Reading Reviews for In The Red
  
265 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Courtney Dark Down Knockturn Alley

22nd August 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter, too! It was definitely cool seeing all the action, and I love how eager and enthusiastic Sirius is about all their missions - I think Beth was definitely right when she said that was probably why Dumbledore assigned him the job, as it seems right up Sirius' alley!

I actually love that Sirius appeared at Beth's flat at a ridiculously early time in the morning - it's just so Sirius and I love every single conversation and interaction that he and Beth have with each other. I've definitely got to say that it seems as though, out of all the marauders, Beth is closest with Sirius, despite the fact that she is more open with James with her secrets - but James is a married man now, and has Lily!

You wrote the mission really well - and I liked that we got see a little bit more of Lucius Malfoy, as I love seeing witches and wizards from the other side, love seeing what they're up to! I wonder, more specifically, what exactly they were talking about? I wish Beth and Sirius could've found out more!

Your portrayal of Moody is absolutely fantastic - you have seriously written him just right and I loved the scene between him, Sirius and Beth.

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I love this chapter, if only because -- and I've said this many times -- I have VERY vivid memories of writing it because it was so unconventional. :) The very last day of high school, I drove my dad to a job a couple of hours away and wrote this entire chapter in one sitting, waiting for him in Starbucks. Man, being a writer is awesome.

Sirius and Beth really do have some awesome interaction in this chapter, if I do say so myself! And I imagine that Beth did grow a lot closer to Sirius in the years following Hogwarts, if only because they were around each other a lot by necessity. She's still very good friends with James, though -- there's an unbreakable bond there.

Thank you for saying that about the mission, too! :) Lucius is awesome. I totally loved writing him, and it was because of ToujoursPadfoot he was in here so much in the first place. I wish Beth and Sirius could have found out more, too!

YOU ARE TOO NICE. ♥ I cannot. I have lost the ability to can. Thank you for leaving me such a huge string of such lovely, wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Courtney Dark Montgomery Park

22nd August 2013:
Yay! Another chapter!

Wow, that was a terrible start to a review - sorry about that, I seem to be a little brain dead. Of couese there's going to be another chapter, I must have more than thirty left to go! But it was a great one, anyway!

Did I sense some foreshadowing with Peter there? I think I did! He definitely seemed to be on edge like something (insert mysterious dun dun dun) was going on - and James and Sirius and Remus didn't even guess! And Sirius was being so nice to Peter! Well, he was being just a tad mocking, but that's just Sirius! How could Peter betray them?

I should probably stop ranting about Peter's horrible betrayal but GR!

Remus and Sirius know that Lily is pregnant now - yay! And their reactions were just perfect, I loved how excited they were. Although James is really not that great and keeping truths from his best friends.

Beth and Severus! That was definitely my favourite section of the chapter, and I really loved that it was from Severus' point of view. And it was just full of so much fluffy goodness! Although I really cannot imagine Snape in muggle clothing, especially not a t-shirt. I just see him in those black, bat-like robes of his.

But anyway, great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: If you're brain dead, imagine me, trying to answer all of your lovely reviews! :) Which will eventually happen, no matter how much slacking I do in the interim. I promise.

There's loads of Peter foreshadowing in this book! ;) Which means if you think you saw it... you probably did. He's at a very odd point in his life, wavering between loyalties, and it's almost enough to make me feel sorry for him. Almost. (Sirius doesn't know how to be nice without being at least a little mocking. These are facts.)

James is HORRIBLE about keeping truths from his friends, but I get the impression that that's just how the Marauder friendship works. ♥ Honestly, it's a miracle Beth was able to hide her crush on Sev as long as she did, but boys are by nature a tad oblivious.

Snape in Muggle clothing still feels off-kilter for me, and I've been imagining him in that T-shirt for a year and a half! :D Haha!

Thank you for reviewing, as always!!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Courtney Dark Accusations and Agreements

20th August 2013:
Yay, another Order chapter! I really enjoy this, because it's so exciting to see what's going on in the wider wizarding world what with the upcoming war and all this tension and ARGHNESS! And I really, really enjoyed this chapter.

Remus! I liked that we got to see a bit more of him this chapter, because he's just so adorable and lovable and every time he pops up I want to squeeze him. Unlike every time Peter pops up I want to say "PETER! YOU ARE AN IDIOT! AND YOU END UP LIVING YEARS AND YEARS AS A RAT! SO THERE!"

And Sirius with his smelly shoes, mwahahaha! And that Caradoc Dearborn is a very unpleasant man - he reminds me a little bit of Percy in his Ministry years, actually - how could he be so horrible to Sirius? Sirius is perfection, everyone knows that!

Ooh, Severus and Beth are going to meet again! How exciting!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I know I've said it before, but I'm so happy you enjoy the Order chapters, because I was quite worried about them when I was writing them! I'm always trying to make sure my writing's not boring, you know. ;) It's obviously a rather important facet of the war, but reading about meetings isn't always fun.

I don't know what it was about Remus that made me so intimidated to write him, but of all the Marauders he's the one whose head I can get into the least. As such, he sort of faded into the background at times. It's always easier to yell at Peter than do anything with Remus!

Percyyy. ♥ Caradoc is a bit like Percy, but Percy's actually one of my favorite characters, so there's that.

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Courtney Dark Holiday Talk

20th August 2013:
STOP WRITING SUCH AMAZING CHAPTERS!

What am I talking about? Don't you dare stop writing such amazing chapters or I will feel very deprived. Although saying 'this was an amazing chapter' at the start of every single review does tend to get a little monotonous. But there was so much perfection about this chapter! I don't even know where to start!

The beginning is always a good place.

Aw, Sev. Aw, Beth. You two are just too adorable! That is all that needs to be said. SEV! Yay! (I cannot, for the life of me, write intelligent sounding reviews.)

It's Christmas time! I really, really wish Christmas wasn't in summer over here - I haven't even seen the snow since I was about two years old! Sob! I loved Remus and his eggnog. And James and Lily's cute private little moment. And Sirius dancing Beth around while singing Christmas songs - Sirius is just perfection, there are no other words to describe him. I WANT HIM AND BETH TOGETHER SO BADLY! BUT I WANT BETH AND SEVERUS TOGETHER SO BADLY TOO! WHY IS THIS SO DIFFICULT!

I'm starting to feel very bad for Sirius though, especially when Beth is so oblivious to these new affections and James is beginning to feel stuck in the middle. I wonder how things will turn out...

And I'm glad Beth told James about Severus. i think he will be more careful with her secret this time - at least, I hope he will be! I guess I'll have to wait and see.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I won't ever stop writing -- amazing or not, and admittedly some of my writing's debatable -- and I'm glad that you're so encouraging in that respect. :) All my thank you repetitions probably are old hat, too, and I hope you aren't tired of them!

Sev. Beth. ♥ I've only been done writing Sneth about three months and I just intensely miss them anyway. Then again, they were around for so long that it would be weird if I didn't. That's why answering your reviews is so fun -- it's getting to revisit these chapters and scenes all over again! In many cases I haven't looked at them for months and months. They're like old friends.

True story: I rarely see snow at Christmas either, even though I have a winter Christmas. You're not alone! Sirius singing Christmas songs and dancing, oh my goodness. I forgot all about that. I miss him. I MISS WRITING THIS STORY. It's late and I'm emotional, but it's still all true.

James definitely will be more careful with Beth's secret, rest assured. ;) I can't wait to hear your opinions on more chapters! Thank you (AGAIN) for your reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Courtney Dark Work As Usual

20th August 2013:
Another AMAZING chapter! I am actually really enjoying seeing things from James' point of view.

When Frank mentioned that Alice was having a baby I was like "Yep, Lily's pregnant!" and was just waiting for her to mention it to James. And then she did, and it was still so exciting and I REALLY, REALLY LOVE reading about this time in the marauders lives because it's just so weird and cool and AMAZING and I just want to keep reading this but I can't (sob) because I've got a pile of work to do (another sob) and THERE JUST ISN'T ENOUGH TIME IN THE DAY! (yet another sob!)

But anyway, while I am super excited about the prospect of baby Harry and baby Neville, I am also super sad, because it means that Lily and James do not have a lot of time left before their deaths and before Sirius goes to Azkaban and WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO BETH?? Omg, omg, I am both scared and excited to find out!

Wow, I think I'm getting a little ahead of myself here. I'M JUST SO EXCITED FOR THIS WHOLE STORY!!

Oh, and Sirius is just so perfect. That is really all I have to say!

Amazing writing!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: It was so strange writing Lily being pregnant, and then having a total realization that WOAH, that's little Harry! It felt a bit surreal, but I'm sure many a Marauders writer before me has had a similar experience. ;) This is like the peak of this era's happiness, unfortunately, and everything sort of goes downhill from here, but we just won't think about that.

All your questions are going to get answered, I promise! You have lots of story ahead of you, and I'm very excited for you to reach those later plot points. :) But feel free to hang around in these happy times a bit longer, too. I wouldn't be opposed to that.

♥ Your reviews are always so enthusiastic and excited and wonderful. It's so lovely! Thank you for them!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Courtney Dark An Overdue Conversation

20th August 2013:
Eeek! Oh my god I loved this chapter so much! I seriously adored it. Delighted in it. Treasured it. Worshiped it. Well, I didn't quite worship it, but you get the idea. And I realized there are not many good synonyms for loved! And yes, I did try looking them up in the thesaurus. THAT'S HOW MUCH I REVERED THIS CHAPTER! (I'm not a 100% sure of the definition of revered - my vocabulary is shamefully small.)

Anyway, there was so much perfection about this chapter. The whole thing was perfection! The conversation between Severus and Beth was just AMAZING and, as usual, so realistic and exciting to read and intense - I was hooked and couldn't take my eyes from the screen. I can't WAIT to see how their relationship develops from here - it's certainly going to be difficult!

And Sirius' point of view! Love, love, LOVE! But I am now seriously conflicted - Sirius and Beth or Severus and Beth? IT'S SO HARD TO CHOOSE! Although in saying that the impression I got from this chapter was that Severus definitely didn't love Beth, but felt lonely - and we've seen how moody lonely Sirius gets in OoTP.

Onto the next chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! :) And all the synonyms you looked up made me laugh, too, and seeing as how I've been thrust back into the throes of schoolwork, I need a laugh every now and again for sure!

Severus and Beth have many long-overdue conversations, but rest assured that they're coming. :) There's still a lot of tension between the pair of them at this point, but I'm just really excited FOR you to see developments! I just skimmed this whole thing anew and was grinning like an idiot; I stand by what I said in the author's note. I really do love that chapter. ♥

Aaand of course, Sirius at the end. If there was a broken heart symbol, it'd go here. Sirius absolutely and definitely does not love Beth, but he wants to, and he's tricking himself into believing that. He is lonely, very much so, and moody!Sirius is always a good time.

Thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by Courtney Dark The Patronus Charm

19th August 2013:
Yay, Severus' point of view! I think this would have to be favourite of his POV's so far - I love seeing into the world of the Death Eaters during the first war, and you write all the tension and challenges so well! And Severus' friends really are a nasty bunch - I really liked how Severus managed to get one up over Carrow though, who has always seemed rather dim-witted, and of course we know that Severus is extremely intelligent and cunning!

The whole Vertiserum bit was very well written, and an amazing idea! I never thought that you'd be able to resist it, but then I guess Harry was able to resist the Imperius Curse - and we know that Severus has strong willpower, as he is a good Occlumens and all that, so this makes perfect sense! And his worst memory has changed! Oh, and his Patronus! Wow! A Thestral!

Can you tell by my very short and un-descriptive sentences that I enjoyed this chapter? if you can't, I enjoyed this chapter!

Goodbye for now!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Yay for Severus indeed! ♥ His points of view and ways of looking at the world definitely do get darker in this book, but I'm glad that you like that -- because I do too. :) His friends really are pretty nasty, though. I think Severus would take pleasure in getting the goods over the people in his current social circle, even though he joined them by choice; I see him as that sort of person.

Harry's resisting the Imperius Curse was my exact line of thought for having Severus immune to Veritaserum! We do know how much he likes it in canon, and he's extremely adept at controlling his thoughts, after all. I think if anyone could resist Veritaserum, it would be an Occlumens.

My eyes are drooping as I'm writing this response (and woe, it's only nine-thirty!), but if you're not able to tell yourself, I'm loving your reviews, as always. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Courtney Dark Homecoming

19th August 2013:
Ah, I'm so glad to be back! I just got back from an overseas holiday with the family during which time i had no internet and, alas, could not read any fanfiction! Sob! So I am definitely happy to be getting back into it. Oh, and I know what you mean by it being hard to write when you're away!

Anyway, I loved this chapter as much as ever - perhaps more, considering it's been longer than usual since I read the last one! I particularly liked having a bit from James' point of view, because we haven't seen much of him so far! It was definitely nice to get a bit of insight into his and Lily's marriage - and the security guy, Dwayne (perfect name!) added a nice bit of humour to the chapter.

I love Sirius and Beth. I'm not a 100% sure if I ship them (I'm pretty sure I do, but I ship Beth and Severus too) but I just love their friendship so much! And Sirius...gah! I've firmly decided that he's my favourite character, I just love him so much. Oh, and it was nice to see the gang together again!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Holidays without Internet are sometimes nice... but then there's the problem of having no fan fiction to read or write, and that's always no fun. At any rate, I'm glad you're back (safely)!

But James and Beth and Sirius and all the rest will always be here waiting for you to return; they're not going anywhere! This is about the point in the trilogy where I got more into James's point of view, and it does crop up more in the second two books than it did in the first. I keep saying it, but I never anticipated to love writing his and Lily's relationship so much originally.

Ah, Sirius/Beth. ♥ You definitely would not be alone in shipping them at least partially, although you know me -- I'm 100% Severus/Beth. I do have a bias, though. But Sirius is a lot of fun, I'll give him that!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by CassiePotter A Visit Home

11th August 2013:
Hello!
This chapter was so good! Well... maybe not for Beth, but it was fun for me to read! I love getting to see where characters come from, especially in a case like Beth's, because she doesn't see her family very much. And for a good reason, too! Though they are still her family, and I can see why she would want to make some effort at seeing them again, I also completely understand why she had to get out of there! Her parents really aren't nice people, and I felt so bad because Beth felt so awkward in her own home. Of all uncomfortable situations a person could be in, I think that's the worst. The people in your family are supposed to be the ones who you're comfortable around, and you should be happy in your home, but poor Beth doesn't have that at all from her parents. Which makes it even better that her friends have become a sort of new family to her, with James acting like a brother and whatnot.
I love the contrast between the two groups, and I think it makes the fact that Beth has left her old life behind stand out even more. Her parents literally know nothing about what she's doing with her life, and she can't tell them about it, which makes me really want to go hug her and let her get everything off her chest!
I also really enjoyed the end with James and Amelia. I really liked seeing how awkward it was for James to talk to Beth's mother, because it shows that even though he and Beth both come from rich pureblood families, their lives at home were completely different.
I loved this chapter, and am slowly but surely making my way through the rest of the story! Even if there are some gaps between reviews, I WILL finish reading and reviewing this trilogy! :D 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter! Beth's parents definitely aren't the most pleasant people, but that's part of the reason they're so fun to write -- they are at least interesting. :P They do love their daughter, but I get the impression that it's very hard to show it, and they're definitely more wrapped up in their own personal problems. If I were Beth, I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time around them either, for sure.

I think it would suck so much to have your parents so detached from your life, though -- and you not able to tell them anything about it, either. That's why, like you said, her group of friends is so cathartic, with James being like a stand-in brother for her. ♥ I really do love those boys. I miss writing about them!

James is so nice to stand up to Beth's mother for her, too. I think families like Beth's and Sirius's wouldn't have had high opinions of families like the Potter, who obviously aren't so prejudiced in their thoughts on blood purity. GOOD FOR JAMES. I'm having so many James feels right now. I'll just write him forever, okay?

Please don't worry at all about the time it's taking you to read this! I'm sure you're busy, and you're reading at all and that's fantastic. ♥ Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark Somewhat Reconciled

9th August 2013:
I am amazed by how amazing this story was!

Wow, that was profound. I guess I'm just in that kind of mood!

I loved everything about this chapter and this story so far - your characters have all grown so much on me since the start of book one, and I love all the drama and intensity that has been in the chapters of this book so far!

The conversation between Severus and Beth was just perfect. I honestly don't know what more to say! It had just the right amount of hesitancy and secrecy, though you could tell both of them were glad/nervous to see each other again - and I'm glad they have!

I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Profound or not (and let me tell you, it's more profound than some of these responses), I really appreciate the sentiment! ♥ It just makes me so happy, thinking on all the hopes I had for these books when I started writing them, and seeing those exact hopes fulfilled through your reviews. I got so attached to these characters that it's just wonderful to know that other people enjoy them, too.

Lulz so much at Severus and Beth and all their hesitancy, never able to say what they truly want to say! I can imagine, of course, that they're both nervous, but they do both seem built on things unsaid, don't they? Oh, just wait for what's ahead of you...

Thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by Courtney Dark The Bridge

8th August 2013:
I knew it! I knew this chapter was going to have something to do with that explosion!

It was probably really obvious to everyone, wasn't it? But I was feeling very smart, so please don't burst my bubble!

BETH AND SEVERUS HAVE RE-MET EACH OTHER AT LAST! Well, not really at last, considering it's only been five chapters but you know what I mean! And they couldn't have re-met (is that even a proper thing?) in a better way - I honestly can't wait to find out what happens next!

I really love that even though this story is clearly very dark, much darker than the first, Sirius provides some much needed comic relief. I really enjoyed his comments about his motorbike and “You are not getting ready for a date." I'm sorry, but I am hardcore shipping Sirius and Beth right now.

But then I really like Sneth, too! GAH!

I like that we got to see more of Frank and Alice in this chapter, because I think they are really interesting underloved characters - especially when we know what happens to them in the end.

I loved how you linked this chapter with the last! My eyes are drooping now, but I'll be back for more as soon as I can!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: No bubble-bursting here! But Beth and Severus have found each other at last, and that is enough to inflate anyone's bubble. (I'll knock off that metaphor now. I promise.) I'm excited that you're excited!

Sirius will always be around to provide a bit of comic relief -- it's sort of his job. :) He and Beth are like the good cop/bad cop duo, but in light and dark. Beth is moodier and Sirius is funnier, and you know, that sounded a lot better in my head. Ha! It's been a long few days. (Still not commenting on anything relating to any Siribeth!)

You poor thing, reading until your eyes are nearly closed. ♥ I feel bad saying that that makes me really happy, but it's just a great feeling knowing someone's reading a book I wrote before going to bed, you know?

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Courtney Dark Severus's Task

8th August 2013:
I actually didn't count on having ANOTHER Severus chapter right after that first one, so I was so excited to start reading this one! I guess I just automatically assumed that it would go straight to back to Beth and we'd just have to guess at what Severus had done.

I ADORED this chapter! It was so fascinatingly dark and everything about it was written perfectly - I love this...this way you have with your characters, for lack of a better way of saying it, where you just get into their minds, let us see exactly what they're thinking. It is especially prominent with Severus - his mind is certainly a many layered thing - and I love reading the way you thinks and feels and acts and just...UGH! Poor Sev:( Although I guess he got himself into it.

On to the next chapter! This is just so exciting! I swear I have adrenaline coursing through my body I am just so excited about this book! I actually love how much darker it is than the first!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Bonus Severus! :) I can see why you thought that, though -- that is normally what happens, but I am glad you were happy he appeared again. Even though his story is much darker in this book too!

Even more than a week after you left this review, I'm still completely thrilled at your comment on how I get into character's heads! Writing characters and making them real and believable is my favorite part of writing, hands-down; I don't know why, but to me they're even more important than a fantastically wonderful and original plot. If you don't love the people you're reading about, why read at all, you know? And Severus is so complex that I don't think I could have tackled him at all without peeling back his many, many layers and trying to work them out. What I'm TRYING to say is thank you! ♥

Your reviews just make me so, so happy. I can't even. Thank you for leaving them!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Courtney Dark Dreams and Duties

8th August 2013:
Oooh, I actually loved the darkness of this chapter - it was intense and kept me super intrigued, interested and hooked right until the end! And it also nice to see Severus again, even though he has taken a very, very dark path.

I absolutely love the fact that you appear to be introducing all these new canon characters that we know had involvement in the first wizarding war - Alice, Frank, Mad-Eye and the other Order members in the last chapter and now Lucius Malfoy in this chapter.

Oh, and I loved the dream! It definitely had a very creepy air to it, and I wonder if it means or foreshadows anything?

And that cliffhanger! I wonder what decision Severus will make - I think I know, but...ARGHH!

Sorry for the incoherent review. Once again I am too eager to get to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: It's definitely a good thing that you liked the darkness of this chapter -- because trust me, there's PLENTY more in store. :P Especially Severus's storyline! Which I suppose is natural, what with him being a Death Eater and all, but the man's got some difficult choices ahead of him. I just want to give him lots of hugs. Even though he'd almost surely reject them. ♥

Writing in all the canon Order characters was very important to me, if only for the same reason I tried to include the Longbottoms -- that being that not a lot of other people do. J.K. Rowling gave us such a rich world to play with and it seems like it'd be cruel not to! Moody's actually great fun to write, with his gnarled and distinctive personality. That's the great fun about a lot of the characters, actually. They're very lifelike and different, just like real people; I think characters are her specialty.

Aaand I've rambled on long enough about that for now! The dream was about Beth, and has no meaning in the future, but there is symbolism in it, namely in the footprints Severus sees in the dust.

No, no -- if anyone's going to apologize, it's me and the incoherence of these response. ♥ Your reviews are lovely! Thank you for them!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Courtney Dark A Bit of News

8th August 2013:
This was a great chapter! I think you wrote the order meeting absolutely perfectly - I like the way you've managed to introduce so many order characters, such as Alice and Frank, and give them their very individual personalities, without completely overwhelming the reader with new information - it was very nicely done.

This could just be my opinion, but it seems like (from what I could see so far) Beth has grown quite close with Lily and also Alice and Frank. I'm really interested to learn more about her new relationships - and she seems closer with Sirius than ever!

I actually felt so, so bad for Sirius when he found out that Regulus had died - I think I actually had a couple of tears in my eyes because you wrote it so well. Poor Sirius:( Like he said, even though he and Regulus didn't get along, he was still his brother. And I liked that mention of Kreacher, considering what we know of the Sirius/Kreacher relationship in the future.

Ooh, I can't wait to find out more about this mission! What will they be doing, I wonder? Will it somehow bring Beth closer to Severus?

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I was always quite conscious of trying to make Order meetings as interesting as possible, just because they had the potential to get very, very boring. :D I'm glad you didn't find this one to be so! Alice and Frank were a lot of fun to develop, especially because, in my (admittedly limited) Marauders reading experience, that's something that doesn't always happen.

I imagine in the year between the end of ITB and the beginning of ITR Beth did grow a lot closer to Lily -- largely, of course, out of necessity -- and definitely so to the Longbottoms because she and Sirius would have worked in close proximity to them while training for their first mission.

Poor Sirius indeed. :( I sort of expanded on my vision of his relationship with Regulus in "Letters to Regulus," but I see it as a sort of complex arrangement involving conflicting emotions. I do think, being brothers, Sirius naturally loved Regulus like you would generally love a brother, but he certainly wouldn't have condoned his choices or actions.

Missions are coming up! Well, you're already there... but let's pretend I'm being vague. ♥ Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Courtney Dark A Year Later

8th August 2013:
This was the perfect way to start book two! I am so unbelievably excited to get deeper into book two, find out what's going on and what's going to happen! And this chapter just increased that excitement because it's all so GAH! and YES! and OMG! and YUMMY! and I WANT TO READ MORE!

That made absolutely no sense, but I'm just too excited and happy to be on to book two to care much about that.

It was probably just me, but I was totally having some Beth/Sirius feels in this chapter - they're just such similar characters, and I can totally see them having a thing! But I also can't wait for Severus to be re-introduced because the relationship between him and Beth was just so interesting!

I'm really, really looking forward to finding out more about these characters I love so much's new lives - what they're doing for the Order, who is really close with who and more about the current situation.

I'm not going to write anymore because I'm just too eager to get on to the next chapter! Oh, and I'm definitely adding this to my favourites - how could I not?

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Book two (and book three, actually) are a LOT darker than ITB was, and I think that's why I actually do like them more. My writing shifted and matured too, which is another big reason, and I'm just very excited for you to see what's in store for these characters. It makes me so happy that you're already so enthusiastic about it! ♥

Ooh, having Beth/Sirius feels, are we? Trust me, you're not alone! In ITR especially, the Siribeth shippers crawl out of the woodwork, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't play off that at least a little bit. Again, you'll see what I mean down the road, but Severus will still be very much a part of the picture.

Thank you for reviewing -- and adding this to your favorites! I know you can't see it, but I'm doing a little wiggly happy dance now, just for you and your kindness. :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Gosia The Precaution

17th July 2013:
Wow. To be honest, I was afraid this story out of Hogwarts would lose pace and be less interesting. I couldn't have been more wrong! I've been reading in the morning, afternoon and late into night! Every chapter was, more or less, gripping!

It's almost impossible to make me cry yet you did! You did and I was so glad to be reading "The Remembering" at night! Absolutely beautiful chapter and totally unpredictable ending.

For me it's 11/10

Oh, and I'm really glad you've decided to keep Severus's memories :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed ITR so thoroughly! There is something nerve-wracking about posting a sequel (or two) to a book, and I was worried it wouldn't live up to the first one, but reactions have just been so lovely for this and for BE. I couldn't be more thrilled. ♥

"The Remembering" is one of my favorite, favorite things I've ever written, and I'm flattered and honored it brought up such emotion in you! Thank you for loving my stories so wholly. I cannot tell you how amazing and wonderful it is to read such lovely compliments on them, and to know that people are saying them about what I'VE written. Incredible.

Thank you for reviewing!! And again -- I'm just so glad you enjoyed the book!


 Report Review

Review #42, by CassiePotter The Dark Lord

12th July 2013:
Hello! Sorry it's been a while, but I'm so glad I've finally got some free time to read and review your wonderful work!
I love, love, love when you write Severus. His character is just so complex, and I think you've added so many layers to him, that it's suddenly so easy for me to see him as a human being who is struggling to figure out what he wants from life, what he thinks is right, and which people he should side with in the war. He just feels so real!
This whole chapter made me both pity and admire him, because he wants to keep Beth safe, and he has more of a conscience than the other Death Eaters, but he has to do what he can to stay alive. I can only imagine what that feels like, and the way you've written Severus has really helped me understand what that has to be like.
This chapter was incredible, and Sev's character just keeps getting more and more intricate, which I love! You're such a phenomenal writer, and I think it's wonderful that you've written so much and have kept using your talents! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie! I'm sorry it's taken me a while to answer this review, too -- I've been absolutely and totally swamped with reviews, a combination of sticking to update schedules and the House Cup. I'm trying to work through them all at a decent pace!

I'm so glad you like the way I write Severus. ♥ I was always very nervous about keeping him as canon as possible, even with Beth and everything else, and I adore the complexities of his character so much that I wanted to make other people love him for them, too. It's awesome to see that I've succeeded with you! He isn't black and white; there are a lot of gray areas to him, and what he does one day might be thrown out the next. He has more of a conscience than most of his friends, definitely, and yet he still thinks he's on the right side of the war.

I cannot tell you how much all your thoughts on Severus make me smile. :) I just love him so much (it's embarrassing, sometimes, to admit just how much!), and getting appreciation for the way I write him is one of the best things about writing a Snape story at all. I love writing, period, and I can't ever see myself stopping -- not when I've got readers as lovely as you!

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by True Author A Year Later

12th June 2013:
Rachel! :D

I was very very curious about ITR, but I was really busy enjoying my summer vacations as well as preparing for an exam, so I didn't really have any time to read and review this. Anyways, I saw you're post in the Ravenclaw review battle and decided to take a look at the prologue. =]

This was short and introductory, but a nice start. It was nice to meet all our beloved characters from ITB after a long time. I'm glad you skipped a year, as it directly took us into the plot. Beth was as usual in character, though she's changed a bit in the past year. She sounded a bit mature as well as the others. Well, time has passed and maybe they're mature because of the war coming their way.

I can imagine how the war could affect the love story of Beth and Severus right now. I feel that this book is going to be darker and angstier that ITB.

I'll try my best to come back soon and find out! :D

Ashwini

Author's Response: Oh, no worries! I do hope you know that you were never obligated to continue onto ITR in the first place, and of course summer is no time to be cooped up inside -- but I am obviously very glad you HAVE returned. :) I'm excited for you to read more of what I've got in store for you!

This was a slight intro-type chapter, and I think I transitioned better between books in BE, but it's nice to hear you liked it anyway! Skipping a year was sort of accidental, but it worked well in the long run. And I laughed so much when you said you thought Beth sounded more mature, but in a good way -- when I wrote the short last chapter of ITB, I freaked out because her voice had changed essentially overnight. She sounded much older than she had for the rest of the story, and I couldn't figure out where that had come from! They all grew up, though, as the books continued on, and I'm glad you found that reflected here too.

Oh, Beth and Severus. ♥ Just you wait! Darker and angstier are definitely words I'd use to describe ITR and BE!

Thank you for coming back and beginning the sequel -- honestly, that just completely made my day. :) I'm on my toes to hear what you thing of future chapters!


 Report Review

Review #44, by CassiePotter Things Overheard

5th June 2013:
Hello!
This was quite a chapter! I loved getting into Sev's head a little bit, especially after everything that happened with the other Death Eaters and the muggle woman, and then seeing Beth right after that! Poor Sev definitely has a lot on his mind, and I love how you wrote the struggle he's going through because of it. It's not over the top, and has a kind of subtlety about it, if that makes sense. He has all these things that he's thinking about, and he doesn't know how he feels about a lot of them, even though he knows how he should feel.
And then the prophecy comes into play! I actually hadn't been thinking about that, but as soon as Trelawney came in, I remembered that Snape overheard her when she was with Dumbledore. I'm really not looking forward to the inevitable of James, Lily, and Harry's fates. I know you'll write it all brilliantly, of course, but that doesn't make it any easier, especially when you know it's coming! I'm also nervous to see how Severus uses his information, and what that does to his relationship with Beth. I just hope he doesn't get in too far over his head...
This was an excellent chapter, and this story just keeps getting darker, so I'm excited for future chapters, but also a little uneasy! Haha. Great work, as always! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie! So, this response is a little late too, and I hope you can forgive me -- but again, I really appreciate that you still take the time to read stories from my page! :) And especially that even after all this time, you're still returning to this one!

The chapters that explore Sev's point of view were some of my favorites to write in this story, which I guess is natural, because writing him long-term was one of the reasons I wrote the trilogy in the first place. ;) He does feel very overwhelmed by his feelings, many of them conflicting, and not thinking is probably a lot less painful for him.

These chapters were SO hard to write -- there's a lot of conflicting canon about the prophecy and bits of the First Wizarding War that I needed to include! You'll see how Snape and Beth affect those events, too. ;) That's sort of what made it easier, knowing that I was in possession of two characters who changed enough events that it made it not particularly necessary to stick 100% to canon.

Dark is definitely the modus operandi, yes! But I'm glad you're enjoying it all the same. ♥ Thank you as always for a wonderful review; I really, really do appreciate reviews from you!


 Report Review

Review #45, by CassiePotter Missions and Mudbloods

9th April 2013:
This was such a brilliant, phenomenal, outstanding chapter. I feel like this is the closest I've seen Severus where he's come across as so human. You can feel his vulnerabilities, and I really liked seeing that side of him. Also, now that he and Beth have gotten closer, I love the way his thoughts of her change his character, even if it is only slightly. He feels almost warmer to me, because he isn't the cold, arrogant man that Harry sees in Potions, and he isn't just the Hogwarts spy who might be a Death Eater. You've given him so many layers and that's really interesting to read, especially because you've written it so well!
I'm just going to tell you right now that Malfoy gets on my nerves! In the best way possible of course :) He definitely had the Malfoy family pride and arrogance that we see in his son later, and he's just so smug that it makes me want to... I don't know... Grab his shoulders and shake him or something like that! Sev's annoyance with the Death Eaters he's going on his mission with is perfect, and I could definitely feel that! He just seems a lot older than his friends, and I guess it's because he's so serious.
Also, the fact that Severus is sickened by the thought of torturing the Muggle woman just for fun really says a lot about his character, especially considering who he hangs around with! You wrote that internal conflict beautifully, and I loved how you showed his decision of doing what Malfoy says or potentially endangering his own life if he disobeys and shows he's not loyal. It's really a dangerous game that he's playing, and he has to be really careful about his choices, even if he doesn't necessarily agree with them. But the Order comes along and stops him from torturing her, even if they didn't know it!
AND THE SNETH AT THE END. That is also really dangerous! If they ever got caught the consequences wouldn't be good! I can definitely feel that desperation, and there was a breathlessness to that scene that I really loved. They're so sweet together, even if they aren't overly romantic, and I just love how genuine and realistic they feel! It's really natural and fun to read!
This chapter was amazing. I love your interpretation of JKR's characters, and of course I love Beth, too. She feels like a natural part of the story and I could definitely see her as a character in JKR's plot! Wonderful work, as always! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this chapter! I'm very fond of it as well, and it does mark a turning point in Severus and Beth's relationship, however minute. It's sort of the first time where the two of them actually acknowledge, without words, that there IS something between the two of them, and that they're going to maybe try and figure it out. He reacts to her differently than he reacts to most other people in his life.

Haha, Malfoy gets in my nerves too, don't worry! Draco is all right (though I'm still not a huge fan), but he doesn't even come close to holding a candle to the arrogance and prejudices of his father. Writing Lucius in this and getting to explore that side of the Malfoy family was actually a lot of fun, and quite interesting. :)

Severus is quite interesting in that he didn't grow up with the bigoted ideals of many other pureblood fanatics -- he had to adopt them, and I take that to mean that sometimes his childhood teachings would have taken precedence, like in the scene with the Muggle woman in the middle of the street. He's very internally conflicted. And it /is/ a dangerous game that he's playing, but he plays it very well!

SNETH. ♥ Gah, I'm so into my own pairing, it's a bit ridiculous. They're... real, I suppose, in my head, at the risk of sounding a bit screwy. :P

Thank you so much for reviewing again, Cassie! ♥ I'm so glad you're enjoying it, and that you're enjoying Beth's part in it, too. You're amazing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by firefly910 The Precaution

8th April 2013:
I got a little emotional reading your authors note. I guess its because I've been with you on the archives since you were posting LO and I've seen you grow so much as a writer. You post so consistently and it's always so good. I seriously wish I could fit my writing in the way you do but for some reason it just doesn't work. I do look up to you as a writer because I can see how much your writing has evolved since LO, it was good back then as well but you always hit me with certain phrases that I'm just blown away by. I wish I was around more on the forums and here so that we could talk more because I miss you Jane, I really do.

And now all the gushing is over on to the chapter.

Sirius! You adorable boy! Oh I love him as a Godfather. I always imagined him to just covet Harry so much, be so protective and proud of him. It's just so sad what happens to him and he misses Harry's life because of Azkaban and then because of his death. It's so heartbreaking because the way you portray him is exactly as I imagine he would have been. Happy-go-lucky and always so excited about everything. Harry would have been the light of his life.

*sobs*

OH MY LORD WHEN SEVERUS WALKED INTO THE ROOM.

I stared at that sentence for so long. She had the bracelet on, and he looked at her but he didn't recognise her. Even though she was wearing the one thing that represents their relationship.

GAH!

My heart skipped because I thought for one second he might actually recognise her.

But of course he didn't. Dumbledore's magic does not fail.

And then the last bit. Ohh the memories. THAT IS GOING TO PLAY A HUGE PART IN BREAKING EVEN I KNOW IT!!

Seriously Jane, how do you do it? Every time I read one of your stories it instantly becomes a favourite. I loved ITB and I loved this one even more, so I can only imagine how Breaking Even is going to make me feel.

And then after that? I distinctly remember you mentioning an LO sequel at one point! I would love to read about Rachel again!!!

Author's Response: Ugh. This is going to make me cry again. ♥ Because out of everyone I know via HPFF, Callie, you have been with me the longest, and you are probably one of my biggest supporters, and it was your comments on LO that helped keep me writing it in the first place. Knowing someone wanted to read what I was writing KEPT me churning out chapters and discussing plot points and all those things that go into novel-writing. To know that someone sees that my writing has grown and evolved (and it's not just in my head, my thinking that) is... there aren't /words/ for that. I miss you very much, Callie. We absolutely and completely have to catch up as soon as possible!

Sirius would be such a fun godfather, because when he goes in for something, he never goes halfway. :D He is like Tumblr users in that he cannot love anything casually, and in turn I love him for it; you're always getting true emotion out of him, even if it's not always a good emotion. I think it must have killed him in Azkaban, thinking about Harry and not being able to see him, or tell him he had a godfather at all.

Pay attention to that bracelet! ;) I promise you that it crops up again in BE -- it's a fairly large plot point, and I'm actually about to write a chapter that will talk about it a good deal, if that tells you anything at all. Dumbledore's magic may not have let him recognize Beth's face... but hope is still alive.

Breaking Even is actually my favorite of the three books, I think, and I absolutely cannot wait for you to read that one. ♥ Thank you SO much for being such an invaluable support system in everything I do, though, seriously.

After Sneth? A sequel to ANAWFOS, I think -- but I definitely haven't forgotten the LO sequel, I promise! I'll write it someday, if only for your eyes, because you are so enthusiastic about it. And about everything. ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by firefly910 July 31, 1980

8th April 2013:
Baby Harry!! *dances around*

Oh it's so sad to know that this little happy bubble James and Lily are in is only going to last a year. And that, that tiny, mopped haired baby is in for such a tough life for the next seventeen years.


I really can't remember what is was that Sirius did, I must refresh my memory!!

I really am hoping that the arrival of Harry (and Neville) and the fact that Beth is Harry's Godmother is going to distract her for at least a little while. The fact that she keeps saying Severus is gone when in reality he actually hasn't, it's technically Beth that has is heartbreaking. And also the fact that she might realise Severus will think he's doing it all for Lily.

*thinks ahead to Breaking Even and wonders if that comes up*

Having been through a pretty traumatic break up of a three and a half year relationship, I can kind of imagine how she's feeling. Obviously not in relation to the danger and the memory loss. But the feeling of being at sea, like you can't attach yourself to anything because the one thing that anchored you isn't there any more; it's a horrible feeling.

You do a great job at portraying emotions Jane, as I'm sure I've told you before.

Author's Response: I think it's kind of cruel, in retrospect, putting this chapter immediately after the one before it... but it's almost like a tonic to soothe the frayed nerves. If not for everyone else, then definitely for me. :D And wee Harry is much, much too adorable for me not to put mentions of him in anywhere I see fit. You'll see that in BE as well!

Oh, you've hit on an interesting point there about Lily. ;) One I can't answer, because I do answer it in future chapters! That sounds aggravating, I suppose, but of course I can't reveal all my tricks out of hand, can I?

True story: I've never been in a relationship, and thus have never been in a break-up, so I'm actually extremely pleased that the emotions seem to be realistic, as far as that's concerned. ♥ This is why reader response is so valuable -- you all have experienced things I haven't, so you guys are the only way to know if I'm getting things right!

You are so sweet, Callie. ♥ Gah, reading all these reviews again, and responding to them -- it's seriously making my day. Thank you so much for sitting down and leaving me all of these like this!!


 Report Review

Review #48, by firefly910 The Remembering

8th April 2013:
OH MY, OH MY, OH MY, OH MY.

I could give you a bijillion lines of just that for this chapter.

Now as I said in an earlier review I knew Snape would lose his memory and at the end of the previous chapter I did have an inkling.


BUT

BUT


This chapter!!!

Oh wow Jane, my heart is broken for poor Beth. She sounded so desperate when Sev was telling her what was going to happen.

How is she going to live through it? Surely she's going to be depressed? The man she loves will have no memory of her. Oh wow, that's so horrible. And the way Sev was all 'I have to do this for you' it was like some dramatic scene from a really sad movie.

I just can't get over the emotions in this chapter. I'm sorry it's not a long review but please refer to line one because that's all I can think right now.

Author's Response: -biting my nails down to the quick- THIS IS ONE OF MY VERY FAVORITE CHAPTERS OF THIS ENTIRE TRILOGY, JUST SAYING. And even though you knew it was coming from glimpsing the BE story summary, I'm so glad you enjoyed it nonetheless. ♥ There are certain chapters like this where I basically hold my breath every time someone reviews them, because I want them to enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. It breaks my heart... but it's such an integral part of the ENTIRE STORY, this chapter.

Beth definitely doesn't take it well, but she also doesn't take it sitting down, and that is what makes me proudest about her. You'll see what she ends up doing about it in the next book! I want to tell you everything, but obviously I can't, and I'm just so excited for you to see how everything turns out.

So many emotions. I'm getting them secondhand from reading this review, and I wrote the chapter in the first place! Oh, don't even try apologizing to me. ♥ Your reviews are always lovely. I cannot thank you enough for them.


 Report Review

Review #49, by firefly910 What Severus Told

8th April 2013:
'Was it still suicide if it didn’t destroy life in its simplest definition, but merely shattered any hopes of living life as you had been doing for the past twenty-odd years?'

^ favourite line in the whole chapter. I think that sums Severus Snape up, both in this and in actual canon, perfectly.

He gave up everything he had strived for, for a girl. Whether that be Beth or Lily, he gave it all up because he could not bear to see them in danger. I can see why so many people see him as a hero when I read that sentence. He wanted power, recognition but all of that paled into insignificance when he realised who he was putting at risk because of that. He was willing to put his life in danger, to basically give up his life to become a double agent for love. WOW Jane, I got all of that from ONE SENTENCE.

*bows down to your writing skills*

Okay so this chapter gave me chills.
Like seriously.

The way you wrote Dumbledore was amazing. He is such a daunting, larger than life man that I would be almost falling of my chair like Sev did. And it was so great to see him portrayed as being a hard-ass with Sev. You don't get to see Dumbledore in that light much, purely because he isn't like that very often. But you also kept his gentleness in there. You didn't make him to hard. Dumbledore is a man who always - not looks for the good in people - but tries to understand their situation. I feel that empathy is one of his strong suits. Which I feel is why he understood Voldemort so well, he can put himself in someone else shoes.

I just loved that whole scene.

PETER PETTIGREW!! I'M GLAD YOU FEEL BAD, I'M GLAD WHAT YOU ARE DOING IS SENDING YOU MAD!!

Well . . . okay, maybe I can see why someone like Peter would fall into doing what he is. He feels insignificant, worthless and he (like Sev I may add) is looking for some kind of recognition. So in a way I do feel sorry for him. But the others do love him and that's what makes me so mad!! He doesn't need to be doing what he is and he's going to lose everything because of it.

This chapter has given me a lot of feels, I don't know if you can tell.

Author's Response: ♥ I really love that line, too (if I can say it without sounding conceited). And I'm so glad that you think it hits canon-portrayal Snape so well! He is a very dedicated man, though he has many other faults, and I wanted to get that across while not shying away from his bad points. He was a Death Eater, he was nasty to Harry, yes -- but he knew what he would stand for. And he did it. And now I'm getting little swelling feelings of admiration and pride in my chest because I love his character so much!

GAH, DUMBLEDORE. I thought it was so, so important in these books to show the side of him that was less than saintly. He's all but a god in the canon books, and that generally transfers over to fic, but humans aren't perfect, and there are likewise imperfect sides to Dumbledore. I have a lot of issues with him, actually, so those got written into this story. :P He can be /scary/.

Ahaha! Poor Peter -- but not really, he totally deserves it. :D He just wants to save his own skin so much, and aren't we all like that, in some ways? Though I like to think I would essentially murder my friends for it.

YOUR REVIEW ALSO GAVE ME A LOT OF FEELS. ♥ Thank you so much for leaving it!!


 Report Review

Review #50, by firefly910 A Decision and a Dilemma

8th April 2013:
I'M BACK!!! Gah I have missed fanfiction so much. I cannot wait for May 7th, semester will be done and I will have until September to immerse myself in fanfiction!!

Okay, so as it happens I have caught a glimpse of the story summary for Breaking Even, with the whole 'Snape's memory loss' thing. So whilst reading the rest of this I am going to be frantically trying to anticipate whatever causes that to happen.

I HAVE MISSED THIS STORY SO MUCH.
Ergh. It's like coming back from holiday and putting your favourite slippers on or something.

Marauders banter abound in this chapter. LOVE IT. As always. AND IT'S JUNE.

ONE MONTH TIL BABY HARRY!!

(I will not apologise for the obscene use of capitals in this review)

So excited to read about James and Lily as parents (especially James). I am going to ignore the nasty canon plot line looming over me as I write this, I am looking forward to a happy Potter family far too much for that.

I already know I am going to die from the cuteness.

SIRIUS' guilty look - I feel I should remember something about this. Enlighten me, it's been a while.

WHAT IS SEV GOING TO DO?!?! Oh that was such an understated but dramatic way to end the chapter. (I had images of capes swishing and tense music in my head)

So glad to be back reading this story. As per this review is useless, I don't think you can really call what I leave on these chapters reviews.

On to the next one!!

Author's Response: Summer is the best for fan fiction! :D I read a massive fic novel in two weeks last summer, it was brilliant. And I'll be working on a light fan fiction novella all summer, too, so that'll be fun! I'm so glad you got a chance to come back and finish ITR. ♥ Seeing your name around here again made my day.

It seems like only yesterday I was writing about Lily first finding out she's pregnant... and now in BE I've been writing about baby Harry for the entire book! Where did time go?! I loved exploring James and Lily as parents, though. :)

Sirius's guilty look comes from something Beth didn't know about -- Sirius wrote to Dumbledore, telling him about Sev and Beth's relationship, as it were. It's not something seen, but implied by a letter he started writing at the end of a chapter.

You've found out by now, of course, what Sev intends to do! :) Ah, your reviews are never useless, dear. ♥ And I appreciate them always. Thank you very much!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>