Reading Reviews for Bend or Break
  
340 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Natalie Coming to Terms

8th May 2013:
This story is beautifully written and I'm so lost in it. It's easy to empathise with the characters and that's down to your skills as a writer. Sincerely, this is one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of reading on here. I really do hope that you complete it, I can't wait for the next instalment.

Author's Response: Wow!! What an amazing review to wake up to :) I am working hard on completing it because I really want to see these characters' stories come to some sort of conclusion. I hope you continue to enjoy this

 Report Review

Review #27, by adluvshp An Ending & A Beginning

25th February 2013:
AditiDraco95 here for your requested review from the Forums. I usually don't begin reading chapters from the middle, so I had to start with chapter one. So, you'll have to keep coming back and re-requesting for further chapters =)

I must say, this seems like a great story. This opening chapter is quite powerful and very well-written. I like the plot - or what I have gathered of the plot so far. You have presented things in an interesting manner.

The scene of Hermione crying with her newborn child was a touching one. Harry and Ginny being there for her was good. Your descriptions are simple and natural, which I like. The atmosphere of grief looms over the narrative and pulled me in. I definitely feel like coming back and reading the next chapter.

The story seems headed in a neat direction. The vagueness of events you have maintained in this first chapter adds to the interest and sparks a curiosity, so that is good. I look forward to learn more of the plot - precisely the past events - and see Hermione's character as well as the storyline develop.

This was over all quite good and I didn't see any glaring grammar errors or so. The whole thing flowed smoothly and made for a nice read. I don't have any CC to give you =)

Feel free to re-request for chapter 2 once slots are open (I hope you do).

9/10
Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you! I will come back as I like that you were able to pick out so much out of this and giving me some real opinions on this :)

Char


 Report Review

Review #28, by blueirony Coward

24th February 2013:
You requested a review for this way back in April last year. I suppose the only thing I can say is that at least I haven't forgotten about you! I just let life run away from me sometimes and I neglect things like my review queue.

I don't know where you were in your story when you requested, but I read the entire thing. I feel like I owed you that much!

I'm not a huge Dramione fan. I have only read seen it written well once before because I find that it is always a bit too OTT and OOC. I find that it takes a really good reason for them to become close for Dramione to ever work.

Have you found that way? In a strange way, I think you have. If someone had told me the plot of this story before I had clicked on it, I probably would not have started reading it. That's not a reflection on you, it's just that this doesn't really seem like something I would particularly enjoy.

I'm glad that I did choose to read it, though. You write beautifully. I think that your strength is the way that you can capture the characters' emotions without saying much. The whole story has this aura of sadness and I can really see all the grief of all the characters in it. But you haven't overpowered it or made it cliche. It's really well done.

I also like the relationship that you have with Draco and Hermione. When I was reading this, I was thinking that the relationship between Draco and Jack didn't seem that real. In my head, it didn't make sense that Draco would suddenly want to protect and love this little boy. But I think that, as I read on, it made sense. I feel like this is as much about Hermione's grief as it is about Draco's grief.

I also like the parts with Sybil. She seems so sneaky and it's nice to have another plot which keeps readers guessing. And I feel like you haven't put it in just for the sake of having a sub-plot because it really does fit the rest of the story.

I liked this so far. As someone who isn't a raving fan of Dramione stories, you have done a good job in making me appreciate this!

Well done.

Jasmine :)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for actually taking the time to fulfill my request. You really didn't have to, you know :)

I appreciate that you stuck to my story even though you're not into Dramione. I really am trying to make it a story that anyone could read, even if they didn't like the Dramione pairing. That dislike is bred, in my opinion, because some authors just delve into the whole good-girl/bad-boy cliche a little to much.

Thanks to your insightful points as I feel more motivated to keep going in the direction I've chosen for this!

Char


 Report Review

Review #29, by Hania Coward

23rd February 2013:
Omg luv this when u gonna update? I'm eager

Author's Response: Yes! Thanks for looking and reading!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Hania An Ending & A Beginning

22nd February 2013:
pretty cool, startin ter lyke it :)

Author's Response: thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Sam Coward

18th February 2013:
This is such a good story! I read it all in a couple hours.. I'm hooked

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it so far! I'm going to keep going and hopefully the next chapter ain't too long coming! (Joking, I'm almost done.)

 Report Review

Review #32, by clare Coward

17th February 2013:
Hi there!

I just discovered Bend or break and read it all in one sitting.. I loved it! You do a great job at creating believably paced character progression. I love how Draco is turning out.

Really looking forward to you continuing this story. I'm looking forward to seeing how how Dramione cope with Hermione knowing the truth about THAT night..

So sitting on the edge of my seat until the next chapter (wouldn't it be crawl to keep me there too long?? :) ) Thanks again for some rather wonderful escapism..

Clare

Author's Response: Ah, thanks for leaving a review! It's good to know that this is interesting enough to catch your attention for sixteen chapters :)

I'm almost done with the next chapter!


 Report Review

Review #33, by MadiMalfoy Coward

24th January 2013:
Ah omg! That was intense! Sybil is a real b*!! You write phenomenally and with great attention to detail--it makes it that much more believable. Your subtle intertwining of Jack/Hermione with the happiness in Draco's life hints at something that shouldn't be but may eventually be even with Ron's death lurking over their shoulders. Loved it, update quickly! xx

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, Sybil doesn't have much going for her. Your compliment on writing believably is actually so appreciated as this story is meant to focus on that. I sometimes schluff off on the details so have been wrangling myself onto that more with this tale. Thank you so so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Emily Coward

22nd January 2013:
I just picked up this story, and I think it's brilliant. Please keep writing, I want to know what happens. Why doesn't Draco bring his wand? How will Hermione react to Sybil? I have so many questions, please keep this story going.

Author's Response: Thank you! All these questions shall be answered shortly :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by forsakenphoenix Forged in Flames

4th July 2012:
I still won't become a Dramione shipper, but there's something about your Draco and Hermione that has me rooting for them.

I love the little bit of normalcy we see in the first part of this chapter with the moving. Things seem so easy between them now and their friendship is moving along so well, which pleases me because the idea of Draco never seeing Jack again makes me beyond sad. I loved how Hermione sort of rebuked him for taking a break, but he just wanted to hold the baby and baby smells! Draco loves baby smells. That's just so precious.

I'm glad, for Jack's sake, that Hermione accepted the trust fund, despite her little jab at Draco in the process. Not that I doubt their friendship won't eventually progress to more but it's nice that some part of Draco is tied in there with Jack, at least.

Poor Hermione can never catch a break, can she? I'm glad she has Draco there to help her though, with moving and Jack and oh my god, I have to skip a head a little bit but THEIR HUG. I just...I'm a pile of mush. But okay, so yeah, I'm glad her father is okay and I can understand Hermione's hysterics. She's just overwhelmed and Draco is so sweet!

I love your Draco in this story, seriously. He's just so down-to-earth, like he's been humbled by his past and he's turned out to be such a great guy, and he'll be good for Hermione to move on with. But I am glad you're pacing this so slowly, that they're developing a friendship first so that it can eventually build into something more. That's the best way to do it.

Great chapter update! I can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Hee, I don't expect you to become a Dramoine-er Missy but I'm glad all the same that you're willing to read my humble story :)

I'm glad that Draco is a likable person since he's the character that needs to be made relatable in a Dramione. I absolutely love writing Jack and Draco interactions so you'll see me indulge in that (if I can get myself writing again)

Thanks for stopping by as always! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by forsakenphoenix Fragile Friends

21st June 2012:
Oh my god, Char. I just want to strangle Sybil. You have no idea. That woman is completely vile. Finally, things are going well for Hermione and Draco. They're being friendly and then she's going to come in and ruin it all. I could just punch her in the face. I guess I wasn't expecting a smooth ride towards a happily ever after. But still.

I love getting glimpses of Jack and Draco through Hermione's eyes. It's so fascinating to see a widowed mother who has to watch her son interact with a man that isn't his father, but still holds so much love for him. I'm glad she finally saw reason and started allowing the boys to spend more time together and bond like men do. :)

I'm sorry for my slacker ways and not keeping up, but I'm going to read and review the next chapter soon. I promise! Then you'll have to update again soon. ;)

Author's Response: Although I do not wish for you to become a murderer, the fact that you do want to kill Sybil just means that I'm writing her right! I'm glad that the developing relationship is coming off right. I totally forgive you on being slack, I myself am doing the same thing as I have not been able to finish the next chapter!

Thanks for coming by, as always! :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by forsakenphoenix Moving On

14th June 2012:
I'm sad I haven't caught up as much as I would have liked, but hopefully that'll change soon. I've missed this story and your Draco, Hermione, and Jack (never thought I'd ever say that).

I don't mind a bit of a time jump. It was a natural progression, I think. There's only so much you can write of them doing the same thing over and over again, you know? It was nice that you revisited them meeting up at the park, though. Just so we know that they still had some interaction.

Hermione's thoughts about Draco seem to be shifting a bit, in the positive direction, which makes me happy. It made me sad at first when she kept bringing up his Death Eater past but seeing them interact in this chapter, Draco being a good guy and just following her around to help with bags, must've really opened her eyes to how he's changed and matured. I like that she's not hiding behind her grief as much and that she could take the time to recognize those changes in Draco too.

I know I've said before how staying in that apartment was good and bad for her, and I think I'm happy that she's considering moving out. Starting fresh with Jack. Just because she's leaving behind the home her and Ron built together doesn't mean she's going to forget her memories of him, no matter how scared she is of that.

I liked that you ended this chapter with more of Draco, and seeing him open up to a friend. I like Mikael. He's kind of gross, but he's passionate and he seems to care about Draco. I'm happy to see Draco finally feeling better about himself too. It's still a long road for them, but I feel like things are looking up and moving forward and I'm happy with the progress they're making with each other.

Author's Response: Although I do not wish for you to become a murderer, the fact that you do want to kill Sybil just means that I'm writing her right! I'm glad that the developing relationship is coming off right. I totally forgive you on being slack, I myself am doing the same thing as I have not been able to finish the next chapter!

Thanks for coming by, as always! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by Vienna Frost Forged in Flames

26th May 2012:
I. LOVE. THIS. SO. MUCH. One of my new favourites! I loved the hug- first entrance of a new love, I hope?:) EXTREMELY well written, love. Ms. Rowling would be proud!
xx V
(P.S Come take a look at my story?)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Vilauu Forged in Flames

24th May 2012:
love this story :) can't wait more :)

Author's Response: Thank you :) Bear with me because I've got writer's block right now :(

 Report Review

Review #40, by Broken Butterfly Forged in Flames

23rd May 2012:
I think everything is working well with the story still. It makes sense, there is good characterization, the flow is superb. You are right on track.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by TooMuchMagic Forged in Flames

17th May 2012:
I think I'm in love with this story. You won't believe how pleased I am to have stumbled upon something so good! Since the starting, your writing's been wonderful and you used lovely word choices throughout. I feel that your characterisation is good as well, and your plot is layered and well thought out. And um I hate Sybil, she's just scum on my screen :| Okay phew glad to get that out of the way!

I really like where you're going with this story, and that you're taking your time with the pacing. Take all the time that you need! I feel that you could write a hundred chapters of this and I would still enjoy it *feels sheepish*

I can't remember everything that I meant to comment on because I just read the whole thing in one go... I do remember you mentioning that you weren't sure how to go about with Hermione's grief at losing Ron though, and I thought you did it with realism. The whole story is believable in my books. :) I'm so stoked to read the rest! You've written something great, and I'm going to give you a 10/10 for it. x

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for this. It does my heart good to see that you're liking the progress of this story. As you can see in my author's notes, I've struggled over the pacing and such and have been tempted to just "cut to the chase". It's feedback like yours that reminds me of why I'm taking the route I'm going!

Sybil is scum. Unfortunately there's only a special type of product that will get her off our screens for good...

Thank you so much for this! And by the by, I think you were the lucky 300th review!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #42, by Javeria Forged in Flames

15th May 2012:
Another lovely chapter. It was nice that Draco was there to comfort Hermoine. Before I though that you take too long to update, but now I think that it's fine because each chapter is so well-thought that it' worth waiting for. The story is so real to me that, when I am reading it I can actually see it playing before my eyes.

-Javeria

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're liking it. I'm terribly sorry about the long pauses in between but I'm trying to speed that up :) I go in spurts sometimes. I'm glad that you think it's worth the wait though! That made me smile!

 Report Review

Review #43, by ScorpiusRose17 Forged in Flames

13th May 2012:
Hi there!

I really enjoyed this chapter. I liked the way that Hermione started out as the normal OCD Hermione and needed to get everything done. Draco was the one who wanted to just relax and take his time. I love the interaction between him and Jack. I think it is a spot on portrail of how a child that young would react especially because they tend to have their favorite parent at times. In this case adult.

I was excited to see how their friendship blossomed. The way that they have that ability to acknowledge one another and their meanings without having to put it all out there was nice to see. It gave it a lot of depth. I also liked how Draco wants to do some good with the money that he has rather then be the selfish brat that we have always known. I love the change he is making.

I felt horrible for Hermione when she recieved that phone call from her mother. I could personally relate to Hermione quite a lot in this chapter and I think you touched on the sensitive topic of a person suffering a stroke and how it effects their family very well, emotionally and physically.

I am so excited to find out what happens next! Keep up the superb work!! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: I'm sorry for whatever similar situation it is you found yourself to Hermione's situation here. I haven't had any personal family with a stroke but I've had to help a few people through times like that in my line of work.

Draco's trying to do good but he's still got some of that brattiness that we know of from his younger years. He really thinks that with enough money he can buy anything but I think he's starting to learn. I'm so excited that you're liking how everyone's developing!

Thanks so much for this!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #44, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Forged in Flames

13th May 2012:
If the goal was good, then didn't that mean how he got there didn't matter?

^ I really liked this line because it really shows how much Draco still doesn't understand yet. Money can't buy happiness, it can't forge a friendship, it can't keep Hermione from being upset about the truth about what happened and it can't keep Jack in his life either just because they need each other.

It matters. Just because the goal is good how he got there matters as well. I think he understands that just a pinch but needs to be exposed to some more conflict before he realizes he just needs to be 'him,' whoever that is and saying 'Sorry' or speaking the truth would be the step to understanding that. Until he talks to Hermione and properly deals with Sybil he's going to still be teetering on 'I'm a good guy--but still a bad guy.'

Hugging was not in the Draco-Hermione Friendship Booklet.

^ That was funny and cute but it also made me realize just how much this story is different. You really make your other characters, Harry, Ginny, Jean, etc, believable because you still give them a 'life' and a story. In the real world because some one passes away we still have to go on with our every day lives. We still have to go to work, we have to cook, we have to clean and we have to interact with people. They would still take care of her if she needed to be taken care of but showing that Draco was the one that had to comfort her and Draco was the one that laughed with her it really made me realize that the lives of the others have been continuing where they left off while Hermione/Draco find their footing which is entirely believable.

Author's Response: Yes! I'm so glad that you glommed onto that line! I wanted readers to see that Draco's changing but he's still Draco. He's still got some "old school" values in him that he's running up against in his struggle to walk in the light.

Yay! I'm glad that there was cuteness in here! It's been such a heavy sort of story so I just wanted to inject that in there.

You actually made such a good point here of the others' having their own lives. I want to portray that more in my coming chapters because I feel like I've incidentally introduced that concept into my story in my interest to keep Draco and Hermione evolving.

Thanks so much for this insightful review! :)

xChar


 Report Review

Review #45, by cazvalleygirl An Ending & A Beginning

11th May 2012:
Excellent start, looking forward to reading the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy this!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Janner Forged in Flames

10th May 2012:
A great chapter with a slightly fluffy end.

The story continues to be an excellent piece of work.

Well done, keep it u[p

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it fluffy :) I was going for that! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #47, by KayJordan Forged in Flames

10th May 2012:
I clicked on this story today and read all 15 chapters in one sitting. This is a marvelous story and you have a remarkable grasp of each character that already existed plus you have created characters that are fascinating in their own right. I am completely hooked and can't wait to read more. Please update soon.

Author's Response: THank you so much for this! I'm I/P the newest chapter so hopefully you don't have long to wait! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy my story. It's a very precious thing to me.

 Report Review

Review #48, by jujubee Forged in Flames

10th May 2012:
I love this chapter :) It made me smile to see Draco and Hermione's relationship grow so much in that one hug and then for them to be able to share that laugh together. Draco's awkward question seemed spot on as well, and the avoiding eye contact scene made me laugh. Great job! Please keep writing more!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you were able to see that growth and that you still found the characters likable despite the fact that their actions were considerably lighter than before. Thank you so much and I shall continue!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Brittanique Forged in Flames

9th May 2012:
Thank Merlin Sybil wasn't in this chapter. XP I probably would have raged a bit.

Anyways, very cute chapter. I'm really glad that Hermione's dad is okay. I can't imagine what would have happened to her if he had passed. It makes me sad to think that she would turn in on herself again.

Loved the ending though. Really sweet. Hugs and laughs.. And he's making her dinner! Haha

"Hugging was not in the Draco-Hermione Friendship Booklet." was my favourite line in the chapter.

As always, can't wait for the next one.
Brittanique

Author's Response: :) I would've killed Sybil off if I'd written about her two times in a row. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this! That line was my fave as well :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by FeltonLewis Forged in Flames

9th May 2012:
Kjskhsbhkbsvbfkhbfvs I have no words for this story. Its so fantastically brilliant. I think I've been reading this story from almost the beginning and it blows my mind every time you update. Seriously. I write too and it's stories like your's and authors like you who inspire me so much :) Thank you.
This was seriously amazing :D Update soon and keep writing, you are great. xx

Author's Response: You completely made my day with this, I'll have you know! :) Thank you for taking the time to let me know what you thought of it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>