Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for In The Red
  
277 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Courtney Dark Among Friends

14th September 2013:
Of course I enjoyed this chapter!

I actually love filler chapters, because they remind me so much of my life! And that just made me sound incredibly boring and dull, but we'll ignore that little fact, shall we? Anyway, my point is people's lives aren't super exciting all the time and I think Beth's life reflects this - although admittedly her life is a LOT more exciting that mine. Oh, how I wish I was a witch. Although perhaps not necessarily during the First Wizarding War. Although there are several perks. Sirius, for example...

Enough with my waffling! The relationship between Severus and Beth is just perfect, and I actually love how long it's taking to develop. And that letter from Sirius just made me grin all over!

Great chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Filler chapters always make me very nervous, because there's always the potential for boredom or restlessness there, you know? So it makes me very happy to hear that you enjoyed this nonetheless! You're very right -- not every chapter of a person's life can be dangerous missions or heated kisses or eavesdropped conversations, or anything like that. Sometimes there are lulls, and for someone like me, who strives to write realism, it's important to include both. I'm seriously SO glad that you recognize and see this! ♥

Severus/Beth. I seriously don't think it's allowed to ship your own pairing so much, but then again, I hardly care. It'll just be that much more satisfying at the end! ;)

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Courtney Dark A Visit Home

14th September 2013:
Poor Beth:( Her family situation really does suck - I am so glad that my parents aren't like that! I really, really don't blame Beth for not wanting much to do with them. And I certainly wasn't expecting her father to be a Gryffindor and her mother a Slytherin - I can't help but wonder how something like that happened! And for some reason Prescott strikes me as a very Slytherin-y name!

This is going to be a very short review, but that does not diminish the fact that I really enjoyed this chapter! Moving on to the next one - I am actually loving this story more and more, the more I read! Wow. I need to extend my vocabulary. Or have a thesaurus handy at all time.

Anyway, amazing chapter! (If I haven't said that already)

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I loved writing Beth's parents -- because they were really fun to hate. :) I'm not sure why, but this was actually one of my favorite chapters in the book! I can just picture it all really clearly in my head, you know? I'm pretty sure the Bridgers has a semi-arranged, your-daughter-really-needs-to-marry-my-son sort of marriage. And yet from them we have Beth, and it's probably very conceited to say so, but I love her enough to deal with her parents. ♥

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! I need a thesaurus to keep thanking you properly, too. :P It means so much to me that you've been such an awesome returning reader/reviewer, all this time!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Courtney Dark The Dark Lord

14th September 2013:
I love the fact that there were so many Severus chapters, because I think you are doing at excellent job at writing all these canon events and making them so real - I know that if I was trying to write a Severus based story I would never have been able to do it justice - but you most definitely have!

There is so much I could say about this chapter, but I really don't know how to word it - Severus' first encounter with Voldemort was written absolutely perfectly, and I feel like all these little canon events are beginning to come into place, and I love it!

I also enjoyed Severus' encounter with Peter, simply because it was just so interesting! And now I have to go and read more - apologies for all these pathetically short reviews, just know that I am finding this story so exciting and gripping - I always want to know what will happen next!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I couldn't help including so many Sev chapters in a row. I just love him! :) I'm so, so pleased that you found this string of canon chapters to be generally accurate, although I'm sure you'd be able to do is justice, too. I'm just SO PLEASED that people think I've done one of my all-time favorite characters justice!

I think I intentionally left Voldemort out of the picture until now to build a sort of suspense, and now I think about it, he doesn't really appear in the trilogy as a whole all that much. He's much more fearful in the shadows, just like in canon.

Oh my gosh, please don't feel the need to apologize for your reviews! ♥ If anything, it's these responses that need apologies -- they are hopelessly pathetic, but I am trying to convey my sheer gratitude. I'm so glad you're enjoying it so much!

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Courtney Dark Things Overheard

14th September 2013:
OMG! I completely forgot about this chapter (I mean, I know I never KNEW about it in the first place, but...oh, you know what I mean! Probably!

Anyway, this was absolutely fantastic and really well written. I was impressed at our original you were able to make it, and how you put your own spin on it, while I still felt like I was reading the books and that what Professor Trelawney had said to Harry was true. I'm pretty sure none of that made any sense because I'm think and typing very fast here because I'm so eager to get to the next chapter!

I'd say more, but I'm too eager to keep reading - it has been too long!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I do know what you mean! :) But I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Rewriting canon events to make them my own was always a challenge with this story, not just because I wanted to do them justice, but because I wanted to make them my OWN at the same time... which might not make any sense, but oh well. Anyway, it seems like everything I sought to achieve resonated in you, and that makes me so happy! ♥

Apologies for these near-senseless responses, but it's so hard to thank you over and over without sounding like a broken record. I appreciate your consistent reviews so much!


 Report Review

Review #30, by CassiePotter Missing

8th September 2013:
James and Lily and Sev and Bellatrix and Frank and Travers... I don't even know what to say about how I feel after reading that chapter. I just have to go to the next one because this story is BRILLIANT! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I had to re-read this chapter when you reviewed it -- quite a lot went on, didn't it? :P I'm glad that you enjoyed it and wanted to continue on after reading it, though, all the same!

Thank you (again) for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by CassiePotter Among Friends

8th September 2013:
And I'm finally back to Beth and the gang! I missed them!
Every time you write Beth and Severus together, it just makes me sit here and grin. They're so wonderfully awkward and adorable together, and I LOVE IT! I have a bad habit of writing relationships that work out really well, and it happens really quickly. Something I love about Beth and Sev is that it took them a long time to get to where they are now, and they still aren't totally comfortable and relaxed together. It feels so realistic, because not all relationships come together right away. I'm definitely learning something just from reading that aspect of the story!
I also loved Sirius's letter at the end of this chapter. I like when he and Beth get along and things aren't weird between them! Haha.
I can't wait for the next chapter, which I'm going to go read right now! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie! Oh my gosh, hi -- it's so wonderful to see you back again! ♥ The gang have all been here waiting for you, never fear.

I CAN'T STOP GRINNING ABOUT BETH AND SEVERUS, EITHER. And though it's for reasons ahead of where you are in the story, I know you'll get there eventually and it just makes me so excited until I'm not even coherent anymore. I'm very glad with the pacing their relationship took, even though it made me want to shake them (and probably made people want to shake me) at times. As someone who's written more than her fair share of hurried romances, it was nothing short of miraculous, really. :P

Thank you for dropping back by here and reviewing! It really does mean a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Courtney Dark Missions and Mudbloods

6th September 2013:
This was an amazing chapter, and just so well written!

I really struggle to write chapters that are packed with action and drama and huge intense moments like this one, but you did a really good job! Thinking back on it, my heart was racing inside my chest for the duration of the chapter, which is definitely a clear signal I enjoyed it.

You write Snape so perfectly and so canon, as well. He seemed so...human in this chapter, with these real sort of emotions, and I can definitely see him turning spy for Dumbledore after this chapter. And you wrote Lucius Malfoy really well, as well. Hmm, and if Baby Harry and Baby Neville are on the way, that means Baby Draco is on the way too!

The encounter between Beth and Severus was awesome! I don't even know how to describe how I loved it so much, so just know that I, erm, loved it. Yay! (My reviews always sound so weird!)

Anyway, I really enjoyed this chapter.
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I feel like I say that a lot, but I really am glad when you love a chapter! I always think I struggle writing action, but it always does appear to work out in my favor, and it makes me breathe a sort of sigh of relief when someone thinks I did it right. :P

SNAPEEE. ♥ I've been having major Snape feels of late, let me tell you, and it just tickles me pink to hear (still) that people think I've got him right! Above all else, he -- and all the other characters in this and every book -- are humans, and I seek to write humans, not wizards or werewolves or whatever else.

I keep forgetting what you have to look forward to and what's around the bend for you, and I'll bite my tongue so I don't give anything away. :P But I really hope you enjoy it! Or something along those lines...

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Courtney Dark Epiphany

5th September 2013:
Hey there!

It's been a while since my last review - it's so depressing that I can't find much time to read fanfiction now - why do I have a social life? Maybe I should just become a hermit...

Anyway, I really, really enjoyed this chapter, largely thanks to the fact that it was from Sirius' point of view, and I just love Sirius to pieces, especially the way you have portrayed him. I honestly don't think this chapter could have been better. It really did show what a mess poor Sirius is and I just...gah! I find it very disappointing that Sirius is a fictional character, to say the least.

I really loved the conversation between James and Sirius, for a number of reasons. It helped remind me that, although James has Lily now, he and Sirius are still really great friends, and they always will be, and Sirius will remember and long for James even years after his death. And Sirius is going to be a godfather! I mean, yes, we knew that already but it was still exciting to read it! I really liked (plus find kinda sad) Sirius' comment about James' son wanting to come and live with him. Because Harry does, eventually...but not in a way that anyone would want or expect.

It's weird, when Sirius was looking at the Marauders Map and felt homesick, I also felt a twinge of homesickness, even though I've never been to Hogwarts, unfortunately. Maybe it's time to break out the Harry Potter movies again.

I had a feeling something bad was going to happen at the Three Broomsticks, and was pleasantly surprised when Sirius showed a bit of restraint, though I felt so bad for him when he saw that even Sarah was with someone. I really hope he manages to get it together!

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: If I could get paid to read and write fan fiction, there aren't even words for how quickly I'd hop on that train. :P REAL LIFE SUCKS SOMETIMES. But alas, it must happen, or we wouldn't appreciate fan fiction for what it is, right? Whatever the case, I'm glad you're returning at all!

This chapter is just about the messiest Sirius gets, which is so sad, but maybe it makes you feel a little better...? I still feel bad for him, re-reading it to myself. Poor guy. He's so disillusioned and depressed, and he thought he held the key but it was all a lie, and there's nothing so humiliating and humbling as having your best friend sit down and have a "talk" with you.

I think I can relate, too, at least to the intense pains of nostalgia if nothing else. He wants his life back to the way it used to be because he is, I think, terrified of change, and everything's changing so quickly around him. I'm on a Potter kick right now after seeing bits and pieces of four of the movies in sporadic increments over the weekend. I JUST LOVE HOGWARTS.

Thank you for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by Courtney Dark The Truth Revealed

25th August 2013:
OMG I LOVED THIS CHAPTER!

Well, I mean, it was all so horrible and all that, but the tension and drama in it was AMAZING! But I feel so, so bad for both Beth and Sirius right now - especially Beth, considering how badly Sirius took the news. I mean, I always knew he'd take it badly but I just...gah! I'm feeling so many emotions right now! And I actually love reading this angry, darker side of Sirius, strange as that may seem - and I love how you write all this bad feeling and anger between Sirius and Severus, which then relates perfectly to how they feel about each other when they come face to face in PoA. I hope all that made sense. If it didn't, just know that I think you write Sirius perfectly.

James and Lily have decided on names! When Lily said that they had decided on 'Harry James' for a boy, I very almost cried with excitement. I managed to restrain myself though, never fear! And they're moving house - how exciting. I wonder if they're going to Godric's Hollow now?

And what was Peter up to? Was he doing some evil Death Eater thing or was I just over thinking this, and he really was sick?

Hmm, I guess I'll have to wait and find out the answers to my questions!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: You know, sometimes the dramatic/tense chapters are my favorites, and it's perfectly okay to love them. I definitely do! :) This chapter especially was one I kept looking forward to writing, because I'm all about confrontations and shouting and all that. There are a couple of good shouting scenes in BE, and those are some of my favorites in the whole book -- but you'll see those when you get there!

Sirius and Severus must have hated each other in canon for a reason, right? (Other than that they were horrible to each other, I guess.) One of the most fun things for me in writing the Marauders era was working backwards from canon and setting out little building blocks for things like the Sirius/Snape rivalry.

Harry James and Holly Joan! ♥ Same initials, you'll notice, but of course it was always destined to be Harry James. They are indeed moving to Godric's Hollow!

Ah, this review was a bit on the sucky side. But I really do appreciate your reviews all the same!!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Courtney Dark An Early Birthday

25th August 2013:
IF IT WAS POSSIBLE TO HUG A CHAPTER I WOULD BE SQUEEZING THE LIFE OUT OF THIS ONE!!

I probably didn't need to write that chapter all in capitals, but there you go: EMPHASIS! Anyway, in case you can't tell already, I loved this chapter - so many feels! Sigh. Yay for Sneth moments!

I can't believe Beth told Severus about Lily being pregnant! She has rather loose lips actually - she's as bad as James or Sirius! Well, not quite as bad, because she's (usually) a cautious person by nature, I think. I LOVE HER SO MUCH! She feels so real!

And all the shippiness (I don't think that's a word, but that's okay!) in this chapter was just amazing! I almost died when Beth hugged Severus. And then I actually died when Severus gave her that bracelet. And then I was reborn as a vampire and died again when he put the bracelet on her wrist.

And then that end section! I loved it, but at the same time it gave me the shivers, because it reminded me how much danger Beth and Severus would be in if the wrong person, from either side, found out what they were doing. And it also (weirdly enough) made me smile, because it reminded me of Snape giving Harry those disastrous Occlumency lessons.

Sorry for the extremely random review.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: YAY BETH'S BIRTHDAY AND SEVERUS AND THE BRACELET. *hugs chapter alongside you* Sneth moments aren't perhaps as frequent as some people would like, but romance doesn't always progress the way we want it to, does it?

I think Beth just blurted out Lily's pregnancy because she was nervous and didn't know what else to say, poor girl. But OH MY GOSH, I'm so glad she feels real for you! That's of course a huge concern when you introduce an original character, but I've written so much about her that she almost does feel real to me, too. It just makes me smile like mad to hear reviewers -- completely strangers, really -- have been sold on my depiction of her.

Keep an eye on that bracelet, by the way. ;) It does crop up again in Breaking Even, and it's actually pretty important in ways even my up-to-date readers haven't quite found out!

I can't wait for you to get to certain parts of this story, and the next one -- you're touching on things that get addressed, and I really hope you'll like them. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Courtney Dark Bonding Time

25th August 2013:
Oh, Sirius:(

Right now, I really wish I could just plunge myself into the screen of my laptop and become part of Beth's world. I'D GO OUT WITH YOU, SIRIUS! In fact, if I was in this story, everything would be dandy! Sirius and I would be together, and happy, leaving Beth and Severus - everyone wins!

Sigh.

Anyway, I loved this chapter! Mainly because I love Sirius so, so much but also because it was so amazingly written! I absolutely adore reading Beth's inner monologue and thoughts - especially her comments about the boys, and how they hadn't realized that Lily and Marlene and Mary were going shopping for baby things.

Ooh, I loved the tension that came with Remus' entrance - and I love how we are starting to get more and more snippets of canon events that we know of or have been mentioned - such as Peter's betrayal in the last chapter and Voldemort wanting James and Lily on his side, in this chapter. It's making me even more eager to find out what's going to happen next.

Oh Sirius:( I know I already said that, but I can't believe he chose that moment to hold Beth's hand. I'm just really, really loving all these traits of Sirius that your bringing out, traits that we see in him as a grown man, out of Azkaban. The line: 'Patience and perseverance, admittedly some of his least present personality traits, but it could work' especially stuck out to me.

I'm now realizing this review is waffling on about nothing in particular, so I'll just toddle off and read the next chapter.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I felt so bad for Sirius at this point in the book! He's just so lonely -- which I think he really was in canon, too -- and using Beth to help that was a bad set-up from the beginning, but he did it anyway, that lovable man. It was doomed to fail and I think he knew that, even when he was trying to convince himself that Beth could love him in time.

Much more canon comes into these last two books, solely because there was just more available after the Marauders left Hogwarts. :D There's more to come, too, and I'm eager for you to hit those parts with big canon moments! I did try to include them all.

I'm SO glad you think this Sirius reflect the older, canon Sirius, too. That really makes me happy, because that was exactly what I was going for. ♥

I'm sorry it sometimes takes me so long to respond to your reviews! It's nothing against them, of course, as I've said before. :) Thank you for reviewing at all!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Courtney Dark The Rat

22nd August 2013:
Oooh, this was a really, really good chapter! I have ALWAYS wondered what it was that made Peter betray James and Lily and all his other friends and go over to the Death Eaters and now I know! Well, I know your take on things, anyway, which I think you wrote really, really well! So many marauders writers forget about Peter and his betrayal and I am really, really glad you haven't.

We haven't seen much of Peter in either of these two novels, but I feel like, in this chapter, you portrayed him perfectly - he just seemed so Peter: cowardly and afraid, nervous and a little bumbling. And how could he not expect that he was going to have to make an unbreakable vow? MERLIN'S BEARD PETER!

You also wrote the Carrows really well - you definitely made me dislike them intensely in this chapter, and all your descriptions are wonderful! Oh, and I wonder if Severus will mention anything to Beth about seeing Peter? I guess I'll have to wait and see!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I think when I set out to write this story, one of the things that always bothered me most was not only that Peter was sort of given rough treatment even before his betrayal, but that no one (even J.K. Rowling, really) ever fully explained WHY he did it. I'm glad you found my take on the matter to be believable! That is, as I always say, one of my main aims in writing -- to make things real. :)

I don't see Peter as inherently evil, in very much the same way that I certainly don't see Snape as evil, either. He just let some of his worse traits win out. And moreover, I'm sure he was afraid; we get enough evidence of that in canon.

Ah, Severus's debate over what to tell Beth will definitely pop up again in later chapters. Can I just love the pair of them forever? ♥

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #38, by Courtney Dark Down Knockturn Alley

22nd August 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter, too! It was definitely cool seeing all the action, and I love how eager and enthusiastic Sirius is about all their missions - I think Beth was definitely right when she said that was probably why Dumbledore assigned him the job, as it seems right up Sirius' alley!

I actually love that Sirius appeared at Beth's flat at a ridiculously early time in the morning - it's just so Sirius and I love every single conversation and interaction that he and Beth have with each other. I've definitely got to say that it seems as though, out of all the marauders, Beth is closest with Sirius, despite the fact that she is more open with James with her secrets - but James is a married man now, and has Lily!

You wrote the mission really well - and I liked that we got see a little bit more of Lucius Malfoy, as I love seeing witches and wizards from the other side, love seeing what they're up to! I wonder, more specifically, what exactly they were talking about? I wish Beth and Sirius could've found out more!

Your portrayal of Moody is absolutely fantastic - you have seriously written him just right and I loved the scene between him, Sirius and Beth.

Amazing chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I love this chapter, if only because -- and I've said this many times -- I have VERY vivid memories of writing it because it was so unconventional. :) The very last day of high school, I drove my dad to a job a couple of hours away and wrote this entire chapter in one sitting, waiting for him in Starbucks. Man, being a writer is awesome.

Sirius and Beth really do have some awesome interaction in this chapter, if I do say so myself! And I imagine that Beth did grow a lot closer to Sirius in the years following Hogwarts, if only because they were around each other a lot by necessity. She's still very good friends with James, though -- there's an unbreakable bond there.

Thank you for saying that about the mission, too! :) Lucius is awesome. I totally loved writing him, and it was because of ToujoursPadfoot he was in here so much in the first place. I wish Beth and Sirius could have found out more, too!

YOU ARE TOO NICE. ♥ I cannot. I have lost the ability to can. Thank you for leaving me such a huge string of such lovely, wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Courtney Dark Montgomery Park

22nd August 2013:
Yay! Another chapter!

Wow, that was a terrible start to a review - sorry about that, I seem to be a little brain dead. Of couese there's going to be another chapter, I must have more than thirty left to go! But it was a great one, anyway!

Did I sense some foreshadowing with Peter there? I think I did! He definitely seemed to be on edge like something (insert mysterious dun dun dun) was going on - and James and Sirius and Remus didn't even guess! And Sirius was being so nice to Peter! Well, he was being just a tad mocking, but that's just Sirius! How could Peter betray them?

I should probably stop ranting about Peter's horrible betrayal but GR!

Remus and Sirius know that Lily is pregnant now - yay! And their reactions were just perfect, I loved how excited they were. Although James is really not that great and keeping truths from his best friends.

Beth and Severus! That was definitely my favourite section of the chapter, and I really loved that it was from Severus' point of view. And it was just full of so much fluffy goodness! Although I really cannot imagine Snape in muggle clothing, especially not a t-shirt. I just see him in those black, bat-like robes of his.

But anyway, great chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: If you're brain dead, imagine me, trying to answer all of your lovely reviews! :) Which will eventually happen, no matter how much slacking I do in the interim. I promise.

There's loads of Peter foreshadowing in this book! ;) Which means if you think you saw it... you probably did. He's at a very odd point in his life, wavering between loyalties, and it's almost enough to make me feel sorry for him. Almost. (Sirius doesn't know how to be nice without being at least a little mocking. These are facts.)

James is HORRIBLE about keeping truths from his friends, but I get the impression that that's just how the Marauder friendship works. ♥ Honestly, it's a miracle Beth was able to hide her crush on Sev as long as she did, but boys are by nature a tad oblivious.

Snape in Muggle clothing still feels off-kilter for me, and I've been imagining him in that T-shirt for a year and a half! :D Haha!

Thank you for reviewing, as always!!


 Report Review

Review #40, by Courtney Dark Accusations and Agreements

20th August 2013:
Yay, another Order chapter! I really enjoy this, because it's so exciting to see what's going on in the wider wizarding world what with the upcoming war and all this tension and ARGHNESS! And I really, really enjoyed this chapter.

Remus! I liked that we got to see a bit more of him this chapter, because he's just so adorable and lovable and every time he pops up I want to squeeze him. Unlike every time Peter pops up I want to say "PETER! YOU ARE AN IDIOT! AND YOU END UP LIVING YEARS AND YEARS AS A RAT! SO THERE!"

And Sirius with his smelly shoes, mwahahaha! And that Caradoc Dearborn is a very unpleasant man - he reminds me a little bit of Percy in his Ministry years, actually - how could he be so horrible to Sirius? Sirius is perfection, everyone knows that!

Ooh, Severus and Beth are going to meet again! How exciting!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I know I've said it before, but I'm so happy you enjoy the Order chapters, because I was quite worried about them when I was writing them! I'm always trying to make sure my writing's not boring, you know. ;) It's obviously a rather important facet of the war, but reading about meetings isn't always fun.

I don't know what it was about Remus that made me so intimidated to write him, but of all the Marauders he's the one whose head I can get into the least. As such, he sort of faded into the background at times. It's always easier to yell at Peter than do anything with Remus!

Percyyy. ♥ Caradoc is a bit like Percy, but Percy's actually one of my favorite characters, so there's that.

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Courtney Dark Holiday Talk

20th August 2013:
STOP WRITING SUCH AMAZING CHAPTERS!

What am I talking about? Don't you dare stop writing such amazing chapters or I will feel very deprived. Although saying 'this was an amazing chapter' at the start of every single review does tend to get a little monotonous. But there was so much perfection about this chapter! I don't even know where to start!

The beginning is always a good place.

Aw, Sev. Aw, Beth. You two are just too adorable! That is all that needs to be said. SEV! Yay! (I cannot, for the life of me, write intelligent sounding reviews.)

It's Christmas time! I really, really wish Christmas wasn't in summer over here - I haven't even seen the snow since I was about two years old! Sob! I loved Remus and his eggnog. And James and Lily's cute private little moment. And Sirius dancing Beth around while singing Christmas songs - Sirius is just perfection, there are no other words to describe him. I WANT HIM AND BETH TOGETHER SO BADLY! BUT I WANT BETH AND SEVERUS TOGETHER SO BADLY TOO! WHY IS THIS SO DIFFICULT!

I'm starting to feel very bad for Sirius though, especially when Beth is so oblivious to these new affections and James is beginning to feel stuck in the middle. I wonder how things will turn out...

And I'm glad Beth told James about Severus. i think he will be more careful with her secret this time - at least, I hope he will be! I guess I'll have to wait and see.

Courtney:)

Author's Response: I won't ever stop writing -- amazing or not, and admittedly some of my writing's debatable -- and I'm glad that you're so encouraging in that respect. :) All my thank you repetitions probably are old hat, too, and I hope you aren't tired of them!

Sev. Beth. ♥ I've only been done writing Sneth about three months and I just intensely miss them anyway. Then again, they were around for so long that it would be weird if I didn't. That's why answering your reviews is so fun -- it's getting to revisit these chapters and scenes all over again! In many cases I haven't looked at them for months and months. They're like old friends.

True story: I rarely see snow at Christmas either, even though I have a winter Christmas. You're not alone! Sirius singing Christmas songs and dancing, oh my goodness. I forgot all about that. I miss him. I MISS WRITING THIS STORY. It's late and I'm emotional, but it's still all true.

James definitely will be more careful with Beth's secret, rest assured. ;) I can't wait to hear your opinions on more chapters! Thank you (AGAIN) for your reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Courtney Dark Work As Usual

20th August 2013:
Another AMAZING chapter! I am actually really enjoying seeing things from James' point of view.

When Frank mentioned that Alice was having a baby I was like "Yep, Lily's pregnant!" and was just waiting for her to mention it to James. And then she did, and it was still so exciting and I REALLY, REALLY LOVE reading about this time in the marauders lives because it's just so weird and cool and AMAZING and I just want to keep reading this but I can't (sob) because I've got a pile of work to do (another sob) and THERE JUST ISN'T ENOUGH TIME IN THE DAY! (yet another sob!)

But anyway, while I am super excited about the prospect of baby Harry and baby Neville, I am also super sad, because it means that Lily and James do not have a lot of time left before their deaths and before Sirius goes to Azkaban and WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO BETH?? Omg, omg, I am both scared and excited to find out!

Wow, I think I'm getting a little ahead of myself here. I'M JUST SO EXCITED FOR THIS WHOLE STORY!!

Oh, and Sirius is just so perfect. That is really all I have to say!

Amazing writing!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: It was so strange writing Lily being pregnant, and then having a total realization that WOAH, that's little Harry! It felt a bit surreal, but I'm sure many a Marauders writer before me has had a similar experience. ;) This is like the peak of this era's happiness, unfortunately, and everything sort of goes downhill from here, but we just won't think about that.

All your questions are going to get answered, I promise! You have lots of story ahead of you, and I'm very excited for you to reach those later plot points. :) But feel free to hang around in these happy times a bit longer, too. I wouldn't be opposed to that.

♥ Your reviews are always so enthusiastic and excited and wonderful. It's so lovely! Thank you for them!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Courtney Dark An Overdue Conversation

20th August 2013:
Eeek! Oh my god I loved this chapter so much! I seriously adored it. Delighted in it. Treasured it. Worshiped it. Well, I didn't quite worship it, but you get the idea. And I realized there are not many good synonyms for loved! And yes, I did try looking them up in the thesaurus. THAT'S HOW MUCH I REVERED THIS CHAPTER! (I'm not a 100% sure of the definition of revered - my vocabulary is shamefully small.)

Anyway, there was so much perfection about this chapter. The whole thing was perfection! The conversation between Severus and Beth was just AMAZING and, as usual, so realistic and exciting to read and intense - I was hooked and couldn't take my eyes from the screen. I can't WAIT to see how their relationship develops from here - it's certainly going to be difficult!

And Sirius' point of view! Love, love, LOVE! But I am now seriously conflicted - Sirius and Beth or Severus and Beth? IT'S SO HARD TO CHOOSE! Although in saying that the impression I got from this chapter was that Severus definitely didn't love Beth, but felt lonely - and we've seen how moody lonely Sirius gets in OoTP.

Onto the next chapter!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! :) And all the synonyms you looked up made me laugh, too, and seeing as how I've been thrust back into the throes of schoolwork, I need a laugh every now and again for sure!

Severus and Beth have many long-overdue conversations, but rest assured that they're coming. :) There's still a lot of tension between the pair of them at this point, but I'm just really excited FOR you to see developments! I just skimmed this whole thing anew and was grinning like an idiot; I stand by what I said in the author's note. I really do love that chapter. ♥

Aaand of course, Sirius at the end. If there was a broken heart symbol, it'd go here. Sirius absolutely and definitely does not love Beth, but he wants to, and he's tricking himself into believing that. He is lonely, very much so, and moody!Sirius is always a good time.

Thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by Courtney Dark The Patronus Charm

19th August 2013:
Yay, Severus' point of view! I think this would have to be favourite of his POV's so far - I love seeing into the world of the Death Eaters during the first war, and you write all the tension and challenges so well! And Severus' friends really are a nasty bunch - I really liked how Severus managed to get one up over Carrow though, who has always seemed rather dim-witted, and of course we know that Severus is extremely intelligent and cunning!

The whole Vertiserum bit was very well written, and an amazing idea! I never thought that you'd be able to resist it, but then I guess Harry was able to resist the Imperius Curse - and we know that Severus has strong willpower, as he is a good Occlumens and all that, so this makes perfect sense! And his worst memory has changed! Oh, and his Patronus! Wow! A Thestral!

Can you tell by my very short and un-descriptive sentences that I enjoyed this chapter? if you can't, I enjoyed this chapter!

Goodbye for now!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Yay for Severus indeed! ♥ His points of view and ways of looking at the world definitely do get darker in this book, but I'm glad that you like that -- because I do too. :) His friends really are pretty nasty, though. I think Severus would take pleasure in getting the goods over the people in his current social circle, even though he joined them by choice; I see him as that sort of person.

Harry's resisting the Imperius Curse was my exact line of thought for having Severus immune to Veritaserum! We do know how much he likes it in canon, and he's extremely adept at controlling his thoughts, after all. I think if anyone could resist Veritaserum, it would be an Occlumens.

My eyes are drooping as I'm writing this response (and woe, it's only nine-thirty!), but if you're not able to tell yourself, I'm loving your reviews, as always. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Courtney Dark Homecoming

19th August 2013:
Ah, I'm so glad to be back! I just got back from an overseas holiday with the family during which time i had no internet and, alas, could not read any fanfiction! Sob! So I am definitely happy to be getting back into it. Oh, and I know what you mean by it being hard to write when you're away!

Anyway, I loved this chapter as much as ever - perhaps more, considering it's been longer than usual since I read the last one! I particularly liked having a bit from James' point of view, because we haven't seen much of him so far! It was definitely nice to get a bit of insight into his and Lily's marriage - and the security guy, Dwayne (perfect name!) added a nice bit of humour to the chapter.

I love Sirius and Beth. I'm not a 100% sure if I ship them (I'm pretty sure I do, but I ship Beth and Severus too) but I just love their friendship so much! And Sirius...gah! I've firmly decided that he's my favourite character, I just love him so much. Oh, and it was nice to see the gang together again!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Holidays without Internet are sometimes nice... but then there's the problem of having no fan fiction to read or write, and that's always no fun. At any rate, I'm glad you're back (safely)!

But James and Beth and Sirius and all the rest will always be here waiting for you to return; they're not going anywhere! This is about the point in the trilogy where I got more into James's point of view, and it does crop up more in the second two books than it did in the first. I keep saying it, but I never anticipated to love writing his and Lily's relationship so much originally.

Ah, Sirius/Beth. ♥ You definitely would not be alone in shipping them at least partially, although you know me -- I'm 100% Severus/Beth. I do have a bias, though. But Sirius is a lot of fun, I'll give him that!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by CassiePotter A Visit Home

11th August 2013:
Hello!
This chapter was so good! Well... maybe not for Beth, but it was fun for me to read! I love getting to see where characters come from, especially in a case like Beth's, because she doesn't see her family very much. And for a good reason, too! Though they are still her family, and I can see why she would want to make some effort at seeing them again, I also completely understand why she had to get out of there! Her parents really aren't nice people, and I felt so bad because Beth felt so awkward in her own home. Of all uncomfortable situations a person could be in, I think that's the worst. The people in your family are supposed to be the ones who you're comfortable around, and you should be happy in your home, but poor Beth doesn't have that at all from her parents. Which makes it even better that her friends have become a sort of new family to her, with James acting like a brother and whatnot.
I love the contrast between the two groups, and I think it makes the fact that Beth has left her old life behind stand out even more. Her parents literally know nothing about what she's doing with her life, and she can't tell them about it, which makes me really want to go hug her and let her get everything off her chest!
I also really enjoyed the end with James and Amelia. I really liked seeing how awkward it was for James to talk to Beth's mother, because it shows that even though he and Beth both come from rich pureblood families, their lives at home were completely different.
I loved this chapter, and am slowly but surely making my way through the rest of the story! Even if there are some gaps between reviews, I WILL finish reading and reviewing this trilogy! :D 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter! Beth's parents definitely aren't the most pleasant people, but that's part of the reason they're so fun to write -- they are at least interesting. :P They do love their daughter, but I get the impression that it's very hard to show it, and they're definitely more wrapped up in their own personal problems. If I were Beth, I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time around them either, for sure.

I think it would suck so much to have your parents so detached from your life, though -- and you not able to tell them anything about it, either. That's why, like you said, her group of friends is so cathartic, with James being like a stand-in brother for her. ♥ I really do love those boys. I miss writing about them!

James is so nice to stand up to Beth's mother for her, too. I think families like Beth's and Sirius's wouldn't have had high opinions of families like the Potter, who obviously aren't so prejudiced in their thoughts on blood purity. GOOD FOR JAMES. I'm having so many James feels right now. I'll just write him forever, okay?

Please don't worry at all about the time it's taking you to read this! I'm sure you're busy, and you're reading at all and that's fantastic. ♥ Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Courtney Dark Somewhat Reconciled

9th August 2013:
I am amazed by how amazing this story was!

Wow, that was profound. I guess I'm just in that kind of mood!

I loved everything about this chapter and this story so far - your characters have all grown so much on me since the start of book one, and I love all the drama and intensity that has been in the chapters of this book so far!

The conversation between Severus and Beth was just perfect. I honestly don't know what more to say! It had just the right amount of hesitancy and secrecy, though you could tell both of them were glad/nervous to see each other again - and I'm glad they have!

I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Profound or not (and let me tell you, it's more profound than some of these responses), I really appreciate the sentiment! ♥ It just makes me so happy, thinking on all the hopes I had for these books when I started writing them, and seeing those exact hopes fulfilled through your reviews. I got so attached to these characters that it's just wonderful to know that other people enjoy them, too.

Lulz so much at Severus and Beth and all their hesitancy, never able to say what they truly want to say! I can imagine, of course, that they're both nervous, but they do both seem built on things unsaid, don't they? Oh, just wait for what's ahead of you...

Thank you for the review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by Courtney Dark The Bridge

8th August 2013:
I knew it! I knew this chapter was going to have something to do with that explosion!

It was probably really obvious to everyone, wasn't it? But I was feeling very smart, so please don't burst my bubble!

BETH AND SEVERUS HAVE RE-MET EACH OTHER AT LAST! Well, not really at last, considering it's only been five chapters but you know what I mean! And they couldn't have re-met (is that even a proper thing?) in a better way - I honestly can't wait to find out what happens next!

I really love that even though this story is clearly very dark, much darker than the first, Sirius provides some much needed comic relief. I really enjoyed his comments about his motorbike and “You are not getting ready for a date." I'm sorry, but I am hardcore shipping Sirius and Beth right now.

But then I really like Sneth, too! GAH!

I like that we got to see more of Frank and Alice in this chapter, because I think they are really interesting underloved characters - especially when we know what happens to them in the end.

I loved how you linked this chapter with the last! My eyes are drooping now, but I'll be back for more as soon as I can!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: No bubble-bursting here! But Beth and Severus have found each other at last, and that is enough to inflate anyone's bubble. (I'll knock off that metaphor now. I promise.) I'm excited that you're excited!

Sirius will always be around to provide a bit of comic relief -- it's sort of his job. :) He and Beth are like the good cop/bad cop duo, but in light and dark. Beth is moodier and Sirius is funnier, and you know, that sounded a lot better in my head. Ha! It's been a long few days. (Still not commenting on anything relating to any Siribeth!)

You poor thing, reading until your eyes are nearly closed. ♥ I feel bad saying that that makes me really happy, but it's just a great feeling knowing someone's reading a book I wrote before going to bed, you know?

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #49, by Courtney Dark Severus's Task

8th August 2013:
I actually didn't count on having ANOTHER Severus chapter right after that first one, so I was so excited to start reading this one! I guess I just automatically assumed that it would go straight to back to Beth and we'd just have to guess at what Severus had done.

I ADORED this chapter! It was so fascinatingly dark and everything about it was written perfectly - I love this...this way you have with your characters, for lack of a better way of saying it, where you just get into their minds, let us see exactly what they're thinking. It is especially prominent with Severus - his mind is certainly a many layered thing - and I love reading the way you thinks and feels and acts and just...UGH! Poor Sev:( Although I guess he got himself into it.

On to the next chapter! This is just so exciting! I swear I have adrenaline coursing through my body I am just so excited about this book! I actually love how much darker it is than the first!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Bonus Severus! :) I can see why you thought that, though -- that is normally what happens, but I am glad you were happy he appeared again. Even though his story is much darker in this book too!

Even more than a week after you left this review, I'm still completely thrilled at your comment on how I get into character's heads! Writing characters and making them real and believable is my favorite part of writing, hands-down; I don't know why, but to me they're even more important than a fantastically wonderful and original plot. If you don't love the people you're reading about, why read at all, you know? And Severus is so complex that I don't think I could have tackled him at all without peeling back his many, many layers and trying to work them out. What I'm TRYING to say is thank you! ♥

Your reviews just make me so, so happy. I can't even. Thank you for leaving them!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Courtney Dark Dreams and Duties

8th August 2013:
Oooh, I actually loved the darkness of this chapter - it was intense and kept me super intrigued, interested and hooked right until the end! And it also nice to see Severus again, even though he has taken a very, very dark path.

I absolutely love the fact that you appear to be introducing all these new canon characters that we know had involvement in the first wizarding war - Alice, Frank, Mad-Eye and the other Order members in the last chapter and now Lucius Malfoy in this chapter.

Oh, and I loved the dream! It definitely had a very creepy air to it, and I wonder if it means or foreshadows anything?

And that cliffhanger! I wonder what decision Severus will make - I think I know, but...ARGHH!

Sorry for the incoherent review. Once again I am too eager to get to the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: It's definitely a good thing that you liked the darkness of this chapter -- because trust me, there's PLENTY more in store. :P Especially Severus's storyline! Which I suppose is natural, what with him being a Death Eater and all, but the man's got some difficult choices ahead of him. I just want to give him lots of hugs. Even though he'd almost surely reject them. ♥

Writing in all the canon Order characters was very important to me, if only for the same reason I tried to include the Longbottoms -- that being that not a lot of other people do. J.K. Rowling gave us such a rich world to play with and it seems like it'd be cruel not to! Moody's actually great fun to write, with his gnarled and distinctive personality. That's the great fun about a lot of the characters, actually. They're very lifelike and different, just like real people; I think characters are her specialty.

Aaand I've rambled on long enough about that for now! The dream was about Beth, and has no meaning in the future, but there is symbolism in it, namely in the footprints Severus sees in the dust.

No, no -- if anyone's going to apologize, it's me and the incoherence of these response. ♥ Your reviews are lovely! Thank you for them!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>