Reading Reviews for Growing Up Magical
  
206 Reviews Found

Review #26, by prettywishes Neville

23rd November 2012:
I love tales about magical upbringings! I feel like most authors steer clear of them, because stories about eight year olds don't have the huge mass appeal, but this was so adorable! I think that Neville being a 'late bloomer' in terms of magic is something really realistic, and I like how his Great Uncle had to 'scare' it out of him! Must have been scary to be him though!

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear that people besides me are interested in stories like this! I started this sort of theme with 'Growing Up Weasley,' and was amazed at the response that story had, so I moved on to write about the other Hogwarts-era kids, too. I think it's interesting to hear that you think there isn't mass appeal (which you're right about, really), and yet I've had such luck with these stories. I'm truly grateful!

Poor Neville, though; I can imagine it'd be scary to be him. :3 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a review on all the chapters in this story, too -- I'm aiming to sit down today and knock them all out! ♥ I really do appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #27, by shadowcat2 Epilogue

19th October 2012:
*sighs*
It has been ages since I last read one of your updates. Even though it took a while, I am just glad I read this chapter. Once again, this was the perfect way to end this story collection. It felt so familar to the epilogue of Deathly Hallows. This time we get to see Harry's bond with James instead of Albus.
I hope you know how much I appreciate reading your stories. They always bring a smile to my face.

Author's Response: Hey! I'm sorry that it's taken me a bit to respond to this review -- it's been an absolutely crazy month! I try not to leave responses for this long normally, but I will always leave a response to reviews I receive, so no worries about that. And here I am now!

I'm so happy that you came by to read this chapter, too. ♥ Your opinion on this collection of stories means quite a bit to me! There were definite intentional overtones of Deathly Hallows to this epilogue, but it's also an open sort of ending: A lead into a new generation of childhood, if you will, which is the approach I sort of took with the end of Growing Up Weasley as well. But James needed his moment with his father, too!

I appreciate your reviews, believe me. :) It really flatters me to hear that they make you smile, and I'm so happy that you've taken the time to stop back by my author's page! Thank you so much for leaving this review for me!!


 Report Review

Review #28, by Tonks1247 Oliver

11th October 2012:
AH! I have been waiting and waiting to get to this chapter…I cannot tell you how excited I am now that I have read it! I have always had this mild (Or, you know, rather large) obsession with Oliver Wood and Quidditch. I’m not quite sure what the draw was to his character (though Sean Biggerstaff is rather attractive…), but I’ve always been fascinated by his character and this really gave a much different view of his character!

For me, Oliver is always this darker character…I’m not quite sure where I got it from, but it’s the only way I can view him during his Hogwarts years. He’s much more serious and goal orientated. But after reading this, I find maybe that’s not all he can be. He has this softer innocent side, one that came about when he was first getting into Quidditch and I think maybe that does show through, just not as much, when he gets to the age of playing Quidditch…

But really, this was a lovely job. You did an excellent job writing the game (It’s a pain…basing stories off of Quidditch and Oliver are near impossible :P), and just overall handling his character. You made him quite an adorable six year old (who was practically all grown up ;) ) and I just…I love it. You did a fantastic job! Can’t wait until I can read more chapters (I will be getting to them soon, I promise!) :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Ooh, an Oliver Wood fan! I'll admit that there was a point when I was rather hooked on any Oliver-centric story I could get my hands on. (Probably due to Sean Biggerstaff, likewise.) That phase has passed for the most part, but it was a lot of fun to revisit it here!

I find it very interesting that you see Oliver as a darker character in the books. Certainly there is more than enough room for a bit more information on him as a character -- and who knows? I like that you keep bringing up the word "innocent," though, because I think that's a key one in this case. People like Oliver and Draco may have turned a bit darker, but they were kids once. And kids are remarkably simple, innocent beings, when it comes down to it. Though bless him, he still lives and breathes Quidditch, doesn't he?

Quidditch stories are HARD! :P I'm glad you enjoyed it! Take your time reviewing the future chapters, of course; you've done so much for me already. ♥ I'm just beyond pleased that you've enjoyed the story so much this far! Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Tonks1247 Draco

11th October 2012:
Can I just squish him, a little bit? He’s just so dang cute that I want to squish him and hold him and keep him *cough* And….erm…perhaps not sound creepy… (Oh gosh, I need sleep xD)

So….as I was trying to say…Draco was absolutely adorable in this chapter. I just…I was stunned by the simplicity you put in his character here, so different from how he is when he starts Hogwarts yet somehow it is just so fitting of his character. The innocence of really only wanting to be included in this party his mom refused to let him in on, in addition to wanting a bit of cherry tart…just really brought to life a different side to Draco, one that doesn’t appear in the books. It gave him a softer, sweeter side, one untainted by the evilness of Voldemort and pureblood-ism….

I realize I say this with every chapter I read, but really, this is just a phenomenal piece and the writing is absolutely beautiful. To close, I’ll share two lines that just made me smile and laugh just a little bit before shutting up and not rambling.

“Draco kept looking at his reflection in it, popping his head back and forth and becoming more and more delighted with the mirror-like shine. His mother and father should have parties every weekend, he decided, sticking his tongue out at the slightly distorted reflection of himself in the end post.”

“Good night, Mummy,” he said cheerfully, and without further ado skipped from the hall, not seeing his mother watching him in bemusement the whole way. Nor did he stop to acknowledge his father, whom he met at the base of the stairs as the latter was making his way into the party, who wondered why on earth Draco was out of bed and clutching a plate of something red and sticky-sweet.

Absolutely fantastic!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Ahaha! You can certainly squish Draco, if that's your prerogative. ;) No judging here!

I loved writing wee Draco solely for the reasons you expressed, which is why this review's making me grin like mad: He was brought up with really pretty messed-up values and ideals, but he was a little kid once, and that is so often overlooked, you know? He was once an innocent boy with really no concept of Muggle-borns and Mudbloods and all that. I'm glad you found it fitting of his character!

You are much too sweet. ♥ Also -- you definitely seem to be picking out all my own personal favorite lines from these chapters! Every time I read that last one, I just imagine this really confused look on Lucius's face while Draco trots away, and it's so funny in my head. :D Happy to see that you enjoyed it, too!

Shall I say it again? I feel I must -- thanks so much for this review! I really can't tell you what it means to me. ♥ You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Tonks1247 Luna

10th October 2012:
“Luna looked about her curiously, half-expecting to find someone standing behind her that she had never noticed before.” Oh my…how I adore Luna Lovegood. She’s always such an interesting character to read and even more so to write. She is just so different than the typical person and it’s always hard to depict exactly what she’s thinking yet I think you do quite a fantastic job of getting her five year old character into this story. Her responses in this story and just some of her interaction with her parents…it’s just so precious and just….exactly what I imagined of her.

So let’s see…some of my favourite lines of this chapter:

“She was never very good at naming things, and her plush animals all had names like Cat or Mr. Duck or Sir Puppy.”

“How interesting... Luna, dear, have you been playing amongst milkweed lately? It is said to cause one’s shadow to do funny things… Does your nose feel any heavier than normal?”

“Feeling considerably less lonely than she had an hour or so earlier, Luna tripped downstairs to inspect the milk – just in case.”

I was just in amazement and totally impressed by this chapter. You wrote Luna in such a good light and really gave depth to her character…seriously, you did an amazing job with this chapter, much like the last couple!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I love writing Luna! I think this particular chapter was the... second or third time I'd attempted it (I've done so at least three times now), and she really is so fun. She has a very distinctive character voice that it's fun to try and get into! I'm glad that you saw apt characterization here; that's always so encouraging to hear. :)

Ahaha, Xenophillius and the milkweed! ♥ I think his line about it and her nose is my favorite, too. I'm not sure how many other people caught onto the bit at the end about the milk, but it makes me smile, and I suppose that's all that really matters!

Thanks so much, once again, for reviewing this chapter for me. :3 It honestly means so much, and I'm just beyond pleased you're enjoying it so much! Really looking forward to seeing your opinions on the future chapters, as well!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Tonks1247 Colin

10th October 2012:
AW! Colin is just way too adorable! Between him and his brother Dennis I’m not sure which one I love more! I mean, you go from Colin with his ‘six-years-old-and-practically-a-grown-up’ to Dennis and his “The sky is wet”…It’s just so dang cute! And they definitely sound six and four respectively. You really just have a phenomenal way with words and it just makes your characters even more believable!

And I was actually sort of surprised at first (As I haven’t read through too much of the table of contents to know what characters have a chapter) that Colin was one of the characters you picked. I mean, I know he was mentioned frequently in the books (which I really need to read again…) but I never really thought of his life as a Muggleborn or where his obsession with cameras and pictures came in. He just wasn’t a character I necessarily cared for or paid much attention too…but I am really glad you wrote this. It gave a much different view of Colin and gave me a different appreciation for his character and sort of reminded me that he was a really fantastic character.

And instead of continuing on with my ramblings of how amazing this chapter is and how amazing of a writer you are, I will share one small thing that sort of had me confused and another favourite line.

“Colin Creevey could not contain bouncing excitedly in his chair, despite the fact that it was raining rather badly outside.” The beginning of this sentence seems as though it is missing a few words…

And then another favourite line, just cause the boys are so dang adorable: “We’re… we’re being spies,” said Colin, hoping this would be a suitable explanation. “I’m being a sidekick,” Dennis added brightly, now sitting up and still refusing to remove his thumb from his mouth.”

Really fantastic! Great job! :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I absolutely adored both of the Creeveys in canon -- they were so obnoxious at times, and yet they were always very, very loyal to Harry, which is something I find admirable. You only have to look at Colin and know that he snuck back into a war to defend Harry, and died in that war, to see that. They're such great characters! But anyway.

I'm not sure what exactly it was that made me pick Colin, out of all the possible canon characters, to write about. I'd like to think (though this might just be sentimental) that I felt he had a story worth telling. :) A lot of people, for the most part, do seem to overlook Colin, and I'm proud to have given you a second glance at him, however minute.

Hmm -- I don't quite see where that sentence could be missing a few words. But I'm going to ask someone right now! And I'm happy you liked that other line, too; it kind of sums up the entire personalities of both brothers, doesn't it?

Thank you again for this! Gahh, your reviews are making me smile so much. :3 So, so pleased you're enjoying it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by Tonks1247 Neville

10th October 2012:
I have been waiting for an opportunity to present itself where I don’t have work, homework or revising to do just so I would have the time to sit down and read this story and I am happy to say I have found time. It’s actually really exciting because just the other day I was thinking about Growing Up Weasley and I was like, you know what? I know she has this story, Growing Up Magical, and I kinda really wanna see what characters she uses and what sort of amazing plot she’s come up with this time…so here I am.

And this chapter? Exactly what I wanted to hear of Neville’s story before Hogwarts. I always wondered how exactly it work, Neville figuring out about his magic due to his Uncle Algie and I must say, you did so while keeping your story quite close to canon, at least in my head. I could definitely see Neville being one to spend his summer days reading, even more so that he was reading adventure novels. It just seemed so fitting! And his partial dread about his Uncles visit…so realistic. I mean, who could blame him? Neville only almost drowned a year earlier xD

But really, your characterization of all of the characters is so spot on. I also love how, while your writing is really stylized and some of the vocab more advanced, it definitely sounds like Neville is an eight year old boy. I mean, you use some terms that may not fit with a boy that age yet without those words, it wouldn’t seem right. You know what I mean? [I could just be crazy xD]

There was only one spot that caught me for a moment and confused me until I reread it, and that would be here: “He ambled over to the large window across from the one leading back out onto the landing, looking through out at the overcast English sky outside as though it were the most fascinating thing he’d ever seen.” –The use of ‘through out at the overcast…” was sort of confusing wording. You may consider revising that to just using out? I don’t know but it was sort of confusing…

Other than that small thing, this really was a lovely chapter. I quite enjoyed reading Neville’s little story and am looking forward to seeing whose next!

And, before I go, my two favourite lines of the chapter (I couldn’t just pick one!):

“…and the boy immediately began falling in a decidedly downward direction.”

“The first of these was that, if today was the day he was destined to die, falling from a window into the garden below was at least an interesting way to go about it.”

The first one, I just adore the wording. The second one was just fantastic! Great job!

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: Hey! Wow -- it's great to see you drop by this story! :) I'm very flattered to hear that you've been meaning to set aside time to read this, and, needless to say, I'm very happy you've found it now! You are too sweet. ♥

I wrote this story over nine months ago, and still I think it's one of my favorites in this collection. It all came very easily when I was writing it, and I'm happy you enjoyed it! I think that this version of events was always in my head, and I'd adopted it into my own little headcanon, you know?

I'm honestly so happy you found it realistic, though. Realism is something I'm always, always shooting for, in my writing. There's a certain style to this set of stories, and to GUW -- and it does include a sort of sophistication of language. I'm not sure why that is, but it definitely seemed to fit, when writing them. :)

Thank you for spotting that little error! I'm shaking my head now at all the times I've read this chapter over and STILL miss things like that. I really don't want to know how many other little slips are hiding in my other stories.

Thanks so much for leaving this review for me! ♥ This totally made my day -- I hope to see you back soon for your opinion on further chapters!


 Report Review

Review #33, by angelicdemon1209 Epilogue

7th August 2012:
This was a beautiful series, and well this end, it's left me speechless..
I loved it.
But one thing, isn't Ron an auror, and also helping George at the shop? I am not sure.
And I love Luna!! :D

Author's Response: It is stated that Ron both helped with George's shop and worked under Harry in the Auror department. We don't know which came first, or if he worked at both at the same time -- it's never explicitly stated -- so I've taken the liberty to develop headcanon to that end. :)

Thank you so much -- and what a lovely surprise it was to see your name back again! I'm so happy that you enjoyed the story, and that you were willing to leave your opinion on this chapter. It really is so appreciated that you took the time to stop by! ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by slytherinchica08 Harry

28th July 2012:
Oh I only get two more chapters in this story to read? Well it was a great read as it always is when you are the author! I thought Harry was wonderful and I think he is one of the hardest to write as J. K. has his character so well developed so great job with that. I loved the look into his childhood with Dudley busy tyring to get him.

I really liked the bits of magic in this as they weren't just screaming I'm magical it was just something that could really happen but with a magical twist to it. I think you are doing a wonderful job with this collection and thought that this was a great addition to your story. I really could just gush on and on about how much I love your writing style and stories in general. Also I wanted to mention how much I loved your description in this chapter! I thought it was very well done and nothing too dramatic or over descriptive it just all flowed really well and helped to paint a wonderful picture of a nine year old Harry trying to stay away from Dudley and his gang. Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Two more chapters indeed! I probably could have written more, but I just felt at a certain point that putting the end at 10 was right. I wanted to write other things, and I never want to have a ton of WIPs, so finishing this off at this time was the ideal plan. ;)

I'm so glad you liked Harry, too! I LOVE writing Harry, even if he is a bit difficult at times, simply because we hear his voice so much in the books, it's not very difficult for me to get into it, if that makes sense. Harry's one of my favorite characters; I'd love to write a Harry-centric novel someday. :)

One of the things I wanted to get across with these stories, even more than in GUW, was the element of magic that I think magical children would have had in their childhoods, even if they didn't grow up in the wizarding world. And, of course, we know from canon that that was true in Harry's case! I'm so pleased you liked the description, too; description's always one of my very favorite parts of writing anything.

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on this! Your reviews are always so sweet; it means a lot to me to have them on my stories. You always know how to make me smile! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by Aphoride Oliver

18th July 2012:
Ah, you're giving me such trouble, you know that? I can't decide who is more adorable... six year old Oliver or seven year old Draco... gosh, this is hard. I adore them both, though!

Oliver is just... gah, so adorable but also the kind of kid who raises a smile on your face by being so enthusiastic and hyperactive - he really reminds me of the Oliver in the books and films. I also loved how you included the whole Quidditch angle and mentioned how he decided he would be a Keeper someday and he would play for Puddlemere United without making it over the top or completely consume the whole story. There was just enough Quidditch and just enough enthusiasm from Oliver (and Ewan, lol) to make it perfect.

I love how different all of these are. Sort of defining moments for each of the characters - little moments which have some significance in some way. It's just wonderful to see when Oliver started being Quidditch obsessed and when he decided he would be a Keeper.

Also, I loved how you described the argument between his parents about whether or not he could go and then had Oliver listening to them on the stairs and let out a cheer when his mother finally caved 'forgetting that he was supposed to be in bed'. Haha, it was such a perfect line!

So good, as usual :D So, so good.

Aph xx

Author's Response: Right? Every time I wrote a new chapter, I was convinced that that was my favorite one of them all! :D I think, in the end, I like Colin's and Draco's and Cedric's. And the epilogue. Which is basically half of the chapters...

I remember writing this story pretty vividly, where I was sitting and what I was thinking, so it's really awesome to sort of connect that to your response. I don't know what that's relevant, but it is. :) And I actually sort of really don't like writing Quidditch, so -- natch -- I've got to write about a boy who loves it! Brain, what are you even.

These very much are defining moments, and I like that phrasing. :D A lot of the Muggle-born kids get magic in theirs, but really it kind of shows that children, they aren't different, born into magic or no. You know? Baww, that line. ♥

Thank you so much -- again! -- for leaving me all these reviews! And I'm quite sorry for the mess I made of responding to them. ♥ I really cannot tell you enough how grateful I am!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Aphoride Draco

18th July 2012:
Haha, oh gosh I think this one has been my favourite so far! Draco was just... perfect. I absolutely adore him. If he existed I would adopt him right now - he's just too cute!

I love how you made him cute and intelligent and somewhat cunning for a seven year old boy. He's clever enough to know how to get things from his mother when he wants them and how to try and manipulate people - even if each attempt failed miserably. It was just such a lovely take on his character, and they're all traits he possesses in canon so it fits in with him there so well. I can imagine this happening, lol.

Cherry tart. You really are just working your way through a horde of desserts/puddings I love, aren't you? I completely understand why Draco decided the whole adventure was worth it in the end. Cherry tart is delicious.

I loved it when the maid called him 'tyke' and all the details were amazing. The silver snake as the hand on the clock, Narcissa's pearls, the first violinist, the fact that the butler had been hired specifically for this party and to let people inside... it was just incredible.

I just loved this. I'm really not quite sure what more to say without repeating 'I love this, I love this, I love this' over and over again...

Aph xx

Author's Response: Draco! I'll admit it -- the Malfoys are also canon characters I really don't focus on a lot, because they don't interest me that much. ;) But actually, I've written quite a bit about them in recent stories, so I'm getting over that. And everybody likes a sneaky seven-year-old! I'm glad you saw a lot of canon Draco here; with all the Draco stories out there (Dramione, anyone?), sometimes that's a tricky thing to do, and it's nice to know I succeeded.

Ahaha, and the dessert strikes again! I'm guilty, though -- the cherry tart's only in here because cherry pie is one of my favorite, favorite, favorite desserts. ♥ Which I am now craving.

I always picture the Malfoys, and Malfoy Manor, as really lush and extravagant, and exploring that atmosphere a bit more in-depth in this story was great! I'm really happy you liked it, too. :)

Repetition is fine by me. :D Especially since saying 'Thank you, thank you, thank you' is a bit repetitive, too! But honestly -- thank you. Your reviews really did brighten my day so much!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Aphoride Luna

18th July 2012:
You wrote Luna so perfectly! How do you do it? Write every character so well! Neville, Colin, Luna, plus all the Weasleys... it's just... incredible!

Luna was perfect here. Dreamy, intelligent, slightly gullible and just so... Luna. I can imagine her acting like this in the film (only as a mini-Luna) and skipping around.

Her parents were wonderful, too. I loved how you included them and her mother told her about her shadow being a constant friend. It seems like something a young Luna might believe. Her excitement at it being true was lovely as well. Really sweet. Also, the inclusion of Xeno's printing press-type thing was really good as well! I loved it - it reminded me that of course the offices for The Quibbler are in their house. A bit of an 'oh duh' moment, lol.

Also, I loved the mention of the Weasleys. Given they live in the same village, it was inevitable that they would have at least heard of each other, since not too many witches and wizards live in Ottery St. Catchpole, and I particularly liked how Luna thought that when her mum said 'a mess of boys' she meant they were messy. :D Totally wrong, but so sweet! It made me smile.

Dandelion is indeed a fitting name for a shadow ;)

Gosh, I loved this! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I don't quite know how to answer that question... :P I think it's a combination of reading the books and listening to the audiobooks and watching the movies SO many times, and having a semi-photographic memory, that can just get me straight to the voice of the person I'm writing about. But that does rather sound like I'm bragging. ;)

I had a lot of fun imagining what Luna's mother would be like, actually, because I've always imagined her to be quite a bit like her daughter. And the shadow, of course, is a nice go-between! I'm rather pleased you caught my 'messy' pun, too -- not a lot of people seem to have done so. :P

Thank you, once again, for a plethora of such lovely, sweet reviews on this story! It really does mean so much to me that you chose to leave them, and I'm just glad you liked the story so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Aphoride Colin

18th July 2012:
Colin! I have to admit, I didn't really like Colin much in the books, seeing as he was just always following Harry around and being overly-cheerful, but I adored him here. He was just so sweet and adorable... and gah, I just wanted to hug him.

I loved all the details in this as well. It's amazing how you manage to fit them all in without bogging the story down and keep it a sensible length. I totally understand what he means about having a spring birthday - it's often raining on my birthday too, since I'm born in the spring :P

I loved the tradition you created of their father walking to the town to get their presents on their birthday. It was just so original and something I'd never ever thought of before in any way, so it really surprised me :) Also, I think you're trying to make me hungry. First meringue last chapter, now chocolate cake... will it be cookies next time? Yes? No? Seriously, though, all these mentions of various puddings are just making me hungry.

'Bubba' - okay, I just had to mention this! It was beyond adorable. It made Dennis even more adorable than Colin. And the whole spies and sidekicks things was just pure genius, although I think Colin got a bit mixed up, lol. Superheroes have sidekicks, not spies :P That mix-up just made it even cuter, though.

The camera. I loveloveloved how you included the camera and how it was the photo which was his first sign of magic. It was so fitting for a boy who loved taking photos and never went anywhere without it at Hogwarts.

This was just so cute and adorable and perfect :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: I don't think I really appreciated Colin in the books until he died -- it's so sad, but that's actually why I like most a good amount of characters, because they snuffed it in a heroic fashion. :P I so enjoyed writing this chapter, though! It was really easy for me to picture Colin as a little kid.

I am clearly trying to make you hungry, if that wasn't obvious enough before. :) I'm so pleased to hear you like all the story's details! I'm always a little guilty to hear things like that, though, because I really don't consciously plan a whole lot of my stories. I have outlines of what I want to happen, and other things just get added in as I go, like Colin's father's walking to town, or Dennis's rabbit thing. (I kind of agree, though, that Dennis is more adorable than Colin! They were always so close in the books -- I loved that.)

You liked the camera bit! I thought it was really fitting that that was how Colin would first sort of wonder about magic. I'm so glad you enjoyed this! And thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on this chapter, too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #39, by Aphoride Neville

18th July 2012:
Okay, I've been meaning to read this for so long - well, read and actually review this time since I've read it all before at least twice, I think - and so here I am! :D

I loved Growing Up Weasley and this is just as good! I love how you're using perhaps less well-known characters, like Neville and Cedric and others. It's so fascinating! :) I'm a huge fan of minor characters.

Your opening line was fabulous - 'There was no smell more pleasant, Neville thought happily, than the sugary smell of something baking in the oven'. No truer words have ever been said. Cookies, cake, whatever - the smell is just amazing. Plus, it was such an original way to open the story - I've never seen anyone open a chapter quite like that :)

Ooh, one thing I picked up when I was reading - 'grandnephew' should really be 'great-nephew'. I don't know if the slightly different name is a British thing or not, but I've always used 'great-nephew' *shrugs*

Haha, Augusta was perfect! Spotting the missing sugar cube (by magic, of course ;) ) and Algernon calling her 'Gussie'. Oh gosh. I just can't imagine it, but it's just so perfect for her... haha, it made me laugh, though! :D

Meringue! :) You have captured my heart - I love meringue. I completely sympathise with Algernon, lol. And Neville.

'He bounced!' Best line of the whole fic, lol. It was just... gah, so good! I can't wait to read the others!

Aph xx

Author's Response: Well, I had no idea you were one of my readers! And twice through, no less! :) I'm so excited to see you've returned, and it's great to hear you enjoyed the stories.

I love the Hogwarts-era characters, and really moving onto this collection after finishing up GUW was almost a no-brainer. :) Although it was, I'll admit, largely an excuse to write Cedric again. But alas! There does seem to be a lot of sweets written into these stories... I think it's a combination of loving pudding myself and feeling like such things are an integral part of a little kid's life. ;) Yes?

Ooh, I'll have to do more research on that. There's actually quite a large debate on 'grandnephew' versus 'great-nephew' on the Internet, which surprised me. :P 'Grandnephew' seems to be the more common of the two, but thank you for pointing it out!

I'm happy you liked Augusta -- I've written her once before, and she's lots of fun. :D Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me your opinion on this story, Aphoride -- I'm seriously so happy you did! ♥


 Report Review

Review #40, by WishfulMuggle Epilogue

14th July 2012:
Awesome story:) I about teared up in the end. My only question is who else were you considering writing about?

Author's Response: I had several options to choose from in writing these stories. I very nearly wrote about Fleur, and a few other people I tossed around were Lavender, Dean, Angelina, and even Blaise Zabini. :D And I've heard a lot of requests for a next generation collection, too, and there have been a few ideas tossed about in that direction... but for now, I do think I'm done. :)

Thank you for taking the time to review this for me! I'm so glad you liked it -- and, although it sounds a bit silly, this epilogue evoked a lot of nostalgic emotions in me, too. :P Got to love a Hogwarts Express scene! But thank you once again, it really does mean a lot to me to hear from readers like you.


 Report Review

Review #41, by justonemorefic Luna

6th July 2012:
I have missed adorable magical children. ♥

Luna wondered for a moment why they didn’t give the boys baths if they were so messy, but she supposed it was one of those grown-up things that she didn’t understand lolol I see what you did there.

Baww, omg mother-daughter feels. Iona is so lovely ;A; A shadow. She can make a shadow so magical. I am like, having childhood feels too, because little skeptical-but-not me would have adored things like this. SHADOW NAMING CEREMONY. lolol Cat or Mr. Duck or Sir Puppy. So were mine, Luna, so were mine.

Hee, new shadow friends for like five minutes and they're already causing trouble. could she be sure that smacking her head into the machine had been the cause of it all? Dandelion’s hand had disappeared into the shadow of the machine, after all. Suspicious stuff, that. such a clever child. cleverer than me.

Dandelion’s shaded fingertips touched her small ones, and she felt a little tingling feeling shoot up her arm, remembering her mother’s words about a shadow being a constant friend. BECAUSE IMAGINATION IS THE REAL MAGIC, RIGHT RIGHT? :DD

Eep, I love your little Luna especially because I can see how older Luna might be lonely too, and even in her childhood, her eccentricities (or her mother's tricks) have helped her adapt to it. The fact that she carries her mother's influence for the rest of her life is just so sweet.

♥ LOFF THIS. LOFF JOO.

Author's Response: Well, well! How lovely to see you back here again, m'dear. :3

SORT-OF PUNS FOR THE WIN. That's one of the reasons I loved writing these stories -- getting into their heads and realized that they didn't see the world as I do, with their rather innocent outlook on things, made for a good quip here and there. And with Luna it was even more fun because of her massive heart and imagination, and I think if I could choose any one of these stories to expand a bit more on, Luna would be a top contender. She's just so utterly /herself/ and that's refreshing.

Now, the question is -- is Dandelion all in Luna's head, or does she really cause a bit of mischief? Hmm, mysteries! (IS THIS A FANTASYYY.) But anyway. Thank you very much for taking the time to come by and read this! It's so appreciated, and in coming from you it is made all the more loffleh ~

Thanks, Gina! ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by NeverGotHerLetter Epilogue

29th June 2012:
read this chapter ages ago but couldn't review due to exams which are now thankfully over! Aw this was a brilliant/cute/spectacular/lovely end to a brilliant/cute/spectacular/lovely story ^^ I really loved how you went from the past to the future. and it was just all round awesome. No faults^^ Chloe xx

Author's Response: Oh, you didn't even need to review, you know. If you'd enjoyed something I'd written, that would have been good enough for me -- and it means even more that you were willing to drop back by and tell me what you thought!

I'm so glad you liked this epilogue. I really do think it's my favorite chapter of the lot, and I'm just so, so happy that people reacted so well to it! It's sort of like a new beginning, isn't it? But anyway. Thanks so much for leaving this, Chloe, and your reviews have been basically invaluable to me this entire process. ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by purplepotter77 Luna

26th June 2012:
Even though Luna is a rather hard character to write, I think you did an amazing job of writing her. I love her imagination and her relationship with her mother. I used to wonder what Luna's mother would be like, and I think you portrayed her mother wonderfully, and it's easy to see that her mother did have a big role in growing Luna's imagination. I love Luna's imagination, and I think it's one of the things that always stuck with her, even when she grew up. Your writing is absolutely lovely, and I enjoyed this piece very much, especially since there aren't really that many stories about Luna as a child.

Author's Response: Luna is a challenge, I do agree -- and yet, I love writing her! She's cropped up a surprising amount in my writing, with this and this story's last chapter, and in a short story and a duel entry as well. Her imagination is such a huge factor in how she IS, really, and I do think it comes into play a lot in how I write her.

There should be more stories about the Weasleys as children, in my opinion -- too often people focus on drama and whatnot, and lose sight of the goodness in the simplicity of a story. (I'll clamber down off my soapbox now.) Thank you for taking the time to review this, and for saying such complimentary things! It really means a lot to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by MadamePuddifoot Epilogue

20th June 2012:
I can't believe this is over! It seems like not very long ago that Neville's story was posted, and now here we are! This is really the perfect way to round off such an excellent story. I loved how even though it was primarily about Harry's family, all the previous characters you wrote about got a mention too! Of course Seamus' wee daughter will be a trouble maker, but she sounds really fun, and Luna would dismiss the importance of Harry's job in typical Luna fashion! Even mentioning Draco, and Neville being a professor, and poor Cedric and Colin was just such a lovely touch!

The Potter family dynamics were brilliantly explored and it's so interesting how James is nervous but will come to tease Albus in the very near future! Ron and Hermione were perfectly characterised and Ron's infamous teddy bear makes an appearance once more!

All that's left to say is a huge, huge, huge WELL DONE on such an amazingly creative and fantastic story that I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish. As if I wasn't crying enough by the loveliness of your writing, and the fact the story's over, then you go and write that author's note! Thanks for mentioning me; as always, it has been a pleasure to read and review and good luck for what you work on next!

Author's Response: I know, right?! It feels like only a week or two ago that I posted Neville's chapter, and now here we are, nine chapters later, at the end! Definitely bittersweet, but I'm excited to move onto other things, too. :) I loved working in all the mentions of the characters from the previous bits -- it's something I loved doing in the GUW epilogue and made me want to write this in the first place.

And of course, we couldn't leave out Mr. Stuffing! ♥

I'm so glad you've enjoyed these stories, and really, thank you again for being such a dedicated reviewer these six months. It truly means a lot to me. I'm so happy I could write something you enjoyed! ♥ Hope to see you around again!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Phantasietanz62442 Seamus

17th June 2012:
Ah... so perfect... and so Seamus XD. You really know all the characters back to front don't you! I loved the bit about the grass btw, it just seemed to suit so well! ...So just the epilogue to go... gosh I'm gonna miss this story :( Never stop writing!

Author's Response: I'd like to think that I've got a pretty good grasp on the characters after reading about them for over 13 years -- of course, I could be wrong, but there you have it! I'm very glad you saw Seamus in this; he was a bit trickier than anticipated. :P

I'm so glad you've enjoyed this story, and really, thank you so much for consistently taking the time to tell me so. :) I definitely don't plan on stopping writing ANYTIME soon! Great to hear from you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by mrsWeasleyLongbottom Epilogue

16th June 2012:
A little piece of me just died inside. It just seems to be so real as if JKR gave you a secret connection. Darn you're talent! I've been reading this since since it was just little Neville bouncing. I am so sad this is over but like everything else all good things must come to and end even if it is the best story on this website! I loved how it ended, because from what I've seen not too many people write James going off, it's useully the 19 years and I loved how you had a connection with each story. well I could go on forever but I don't think you would want to read that. You're so talented and I can't wait for your next story!

Author's Response: Oh, wow! That's a hefty compliment, and I really thank you for it! I find it pretty easy to adopt different tones for different stories, especially depending on how extensively I've read the material -- and, in talking about the Potter books, that's quite a bit. :3 Seriously, though, thank you for saying that.

I'm so glad you liked what I chose to do with the epilogue! I've had this particular idea in my head for basically as long as the story's been around, and it's a bit tough to make a six-month-old vision come to fruition sometimes. But I personally loved how it turned out, and so your support's really encouraging, too!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave me a review on this. I honestly cannot tell you how much I appreciate it. :) I hope to see you back sometime in the future!


 Report Review

Review #47, by BKL8008 Epilogue

15th June 2012:
This was the perfect ending to a brilliantly imaginative series that stands out not only in its content, but in its originality as well. Finishing with James going off to Hogwarts (with his own flaws and all) was a stroke of genius. "First one". The interplay between Harry and his son was so very well done, and almost wrenching in some areas - but in a very subtle sort of way. How many of us parents, myself included, managed to get around the corner from dropping off #1 on the first day of kindergarten before going all to pieces? Yes, don't grow up too fast...

This one may be done, but I hope we see more someday...

Author's Response: It's a bittersweet ending, but I am very glad you've stopped by to once again give me your feedback on how it's all been written! Your reviews have helped tremendously -- the age gap basically means you can let me know if I'm on the right track or not! -- and I don't know how to properly thank you for them. :)

I'm so happy you enjoyed this, and am just blown away in general at how awesome people have been about it. And who knows? You might be right -- perhaps someday, more! Thank you so much, and I'm hoping to see you around again! :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by CassiePotter Epilogue

15th June 2012:
Aw! I loved this! I'm happy you wrote about the next generation kids for the epilogue, because it's like they're coming full circle. First we see Harry's generation, then we see the next one. And thank you for mentioning me in the Author's note! It made me feel really special :) little James is so cute!!! It's funny to think that he's scared now, but when Albus starts his first year at Hogwarts, James is Mr. Cool kid. Hahaha. You don't have to worry about me growing up too fast! I think everyone on this site has at least a little of their inner child left, because we all love Hogwarts, and magic, and dragons, and all the stuff we write about! This short story collection was amazing, and I can't wait to see what you do next! Any ideas? 10/10 (I honestly couldn't give you anything else... Well maybe 11/10 :P)
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I had the idea to do this sort of an epilogue almost from the very first moment I sat down to write the first chapter -- I loved the GUW epilogue and how it sort of tied things together, and wanted that same closure here. :) Of course I mentioned you in the author's note -- you're one of the best reviewers, and it's amazing how much of my stuff you've read!

Got to say a massive thank-you for tying this story into canon so much right there, by the way, referencing Albus's own platform experience. That makes me grin so much. :D

As for what I'm doing next? Well, it'll be posted next week, if everything goes according to plan, but I'll go ahead and tell you! I've got two chapters written (and am writing a third) of an AU Ron/Hermione story, probably a novella, and I'm so, so excited about it. It's a bit different from anything I've done before, and I hope it all goes well! :)

You are tremendous. ♥ Honestly, just thank you so much for being so supportive. You're definitely one of the reasons I'm still writing at all! Massive, massive thanks to you!!


 Report Review

Review #49, by sophie anne weasley Epilogue

15th June 2012:
That's so sweet. I loved all these stories and the ending is perfect! I love little James being scared about school and then teasing Albus the next year! xxx

Author's Response: I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the stories! I had a lot of fun writing them, and it's so nice to hear the readers got a bit of fun out of it, too. :)

Haha, yes -- someone else mentioned that about James and Albus, too! Which I thought was awesome, of course, because tying this story straight back to a canon event in that way just makes me smile so much. :) Again, really happy you liked this, and thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on it. It means a lot to me that you did!


 Report Review

Review #50, by RosieQueen Epilogue

15th June 2012:
oh my gosh please don't tell me it's over!!! I wish I could
forget everything I`ve read in this story and reread it as obsessively as the first time. :'( I felt like I was reading the epilogue of DH all over again. this story really made me see how fast our beloved HP characters grew up, from meddling children to heroes. Thank you so much TW for sharing this story with
us.

~Rosie

Author's Response: I'm getting more and more sad that it's over with each consecutive review. I'm so, so glad that you liked this, though -- and feel free to re-read these little stories as many times as you want! I don't mind. :D

Thank /you/ for being such a dedicated reviewer throughout -- it really does mean so much to me that you kept coming back, for all of six months. Again, really pleased you enjoyed it, and I hope to see you back again before too long! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>