Reading Reviews for Waltz
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Dark Whisper Waltz

6th January 2014:
Dear, writeyourheartout,

This was cute, cute, cute!
Congratulations on winning one of the Featured Story spots on the Archive. Well deserving.

Can I say that I loved that Scorpius wasn't perfectly perfect? I can totally see him as someone who struggles with what to say and how to say it, especially given his "perfect" lineage and the stress that would come with it.

Thank you for writing them both in such away that they are not perfect. I do feel bad for her bunkmates though. Poor things.

I also loved the mistletoe exploding into glitter. It is a frightful, yet harmless mess. I thought that was very creative and kept things on the light side.

And also, I loved the line about brushing her teeth. That was so sweet as both of their insecurities showed through.

This was really cute. Take a bow... :)

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hahaha I see what you did there. Cute, cute, cute! ;) And thank you so much! I still can't believe I won; it's been so bizarre, but extremely exciting! :)

Yay! I won't lie, I thought he was pretty cute myself here, which was nice because I've never written him before! I'm really glad he's been so well-received and that you liked him! And it was definitely interesting experimenting with this sort of struggle via a Malfoy; I'm glad you found it plausible. :)

You know, it's such a strange position for the people in Rose's life to be in, because of course you feel badly that Rose struggles as obsessively as she does, but it can be hard to be the people on the outside of the disorder as well. But I'm glad that their imperfections worked for you!

hehe The mistletoe was fun; I'm so happy you enjoyed the twist of it! I was trying to do something outside of the norm; yay for it working! *squee*

The brushing your teeth line is actually one of my favorites, and one of the very last things I added to the story! I was really happy to have thought of it before submitting and even more thrilled that it has been a favorite line with a few reviewers!

*bows* Gah, this is such a lovely review. I'm so happy you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this comment out! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #27, by BenedictPumpkinpatch Waltz

6th January 2014:
This is my first review of the Writer's duel winners. I'm reading them in order as they appear on the main page and will review them all, so here we go.

What a simply wonderful story. I loved the way you (as the writer) used the same, same, same problem as Rose had when you were describing her situation or the surroundings. Your descriptive writing is excellent. With a few name changes, this could so easily have been a winning entry in a Christmas magazine competition.

I know a woman with OCD and you're description of Rose fits her perfectly. I have a brother with a slight stammer and I could imagine them both in your story. It is testament to the power of your writing that I was carried along with the story and it seemed to end too quickly. You are a writer that I could read, read, read.

Two points. First. Yes you are right, glitter is a pain. Especially that sparkly, glittery lipstick. Don't women know how much of a pain it is to get that stuff off!!

Second. "Symetrically".. Thank you for this. I'm getting tired of using wonderful, fabulous, amazing. From now on I have a new adjective. I shall gaze into her eyes, softly caress her cheek with the backs of my fingers and say... "Darling, that kiss was symmetrical" and if that doesn't get me a second date I'l know who to blame, blame, blame.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, this review. Just... thank you.

Before I properly respond to this, I just want to say that I think it's incredibly kind of you to be reviewing all of the winning entries! You'll make a lot of people very happy! :)

Yep... very, VERY happy. :-D Wow, this is such a kind review! It's incredible to hear that the combination effect of Rose's disorder both as a part of her dialogue and a part of the narrative has been so effective! I had a few concerns at first, but it's been only positive feedback on that front, so I'm thrilled (and relieved!) that it's worked out! And my goodness, I'm blushing. That's such a compliment - I'm still in disbelief I won this competition, let alone to be compared in this way! I truly appreciate it. :)

There's really nothing more rewarding than hearing back from somebody who can relate to the experience(s) you've written about and give you the mark or approval! It was really important for me to get both of these character's right and do them justice with their struggles, and I'm just ecstatic that both felt right to you. Thanks, thanks, thanks!

hahaha Glitter, right? It's honestly the worst. My apologies for any seemingly permanent attack it's ever had on your manliness! "Dude... are you wearing glitter?" "What? No!" :-p

Ahhh, I love that you pointed this word out! It was another moment I wasn't positive about, mostly because I wasn't entirely sure everyone would understand its significance! haha I'm glad you found it both accurate and amusing! hehehe And oh boy, I suppose should this tactic fail the next time you find yourself in an embrace, I'll have to owe you something or other... ^.^

This has completely made my day. Thank you so much for taking the time to review; I endlessly appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by BookDinosaur Waltz

6th January 2014:
Hello Tanya! I'm here for the Tenth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

Ahh, I don't know whether to be surprised or not that some sort of music made it into your work. But this was really good, I can see why it won one of the two awards for Best-Written and Most Original story!

I can actually relate to Rose here, I used to be quite obsessed with having everything even (chewing with both sides of the mouth equally, for example) and it's really interesting to see someone else with this problem, because the numbers, the evenness or in her case the threes, they're just so important in a way that nobody really understands.

I love that they both had their own problems, because really, everyone does, and I absolutely loved how they could both work through them and end up happy anyway. It was just so adorably sweet, and I loved it all. It was really sensitive, but sweet as well.

The characterisation of both Rose and Scorpius were fantastic, the way Scorp holds himself, and how Rose dances, it's all just so perfect - I can see hints of their parents in them, but also something that's just theirs alone, and it takes real skill to do that, so major kudos to you there. :)

All in all, this was an absolutely fantastic story and I loved reading it, I'm so glad I had the chance to! :D

Author's Response: Emily! *squee*

Hahaha Yay, musical influence! :-p Ah, what can I say? It's in my soul. ;) I'm so glad you liked the story, and thank you so much; I still can't believe I won!

I actually relate to Rose myself, though not quite on her level - however your chewing thing is something I do quite often! I also have to eat colored candy in order from my least favorite color to my most favorite, as well as from smallest to largest within each color palette. It's completely nonsensical, but I have a hard time not doing it that way. I'm glad you found her relatable, and subsequently accurately written and portrayed as someone with minor OCD. That means a lot to me!

Ah, I'm so happy you enjoyed my versions of both Rose and Scorpius and the fact that they are each so imperfect, but could still find happiness in one another! And it's so exciting to receive reviews where people recognize the connections to these two and their parents! I'm glad those subtle hints still made an impact!

This is such a sweet review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #29, by signedheart Waltz

6th January 2014:
As someone who grew up with a stuttering problem as I kid I related to this. I loved this. It's so nice how they both had their abnormalities but together could work through them. This is so sweet and very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad to hear that you loved the story, especially considering your connection to it! It's always a bit nerve-wracking to take on things of this nature, but always a huge relief when somebody close to the issues at hand both enjoy it and find it accurate! This was such a lovely review to receive and I'm so happy you took the time to leave it! Thank you again! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #30, by MissesWeasley123 Waltz

5th January 2014:
Um whoa. First of all, here for the 10th day of 12 Days of Reviewing. And secondly, congrats. And thirdly this rocks and totally deserves the recognition. You are wonderful at writing.

You have no clue how weird it was to be in her head. It was different, but I loved it so much. Rose is amazing and so original. One two three, epic. Absolutely epic and brilliantly written. How did this idea come to mind?

I thought Scorpius was so adorable. I was all, "Aww" when he asked her whether kissing him was really that bad. It was adorable and he is such an amazing character. You are brilliant for coming up with this creative concept. The whole idea was great and you my dear executed it amazingly.

I really don't know what else I can say. This was so well written. Congrats on everything, you truly deserve it.

Author's Response: *squee* You're too wonderful, did you know that?? :-D Thank you, thank you, thank you!

I'm just ecstatic that you loved Rose so much and how in her head you were able to get! I'm glad I wrote it so that even though her thought process is so different from most of us, you could still understand the struggles along side her! The short version of the idea of Rose having OCD came from me asking myself, "What would be a funny remark to make after being caught under the mistletoe with somebody?" I thought "Ew" was a silly response, and after making that decision, I asked myself, "Assuming that these two people actually like each other, what would compel them to say, 'Ew'?" And OCD/germaphobia just made sense! ^.^

Yay! Scorpius was pretty cute here, I have to say, and I'm so happy you agree! And oh, I know! I felt bad for putting him through that stress, but at least he got a happier ending, right? :-p Ah, you're far too kind! I'm so happy you enjoyed it so much!

What a lovely review! I'm smiling like crazy right now! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this; you're the best! :-D


 Report Review

Review #31, by newgenerationlover Waltz

5th January 2014:
You are an amazing writer! You definitely deserve being the one chosen for the best story. This story is so original and I love how you kept adding the repeating words three times. It really relayed the sense of urgency behind Rose's actions which really brought her to life.
10/10

P.S. Interesting choice for your pick of actor to be Scorpious on your banner. Just wondering if you watch Game of Thrones or not. haha

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so, so much! *blushes profusely* This review is far too kind, I swear it! I don't even know how to respond! I'm just thrilled that you enjoyed it! I'm glad to hear the repetitions of three worked for you too, as I was a bit nervous about them when I first posted! You're too wonderful; thank you!

And yes! I love Game of Thrones and Jack Gleeson! He was the first person I thought of when looking to cast Scorpius because Joffrey is so terrible, but Jack Gleeson is such a sweetheart, and it sort of reflected the way a Malfoy might be perceived as awful, having Draco has a father, but actually be quite lovely in truth! Plus, I love Jack Gleeson. :-p Also, he sort of looked like how Draco is described in the books, with his light hair and pointed features, so I designed my Scorpius around him. ^.^

Thanks again! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #32, by Josette_Phoenix Waltz

4th January 2014:
This was fabulous ... I almost wet myself when he kissed her "symmetrically" hahaha. Well done :)

Author's Response: Hahaha! This review actually made me laugh out loud. hehehe I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The 'symmetrically' line was one of the last little tidbits I added, but I was so happy I thought it up before submitting because it made me chuckle too. ^.^ Thank you so much for the review; I'm thrilled that you liked it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #33, by NinthHorcrux Waltz

4th January 2014:
This is such a great story, one of my favorites on the site! It leaves you with a nice warm feeling afterwards. One of the many things I like about the story is the resemblance between Scorpius and Rose and their parents. Scorpius's posture, the way he points his chin...totally shows he is definitely Draco Malfoy's son. Rose's OCD, the way she speaks to Scorpius about packing shows that she is Hermione' daughter. It sort of makes it so they aren't out of character, in a way. The whole story is believable. We love the two characters despite their flaws. And I like that the mistletoe has a magic-y touch, so that we know theyre at Hogwarts!

It's a great story, beautifully laid out. Go Scorpius/Rose! :)

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so much! I'm just blown away by the response this story has garnered! :-D

Ahh, I'm so glad to see you point out the Hermione-Rose and Draco-Scorpius connections! It's so exciting when people pick up on little things like that; it makes all of the tedious detail work so worth it! *squee* I'm just ecstatic that you found both characters to be believable and lovable! And the mistletoe was so fun to play around with; I'm glad you enjoyed my version of a magically glitter-bombing mistletoe! hehehe

I'm so thrilled you enjoyed this so much! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind and thoughtful review! I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #34, by peppersweet Waltz

3rd January 2014:
Hi Tanya! Here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge, day 8!

I'm so glad I read this one-shot. It's such a sensitive but also sweet and funny handling of Scorose. Both of their conditions seemed absurd, but not in a bad way - I'm kind of struggling how to express myself here - as in, you showed the difficulty of living with OCD or a stutter really well without sensationalising the conditions or making this a tragic story. The way the narrative voice sometimes reflected Rose's OCD habits was really effective, with the repetitions of three. I thought it made this line really stand out: Not that she hasnít considered what it might be like to kiss Scorpius in a daydream or two or twelve, but the dream versus the reality are so very vastly different for one glaringly obvious reason: there are no germs in daydreams. It seems like a really offhand remark, but I liked how you used numbers that weren't multiples of 3 to count the daydreams, and mentioned that there weren't any dreams in them. The suggestion of Rose possibly having some sort of mental escape was really touching.

Their reactions after the kiss were also really sweet (sorry to overuse the word sweet!). I absolutely loved the closing line. Also, gotta say, it made me giggle a bit thinking of their absolute aversion to being covered in glitter. I know it's tough to get off, but sparkles!! I guess I can empathise - I glittered up for a Christmas party something like a month ago and my carpet's still got bits of silver trodden into it.

Really good work. Best of luck with the duel, and happy 2014! ♥

Author's Response: *squee* Hi hi hi and thank you so much for this wonderful review! Wow! :-D

Ah, I'm so relieved to hear that my portrayal of both Rose and Scorpius' conditions came across well! I was so very nervous about that when I was posting and it's been so reassuring to know they've been well-received! And that's so exactly what I was going for: showing their challenges in an accurate light without making their lives seem wholly tragic! Also, that's one of my favorite bits as well for exactly that reason: Rose gets to take a break from the germophobia aspects of her life, if only in a daydream. The numbers thing I actually didn't do on purpose, but I'm glad you liked it anyway (though I have to point out that twelve actually is divisible by three... hehehe)!

Ahh, the reaction line is one of my favorites! Scorpius is adorable after that kiss! And I'm so happy that the closing line worked for you; I was a little unsure if I shouldn't have ended it with his 'Good, good, good.' line, but I was selfish and really wanted that final Waltz line in it, so I threw it in just because! I'm very glad it worked for you! Phew!

Omg, glitter. No, I can't deal with it. LOL I'm telling you, it's impossible to clean up! Hahaha I wish the best of luck to you and your carpet, though! ;)

Thank you so, so much for this wonderful review! I was so happy to receive something from the 12 Days of Christmas challenge, too! Also, now that the winners have been announced (omg, I can't believe I'm one of them!), CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! I'm such a slow reviewer, but I'm working my way through all of the entries, so I'll see you over at Thaw soon enough! Yay! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #35, by Tara Waltz

2nd January 2014:
The characters in this were just awesome - I don't even know how you can become so attached to a romance in this short a story.

I am awful at writing reviews but I want to say that this was an incredibly sweet and absolutely amazing one-shot and I loved it sososo much.

Off to see what else you've written!

Author's Response: Ah, this is such a sweet review! Thank you so much! I'm glad to hear that you felt so attached to these two and their story, even with it being relatively short! :-D

Pfft, this review is anything but awful. It's incredibly lovely and had me grinning from ear to ear! You're really far too kind and I'm incredibly grateful that you took the time to review!

I hope you find something else on my page that intrigues you! Thanks again! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #36, by HeyMrsPotter Waltz

31st December 2013:
This is absolutely, comptely, perfectly and yet imperfectly adorable! I read this story when it was nominated for story of the month in the common room but didn't have time to review, which gave me an excuse to read it again now :D

I'm not generally a next gen reader because I find Rose and Scorpius characters are often all characterized the same, him as a mini malfoy and her as feisty and really intelligent. For me, the beauty of near gen is that we know almost nothing about the characters so they can be whoever we want them to be and that is exactly what you have done here. Your characters are beautifully flawed with real issues that effect real people and you've created a wonderful relationship between them as a result. I love how well they understand each other and that they both had to fight their demons for something as simple as a kiss underneath the mistletoe. Both OCD and stutters are difficult issues to live with and you wrote them well, especially Rose's OCD.

I thought your use of the repetition of three and how it linked to the waltz was really clever and effective, and you didn't over use it either, it was the perfect amount.

The description was excellent, in all of the little details surrounding Rose's OCD, and particularly the kiss. It wasn't fireworks and magic and an instant cure to all of their problems, it was sweet and awkward and a big deal for both of them. Superb!

It goes without saying really, but I adored this one-shot. Thank you for a lovely little festive read :)

Author's Response: HeyMrsPotter!!! Ah, this review is so wonderful!!! *attack hugs* :-D

Ah, it's so incredible to hear that you enjoyed my versions of Rose and Scorpius! I agree 100% with you about how they seem to have a similar vibe in most stories, though I don't have too much experience as I'm not actually a big Next Gen fan either! Still, I was definitely worried that my less-than-usual versions of these two might miss the mark and upset some avid Next Gen writer/readers, but the response has been really wonderful instead! Such a relief! haha I'm so, so thrilled that you found my portayal of Rose's OCD and Scorpius' stutter to have been handled well! It's always a risk to take on these sorts of things and I'm just so happy you not only like the choice, but the way each was utilized! Phew! ^.^

YAY! This is such a nice thing to hear, as one of my main concerns was that the repetitions wouldn't sit right. I'm just ecstatic that you feel they were perfectly incorporated!

Hehehehe They really are just too awkward to have a normal kiss! I'm so happy you found that scene and all of the little details sprinkled about to be good additions to the story! It's always great to hear that those little bits of information, though not necessarily needed, still add an extra element to the characters. *squee*

This is such a lovely review! You're just too wonderful! Thank you so very, very much for having taken the time to leave it! :-D


 Report Review

Review #37, by smitlikesllamas Waltz

26th December 2013:
Here's the review that you requested like a thousand years ago. :)

One time I went to a birthday party and we had a glitter fight. This was like three years ago, and I swear I still find glitter in my hair. It's crazy. I would rather kiss Scorpius than have to be covered in glitter too. However, that's not saying much, as I really, really, REALLY like Scorpius. He's a cutie. :)

Anyway, I thought was really cute. It wasn't exactly funny, but it was precious. I have a friend who used to be really OCD and germophobic, so I could relate not only to Rose, but also to her dorm mates as well. I thought Rose was also kind of precious, if not a little anxious.

I don't know if you've edited this since you requested this review, but I didn't catch any typos or anything, or anything that needed commenting on.

All in all I thought this was a cute, quirky, and relateable read. It was fun! I enjoyed it. :)

Thanks for requesting and feel free to come back to my thread. :)

~Smit

Author's Response: LOL No worries; glad you made it over in the end! ^.^

hahaha Right? Glitter is crazy! I wouldn't be surprised if it's same batch from three years ago taunting you still. ;) And I totally agree; Scorpius is adorbs - who wouldn't rather be kissing him? Even Rose came around! hehehe

I'm glad you liked the story and that Rose and her dorm mates all felt accurate in their portrayals compared to your own experience! That's always good to hear! ^.^

I have not edited it yet, no, so thank you so much for saying that! I can't believe the response the story has gotten without me even getting the chance to go back to it, yet!

Anyway, I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed it! Thanks for the great review! :-D


 Report Review

Review #38, by teh tarik Waltz

25th December 2013:
Tanya! ♥ Merry Christmas, lovely! I'm here with a review! :D

Eek, I absolutely adored this oneshot! You've written two flawed characters so amazingly well: Rose has OCD, and Scorpius has speech difficulties, and I love how they find solace in each other's imperfections, as friends initially, and something more by the end. I haven't read too much of Rose/Scorpius, though I'm beginning to get a bit into those two, but I think you've captured their relationship in a very original way, and your characters are fresh as well as convincingly portrayed.

The repetitions and the words-in-threes in Rose's narration were really effective; I guess the way you incorporated her obsessiveness into the narrative really shows a lot about how big a part of her life, her disorder is. It's a little sad, really, seeing how little her dorm mates understand her; they're a bit insensitive, and it just makes so much sense why she'd seek Scorpius out for comfort. I can imagine him having a really hard time trying to integrate into society and mix normally with his peers as well. He seems to be admired for his good looks by all the girls, and yet nobody seems him beyond that, only Rose, because she can relate to him.

I love the light touches of humour in your story; it really, really worked well, building toward that fluffy optimistic ending and the developing romance, and of course, this being a Christmas fic makes the light humour really appropriate.

Right after their adorable kiss, Scorpius pops the question: D-do you n-n-need to go brush y-your teeth? That really had me giggling there; it's just how well they understand each other; despite the fun and lightness of that moment, it's actually a really lovely, moving scene: two awkward individuals with their own problems standing there, facing each other after having done something that has just about changed their relationship to each other completely. I loved this.

Also, giggling a little bit at the mistletoe, and how it buzzes about in the air, seeking to trap couples and elicit kisses between them and glitter-bombing them when its demands are refused. Such a lovely depiction of magical mistletoe! That was wonderful.

Anyway, this is such a perfect Christmassy oneshot, Tanya! I'm so glad I finally have the chance to read and review something of yours! And i think you did a fabulous job with the prompt. Merry Christmas again, lovely, and best of luck with the Writers' Duel! ♥

teh

Author's Response: Teh!!! A belated Merry Christmas to you as well! So sorry for how long it's taken me to respond; I got buried under a surge of reviews this past month (a glorious problem to have, though, of course)!

Ah, you're far too kind! I'm so happy you enjoyed my versions of these two! To be honest, I'm not really into Rose/Scorpius either (or anything Next Gen), which actually worked out in my favor here because I wasn't influenced by other people's versions of these two and instead found it easy to come up with who I thought they were without the pressure of conforming to more popular versions! I'm just so happy it worked out, cause I know people can be picky about their favorite characters! And it's just fantastic that you liked them both as individuals and as a pair! *squee*

The repetition of three's was something I was a bit worried about at first, but it's such a relief knowing they worked out! Thank you! And it's definitely hard for Rose with her OCD, and for her roommates as well sometimes, and as much as I like to think most people would be kind towards these little compulsions, there's unfortunately a lot of people out there who react with less patience than is perhaps wished for. But, like you said, it's good for Rose and Scorpius to have each other!

hehe I'm glad the small sprinkling of humor and lightness worked for you! I think it's always nice to have a balance, if it can be managed! ^.^

LOL That line had me giggling when I thought of it. It was actually one of the very last things I thought of, but I'm glad I did because people have enjoyed it! They're pretty cute, huh? I'm glad everyone has enjoyed their adorableness! hehehe

Glitter-bombing! Yes! hahaha I was just trying to think of something that wasn't the norm (being trapped by said mistletoe), and that spiraled into 'What would be the worst possible scenario for someone with OCD?' Glitter is the worst, I tell you. :-p Glad you liked it!

YAY! You're so lovely, Teh!!! Thank you so much again for this glorious review! You're far too kind, but it is endlessly appreciated! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #39, by momotwins Waltz

25th December 2013:
OCD is tough. Poor Rose. And poor Scorpius, his speech disorder really touched me. I don't know if you know this, but my kids have a speech disorder - childhood apraxia of speech. They've gone to speech therapy since they were 18 months old, and didn't speak until they were 4. So characters with speech difficulties really get to me. His stutter breaks my heart. I know how awful it is for them not to be able to get the words out.

Rose is a bit of her mother, but with the OCD amplifying Hermione's tendencies toward neatness and order and precision. And I like that the mistletoe has an opt-out, even if it's a bit of a temper tantrum about it. The forced-mistletoe-kiss thing is a bit uncomfortable - forced affection is not cool - though I get the plot device use of it. Of course, for poor Rose, the idea of the glitter is horrifying. And Scorpius is so precious trying not to show he's upset at her refusal to kiss him.

I loved this. I really did. It was adorable and sweet, made me choked up and smile at the same time. I kind of want to go cry but I'll stop myself, cause they kissed and it was sweet. Great job. Merry Christmas, hon.

Author's Response: Oh WTM. I know I've already told you this in several locations before now, but this review has just completely melted my heart. Really, there's nothing more rewarding than to hear your writing has touched somebody on such a personal level. I knew that your kids did face some challenges, but I wasn't certain of the specifics until now. I can only imagine how difficult it must be to have these fully formed thoughts in your head but be unable to communicate them with ease. But you know what? The more I wrote this Scorpius - and this Rose, too - the more in love I fell and the more appreciative I grew of any person struggling with these sorts of things. I'm just so pleased that it moved you. *hugs*

You know, you're actually the first person to acknowledge the Hermione-Rose influence. I'm glad you picked it out! I came up with the idea of having an OCD character before I knew who that character was, but Hermione is a big part of why Rose felt fitting for the part. And I am SO with you on the mistletoe thing. I was absolutely tempted to use that popular trapped version for a bit, too, because it was the first time I was writing a story that dealt with mistletoe, but the more I thought about it, the less comfortable I felt about two people being forced to kiss. So I changed it to 'What would be the worst situation for someone with OCD to go through, just about?' Glitter-bombing felt right. haha

Oh man, this review. You're too wonderful; I'm so touched. No crying on Christmas, though, WTM! *hugs* I'm very moved by this review and I feel very honored that a writer of your caliber enjoyed it so much. Thank you a thousand times over for this. I hope your Christmas was just wonderful. :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by melpell Waltz

24th December 2013:
That was very well written. I thoroughly enjoyed your first trip to Rose's mind. The ending was adorable. I love that their imperfections made them perfect for each other. You know how capture your audience, fantastic job.

Author's Response: Thank you, Mel! I'm so glad I could do her character justice; I was certainly nervous enough that I might completely miss the mark! And I'm glad you enjoyed the ending (who doesn't love a little happy fluff thrown in, huh?)! This is such a sweet review, thank you for writing it! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #41, by SkyEcho Waltz

24th December 2013:
I absolutely loved this! The pattern you weaved through the story was flawless and the incorporation of Rose's OCD and Scorpius' stutter was quite unique. Your characters have depth which allows us to see their inner strength. I thought Scorpius was so adorable and caring towards Rose. The end left with me with a huge smile. What a lovely story :)

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much, SkyEcho! I'm so glad the pattern of three's worked for you; I was a little nervous about whether or not it would work before I posted! It's also great to hear that you liked my versions of Rose and Scorpius! I was sort of apprehensive about writing them because I know they're a popular couple and I've never written about them before, so I was really unsure if I could pull it off! And yay for happy, fluffy endings! hehehe

This is such a nice review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it; I sincerely appreciate it! And a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well!!! :-D


 Report Review

Review #42, by Lisa Waltz

23rd December 2013:
This was by far one of the best next generation one-shots I've ever read. So glad I stumbled across this because it was perfect. I love how you made the characters unique, (not that there's anything wrong with a bossy, intellectual Rose) but by giving Rose a form of OCD made her a deeper, more complex character. Nice job! Also, I love the Rose/Scorpius pairing when it's done right. This most certainly was and it was really cute.

P.S. One time my sister knocked over a vial of glitter, and we were picking it off the carpet for months. Youre so right; it's really hard to clean. :)
P.P.S. The title rocks.

Author's Response: Wow! I'm blown away; thank you so much! I'm so happy you found the characters unique and complex; what a compliment! It's great to hear as well that you found the pairing to have been done right! I was really worried that people wouldn't like it much because they're both so different than how you usually see them portrayed, so that's so wonderful to hear!

P.S. HAHA Oh man, glitter is seriously the worse! You poor thing! :-p
P.P.S. Ah, thank you! I'm so glad you liked it! I was quite happy with it as well! Woot!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Secret Santa 2013! Waltz

23rd December 2013:
Hi! Iím reviewing this one-shot, though I understand Iíve skipped two of your other pieces, which I promise I will come back to, itís just I saw this and I really wanted to see what itís about!

Right, so itís quite obvious from the word go that Rose has some form of OCD, yes? I like it when people explore this, itís a very odd disorder, it controls people in a way thatís very complicated and a bit difficult to understand at times, you know, that overwhelming feeling because of, like Rose, a small smudge on a mirror, but anyway, Iím going to enjoy this, I can tell already!

Her dancing ritual, I understand that it would annoy some people, but itís just such a harmless quirk, in all honestly, and that one who sniped at her because she does everything in threes was just horrible. Her and Scorpius are a odd pairing, arenít they? He seems just as strange as she is, and for that they seems to just work for each other. He listens to her, he doesnít interrupt her, and he doesnít try to interrupt her or stop her from doing her little rituals, and for that, I think heís lovely. The mistletoe, oh now this wonít end well, now will it? I have a feeling that Rose wonít handle this little deviation from her plan very well now will she?

Scorpius has a stammer, and Rose has OCD, and in society theyíre two people who need to be Ďfixedí nedd to be helped and changed, but as Rose said in the beginning, theyíre both flawed, and I think this sounds like theyíre not made for anyone else but each other. Those girls in the dorm gossip about him but then again they gossip about Rose too and theyíre just wonderful together. I like it.

And she doesnít even need to brush her teeth afterwards. True love, Iím telling you. He helps her relax control, and she helps him to stop stammering and, itís just wonderful.

Thank you for this, it was fabulous! I love it! Of course, I canít favourite for the fact of being anonymous but I promise Iíll come back because I just love this and yes itís fabulous!

Author's Response: Santa! Ah, sorry for taking so long to reply! I was overwhelmed with reviews after the holiday season, Writer's Duel, and 12 Days of Christmas (which has been a beautiful problem to have, but still)! Please forgive me! *mails cookies* haha Now onto the actual response, yes? ^.^

Yep, that's exactly right! I'm glad it was something that could be picked up on without me having to actually come out and say it directly! I'm glad this is your cup of tea; it was fun and very interesting to write about and explore!

Mhmm, preach. The unfortunate truth behind OCD and those on the outskirts of it, is that some people truly do not have the patience for it. Her and Scorp both have their issues, but in a way that I hope makes them perfect for each other here! I'm glad you liked them together; they've got a lot of patience and understanding with each other. I think he's quite sweet, too. ^.^ And glitter-bombing mistletoe! LOL Yeah, Rose is not particularly fond. *evil cackle*

"...not made for anyone else but each other." Yes, exactly. I'm so happy you feel that way. :)

LOL Yep! I think that's about as big of a signal a girl with OCD can give! hehehe Ah, I'm so happy with how you've grasped them as a couple; their give and take is really the foundation of their relationship and it's great how clearly you've seen that.

No, thank you!!! What a beautiful review! Again, so sorry for the delay, but please know that it in no way reflects how deeply I appreciate this review and your taking the time to leave it! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #44, by Dirigible_Plums Waltz

21st December 2013:
This was perfect. I love the way that the two of them are so imperfect & your representation of them was flawless. Good luck with Writers' Duel!

Author's Response: Oh my God, you have no idea how much this just made my day! I have been so stressed out about this story and this review could not have come at a more perfect moment. I am just beyond thrilled that you enjoyed it so much, and so very, very grateful that you took the time to leave such a truly lovely review! Really, you've just made my day! Thank you, thank you, thank you! :-D

 Report Review

Review #45, by Cal585 Waltz

20th December 2013:
Wow. Great story Tanya! The patterns and stuff you had going throughout were amazing! It must have been really hard to write but it sure came across brilliantly. Intense! Great story!

Author's Response: Cal!!! Ah, thank you so much! You're so sweet to review! *tackle hugs* I'm so glad the pattern worked for you because it definitely was tricky to write! And it's so hard to know if you've pulled something like this off or not without a beta or anything, so every new review is terrifying, and I'm just so pleased you liked it! Thank you so much for taking the time to review! You're wonderful! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #46, by ReeBee Waltz

20th December 2013:
Tanya!!! Yay! Next gen!! It so free lance! :D

Anyway, awesome!! I think I'm first review! So yay!

Hm, okay the whole waltz patter was...wow! I don't know how u thought of that!! Do u have a MTA?? I want to ask questions!!! Anyway, it was awesome and the three pattern! It was so intriguing! And the idea of the mistletoe is awesome! Ive never seen it like that!

And just the whole thing was so different and intriguing, amazing! :D I think u have a good shot at winning! It was so unique! Lovely! I don't know what to say! So, please excuse me for the short review!

Amazing Tanya!

-Curie :)

*goes to find MTA* ;)

Author's Response: Next Gen is so scary! hahaha Well, for me, at least! But it got easier the more I wrote! I'm glad I gave it a try! ^.^

Ah, you're too kind, as always! I saw you posted in my MTA already and I'll answer those questions for you asap! And I'm thrilled you enjoyed Rose's OCD-ness! I thought it would be interesting to write someone who needs a structured and arbitrarily patterned lifestyle to get through the day. I was nervous to use it on a character and in a pairing that so many people love, but I wanted to take a risk! And pairing her with a stuttering Scorpius was just an added bonus; something to give them a connection on a different level. I'm so happy you liked it!

The mistletoe! Well, I have to thank the prompt for that inspiration, first off. And it was really tempting to try and do the thing I see in most mistletoe stories, where the two people involved cannot physically escape each other until they have kissed, but then I sort of considered my options, deciding I didn't want to do what everyone does. From there it went to 'What would be a terrifying scenario for somebody with OCD to go through?' and glitter just sort of made sense. haha I'm glad you liked it! I was worried about that aspect of the story, to be honest! Phew!

*squee* It's just absolutely thrilling to hear that you found it both original and well-written and even a possibility for winning! While I honestly do disagree, it's sincerely wonderful to hear anyway!

You're just the best, Curie. ^.^ Thank you so much for taking the time to review and for always giving me new confidence with your beautiful support and optimism! *hugs*

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>