.

All of the Marauders except Beth -- Sirius and Remus most prominently in this chapter -- got rough endings to their stories, and it just sucks so much. But it's also very important to Harry's story, which is one I want virtually unchanged, that I couldn't bring myself to change the vital parts. Sarah Wright is to give real-life Sarah happiness. ♥ As much as she can glean, anyway! I was so happy to include her one last time. :)

I make no sequel promises, but I won't say a flat-out never! When I know something, you'll know something. And for anyone else possibly reading this response, you'll be pleased to know (I'm already excited about typing this!) that yes, Beth and Severus have children. I have known about their children for quite some time. *squee*

A final Marauders flashback, and a final Sneth kiss -- and now I remember WHY IT'S SO HARD TO RESPOND TO THESE REVIEWS. I have so many feelings now. ♥ Cannot handle this. Thank you for being such an incredible and enthusiastic reviewer, and for being a great source of encouragement, and for loads of other things as well, Kiana. I'm proud to call you a friend!

And thank you for reading this trilogy, too!!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Gosia The End

29th September 2013:
And (because it's totally normal that I forget about the most important thing after writing a few words for an hour) congratulations on finishing your trilogy! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :3 It still doesn't feel real, you know? I can shout about how I wrote a trilogy until I'm blue in the face, but I think it'll always feel a little surreal.

Thank you (again)! ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by Gosia The End

29th September 2013:
I still can't believe this is the end.
I wrote some time ago - "it feels like a journey that is always going to end too soon". Now that it's all finished I can say - it was a beautiful journey that I'm going to remember for a long, long time. I lack words to describe what I would like to describe.

Thank you.
Thank you for your always kind words, for your responses, for every minute you spent writing them.
I would never say my words or my thoughts would mean so much to anyone.

Beautiful last chapter. It wasn't sad - no. It was lovely, calm and full of warmth. Of course I felt like crying a little when I was reading but what really moved me was your Autor's Note and your mention of my name. Thank you.

If I could, I would never finish writing this review. I've been writing it for nearly one hour now; there are so many things I would like to say but I can't.

Thank you once again - I think everything I have got to say comes down to this phrase.

Author's Response: I just don't have words. ♥ Even though you were one of my newer reviewers, you were one of the kindest, and I'll never be able to express how much that meant to me. And I always feel that it's so important to tell you and everyone else how much it really does mean to me that you reviewed. There's nothing obligating a reviewer to leave a review in the first place, and you guys are what keep authors going!

There is a calmness to this chapter, well-deserved after the roller coaster of the end of 1981, as canon lays it out to be.

This review. ♥ It's lovely, and you're lovely for leaving it. Thank YOU for being so great about everything Sneth!

And thank you for reading this trilogy!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Courtney Dark The End

29th September 2013:
OMG WHEN I CLICKED ACROSS TO MY FAVOURITE STORIES PAGE AND SAW BREAKING EVEN AT THE TOP WITH A BIG 'COMPLETED' SIGN ON IT I GASPED EXTREMELY LOUDLY AND BEGAN SQUEALING A LITTLE!

I can't believe I have just read the final chapter. My mind is seriously blown. I know I've only been reading this amazing trilogy for less than a year but I feel like I know all the characters as well as the back of my hand and I just love them all so much and I'm just so sad that it's over. I WANT MORE! Although I am VERY excited to read some of your other stuff - I'm sure it will be just as amazing as this.

This was seriously a great ending. I LOVE that we got a bit of Sirius' point of view, in Azkaban. That was very cool, and I just feel so, so bad for him. Why did this have to happen to him? Sob!

And then Beth's point of view was great, too - the perfect way to end an awesome trilogy. But that flashback was just so sad, and I got this huge wave of nostalgia for the first book when everyone was alive and happy and free and had no idea about all the horrible stuff that was to come.

These were such great books and all your characters were so well written. Beth felt so realistic and I always felt so connected to her and her story. Thank you for writing these, it was an amazing how ever many months it was.

Wow. This review sounds very cheesy. So sorry about that.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm still trying to cope with that "Completed" tag under the story! Ah, emotions. I'm so glad that you felt that you got to know the characters over the course of the story, and more importantly, that you stuck with them until the end. It means so much to me. :)

Sirius's appearance was all for Sarah! Poor dear -- she wanted so badly for him to have a happier ending, and I tried to give him the happiest one canon would allow. And Beth very much needed a Marauders flashback. Those boys shaped her life, for better and for worse.

I'm flattered beyond belief that you connected to Beth and my characters and my story. ♥ It's been a whirlwind two years of Sneth, and I wouldn't change a single thing about it! (That sounds cheesy, too, but it's inevitable.)

Thank you for reading this trilogy!


 Report Review

Review #32, by saloho The End

29th September 2013:
Congratulations on finishing your trilogy. I liked the bittersweet ending where Beth remembers what was, after what she went through, and what we know the future holds, there couldn't be a typical happy ever after. In it fact it left it open... Any plans to explore what the Snapes face 10 years on?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It was important for me to include the Marauders in this chapter (besides Sirius, of course), since this really is a MARAUDERS story at the heart of it all. It's not a standard happily ever after, but given the circumstances, I'm very happy that Beth and Sev got something like a happy ending anyway.

There are currently no plans to write any more Sneth, although I'll never say never. A one-shot collection would be what I would write if I wrote anything, but fan fiction and I are not friends lately. If I know something, you'll know something!

Thank you for reading this trilogy! ♥


 Report Review

Review #33, by Courtney Dark Into Hogwarts Again

26th September 2013:
OH MY GOD, I'VE JUST READ THE LAST CHAPTER THAT IS POSTED! THIS IS SUCH A WEIRD FEELING!

And wow, I read almost twenty chapters in one day! I have to say, I am quite proud of that effort!

I really don't know what else to say, other than this chapter was perfect and Beth was perfect and Severus was perfect and Dumbledore was perfect AND MY HEART STILL ACHES FOR JAMES AND SIRIUS AND LILY and I still have so many questions, some of which I hope will be answered and I'm wondering what will happen to Beth in the days when Harry attends Hogwarts and whether she'll be okay and whether she'll ever meet Harry and will she and Remus reconcile, and will she find out that Sirius wasn't the traitor and what will she do with her life now and will she and Severus remain married and...

Yeah, I have quite a few questions. I DON'T WANT THERE TO BE ONLY ONE CHAPTER LEFT! I WANT TO READ IT NOW BUT I DON'T WANT TO READ IT EITHER BECAUSE WHEN I DO IT WILL ALL BE OVER! CRY!

I seriously think you should consider writing like seven Beth Bridger books. One chapter every couple of days, how does that sound;)

THIS IS SO AMAZING, YOU ARE AMAZING, CHEERS FOR EVERYONE! WOO! (What am I even talking about? My brain has seriously turned to mush!

Author's Response: I can't believe how quickly you caught up! You read an insane amount of chapters in one day. ;) I know I'm responding to this out of your reviewing order, but I like to have all of the previous chapter's reviews answered before I post a new one. Your other ones will eventually have responses too, I promise!

My heart aches so much for this era. There is SO MUCH SADNESS, and that's one of the largest reasons why I wanted to give Beth and Sev a happy ending. One in five deserves one -- and they've been through so much, too. I miss James and Lily and Sirius, though. Sirius does make an appearance in the last chapter, but James and Lily... decidedly do not. :(

I have so many ideas for small scenes involving Beth and Sev from the canon years that, in all honesty, I'd be very surprised if I never put at least one or two of them on this page. I know people have questions, and I hate that you don't know the answers when, for most of them, I do! I'll never say never. I already miss them too much to give them up forever. ;)

One chapter every couple of days would kill me. ♥ But I appreciate your enthusiasm! Haha!

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING SUCH AN AWESOME REVIEWER. You are, I do believe, one of only two people who can say they've reviewed every single chapter of this trilogy! And that really does mean so much to me. ♥ Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Courtney Dark Wedding Day

26th September 2013:
OH MY GOD I AM AN UNNATURAL MESS OF EMOTIONS RIGHT NOW WHO HAS BEEN READING THESE CHAPTERS FAR TOO QUICKLY AND USING OH MY GOD AND HOLY CRAP FAR TOO MUCH!

Severus and Beth are married! Haha, Beth Snape - I have to say, it doesn't really roll off the tongue.

THE WEDDING WAS SO PERFECT! Severus' speech, absolutely everything...

I'm dying. In a good way this time. AND I ONLY HAVE ONE CHAPTER (that's up) LEFT TOO GO! I'VE CAUGHT UP JUST IN TIME!

EK! (For the sake of saying eek, and because I'm feeling quite ekish.)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: ALL THE EMOTIONS. CAPS AND REUSING WORDS ARE ALL PERFECTLY ACCEPTABLE. ♥ Beth Snape really doesn't roll off the tongue too well, but Bethany Snape does sound better -- and honestly, in the grand scheme of things, I would rather her be Beth Snape than anything else.

I seriously am way too attached to these characters for my own good. Like, I joke about it... but seriously.

I'm so happy you enjoyed the wedding! I loved writing it. It just seemed so perfect for the pair of them, especially after everything they've been through. EEK!

Thanks for the review! And... wow. This is the last one, isn't it? WOW. I CANNOT. I am so grateful to you for leaving all of these reviews on all of my chapters. That is seriously so incredible. And I want you to know, for the final time, just how much it seriously, seriously means to me, that you not only read every chapter of Sneth, but that you reviewed each one, too. That is incredible, and I am indebted to you forever for doing me such an honor. ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark A Trip to Hogsmeade

26th September 2013:
WOW! I was certainly not expecting that little piece of information! THEY'RE GETTING MARRIED! But...for how long? Will something happen to one of them? or will it be happy endings!

I am now in this feverish I MUST KEEP READING MOOD (I'm so near the end!) that I'm not going to write anymore, but go on to the next chapter with a bucket load of enthusiasm.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: THEY'RE GETTING MARRIED! ♥ ALL THE RUMORS ARE TRUE, I SWEAR. It's been weeks since I posted this chapter, and months since I first wrote it, and STILL I cannot keep the smile from my face with this lovely knowledge. I just. I am so happy.

I'm so impressed with how quickly you sped through the end of this! I'm the same way near the end of a book or fic -- I feel the ending, and it's so close that I can't stop until I get there. :P

Thank you for reviewing! (Are you tired of hearing it yet?)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Courtney Dark Traitor, Traitor

26th September 2013:
REMUS! DON'T DO THIS TO ME!

Poor, poor, poor Beth. And poor Severus. And poor Remus, in a way (even though I kinda wanted to hit him in this chapter, and throttle him for never contacting harry) because I can see that something inside him has just switched off.

You have written everything so perfectly and, I must say, I am looking forward to these (hopefully more positive) Severus and Beth developments, because these last few chapters have been very dark indeed.

Amazing (though horribly awful) chapter.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I don't know why I get the impression that Remus couldn't handle the events at the end of the war, more than anyone else -- but I do. I think a large part of it has to do with the fact that he basically just disappeared for 12 years with no explanation. That's the sort of thing I think would happen when someone just got too overwhelmed and couldn't cope with the emotions, you know?

There are definitely more positive Sev/Beth developments coming! I will attempt and reassure you, even though you've already read the entire book and don't need my comforting anymore. ♥ Maybe someone else is reading these responses. Who knows? Not me!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Courtney Dark The Next Morning

26th September 2013:
Oh my god. When Beth told Sirius to be careful I actually started crying - tears are seriously running down my cheeks right now and I've clamped by jaw to stop myself from wailing and disturbing everyone in the house.

This chapter was just so sad!

Remus and Sirius' fight...oh my god, I knew it had to happen but WHY!!?? James wouldn't have wanted his two best mates to fight!

You're killing me, you know that right? I don't think I'll ever be whole again! (But seriously, you are an amazing author - you should be so proud!)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: *hugs for you* I'M SORRY I MADE YOU CRY. I'm really flattered you had that reaction in the first place, but I know that not everyone finds crying as cathartic as I do. There is much sadness towards the end of this book, for sure -- but I tried to mix it in with considerable happiness as well.

Remus and Sirius's fight is one of my favorite parts about the end of this book, but it was so strange, writing this and knowing it would be the last things they ever said to each other until PoA. James was the glue that held them together, in my mind; when he's gone, everything falls apart.

You're making ME cry with that parenthetical at the end of this review. ♥ I have no words. I am proud, so proud -- but I'm also so indebted to my reviewers, just like you. They are everything.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Courtney Dark Shatter

26th September 2013:
MY SOUL FEELS LIKE IT HAS BEEN CRUSHED INTO A MILLION TINY LITTLE PIECES! SOB! WAIL! CRY!

I knew it was coming, I knew it was most probably going to be this chapter but as soon as I started reading, found out that it was from James' point of view my lower lip actually started shaking, I got that hot/cold/I'm very sad feeling and I just about started bawling.

And then everything happened. Lily told James that she was pregnant and then James told Harry that he was going to have a younger brother or sister AND HE NEVER EVEN KNEW and then James took off his glasses and was making colourful bubbles for Harry...

And then the ending:( Even writing this is just making me want to cry. The ending was...poetic, somehow, in a horrible sinister way. I literally had shivers all over my body. The way it switched out of James' point of view...

URGH! What is everybody going to do when they find out what happens?

Courtney:( (Yep, that's right, a frowny face - not that I didn't love this chapter because I did, but I really hated it at the same time) IT'S A LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP!

Author's Response: It was, in retrospect, very mean of me to put such a horrid chapter after a series of really happy ones -- but that's life, you know? I knew it was coming from the moment I started the trilogy, and it was still hard for me to write James and Lily's deaths. I'm pleased to have caused such a reaction in you... but I'm sorry it was such a sad one. ♥

ALL THE BARBS IN THIS CHAPTER. All the happiness right before the world shattered (as it were) -- and I just feel really bad for everyone here. This is the catalyst for everything that comes after it. Everything. And Harry, still just a baby. Writing this chapter made me recognize the weight on his shoulders in canon more than almost anything before.

I'm flattered that you thought the ending was poetic, though. :) If I could pick any adjective to describe my hopes for it, it would be that one. Thank you for such a lovely review, even if the chapter was painful!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Courtney Dark Professor Severus Snape

26th September 2013:
AH!

That pretty much sums up my opinion of this chapter.

THIS WAS PERFECTION! I wish I could write a cooler, more intelligent sounding review but I have just turned to mush and am so happy and this chapter was so amazing and YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!!!

Omg, omg, Severus remembers her! Holy crap, that scene between them was perfect! Kissing as a teacher in Hogwarts, tut tut, Severus;)

And you just wrote Dumbledore so perfectly!

BUT IT'S STILL HALLOWEEN! AND I WANT TO READ ON BUT I DON'T AT THE SAME TIME...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: That generally sums up my reaction to these chapters, too -- I just had so much fun writing them and posting them and responding to people's reactions to them. ♥ I'm so happy you enjoyed it! It took so, so long to get to this point in the story that I thought I'd explode, knowing things people didn't.

He remember her! She kissed him! And everything is wonderful and I'm so glad you liked Dumbledore and I just have so many feelings, Courtney.

Thank you for your review! I'm going to try and make my future responses more sensible... but I promise absolutely nothing, you know. :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by Courtney Dark The Memory Bottle

26th September 2013:
OMG!

OMG! OMG! OH. MY. GOD!

I honestly don't think I can write a coherent review right now. Beth in Hogwarts! And it all seems so creepy and sinister! AND IT'S HALLOWEEN! OH MY GOD! And when she was talking to James about seeing him later...SHE MIGHT NOT!

AND DUMBLEDORE HAS THE CLOAK! BETH FORGOT IT! BETH WHY DID YOU FORGET IT? WHY AM I WRITING IN CAPITALS? I DON'T KNOW!

PROFESSOR SNAPE!

GO BETH! GO!

HOLY CRAP I'M GOING TO HAVE A NERVOUS FIT IF I'M NOT CAREFUL!

NEXT CHAPTER

COURTNEY:) (EVEN MY NAME IS IN CAPITALS - THAT'S HOW EXCITED/SCARED I AM!)

Author's Response: I was so excited for you (and everyone else) to get to this chapter! And the next one! AND ALL OF THEM! ♥ I'm still giggling like mad, even all this time later, knowing that this was was a thing that happened. These two chapters with Beth in Hogwarts were some of my favorites in the entire trilogy. They just felt right, you know?

GO BETH GO! All caps is a perfectly acceptable way to type. I often use it to my advantage. :D THANK YOU FOR THIS CAPS-HEAVY REVIEW. ♥


 Report Review

Review #41, by Courtney Dark The Secret-Keeper

26th September 2013:
Okay. OKAY. HOLY CRAP THERE ARE SO MANY THOUGHTS SWIRLING IN MY HEAD!

First, Peter becoming secret keeper! No! No, no, no, no! Hmm, but Dumbledore was in the room? Was that a deviation from canon or is something going to happen that will change things? I DON'T KNOW! I CAN'T WAIT TO FIND OUT!

Gosh, this story is getting intense. I'm almost having a nervous breakdown just thinking about it!

And Beth was there, too! Which means that she knows Peter was the secret-keeper and that Sirius is innocent...so what will happen when Sirius goes to Azkaban, I wonder? Would she know he was innocent? Will she go to Azkaban too? Will she go all dark side? Will she have her memories wiped? Will she DIE??

Oh god, my brain is about to explode!

REMUS IS NOT THE TRAITOR SIRIUS! Sob! Such thoughts about good, kind, innocent Remus make me want to cry.

Beth is going into Hogwarts to get the memories! And HOLY CRAP, LILY IS PREGNANT WITH HER SECOND CHILD! That makes her death even sadder, if that's possible.

Must. Keep. Reading!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: You absolutely soared through the rest of this book! Thoughts are swirling in your head like memories in a bottle, am I right? (Sorry. That was awful.)

The thing that is important to remember about Peter and the Secret-Keeper business (which is horribly vague at the best of times) is that things were so confused, and the magic was pretty unspecific, that it's kind of hard to point fingers at this stage. I mean, Remus pointed fingers at Sirius for 12 years, right? Secret-Keeper stuff was some of the hardest to write in this whole trilogy. :P

*zips lips about Beth's future*

But memories! Hogwarts! Pregnant Lily! (There's more of those barbs in the heart that I so love to write.) Keep reading, Courtney, keep reading! ♥ Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Courtney Dark A New Position

26th September 2013:
Wow, this was such a good chapter! I'm sorry, this is going to be a pitifully short review, because I am just so eager to keep reading, but I'd just like to say that I really enjoyed reading your interpretation of this particular encounter between Dumbledore and Severus (and that you just wrote Dumbledore so unbelievably well) and that I can absolutely not wait to keep reading!

Oh, and I'm looking forward to reading some of your other stuff when I'm finished Breaking Even;)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: This will probably be a pitifully short response, too, mostly because it's so hard to try and say 'thank you' a thousand times over and over again. :P I'm glad you enjoyed the Dumbledore/Snape encounter, though! Dumbledore is one scary dude, for real. I'm glad you liked the way I wrote him, too. ♥

I'd love to hear what you think of my other stories! :) Thank you very much for your review -- I really do appreciate your taking the time to leave all of them!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Courtney Dark Lily's Son

25th September 2013:
Oh my god!

This chapter could not have been written any more perfectly - you are seriously a genius when it comes to tying and canon events into your own imagination.

And holy cow, did you characterize all those Death Eaters perfectly! Bellatrix was amazing, as was Voldemort, and Severus' descriptions of him were brilliant.

Oh, and I was not expecting that tiny little bit of betrayal from Lucius, because I have always seen him as such a horrible, one-sided man - but then I guess he has a son the same age as Harry and HOW COULD YOU NOT FEEL ANYTHING ABOUT KILLING A BABY?

Oh, and the line "I must kill Harry Potter." I could actually just imagine Ralph Fiennes saying that in his whispery, creepy Voldemort voice - there were shivers up my spine!

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Your reaction to this chapter is making me grin like mad! :D I'm so pleased that you're enjoying my interpretation of canon events. As I'm sure you know, I tried to ground this book in canon as much as possible, and it's nice that the efforts are appreciated. ♥

Death Eaters were so much fun to write in this book! So delightfully evil. Bellatrix and Voldemort are probably the trickiest canon characters for me, but it's like a challenge. But they are humans, which is what I meant for Lucius to embody, and I am just blabbering right now because your reactions to this chapter are everything I hoped!

Apologies for the senseless nature of this review -- it's totally rambling, but I'm having trouble putting my thoughts into words. Thank you nevertheless for your lovely thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Courtney Dark Boys' Night

25th September 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter, simply because of the fact that it was all about the four marauders, all of them together for the first time in ages. Even though I am dreading it, I am actually looking forward (I think I just completely contradicted myself, but that's okay) to see how everything begins to fall apart, to see why Remus would suspect Sirius and how everything falls into place.

Oh, and by the way REMUS' POINT OF VIEW! I'm not sure why I was so excited about that, I just was.

And Peter...grr, I really, really disliked him in this chapter. HOW COULD HE BETRAY HIS BEST FRIENDS?

Okay, I said this was going to be my last chapter, but I think I might just read one more. ONLY one more...

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Marauders camaraderie is one of my favorite things in this world. ♥ Writing it, more than anything else, has made me appreciate a good bromance. It was so hard writing their inevitable falling out because of how much I grew to love writing their friendship, even though I hypocritically loved writing all the drama that came later.

PETER. It was actually harder to write him being nice than being mean -- he's just... scum. Ugh. Scummy rat.

Thanks for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by Courtney Dark The Time Is Now

25th September 2013:
Aw, I felt sorry for poor Beth in this chapter - Moody was really pretty horrible to her, but to me he's always been the type of character that is quite hard and no-nonsense during difficult types, so I think you've written him well. And I really like how suspicious he was towards Severus, that's very in-character!

Beth loves Severus! Woo-hoo! And Sirius was just perfect in this chapter, he really is such a good friend.

Okay, I really am supposed to be doing my History assignment, but I think I have time (not really, but that's okay) to squeeze in one more chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I definitely agree with you about Moody's characterization. I do think he's very no-nonsense, and unfortunately for Beth, he rarely takes her personal feelings into account. I actually found writing him to be really fun! If an opportunity arose, I'd like to explore him further. :)

SHE DOES. SHE DOES LOVE SEVERUS. I PROMISE. ♥ I still have so many feelings about posting the final chapter, man.

I should probably be working on something more productive than this, too. But here I am, answering your reviews! Thank you so much for them!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Courtney Dark Bathilda and a Broomstick

25th September 2013:
Aw, this chapter was just so sweet and adorable and perfect - I really, really enjoyed it.

I absolutely LOVE how you so seamlessly tie all these canon events we know about together in the PERFECT way. Like Bathilda talking about Dumbledore and Grindelwald, Sirius not being able to be at Harry's birthday but sending a toy broomstick, and Harry smashing the vase Petunia sent to Lily. The way you do it just makes me feel all happy and mushy - like frosting on a cake.

So yes, I loved the fluffiness of this chapter between all the darkness - Baby Harry is a great distraction for everyone!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear it! I did try to somewhat balance the darkness of certain chapters (like Severus murdering Calvin Bridger) with things like this. I LOVED writing this chapter -- it was one of those canon-is-a-puzzle chapters, fitting in everything like we know from the evidence in Lily's letter. I'm really glad you appreciated it. :)

Frosting in a cake is probably the perfect way to describe it, actually! Haha, thank you for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by Courtney Dark Treason

25th September 2013:
Oh god, if Severus ever gets his memories back (and I seriously hope he does) he is going to be absolutely devastated when he realizes he has as good as killed Beth's father.

I actually really enjoyed the scene from Severus' point of view because, over the last couple of chapters actually, it has become clear that things are getting a lot darker, that Voldemort is gaining more and more power. And as sad and horrible as all these deaths are (sob!) I just find it so cool and fascinating (which makes me sound a little morbid and sadistic, but that's okay!) to find out about all these horrible things during the first wizarding war.

Poor Beth:( That would be really hard, finding out that a man you didn't really like, never really talked to, but was still your father, had died. And then her mother's reaction was just horrible!

On to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: He DID kill Beth's father -- and my gosh, that's going to be quite the burden, if he can ever come back to his senses and realize the extremity of what he's done. (I'm talking like you haven't finished the entire book, of course... which you definitely have.)

I think Severus's points of view tend to be darker in general, because I do think he's a darker person than Beth, and he's just surrounded by more darkness in general. Don't worry -- I find it all really fascinating too! ♥

This chapter is where I forever and for always decided that I hate Beth's mother. Period. And it's weird, because I'm stupidly attached to Beth's character, but there you have it.

Thank you -- as always -- for taking the time to review this chapter! (And all the others!)


 Report Review

Review #48, by Courtney Dark An Awkward Encounter

25th September 2013:
I don't know whether the fact that I'm not feeling very well and haven't eaten much is just making me super over-emotional, but there were actually tears in my eyes when Sirius appeared, looking all gaunt and haunted, and told Beth that Marlene had been killed. And Beth's reaction...oh my goodness, I actually had shivers going up and down my arms because you wrote it so perfectly. Even though I knew Marlene dies, I'd forgotten it happened right before Harry's birthday so it came as a bit of a shock. I had a bad feeling throughout this whole chapter - there was a definite tension, thanks to Beth's anxious thoughts, that something terrible had to happen...but why did it have to be Marlene? Sob!

And as more and more canon characters die or vanish, the list gets shorter and shorter...and we all know whose last on that list:(

Other than that horrible news, I really liked Beth's terribly awkward encounter with Timothy, because it just felt so real.

Great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Oh, Sirius. :( I tend to be overemotional on a daily basis, so I understand where you're coming from there. Adding the fact that it's someone Sirius sort of liked in school, and the fact that she was just so YOUNG, I think being emotional is an appropriate reaction -- and I'm really happy you did have an emotional response! As twisted as that may sound.

The second and third books are darker, I think, because of the fact that readers can essentially see a checklist of first-war deaths, and they just keep getting crossed off.

TIMOTHY. Ah, Timothy. I still get a squicky feeling whenever I think about him. That is all I'll say on that front. :D Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #49, by Toujours Padfoot Into Hogwarts Again

24th September 2013:
:'(

Aughhh there is such an air of finality to this. ARE YOU COMPLETELY SURE YOU DON'T WANT TO STRETCH THIS OUT INTO FOUR NOVELS. It feels like the next natural step is to wait a week for your next Sneth book. Knowing there isn't going to be one depresses me a little. That's a testament to how good a writer you are. Instead of being eager for final resolution and happily ever after, I'm sure I'm not the only one who could go on reading about Beth indefinitely. I feel like I know her by now, so putting her down and not reading about her future adventures feels so odd to me.

*breathing a sigh of relief at Dumbledore's response* For a minute there I thought Beth was about to be tossed out of the magical community for some reason. Dumbledore's level of power bothers me. He's just like a cult leader in the way that his intellect and charisma intimidates/manipulates people into doing exactly as he says. He's got so many puppets. The nervousness he incited from Beth and Severus made me miffed at him because I was worried he was about to tell them what they could and couldn't do, chastising them like children, when this is Beth and Severus's life and he has no business making himself the ultimate authority. I was very glad to see that he treated Beth and Severus like the intelligent human beings that they are and respecting them enough to acknowledge that they're allowed to make their own choices. Part of me hopes Beth and Severus will flee to Australia or something just so that they won't be under Dumbledore's thumb in the second wizarding war. Thinking about how they're going to live the next ten years peacefully only to be ripped out of it into another grim war makes me sad. I hope Beth and Severus manage to claw their way out of that one together, as well.

If I had one million dollars to throw around, I would try to bribe you to post the last chapter right now. I really, really, really do not want it to be over, but at the same time I REALLY REALLY REALLY NEED TO KNOW HOW IT ENDS.



Author's Response: THIS IS THE LAST IN-SEQUENCE CHAPTER, THERE IS MUCH FINALITY TO BE HAD. Oh my gosh, I'm so excited to post the last chapter. But I'm not. But I have to, as soon as I finish this response and one more, and then. Then. I just can't think of what's going to happen once I'm finished posting. Like, for two and a half years, there has been Sneth. Planning, writing, posting, more writing, more posting. WHO AM I WITHOUT THEM, WHAT DOOO.

Dumbledore! I've just said this in two other responses, but I'll say it again -- out of all the chapters in all the books, I like him best here, because he fully admits to being a flawed human being for the first time in the trilogy. Even in canon, everyone put him on this huge and elaborate pedestal, and it always BOTHERED me, you know? And he just let them.

But here, he's okay to let Beth and Sev have their happiness, because he knew how miserable they both really were when he had it his way the first time. ♥ And I really do believe, like he said, that there's too much evil in the world for people to rightfully inhibit love when it arises. If more people were allowed to love, the world would be a better place.

That's probably my inner hippie talking. It wants to be free.

ONE LAST CHAPTER COMING UP, I PROMISE. I love you, woman! ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by patronus_charm Into Hogwarts Again

23rd September 2013:
Ah, Iím still freaking out over the fact that they got married! Bethís thoughts after their first night of being married were perfect! I loved how your wrote the honeymoon stage with her just gazing at her ring and just being in that blissful feeling of being married to the person you love the most. If Iím still in shock that they finally got their act together three books later, I dread to think how theyíre feeling.

Another thing which I thought was a nice touch was how you didnít make Beth angry about Severus having to leave and how she wanted to go with him. It showed how they were meant to be as theyíre just so loving and understanding and all that jazz. I just wish Remus would stop being a 12+ word and pull his act together. There are only 1 and a half chapters left (havenít read the rest of this one) to do it in.

With all the nostalgic thoughts about the transformations (I loved them Ė they were so time appropriate!) it seemed fitting that McGonagall would be like that. She can be so scary at times and I still imagined her to be their teacher and she was casting disapproving looks fully well knowing what they did. Ah, I love that woman and she was just so great here!

Dumbledore. ♥ Gah, he was just perfect with the way he was totally cool about it. I hated him feeling sad about taking away the memories, even though I hated that it happened I can see why it happened and made their reunion really awesome so it wasnít all bad. Learning the magic behind how it happened was really interesting too. They mentioned Harry though! Iím really hoping that the epilogue relates to him and Beth and Snape are telling him the whole story. That would be awesome! I had tears in my eyes at the mention as I still havenít got used to it.

One more chapter! Remus you really need to get your act together, or there will be harsh words from me. Ok.

-Kiana

Author's Response: I'm still freaking out over that fact, too! And it's been four months since I wrote this last chapter, I think? Oh my goodness. A whole third of a year without writing Beth or Snape. No wonder I'm going mad.

Beth is (I hope) a very rational and understanding person, generally, and it would have been rather dramatic for her to get so upset over Severus needing to do something -- especially since at this time last week, he didn't even remember who she was! Wow. That's an insane timeline. And with everything that's happened in that week, she should know that, if nothing else, things happen that she has no control over.

I am very fond of Dumbledore in this last chapter, in a way I haven't been fond of Dumbledore in any of the others. At last we see him as a man who makes mistakes, who understands the need for happiness in this world. ♥ His line about there being too much evil for him to inhibit love was actually written well over a year ago! Bless.

One more chapter! I cannot even... but I'm not going to think about it. It'll hit me like a ton of bricks later, but I cannot think about it now. :D Thanks for your review, Kiana!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>