Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Get in Line
  
253 Reviews Found

Review #26, by scintillated The Devising of Evilness

21st February 2017:
this chapter was really enjoyable! one thing that i especially really liked was the mentioning of the flipped political structure: i've always loved the after-war sort of tone, and even twenty-some years later, there's sure to still be many aftereffects still lingering. like the purebloods and slytherins facing prejudice is something that is extremely realistic, especially coming from james: his parents were extremely biased against slytherin. another thing that i've noticed about your characters (i've been commenting on them so much - it just proves how much i love them!!) is how much room for character development there is. it's especially evident in james, but to a similar extent, jordan - they both need to get over their prejudices. i think that even more than a romance story, i'm in this for the characters: it's kind of like a bildungsroman, in a way - i feel like many of the characters, especially jordan, will be able to grow throughout this story, a testament to your skill. great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #27, by scintillated Deal With The Devil

21st February 2017:
this chapter was great! i really love the friend group that you've described here; even though their lifestyle is certainly different than anything i'm used to, you describe it very well and really bring the characters to life! also some more james/jordan interaction!! i'm really excited to see how this plot goes (even though i've already read this shhh) and it just seems so exciting!!

 Report Review

Review #28, by adorably cute Treats and Tricks

20th February 2017:
Oh. My. GOD! This was so good! I'm so desperate for more now because I need to know what happens next! Please post soon!

 Report Review

Review #29, by scintillated Let The Games Begin

20th February 2017:
you have NO IDEA how excited i was to look through the 'recently added' and see this story!! like i love this story sO MUCH

but in this chapter specifically, i love the characters. you immediately introduce them as the central characters, and they already seem complex (besides maybe james but i'm sure we'll see more of him coming on). like i love jordan so much! and silas and hazel and scorpius and even cyrus and mitch a wee bit. you just bring them to life so well, they seem so realistic. like i can see them as real people in real life.

like, this chapter shows a lot about all of their characters, especially jordan's, but not in like an info-dump kind of way? like their interaction on the train was great: it really set up the relationships between all of them, and it was really clear from the way you wrote them.

onto the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Quinn Treats and Tricks

19th February 2017:
When are you going to post the next chapter? I love this story so much and really like Mose.

 Report Review

Review #31, by greenbirds Treats and Tricks

19th February 2017:
i really do think the main, primary theme of this novel is a woman's relationship with her body and her sexuality. i've said this before and i'll say it again: this isn't a james/oc, it's jordan's coming of age, it's as feminist a book as the female mystique or sheryl sandberg's lean in and it is such, such a pleasure to read.

i really really like how james isn't perfect. he is, of course, a fundamentally good guy, and we've all said things we don't mean but know it's what will unleash the most pain, the exact right quantity we're feeling. i am so, so sure he'll be apologising the next day, but irregardless: he himself isn't perfectly clued up on female empowerment and sexuality and that's ok, that's really ok, because very few boys are in this generation and whilst that ISN'T ok, your characterisation of james as the anti-cyrus: empowered by jordan's empowerment, not belittled and threatened, and yet still essentially an imperfect, flawed GUY in a patriarchal society- is so spot on, so well written and layered and detailed, i love it, i absolutely love it.

jordan is so great. she is so, so great. you write with such wit and with such fast pace humour my mouth is constantly moving from a grin to a circular formation of shock, but i think that's exactly what you intended, and you're doing a magnificent job.

update soon!

Author's Response: Let me just start off by saying thank you so incredibly much for taking the time to write this. I'm not exaggerating when I say that this is probably my favorite review I've ever received and it means so much how thoroughly you've thought about my characters and story.

I definitely see what you mean with saying that this isn't a james/oc and that's it's a Jordan coming of age story. I have been absolutely loving exploring character and really thinking about her actions and motives and why she is the way I've been writing her. I love developing her and making her grow and I'm so happy you are enjoying that process as well. Adding in the feminist themes and topics like slut shaming and female sexuality has been so interesting to write about and I love that I've been hopefully getting people to think about things like that too.

You're right when you say James is not perfect, despite him overall being a good guy. I like writing his character as someone who is kind of newly breaking out of patriarchal and sexist ways because I feel like it's very truthful in the ways that men (and women) do discover their own misogynistic ways and learn to break free of it and what they were taught. To have to go back and write him calling Jordan a wh*ore again hurt me but you're right, he was unleashing what he thought would match his own pain.

Just thank you again for being so great and leaving me something that truly made my entire day. I've got about 3500 words done with the next chapter and I'm on a bit of a roll right now so I'm hoping I can keep the momentum going and get something out for you all soon xx


 Report Review

Review #32, by Sarah Treats and Tricks

18th February 2017:
So glad you have come back! This chapter was a whirlwind - poor James and Mose they have surely created a terrible situation :(( I can't wait to see where this goes so I hope you update again soon x

Author's Response: I'm glad I'm back too! I've missed HPFF and writing this story so much. This chapter was definitely full of drama and I'm very excited about the next one. I have about 3000 words written so far and I'm hoping I can keep the momentum going and get a quick update out for you all! xx

 Report Review

Review #33, by cocopops Treats and Tricks

18th February 2017:
Crying. :(:(:(:( nononono

 Report Review

Review #34, by Kait Treats and Tricks

18th February 2017:
I love this story more hthan life itself. Had Cyrus, though. Think that he is a dick for saying such hurtful things about Mose. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Aw thank you! Cyrus' character is a bit frustrating, yes, and I can understand why nearly everyone hates him right now. I'll try and update soon!

 Report Review

Review #35, by beka_wotter Treats and Tricks

18th February 2017:
I'm so happy you updated and PLEASE update again soon!!
It was a very good chapter which I understand is necessary but I am disappointed in Jordan for sleeping with Cyrus. I strongly dislike Cyrus, even if he was a friend he isn't anymore and she needs to cut him out of her life.
I felt sorry for James because although he said bad stuff he's a good person and the fluffy Jordan and James moments are my fave so I hope we don't have to wait too long for more of those.
Love it, please keep updating!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I see where you are coming from being disappointed in Jordan. There was definitely a lot of crazy that happened! Fluffy Jordan and James moments are my favorite too :) xx

 Report Review

Review #36, by luna1306 Treats and Tricks

17th February 2017:
That wh*re, I can't believe her!
James was so right she should not have forgiven him like that!
God I hate Cyrus.

I really really really liked this chapter and i hoop you update soon!!

Author's Response: Wh*re is a bit strong, don't you think?? Sleeping with Cyrus wasn't the best idea obviously but a big part of this story discusses slut shaming and why it is wrong so please keep that in mind!

Thank you so much for reading and for enjoying the story! I will try and update soon. xx :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by User Treats and Tricks

16th February 2017:
Ugh, I can't believe she slept with Cyrus. I just want to shake her until she starts standing up for herself! Though I obviously don't like they way James or Cyrus treated her, her choices in the aftermath are killing me. I hate the way James talked to her! And Cyrus should not be in the picture anymore. Ahhh waiting for this development sucks.

I love the story though and the characters are well written. I like that you are exploring female sexuality. I'd like to see Jordan taking control of her own life though. Like not hiding the fact that she has new friends or calling out friends who don't act like friends

Please update soon! I need the next chapter like, now.

Author's Response: I feel you on that but she's definitely in a difficult place right now which is why I think she forgave Cyrus in the first place and knew she had to let it go if she wanted to keep her secret of hanging out with James and Fred. I hate the way James talked to her too. It hurt me writing that scene, trust me.

That means so much. I have seriously fallen in love with writing this story and thinking about this story and the characters so I love that other people love it too. And it has been so fun discussing female sexuality and slut shaming. I think it's important and I like exploring it.

I will try and update soon! I've got majority of the next chapter planned out and scenes partially written so it's just a matter of going back and /actually/ writing it. Thank you for taking the time to review! xx


 Report Review

Review #38, by Giu9_RedandGold Treats and Tricks

16th February 2017:
Absolutely worth the wait! The heartbreak though :(

It was amazing and so so sad at the same time. I can't believe Jordan slept with Cyrus, it drives me mad to think about how she lets him treat her. In the last part I just wanted to hug her. And hug James too. He was harsh, but I kind of understand it. He seemed heartbroken and very disappointed.

I hope you won't be keeping us waiting for months because the more you write, the more I love this story, the harder it gets to wait for the next chapter! I love it!!!

Cheers! X

Giu

Author's Response: I know :( My own heart was breaking a bit writing this chapter but I love the drama at the same time. I always feel like my characters need a hug so I"m glad we're on the same page with that one!

I am going to try very hard to get back into writing regularly. Now that we're starting to get into more of the thick of the story, I can't stop thinking about it and plotting scenes so I'm hoping I won't keep you guys waiting as long anymore.

Thank you for loving the story and taking the time to review! It means a lot xx


 Report Review

Review #39, by blackzero Treats and Tricks

16th February 2017:
Well no body hates such an amazing story and its author.This chapter was too emotionally heartbreaking. It pained seeing Jordan loosing her self esteem because of her pride.James last statement "Go back " was to me a indication of heart break. I hope they reconcile soon .Thank you very much for the update.Please update Enemies with Benefit too..Please.

Author's Response: Aw well thanks! It was emotionally heartbreaking for me to write too but it had to be done mostly cause I live for the drama and lowkey love torturing you all because I'm evil. ;)

 Report Review

Review #40, by magicallymental Treats and Tricks

15th February 2017:
AH! Godric that was intense. Beautifully written chapter, love. It pains me to see Mose going back to Cyrus when she has the beautiful and better James.ugh. But honestly a beautiful showing of character flaws. I love it. Keep writing!!! I have missed your story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am in the same boat as you when it comes to Jordan and Cyrus. It pained me to write that tbh. I'll try and get the next chapter done soon! I hate making you guys wait so long xx

 Report Review

Review #41, by GIL lover Treats and Tricks

15th February 2017:
this chapter hurt. HURT. BUT IT WAS SO SO GOOD. Jordan is so relatable and I really love how you're in depth talking about how women are seen, treated and it makes me like Jordan so much because we understand what it's like to be that girl. We know guys like Cyrus. But I'm so mad at Jordan for not losing it at Cyrus and then she goes and does that, but I understand it. The ending too! James has his faults, they all do but I love them so much together. I can't wait to see how they end up and all the drama in store. Jordan's character development is amazing by the way, and James is on his way too. Thank you for sharing! xx

Author's Response: Ugh omg thank you so much for this. That's one of my favorite things about writing this story. I love, love, love going into topics like sexism, masculinity, and slut shaming bc I think it's all so interesting. I'm very proud of the last few chapters of this story and it really means a lot to know that people are enjoung them! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review xx

 Report Review

Review #42, by anon Treats and Tricks

15th February 2017:
wow just wow.what a chapter.

 Report Review

Review #43, by Alex Treats and Tricks

15th February 2017:
OMG breaks my heart but that was so good! Please don't keep us waiting too long!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll try not to keep you guys waiting around for a new one xx

 Report Review

Review #44, by lovelynsweetsam1 Treats and Tricks

14th February 2017:
I am SO glad you updated, but I am so sad that she slept with Cyrus and that James found out! This story is just so good. I love it so much. I really can't wait for more and to hopefully get back that fun, flirty dynamic James and Jordan had. I know it's going to be hard, but that was just so fun to read. Okay, I've babbled enough! Great chapter.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. I love writing James and Jordan when they have the fun flirty banter but I do love writing drama between them too, I have to say ;)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Cook2016 Treats and Tricks

14th February 2017:
Why would you do that to me?? My heart hurts!! But I still love this story!

Please don't wait too long for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm sorry but it had to be done!! I'm glad you still liked it though xx

 Report Review

Review #46, by adorably cute Greenhouse Groping

4th February 2017:
I absolutely love this story! James and Jordan are my fave, they're such a great couple!

 Report Review

Review #47, by Anon Greenhouse Groping

27th December 2016:
Love this story so far!! Looking forward to the dramatic new update!

I hope you can update soon!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Dree Greenhouse Groping

26th November 2016:
Hi! I just wanted to let you know that this is easily my favorite story on the site and I check for an update an unhealthy number of times a week (whoops).

I love love lovee everything about this fic and can't wait to read the rest of it!! Also I hope you had a great Thanksgiving :))

 Report Review

Review #49, by RebeLRideR Greenhouse Groping

9th November 2016:
the real world just exploded, we could use some more love in the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #50, by luna1306 Greenhouse Groping

29th October 2016:
Please please update!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>