Reading Reviews for This Ends Today
  
56 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Woodrow Rynne Perspectives

8th September 2011:
Hey, :)

This is a really nice story you got there. I loved the way you stole the missing moment in DH and described everyone's reactions. Your summary is really, really powerful and that is what drew me to this :). The characterisation was really great too! :)

A few problems I had with this, though. The emotions and the inner thoughts you conveyed weren't exactly hard-hitting for me. Of course, that might just have been a personal preference, but I still found them a li'l off. I mean saying 'Ginny's heart sank' seems like an understatement of sorts. I mean, shouldn't she have been shocked and even more pained to know that Harry had walked to his own death? And Ron saying continuously that Harry was his brother seemed a little formal and soap- operaish to me.

Sorry, if that came out as a little harsh, but I do like this a lot apart from that, and I do applaud you for your creativity. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing.

I always think that I stink at summaries, so I'm glad that you thought this one was good, and it made you want to read the story. I'm also glad that you liked the idea of the story and thought the characterization was mostly good.

I don't think you sounded harsh, and I appreciate your honesty. I'll look back through the story, especially at those bits and see if there's something I could do to make it a little more realistic.

Thanks again for your review :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #27, by DaBluBanana Perspectives

7th September 2011:
*Fangirl Scream* Waah! This was really really good! I loved reading it...it's just like what each of the characters would be thinking, and it's incredible how IC you've kept them all! I love your writing style, it's absolutely amazing, good job!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing :) I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story and thought that everyone was in character.

 Report Review

Review #28, by elisa Perspectives

29th August 2011:
I'm not going to write that this is my favorite HP fanfiction just because I haven't read the other you wrote yet but right now this is surly the best one I have ever read!!! I'm still crying...
You're really really good at portraying every character and at enlightening aspects often left behind!!
And Luna is simply INCREDIBLE!!! I have always wondered what could be going on in her head and know I really think I know! You have my everlasting admiration! =P
I really love the lines: “The boy who shared his candy with him on their first trip on the Hogwarts Express, the boy he had shared his family with every summer since”,
“He seemed notoriously bad at trying to kill Harry”; as well as the last lines of each chapter: they make you want to stand up and and go fight some deatheaters!!! XD

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, elisa!

The "he seemed notoriously bad at trying to kill Harry" is one of my favorite lines as well :P It's always been something that my friends and I have joked about, so it was nice to finally have a story that I could slip that in to.

Heck, yes! Let's go kick some Death Eater butt! Dumbledore's Army!

Thanks again for the review. I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by siriusloveforwriting Perspectives

28th August 2011:
Wow, I loved this story. I always wondered what would be going through the minds of those who saw Harry "dead", and I think you captured very realistic interpretations of their thoughts. I especially liked Professor McGonagall's passage because I always loved her character and I thought it was incredibly touching that she made the anguished sound at seeing Harry, so to see what she could've been thinking written so well was wonderful. Nice touch at the end, having Luna be the one to see what everyone else could not. Amazing job.
Sabrina :)

Author's Response: I always wondered too :P I'm really glad you enjoyed this piece and thought it was realistic.

McGonagall's was one of my favorite sections to write. I completely agree with you. I, like Harry, was a bit shocked and very touched when she was the first one to cry out at his death. She's this very strong, powerful professor, but at the same time, she's a softy at heart, and she has a big soft spot for Harry.

I'm glad you liked Luna's section at the end. It wasn't supposed to turn out that way, but sometimes characters get away from me :P I like that it brings a bit more hopeful ending to the story, since it's quite sad up to that point.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by momotwins Perspectives

6th August 2011:
Okay, this clinches it: You are awesome at characterization. Each vignette was better than the last, and I couldn't stop reading! I adore your characterizations, simply adore them: You do really well with Molly and Arthur, and I'd love to see you write more of them! I'm biased toward those two, of course. But I also love your Ron/Hermione, you write Ron's perspective so well and Hermione is very in-character, so I'd love to see you write a romance on those two. This sounds like a lot of requests, doesn't it? I can't help it. Hermione's point of view is extremely well-written. I think he blaming herself briefly, and clinging to Ron for support, are spot-on. Seriously, write some more Ronmione!

I have to say, I'm impressed that Hagrid's POV was included. The number of Hagrid stories I've seen in the last two years of validating and four years of reading has been maybe 1 or 2, so I'm really happy to see you tried that POV out. And even in this style of reaction-missing-moment, which I have seen before (though I think yours is probably among the better-executed of them) has never included Hagrid before, so I give you points just for that. And of course it is great characterization too, and his accent is well-done, I like that it's included but not overused.

He had carried the world on his shoulders for years. Fantastic line, I love it. Shall I repeat myself? More great characterization: McGonagall. Her loyalty to Harry in the books is one of my favorite things about her - she seems to be genuinely fond of him, and I like that you wrote her that way.

Ginny, of course: You can't have this kind of story without Ginny. Again, her characterization is great: strength and despair at the same time, and I'm glad you threw in that she was possessed at 11 by Voldemort - so often that's forgotten in fanfics or glossed over. It would have affected Ginny hugely, and for the rest of her life. That's not a trauma one forgets.

Draco and Neville were also well-handled. I like their contrasting personalities. Neville, perceived as a coward for so long, even by himself, shows courage beyond his years here, while Draco is curled up in a hiding spot out of the way, as the real coward. I have to say, I particularly loved the Luna section, especially the line about "he seemed notoriously bad at trying to kill Harry" XD Oh that's good. Luna is difficult to write, but you did a good job. Her faith and hope, the fact she never really believed Harry was dead and looked beyond what she was told to see the truth, was so very Luna, and a perfect way to end the story.

I did see a grammatical error here and there, but they were negligible and didn't detract from the story. This is really, really great writing.

Wow! Just wow. You are awesome.

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for yet another spectacular review!

Ron and Hermione are my favorite ship, so I've written them a bit, but I definitely should try to write them more :P Arthur and Molly too. I'll see what I can do. ;)

I can't imagine writing this story without including Hagrid. He's got such a unique perspective on things. He was hard to write though, so I'm glad you didn't think he was done too badly.

McGonagall's section is actually one of my favorites, so I'm glad you commented on it. I love the discrepancy between how firm and fierce she usually seems and the softy we all know she is on the inside.

Hmm, I never thought about the Draco and Neville's contrasting personalities before. Possibly because I'm such a Neville fangirl that I never saw him as a coward, at least not since that Quidditch match in SS when he tries to take on Crabbe and Goyle :)

THANK YOU for commenting on Luna' "he seemed notoriously bad at trying to kill Harry" line! I have always thought that, and was so glad that there was finally a fic that I could incorporate that line into. Luna wasn't supposed to know that he was alive, but it just kind of evolved that way. If anyone would realize he was still alive, it would be Luna. Plus, the story is a bit of a downer, so I liked the idea that it ended on a more hopeful note.

Thanks so much for this review! I've always been a bit worried that some of the perspectives seemed too similar, so I really appreciate reviewers who take the time to go through the sections one by one. It's really helpful.

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #31, by AC_rules Perspectives

5th August 2011:
I thought your Luna was particuarlly fantastic. I loved how she was perceptive enough to realise Harry wasn't dead and I really thought her thoughts about how Voldemort was a notorious liar was brilliant. I also loved the repetition of 'it all ends today'

It fit in really well with DH too, particuarlly since I've read it pretty recently. I loved the people you picked too. Basically, I loved it :)

Author's Response: I really love writing Luna, even though she's pretty difficult to portray. She always seems to see things in a different way, so I couldn't imagine her fooled by Harry's act.

Plus, I've always thought that if I were a Death Eater, I would have a really hard time not going up to Voldy and saying something like, "Look my lord, I know you want to be the one to kill Harry Potter, but honestly, you kind of suck at that. Maybe you should let someone else try?" I'd probably get AK'd, but I think it needs saying. So I was glad to finally have an opportunity to slip something like that into a story in a way that actually fit :P

Thanks for reading!

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #32, by StEpH_M Perspectives

5th August 2011:
So, I will do a paragraph on each chapter, maybe we will see how we go.
Molly, oh I just love her, and her acceptance of everyone into the family. You did an amazing job of showing her personality and her thought. It was really like the real her that JK Rowling wrote in all her books. She is so kind and loving. It was such a touching start the chapter, to show the side of the mother who loved Harry so much, even though he wasn’t her child by blood. The fact that she included him as one of her own always seemed liked the best thing for Harry and she seems to take so much joy out of it. I also like how she was mourning Harry and Fred. Yet she knows that she has to wait till later to mourn. After she protects her kids and everyone else. You made her a tough mum, I adored it :)
Now for Ron’s, I just want to say, what a show of his Bravery. Just yelling out at Voldemort ‘He beat you!’ even after he thought his best mate and brother was dead was just amazing. It would be hard for someone so close to him to die, but the courage they all have to stand and fight always amazed me. Also so the way that they all stayed close when Harry was announced dead, like even though he was gone, they were still united.
Hagrid, I have NEVER read one in his perspective before, It’s such a change and well you did a fabulous job of it. Congrates. :) I like that you got him to reminisce about the day he brought Harry to the Dursleys house. I almost cried from hearing how much Hagrid tried to get there to save Harry, to stop him from walking straight into Voldemort’s clutches. I also like how you got him to recall how Harry had looked, how he had accepted his fate even with Hagrid’s pleading. He would defiantly have told the true life of Harry Potter if he had of truly died. That’s just the kind of man Hagrid is.
I think this is the first time I have ever seen Hermione truly break down; she was always the levelheaded one. But here you got her emotions into one small section without making it rushed or muddled, it is just lovely to be able to hear what they all thought of Harry and how much he had touched all their hearts. I also like Ron’s show of love here, that even though he is mourning, he still thinks about Hermione and how she is feeling.
I just love McGonagall, even behind her stern outer personality, yet, she had to leave the Great Hall cause seeing the students was to much for her. It just shows how much she cares for her students and her school. How she cared about Harry and how she always wanted what was in Harry’s best interest.
Ginny, is she saying she was going to kill Harry? I am slightly confused here, but otherwise you got her personality was spot on, the way you made her just so emotional about the boy she loves was so believable. Also the fact that she had to seek comfort, from everyone around her. How she wants Voldemort dead more then anything now.
Ok so I am going to do Draco, Neville and Luna at once. Draco, I just love how he realized just how much trouble Harry’s death was going to mean, unlike the others he gives up hope when Harry dies, it’s sad but he defiantly has a point. Neville, Ow, I was so sad that he felt guilt for letting Harry leave, I just found it so sad, and I really wanted to say it’s not your fault. You know it’s a good story when you feel like you are right there with him. Finally, Luna, she is well Luna, You made her the only one skeptical of the fact that Harry was in fact dead. It’s just amazing how accurate this was… You are a fabulous writer, and just don’t ever stop. Wow this was really long… guess I had a lot to say. :)
~ StEpHM, Ravenclaw ~

Author's Response: Wow, this is a really brilliant review. Thank you so much for being so detailed!

Molly is such an intriguing character for me. She's the woman who fell apart at a boggart changing into the bodies of her family, but she's also the woman who managed to pull herself together enough to destroy Bellatrix shortly after losing Fred. That's amazing strength of character, and I love her (and Arthur).

I agree that Ron is super brave at this point in the books. I love his fiery determination, and I'm glad I could capture that a bit.

I've always loved Hagrid as well. He's like a giant, slightly scary teddy bear. I don't know how you could write this story without Hagrid. As heartbreaking as it must be for everyone else, I think Hagrid has it the worst. He had to watch Harry calmly walk to his "death" and now has to carry his lifeless body back as Voldemort taunts them all. It's got to be devastating. I don't blame him in the slightest for sobbing.

As much as Ron is always considered Harry's best friend, Hermione is such a better friend to him. She's the one who never intentionally leaves him. She understands him on a different level than Ron does, and I think she knows that. I love their relationship actually.

McGonagall is an old softy on the inside. She talks a good talk, but overall, she cares for her students more than anything. I loved writing her.

Ginny's remarks about killing Harry were one of those things that you think but don't really mean. Like, if you tell your friend "If you eat the last piece of chocolate cake, I'm going to kill you." It's one of those things that flashes through her head before she really comprehends what she heard. Does that make any kind of sense?

I think Draco gives up hope a bit more than anyone else because he didn't have much to begin with. He's in such a terrible position. I'd probably hide in a corner if I were him as well...

I love Neville, he's my very favorite character, and I really just want to hug him here.

Everyone loves Luna, myself included. :) She has a knack for seeing and understanding things that others don't, so I had a hard time believing that she would be fooled by Harry's act.


Thanks again for such a great review. I'm really glad you enjoyed this :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #33, by MadamePuddifoot Perspectives

23rd July 2011:
I loved this, as well as 'Before The Dawn.' I especially loved Luna's outlook on the situation, brilliant characterization!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I'm really glad you enjoyed this story, especially Luna's bit. Her section is one of my favorites as well.

 Report Review

Review #34, by UH60TI Perspectives

8th July 2011:
I have recently started reading Fan Fic about Harry Potter. This is the best written story I have read to date.

You capture the emotional impact of Harry's death on the other characters perfectly. I really like Luna's and Neville's perspective.

I will recommend this story to as many people as possible. I look forward to other work you have done.

This could have been incoperated into "Deathly Hallows" with no difficulty. Are you sure JKR didn't give you her notes for the book? You have captured the essence of her writing, for which I am very happy.

Good luck with all your furture writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind remarks. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story, especially Neville and Luna's sections (as they are my two favorite characters).

I'm glad you like my writing style and would love to hear what you think of some of my other stories. :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by NextGenna14 Perspectives

5th July 2011:
This was amazing!!! 11/10. I was tearing up in some parts!!! Simply beautiful!!! :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you :) I really appreciate your review.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Jamie Perspectives

5th July 2011:
Excellent Story! Hopefully you have more to share because you have a very captivating writing style.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading both of these stories. I really appreciate it. I've got some other stories if you want to check them out...;)

 Report Review

Review #37, by mmauvahp1 Perspectives

5th July 2011:
Simply amazing! You are a wonderful writer! I loved the story! You captured everyone's reactions perfectly!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate your comments. I'm glad that you thought the different perspectives were done well :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by golden_trio Perspectives

4th July 2011:
Another great story! You're a really good writer and each characters sounds perfect! :) I really hope you write more stories like these...They're excellent!
-K

Author's Response: Thanks for reading this one too. I'm glad you liked the different perspectives. If you liked this story, you might enjoy my other story "Purpose and Priorities". It's a three chapter story that follows the trio a month after the battle. I'd love for you to check it out :) Thanks for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #39, by Larry Dotter Perspectives

4th July 2011:
i've read a lot of stories

but yours i could relate to and understand every word

i loved yours

and i don't say that very often

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad that you liked this story so much.

 Report Review

Review #40, by nitenel Perspectives

21st June 2011:
Speechless... That was... magnificent? Amazing? Jaw dropping? All of the above?

Thank you for writing this. This is easily one of the best battle fics I've read. Not only was it well written, but it was genuinely interesting. A few battle fics i've read have been rather boring. I think it's hard to use creativity when writing battle fics. But, you managed to keep it interesting! Congrats!

So yeah. An easy 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your super kind review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. I'm glad that you found it interesting and not boring. I'm a bit concerned that some of the sections are kind of similar and could get repetitive, but am very glad that you didn't find that.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing. It's very much appreciated :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Puttylil Perspectives

16th April 2011:
Brilliant! Truely brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Daine Perspectives

9th March 2011:
That was really well done, especially Luna's part.

Author's Response: Thanks. :) I've wanted to write this story for a long time, so I'm really glad that you like it. Thank you for leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by amy Perspectives

9th February 2011:
great story line really loved the way that u had everyones thought at that moment in time

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed my story :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by massieblockrox Perspectives

2nd February 2011:
Wow.that was really great. You portrayed everyone so well, it felt like this was part of the seventh book. I loved it!

10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. You're really sweet :* I'm glad you thought this was true to canon and enjoyed it so much :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by ElanalovesHarry Perspectives

29th January 2011:
Wow, this was a really original amazing story. Again, you stayed true blue to the characters which I know is very hard to do. I never really thought about the other characters and how horrible they were feeing, but you really got a good capture on what I imagine how they would feel and think. Once again, a brilliant job :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review and your kind remarks! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and thought that the characters were in character (that sounds kind of awkward, but I think you know what I mean :P). Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #46, by LadyMalfoy23 Perspectives

28th January 2011:
I finally got around to reading the entire thing!! :) I loved this.

Every single one of them was more and more believable then the first. You did a fantastic job here!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad that you were able to come back and finish this up and that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #47, by BrightStar Perspectives

24th January 2011:
Hi. I think I've been waiting to read this story, exactly the story sinch DH came out. I'd like to be able to do for you what you so kindly did for me, and pull apart your story to make it better, but this is perfect. I am honestly embarrassed now at my pathetic attempts at fanfiction - I was actually moved to tears here, I've never come close to that before. I cannot stress how touching, and strong this piece was, and your talent at an author is shown so clearly in the way you skillfully and almost lovingly portray the innermost thoughts of the characters. Sorry for sounding like such a little girl, but thank you for writing this story. B x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading. This is honestly one of the nicest reviews I've ever gotten. I think one of the best compliments a writer can get is knowing that something they wrote was able to elicit real emotion from a reader, so I really appreciate you letting me know that.

I hope I wasn't overly critical in my review of your latest story. It honestly has a lot of potential, and is a really fun idea. Don't get down on yourself! I've read both of the stories that you've posted on the site, and they are both lovely. You have creative ideas, just keep running with them.

And you don't sound like a little girl at all. Thank you for reading and reviewing. You're awesome.


 Report Review

Review #48, by maskedmuggle Perspectives

22nd January 2011:
Hello!

I planned to read this as soon as you told me but, I'm sure you know, real life gets in the way! Anyway, I'm so glad I did read it, because this is really incredible.

I haven't yet read the final battle in the way I just read it. Even in that massive final battle collaboration, there wasn't a chapter that really made me feel so much. The 9 perspectives were amazing. So much thoughts, feelings, emotions. Each character was different, and you got across their feelings so well. Halfway through it, I was like, I hope you have Luna and that she can tell Harry isn't dead. And I was glad you did, it's a nice touch!

What strikes me is that this is such an amazing idea, and you executed it perfectly. You are such an amazing, talented writer, so versatile as well. Really, this was amazing. And the repetitive 'This ends today' added to the desperate atmosphere. A gripping read :)

Author's Response: I completely understand. My life has been crazy lately too. I really appreciate you taking the time to come back and read this :)

I'm really glad that you found the perspectives to be different enough. I was a bit worried that they were too repetitive and the story would get dull. And I'm glad you liked Luna's section, though, I'll admit that I'm a bit miffed that you thought of Luna realizing he was alive before you got to that section. Of course, I really shouldn't be surprised, it never works out when I think I'm being clever :p

Thank you so much for reading and for leaving such a sweet review. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #49, by The Empress Perspectives

22nd January 2011:
This brought tears to my eyes! I really must applaud your adeptness at creating these missing moments. Absolutely the best I have ever seen. They aren't cheesy and overly angsty, they capture the hearts and determination of these characters. You never once lose the integrity of their voices and that is really quite a feat. I'm glad I saw your response to your review and popped over here to read this. I'll be adding this to my favorites.

I think I best love Draco and Luna's. The others are AH-mazing and I adore them as well, but these two sections in particular really caught me. Draco because you stayed so true to his character. That even in the midst of that terrible curiosity, his fear and sense of self-preservation keeps him hidden, cramped in his tiny hiding spot. His selfishness and cowardice are captured really well there. And Luna. Oh I just love Luna. If anyone did see what Harry was up to it would be her! Her innocence and her absolute belief through anything is astounding and is what makes her such an endearing character.

The sentiment This ends today. was perfect, I think, for this sort of missing moment. And that you ended each section with it is beautiful. I like that it's italicized and not necessarily something each character is saying out loud. Just a unified sense of purpose and resolve between them all. (Well, perhaps all except Draco.)

Great story!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Aww, thanks for giving in to my shameless plug and reading this one, too :p

Thanks for your comments about the characterizations. I'm really glad that you thought that I captured them well, especially Draco and Luna. I'd never written Draco before, and I'm always terrified that I'm completely ruining Luna, so it's nice to know that I did alright with them.

And thanks for your comments about the 'This Ends Today' line. I wanted some sort of unifier that would tie all of the sections together, but I wasn't sure how that would go over with readers, so I appreciate you mentioning it.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! I'm really glad that you enjoyed this, and thanks for the favorites add :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by Pacific Wizard Perspectives

16th January 2011:
Singularity: The best compliment I could give you is to tell you that you are "very ready" to tell "Lily's Story". This last one-shot of yours was truly amazing. Every story/POV was a near perfect representation of the characters, their thoughts, actions, emotions and spirit. You put yourself into every one of those characters and brought out all of the images that careened through our minds when we first read DH from JKR's own hand. That part of the DH novel had me spellbound. Your story brought all of my thoughts about that chapter to life in vivid fashion.

You are a gifted and amazing storyteller. (You need to tell me that long story you alluded to in one of my earlier reviews). It would be great to listen to you around a campfire telling us one of your favorite HP stories from that fertile field of imagination that you possess. Very Well Done. PW.

Author's Response: Thanks, PW :) I hope I'm ready...I'll definitely give it a shot.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story. It started off as a companion to 'Before the Dawn' and was only going to cover Hermione, Ron, and Ginny's perspectives, but as I was writing, more and more people kept yelling at me that they wanted to have their say as well. That's the way it goes, sometimes. I'm glad it did though, I think it's far more interesting this way.

I never said that the long story was a good story, and it really isn't :P I will tell you sometime, though. It's too long to post in a comment response, but maybe I'll put it in a blog, or if you can ever get the forums to stop hating you so you can register and account, I'll message you ;) Until then, I'll work on writing it down and making it sound like a better story than it actually is.

I love reading your reviews. They always make my day. Thanks, PW :)

~Singularity


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>