Reading Reviews for Seven Flowers for my Flower
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #26, by maskedmuggle Rose

7th January 2011:
Hello! :)
I came by to check out your new chapter.. I don't think this is it, but I never read this one! Must've been added after I read the first 3 chapters!

So anyway, another lovely chapter! Dancing roses- how James!
& Lames.. haha nice joke.

Another well written chapter, great characterisation and lovely chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: No, this isn't it. This is from before the queue closed. My chapter should have been out by now, I am afraid that I may have messed up something again (though I was so careful this time).

And haha, thanks. The dancing roses somehow came up spontaneously. I am beginning to think like James! :DD (lol, that's dangerous)

Anyways, I am glad that you liked the chapter and the characterisation. :) Since this story is almost solely driven by characterisation, it would have been awful if it wasn't good ;) *hugsies*


 Report Review

Review #27, by firefly910 Rose

4th January 2011:
Hi :) It's Callie from the forums.

I love it! I can just imagine James feeling all smooth but not wanting to admit he actually does like Lily. I love Lily's character too, she is so adamant that James Potter is an arrogant little thing that she can't see what is happening.

You have captured the way relationships develop throughout school perfectly! Boys and girls just aren't allowed to like each other are they?

Can't wait for the next chapter, such a sweet story :D

Author's Response: Callie :) Thanks for deciding to drop by :)

Ha! Yes, probably the only really hard thing about this story was trying to capture what a "child's voice" should be. But I am fairly happy with the result. James and Lily came through as the persons I wanted them to be.

Thanks again for the review! You're awesome ;)


 Report Review

Review #28, by liza_potter Violet

31st December 2010:
What a lovely story! ^_^

I really liked the two quotes- I didn't know violets represented forgiveness! Even though the story is light and sweet, there's still some darkness in it, you know? Like about Lily and Petunia. It's not all rainbow and smiles, and I like that. :)

I also like how James doesn't love Lily yet. I mean, he's what, eleven or twelve in this? What's love to eleven year olds? At the same time, there's hints he likes her. He can't figure out why she's friends with Snape, he likes the smell of her shampoo - it's all so, so sweet.

Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you and sorry for not replying sooner! And I cannot tell you how happy I am that you notice a bit of darkness in the story. A lot of people comment only on the fluffy part, but I like to think that there is something beyond the fluffy, because as you said - life is not all rainbows and smiles. :)

Oh, yes, I don't like it when in stories James is immediately in love with her - does a 11 year old even know what real (romantic) love is? o_O

Thanks again and have a great new year!
Harley


 Report Review

Review #29, by LynnelikesPotter Rose

30th December 2010:
Haha, this one was really funny! I've never read Pride and Prejudice. So I didn't laugh at the irony because, well, I don't see any irony. Ha, anyway. Great chapter (as always)! You never seem to disappoint!

I'm really looking forward to 5th year! Is the chapter going to have anything to do with Snape saying she's a mudblood?

I keep wondering what the 7th flower is going to be! I really, really thought it was going to be a rose! I thought maybe James would ask her out with a rose in 7th year! But I guess I was wrong (that's weird).

Author's Response: The irony is because the main characters in Pride and Prejudice have to overcome their initial preconceptions about each other, which is a bit like Lily and James' story (at least that's what I intended, lol xD)

I am glad that I didn't disappoint. I think the next one is a strong chapter, since yes, it actually (Spoilers!) explores partly the incident with Snape. It's less fluffy and humorous than my other chapters but it will show a lot more of James' personal growth. It's also the longest one so far. xD

As for the 7th flower - I don't want to spoil the surprise, because I am sure that my choice will surprise. :D But in a good way, this flower is even a better symbol of love than the rose. You'll see. :)))

Thanks again for leaving me such a lovely review. Happy holidays!

Kail


 Report Review

Review #30, by liza_potter Snapdragon

28th December 2010:
Aww, how cute! I really like your concept for the story, and it's off to a great start. :)

I really liked all the small details you mentioned. Like how Frank Longbottom was known as the boy who ran away from flowers - oh, the irony. :P And how the Fat Lady liked singing, much to the displeasure of the students. Hehe.

James is such a Gryffindor. Being the 'prince' who gets to save Lily... At the same time, he wanted the snapdragon back for a prank. Haha. What can you do - he's an eleven year old boy. And Lily knew all along, too. It's sweet, though, that she kept the flower.

Great story! :)

--Liz

Author's Response: D'aww... thanks for the sweet review. I am glad you found the story enjoyable. I was having an illegal amount of fun writing it. Ha - everybody likes the part about Frank :DDD

And yes - James is a Gryffindor though and through. Such an energetic and weird kid. xD Oh, what can I say - Lily and James melt my heart :)))


 Report Review

Review #31, by Alopex Snapdragon

27th December 2010:
Have I already said this to you? I don't like the Marauders. I don't care for James Potter much. And I am not very fond of James/Lily as a ship. Even when a story is good, I usually don't enjoy it.

However . . . I really enjoyed this one! Most of the time I find James/Lily stuff rather corny, but I thought it was so sweet that she kept the flower all those years!

There were definitely things that made me laugh. For instance, the bit about the only thing faster than the speed of light is the speed of lies. Also, when James was contemplating taking the flower back, I had to snicker a bit. The bit about spilling jam on her was also funny, though I also would have been furious!

This took place in their first year, right? I'm not sure when Lily met Severus, but I thought it was close to the time she got her Hogwarts letter. I could be wrong (I'm not very well-versed with Marauder timeline stuff), but I didn't think she'd known him for "years." Minor point, though.

I don't often see stories with such young characters, and it's a refreshing change. Many stories here center around teenage characters, but you've embraced the younger years as well. James did seem "young" (that is, eleven), so I was impressed by that. Overall, this is a good start to the story, and I'm surprised I was drawn in by a Lily/James!

Author's Response: Alopex, I know exactly what you mean. Believe it, there was a time when I didn't like at all Marauder stories. And I totally despised James Potter, because let's face it, he wasn't always the nicest person. I guess a miracle happened then and I changed my mind. xD

Nevertheless, I am glad that you were able to enjoy this one. I think I am partly trying to justify James' behaviour, because after all, he was just a kid then. God knows that I wasn't a pleasant teen either.

As for the laughs, I am happy that you found funny things, because unlike my other fic, , here, I wasn't specifically aiming for funny - I just let things flow.

For Lily knowing Severus - we know that he recognised her abilities even before she got the letter, so I assume they have known each other before that. A lot is unknown about that era, so I am using this leeway.

All in all, I am glad that a Lily/James story interested you. :) I know it's not for everyone but those sweet kids certainly have their charm ;)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Jenna822 Violet

26th December 2010:
Another cute and sweet chapter. This one gave me some giggles, mostly centered around the Quidditch and Sirius things. I like how you can lay out some hard emotions and sad facts (such as the Petunia situation) but still keep the chapter light and cheerful. :D --Jenna

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. Yes, this fic is mostly light and cheerful though there is some drama in chapter 5. Muhaha :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by Jenna822 Snapdragon

26th December 2010:
Aww this was a really cute chapter!

I thought I'd come by and check out a James/Lily from someone who loves them. :)

I really like this opening. It was honest and adorable. It captured emotions while still being fluffy and sweet. I'm looking forward to checking out the rest of this. --Jenna

Author's Response: Hahah, I cannot deny that this was a wonderful idea on your part, Jenna xD

And I am super happy to hear that another Lily/James writer/fan likes the story :))


 Report Review

Review #34, by moonbaby11 Snapdragon

26th December 2010:
Aw, I loved the fluffiness in this one-shot. The one thing I love about James/Lily is the fluffiness (and humour) that is normally involved in fics about them. I thought that this story was really cute, especially that no matter how much Lily hated James over the years, she kept the flower. I thought that was really sweet, and smiled when I read that part. Overall, the whole things was good, especially since you said that you don't normally write romance.

Ha, I laughed at the part abotu Frank Longbottom running away from the flower. I thought that was funny, and I liked how you used Frank, and not just a random OC (or Peter Pettigrew).

I thought it was neat that James was intrested in snapdragons, even though he didn't really like flowers. I have to say that snapdragons are pretty, and cool looking.

I thought this was a really great one-shot, and I can't wait to see what other flowers James gives her. I'll wait to read the other chapters, just in case you hit me with a snowball again! ;)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review moonbaby :)) I am glad that you liked the fluffiness of it all (though I wasn't aiming for fluffiness, apparently it happened xD).

Everybody likes the part about Frank! Maybe I should include him in the future again :DD

And yeah - snapdragons are definitely cool looking. They are a bit unusual when you think of flowers, but that's the point, right? ;)

Anyways, I am glad you liked it and thanks again.

Harley :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by Singularity Snapdragon

26th December 2010:
This was very cute and fluffy :D I think you've done a great job introducing the characters and portraying what their relationship would have been like circa first year. I'm not usually a fan of James Potter, but you've introduced a bit of a sweeter side to him while still keeping him in character. Well done!

Also, my very favorite part is the tiny little detail about Frank Longbottom being "afraid of flowers" since Neville becomes the herbology professor. Clever :P

I'm sure I'll come back and read the rest of this, but for now...*throws snowball*

Author's Response: Heheh. Funny thing is, I was not aiming for fluffy but it somehow became so. xD I just love Lily/James too much. As for James - while I believe he was a bit insufferable at Hogwarts, I give him immense credits for being able to change and become a nice decent man in the end. :)

Ha! A lot of people like that part with Frank :)) It's really ironic how his son is so better with flowers than him. xD

*Dodges snowball*

Happy Holidays!
Harley


 Report Review

Review #36, by FoundriaPenguin Rose

24th December 2010:
Yay for the overrated rose! :)

I love how James gave her multicolored dancing roses. XD And Lily's mental confession to herself literally made me do a happy little dance in my head! Yes, I get pretty involved in stories I read. :P

Anywho, I like Mal. I don't know why, and even though "mal" is the Latin root for bad, I still like her. Maybe I'll start disliking her later in the story if she does something mean, but she made Lily see sense. 8D

For some reason I'm seeing more grammar mistakes in this chapter than the others. I'm guessing you rushed to get this out to the queue? :) Just keep in mind that you may want to go back and fix those.

AND LOL LAMES.
SUCH WIN.

I added this story to my favorites btw. xD Can't wait for the next flower installment!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Haha, yes, as I already said I am not a big fan of roses, but I thought that they needed to be present considering the circumstances.

As for Mal, I am glad you noticed her, I took the liberty to insert her into this story even though she is the main OC of a big story I am writing for her. (I am beginning to like my OCs too much -_-') And in that story, her name 'bad' actually has a lot of significance, but that's another story. :)))

As for the grammar mistakes, thanks for pointing them out. For some reason, I am very good at catching other people's mistakes, but not mine (facepalm). And this chapter, yes... I had most of the story written beforehand, but ch4 with the roses was missing because I just couldn't nail it. When I got the idea for it, I wrote it immediatly and didn't pay *that* much attention. Which is very bad, because I am not a native speaker and I have to check my writings twice as much. But let's face it, I was rushing for the queue. ^^ (after the queue reopens, I'll fix them immediately *ashamed*)

So... I am really really happy that you liked the story. :))) Thanks for all the super nice reviews and Merry Christmas! *hugs*

Best,
Harley


 Report Review

Review #37, by FoundriaPenguin Peony

24th December 2010:
I think I'm going to be saying "Aww" at the end of every chapter of this story, haha ^_^

I think you brought out the best friend bro thing well! :D That was really nice of Sirius to do. And I love your characterization of Sprout - she helped James out with the flower picking, yet she still gave him a detention!! Haha that cracked me up, as do the alternate uses Lily finds for the flowers. xD

There were a few punctuation marks missing in that last bit where Sirius & Lily are talking, so you might want to go back and fix those!

Other than that, great chapter!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: And I am going to say D'awww in response. I am glad that you liked it enough to continue reading. I am in a creative mood these days and I am writing several other things, but I put this story first since I am extremely partial to James/Lily. They are adorable.

And yes, Prof. Sprout is nice, but it would have been really strange for even the nicest teacher not to take in mind that James is breaking the rules. That's why - the detention part. :)))

Thanks again! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by FoundriaPenguin Violet

24th December 2010:
Awww! I love the violet connection you made in this chapter.
Again, I had no idea that violets symbolized forgiveness! :O

Anywho, I like how you don't say "Oh, James knew he was in love with her immediately" because let's face it - how likely is that when you're twelve years old? That want to impress her really sets it up nicely for what I think will come. ;) And the relationship with Lily, Petunia, and the violets doesn't hurt either. Glad you touched on that as well, and the irony that Lily kept her shampoo smelling like violets is nice. I've seen too many stories that say, "Lily disliked lilies since her name was lily, so she smelled like daffodils" or some other random flower. ^_^ I like the reasoning you bring up!

Everything is really very realistic, and I can't wait to read what happens in 3rd year! Realism makes everything much more enjoyable, in a way. Off to the next chapter. :D

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Oh, yes, I find it hard to believe that a 12 year old can be in love in the real sense of it. That's why for now it's just a little crush :)))

Yes, Lily keeping the shampoo in my mind means not only the *kind of* acceptance of James, but also that deep in her heart, she finds the ability to forgive Petunia.

Glad you liked it! ;)


 Report Review

Review #39, by FoundriaPenguin Snapdragon

24th December 2010:
Hey HarleyQuinn! Here from the Snowball Fight Review Thread in the CR!

Wow, I love this idea :D A lot of people try to connect Lily and James with flowers but rather unsuccessfully, to be honest. The connections just don't make sense sometimes, but your story is flowing quite nicely! I like how you manage to get the feelings of James and Lily across even when inserting somewhat snarky comments to make fun of little James and Lily at moments.

I like how you chose the snapdragon too - to be honest I've never seen one even though I've heard of them countless times. You're really motivating me to expand my flower knowledge!

I'll be continuing reviews on the other chapters as well. Great story!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: foundriapenguin, you are too nice :)) I am glad you like the flow of the story. It's a slow thing, nothing that much is happening, but that's of course not the point of it.

And yes, many people are pointing out the educational part of the flower story :DD Snapdragons are the best, we have them in my country and I found out that they grow in Scotland, too so I just couldn't leave them out. xD


 Report Review

Review #40, by hpffisawesome Rose

23rd December 2010:
Ha, this one was funny, too. Update soon, I want to see what happens in the 5th year! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for all your nice reviews! They made my day better :))) I am happy you enjoy the story.
Happy holidays!

Best,
Kaileena


 Report Review

Review #41, by hpffisawesome Peony

23rd December 2010:
Aw, they were each other's lucky charms. How unique. I liked this chapter best so far, but I'm sure I'll have to change when I read the next chapter. 10/10!

Author's Response: I am glad you like this one the best, I also like it though my fav is number 5. which will be up when the HPFF queue reopens, aka 5 Jan.

 Report Review

Review #42, by hpffisawesome Violet

23rd December 2010:
Nice quote choices, and nice job with the rest of the chapter! You make it sound almost as if this really happened. James was really determined to do well in transfiguration for Remus. The violet shampoo was a nice touch as well.

Author's Response: Yes, James is one detemined cookie. I am glad you enjoyed the chappie :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by hpffisawesome Snapdragon

23rd December 2010:
Ha, Frank will forever be known as the boy who runs from flowers. How manly, lol. I liked this, James seemed so innocent. Can't wait to see how he transforms during the story. Great job!

Author's Response: Yes, I am so evil for doing this to Frank. Thanks for reviewing :)))

 Report Review

Review #44, by Canadian_Hogwarts Rose

22nd December 2010:
Yay! I got to read another chapter! I'm so happy! Roses. Of course. I knew they'd be in this story somewhere... and I was right! Why, oh why don't James and Sirius listen to Remus more often? I'm sure that if they had, Lily would have started dating James much, much earlier! Great writing, and awesome story. I' looking forward to some more after the queue reopens.

Author's Response: Heh, yes. Truth to be told I don't like roses very much but I thought that it was necessary to include them, since boys that age often use roses as some grand gift, which is mostly meanigless. But James managed to give it some originality, I hope ;)

Thank again for the lovely review and have a nice holiday!

Best,
Kail


 Report Review

Review #45, by ariellem Rose

22nd December 2010:
Wow you update fast! I liked this chapter especially the dancing roses how do you come up with these original ideas? 10/10 as normal.

Author's Response: Hey ariellem,

Yes, the fast updates are because I had most of the story written beforehand :)

I am glad you like the dancing roses and think they are original :))) I normally come up with weird ideas at night xD I am a night bird. :))

Hugs,
Kail/Harley


 Report Review

Review #46, by maskedmuggle Peony

22nd December 2010:
Awww, such a sweet, lovely chapter! I really loved this chapter!
Great situation, especially with Professor Sprout hehe.
I like how you researched what peony's are associated with, it really makes the story better!
This is also a good fic because I get to learn about flowers :L maybe i need that detention to learn about the fine art of herbology!
Anyway, the idea of a lucky charm, and James wanting to present a flower as a token of his victory was really clever and humourous.
The ending, with Lily writing it in her essay.. just, very smart.
Really loving this, keep writing!

Author's Response: Oh, another sweet review from you.

I am happy that this fic apparently is also educational on the topic of flowers. :D And yes, the flowers I chose are symbolic on a lot of levels for their relationship and their personalities as well, I am glad that the idea is coming through to the readers. I was a bit worried :)))

I actually have most of the fic written now, but you know - queue closure and such sad stuff. But I managed to slip one chapter more before it closed down!

Anyways, thanks for another wonderful, encouraging review. You made me smile. :)

Best,
Kail


 Report Review

Review #47, by maskedmuggle Violet

22nd December 2010:
I really loved this chapter!
Great writing! It's nice how you relate the flower to the situation here, with the shampoo.. and the last line finishes it off perfectly with a touch of humour! :)
This line was quite funny too, "He nudged Sirius. “Hey mate, can you do me a favour? When you go out of the classroom, can you “accidentally” spill Evans’ ink bottle and maybe push her books to the ground?”
I was wondering how James would give Lily the flower… another good situation, well written, enjoyable! :D

Author's Response: Hehe, I am glad that you enjoyed this chapter, too. I try not to be repetitive in the ways and reasons he gives her the flower. :))

And I am really happy that you like my writing. I am still recovering my half-forgotten writing skill, so I was a bit worried.

Hugs,
Kail


 Report Review

Review #48, by maskedmuggle Snapdragon

22nd December 2010:
Lovely first chapter!
I think the whole idea of this story is utterly brilliant! & the title fits so well & is so clever!
Seven Flowers for my Flower… how clever, really!
I don't know what a snapdragon is..but I just googled pictures, and it's pretty :) Very fitting!
You came up with a nice scene and executed it very well!
Very well written, enjoyable :)

Author's Response: Hello Charlotte :)) I am glad you saw this story and thanks for the super nice review.

Ah yes, the title is nothing special, but at the same time fits perfectly. I am glad it passed through my mind :D

And yes, they are a bit unusual flowers but I did my research - they actually grow in Scotland. And the interesting part is that they have dual symbolism - they can mean deception (James lied to Lily about taking it for her) and graciousness (he was kind to her). I think it fit perfectly. :)))

Best,
Kail


 Report Review

Review #49, by Canadian_Hogwarts Peony

19th December 2010:
Oh my gosh, what a super story! I really love it... James and Lily always make me so happy inside, even though most of the time they're fighting. I'm kinda weird that way I guess. I like how you're accentuating the friendship between James and Sirius in this chapter. Sirius' reaction to James' good luck charm theory was great; even though he thought James was a little stupid, he was still willing to bring Lily the flower. What a guy! Keep updating, because I really, really like this story, and I want to know what the next flower is!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! What a nice review :))

I am glad that you like Sirius' involment in the whole thing. In my opinion, friends can greatly influence your love life and that's why it's always good when they are supportive :)

And don't worry, the story is practically written, it just needs a bit of editing. I managed to squeeze 1 more chapter today in the queue before it closes.

Thanks again for the review,
Kaileena


 Report Review

Review #50, by _hedwig_ Peony

19th December 2010:
teehee :)

I heart Sirius Black.

Author's Response: I heart him too, I even requested him as a Christmas gift ;)

Happy holidays!
Kail


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>