Reading Reviews for Extinguished
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ms Longbottom Extinguished

6th October 2013:
Oh. Wow. Literaly, words cannot even BEGIN to describe how much I enjoyed this story. TenthWeasley, I have been sitting here all day just reading and reading and re-reading your amazing stories, over and over again. I just can't get over how detailed you are, how well you can describe things that some people have trobule even imagining. You can take those thoughts and feelings and put them down in words. You are an amazing writer, and I absolutely loved this. You just want to make me hate you, don't you? I am positivley jelous of you, and how you can grab your readers' attintion with 3 words. Growing up Weasley, Lily's Gift, and Growing up Magical are some of my favorites of yours. Never stop writing, you have a gift!
~Ms Longbottom~

 Report Review

Review #2, by Francis the Fish Extinguished

5th October 2013:
Wow. There are no other words for this exceptional piece of work, I was honestly about to cry.

Author's Response: WOW indeed. ♥ This review is just over the top, and I'm so glad you seemed to enjoy this story so much! It was the first one-shot I ever posted this this account, and the fact that it's still getting reads is amazing to me.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this for me! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Extinguished

17th August 2013:
Promised I'd be here. Figured I'd better start at the beginning.

And now I've remember two things. 1. Why I don't read fanfiction very much. How can I keep posting my silly little ramblings after reading the greatness that is out there? 2. Why I don't write reviews very often. When I read something that just blows me away I have a really hard time condensing my thoughts and emotions down into understandable words in a paragraph.

Seriously, this just blew me away. The easy way you have with words (which is probably not easy but a lot of hard work, but comes across that way), the flow and. UGH! I can't get what I'm trying to say out here.

See, in a lot of stories people have to waste time setting the scene. But your scene just IS and you graciously invite us into it. I could literally see it, feel it, smell it, hear it. That's talent.

And then you go and rip my heart to shreds. I have purposefully never thought much about that night and James and Lily because my pour emotions can't take it. But a promise is a promise and even if my heart is now lying in pieces on the ground, it was worth it.

You amaze me. Just thought I should say that. And if this is where you started, you're going GREAT places girl!

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: I'm so, so happy you enjoyed this story -- and especially THIS story, considering it was the first one-shot I ever posted to this particular username, and I was still (to my own eyes) a fairly weak writer when I wrote it. Your lovely words have made me think perhaps I wasn't as bad as I like to moan about being, but there's that. ♥ I'm actually a bit in awe at just how much you did like it! I've written actually two versions of this event, but "Extinguished" is so cemented in my mind that I couldn't help bringing elements from it into the other version too.

Definitely not a lot of thought went into this particular story, that's for sure. :) I guess that's why it's so neat to see someone looking at it with fresh eyes, because I certainly can't at this point, and remember that there was a reason I posted this in the first place. As it was when I wrote it, it was my favorite one-shot I'd ever finished, and in a distant way I'm still proud of it. There's a lot of emotion and darkness and angst wrapped up in the events of Halloween 1981, which is why I think I liked it so much then -- and looking back at my writing since then, and the sorts of things I've gravitated towards (mental illness and violent death, anyone?), it's really no surprise.

Thank you for reviewing this for me, Jill. ♥ I'm so, so happy that you took the time to do so, and that you enjoyed it so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bek Extinguished

13th November 2012:
Wow. I'm so glad I read this, its just amazing.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you so much! I'm so happy you found this story, too -- it must be nice and buried in the archives, and seeing reviews on older stories of mine always makes me so, so happy. :) I'm glad that you read and enjoyed it!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me a review -- seriously, I can't tell you what it means to me! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by angelicdemon1209 Extinguished

21st April 2012:
Hey.. Are you an expert at writing stories that bring out emotions out of their readers or what?
This was so beautiful. I think you maybe right about us bein in sync. his is pretty much how I imagined the Potters' last Halloween to be. I think you got it all just right. Cute little baby Harry Potter, James' funny moments, and how he hates bein cooped up, and Lily's love for both Harry and James. I especially love the line ' Lily sprang to her feet, clutching Harry to her tightly, and hurtled up the stairs, already crying, knowing what was coming for the man she loved and yet still foolishly praying she was wrong...' This totally captures the very essence of love between James and Lily. And it's all so sad, knowing how brilliant, nice, and amazing these people were, and how they met their end. The bit about Harry and the costume is so cute, and at least, they had happy moments before it happened... :(

Author's Response: I LOVE cathartic stories, so I suppose that's what I tend to write. :) This was the first one-shot I ever posted to this account (although not the first I ever wrote), and I'm really pleased it still garnered a bit of emotion in you. It means I've done my job!

Oh, that line. ♥ I still sort of love that line too, to tell the truth. I like going back and re-reading this, because although my writing's changed drastically since I posted this, and for the better, I still find memories and things I like about writing tucked away in these sentences. It's a sensation too good for words. :)

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this sweet and unexpected review! It completely made my day to see you'd returned to my author page. :D Hope to see you back again soon, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #6, by angelicdemon1209 Extinguished

2nd February 2012:
It's so sad.. James and Lily were so amazing, I hate how their lives ended, but I think your fic is nice, it's cute too.. :)

Author's Response: James and Lily have a very tragic story, but their bravery really is quite inspirational. :) I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! It's my oldest one-shot, so positive reinforcement is always a plus.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review -- you cannot imagine how grateful I am that you did! Seriously, you're fantastic!


 Report Review

Review #7, by hp lover Extinguished

28th January 2012:
Wow this was powerful you should be so very proud this was quite amazing beautiful and horrible in the same story. I loved it

Author's Response: Oh, wow -- such a compliment on the oldest one-shot I have on my page really means a good deal to me. Thank you so much for your kind words! I think sometimes I write angst better than humor -- more powerful emotions -- but that's just my own opinion.

Seriously, thank you so much for the review. It completely made my day to see you'd swung by -- I'm really glad you enjoyed the story! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by forsakenphoenix Extinguished

26th December 2011:
I think with every piece of your writing that I read, I fall more and more in love with you (in a totally non-creepy way). James and Lily are some of my favorite characters (obviously) and I've read countless stories that details their last night alive and yet, here you are, bringing something completely new and refreshing to a tale we all know the ending to.

Lily, trying desperately to cling to the last vestiges of a world she no longer lives in, by putting up something so mundane as paper pumpkins and bats...it's just something small and silly but it made me smile.

James's teasing, despite his underlying frustration at being kept from the outside world, was sweet and sad, knowing what was coming. Their laughter and jokes, James's lame attempt at creating a costume for Harry...it's beautifully written and it makes your heart ache. You just keep wishing and praying that this doesn't happen to them, not when they're so young and they have so much love for each other.

The moment before Voldemort comes, Harry playing with wisps of smoke? It made my chest tighten because I was already afraid, and then you write Voldemort coming and my adrenaline just spikes. I'm there in that house with them, running into Harry's nursery with Lily, waiting for that moment where her life is extinguished from her. It's just...*sighs* so beautifully written, but heartbreaking, and you do such a fantastic job with my favorite characters. I love this so ridiculously much.

I'll keep pretending that they stuck crooked paper pumpkins on their windows and played with bats and colored smoke all night and lived happily ever after.

Author's Response: I'll ignore the creepy meanings that could potentially be construed. :) Knowing that you love the Marauders, whenever you review a Marauders piece, I always get really nervous, but now I have all these warm and fuzzy feelings and I just don't know what to do with themmm.

This was one of my first one-shots, the first on this account, and yet the fact that you're so complimentary of it is so gratifying. You experienced every emotion I attempted to convey, and there are no words.

This was a completely unhelpful review response, and it just sort of rambles, but THANK YOU. Seriously, thank you so much. :) Best Christmas present ever! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter Extinguished

18th December 2011:
I just got chills... I need to go read something happy because that was scary! I loved it though. Excellent writing, as usual. 900 reviews, wow. You deserve them! I think have 6 currently, so 900 seems years away. I'll continue to review if you continue to write! Do we have a deal? 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this! This is the oldest story on my page, excepting the first few chapters for 'Leaping Obstacles', and whenever I get a new review on it it always totally makes my day. :) Thanks so much!

And for the reviews, too! I'll definitely be writing for a very long time, so there's no worries there. You're amazing -- there are no words! ♥ So much gratitude!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Extinguished

25th June 2011:
Another beautifully-written piece, dear! You captured the emotions perfectly; from the time they were sitting on the couch at ease to the very end, with Lily's frantic begging for Harry's life to be spared. You really do have a way with words, twinny, a real gift! ♥ 10/10!!

Author's Response: JAYDE! Thank you so much, lovely - it means so much to me, this little unexpected but well-loved review. :3 I am glad you liked it so much, especially as it was one of my first. You are amazing!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MidnightBlue_x Extinguished

17th April 2011:
Aw! That is such an amazing piece, I love Lily/James especially with baby Harry moments in there too. At the same time of this being super sweet is also quite upsetting.

Rest in Peace, Lily and James

Author's Response: Thanks for the review swap! I'm very glad you liked it - I wrote this so long ago, it's cool to think people still do. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by SeverusSnape15 Extinguished

3rd April 2011:
^_^ Wow, I can't find any of your work that I don't like! I LOVE this. I wrote one sort of like this, but it wasn't this good! =D It's so interesting...and it should like, win an award! Good job, and don't stop writing!

Author's Response: I am speechless. Thank you so much! :D It shall now officially have the award of "SeverusSnape15's I-Once-Said-This-Needed-An-Award". Sound good? :P

Thank you for your amazingly sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Toujours Padfoot Extinguished

16th February 2011:
OH. MY. MERLIN.

:O

How do I add favorite authors? I need to learn that. I am going to figure out how to add favorite authors, and I am going to add you. Because you absolutely blow my mind, Jane. You compliment MY writing? LOOK AT YOUR STUFF!!! It's brilliant. It's EXACTLY like I'm standing there. My eyes were tearing up because I knew what was coming. And I tell you, I am not an easy crier when it comes to written stuff. I didn't even cry in How to Tame a Marauder. But my eyes were welling up with a one-shot. In this one little piece of writing, you managed to make me fall in love with Lily and James, only to rip my heart out. I knew it was coming. I didn't want to get attached. It would all be so much easier if your writing sucked. But alas, it definitely does not, and now I am sitting here with splotchy mascara. I suppose it is my comeuppance for teaming up with your mascara. I could feel Lily's fear - it was such a different type of fear than I've read before, and so subtly done. You didn't over-write it. It was like being five years old and scared - it was that kind of innate fear, the worst kind. The kind where you don't know what can happen because you think that anything can happen. All of the emotions in this story just shot off the page and bowled me over. Talking about how Lily liked the seasons and how they were talking affectionately to each other - just a loving family on a seemingly typical day. It was heart-wrenching. I just kept shouting, "No! No! AU! Please, give me some AU up in here!" But your story was canon, right down to the last impeccable detail about Harry playing with the puffs of smoke... You didn't even have to describe Voldemort for me to feel fear. And that, my friend, is incredible writing.

Did I mention already that your writing is incredible?

10/10

Author's Response: *sniff sniff*

Of COURSE I compliment your writing - you're pretty much amazing!! I can't believe you teared up - to hear you say that just makes me feel... honored? I dunno if that's the word, but I'm taking it and running with it. =D

Mwa ha ha! I totally planned that, you and your mascara... Erm, yes indeed. ^^

*glomp* YOU'RE AMAZING, SARAH!!! Thank you for such a sweet and utterly amazing review. xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by ericajen Extinguished

16th February 2011:
Oh my goodness. You know, while I was reading it, I kind of forgot that it was going to have a depressing ending and was just enjoying the fun, lighthearted banter going on between James and Lily. And all the adorable things with Harry! It was so cute and touching. And then I remembered what happened on Halloween and when Voldemort came, it just broke my heart.

It was a really good story. I think you did it perfectly. We all already feel for the Potter family, but you really solidified that sympathy and then threw the curveball when we were really feeling connected with them.

Very good!

Erica.

Author's Response: I like that so many people rather seem to forget the 'bad' ending to this story - I wanted to portray the normalcy and happy sides of James and Lily, as everyone else just seems so focused on their brutal end. ^^

Thanks so much for your sweet review, it means a lot to me!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Akussa Extinguished

5th February 2011:
Hey, what a brilliantly written piece; I loved every word of it.

I love the emotion you put into this; even though the reader knows how this particular scene will unfold, you managed to give the little family a moment of peace and normalcy, almost taking the reader's attention away. Sure we knew it was THE night but still, having the opportunity to laugh at James' poor costume making ability was nice!

I really loved reading this; it flows naturally and the writting is so neat and clean that nothing takes your attention away. Great work!

Akussa

Author's Response: Thank you so much for coming by and leaving a review! I am really glad you liked this piece, and thank you for all your compliments. =) I hope to see yyou around, thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by annaawakening Extinguished

1st February 2011:
Let me just say this before anything else: wow. Your attention to detail is mesmerizing. It was literally as if you as an author grabbed my attention and never let go. Syntax played a huge role in this; I literally went on an emotional ride in this story. As soon as I recognized the part where James was sending up colored puffs of smoke into the air, my heart skipped and I got goose-bumps.
Truly a brilliant one-shot. I generally don't like one-shots played around this iconic scene, but it was magnificent. This was done so, so well. I literally cannot say this enough!
I'm in awe.
Thank you for that beautiful piece.

-Anna

Author's Response: Wow!! What a surprise, I definitely wasn't expecting a review from you, and that just makes it so much sweeter. =]

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review, it really has made my night. I am so glad you read this fic, it's one of my favorite things I've ever written and I'm really happy you liked it!

I can't tell you how much your review meant to me. =] Thank you so, so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggle Extinguished

28th January 2011:
Hey! :)

Another review, somewhat requested :P I loved this. Again, you are a remarkable writer and this was written really well.

Great plot. I absolutely loved everything. I wasn't even expecting the Voldemort thing, I just thought it'd be some happy one shot about Halloween. But I soon realised suddenly that this had no happy ending (well, apart from Harry surviving).

The beginning bits are absolutely lovely. I love all the description about the village and Halloween, and Lily's feelings and how she's still putting up Halloween decorations because it's like her last connection with the muggle world. And then I absolutely ADORED Harry! I wasn't even expecting him. I just thought it'd be some happy light fluffy James/Lily one-shot, so I was really surprised with this piece! HARRY WAS SO ADORABLE. You didn't even describe him, but the imagery with his costume just had me going AWH!

The emotions, actions, descriptions were perfect. I've read one or two of this moment, but I absolutely adore yours. I can't find a single flaw. Just loved this. As I said, I hope you know that you're a really good writer. And now I'm definitely going to have to read your novella some day, if it's up to half the standard of your one-shots it'll be incredible ;) This was just completely enjoyable to read.

Thanks for requesting, I discovered two awesome one-shots and one amazing writer :)
-maskedmuggle / Charlotte :)

Author's Response: Aww! You have successfully made me tear up. =) Wow, I just cannot even thank you enough for the two wonderful reviews you have just left me.

Morbid though it is, I love the fact that James and Lily died on Halloween - I think it gives us fan fic-ers so much creative allowance. =) And little Harry was hands-down my favorite bit to write of this story!!! I have a friend from school who I let read this and other stories of mine, and her favorite thing I've ever written is still the bit about Harry holding onto James's shirt and playing with the smoke. =D

I am starting to believe that I am a good writer, hehe. =D Reviews like yours just help so much in keeping me going, knowing people are enjoying what I'm putting out there. I am so honored to hear you want to eventually read my novella! =)

Thank you so much for your reviews, they mean the absolute world to me. =) Seriously - you are wonderful for doing this for me.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Roonyskatoony Extinguished

26th January 2011:
Once again you blew me away.

The way you portray characters emotions and their love is so gentle and I guess that's what makes it so stirring. I loved their interactions with the baby Harry and it's so nice to think of him as a small kid with all that affection, something he obviously never had when he grew up.

My only thing (this really isn't a critism more just a pointer) is that Harry was born before Hallowean but I'm guessing that was the challenge right?

You're an amazing writer and I honestly think you're amazing, you're stories are so gentle and somehow that's what makes them stand out; simplistic yet beautiful. I will definitely read your other story and review, it'll be really nice to see how you do a longer piece of writing too.

So really I think I should be thanking you! I don't think I would have ever found you if you hadn't requested! Will definitely recommend!

~Roonyskatoony

Author's Response: Yes, this was a Halloween challenge. =) He's supposed to be a little over a year old in this challenge.

Aand there go the tears. =) Seriously, I cannot thank you enough for reviewing. You have done so much for me just in leaving your reviews, I can't even tell you. Like, seriously - you've pretty much restored my confidence. =)

Thank you from the very deepest part of my heart!


 Report Review

Review #19, by WhatAboutRegulus Extinguished

25th January 2011:
Wow that was amazing. I love James/ Lily one-shots :)

I only found one mistake.

"witches and wizards living there already did." -it's just awkward and seems worded wrong. Other than that! Good job on grammar and mistakes!

I thought it was really well written and that was a very good interpretation of what you thought happened on that night! Excellent vocabulary too I thought!

Overall just, wow, amazing. Your a very good author :D

Please feel free to request me anytime you like!

WhatAboutRegulus

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review! I will look at the sentence you mentioned. =) I'm very glad you liked the story, and I am so grateful you stopped by to review! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by ariellem Extinguished

24th January 2011:
Oh that was so sweet...and then they died. It was really cute and everything :( I liked the paper bats and Harry's costume.

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you for dropping by to review the story! =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyMalfoy23 Extinguished

17th January 2011:
heya! :) Its me from the forums. . . I honestly loved this story. I could see in my mind a vivid image of everything that happened. I felt myself feeling sad inside reading the beginning though, knowing that they wouldn't survive past the night, but this is truly an amazing story GREAT JOB!!!

Author's Response: Hi!! Wow, thank you for your totally sweet and unrxpected review, it just made my night. :) Thank you for stopping by, I'm really glad you liked the story!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ShelbyBlack Extinguished

17th January 2011:
Oh Jane, you never cease to amaze me!

"Why, Mrs. Potter," said a teasing voice suddenly, "I would hope you'd be more dignified than to use such foul language!"

This was so James! It made me laugh so much!
I loved the background story about the decorations, it was so good! Haha, the pumpkin costume, was just awesome!

I could literally feel, the pain James and Lily were going through, on the couch about being cooped up, and that they weren't safe, and the possibility that they might never be. I literally felt my heart dropped to the pit of my stomach, while they were on the couch, I felt sick to the stomach knowing what was coming...I began crying (see what you do to me Jane) way before that door clicked! And by the end I was sobbing! I'm still trying to get over this feeling, honestly you can feel the love they have for each other and Harry!

Your description, I truly don't know what else to say about it, other than it was utterly breathtaking!

This might be a short and sweet review, but I leave you with the knowledge that this is truly the most meaningful story I've ever read and that you are amazing!

xoxo

Author's Response: Did I really make you cry?! D= I don't know whether to be sad or happy about that!!

The best review I've gotten to date. =D I can't even express in words how happy you've made me, so I will just say you are an amazing person and words do not describe how much I value our friendship! *hug*


 Report Review

Review #23, by TaamBlack Extinguished

16th January 2011:
i thought this was so adorable.
im not one for James & Lily stories because i think their story was already told but i love this :)
your a great writer and i really encourage you to write more :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your sweet review! It really made my evening. =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by orderofthephoenix Extinguished

8th January 2011:
Oh my God, this is such a beautiful story. I love the vivid description and imagery in the first paragraph and I think you portray Lily and James' behaviour perfectly while they are in hiding :)

It's the small things like Lily putting up Halloween decorations that remind her of her muggle life and James making a costume for Harry that gives these characters a third dimension. You really bring them to life.

Some of the sentences run on a bit too long, in my opinion. If you cut them up into shorter sentences, they would have a harder impact on the reader. However, the last line: 'Another flash - a terrible scream, a baby's wail - and the light from the jack o' lantern guttered and was extinguished, a wisp of smoke curling to the open heavens where Harry's nursery had stood intact only moments before.' is hard-hitting and final.

Overall, a brilliant story and I hope your other stories are this good :D

Sophia xx

Author's Response: Thank you SO much for your sweet review. =) I am very honored to hear that you think I brought Lily and James to life - since we never really see them alive in the series, I tried to make them more vivid in this story. I have a very bad habit of using commas where I should use periods! =D I'm trying to fix that, but thank you for your comment about the final line. I hope all my other stories are like this, too - I was quite proud of your story. Reviews like yours make me remember why I do this at all. =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by emmapotter Extinguished

8th January 2011:
That was a cute little one-shot you had there. I liked it.
It fit well into how what we know of Lily and James' deaths.

I'm not a huge Marauder-Era fan, so I really cannot say anything more, but I liked it. I thought little Harry was too cute! :D Then again almost all babies are :P

lovely one-shot. A good read. Nothing really stood out to me :)

Love
Ak~

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I think baby Harry might be my favorite part of this story, it was fun to write him. =)

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>