Reading Reviews for Break Out
  
286 Reviews Found

Review #26, by MissMdsty X.

10th February 2013:
And it all makes sense! Now that I remember Dumbledore saying to Harry that Voldemort in his foolish greed took his blood, binding him to life while Voldemort lived. Per a contrario, if Harry's dead, then Voldemort is on his way too. That is brilliant! Absolutely brilliant!

I was thinking that maybe they'd send Draco in, but I had no idea how they could pull this off. The plan is... shaky at best, but maybe fate will favor them just this time. And they can get in and out without so many casualties.

I'm excited to be going back to Hogwarts and to see how this entire ordeal will end for them!

I'm sorry if the reviews have been short and sometimes lacking any sense, but I do want to give you feedback and at the same time I'm anxious to see what happens next! So sorry about that, I'll be able to gather up all my thoughts later on, I hope.

Author's Response: Yes! That part in GoF about Dumbledore being triumphant when he heard Voldemort used Harry's blood to return -- that was a huge, huge inspiration for this ending. Blood magic is notoriously tricky, and it was a bit tough to keep things as canon as possible while coming up with an entirely different ending to the story, but I'm really very pleased with the end result. I'm so glad you are, too! ♥

Sometimes the simplest plans are the best -- Occam's razor, and all that. :) And don't even try apologizing for your reviews! If anything's lacking any sense, it's my responses to them. Seriously, I can't tell you what it means to me that you reviewed all these chapters for me. I am so, so thrilled!

Thank you endlessly for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #27, by MissMdsty IX.

10th February 2013:
I didn't really expect them to be able to do anything in London. Even in the event of a confrontation, they are still really outnumbered and the magic tricks and potions and legendary magic instruments are all done. It's the Order versus the Death Eaters and it's to the death.

At least we know Charlie's alive and well... alive, since I can't imagine he's doing very good at the moment, killing Muggles and causing panic and terror.

I can understand Ron's frustration. It's the feeling you get when you're in a hurry and other people seem to be moving so slow. Horrible. He wants to find Hermione but the rest of them seem in no hurry to do so, I get his need to be angry.

Author's Response: The London mission was, on the whole, unsuccessful, and I'm glad you saw that for what it was. Which is kind of a weird thing to say, I know. :P But above all, I try and write realistically -- and in real life, the bad guys win sometimes. But eventually they get their due!

Alive is all we can hope for at the moment, unfortunately. Which, yes, would tend to make Ron frustrated! I love your analogy, because I know exactly the kind of frustration you mean. :D

Thank you so much, once again, for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #28, by MissMdsty VIII.

10th February 2013:
The new order at Hogwarts is just getting sicker and sicker! I'm glad Charlie agrees with me on my views of the castle.

I can't help but be a little angry with Harry. I hope he's looking down on it all and sees what a mess has been made by his death. Bellatrix and Snatchers in Hogwarts. That's outrageous!

This was such a dark and depressing chapter and the ending didn't help lighten it up either. Though it does fit in with the general mood you've set up for the story which is coming along amazingly!

Author's Response: Charlie was one of my favorite parts of this chapter, I think. Not enough people write Charlie! Although I don't think you should be too angry with Harry. :( He truly thought he had to die to save them, and I think you'll find in the end that it wasn't completely in vain. Hang in there!

This was a bit of a depressing chapter... There were quite a few of those. But all is not lost! I know you've reached the end of the story by now, of course, and I'm glad you didn't let the sort of doom and gloom get you down. :) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by MissMdsty VII.

10th February 2013:
A mission! I think Ron's really relieved that he's finally getting to do something rather than sit around and feel Hermione's absence. A terrible thing it is, too, the loss of somebody you've been so close to for so much time.

I think it's so sad how George's lost his will to smile. It's strange seeing a serious George, it's like seeing a kind Bellatrix or a well mannered Draco. That is so depressing.

A seige on London is something that should be avoided at all costs, but I'm not sure how they'll manage to do it, with only a hand full of people. I guess we'll have to wait and see!

Author's Response: There were somewhat mixed opinions, I think, on the mission, but on the whole I'm very glad it's something I included in the story. You're right -- it was important that Ron got to do something, rather than sit idle at Shell Cottage.

Lulz, a kind Bellatrix is something I don't think we'll ever, ever see. :D Apart from Hermione taking Bellatrix's form, of course.

Gah. I know these reviews are lacking, but I really just want you to know how much I appreciate your reading this story, just the same. ♥ Thank you so, so much for reading and reviewing every single one of these chapters -- I can't tell you what it means to me!


 Report Review

Review #30, by MissMdsty VI.

10th February 2013:
He's dying? I never thought Voldemort couldn't bleed. That's so strange for me... Although it is the logical thing. There are no more Horcruxes and he has played with nature for so long it's bound to come back and bite him.

I hate how the prisoners at Hogwarts have given up. If you give up you're as good as dead. And the others died for nothing. That almost makes me as mad as the thought of the castle being the place where they hold war prisoners.

To me, Hogwarts has always been the heart of the series. And now it's all gone wrong, with prisoners in dungeons and deranged lunatics in Dumbledore's office. Gah, it makes me sick to my stomach to think of it.

Author's Response: He is dying indeed! And you've picked up in a later chapter why, which I'm very glad about. :) But the thing about Voldemort, of course, is that he sort of does things without thinking of the consequences. And that, really, is his downfall in the end, both in canon and in this story.

They're so defeated here, it breaks my heart. :( But it's understandable, and although it's not desirable, I'd probably be very much the same in their position, you know?

Writing Hogwarts as a sort of prison here was so odd. But I'm glad you liked it! ♥ Thank you again for another great review!!


 Report Review

Review #31, by MissMdsty V.

10th February 2013:
The Order caught Draco? Wow! That's a twist if I ever saw one! I'm curious what they'll do with him.

My heart goes out to Ginny. In the chaos of it all, she is just a broken little girl that has lost her love and the will to fight. She's right, Hermione might still be out there. Harry definitely isn't.

I really like the pace of this story and how you've laid it out so far! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: They did! I thought it was fitting that Aberforth got him, too -- he really didn't like his brother, but he knew the right cause when he saw it, and that's a very brave thing to do, I think.

Poor Ginny. :( I know it's probably not a good thing, but I sympathize more with broken Ginny here than anywhere else. I really don't like her character, but she is somehow more bearable without Harry. (That sounds weird, doesn't it?)

I'm so happy to see how much you've enjoyed the story thus far. ♥ It really makes me smile to see all your wonderful compliments! Thank you very much!!


 Report Review

Review #32, by MissMdsty IV.

10th February 2013:
I don't think Lucius Malfoy really thought this out. Okay, it's all fun and games until the Dark Lord actually wins! And then what? Dear me, you founded this man's war against your world but when he has it all, does he really need the money anymore? Like I said, you didn't think it through.

This chapter did nothing to ease my fear for Hermione. And with her wand broken, she really has no chance (that I see now) of getting away. And now Draco will join in her fate. Running away when you've won? Really?

I like how we saw the loss of innocence in Draco as well, as he saw his parents worried and aging and saw their end. Creepy!

Author's Response: I sort of get the impression that Lucius Malfoy didn't think a lot of things through, and this especially. He's a bit like Pettigrew, really, in that he just wants to be on the winning side -- and also like Pettigrew, he cast his bets on the wrong horse, as it were.

Hermione's definitely not out of it yet, I'm afraid. :( But don't lose hope yet! Draco's quite instrumental to the rest of the story, too, so keep your eye on him...

I like loss-of-innocence Draco. MUCH more than at any other point in the books. :P Thank you yet again for such a fantastic review, and for all your reviews in general!!


 Report Review

Review #33, by MissMdsty III.

10th February 2013:
This just keeps getting better and better. I loved Arthur in this. He is such an amazing role model and father figure that doesn't get nearly as much attention as he deserves in the books. But like we saw with Bill in the last chapter, he now has to step up to the plate and be the head of his family even though he has to walk over what other Order members are saying. I somehow find the idea of Kinglsey being in charge strange. I don't know why but it doesn't sit okay with me.

Ron was incredibly written. We all see how he is a joker and he does some pretty random stuff, but the loss of Harry is the loss of innocence for so many and in his mind there was more worry for Hermione, wounded and alone, than for his brother. I can also understand that, because while Charlie has a whole family to worry about getting him out, Hermione has nobody. Not even her parents know who she is.

Author's Response: I actually really liked how Arthur's character appeared in this story -- I didn't set out any characterization guidelines when I started writing him, but I am pleased with what he turned into. I'm happy you liked him, too!

I think sometimes people don't give Ron enough credit; they portray him as comic relief all the time, and though he obviously does have his funny moments, there is a serious side to him, too. He is very mature, especially at this point in his life. And I love your comment about Hermione having no one, because although it's quite sad, it's very true.

Thank you so much for this review! :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by MissMdsty II.

10th February 2013:
One thing I did not realize when reading the first chapter was that if this story is AU, everybody is up for grabs. And that means Neville and that means literally any other Weasley. Nobody is safe.

This chapter was so filled with emotion. My heart sank when they went outside and Voldemort had brought Harry back. It was such an incredibly horrible scene and I guess it must've been terrible to write. No matter who you ship or what your favorite character is, we are all here because we love Harry and we loved him first, before any of the other major characters came along.

I really liked your portrail of Bill in this. We see him really stepping up and being the oldest brother. I can understand his reasoning why he wouldn't let Ron go back. Ron was his family, his flesh and blood, they had already lost one other brother and all that mattered was getting him to safety. Even if, like we saw, his brother and his sister-in-law had to literally drag him there.

I'm so very scared for Hermione right now. I have no idea what might happen to her and the horror of this new world is reall starting to sink in. You've created this tense atmosphere from your writting and you descriptions and I love that!

Author's Response: Oh, yes -- everyone is definitely up for grabs. :( And like I said earlier, I always anticipate death in books, and I think that sort of came out in this chapter. I wanted a challenge, though, and I didn't want to result to Neville killing Voldemort just because he fit the prophecy alongside Harry.

This whole chapter was terrible to write... and yet, in a sort of twisted way, it was one of my absolute favorites. My favorite things to write are always the big, dramatic scenes that are charged with emotion and drama and tension and all that. Writing Harry as being dead was eerie, but I included the image several times because it was really powerful in my mind.

Not enough people include Bill! I love that you seem to have picked up everything I wanted to include about him, too -- that big-brother attitude, the brother who has to take care of all the others. He WAS scared and selfish enough to want his family safe above all others, and that is a very human thing, I think.

Obviously you've finished the story and know what happens, but I'm so glad the horror of this alternate universe hit you; that's exactly what I was going for. I honestly cannot thank you enough for leaving all these reviews for me, too. You have no idea how much it means to me!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by MissMdsty I.

10th February 2013:
Hello there!

I've been seeing this story around and since the summary just hit a soft spot for me (Shakespeare!) I decided to see what it was about. And oh my Lord I was not expecting that! My mouth is hanging open right now because he is gone and the world is in chaos and until further notice Voldy has won!

I never thought about what would have happened if he decided to go on. In my mind that would've only resulted in me crying/being depressed for a few years at least and never looking at the books in the same way! I'm really excited to see where you take this story and I shall waste no time in finding out!

The prologue was incredible, with a really good pace and I really recognized both Dumbledore and Harry that I knew from the books. The line in italics just broke my heart. It's really bittersweet! Good job!

Author's Response: I love that line in the summary! :) I'm so glad that you decided to review this for me -- and what's more, that you reviewed EVER CHAPTER in one go. That is so incredible!

The question of what might have happened if Harry had died is one I always wondered, especially because in the months leading up to the release of the 7th book, I was fairly certain that Harry WOULD die. Somehow I always expect death in books... I thought at least one member of the Golden Trio would die for sure.

But anyway, I'm so pleased you liked the chapter so much! :) And especially that you found Dumbledore and Harry to be like their book selves, which was so important to me in this chapter. I try to stick to canon as much as possible, and it's always so awesome to hear that someone thinks I've succeeded!

I'm very much looking to sitting down and responding to all of your reviews on this story. Thank you so, so much!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by rfdneds I.

21st January 2013:
Really excited about reading the next chapter. I don't usually leave reviews but I really want to let you know that this was well-written.

Author's Response: This review just completely made my day! ♥ I'm so glad you like the story so far, and I hope that you continue to enjoy it as you keep reading. It means even more to me to have a review from someone who claims not to review a lot in the first place; that just makes this review all the more appreciated and special.

I'm already looking forward to hearing your opinions on the rest! :) Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on this first chapter!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Ginger Lust XV.

17th January 2013:
Hello. Well, I'm way behind on my reviewing. I read the last chapter right away but due to surgery, I couldn't sit up to write or type.
Anyway...
What a lovely ending. My Ron... um... Ron and Hermione are back together again! YaY!! I really enjoyed your story throughout. Like I had said in the beginning, I would never normally read a story that killed off one of the Golden Trio but your summary intrigued me. And I am glad that I took the chance.
Besides, you write beautifully. And the characters are spot on. So it was easy to enjoy.
I can't say that I would read another dark story but thanks to you, I see that I don't need to 'shut them down' as soon as I see a summary I don't like. Meaning, the killing off of a beloved fav. character.

Oh... and I see what you mean about using the Expelliarmus spell. I (bowing my head in shame :-) ). I never noticed who use what spells how many times. Although I did notice that Hermione uses the STUPEFY spell alot.
:-)

And so, thank you for a great read and I will keep checking in and see what new story you are writing.
Patricia

Author's Response: If you're behind on your reviewing, I'm even more behind on responding to reviews -- seriously, don't give it one more minute's thought! I hope your surgery went well, and that you're recovering quickly. ♥

Ron and Hermione are indeed back together again! And I think you can be relatively sure that nothing's going to separate them ever again -- not really. I love them together, and I could not be cruel enough to separate them, especially since I already took Harry away. (It would have been very like me to kill one or both of them, actually, but I'm rather glad I resisted the urge to kill off characters here!) I'm so pleased that you gave this story a shot, and moreover, that you enjoyed it so much.

Expelliarmus is actually called "Harry's signature spell" (or something very much along those lines) in the seventh book -- it's how the Death Eaters identify which Harry is the real one when they're leaving Privet Drive. ;)

Thank you so much for being such a lovely reviewer over the course of this story, and for having such supportive and encouraging things to say. I really can't tell you how much it means to me! ♥ Hoping to see you back very soon!!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Ardeith XV.

16th January 2013:
Awww, thank you so much for the shout out! That really made MY day! :D

This was a beautiful end to the story...just perfect! I liked how you showed the rebuilding yet mentioned the damages and the losses (I knew poor Charlie was dead!).

I loooved Ron and Hermione here. The tone was absolutely perfect. That they are sad yet hopeful, shy yet comfortable together.

Author's Response: Not at all! ♥ Your support really has been a huge encouragement in my writing, and knowing you're such a faithful reviewer is quite the motivation. :) I'd be crazy NOT to give you a shout-out!

I'm so pleased you liked the ending, too. It's a strange thing, ending a story, but this epilogue was actually pretty easy to write, because I knew the tone I wanted to leave readers with, you know? And it actually seems to have worked, which I'm just ecstatic about! There are damages and losses, but there is also hope that things will get better -- and they will. Grief goes hand in hand with healing.

Ron and Hermione will always be one of my all-time favorite pairings! ♥ But seriously, thank you so much for all the support and encouragement you've given me, for this story and for Sneth. I can't tell you what that has meant to me!!


 Report Review

Review #39, by RosieQueen XV.

14th January 2013:
*Bursts out sobbing* THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL! Such a bittersweet ending! You ended the story so nicely, and I don't think it could have been any better. And the last word, "on," was the same word that you started with in the first chapter! I've said it before and I'll say it again: you are a fantastic writer!

Voldemort's gone for good, but I find it sad that Harry's not there to celebrate. *Hugs canon* The whole "what if" scenario was done so perfectly throughout the story, and each event made sense. The creativity was phenomenal, what with Draco playing an important role, Harry dying, of course, Ron and Hermione being separated, Voldemort dying because of Harry's blood...honestly, what goes on inside that brain of yours!?

*Cough* I'll just continue stalking your Author's Page*cough*

~Rosie

Author's Response: ♥ Thank you so much!! And I think you are the first person to mention that the same word that started this story also ended it, which was very intentional -- it shows the different connotations of those two words, and yet how they're not that different at all.

But anyway. "Bittersweet" is, I believe, an apt word to describe this epilogue, which is why I'm pretty thrilled that you picked it out, too. :) The war is over and good has triumphed, but they sacrificed a lot along the way: Neville, Fred, Charlie, Colin, Tonks, Lupin. And, of course, Harry. But there are bigger things, more important things, in store for all of these survivors, and grief will only hold them back -- so they won't grieve forever. Hence the "sweet"!

I don't know what goes on in my brain, or how these things come about... but I do know that I'm very, very glad you appreciate them. ♥ Thank you so much for being an incredibly dedicated reviewer, and I would love to see you back by before too long!


 Report Review

Review #40, by PhoenixPulse XV.

11th January 2013:
I'm utterly just at a loss for words at this ending. I'm litterally just crawling on my hands and knees in the depths of my brain, just wondering how to cram how I feel into words.

It's over, and and now that the story is finished, I feel as if a heavy weight has been lifted off my chest as a reader. This was the perfect closure to it all, a proper epilogue, and it's nice to know that it's official that Voldemort will never come around again. I mean, yeah, his death scene was well constructed last chapter, but I just...I feel sort of comforted that this epilogue sealed that officially. I can't exactly explain...

But within all this happiness, I still feel sort of stiff inside, I suppose, because again, I am reminded that Harry isn't there to celebrate. That all his years as a youth, sacrificing, and he would never get to see the greatness that came out of all his, Ron's and Hermione's effort. But that's what makes it a great ending, because even though the good side won, it came with a heavy price, and... it's almost miserable, I suppose is the best way I can explain it.

I suppose you can say this ending had me acting rather bi-polar, stirring a strange mixture of happiness and sadness. It's so nice though, the Ron and Hermione are together forever now, with no dangers to tear them apart. It's so wonderful, and I enjoy them so much as couple. It's so...bittersweet.

Anywho, I just want to congratulate you as well on completing this wonderful story, and I thought I should let you know that I'll be reading your other stuff as well. :)

Author's Response: That is one of the more creative -- and, by extension, flattering -- mental images I think I've been witness to, where this story is concerned. And surprisingly accurate! :D

I'm so glad that you thought this was a fitting closure to the story; I wrote this solely for that purpose, and seeing everyone's reviews is really making me feel good about it. I think I know what you mean about closure, if I'm allowed to say things like that about my own story. Voldemort died in chapter 14, but in chapter 15, you get a sense of life to balance that out: That the soldiers of the war WILL continue to live, even while others won't. But you're right, too, about the bittersweet edge to this, which I just mentioned: There /are/ people who won't get to see the victory, and it will undoubtedly be hard for the survivors to just pick up the pieces. The difference with the addition of this chapter, I think, is that you know they have a chance to, and that is the key. It /is/ miserable, even though it is a victory. I'm floored at how adeptly you're getting this story!

Thank you so much for being one of the best reviewers for this story, and always returning so promptly for updates with such lovely reviews. It's been an honor, hearing what you've had to say! ♥ I really hope to see you back on other works of mine, too -- I can't thank you enough!!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Ardeith XIV.

10th January 2013:
Great job. I love how you took an AU scenario and made it utterly plausible and a perfect fit with canon. I love your Ron and Hermione. They are so absolutely right!! I loved them holding hands during the battle. (Though I hope one is left handed and one is right handed!). Of course Hermione would be the one who figures it out. And yay for Percy getting in at the final moments...he never gets to do that! :-)

Author's Response: I'm SO glad that you thought this fit so well -- that was, of course, one of my main concerns in starting to write this story at all. And quite frankly, in the beginning I had no idea how it was going to end at all, which made writing chapters and planning future ones a bit stressful. :P

Ron/Hermione are so one of my favorite pairings, and it really makes me happy to hear you think I write them well, too! Clever Hermione, always figuring things out, yeah? And for Percy -- I loved being able to include him in a fairly instrumental way in a story. I love him, but he gets a lot of bad rap in fan fiction, I'm afraid.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Ardeith. As always! ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by george XV.

10th January 2013:
Just wanted to let you know, that I completely loved your whole story. And I'm going to read other writings of yours now. I was dying over the few week span between the later chapters. I'm very glad to have read this story. Good day.

Author's Response: I'm seriously so thrilled to hear that you loved this story -- that is just the best compliment I can ever receive, to hear that someone's enjoyed something I've written. It makes all the plot headaches and time spent writing very, very much worth it!

I know you've already started to read 'In The Black' too, and that is just incredible. I'm blown away by your kindness. ♥ Thank you so much for reading 'Break Out'!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Toujours Padfoot XV.

9th January 2013:
So there I was, popping on to respond to reviews, and lo and behold the last chapter of Break Out!

This ending is so, so fitting. Throughout the story there was a gradual slope upwards to a building climax, with the tension so thick you'd have to cut it with a chainsaw, and if you'd just left off with the last chapter without including this one it would leave us feeling all jumbled up in tension still, fretting with nerves. So to see this gentle slope back downwards, with peacefulness and a brighter horizon - it made me feel so much hope for these characters. And I felt horrible all over again for Harry, for Charlie, for Fred and Neville and everyone else who died; but those who survived this horrible nightmare will never, ever take a single day of their lives for granted. And Ron and Hermione will keep Harry's memory alive somehow, and Percy will continue to prove to others that he's a good man, and Molly will never have to watch her children be murdered by Death Eaters ever again. I felt all of these new futures for them being laid out here in this chapter, which was bittersweet. And like I keep telling you, you've got a knack for bittersweet because you've got sad things down pat. This story was such a rollercoaster! Action and duels and planning and grief and love of all kinds. You are such an amazing writer; you're one of the most well-known authors on this site, and for good reason. I have nothing but confidence that someday soon you'll be a well-known author absolutely everywhere.

Thank you so much for writing Break Out and sharing it with us! ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: Lo and behold! ♥ I was going to wait until this Wednesday to post the last chapter, and I probably threw people off by posting it early, but I just couldn't wait -- it /was/ the last chapter, and it was a short one, and it just seemed okay to me to post it then. Although I suppose I don't technically have to defend my choices, but I'm sure you know what I mean!

How to begin responding to this. I love the little map of tension you created for this story, especially because it's EXACTLY the sort of build I was going for with this story. And I wasn't always sure that I was getting it, you know? I don't think I could have left chapter 14 as it was without some sort of resolution, some bright spots that really let everyone know that all of these people, even through their losses, are going to be okay. So many people died fighting for this cause, but it's not the end -- not by a long shot.

Sad things. ♥ I think you're the person who made me realize that it was OKAY to write sad things, that I didn't have to make things end happily and it could still be valid. You support my sad/angsty stuff more than anyone. :) I'm getting all emotional now, like I always do in end-of-story reviews.

Aaargh. Snuff. I cannot even address what it means to have someone like you be /so incredibly supportive/ of my writing, because I've already told you millions and millions of times, and because there just aren't words for that sort of thing. Thank you for reading this story, like you read all of my stories; thank you for reviewing every single chapter, and saying such wonderful things, and inspiring other parts of other chapters, and recommending this in threads, and for having such faith that I'll get published, and... and just being there. Thank you for everything!!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by True Author XIV.

4th January 2013:
You're amazing. I loved this story so far and I'm waiting for the epilogue! I'm so sorry so many people had to die, but at last Ron and Hermione DID IT. You know what? I missed Neville, Dean, Harry everyone in this chapter. Why did you kill them?? :( well, I know someone would have been killed by those Death Eaters if Harry wasn't there, but still I almost cried. I loved that Molly killed Bellatrix. :D

Anyway, this was the best chapter ever and I'm glad I read this story.

I can't wait for the epilogue!! PLEASE post it soon!! Only if you could post it RIGHT NOW!!!

Ashwini =]

Author's Response: YOU'RE amazing, Ashwini! ♥ You've been leaving you such lovely reviews of late, and it's been such an honor to have them. I really do need to pop by on the forums and thank you properly, especially since before these past few weeks I've been quite behind on my responses. :)

I'm sorry so many people had to die, too -- but it was necessary, you know? I write more sad stories than happy ones, because I'm personally more invested in sad/scary things than happy ones. Though killing Ron and/or Hermione was never an option. Killing one of the Golden Trio at the start was enough for me. :(

I'm literally just sitting here grinning like a fool, reading this review over. I've probably read it five or six times in these three days it's been sitting here! ♥ Thank you so, so much for leaving me this review, and I can't wait to see what you think of the epilogue. It'll probably be up Wednesday the 9th -- almost definitely will be, in fact -- so keep an eye out for it then!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Toujours Padfoot XIV.

3rd January 2013:
Okay live reading and reviewing, because I don't want to miss commenting on a single thing:

Ron grasping Hermione's healed wrist when she mentioned Bellatrix. I just. Can you write this pairing forever, please? I remember when you first started thinking about writing a horror Ron/Hermione and being so excited, and this exceeded every expectation. You have a special talent for dark stories, and an extraordinary knack for Romione, and together it's just this amazing, amazing experience.

The stars shone brightly off his skull-like head, and for a shining moment, he looked skeletal and deathlike.
- imagery ♥

I have never loved Ron as much as I do in this moment. So, so, so brave. And then - Mrs. Weasley’s mouth was covered from behind by her husband’s hand. That sentence was so powerful. I can only imagine how terrible it is for Arthur to watch his son step closer to the man responsible for the murders of two of his sons, as well as Harry, their symbol of hope, along with countless others. And when his wife's impulse is to cry out to him, wanting in vain to protect him somehow, Arthur has to stop her from doing that. Not only must he keep her from drawing attention to herself, but Ron speaks the truth. If anyone should have the guts to speak up to the most powerful, most dangerous wizard in the world, it's the boy who was chosen to be The Chosen One's best friend. I feel so incredibly proud of Ron right now, but I have to stop talking about him and continue reading.

YES. RON TRYING TO ATTACK VOLDEMORT. I mean, Voldemort deflected it, but THAT TAKES SO MUCH GUTS. And Hermione coming forward, standing at his side, levelly telling Voldemort that he had been had.

AHH I CAN'T TAKE ALL OF THESE FEELS. PERCY PROTECTING DRACO, CALLING HIM 'VOLDEMORT', I CAN'T. I am imagining Molly having an absolute meltdown back there behind them.

The Elder Wand's power dying with Harry, and "I think Harry would have something to say about that, too." - and all of them shouting Harry's spell, Expelliarmus, perfectly choreographed - it was the perfect, perfect way to avenge Harry's death. And it suddenly made me miss Harry so much, but I'm so proud of the others for killing Voldemort, too. Anyone can kill Voldemort without his Horcruxes. He's just a man, and any other man can kill him. He's the only one all along who never saw this because he was so obsessed with the prophecy.

And this is basically the end. Just one more chapter to go. HOW IS THIS ALREADY OVER. This is coming to an end, In The Red is coming to an end... :( I don't know what to do with myself. WHY MUST THINGS END.

Love, love, love this story. ♥

Author's Response: Now I feel bad, because this is the only review on this chapter I had yet to respond to until today. WHICH IS YOUR FAULT, FOR MAKING YOUR REVIEWS SO LOVELY/HARD TO RESPOND TO. ♥

I know that you know this, but dark/sad stories are my very, very favorite, and I'm so ecstatic that you think I have a talent for them! And that this story met all your expectations, because I think that's always something authors are worried about, living up to the ideas in their heads. I'm getting all mushy thinking about it now because you are just so supportive and I cannot even.

I adore how you're able to perfectly analyze basically everything I write! This story has been so interesting because it basically turned into a character study of every Weasley with the exception of Fred (boo) and maybe Ginny, and I love writing about them. Ron has been my favorite, I think, because here he FINALLY gets all his moments, without Harry around. And sometimes it's like he doesn't know what to do, once it's his turn to be the hero. He definitely has it in him, attacking Voldemort and fighting alongside Hermione, risking tons to go into London on a reconnaissance mission, but it's all still really new to him to have to do that at all. I terribly miss writing him in this setting.

YAY, PERCY GETS HIS DUE. I hate that people generally ignore him in fan fiction unless they're writing Lucy or Molly next-gen, and I decided a long time before this that he would play some important role in the war, whatever it is. This seemed like a way for him to prove his loyalties and make up for past wrongs. And of course Voldemort wouldn't have expected ONE person to try and kill him, let alone three, because he's so convinced he's invincible.

I seriously cannot believe I'm about to post the last chapter. I kept saying things about it... but now it's TIME. Thank you for reviewing every chapter, and talking with me about plotty bits, and reading snippets, and basically just yet again being my biggest fan and my biggest support system and YOU ARE ONE OF THE BEST FRIENDS I COULD HAVE EVER ASKED FOR.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by PhoenixPulse XIV.

3rd January 2013:
I can't believe it. Just one last bit is left and then there will be no more chapters to look forward to. This is quite saddening. (If that's even a word?)

Anywhat, on forward with the actual review. I like the little showdown between Ron, Hermione and Voldemort. To be honest, I never fully grasped how Voldemort was becoming so weak until now. It does makes sense though, through Hermione's explanation, and I like the reasoning behind it. Harry's blood being in Voldemort, I found that very clever and something I would've never imagined. Perhaps this was already covered in a previous chapter/author's note, and I apologise for not catching it until now.

And I like how you made it Percy to be the one from the crowd to stand up and speak. I feel like it's sort of like redemption to his character in a way. For as long as we known him, he was always that annoying, pompous prat, and here, here he's gained my respect. The fact that he even said his name! I felt so proud for him. So thank you so much for including Percy. It was a small but huge role.

And the epilogue. I'm really curious to see how that turns out! I can't wait.

Lovely chapter as always and I shall await it's ending!!!

Author's Response: Isn't it weird? It really doesn't feel like we should be so close to the end of this story! Saddening is most definitely a word, and, I think, a very appropriate one to use here.

It's actually sort of a good thing you didn't grasp his weakness until this point -- mostly because HE didn't. Voldemort of course didn't understand what was happening, that his blood was basically dead, or that he was essentially a dead man as soon as Harry died. I'm so happy you liked the explanation for it! Overall, that was probably the trickiest bit of this entire story: Finding a plausible reason for Harry's wanting to go on, and then making sure Voldemort was still able to die somehow. No need to apologize!

Redemption was exactly what Percy needed, and I'm so pleased I got to give it to him. He WAS a prat, up until the point (in my opinion) when he confessed to his family how wrong he'd been, in the Room of Requirement. That took a lot of bravery, which isn't something to overlook. You're very welcome for including it! :D

The final chapter actually should be coming out this week! I know that I normally wait too, but it'll be a nice way to make up for the holiday break, and with only one chapter to go it seems a bit silly to wait longer. :P Looking forward to hearing your opinion on it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by RosieQueen XIV.

3rd January 2013:
I don't know how I'm even managing to write a review, since right now, I'm utterly speechless!! I can't believe it's almost over already. :'(

I love how Percy breaks out of his shell here, standing up to Voldemort the way he did. Especially since everyone thinks of him as a coward.

And of course, Expelliarmus! Naturally, it had to be the spell that killed Voldemort! And the scene was perfect, too.

Overall, I'm pleasured to have read this story. You did such a wonderful job with that "twist in time" element that I've enjoyed so much! The entire story gave me chills and I must say that you're a very, very talented writer. I'm hoping to read any more stories that you might come up with in 2013 and maybe even start reading some of your current ones!

I can't wait for the epilogue! :D

~Rosie

Author's Response: I can't believe it's almost over, either! It really feels like I've just started posting this story, even though... wow, I guess that was six months ago. Time flies when you're having fun!

Percy breaking out of his shell was planned from chapter 3 on. :D He just does not get enough credit in fan fiction, I think. Love him! And of course it had to be Expelliarmus -- Hermione and Ron would have known that that was Harry's kind of signature spell, and besides, I try and tie things to canon, anyway. And Harry's still with those he left behind in that spell, in a way.

I'm so, so glad to have had you as such a faithful and lovely reviewer on this story! ♥ You really have no idea how much it made me smile to see your name cropping up every two weeks after an update. It seriously means so much. :) If you felt like reading any of my current stories, that would be absolutely fantastic! And before too long I'll more firmly planned and started writing a Harry/OC murder mystery, and I'd really like to get started posting that by late February or early March!

Thank you so, so much, Rosie! I'm very much looking forward to your thoughts on the epilogue!!


 Report Review

Review #48, by george XIV.

3rd January 2013:
Just wanted to tell you, you made my day when I found out you put this up! Thanks for all the reading!

Author's Response: And this review just made MY day in return! ♥ Honestly -- the fact that you're willing to leave me even a few words, let alone two sentences, telling me your opinion on something I write is just invaluable. Seeing you return for each chapter, even more so!

I cannot thank you enough for this. :) Thank you so much! I'm so, so glad you're enjoying the story, and can't wait to have the ending up for you to read!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by Ginger Lust XIV.

2nd January 2013:
WOW! That was good. It felt so good. It was perfect.
I was so happy to see Hermione and Ron back together. They're so strong together.
They're really going to need each other now that Harry is gone. It's hard even for me to imagine life without him.

I was kinda surprised when it was Percy that cried out in defend of Draco. One would expect Narcissa to first. So I assume that she was not in the last battle or else she was further from Voldemort than the others. Anyway. the Malfoys now owe the Weasleys. Let's see Draco live that one down!
Which brings us to what happened to Draco, Bill, Kingsley, Lucius and the others during the battle.
And Ginny! She will surfer the most. Not only losing two brothers but Harry as well.
Wow. I have a thousand questions... But I will wait until the epilogue.
I was alittle worried about the use of the Expelliarmus spell to kill Voldemolt but upon looking it up, it would appear that that spell is used to disarm but when powerful enough, it can do great harm to the weapon holder, even death. I imagine that Ron, Hermione and Percy had only intended to disarm the Dark Lord but got a bonus in the bargain. Voldemolt's demise. Or did you intend they the three knew about that? Hermione of course knew a great deal about it. -- I may be wrong with that last part but it's what I thought of then.

I know this is not a good review... just my ramblings of what I was thinking as I read. But I did enjoy this chapter.

Very nice. I held my breath through the whole thing.

Author's Response: I was SO extremely nervous about this chapter -- I always am about ones that are really integral to the plot, you know? So hearing such a lovely review on it really made my entire week. :) And I love what you said about Hermione and Ron being strong together, because I think it's absolutely true.

Percy was, I think, the unexpected one to help Ron and Hermione defeat Voldemort, and that's partially why I did it. He's actually one of my favorite characters, and he doesn't get enough recognition in fan fiction, other than for being a slimy git -- which he definitely was during OotP and HBP, and even for bits of GoF. But to show up at the Battle of Hogwarts and confess to his parents, in front of all those people, that he was wrong... that boy's got Weasley bravery.

As for Expelliarmus, it very much is the Disarming Charm. BUT it is also Harry's signature spell, and the one he actually uses to defeat Voldemort in canon (since the Elder Wand's power is his, of course, and really still is in this story). Hermione and Ron would definitely have known about it being Harry's spell. I wanted that to mirror the canon ending, and for it to be a sort of message: Harry's still with them, he left them the tool they used to win the war.

This is a lovely review! I don't know what you're talking about. ♥ I really do thank you so, so much for leaving it, and I'm pleased you liked it. And I hope you've managed to breathe again by now! :3


 Report Review

Review #50, by EverDiggory VII.

27th December 2012:
I love love love that you still request, just wanted to tell you that even if I already have.

I'm still as impressed as ever! The emotions, the imagery, the plot...Gah! I'm just always so flabbergasted at how well you write. I can't even put it into words. How obnoxious, but it's wonderfully obnoxious!

I particularly enjoy the interactions between Ron and Draco; it's tense and quite uncomfortable. Molly's reactions were also awesome--and annoying, in a good way (it makes me think of the 'c'mon mom' moments when mom say no because its dangerous). I knew Molly would siagree with Arthur, but I think that's a Molly thing, she'd prefer her kids sit idle and at least somewhat safe then drive them into the line of fire.

The whole time i was reading this, all I could think was Hermione could be being tortured or killed or something else horrible and everyon'e sitting about arguing! It's better to go save her and the others than just sit there, but apparently Molly doesn't agree. It was terribly frustrating, which I think is excellent! I'd imagine thats one of the emotions you'd have wanted to come across. Even if you didn't intend it, I enjoyed it and I think it gave a nice touch.

Did I mention it didn't suprise me this got nominated for Dobbys? This story is so good it almost physically pains me! Amazing, excellent, fantastic, fabulous, wonderful and incredible job!

xx

Ever

Author's Response: I love that you're still willing to read this story for me! ♥ I always manage to miss your openings, somehow, and that makes the times I do snag them even more special. Thank you so much for continuing to be such an enthusiastic reviewer!

You've no idea how much it makes my day to hear someone say they think that I write well. ♥ Well, you probably do, but then you know what I'm feeling right now! Interactions between Ron and Draco are some of my favorite bits of these Shell Cottage chapters. :D And I always liked the parts in the books when Ron would go after him, too; those were always so fun to read! I suppose that's why they're here. ;)

Frustration is definitely one of the emotions I meant to convey here! And I agree with you -- it /is/ frustrating to have them just sitting about and arguing and getting nowhere, but I totally see Molly's side of it. I wouldn't want to put my family back in the line of fire, either, even if it meant other people might be helped. That's a huge risk, and it's things like that that really get me to admire the bravery of these characters.

EVER. ♥ You are so sweet! I was beyond flattered that this story made it to the final round in not one, but two categories -- that encouraged me more than words can convey. Thank you so much for leaving this review for me!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>