Reading Reviews for Leaping Obstacles
319 Reviews Found

Review #51, by slytherinchica08 Deliberations and Dragons

29th July 2011:
I thought this was a great chapter and an interesting take on how cedric got the egg. The only thhing i had to question really was just how he managed to make it through the flames. It doesnt really say how or that he did anything just that he was in the flames. So maybe in the future if u edit this add in a little saying how he managed it. Other then that bit though it was great. I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Well, Cedric didn't do anything to get out of the flames. He was walking for the egg when the dragon shot fire at him, and he grabbed it while engulfed. And then it ended. :D

Thanks so much, Erica!

 Report Review

Review #52, by slytherinchica08 The Choosing of the Champions

28th July 2011:
Hey hun this was amazing as always. I love how u are following the events and using actual lines from the book. Im really enjoying this so far and cant wait to read more! Great job hun!

Author's Response: Erica! I was so pleased to see a review from you! :D I am a bit fanatical about adhering to canon, so it's always nice to hear that it's appreciated. :)

Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #53, by slytherinchica08 Beginning the Tournament

18th July 2011:
great job on another chapter! i had forgotten that in the books they arrived differently then in the movies so it was a nice little refresher and i'm glad you used the way the book was and not the movies (although i do like that part in the movie). Excited to read the next chapter! good job!


Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #54, by slytherinchica08 Game On

18th July 2011:
i would never beat you on the head with a beaters club even with your permission! Loved the chapter. It was really cute and I really enjoy that you have Cedric kind of stutter so he isnt really perfect it seems to just add a little more to his character and i can really imagine the scenes in this especially during their date. it was all really well done and cant wait to see what happens next.


Author's Response: Yay! Thank you for leaving me such a sweet review, Erica!

 Report Review

Review #55, by slytherinchica08 Rainy Saturday

17th July 2011:
this is me not letting you starve! it was a good chapter. I liked that you skipped a bit of time but still managed to touch on it very easily and short. I think that rachel and cedric are cute... him coming to sit by her and then she started leaving until he calls out her name. it was just sweet! i like how he didnt just go back to the tree and went to walk aroud the lake instead it just made it stand out so much more that he was just coming there for her. great job.


Author's Response: Fluff isn't normally my thing, so I'm glad it reads well. :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #56, by slytherinchica08 Herbology

17th July 2011:
it was another good chapter my dear! i loved it and love the little bits of discription you add here and there. I am starting to become a cedric/rachel shipper. i'm excited to see the next chapter and see how the studying goes. great job on the chapter i'm really enjoying it.


Author's Response: Yay -- Cedric/Rachel for the win! :D They are so canon, don't deny it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #57, by Jesse Falling

12th July 2011:
This was amazing! You are a very talented writer, and i can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: JESSE. :D Thank you so much for being willing to read my story, it does mean so much to me. I am excited that I get to sort of relive it through you, as well!

 Report Review

Review #58, by Jesse Falling

12th July 2011:
This was amazing! You are a very talented writer, and i can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Ha, double review. No complaints! Thanks, Jesse. :3

 Report Review

Review #59, by Savannah Falling

10th July 2011:
I feel the same way about Cho the story is really good so far

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like the story, I hope you do choose to keep reading! Isn't Cho just awful. :D Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #60, by slytherinchica08 Falling

8th July 2011:
I've been meaning to read this for such a long time and now i am finally here! I think this is a great beginning to your story and i love the idea as well, her being friends with fred and george and lee. You do a great job describing things through out the chapter and like i said a great beginning. Great job.


Author's Response: Erica!! I am glad to see your name, that fact that you're reading my story makes me SO happy! Thanks for the sweet and unexpected review - I can't wait to hear more from you!

 Report Review

Review #61, by firefly910 In The End

25th June 2011:
Jane, you have no idea how much I loved this story.
Honestly, I have been reading fanfiction on here since about 2005 and I don't think I've ever read a story that has meant so much to me. I know that is in part because I have made such a wonderful friend in you over at the forums, so watching you update this story and talking to you about it at the same time just makes it that much harder to say goodbye.

I adored this chapter. It was such a great way to end such an amazing story. I'm glad you made Rachel strong because that's the type of girl she is, she is hurting inside but she won't let it destroy her. You created a wonderful character in Rachel. I'm glad I met her. Everything about her was just so real. She knows that her family will still be the same and perhaps that will help her greatly to heal after what has happened. Maybe it's a good thing her parents are muggles because she wouldn't be surrounded by everything she had just been through all of the time.

'It had been no picnic, leaping obstacles to stay together as they had.' Have you ever watched Boy Meets World? That sentence reminded me of the last ever episode where Cory actually said 'Boy meets world, uh?' when he is talking to his little brother. Using the title of the story just tied everything up perfectly.

I am also going to agree with Sarah, you made me care for the events in the fourth book way more than JKR did. I think it was because you created this relationship between two people who were just so obviously meant to be together. It wasn't just about the Triwizard Tournament, you made it feel more human to me.

Ohh I am forever going to ship Cedric/Rachel now. They were just adorable. It's funny because I knew what was going to happen but a part of me prayed for AU because I didn't want to see them ripped apart. I'm glad you didn't go AU though because the way you wrote about Cedric's death and the aftermath was just so beautiful.

You called me your most loyal reader in you A/N and I feel bad for not reading the last two chapters sooner. Your author's note made me cry by the way. I don't know why but as you were saying goodbye to the story I realised I had too as well. And I didn't want it to end. I wanted you to write a trillion chapters and Cedric would come back to life and the rest of the story would follow him and Rachel through their happy life together, having amazingly good looking and extremely clumsy children.

I have loved reading and reviewing every chapter of this story, it has been a great adventure. Thank you for writing it Jane, I love you

Author's Response: Callie, you make me cry. *hugs* Thank you for writing such a lovely review - you ARE my most loyal reader, and I can never thank you enough for all the kind words you gave this story!

Oh, I cannot do this review justice. Thank you from the very bottom of my heart, and may that suffice, even though I know it never could. I love you!

 Report Review

Review #62, by firefly910 Under The Tree

25th June 2011:
Okay, first of all. Sorry for leaving it this long to read the last two chapters. Seriously, I cannot believe I haven't read them yet!!

Anyway. . .

Why must you always make me cry?!?!
Oh I loved this chapter so much. You describe Rachel's emotions so well, the denial, the anger, the numbness.
I can just imagine her lay there in her dorm, not wanting to do anything because he's gone.
I can't even imagine what I would do. . .
You have made them so real Jane, it really is astounding how connected I feel to Rachel (even after a break from reading).

-'She could not bear to recreate Cedric in her mind, as the boy who could only exist now as a memory, and no more.'
-'bone-deep weariness that seemed to possess all of her'

Those are my favourite lines of the whole chapter. That first one is just heart wrenching.

And ohmygosh the snitch necklace, it was like Cedric was telling her that he loved her too. Tears Jane, actual tears!!
It was the perfect way of getting the closure they needed, that Rachel needed. I smiled through my tears because with that necklace she knows he will always be with her. And she could finally mourn him, it was just perfect.

As always your writing amazes me.

I cannot believe I am about to read the last chapter!!

Author's Response: Don't worry about the length - I am truly just glad you cared enough to come back and read them! :D I am so glad you liked this chapter, Callie, really. It's been so great having you as a reader for this story, and I wish I could write it forever and ever!

Love you!

 Report Review

Review #63, by hermione_jane45 In The End

24th June 2011:
I am crying. I just...didn't want him to die. I'm crying my eyes out.

Author's Response: Well, I hope the tears are a good thing? I don't want you to cry, but I do appreciate the attachment you seem to have built. Thank you for reading and reviewing, it really does mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #64, by hermione_jane45 The Yule Ball

24th June 2011:
I.their kiss.was so...brillant.

Author's Response: YAY!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! Well worth the wait, if I do say so myself. :D

 Report Review

Review #65, by Lilly In The End

24th June 2011:
I loved your story! It was great!
I was sure, well hoped you were not going to kill him...
It actually surprised me when you did it!
But is still good!
So Good job!!! :)

Author's Response: I love seeing new reviews for the last chapter -- I'm so grateful you took the time to read it all the way through. :3 Thanks so much for leaving me such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #66, by BrightStar The Flying Lesson

10th June 2011:
I'm back! Lovely little chapter, great to see what Rachel and Cedric are like as a couple, and Ced charing something he loves so much with her :D

Author's Response: Yay, you're back! :3 Cedric's a sweetheart - I miss writing him a lot. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #67, by dannydeboy Waiting In The Library

9th June 2011:
are you goin to do this like cho and have harry like her too?

Author's Response: I am not writing a Cho story, if that is the question. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #68, by dannydeboy Game On

9th June 2011:
sorry about this. did not think it would bother me but . i feel i have to point it out cuz im a sad little man. katie bell is the year younger than fred and geroge. sorry i dont meen to sound cruel. on a lighter note really good story.

Author's Response: If you've read other reviews, you'll see I've already addressed this issue. Thank you nonetheless for taking the time to leave a review!

 Report Review

Review #69, by MrsJaydeMalfoy In The End

30th May 2011:
Another wonderful chapter! Absolutely amazing; it couldn't have ended better. I adore this story in its entirety! You are an amazing writer, dear, and I can't wait to see what's next for you!! 10/10!

Author's Response: Isn't it weird, to reach the end? I love you, Jayde -- thanks for being such an awesome and faithful reviewer!! *hug*

 Report Review

Review #70, by bowloforanges In The End

30th May 2011:
I am in a mixture of bittersweet emotions. I loved this fic so much. I loved Cedric and Rachel and Fred and just everyone. You did an ace job; one of my favorites :)

Author's Response: Wow -- this review has really made my day. To know that you enjoyed this fic so much... I cannot express my happiness. Thank you so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #71, by Toujours Padfoot, again. In The End

30th May 2011:

So I had to cut the last one in half and log out and come back to give you the rest of the review and here it is:

This chapter was exactly what this story needed - the perfect ending in its own bittersweet way. It was poignant and gloomy, but I could see the hope in your little touches like the turquoise sky, and the sea of people around her who aren't quite as shaken as she was, who would help her push through. I would like to copy and paste a few lines from this last chapter that I thought were especially beautiful, but I fear I will soon be running out of room in this review. No matter, I can just tell you later.

Rachel's got a strong support system. She won't fade away. I probably would. I would have been the one strapping myself to the Divination Tower, screaming in Mermish with all my hair shaved off. So I admire Rachel a lot for her bravery, and because she is going home to a houseful of people who will not understand anything about what happened to her that year. And she'll have to suppress a lot of it, because there won't be people to talk to. But then again she does have Fred and George, and here I am forgetting again that it's not real. Picture that little eye-rolling emoticon. I'm doing that here, at myself. I am just ridiculous. But it is your fault, for painting such a vivid picture of two young people in love, who should have ended up together but also wasn't supposed to, and of a really brilliant year at Hogwarts. It was charming and endearing and I smiled and laughed and yes, I did cry. And I know that I can comfort myself by turning back the virtual pages to the very first chapter, where their story begins on the platform. And there, at the very beginning and well on until the end, Cedric remains alive forever.

This was a beautiful, beautiful story, Jane. You are a remarkably talented author and I don't think anyone else could have told the story of Cedric so well. :)

10/10, for the last time.

(feel free to write another chapter, saying "Just kidding!" And then Cedric pops out, waving a butterbeer and telling Rachel that he'd just gotten lost in Hogsmeade after being attacked by some nargles...) *winning smile* Pretty please? A fangirl can hope. And yes. I am now a fangirl. You have converted me. And also broken my heart. You are also quite cruel. I am still blubbering. This review is totes long but your story deserves it. I SHALL STOP TYPING NOW.


Author's Response: SARAH. This made me cry so much - just writing this response is making me unbelievably happy and sad, all at once. This is truly one of the best things ever done for me, this double-length review, and I absolutely cannot tell you how much it means to me. You have... I cannot even articulate words. Even a poem would not suffice here.

Thank you for supporting me every step of the way. I am proud and honored to call you a friend, and I truly mean that.

 Report Review

Review #72, by Toujours Padfoot In The End

30th May 2011:
Awww, Jane! This made me cry! Good grief, I think I was more sad about Cedric than Rachel was in this chapter. Half of me wanted her to throw herself in front of the Hogwarts Express so that she wouldn't have to be alone without him. Obviously, she is in a much healthier state of mind than me, and has the ability to recover. I will placate myself by imagining that when she's in her thirties, she spends a lot of time in therapy. I know, I'm so horrible. BUT CEDRIC. A girl can't get with a guy like Cedric, see him lying there dead on the ground, and NOT experience some moments later in life in the basement of some tattoo parlor, with her hair dyed black; as she listens to sad opera and spray-paints graffiti on the walls with a Polish drifter known as Hatchet.

I think that Rachel showed extraordinary strength, and as miserable as I like my favorite characters to be, I'm very happy for her. I'm rooting for Rachel's happily ever after, even though it's not with Cedric.

This is so depressing. It's the end of an era. Throughout this story, you have REALLY made me attached to the characters. You brought Cedric to life, and made me hope. You made me care as I hadn't really cared in Goblet of Fire - both the book and the movie. It didn't really resonate with me, because I was only concerned with Harry's here-and-now, and when Cedric died I really didn't think of it much. It was just an unfortunate death.

But here, it was tragic. It was someone with life and vivacity and a really quiet, sincere personality. Someone who so very much BELONGED with Rachel in every way - their compatibility was just amazing. You wrote this endearing, lovable heroine who found herself fortunate enough to catch the eye of Hufflepuffs' most eligible male, and they were SO good together. It was just sweet, and believable, and genuine. You have an ability to create such sweet characters and situations and make us completely fall in love with them and start planning their wedding (or at least I know I did), and you made me want him to live. So very badly.

And that's really something, because for the most part I prefer canon over AU. I've already expressed my admiration of your ability to conquer such a tragic ending to young love, and to remain stoutly in-canon instead of going the easy route that would please hopeful readers like myself, and making him live. Sometimes life doesn't end like that. Horrible things DO happen to wonderful people, and Cedric Diggory WAS supposed to die. I just halfway wish that you weren't such a great writer, because then I wouldn't have gotten so involved in their lives, and wouldn't have to feel sad about his death. My reaction would have been much the same as when I finished Goblet of Fire - surprised but unaffected. Cedric was not a character I was incredibly interested in - he was just a minor Hogwarts student who happened to die. But with the way you wrote him - and again, I stress how amazing you are - you somehow made him in-canon WHILE developing a real personality for him. Because he wasn't elaborated much on in the books. Do you have any idea what kind of feat that is? To build on the tiny glimpses of his personality and leave him so believable and so canon? And you stayed true to the ending.

I do feel awful for Rachel, but I don't think I have to worry much for her. She's made of some pretty strong stuff, and she'll get through. But I do feel sorry for her now, naive and not knowing that Fred will die. And then I remember that all of this is fictional and it's like Sarah, get a grip. So that's definitely a tribute to your writing skills, that I can get so tangled up in a story and be thinking about its future and long-term effects, and forgetting that none of it is actually real. This story leaves me thinking about it long after I've finished reading each chapter. It lingers. If that doesn't tell you something about your talent, I don't know what would.

Author's Response: See above. :3

 Report Review

Review #73, by LSU4evr In The End

30th May 2011:
i really enjoyed the ending. it has a fitting sense of finality to it, and it's nice to see that rachel can move on with her life. i've really enjoyed your story and look forward to seeing what you write in the future! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for being such a loyal follower! I cannot wait to see what's in store, and you have encouraged me so much in your reviews. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #74, by Toujours Padfoot Under The Tree

26th May 2011:


I know I keep saying this about several of them, but this was the best chapter yet. It feels like everything just rose to a crescendo, and the emotions were so vivid and tense. Literally, I was quite rigid the whole time.

Stepping into Rachel's shoes is just absolutely awful. It's so hard to imagine what it would be like to lose someone you love so incredibly much; but unfortunately, due to your remarkable writing skills, we are all forced to feel what she feels, in Rachel's horrible reality, and see what she sees, and remember what she remembers. It's just so painful.

The little details you throw in like the cloud of white haze, and wrapping herself in a fog so that she doesn't have to feel pain, and the hippogriff really know how to hit it where it hurts. It's like you're this puppeteer and it's amazing what you can make your readers feel.

This was just truly heartbreaking. There was a beautiful kind of closure to it (Although you chose Fred to sit next to her, which is doubly mean of you, seeing as how he dies eventually, too!!), and I really cannot wait to see how it all ends. To see what happens to Rachel.

So much love. And your descriptions are absolutely amazing.


Author's Response: *sniffle*

Stop making me cry. Seriously. You're going to have to flame me at least once to reduce the swelling in my head and get it back down to normal size.

Thank you so much, Sarah, as always. You are one heck of a person. :D *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #75, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Under The Tree

23rd May 2011:
*sobs* This is beautiful, Jane, really beautiful. I am REALLY crying, no joke. It's like there was a pressure buildup throughout the whole chapter, and it felt like a balloon being popped when it was finally released at the end. And you've gotta love Fred, knowing exactly what Rachel needed to hear. Another amazing chapter twinny, and I totally agree that you gave Cedric and Rachel some closure. As for the snitch necklace, I hope Rachel *never* takes it off, to always remind her of Cedric! And the part with the snitch was simply brilliant; there's no other way to describe it. I'm SO glad Rachel was finally able to tell Cedric she loves him, even if he can't hear it now. This chapter is perfect - NOTHING else could have followed the previous chapter. VERY well done! ♥ 10/10

Author's Response: Aww, Jayde. *hugs* I cannot -- there are no words for how much this review means to me. :3 I am speechless that I could evoke such emotion in you, and I just. . . I cannot express. Truly, you have rendered me mute!!

I LOVE YOU!!! THANK YOU. *insert heart emoticon* :3

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>