Reading Reviews for Keeping Secrets
  
76 Reviews Found

Review #26, by marauder5 Six Months Later

26th August 2013:
Hi! I'm back! Finally... it only took me forever, but I finally found some time to come back and continue this story, and I'm so glad I did! Okay, here we go:

Oh, Charlie. Why do you have to be so PROUD?? I guess I can understand why he's too ashamed to go home, but the longer he waits, the harder it's going to be. I feel so bad for him. In the last chapter, I just wanted to hug him and tell him that it wasn't his fault. Now, I kind of want to shake him and tell him to get his head straight! Haha ;)

I love how he was shocked at how much work and time it gets to travel the Muggle way!

I love your introduction of the new bartender in the beginning of the chapter; you described it so well! I could really picture her stopping to tie her apron, looking around to see who might need a refill, as if she's eager to perform as well as possible her first day at work! I absolutely loved that part! The only thing I'd like to point out is how "almond shaped eyes in a brilliant green shade" is exactly the description of Harry's eyes... so maybe hers could be blue? Or not almond shaped? I don't know, it was just something that stood out to me as quite unlikely. Unless she's related to Lily.. well, I don't know, it was just a thought ;)

That last paragraph; it's pure gold! Seriously, it had me smiling SO widely, because even though I was happy to have him go back to his family, I really want him to run into Liz again. So far, I absolutely love her as a character. Normally, I'm not this happy about a prospect pairing so early on in the story, but I guess yours is an exception! Good job, my friend! :) I can't wait to read the next one (hopefully it won't take me so long!)

Author's Response: Oh wow... really, Jayde... really?? I posted the wrong response with the wrong review!!

What happened was, I was trying to respond to THIS review this morning, but then there was a notice on the forums that said the "review response" feature was down... so I copied and pasted my response in a word document and decided I'd give it a try when I got home from work. (Well, apparently it works now!! But I accidentally copied and pasted the response for this chapter into the next chapter's review... so I guess the only way to fix it now is to leave my response to your review on Chapter "New Development" here. I'm sorry for the confusion, and for the long-winded explanation!!)

Okay, so... the response!

I'm really glad you felt the need to come back and read more! I'm really sorry there's not more of the story for you to read now; I'm hoping to fix that soon! *Crosses fingers*

Teehee; I get kind of fangirly when I re-read the part about Charlie wanting to see Liz again, as well; I can't help it! And I'm so happy that you agree that Liz is just what Charlie needs!! ♥

You're right; it's not so abnormal of a question for Liz to want to know about Charlie's family... it certainly did create an awkward moment though, didn't it?? Hehe! Awww, yay for them going back to England and living happily ever after, that sounds like a good ending! :) I won't tell you whether or not it will end that way, though, you'll just have to keep reading to find out! XD (I know, I'm evil!)

Haha; I don't blame you for waiting to come back. I know how it feels to get SO into a story, only to have to wait for more chapters to be posted. So just take your time, dear, the fact that you've read and reviewed this at all means the world to me!! ♥ Thank you SO SO MUCH!!! I can't wait to see what you think about future chapters, and I'm so happy that you're falling in love with the story! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #27, by marauder5 Enough

3rd August 2013:
I'm back for chapter two! :)

I really like how you put in the trouble that they have with the reporters. It's just another thing that makes it even harder for them to move on, but of course, the reporters are going to care more about a good story than people's feelings. It's something I hadn't thought about, and it was so sad to think of them being showered with all those questions when all they want to do, really, is mourn the loss of Fred.

And Rita Skeeter! Man, she is just so heartless! And your portrayal of her was absolutely flawless. I felt so bad for Charlie, and I really liked his companion for sticking up for him, but I suppose the guilt was too much to bear. And now I just want to hug Charlie because even though he doesn't want to hear it right now, it's NOT his fault! I just want someone to go after him and tell him that (maybe it should be George? just because, well, he was the closest to Fred). In just two chapters, you've managed to suck me into this story and make me want more, more, MORE! So yes, I think I'll add this to my favourites now. And I'll definitely come back to read more as soon as I've got time. You are just so incredibly talented, and I'm already convinced that this is going to be an amazing story!

Author's Response: ♥ ♥

Speaking of spoiling people with reviews... :P

Thank you for coming back and reading and reviewing the second chapter!! It makes me want to squee!!! :D

You're absolutely right - I imagine after the battle that those reporters would be like vultures... especially Rita Skeeter. The poor Weasleys! You're right, all they want to do is mourn Fred and you've got people like this horrid woman here who are only interested in the number of readers they're getting... *Glares at Rita evilly*

Yes, she is quite heartless! Teehee! Thank you for saying that I portrayed her flawlessly! For some reason, I seem to write evil/bad/unliked characters pretty well... o.O

Yes, poor Charlie's guilt was just a little too much for him right then. We should totally just give Charlie a hug-attack!! :P As for someone going after him and telling him it's not his fault... you'll have to see in the next chapter! Muahahaha! *Grins evilly* :P

Awww, yay for sucking you into the story!! ♥ AND THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ADDING IT TO YOUR FAVORITES!!! ♥ Thank you so much for the compliments, and for this amazing review!! I can't tell you how happy it's made me!! *Squishes*


 Report Review

Review #28, by marauder5 After the Battle

31st July 2013:
Okay, so I figured it was about time I read something of yours, especially since you've been spoiling me with amazing reviews on my stories, and it's definitely time I return the favour :) Besides, I've never read a story about Charlie before, and I really look forward to seeing where this is going.

This chapter was so sad! For some reason I found it especially touching because it was from Charlie's POV - after all, having seen him only through Ron and perhaps Ginny's admiring eyes, he always seems like such a tough, strong person, and it's so sad to see someone like that break down. Of course, there would be something wrong with him if he didn't! I loved the relationship between him and Bill (I can definitely imagine the two of them being the closest). Hopefully, Charlie will open up to him soon, so that Bill can convince him that it wasn't his fault! It's so sad that he thinks it was!

I don't know if this was a typo or not, because I'm not a native English speaker, but it just sounded a bit off: "He was very nearly crying himself", the 'very nearly crying' part. I think I would have written 'very near crying', but if I'm mistaken, just ignore that. You're probably a lot better at English grammar than I am ;)

I also have another suggestion. When I read this paragraph, I felt like you used the word 'Charlie' a few too many times:

"Bill had always known how to comfort Charlie, and Charlie knew that Bill would be able to comfort him nowÖ but Charlie didnít want to be comforted. A part of Charlie somewhere deep inside wanted to keep suffering in silence, to continue punishing himself with seclusion and guilt." I think you could write: "... but he didn't want to be comforted. A part of him somewhere deep inside..." I hope that makes sense!

Other than those very small things, I really enjoyed this chapter! I think that this was my favourite part of it:

"It was a name heíd heard his mother yell thousands of times in anger or frustration, a name that was almost synonymous with mischief and foolery. Now, however, the name was accompanied by grief and heartache."

That it just so beautifully written, and so moving, just like the chapter as a whole. I'm definitely going to come back soon and read the next one. Good job on this one, you should be very happy with it!!

Author's Response:

Hey there lovely!! Thank you SO, SO much for stopping by to read and review this! I can't tell you how much it means to me! It was an amazing surprise and it really made my day! And I'm so, so terribly sorry that it has taken me so long to respond!

Yes, this is quite a sad first chapter! :( I was actually afraid that would keep people from wanting to read more, but it doesn't seem to have! :) And I thought it was quite fitting, for someone as seemingly tough as Charlie to inwardly be very sensitive at a time like this.

I agree, it's very sad that Charlie thinks it's his fault, and I'm glad you like the relationship between him and Bill. That just sort of came out of nowhere when I was writing this chapter, but I'm so very glad it did because it fits perfectly! :)

I agree, that sentence does sound a bit off... something about the syntax is a bit wonky! Thank you SO much for pointing that out! ♥ I'll be sure to take care of that when I edit!

Aah. The never-ending "Charlie". I tend to do this a LOT in my stories. I think I've improved a little bit in later chapters, though, I hope you'll agree! Again, thank you SO much for pointing that out! That's something else I should take care of when I edit!

Haha! I'm not sure why, but I really loved that line, too! :P

Aww! Thank you for the compliments! I'm glad you felt the chapter was moving. Again, thank you SO VERY MUCH! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by Elphaba and Boyfriends The Other Secret-Keeper

15th July 2013:
Hi, Elphaba here! I apologize for my tardiness.

This is a great chapter! I remember thinking that Liz and her mother must have some sort of family secret, but I wasn't expecting her mother to reveal that she's a witch!

This was actually my first clue that Amelia was about to reveal her magic, "She leaned against the door frame and crossed her arms, shaking her head slightly at her mother's refusal to use the dishwasher." The whole "technology and magic don't mix" conflict popped into my head, then. I think the dialog between Liz and her mother is very well-done, and her mother's story also makes perfect sense.

I think Amelia's anger at Charlie is really interesting, and I'm curious to see how they'll interact with each other in the future. I think that Liz's reactions to her mother's revelations are understandable, as well: "I'm not sure who I'm angrier with - Charlie, for lying to me for two years, or you, for lying to me my whole life!" I can certainly see why she'd be angry.

The fact that Liz is also a witch was another unexpected shocker, mainly because she's never appeared to have issues with technology. Although, now that I think more about it, maybe the combination of her and Charlie in the same room is what caused some of the accidents with electronic appliances? Going forward, it will be interesting to see how she begins to adjust to and possibly harness her powers. I would expect her to look back over her life and realize that their were subtle signs all along that she ignored or explained away.

Mulciber, wow, that was a surprise, too! Thanks for another engrossing chapter; I'm looking forward to the next one. :)

Author's Response: Hey there Elphaba!

You have absolutely nothing to apologize for - it has taken me nearly a month to respond to your amazing review, and I'm very, very sorry! :(

I'm glad you think this is a great chapter! I remember in one of your earlier reviews you said that you thought there might be some secret; I'm glad it still surprised you.

Haha! I intended that line to be a slight hint, but I didn't want to give it away. At one point, I thought about taking it out, but I'm glad I decided to keep it!

I was trying to get started on the next chapter today, and as I re-read this one, Amelia's anger with Charlie really surprised me as well. But we'll see how they interact soon enough! :)

I'm glad you thought Liz's reactions were believeable! I was really concerned about that! I wanted her to be angry, but not angry to the point of being ridiculous and making herself into a un-likeable character, so I'm glad to hear it wasn't overdone!

Liz's issues (or lack thereof) with technology will be addressed soon enough! *Winks* And that last part of the second to last paragraph... you have no idea how right you are! :P

I'm glad you thought this was an engrossing chapter! I hope I didn't surprise you too much all at once!

Thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review! ♥ I will certainly be re-requesting (if I ever finish the next chapter, that is...) :P


 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlin The Other Secret-Keeper

5th July 2013:
Oh...

SO I WAS WRONG WHAT

Also, I'm sorry for being late. I originally read this at like 3 in the morning and I was in no place to review so I told myself I'd return but I never did!

I'm really mind-blown! Just WHAT?!

THAT WAS CERTAINLY A SURPRISE!

All I'm a bit confused is to why she hadn't seemed to be shown signs of magic? Is that going to be explained later? :)

I'm not very happy with Amelia! That's a terrible thing to lie about!

But imagine if she DID go to Hogwarts with Charlie? That would be interesting to think about! (Imagine if you wrote fanfiction about your fanfiction - fanfiception! :p)

Anyway, I loved this chapter! I don't feel like Liz overreacted, she had a good reason to! She's got a whole different last name, and a Death Eater at that!

Wait, is her father a Death Eater? Or is he just a relative? OOH SO MANY QUESTIONS!

Anywho, lovely chapter as always, Jayde! ♥

Can't wait for the next one. ;)

Author's Response: Haha! Aww, Kayla! *hugs*

First off, do NOT apologize! You are such an amazing friend and loyal reviewer - don't even worry about how long it takes you to get here! I can not tell you how much I appreciate you reviewing, and the fact that you keep coming back just blows my mind! ♥ Thank you SO MUCH!

Haha, I know, it IS a surprise! I was a little surprised myself! (Or maybe not... :P) I hope it was believable, though!!

Yes, you're absolutely right. The part about Liz's signs of magic will certainly be explained VERY soon!

I know! I'm not too happy with Amelia, myself. I mean, I kind of understand her heartache, but that's still no reason to lie to Liz about who/what she is (for her ENTIRE LIFE)!!

Haha! Oh goodness, fan fiction about my fan fiction?!? o.O Mind=Blown. Yes, I think it IS interesting to think of what would've happened if Charlie and Liz had gone to school together. Would they have even liked each other?!? (Let's hope so!) And your question is making me SERIOUSLY consider writing another story featuring Charlie and Liz, but set at Hogwarts! :P

I'm really glad you loved the chapter, and that you didn't think Liz over-reacted!

*Crosses fingers* I hope that all of your questions will be answered thoroughly in one of the coming chapters! ;) *winks*

Thank you, SO, SO MUCH for the amazing review! I can't wait to see what you think of the next chapter! *Squishes* ♥



 Report Review

Review #31, by Gabriella Hunter Secret Number 1

15th June 2013:
HELLO!

HEY! Hey. I'm here with your review and I'm SO sorry that it took me forever to get to you, my internet connection is so evil and I've been going through a ferocious writer's block with one of my stories and there are no cupcakes...
Anyway, back to this! It was not at all hard for me to get back into the groove of your story and I'm so happy that I'm reading back up on it, I was wondering how Charlie and Liz were doing!
So, the time leap that you took was very nicely done, there was no confusion and I was able to piece together their relationship so well. It seems like they've had a very nice marriage so far and yet, Charlie still hasn't told her his secret?! I was really shocked by this! I thought he would have done this by now but after reading through his thoughts, I can sort of see why and thought his fear and anxiety was just wonderfully done.
I was so nervous when he went to speak to Liz and she stunned me with HER little secret, which I have a guess about! But I could be wrong! ;)
But Charlie finally telling her the truth was really well-written, I think he really showed some courage and hope and it was so heartbreaking when Liz didn't believe him! D':
So what will happen now?! Update SOON! Poor Charlie, I just want to give him this big hug and smother him in chocolate...and...well, you don't need to know about all those OTHER things but anyway, poor him!
Update SOON!
No CC's either, this was wonderuful and I hope your next chapter leaves me on the edge of my seat like this one did. ;)
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: I. Am a horrible, horrible review responder! I'm SO sorry it has taken me so long to get to this! And please, don't worry about the amount of time it takes to review; I'm just so thrilled that you do it! I completely understand about evil internet connections AND writer's block... and NO CUPCAKES?!? Merlin's Beard! *Sends you a virtual cupcake, stat!* :P

I'm glad it wasn't hard for you to get back into reading this, and I'm thrilled that you've been wondering about Charlie and Liz! It makes me happy to know you've been thinking about them! :p

Phew! I am so glad you thought the time leap was done well... that's one HUGE thing I was concerned about for this chapter! I didn't want to skip so much time that the reader was confused or felt left out, but the time jump was really necessary for the plot!

Yes, they have had a nice marriage so far, but somehow Charlie still hasn't told his poor wife about his secrets! I find it a bit shocking, as well, how dare he?!? :P But you're right... telling your wife those secrets CAN'T be easy, and with Charlie's anxiety, it's bound to be even worse. :( I'm glad you thought that was wonderfully done!

Haha! I'd love to hear your thoughts on what Liz's secret is! Nearly everyone who's reviewed this chapter so far has guessed the same thing! :P

I was even a little nervous for Charlie while I was writing that bit! And it really must have broken his heart when Liz didn't believe him... but looking at it from the "muggle" point of view, I'd find it hard to believe, too! :P Something I haven't really read in a lot of fics is a wizard revealing to their muggle spouse that they're a wizard, so I thought it'd be nice if I tackled that here... I hope it's believable!

Since it's taken me SO long to respond to this review, the next chapter is now already up! I can't wait to see what you think of it! And I agree, Poor Charlie! Haha! XD

I'm so glad you thought this was wonderful! And I really hope the next chapter DOES leave you on the edge of your seat! :P

Thank you SO, SO much for taking the time to read and review this! I really can't tell you how much I appreciate it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by teh tarik Enough

10th June 2013:
JAYDEEE ♥

I am back!

aksjdlkasf you keep torturing poor Charlie :( :( He's such an emotional wreck in this chapter, and you've really shown him in this painful state of mind and grief and how he simply cracks and breaks down in front of Rita Skeeter who, by the way, is an utter cow. A malice-filled cow. It's really interesting, the way that Charlie can't stand to be with his family in such a difficult time. But it really makes sense, because he usually spends all his time far away from them, in Romania. You've done a lovely job, my dear, showing how the effects of such a terrible tragedy in a family; Fred's death, instead of uniting the Weasleys and drawing them closer together than ever, forces some of them (Charlie, in this case) to break off and run as far away as possible.

And the sad thing is, he can't even stay with his beloved dragons in Romania. Somehow, the part where he decides to leave yet again, but this time without having any specific destination in mind, really broke my heart. It's honestly so sad, the thought of Charlie drifting through life, looking for a place to heal all his grief and find some measure of peace.

I really like the way you wrote Rita Skeeter! She's NOT a subtle reporter at all; she barges into the scene and doesn't even bother to be nice, to wheedle information out of Charlie. Instead, she taunts him directly, pushes him until he breaks down and confesses in the most humiliating manner possible. Gah, as much as I dislike her in this chapter, you've got to admit that Rita Skeeter certainly does have a way of getting the things she wants.

Well, this was a wonderful chapter, Jayde ♥ It was really sad and painful to read, but you've honestly written Charlie so well, and I can't wait to read the next chapter and see where he's gone. I hope this review made sense; I'm kinda dead tired now and it's midnight and I've got work tomorrow. So, lovely writing! I enjoyed this heaps ♥

teh

Author's Response: So it has taken me a RIDICULOUSLY long time to respond to this... I'm sorry! Sometimes I think I like having reviews to respond to... it makes me feel... reviewed! :P

Aww, I know! I'm so evil for torturing poor Charlie! But it's all for a good cause, I promise! :P And I agree, Rita Skeeter IS an utter cow! Haha! And thank you; I'm really glad you think I did a good job handling the tragedy. I sort of had this plot figured out before I knew who the main character was going to be, and once "Charlie" popped into my head, all the grief-ridden seclusion really just fit perfectly!

Aww! I didn't mean to break your heart! But reading your review made that part really strike home with me, too... Charlie can't even escape to his home in Romania! :( I hope he can find someplace to escape soon! *winks*

LOL! I'm glad that you like the way I wrote the Rita Skeeter... although I'm not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing! I really feel like I *get* her character, you know? I've been told I write evil characters better than good ones... nevermind what that says about me! :P And yes, Rita has an annoyingly effective way of getting what she wants!

Thank you SO much, dear! I'm so glad you liked the chapter, and yes, your review made sense to me! Thank you SO, SO much for taking the time to read and review this! I can't tell you how much it means to me! ♥



 Report Review

Review #33, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Secret Number 1

27th May 2013:
Hi, Elphaba here!

I really like this chapter because of the great dialog between Charlie and Liz! :)

Charlie's trepidation at telling her the truth and her own fear that he's cheating on her are both understandable.

Her disbelief once he finally does reveal his secret is believable, as well. I've always wondered whether the muggle secrecy law applies to family members, as well, and wonder what would happen if he just showed her a simple bit of magic. Are the laws the same in the U.S. as in Britain? And what would the punishment be? Would it be worth the risk to prove to Liz that he's not crazy?

I also wonder what the thing is that she wanted to talk to him about. Has she been keeping a secret as well? Or, could she be pregnant? I thought of that because she hasn't been feeling well in the morning. I wonder how soon she will return from her mother's?

You do a great job of building the suspense in this chapter, and I'm anxious to know what will happen next! :)

Author's Response: Hi there dear! Thank you SO much for taking the time to read and review this for me! ♥

I'm so glad you like the dialog! I was afraid it wasn't very good, so it's nice to have some positive feedback on it! And I'm SO thrilled that you thought their emotions were understandable... I wanted them to be believable without it seeming like either of the characters were being silly or childish, so I'm glad to hear it payed off!

I'm glad you think Liz's disbelief was believable, too! I myself have always wondered what a muggle's response would be at finding out that their significant other is a witch/wizard, and this is honestly the first thing that came to mind. Those are some very interesting and great questions! As far as the whole secrecy law, I would certainly HOPE it doesn't apply to family members, but you never know! Harry was sent a howler for using magic in front of Dudley and/or the Dursleys (if I'm not mistaken... I'll have to look that up). Of course, that was when the ministry was all against the whole "Voldemort's back" message and they were looking for any excuse to get Harry in trouble, but I imagine it's still the same idea. I personally think the laws would be at least somewhat similar in the U.S., but all Charlie really has to go on is what he knows about the British system. I think a lot of your other questions will be answered or resolved soon! *winks* :)

Annnd you'll find out what she wanted to talk about very soon! And don't worry, she'll be back from her mother's soon enough! :)

I'm glad you felt the suspense was well-built in this chapter! Thank you SO MUCH for reading and for this amazing review!



 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlin Secret Number 1

24th May 2013:
Jayde! Sorry for taking so long! I had a PE assessment and I promised myself that I would review ONLY after I had finished it!

But I'm here now, so there's no harm done! :D

Aw Charlie! See this is what you get when you keep secrets, it's never a good thing!

Of course Liz is going to get angry and flip out, you hide something from her and when you tell her, it's something that is HIGHLY unbelievable! :p

AND I BET LIZ IS PREGNANT SHE IS CARRYING CHARLIE WEASLEY JR I AM EXCITED I CALL IT. I AM CALLING IT. WHEN LIZ ANNOUNCES IT I WILL SCREAM, "I CALLED IT!"

:p

Anyway, I feel really badly for Liz but I just wish she'd stayed and tried to hear him out a bit more. I don't want her to go, I love her too much! :p

Anywho, this was another FLAWLESS chapter and I eagerly await the next one! :D

Author's Response: ♥ There is absolutely NO need to apologize! I just really, REALLY appreciate you reading and reviewing this! I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this!!

Haha! Yes, this is what Charlie gets for keeping secrets! It's definitely not a good idea!

I agree, Liz has every right to be upset! It's ridiculously unbelievable and she's got good reason to think it's just some big joke!

HAHA! Every time I read that line I bust out laughing! Whether or not your prediction is correct, we'll just have to find out, though. :P

Awww, I'm glad you love Liz! ♥ Don't worry, she'll be back soon enough! I agree, it would've been nice if she had stayed and tried to hear him out, but she really needed to go see her Mum... *winks* :P

I am SO glad you loved the chapter, and you'll be happy to know I'm working on the next one now! I hope to have it up soon! THANK YOU SO MUCH! ♥


 Report Review

Review #35, by patronus_charm Secret Number 1

23rd May 2013:
Hey there!

I really loved the way you kept on weaving in the chapter of this story into the actual story it was really great. I can see how these events are beginning to spiral out of control though. I canít believe Charlie hasnít told her about being a wizard, though Iím terrible when I have to say massive things like that so I can understand why he hasnít. One thing that saddened me was the lack of Weasleys at his wedding; does Molly even know heís married? Ah so many unanswered questions, itís horrible!

The anecdotes about Charlieís run-ins with technology were great. They really made me laugh, and it showed them in that happy marital bubble people are in when theyíve just got married. Ah Iím so glad that you posted the link as Iíve forgotten how much I love Charlie and Liz they really are adorable.

I have a theory! First the mentions of nine months after their marriage seemed a little too suspicious to me, as thatís how long youíre pregnant for, then Liz being sick and now a talk. Iím thinking Weasley generation 2.0 is on the way! I really hope my theory is correct, because the baby would be adorable though I donít know how Charlie would explain the magic happening. I guess I should carry on reading rather than theorising.

Charlie you idiot! You made Liz cry how could you? That part was so sad I was nearly welling up to, as you rarely see those two other than being cutesy and thatís probably why I was looking forward to the reveal scene with dread as I knew there was going to be some drama around it. This line ĎďYou know how every time I touch something electronic, it sort ofÖ explodes?Ēí sort of made up for Charlieís mistake, I really wish I could see that happen as it must be great!

Ah the awkwardness! Poor, poor Charlie I really felt for him during that scene. You could see how much he had been psyching himself up for it and then for Liz to react like that. Well, if she hadnít of reacted like that I would be the tiniest bit suspicious as I donít think I would take any news like that so calmly.

That chapter was great and this is third cliff-hanger Iíve been left on, why do people keep on doing this to me? Itís not fun at all!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi there Kiana! Again, thank you SO MUCH for reading and reviewing this for me! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it, and I'm sorry for the crazy amount of time it has taken me to respond to this!

I'm glad you liked the weaving of this with the series, I'm really trying to stick as closely to Canon as possible on this. Charlie's been gone for so long that SO many things are happening in the family, and I really wanted the readers to be able to keep up with those things! You're absolutely right, though, things are certainly getting to be a bit out of control. Well, actually, they're more than a bit out of control, but we'll see that in later chapters... :P I know, how DARE Charlie not tell Liz about being a wizard? :O I'm glad you understand it though... I really wanted it to be believable. And yes, the lack of Weasleys at the wedding is quite sad! I'm considering writing a one-shot/companion piece to this that shows just the wedding... I honestly sort of wish I had included a chapter on it, so I may wind up going back and editing it in. As for whether or not Molly knows if he's married... we'll see. :) *Cackles evilly*

I'm glad you liked the stories about Charlie's run-ins with technology; I was afraid that they might be a bit too much. :/ Glad to hear they weren't, though! And YAY for the happy marital bubble! Awww!! I'm so glad I posted the link, too, your review made my day! ♥

Like everything else in this chapter that is unanswered, your theory about there being a Weasley generation 2.0 on the way will have to be either proven or disproved in later chapters... I'm not giving anything away! :D I will say, though, that Liz being sick and the nine months of marriage thing was not intended to hint that Liz is pregnant... that was a total fluke. Everyone who's reviewed this chapter so far has guessed that Liz is pregnant, and when I read the first review (yours), I was like, "Where did that come from?" And then I looked back at the chapter and was like, "Oh"... :P I really just needed an amount of time for them to be together, and nine months sort of popped out at me, and I also really needed a reason for Charlie to use an appliance, and Liz being sick also jumped out at me... whether or not this disproves or proves your theory remains to be seen! :D (I'm enjoying this whole "omniscience" thing a little more than I should!) :P

Haha! I agree, Charlie is an idiot for making Liz cry. Awww no, don't cry! That's gonna make me cry and then I'll spend all day moping about instead of writing the next chapter... XD I know what you mean, I sort of dreaded writing the reveal scene because, so far, everyone who's read this has loved the whole Charlie/Liz dynamic, and I didn't want this chapter to disappoint or make anyone want to stop reading! As for Charlie's statement, I think he's exaggerating slightly, but I thought we could use a little comic relief in there. :P

Yeah, Charlie really was trying so hard to pump himself up to tell Liz the truth, and I imagine her reaction is really going to hurt him... buuut as you said, looking at it from Liz's perspective, it's hard to be sympathetic to Charlie. I've always wondered what a muggle's reaction would be to finding out their significant other was a witch/wizard, and this was the first thing that came to mind, so I'm glad it worked!

Aww, I'm sorry for the clyffie, but I promise you'll get at least a few answers soon! :) And again, THANK YOU SO MUCH! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by 800 words of heaven After the Battle

22nd May 2013:
Here from review tag!

I've never read a Charlie-centric fic before, so I'm super happy to find this one as my first because it seems like a really interesting read!

I adore the way you've shown the grief of the other Weasleys - it's something that's often skipped, with more focus going on George for obvious reasons, but it's really refreshing to see how Fred's death affected them all.

I find Charlie really interesting so far. We don't know much about him from canon, so that's heaps of room for manoeuvring, and I'm excited to see where you take him. All the other Weasleys whom we got to meet felt really fleshed out as well, even though we met one of them for like, a line. Starting a story set so recently after the end of the last book allows you to use canon a lot, and I think that you've done that really well here!

Looking forward to seeing what's in store for our tortured hero!

Author's Response: Hi there dear! I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to your lovely review!

There really aren't many Charlie-centered fics out there, so I'm hoping to change that! :) I'm glad you think it seems interesting!

I haven't read too many fics (if any) about what the Weasleys went through when Fred died. I'm glad to hear that you felt I put more focus on the other Weasleys instead of just George!

I'm glad you think Charlie is so interesting, and yes, the fact that we don't know much about him from Canon DOES give me some room for maneuvering; that's definitely one of the perks of writing about him! I'm glad you felt the other Weasleys were fleshed-out too!

I'm also super-thrilled that you felt I used Canon well! This is the first piece I've written where I've really, REALLY tried to stick as close to Canon as possible (although things will probably a little AU later on), so I'm glad to see it's payed off! Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #37, by teh tarik After the Battle

19th May 2013:
JAYDE ♥

Ahem, I saw your status update and decided to be creepy and sneak about your author's page :P Also, I think it's time I read more of your work! Always proud to support writing by Puffs :D

OMGG it's Fred's death :((( And grieving Weasleys :((( That being said, I actually love post-Hogwarts fics and chapters about miserable Weasleys, because well, they're fun to read - never mind what this says about me...

But what makes this story stands out from other post-Fred Weasley fic is that it focuses on Charlie's POV and experiences. Charlie is a rather underrated character in fanfic and the most neglected of the Weasleys, and I'm so glad that you've chosen to write about him. Fred is, of course, his little brother, and I can only imagine how awful he must be feeling at being unable to save Fred's life.

There's a lovely moment with Bill and Charlie - again, this is something which is barely explored in fanfic: the relationship between the two oldest Weasley siblings. When I think of Bill and Charlie together, I'm reminded of that scene in Goblet of Fire the day before everyone leaves for the Quidditch World Cup, where Bill and Charlie sort of Charm two tables and make them fight against each other in the air with everybody cheering them on. This chapter here made me think of that happier moment, and what a contrast it is. It really is heartbreaking to see those two without their carefree happiness, and instead being reduced to two broken grieving men. Especially Charlie, whose always exuded toughness, recklessness and sportiness. This is a lovely (and really heartbreaking) side of him you're showing, Jayde, and it's absolutely wonderful. Sorry, being a bit rambly here.

And of course, it makes sense that he would blame himself :( I'm betting almost all the Weasleys are each blaming themselves over Fred's death because they're a bunch of idiots. A wonderful bunch of idiots who'd do anything for each other, really. :)

Gaah, anyway, lovely story, Jayde! Am adding this to my faves (that means I will be back).

♥ teh

ALSO THIS IS MY 200TH REVIEW WOO ♥ ♥

Author's Response: TEH! ♥

First of all, I am SO sorry for the ridiculous amount of time it has taken me to respond to this amazing, lovely review!

Secondly, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! This really was a lovely, present surprise! *Squishes*

Haha, I don't think that liking to read about Fred's death and grieving Weasleys says anything about you... it's something we all go through and everyone needs to read a good sad fic every once in a while!

I agree that Charlie is very underrated... there aren't many fics that focus on him at all, and I'm hoping to change that! I'm thrilled that you think this stands out!! :D And yes, Charlie really does feel terrible about not being able to save Fred... you'll come to see just how much so in future chapters. *winks*

Haha! So many people have loved the moment with Bill and Charlie, and honestly, I had NO IDEA that would be so popular when I wrote it! I'm SO GLAD that I did, though! I completely agree, Bill and Charlie's relationship isn't really explored much in the series OR fanfic, and I'll be changing that, too. :) That moment in the series that you mentioned is EXACTLY the moment that comes to my mind when I think of Bill and Charlie's relationship, and that happier time certainly is a huge contrast with this chapter. I'm glad you think this side of him is lovely (and heartbreaking)... as evil as that makes me sound. I really felt that someone who exuded so much toughness really wouldn't be that way on the inside. It could be that Charlie's sensitivity has been heightened by Fred's death, but I think deep down he's always been a bit of a softie. Awww, I don't think you're rambling at all! I really love the comments!

You know, that's something I hadn't really thought of... the other Weasleys blaming themselves. I mean, I'm sure Percy is because he's spent so long away from his family, but now that you mention it, I'm sure the other Weasleys have found some ridiculous reason why his death is their fault... thank you for pointing that out! It's certainly given me a new perspective on things!

I... was just about to go into a long description of how and why I chose Charlie for the main character in this (it really related to your comments)... but I realized that I can't do so without giving the plot away, so I will reserve my comments for future chapters! :P

Awww! Yay! ♥ Thank you SO MUCH for adding this to your favorites! And the thought that you'll be back makes me want to squee!!

And YAY for this being your 200th review!!! :D I feel privileged!!


 Report Review

Review #38, by megthechef43 After the Battle

21st February 2013:
MrsJaydeMalfoy,

What a powerful first chapter. I felt horrible for Charlie and I just wanted to give him a hug and tell him that it isn't his fault. At first you had me intrigued and wondering how it was Charlie's fault but then I realized that he was just blaming himself... Or was he?? I do not know...

I like the bond between Bill and Charlie and I wish charlie would have spilled the beans about what was bothering him but then what would happen with the next chapters. you drawn the readers in nicely with this first chapter. It is great...

Megthechef43 aka Meg

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this for me! I'm really glad you think this was a powerful first chapter!!

Haha, a lot of people have been confused when they've read the first chapter, because they really don't believe it was Charlie's fault (because it wasn't). I don't want to give too much of the story away, but you'll find out in the next couple of chapters why Charlie feels this way.

I agree; it would have been wonderful if Charlie could have revealed his feelings to Bill right then, but then that wouldn't have made for a very long story, would it?!? :P

Thank you so much, dear, I'm glad you enjoyed it!!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Gabriella Hunter Secrets and Surprises

18th February 2013:
Hello!

Hey there, its Gabbie with your requested review and I'm sorry that it took a minute for me to get back to you. So, I'm really glad to be back in Charlie's life and to see that he's actually gotten better but not to the point where he can stop blaming himself over Fred. I think that him pushing himself far from his family that way is actually making it alot worse and I want to see him go back to them. He needs it and oh! What a nice surprise coming from Fleur and Bill and OMG references of Georgelina!! You may not know this but I'm a HUGE fan of that pairing but ahem, now is not the time to gush about how much I love George--I mean, stories with him and Angelina. Anyway, so Charlie surprised me so much in this chapter, I wasn't seeing that proposal coming! But do you think he should have told Liz before he asked her to marry him?! I hope she doesn't react weirdly to it when he does say! D':
But oh, my goodness I was so happy, I was getting all gooey and girly! What a funny way for Liz to reaact to being propsed to! It was so like her, I really enjoyed it! :D
Can't wait for your next update and since I favorited this, I can read it whenever I like! :D
No CC's either, it was simply lovely.
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi again Gabbie!! I'm sorry it has taken me so long to respond to this!!

I know what you mean; I'm really anxious for Charlie to get back home, too. And I promise, he'll go home in good time... there's just a few things that need to happen first. XD *winks*

Haha! Feel free to gush away about Georgelina! I tried to keep this story as close to Canon as possible, so I'm glad you enjoyed the mention of them!

I completely agree with you; Charlie really should have spilled the beans by now. Let's hope that doesn't cause too much trouble later on...

Haha! YAY for you being happy about Charlie's random, surprise proposal!! I'm glad you liked it!! And I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of the story (if I ever buckle down and finish writing it, that is!) XD

Thanks again dear, so much!! Your reviews really make my day!


 Report Review

Review #40, by patronus_charm Secrets and Surprises

16th February 2013:
Hello itís patronus_charm with your review!

I wasnít expecting a time jump, as I just assumed that it would just pick up from walking Liz home, but I rather liked the jump. It meant that we could see how the character and the story had progressed, and without having to spend time writing tons of chapters, when we could see the progression in one.

It was really nice to see how much Liz had improved Charlieís life throughout the past year, as you could see that he was in a much better place than he had been before they started dating. I can actually Charlie in a construction job, as he was a dragon keeper, he must have been strong, so that profession suits him well. It was nice to see that he got on with Lizís mum as well, as meet the parents doesnít always go that well.

I found it interesting that he was still suffering from Fredís death, and that he was still running from problems at home. It really shows what a profound effect that death had on him, and I rather like it, even if he is suffering, as it shows you never know how someone may react grief, even if they didnít appear that close when they were alive.

So Charlie gave up magic then? I guess I can understand, as magic and all the consequences of it caused his brother to die, and the fact that heís dating a muggle probably makes it easier in that respect. Iím presuming that he hasnít yet told Liz about him being a wizard, so it will be interesting to see how sheíll react to the news.

I thought the banter between Charlie and Liz about getting the drink, was just innocent, I didnít expect him to go and propose! It was a great surprise though, and it seemed very appropriate, given how close they seem, and theyíre just perfect for one another.

That proposal was great! I was just awing throughout, and you introduced some tension into it, when she didnít accept straight away, and I was worried that she was going to say no! I loved that even though it was in a bar, it was still incredibly sweet and romantic, and just perfect. I think the fact that you had the people on the side, yelling at Liz to answer Charlie was great, as it introduced a bit of humour into a rather tense and romantic moment.

I thought this was a great chapter, and I certainly didnít expect that to happen! I canít wait to see what will happen next, and whether this will force him back to England or not!

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Hello again, Kiana!! :D I'm sorry it has taken me SO long to respond to your amazing review!!

You've pretty much nailed the reason behind the time jump! There's a lot of story to be covered here, and the story's main focus is on things that happen later on, so it works best for me to include a few things as background information and then skip ahead. As of right now it looks like there's going to be one or two more time jumps, and then it'll be less sporadic.

I'm really glad you liked how Liz has changed Charlie's life, and it's SUCH a relief that you can see Charlie working in construction! I really wanted it to be as realistic as possible!

What you said about never knowing how someone will react to grief is exactly right; everybody handles it in different ways and in their own time, and I'm glad that you mentioned that.

Yes, it seems Charlie has given up magic. I wonder how long that's going to last?? *winks* And no, he hasn't told Liz about his wizard-ness yet... *evil laugh*

YAY! I surprised you with the proposal!! That was my intention!! :D I'm glad to see it worked, and that you think they're perfect for each other!

*Squees!* Your praise for the proposal is making me blush! I'm really glad you liked it!! I don't think "No" was ever an answer Liz considered giving, but I had to keep you waiting, didn't I?? :P

Thank you again, SO MUCH, for this (and all your) reviews!! They truly have made my day, and I can't wait to see what you think of the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #41, by aquabluez17 Six Months Later

12th February 2013:
Hey its Mya here for you review! So sorry for the delay!

Well I am glad Charlie is finally moving o a bit. I really do like Liz but would have loved to know a bit more about her. Iss she magic? lol tht was phrased strangely... haha

Anyway great work on Charlie's emotions!

Author's Response: Hey there dear! Thank you SO much for taking a look at this for me! :D

I am probably going to keep requesting from you for every chapter (if that's okay), and if I do I promise, you're going to find out a WHOLE lot about Liz very soon! I'm glad to know that you already like her, though!! :D

Thank you SO much!!


 Report Review

Review #42, by patronus_charm New Development

9th February 2013:
Hi, Iím here with your review! And of course itís not too early to re-request, I have some people re-request within minutes of the review being left!

I thought it was really nice to see how much Liz affected Charlie for the better! Heís had such a hard time recently, he deserves a little romance in his life :í) I hope this relationship works out, as you wouldnít have thought a dragon keeper and a barmaid would ever date, so Iím intrigued to see how this continues!

The way you showed how determined he was to meet Liz, and get to know her better, was so accurate, because whenever someone has a latest crush, they do have the tendency to stalk them a teeny bit. I just think itís so adorable that someone who usually appears to be emotionless and manly is falling so deeply for someone, and I really love how youíve done that!

The little scene when she spilled beer on him, usually bores me as itís overdone, but it just seemed to have been done differently so I really liked it. I like how you include those little details which make the story more realistic, such as Charlieís heart beating faster, as itís all so true and natural.

Itís good that Jeffís around that way Charlie can learn from his mistakes and succeed. It was nice that Liz is starting to trust him, by telling Charlie that Jeffís not her type, as thatís not the type of thing you just announce. But how awkward when sheís asking about who he likes, and he was all cute and embarrassed, if only she knew he liked him!

Then he plucked up the courage to ask to walk her home! It was just lovely, Iím already awing all the way through and theyíre not even dating yet, so I dread to think what Iíll be like when they kiss for the first time!

I liked how you showed Lizís thoughts at the end, because I was beginning to wonder what she thought of him, so it was lovely to see that she liked him back, and that she was scared that she would lose him.

My only CC is a very minor one, and itís just that I think it would look better if you included a line between - Seeing his reaction gave Liz all the answer she needed. ďI knew it!Ē she whispered excitedly. ďAnd itís someone here, tooÖ is it Megan?Ē As it would just look better:)

A lovely chapter I thought, and you donít have to wait so long next time you want to re-request just do it whenever you want!

Author's Response: Hello again dear! Thank you SO much for coming to read and review this for me, and so quickly at that!! ♥ Haha! Oh wow; I'd be too afraid to post another request that soon! But I'm definitely on my way to request another one right now, so thank you!!

Yes, I think a little romance is just what Charlie needs right now! As for whether or not things work out... you'll just have to keep reading to find out! *Grins evilly* :D

Haha; I think you described the situation perfectly: Charlie doesn't even realize it, but he is SO stalking Liz! In the cute, crush kind of way though, not the scary way. :P It's so cute!! (Sorry... my feels got away with me for a minute there XD)

Whew. I'm glad that the spilled-the-beer thing was done differently. I haven't ever read a fic with something like that in it before (that I can remember), so I didn't even realize that was overdone!! I'm glad it worked out and you liked it, though!

Haha... allowing Charlie to learn from his mistakes is pretty much exactly why Jeff is here! And yay for you awwing all the way through!! ♥ I can't wait to see what you think of the next chapter!!

I'm really glad seeing Liz's thoughts was helpful... I really felt it was a good time for the readers to get an idea of what she was thinking about Charlie, and it seems I was right!! :P

And you're exactly right; I didn't even realize that little mistake was there until someone else pointed it out, and I kept telling myself I was going to change it and never got around to it. So that's exactly what I'm going to do right now!! Thank you so much for reminding me, and for pointing that out!!

Thank you so much for the amazing review, dear!!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Gabriella Hunter New Development

9th February 2013:
Hello!

Hey, there. Sorry that I didn't come here really quickly and attack this but for some reason I've been busy and trying to actually type. D':
I'll admit it, I'm being lazy.
Anyhoo, so Charlie is really starting to get a crush on Liz. I was surprised for a minute or two that he stayed as long as he did when he was intent on leaving but I think having this attraction to Liz is a good thing. Obviously he doesn't think so and won't admit to going to the pub for the reason of seeing her because he likes her, but you and I know what's going on. ;)
I think that you describe Liz in a way that's actually very attractive. She seems so light and easy and I think the contrast with Charlie is really well-done, its like a balm for him. Not sure if he'll accept that later but that's another chapter, right? :D
Taking an actual step to get to know her was a little funny on his part. He seems sort of shy, almost second guessing himself alot but he eventually won Liz over and decided to walk her home.
Sorry Jeff! >:D
I thought that moment between them was really sweet, a tad awkward because I think both of them were a little nervous but it was realistic and I enjoyed it. :3
But the mention of brothers...oh, poor Charlie. All of his guilt over Fred came sweeping back and the poor thing, I know he was just breaking up at wanting and needing his own happiness. D':
But that ending was nice! Liz senses something in him and she wants to explore it but being cautious on her end is really understanding. Ah, I hope things go right for them!
So this chapter has no CC's, I like the pace and flow of it and no grammar things. :D
Thanks for the read.
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi again Gabbie!! Thank you so much for coming to review this for me!! :D Haha, it's no problem!! We all have our days where we just need to relax!!

Yes, Charlie is definitely starting to get a BIG crush on Liz! Haha, yep! We know what's going on here!! :D

I really DID want Liz to be a bit of a contrast with Charlie, especially right now since he's going through so much. Whether he'll admit it or not, she's pretty much exactly what he needs right now, that's what so great about it! As for whether or not he'll accept that later... you'll just have to keep reading to find out!! *Grins evilly* :)

Haha, yes, poor Jeff! But he really is quite annoying and it's a necessary evil. We can't have him keeping Liz and Charlie from getting together, now can we?? :P

Aww!! I'm glad you liked the chapter so much dear! ♥ Thanks again!!


 Report Review

Review #44, by Gabriella Hunter Six Months Later

4th February 2013:
HEY!

Its me, Gabbie here with your requested review and its good to be back. I had favorited this story but haven't had the time to get to reading it again but regardless, here I am. So, Charlie's journey to healing has been a really long one and I'll admit it, I didn't expect him to go to America. I thought that he might just hide out somewhere in Britain but of course, his family would have found him rather easily if he had. For some reason, though I can really picture him in New England more than I can anywhere else and the contrast between the Muggle world and the Magical one wasn't as hard to grasp as some fanfics. I think the lack of magic that he had to deal with and his own need to just block all of his pain out, went well together. The experiences were different in the Muggle world but the grief was still there and I'm glad that you didn't shy away from that. It was very good.
But on to the rest! I thought he would go home after a minute but Liz proved to be a bit of a surprise! :3 I think you've given me enough little details here and there about her character to make me really interested. And Charlie was so attracted to her that he was almost shy! And fumbling? Interesting! :D I can't wait to see how they meet up again and he forgot to take his ship home, huh? Hehehe. Something to break up the daily routine is something he needs and I hope Liz helps him through it or, he can get past his grief on his own. :D
And, no CC's! Everything was lovely and thanks so much for the read!
Much love,
Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi there Gabbie!! Thank you so much for coming back to review this chapter, and for getting to it so quickly! ♥

I really felt like the fact that Charlie's departure to America was unexpected made it all the more amazing, although I'll admit that I was little worried that readers would find it unbelievable. At this point, I honestly can't even remember what made me pick Rhode Island/New England as a good place for him, but I do remember looking up ports to see where ships disembarked in the U.S., so that probably had a lot to do with it. :P

I'm really glad that the whole "Muggle World" and "grief" things worked for you and weren't hard to grasp; that's another couple of things that I was concerned about with this, so thank you for mentioning them!! :D

I certainly hope Liz is a good surprise, and I'm glad to see that she's got you interested! I really can't wait to see what you think of the next 2 chapters!

Thank you again for your amazing and thoughtful review!!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Elphaba and Boyfriends Secrets and Surprises

4th February 2013:
Hi, Elphaba here again! :)

This is a really sweet chapter! I'm happy to see Charlie coping in the muggle world and obviously very happy with Liz. I think a job like construction definitely would suit him, as you describe.

I would have liked to see a little more conflict in this chapter. Charlie mainly seems to struggle with himself, and while you do mention his hesitance to tell Liz about his family and his family about Liz, I'm interested in seeing more in-depth depiction of his thoughts and actions.

For instance, this is really good: "Liz still believed all of Charlie's family to be dead. This made Charlie feel horrible, and the only way he could convince himself he wasn't lying to his girlfriend was by telling himself that the family thing was just a 'secret' that he was waiting to reveal." But I wonder what kind of inner arguments he has with himself. Also, have there been any close calls over the past year, where Liz found or almost found one of his letters? Has she ever noticed that he is upset about something and asked what's wrong? How would he explain it? I think exploring some of these situations would be really interesting.

I really like Charlie's nervousness when he proposes, and his fear that she may not say yes. He's very endearing in this scene. I like Liz's filterless mouth, too: "Are you sure?" :)

I'm interested to see what happens next, and what happens when Charlie's secret is revealed!

Author's Response: Hi there Elphaba! Welcome back!! And thank you for getting to this so quickly!!

Aww, thank you! I'm really glad you thought this was a sweet chapter; that's what I was aiming for! As for his job, I really couldn't think of any other Muggle job for him! I just had this strong feeling that he'd want to do something outside, and that was the first (and only) thing that came to mind! I'm glad you agree!

I appreciate your suggestion about the need for more conflict, and I can promise you that there's PLENTY of conflict on the way. In fact, a good part of the rest of the story will be conflict-full, so we'll just call this the calm before the storm. XD *winks*

And I know that it's a little later than you anticipated/hoped, but some of what Charlie's been dealing with internally will be revealed in the next chapter, as it leads up to some other conflicts that are coming up. I will definitely re-request once that chapter's up, and when it is, I hope it's what you've been hoping for!! :D

Hehe; Charlie is so cute! I really loved writing him in this chapter, with all his nervousness!

Thank you SO much for the amazing review and feedback, dear! I really appreciate it and I will definitely be back to re-request once Chapter 6 is up!! :D



 Report Review

Review #46, by aquabluez17 Enough

3rd February 2013:
Hey! Mya here =) Back for you re request! Thanks for that :D

Aww Charlie! It's not your fault! I really did love what you did. Rita was a great way to show Charlie's guilt and everything he was feeling. Poor boy. I know the Weasley's wont be mad at Charlie and I hope he realizes that.

Great work here really! I wish I could have gotten the names of the co workers but its alright.

I noticed a few grammar errors nothing too serious though.

Great work!!

Author's Response: Hi again Mya! Thank you for getting to this so quickly!!

Aww, I agree! Poor Charlie; it definitely ISN'T his fault... now if we could just convince HIM of that! I really had a feeling that Rita could probably drag Charlie's emotions out of him, whether he wanted her to or not, so I'm glad you liked that!

More than one person has mentioned that they'd have liked to know the co-workers names, so when I get a chance I may go back and try to fix that.

Thank you SO much for your amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #47, by patronus_charm Six Months Later

3rd February 2013:
Hey it's patronus_charm with your review!

I'm so glad that you put the time frame in, I know it may sound like a minor thing, but so many author forget to do that, so the readers left feeling confused about when it's set, so all I can say is thank you for including it!

It was funny seeing how Charlie managed in the muggle world, I can see why he would find it bemusing that you needed a passport to travel, but I guess wizards don't really have such a high risk of terrorism, or identity theft ;)

I liked Charlie's reflective observations of the world and his surroundings, however I do feel there could be a little dialogue just to break it up a little, as sometimes there was just so much great description you couldn't take it all in, so it lost some of its power.

I loved the way Charlie was so mesmerised by Liz, as it was funny to see that from guy who previously spent most of his time with dragons. I noticed that she had the same eyes as Lily, what is with them and making guys fall in love with you?

I loved that little scene between the two, it was just so awkward as they both seemed nervous, it was just so funny and sweet to read, as you could tell that they were both interested in one another.

Overall I thought it was another great chapter and Charlie's characterisation is getting better and better, and you're starting to feel you really know him now, as he's not grieving as much now! Keep up the great work, Kiana :D

Author's Response: Hello again, Kiana!

Once again, thank you SO much for getting to this so quickly! I really do LOVE your reviews!! ♥

I'm really glad that you mentioned the timeline... in one of my other stories I didn't pay quite as much attention to detail, and it was pretty easy for things to fall apart from there. And by "Fall apart" I mean that I forgot that I had written something in a previous chapter that didn't chronologically match up with what was in the next chapter. So with this story I tried to pay a lot of attention to detail and keep things as close to Canon as possible, and it's nice to know that it was appreciated!!

Haha! I thought adding Charlie's confusion about Muggle artifacts would be a nice touch, so I'm glad you did, too!

Thank you for your comment about the need for dialogue to break up the description. You're right, there's definitely a whole lot of description here and not much dialogue to give the reader a break, so when I get a chance I'll try to find a way to go back and fix that! Thank you so much for the suggestion, and for pointing that out!!

I really like seeing Charlie in a romantic setting instead of a dangerous setting, too. I know I may be a little biased, though! :P And I actually did think of Lily very briefly when I decided to give Liz green eyes, so it's funny that you mentioned that there! :D

I've really come to love that little awkward-nervous scene between the two of them as well; it was really fun to write!!

I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter, dear! And again, Thank you SO MUCH!



 Report Review

Review #48, by The Misfit New Development

28th January 2013:
Hello! It's me again! And using my actual penname this time, which is sort of a shame - I quite liked Santa In A Dress! :P (And I'm really sorry for how long it's taken me to get to this review, btw!)

I really liked Charlie's internal monologue in this chapter; it was really interesting to see his confusion at aspects of the Muggle world that don't exist in the wizarding world. And that idea of going every day, and then going home if Liz doesn't turn up to work, was excellent!

I'd have liked to have seen a little more about what Charlie does when he isn't at the bar... how does he get money to live on? :3

Your scene with Liz and Jeff was amusing - Jeff is characterized well as the idiot who won't take no for an answer. :P I also enjoyed the moment where Liz thinks about Charlie likes, completely subtracting herself from the list of possibilities, and then being pleasantly surprised when Charlie asked her out! (Walking her home counts as a date, right? Yup, it does!)

I caught a small formatting typo: Now Charlie could actually feel the redness on his face, and it was slowly creeping onto his ears as well. His heart was pounding rapidly, and he found that he could no longer look Liz in the eye. Seeing his reaction gave Liz all the answer she needed.
ďI knew it!Ē she whispered excitedly. ďAnd itís someone here, tooÖ is it Megan?Ē There should be a space in between the paragraph and Liz's dialogue. :)

And awww. The mention of family, and brothers, and poor Fred! Charlie's thoughts on the situation were extremely realistic - it can be difficult to feel happy knowing that someone else will never have the opportunity to. And what a lovely start to their relationship! ♥

Author's Response: Yay! You're back!! Haha! I really liked Santa in a Dress, too! And no worries, you didn't even HAVE to come back and read/review this so the fact that you chose to is amazing!!

Ah, Charlie's internal monologues! It seems to be his best way of expressing himself here lately! XD

After comments like this from you and other reviewers, I realize that I really SHOULD have put in more information about what Charlie does when he's not at the bar. As far as money, he did have some gold converted at Gringott's before he came to Rhode Island, so that's how he's been surviving thus far, but I really should have explained that, so thank you for pointing it out!!

Haha! Jeff is an idiot. He's one of those characters who really means nothing and just got thrown in there for plot advancement... I'm pretty terrible at that! XD Basically I just needed a reason for Liz and Charlie to start talking about boyfriend/girlfriend type things, and Jeff was the solution! And Yep! Walking her home counts in my book!!

EEK! I'm so glad you pointed that formatting thing! I hadn't even noticed it! Good eye, and thank you for mentioning it!!

Thank you SO much for the amazing review, dear!! ♥ *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #49, by ohmymerlin Secrets and Surprises

28th January 2013:
OH. MY. GAWD.

THAT WAS SO ADORABLE, JAYDE.

Even though I'm very angry at Charlie for not going home and not visiting his poor family, I just can't help but squee with excitement! :D

I LOVED the way he proposed! It was absolutely adorable! I just - MY FEELS.

ydhxjvhgxhccgujvfugkbgisukhogsdlxhodvguodsjl

THEY'RE JUST SO ADORABLE AND CUTE TOGETHER.

AMAZING CHAPTER, AMAZING CHAPTER! :D

10/10!

Author's Response: Surprise reviews make my day, and EEK! Your review made ME squee with excitement!! :D *hugs*

I know it's awful of Charlie not to go home and see his family, but I promise it's all for the good of the story. It will work out in the end, dear, I promise! :D

I was actually a bit worried about the proposal... I didn't want it to be too overdone or cheesy. So I'm glad you loved it and thought it was adorable!!

Haha! I LOVE THIS REVIEW!! I'm glad you think they're adorable and cute together! I can't wait to see what you think of future chapters!

Thank you SO MUCH for the AMAZING REVIEW!!! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #50, by patronus_charm Enough

26th January 2013:
Hey it's patronus_charm with your review!

I thought the way you portrayed the Weasley family grieving was very realistic and believable - exactly how I'd thought they would be. There's not very many stories which are start straight after the war ended, so this was nice to see, and very well done.

The way Molly is still carrying on with life, by looking after her family, and putting her grieving time after everything else is how I thought she would act, and George become very recluse as well, was great as he's lost his other half, so he's lost his spirit really!

The Weasley's sudden fame was also very realistic, and you can feel their annoyance and pain, of constantly having fans and press following them everywhere, since they've just lost friends and family, they need their own space, which isn't given them to them.

Even though there's not much direct speech in this chapter, you still feel very engaged, and this gives you more of a chance to describe the surroundings and peoples feelings, so this worked very effectively.

Typical Rita Skeeter to turn up and cause mayhem! I felt so sorry for Charlie, as he seemed to get more and more broken down recently, and then for her to come along. But, perhaps it was a good thing, as it allowed him to get his guilt over Fred's death out, and show that it wasn't his fault he was getting reinforcements. Though to have it all over the Prophet probably isn't a great side effect, of finally voicing your guilt!

Wow, I didn't expect Charlie to suddenly depart from Romania, buit I guess there were warning signs with his gradual mental breakdown. I feel so sorry for him, as most people tend to overlook him, but this death obviously did deeply affect him!

Overall I thought it was a great chapter, as I thought Charlie was portrayed perfectly, and you've made me want to track Skeeter down, and shout abuse at her, for what she did to him! Feel free to re-request, as this story is great! Kiana :)

Author's Response: Hi there Kiana! Thank you SO much for getting to this so quickly!!

I'm glad that you thought the portrayal of the grief was believable and realistic. I had actually just been through the death of a family member shortly before writing this, so that made it a little easier to emotionally connect while I was writing.

I couldn't think of any other way for Molly or George to grieve... it all just seemed to fit to me! I'm glad it seems that way to you, too! But I'm not glad they're grieving :(

The whole "fame" thing is exactly what I envisioned happening after the Battle of Hogwarts... glad to see I'm not the only one! And I'm really glad to hear that this chapter works without a lot of dialogue.

I completely agree; stupid Skeeter! But unfortunately, her involvement was necessary for things to unfold as they do. And I completely agree; having it broadcast to the whole wizard world certainly isn't a good side effect of finally expressing your feelings! :(

I was hoping for Charlie's departure to come across in the chapter just as sudden as it occurs to him, so I'm glad that payed off! And I agree, many people DO overlook Charlie. Hopefully we can change that with this story! :D

Haha! Yes, let's go track Skeeter down together!! XD

Thank you SO much for the amazing and thoughtful review dear! I'm glad to know you'd like for me to re-request, because I most certainly will be!! :D *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>