Reading Reviews for Forgettable Me
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #26, by EverDiggory Forgettable Me

3rd August 2011:
This was absolutely breath taking!

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow! I really appreciate that! Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #27, by nextgenoration Forgettable Me

25th July 2011:
Okay, so I have seriously had to write this like three times! In all honesty, I loved it. It was brilliant. I don't why but I actually cried. This is awkward. Not like sobbing. XD Just had like a tear... okay anyway. I am sooo tired so I am having major trouble linking together my thoughts. This was hauntingly lovely. I felt an extreme sense of connection to Marian. Why? I can't tell you. I probably have zero in common with this person. :P I enjoyed your use of epithet there at the end. Nice descriptions. Still. Haunting. I don't know why. I felt really bad for the girl. Praying to run into him. That isn't an easy life.

Anyway, I LOVE YOU TANYA!

ASH

Author's Response: ASH!!! ^.^

Nawww *blushes* Honestly, you're way too kind. I'm beyond flattered by this review - it's had me smiling since you wrote it! I don't even know how to respond, I'm in such awe! With words like 'brilliant' and 'haunting' and the idea that it touched you so deeply that it brought a tear to you eye, really, I could not feel any more complimented! I love that you feel related to Marian even though you seem to have never experienced this exact situation. And yes, poor Marian... I think she relates to the side of us that sometimes feels pathetic and perhaps that's why people can relate? Anyway, this really is such a kind review, I can't thank you enough for taking the time to leave it - especially after it got erased on your first try! LOL

And you're so adorably rambly when tired! hehehe ^.^

I LOVE YOU MUH ASH!

Thank you, again, my love!
Tanya


 Report Review

Review #28, by weasleywitch Forgettable Me

20th July 2011:
This is the best story I have every read. Thank you :)

Author's Response: Wow... I'm completely blown away by this review! Thank you so much - honestly, I don't know what to say! You're far too kind and I'm beyond flattered. Thank you for this review, honestly. :-D

 Report Review

Review #29, by gryffindoralltheway Forgettable Me

23rd April 2011:
That's kinda sad! He didn't even remember her name! That was really good, though!

Author's Response: Ah, yes, Marian's story is a bit sad, but I like to think it's a bit hopeful, too... (Is it? LOL) Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed and thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Alopex Forgettable Me

22nd April 2011:
Hellooo. I am finally getting around to doing the reward reviews for the Altermentary competition. ;)

I thought this was an interesting perspective to take of a situation like a one night stand (coupled with a hefty infatuation by one of the parties). In particular, that line Marian said about having used Sirius her whole life was interesting. I do think she's being rather self-serving, to be honest, since if Sirius didn't really remember her or know her well, how could he "let" her love him? It's a weird way of looking at it . . . but it's an interesting look at a character who's not quite as stable, for lack of a better word, as many of the rest of us.

This is a short piece, and I don't have a whole lot to say about it. I was going to close with a comment from Ezra, but I could only think of rude things for him to say in-character, so I decided against it. ;)

Author's Response: Alo ^.^ I feel like I should have answered this review first now, but YAY for winning staff reviews! :-p

So thanks for another awesome-sauce review! I think you understand Marian really well based on this review, which is always good to know that she's coming across accurately. You're very right that she's clearly infatuated to a point that she's almost unstable and she's desperately self-serving when it comes to that line. She wants to be more than just another girl and so it's almost as if she's trying to convince herself that it was partially Sirius' allowance that kept her able to love him, when we all know that that decision wasn't up to him at all, but if she can feel that it was partially his decision, even by just the tiniest bit, I think it helps her. It's a bit pathetically sad, but it's great to hear that her story is interesting and different from the norm.

Hahaha Ezra... Yeah, I'm not sure I ever want him reviewing anything of mine ever, LOL Good times, though... Good times... ;-)

Thanks again for all three reviews! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #31, by AndrinaBlack Forgettable Me

18th April 2011:
I liked that. Sometimes simple can be very beautiful and this definitely had something of that simple beauty. I also like it that it's sad but it's also not sad at the same time, because she is not really bitter or anything.

I think you got Sirius character down well, at least as seen from someone else's eyes. I can imagine that he could sometimes be one of those people who breaks hearts without meaning to and without really noticing he does it.

Just two sentences bothered me a little. To me the end with her telling her name wasn't really needed. Maybe, it's that the "My name is..." has been done a lot, but somehoe it sort of jumped at me at the end and broke the mood a bit. The other one is, "A large part of myself feels sick when I think about it, you." Maybe it's the punctuation and it should be "- you" or something to make more of a pause, but somehow that sentense doesn't seem quite right as it is.

Those are however really small things and overall this was a very enjoyable read, so don't mind the CC too much. :)

Author's Response: Hey Andrina :-)

Thanks so much for coming to review! It's really great to hear that the simplicity still allowed for beauty. I'm also really glad that it comes across as a mix of both sad, but not sad - bittersweet. That made me smile ^.^

Ah, it's really wonderful to be complimented on Sirius and how someone might see him. I agree that he could easily be an unintentional heart-breaker, what with those dashing good-looks... Breaks my heart all the time... ;-)

You know it's the funniest thing with that ending and the name thing! I've got 50% of reviews that love that I mention her name and the other half that feel I should have left it anonymous, and I easily see why the anonymous side feels the way you do, and if this weren't already a podcast, I might even have changed it, haha. I guess I chose to do the name originally because it sort of felt like she was giving one last shot at trying to seperate herself from the other girls by leaving her name behind, but I don't know, it's so all over the place with opinions, haha. Thank you, though! I probably would change it if it weren't a podcast already, to be honest... LOL

And ooo, I never even thought about adding more of a pause there. I definitely see your point and maybe I'll end up going back and tightening that up a bit sometime! Thanks for pointing it out!

Alright, well thank you, Andrina, for the lovely review! I appreciate your input very much, truly. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it! ^.^

xTanya


 Report Review

Review #32, by adahpfan Forgettable Me

29th March 2011:
amazing! i love sirius/ocs and this one, despite being different, exceeded all expectations!

10/10

Author's Response: Ah, that's so great to hear! Seriously, I love that you enjoyed the fact that it wasn't an entirely conventional fanfiction - I truly appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a sweet review! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #33, by Tayla_Elisabeth Forgettable Me

15th February 2011:
Tanya, this story is unbelievably beautiful. It's so sweet and lovely and just so unique. I love how refined a character Marian is, and how well-written this piece is. I absolutely adore it!

Author's Response: *blushes* Oh wow! Thank you so much, I'm incredibly flattered! I'm really happy you see it as unique, especially, because I try not to write stories that have been told before! Gosh, this is such a sweet review so thank you so much for taking the time to write it! :-)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Kaida_Snape Forgettable Me

13th February 2011:
Wow. That was simple, cute and really well done. I really enjoyed that! In fact, I will have to favorite it in a minute. The language flows straight through and the voice is fantastic. Great job!

Author's Response: Hey Kaida! I always see you on the forums, so thanks for stopping by and leaving a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this, really! Thank you for all the compliments about the piece, and yay for favoriting! :-D I really appreciate you taking the time to review and absolutely making my day better! :-)

 Report Review

Review #35, by flozoeoreo Forgettable Me

13th February 2011:
That was sweet. It's an interesting point of view, one I've never thought much about before. I've seen your name on awards and things around the site, so I decided to check you out :) It was worth it. I loved this.

10/10 :)

~Flora

Author's Response: Wow... You've seen my name on awards?? Where are you looking?!? I wanna know! Hahaha But thank you for the review! You seriously just made my day! It's great to hear that the point of view is original and I'm very flattered that you think the read was worth stopping by! Really, thank you for taking the time to review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #36, by adahpfan (not signed in) Forgettable Me

10th February 2011:
i love this different type of sirius/oc, do you think that you could write a longer story about Marian DeLacy? she seems a really interesting character...

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it and that it didn't feel like another same old Sirius/OC story! :-D And Wow! You know, I've never really considered the idea of turning this into more than a one-shot, to be honest! But that's an interesting idea, so I'll think about it and see if I can come up with anything! Either way, it's great to hear that you find her so intriguing! Thank you for the review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Roonyskatoony Forgettable Me

18th January 2011:
Oh. My. God. That was beautiful.
It's so nice to see a fic where she DOESN'T win him over! In fact it's kind of good to see that he didn't even seem to care much because it doesn't always work out so perfectly!
10/10! :D

Author's Response: Hey there! Wow, thank you! :-D I'm so happy you liked my not-so-happily-ever-after fic! I was a little worried when I wrote it that people would only be interested in the fairy tale endings and not so keen on my take, so thank you so much for the compliments and taking the time to review! It's very appreciated! :-)

 Report Review

Review #38, by Liisarr Forgettable Me

26th November 2010:
Thank you for reminding everyone that not all the insecure girls are whisked away into the sunset by Sirius and live a happily ever after.
I really liked it. =)

Author's Response: Hahaha hey! Thank you for the review! It completely made my day and made me laugh! :-p I'm really glad to hear you liked the story, even though the MC didn't get the guy. I really appreciate the review, so thank you again! :-)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Padfoot23 Forgettable Me

20th September 2010:
I liked this - a different type of Sirius/oc from the rest. Simple, but really well written :)
xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad the simplicity didn't make it uninteresting! I really appreciate the review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #40, by ThisIsMyPenname Forgettable Me

27th August 2010:
The podcast for this is beautiful, partly because of the narrators hypnotic voice, but mostly because your writing is truly incredible. It's made me sad to read it, so why did I put it on my iPod and listen to it about five times after feeling depressed the first time? You've got me. I'm just addicted. It really is incredible. Whatever it is you've done, keep doing it.

You're SO going on my favourite authors list. I'm gonna get my two sisters to listen to it aswell, they're both fanficers. I want to spread the word!

Author's Response: Wow... I'm completely blown away by this review! Thank you SO much! :-D I'm so happy you like it, even if it does evoke the less happy emotions, I'm glad it's making people feel, so thank you! And that podcast, jazzeh turnip did a great job with it so it is a bit addictive!

Gah! I'm so happy! Thank you for adding me as a favorite and for spreading the story around to your sisters! Really, you've just made my day! :-D


 Report Review

Review #41, by Insert_Witty_Comment_Here Forgettable Me

26th August 2010:
That was gorgeous. I've just put the podcast on my iPod, and I'm going to listen to it ALL THE TIME, I just know it. It was really sad, but beautifully written, and a fabulous idea. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm so happy you liked it - both written out and in podcast form! jazzeh turnip did an amazing job with reading it so YAY that it's on your ipod! :-D Thank you for taking the time to review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #42, by dramione_ftw_4ever Forgettable Me

24th August 2010:
beautiful. Took my breath away. You, my friend, are definetly a poet in diguise. Simple, my arse! the most simple things, are always the most complicated of them all. Love, themost pure emotion of all, is the most complicated of them all. For who knows what starts it? Who knows why it exists? It is a pure as water. it will always exist, and I believe you captured that very well. Better than I ever could have myself. You, my beloved author, are definetly a poet. I wish i could give you a higher rating than only 10/10... but sadly, I can't.

Author's Response: Wow... thank you so much for this stunning review. You have, in turn, taken my own breath away! I love that you found the piece almost poetic and that you found depth through its simplicity, as that's what I was going for. Love at its purest... thank you for that. And thank you for the rating as well! You've just made my day. :-)

 Report Review

Review #43, by obiwancrazy Forgettable Me

22nd August 2010:
This is really good. I love the description of Sirius: "you were my light and my dark, my stars and my clouds, my disease and my cure." It's beautiful. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Those conflicting comparison's were my favorite things to write so I'm glad they stuck out to you! Thank you for the wonderful review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #44, by FoundriaPenguin Forgettable Me

22nd August 2010:
Aww this story was sweet. (: And it may be simple, but it's powerful all the same. I love stories like these. It shows that less is indeed more sometimes.

You did a wonderful job with the voicing. I could really hear Marian's voice throughout the piece, you know? No wonder it's made into a podcast. In fact, as soon as I finish writing this review I'm going to go listen to it. (:

I haven't read a lot of your work but I hope a lot of it is like this. If not, it's okay, don't worry! Haha just write more like it, 'kay? Thanksss.

10/10, of course!

~foundriapenguin

Author's Response: Haha hey! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :-D I'm glad the simplicity was still powerful, and I completely agree that less is more a lot of the time!

The podcast itself is wonderful - jazzeh turnip makes Marian truly come to life, so I hope you enjoy it as well!

I only have 4 stories at the moment, but if you enjoy this style, I'd recommend 'Lying Josephine' on my page, which is a similar style - simple, but hopefully powerful!

Thank you so much for the high rating! :-D I really appreciate you taking the time to review!

xTanya


 Report Review

Review #45, by Ronsgirl29 Forgettable Me

18th August 2010:
I listened to the podcast of this story and it nearly made me cry. I just absolutly loved every word of this. I can't even explain, I'm just having a total fangirl moment.

Amazing amazing amazing.

Did I mention this story was amazing?

11/10 because 10/10 isn't high enough (:

Author's Response: Gah! Yay! Wow! Thank you so much!!! I'm totally blushing over here!!! :-D And I love that you're having a fangirl moment! haha!

I'm so glad you think story is so amazing!!! And thank you for the wonderful high rating!! Woohoo! Aaaand thank you for fulfilling my odd wish of wanting to have a moment in time where all my reviews are at 12, bahaha!

Really, thank you so much for this! :-D


 Report Review

Review #46, by xtinjsc Forgettable Me

17th August 2010:
Prepare yourself. An awesomely amazing review is coming your way... ^_^

First of all, the way this story's written is outstanding. I can understand why the podcast version is very popular. Reading it aloud to myself, I love the way the words and the sentences flow beautifully. Of course, that can also be related to the fact that my voice is just so enchanting and naturally lovely, that anything I read is music to anyone's ears... but that's not the point.

The first five or so lines are my favorite. There's something about the way the end of each sentence rhymes that made it so striking, almost poetic. Speaking of poetic, the repetition of the lines 'a number, a notch, a name...' is very clever as well. Btw, is it just me but does 'notch on you bed post' remind you of a Fall Out Boy song? Haha.

I also love this: You were pouring rain and blazing sunshine that created my own twisted, heart-breakingly beautiful rainbow... -> It sounds very inspired. Very much like something a girl in love would say. Ahh, young love...

Anyway, the paragraph:

It doesn't matter that you never looked at me, or that you used me for one night of pleasure, or that you never spoke to me again after said night, or that you left school and I never saw you again, or that years later you were accused of betraying your best friends, or that you killed innocent Muggles and innocent Peter Pettigrew, or that you were later relieved of all charges, or that you have now died before ever sparing me a second thought...-> Something about this paragraph feels a little off. They never seem to fit perfectly with the overall feel and flow of the story. But that's probably just me.

You, Sirius Black, made me feel a way no man ever has been able duplicate. -> I think there should be a 'to' before duplicate.

My name is Marian DeLacy. -> Personally, I would've preferred her to remain anonymous, just to ride on the whole forgettable theme, you know? But the sentences that followed are really good. I love the way how Marian, after all she's been through, still found it in her heart to thank Sirius in the end. What can I say? Love, love, love!

(Gosh, Tanya, can you believe it, I'm actually reviewing properly!)

If this awesome piece had been made into a podcast already, then it's possible that all those 'points' I made above are somewhat useless by now, but I just want to make this 'review' a little more decent than what I normally do. Haha.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this. It's really good. You made Marian very relatable and in the end you made me feel for her. I hope she'll be okay. I hope she'll be able to move on. You did a very good job! ^_^

Author's Response: Bahaha you're too funny - and Amazing! :-D

Yay! I'm so glad you like the writing style of the piece and that the flow is easy and appealing! On a side note, you are so werid... though I'm sure you do in fact have a lovely reading voice... bahaha!

Wow, poetic? Thank you! That's such a great compliment, I'm so glad the beginning is so smooth you can compare it to poetry! *Runs to find the Fall Out Boy song you're referring to!*

The line you quoted is one of my favorites as well! I was very lucky to have stumbled upon that analogy and phrasing! I'm glad it reached you!

That paragraph is just a big run-on sentence is the problem, but I couldn't figure out where to cut it off because I wanted it to sound like one continuous thought - and I only spent 15 minutes writing this, and i thought it was really mediocre at the time, so I sort of gave up trying to find anything better to do with it... lol - it's funny though, on the podcast that part is quite a few people's favorite! Weird, right? It's cause Jazzeh read it exactly how I meant for it to sound! Really, it still blows me away...!

Ooo! Nice catch on the 'to'! Thanks for pointing that out! I'll definitely edit and add that in!

It's funny, too, that you bring up the name thing at the end! That's another part of the story that some people agree I should have left her anonymous and others loved that I added it, but didn't mention it until the end! All a matter of taste, I suppose... But I completely understand both views and think it could have been just as effective with no name at all! I chose the name, though, simply because I wanted Marian to have her one last stab at trying to be remembered by him, even if he is dead and even if she doesn't truly believe he'd remember her. Whether or not she actually is forgettable, she certainly feels that she is, and that's why I chose to put the name in, I guess! I'm super happy that you liked the thank you's at the end though!

Yay! This is a great review - I mean it's an Amazingly Awesome review! ;-) I'm glad you felt you could relate to Marian and that the piece evoked emotions! Thanks a ton Kristine! :-D


 Report Review

Review #47, by 1917farmgirl Forgettable Me

15th August 2010:
Well, I figured I'd better come over hear and leave you a review where it will really count. I'm afraid you will be rather disappointed as I'm not good at the novel reviews like you give. I wish I could do that, but my brain just doesn't work like that. It's hard enough getting words down on paper in stories.

I do have to tell you, however, that this really was a rather remarkable story. The gamma of emotions you managed to pack into this little thing is astounding. Contradictions that should be imposible to link together seem as natural as air. I really am blown away by your talent with words and your ability to creat pictures with them.

Sirius has never been my favorite character. I don't DISLIKE him, but I have issues with him that I won't go into for fear of the men in white coats showing up at my doorstep. (Ask Eldy if you're really curious.) As such, I've never actively sought out and read any stories featuring him, but this one was so highly recommended I couldn't resist. I'm glad now that I didn't because if I had, I would have really missed out.

Bravo on an incredible story! The HPFF world had better watch out because you are going to take it by storm, putting the rest of us to shame.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm completely blown away by this review... Just because yours isn't a novel (like my own run-on ones, bahaha) doesn't make it any less powerful for me to read! This a fantastic review.

Thank you so much for this. I'm stunned that you think this story is remarkable and I'm thrilled that you particularly enjoy the contradictions, as they were my favorite part as well. The fact that my words created clear pictures for you is really great to hear, so thank you for the compliment!

Men in white coats?? My curiosity sense is tingling! I'll have to ask Eldy about this! Haha and after you've answered my first set of MTA questions, I think I might have to ask about your thoughts on Sirius... I'm interested now! Sirius isn't my all-time favorite, I find myself unable to truly take a strong stand on him either way, but when I began this story it wasn't about anyone in particular - it wasn't written about Sirius! It was honestly just thoughts running through my head that I wrote down and ended up forming a story with. I decided that since I hadn't posted anything in a while I should just try to find a character who could fit into the role, at least somewhat believably, and I just chose Sirius, because he was plausible, and I tweaked a few bits so the story could be published here! Crazy, right? But I'm really glad to hear people are enjoying it so much - and I'm astonished that this came as 'highly recommended' to you! I'm really happy that you decided to read it and that you enjoyed it so much as well! :-D

I don't even know how to respond to your last statement here... I'm honestly speechless that you could even think for a moment that I have the potential to be a major author on this site! I'm flabbergasted (that word always makes me chuckle!) to the point where I don't think I can write down anything articulate or intelligent about it! All I can say is Wow and Thank you so much for the stunning review. It has truly just made my day! :-D


 Report Review

Review #48, by American Ginny Forgettable Me

13th August 2010:
Wow I'm not much of a pre-trio person. This story though.Wow this story was something else. I read along as I heard the voice read the words aloud. This was one heck of a story. One of great emotions and thoughts. One unlike most that I read. This was brilliantly written. I am so glad that it was turned into a podcast. It is a great honour, and this story really deserved such a honour. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! What a wonderful review... I'm blushing over here! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story's emotions and writing style! I was blown away when I was asked to have the story turned into a podcast because I agree with you: it is an honor. Thank you for the high rating and, again, for the wonderful review! I really appreciate it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #49, by maskedmuggle Forgettable Me

13th August 2010:
This is a wonderful story. It is so beautifully written, and so sad as well. I really enjoyed reading it, and you definitely evoked my emotions!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I really appreciate you taking the time to review and I'm glad my story reached you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #50, by Singularity Forgettable Me

3rd August 2010:
Hi :) I already reviewed the podcast at HPPC, so forgive me if this is a tad redundant. I enjoyed the twist you put on this, of it being one of the girls who didn't win Sirius's heart, but didn't hate him for that. As she said, he acted exactly the way he always acted. It would have been foolish for her to expect him to act any differently (granted, that doesn't make his actions right, but I digress). I appreciate that your narrator took responsibility for the part that she played in everything.

My favorite line was: "The truth is, you may have used me for one night, but I used you my entire life." Gah, that's beautiful. Granted, the narrator probably needs to move on with her life, since she seems to be stuck in the past, but it was still a great line. :)

This story is written quite well, and the repetition is lovely. However, the very end when she announces her name seems a little out of place. The whole story is about how she is unforgettable, anonymous, so it seems strange that she would reveal her identity at the end, especially since she is so sure that he wouldn't remember her anyway. I don't know, something to think about. Maybe you could change it to something like "My name doesn't matter." Or you could leave it alone, because this is quite a good story. :)

Author's Response: Hey again! Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you like this and enjoy the small twist on the story! Yeah, she certainly knew what she was getting into so I wanted her to understand what the result would be before anything even happened!

That's one of my favorite lines too, I'm so glad you like it! I got lucky that I stumbled upon that idea and that phrasing. But yeah, she is a bit stuck on him, eh? Haha

And I totally understand your thoughts about the ending! When I was writing it, I wanted this to kind of be the very last time she would ever (hopefully) spare her thoughts and waste her time on him, but she says her name because, bless her, that one part of her heart will always belong to him, and I think the name is there to make that last try at having him remember her name and who she was. But I love your idea as well, I can see that as a totally beautiful ending as well! It's funny because over at the podcasts some people love that I saved her name for the ending and others agree with you! And I honestly like both - this just happens to be the one i thought of originally, haha, but I think your ending sounds really lovely. I guess it always comes down to a matter of opinion though, huh?

Thank you for the lovely review! It's truly appreciated! :-D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>