Reading Reviews for Lying Josephine
  
111 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ruby_slippers Nice to Meet You

18th November 2013:
Oh my goodness!! I so love this story! I'm so stoked to see that you are still writing it and love Jo even if she is painfully shy. Can't wait to see how you develop all these characters :)

Author's Response: I've returned!!! Yay!!! And I'm so happy you've stuck around during my MIA period! I've been writing so much of the ending for this story and have simply been stuck on Chapter 3 forever, but now that I've finally moved past it, I'm making serious progress again, so I promise you will never have to wait that long again for a chapter! hahaha You are too wonderful for coming back to Jo and for leaving such a kind review! Thank you so very, very much! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #27, by UnluckyStar57 Nice to Meet You

16th November 2013:
Hello! I am here with the review you requested, on the third chapter, as you asked. To tell the absolute truth: I actually read this story about a day before you requested a review from me, and so it was absolutely no problem to start reviewing on chapter three! :D

So far, I really like the way you've got the story set up, with flashbacks and scenes from the present day. It makes things very interesting, and I really can't wait to read more.

Josephine is a really cool and different OC. It seems to me that OCs come in very cookie cutter shapes these days, and Jo breaks the mold, yay!! I like that she is quiet and shy, and that she's fallen for one of the loudest people ever. It is also awesome that she can tell Fred and George apart (although it's also a bit stalker-ish!) :) My question is, why did she fall for George instead of Fred? From what I've read, she was never really in contact with the Weasley twins at Hogwarts, so how has she come to know how they differ? Are we going to get to see a flashback to explain that in the future? :D I certainly hope so, because I'm really curious!

Fred and George are hilarious. I love Fred's over-the-top, slapstick humor, and George's interruption was quite amusing. I certainly hope that Jo will learn to keep her head when he enters a room, because they're going to be working together, and it'll get awkward if she hides every time she sees him. ;)

The only piece of advice that I have for you is simply this: When something is plural, it does not get an apostrophe. The only word that I noticed was when Fred said "I love nutter's!" In this case, "nutters" is plural, not possessive, so it does not need an apostrophe. That was the only thing I saw that could've been better, though. I'm afraid that if you wanted some major CC, I didn't give it to you--I was too busy complimenting! :)

Overall, this story is fabulously well-written, with really great characterization, and an interesting premise. I hope that you update very soon! :D

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: LOL That's so funny! What good timing! haha I'm glad it wasn't inconvenient requesting for this chapter specifically! ^.^

Yay! I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying the format! I really wanted to have the story set up in a way that the readers slowly learn about different aspects of Jo's life rather than simply being told about her past, so I'm glad it's working! And double yay for wanting to read more! *squee*

Eep! I'm so happy you like Jo! She's definitely not a cookie cutter OC - she is WAY too flawed for that! hahaha Poor thing. :-p I really enjoy her opposites-attract thing with George and I'm glad it's working! Ah, a very good question to ask, and one that will be answered in either chapter 5 or 6! It's great that you're so intrigued!!!

Omg, I'm SO beyond thrilled that you're enjoying the twins! It's so important to me that I write canon character's correctly! And this was my first really comedic moment that I've written, so it's so good that it landed! And all of the Jo/George growth shall be revealed in time as well. ;) hehehe

Ah, thank you for pointing that out! That's actually one of the few grammatical things that I get confused on! That and 'affect' versus 'effect' - gets me every time. :-p I'll edit that out sometime soon! And pffft! If that's the only CC you've got for me, I am SO happy! I always get really nervous posting new chapters, so you've given me a great relief with this wonderful review!

This is such a lovely review! Thank you so much for it and I'm just thrilled that you're enjoying it so far! Chapter four should hopefully be out during the first week of December! Yay! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #28, by SkyEcho Nice to Meet You

14th November 2013:
Hi Writeyourheartout! I'm here with your requested review. Your story focuses on a really interesting idea. I haven't read much with Fred and George as a main characters so that's really refreshing. I've just flown through all of your chapters. I'm hooked and can't wait to find out what happens next!
I liked that you chose to include the actual job posting ad - it was written in a way that made me smile - I could hear the voices of Fred and George in there. And I think that's another thing you did really well in this chapter. The entire time I was reading, I believed the Fred that you created. I laughed so hard at Fred's random questions - and his reactions to Jo's answers! Your dialogue is really good. It flows and sounds realistic.
It also warmed my heart to see Fred with a moment of sincerity / seriousness with Jo when he asks her why she's really applying. You portrayed this beginning friendship with them really well. I could sense that both felt right about trusting the other - even though they didn't technically know each other very well yet. I'm looking forward to seeing their friendship deepen and finding out more about Jo's past... and how she fell in love with George.
The only thing that jumped out at me as a bit confusing was when Fred was giving her the terms for their agreement. When it's written "I am sorry, Fred, but I cannot stay." and "I am sorry, Fred. No" - is she actually saying this? If so, please include quotation marks. If not, then maybe adding some description of her / what Fred sees to help explain how Fred knows what she's thinking. I personally loved that the rules turned out to be Fred's suggestions! That was unexpected and really shows his character as well as how much he wants Jo to feel comfortable working there.
Jo is really likeable. I'm rooting for her to open up and I can definitely relate to being shy. You write humour very well! I especially liked the part where Jo sits on the whoopee cushion chair and your phrase "Well drape me in purple velvet and call me Dumbledore" - so funny!

I really enjoyed your chapter and can't wait to see what the next chapter holds :)

Author's Response: Hooked! I love to hear that about my story! Thank you so much! And I'm glad to hear that my story was refreshing, although it does sadden me a bit about how little the twins tend to show up as main characters in fanfic! I'm so happy you want to know what's up next! Yay!

Oh, that is music to my ears! It's so important to me to get the twins (and any canon characters) written correctly, so thank you! Phew! The ad was really fun to write as were the questions; I love that both stood out to you! And the dialogue, ah! You've completely made my day! *squee*

I love giving funny characters moments of sincerity, and I uber love that it warmed your heart! I really wanted Fred and Jo to have a sort of unexplainable instant connection, where they just clicked even though they're so clearly polar opposites. And I can't wait to post the Jo/George story! It's either going to be mostly in chapter 5 or 6, so soon it will be revealed! hehehe I'm glad I have you intrigued, though!

Ah, I can understand why that might be a bit confusing! She's not saying it out loud - she sort of does this thing where she thinks her thoughts fully before relaying them to whoever she's speaking to (usually with a nod or gesture). So it's not meant to be her speaking, but maybe something like italics would be better? I'll see if anyone else brings it up and make an adjustment from there! Thank you for pointing it out!

Yay! I had a lot of fun making Fred come up with the terms and conditions! I just didn't think Jo would either a) stick around long enough to make up the rules on her own or b) be comfortable speaking for long enough to actually express the deal for herself! So basically YAY it worked! :-D

LOL I think that might be my favorite one-liner of the chapter as well. hehehe And I'm just thrilled that you like and relate to Jo! She's really what the whole story is about, and if people aren't rooting for her, the story looses all of its pull. Also, it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed my humor writing! I usually write drama/angst, and this is the most humorous thing I've written thus far, so it's a great relief to know it's working out!

This was such a brilliant review! Thank you so much for leaving such a kind and detailed comment! You're wonderful! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #29, by Cannons Nice to Meet You

13th November 2013:
Oh. Wow. this was to much. and. at the same time too little!

8000 words and I want more :D ahaa

I seriously love how you've written Fred and how he gives her a chance. It's hard though because we all know what happens to him *sobs*

She had a great idea though for the shop and for someone who seems so shy or not-talkative that was quite brave to put herself forward for a position not even advertised. Although it was stalkery-ish considering all the research she must have done just to get to work near George!

I just loved it! The farting chair idea was great and I loved it when she sat down on it again forgetting what had happened last time :L

I must admit I was loosing faith that there was ever going to be another update on this chapter so I was so happy to see this was posted. It must feel weird though since your first chapter was posted in 2010! So well done for posting another chapter.

I feel Jo - may I call her Jo? - is really relatable, especially since things like job interviews or anything out of the norm I'm hopeless with (although not to her extent) so it was great seeing Fred so understanding with her. I also felt weirdly...proud of her... :P

Anyway I'm excited to see where this is going and looking forward to lots and lots of *cough* regular *cough* updates! ;)

I don't know why I like this as much as I do because I usually loose interest in stories if I have to wait for an update, but I do it's already a favourite! It's mainly because of Josephine though! :D :D

Thanks for updating this!

:)

Author's Response: You are honestly way too kind! *squee* And I know, it got so long! I have no idea how it happened, but I'm so glad that it didn't feel too lengthy while reading! Woohoo!

Oh man, I know - every time I write a Fred scene where he's happy and funny and alive, it's so sad to think that it's a flashback and he's not around in the present day. :-( But I'm so glad you liked him in this! It's so important to me to get the canon characters right!

Ahaha, oh Jo. She's a bit cray-cray. I'm glad you liked her plan on how to get a job! I knew she'd need something special in order to be considered, because otherwise she's really not the type of person fit to work in a joke shop! LOL

Omg, when I first thought of the farting chair, I couldn't stop laughing, cause in my head it was just the funniest thing! I am SO RELIEVED to hear that it landed! YAY!

Ahhh, I know, I'm the worst! But your original PM to me a month or so ago combined with NaNo really relit my fire, so thank you, thank you, thank you! It is so nice to be back to this story and posting again! And it feels VERY weird! hahaha *hugs*

Girl, you can call her whatever you like (LOVE the reference to the story! Bahaha You're too good)! I relate all too well. For me it's auditions that make me just so nervous and shy and uncomfortable, and while Jo takes all of that to another level, I'm glad it all felt relatable! And I was proud of her too! ^.^

REGULAR UPDATES! YES! IT'S GOING TO HAPPEN! hehehe Almost all of chapter four is written, thanks to NaNo, so come December all I'll need to do is edit it! Phew!

Whatever the reason, I'm just so happy that you're enjoying it and I hope you always come back to my soon-to-be regularly updated story! You're truly the best, thank you so much for this incredible review! Eep! :-D


 Report Review

Review #30, by Cannons Promises, Promises

19th September 2013:
you are talented. your writing is so smooth, easy to read.. really amazing read PLEASE add another chapter :P

Author's Response: Aw, wow! Thank you so much, Cannons! This is such a sweet review and I'm thrilled that you're enjoying the story so far! And, in very exciting news, I'm actually about to finish chapter 3 as we speak! I'm planning to have it in the queue by Sunday at the latest! I really hope to see you back here again! You're so sweet for leaving this review - endless thank you's thrown your way! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #31, by melpell Promises, Promises

21st August 2013:
Wow, I think I may be in love with George now. So well written you totally had me in tears. I really don't think George and Angelina would have gotten together like j.k. says. I think the quiet reserved Jo would be perfect for him. Often I find flashbacks confusing, and hard to jump around from. But not yours. You are a very talented writer and you should really continue this amazing story because Jo at the very least needs to talk to George. I think this a great plot which I personally haven't come across previously and I'm kind of obsessed with hpff in general. So write girl write! It's in your soul that you have so much heart to share and you should continue! HP4L (Hufflepuff for life) : )

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much for this review, Melissa! It was pretty much terrifying when you told me that you were going to read my stories, so I'm beyond relieved that you enjoyed them! Phew! haha

Ah, there's nothing more I love to hear than my writing has brought tears! LOL That sounds really mean of me, but really, it's such a compliment that it took you to such an emotional place. I adore Jo as a character and I always keep my fingers crossed that readers will love her too, so it's always amazing when people like and connect with her! It's also so nice to hear that you both enjoyed the writing and that the use of flashbacks didn't confuse you. :)

Before I wrap this review up, I just wanted to say that since we had our conversation about fanfiction, you inspired me to get back to writing! I dug back into my notes and have already started adding to Chapter 3! I really hope to see it posted in the next few weeks, so thank you for getting me back on the horse! And thank you even more for this beautiful review! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #32, by Gemma Promises, Promises

27th February 2013:
This story is amazing and Jo is so relatable and really well developed. Your writing is extremely powerful and I truly hope you continue this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the comment! I've been on a huge hiatus with this story, but have recently been revisiting my notes and am truly hoping to pick up where I left off. It's really wonderful to see that people wish for me to continue it, so I'm doing my very best to get a third chapter out! I hope to see you come back to the story someday should I find the ability to continue it! :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by SilentConfession Promises, Promises

14th August 2012:
Hey, i'm here to thank you for all of your amazing help with the reviewing the HC podcasts! And, i've always wanted to read this story so i've just killed two birds with one stone (straw birds, of course, wouldn't dream of killing real ones!! ;P ).

Anyway, this was absolutely lovely. I love how you've written Josephine, she's so real and lively and yet she rarely says a word. I like that and although i've always imagined Fred to be friends with people who are about as lively and witty as him, this strangely works. Their interaction in the flashbacks were stellar. I also like how you even described their relationship and how he liked to figure her out and brought out her insecurities to why he even liked her. It answered a lot of questions but it was so beautifully and seamlessly done that is seemed natural! Which is a great feat because it sometimes seems like sometimes authors (me included!!) just throw this information into the chapters without thought of how to do it. It just seemed normal coming from Jo. I don't know how better to explain it or if i got my point across at all, but so you know, I liked it a lot.

I think it's because I just love Jo's monologues and her narration. It's really relatable, even if i may not have experienced what she has or i don't have much in common with her, i feel what she does. I think that is such an amazing accomplishment honestly.

This is incredibly sad as well. I can't handle Fred stories very well because i'm STILL mourning his death (how weird am i?) and the way you wrote how Fred Weasley is in a box just really struck me. And the scene with George and Molly!! GAH!! it's too much for me to handle! I was so close to bawling my eyes out like a school kid. You wrote it so well though and you description is brilliant because you can capture these really emotional, heart-wrenching moments with precision.

There is one thing i do wonder, does George not know of their relationship at all? Like, at all?? I feel like that is a little unbelievable as they were so close and even with Fred's promise to not talk about her at all, i don't see how that could fly under George's radar. Especially as it seems like they were friends before she started working for them. Maybe he does know about it though and that just hasn't been shown yet... :P

Whatever the case, this is really, really lovely and i hope you continue on it because it's so intriguing and it makes me want to know what's going to happen next!
-zayne

Author's Response: I will love you forever if we both just pretend that it didn't take me over a year to respond to this review... Deal?

Haha Who am I kidding! I already love you forever for leaving this amazing review! (Also, I'm so sorry for the late reply; I am simply the worst!) It's so nice of you to have given out reviews for people who helped with the 2012 HC! You're wonderful, and I'm so happy that it inspired you to start reading Jo! Yay!

Ah, it's such a relief every time I hear that people like Josephine AND that they don't think I'm insane for thinking that quiet, shy little Joey could even slightly fit into the world of the crazy twins! Phew! And I definitely understand what you mean! It really bothers me when people begin their stories with, like, endless lists of who everybody is and how they act and what they're like - I'd much rather figure the character out on my own without having who they are shoved down my throat! It's amazing to hear that you think I pulled it off! It's definitely a tricky balance, so yay! Thank you!

Oh, you're just too kind. I was actually really nervous about posting this story because it is written in a relatively uncommon fashion, and posting things that are somewhat different can be a huge risk. I feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief, though, because Jo's narration is really the foundation of the entire story, and if you can't relate to her on some level, it just wouldn't work, I don't think! It's incredible to hear that you can feel with and for her without having gone through exactly what she has - I'm so, so happy!

Girl, I've been in mourning over Fred for years, too! *hugs* You are blowing my mind away! Those scenes were both so important to me because I adore Fred so much and I really just wanted to do his death some form of justice and to really make people feel his loss, so endless thank you's for those comments! ^.^

Mwahaha! As River Song would say, 'Spoilers!' hehehe All I will say is that I have it covered. I think the thing about first person stories is that everything that you're told is very, very one-sided. They can think they know what's going on around them, but perhaps they're missing a few details. I definitely appreciate the concern, though! I think I've covered all plot holes, but should you see any more potential questionable moments, definitely point them out, just in case, you insightful thing, you!

In conclusion, you are incredible, this review is just amazing, and I really hope to see you again in chapter 3 (which I've just gotten back to writing, so it should be up soon)! Thank you, thank you, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #34, by Roots in Water Promises, Promises

22nd June 2012:
I think that you have a very interesting idea here and you're executing it very well. The concept of Josephine creating a false relationship with one brother while desiring a true one with his twin is very intriguing and I don't think I've ever seen a similar concept.

As well, I really like what you've done with Josephine's character. In particular, I liked how you have her enjoy just listening to Fred's words. It's a very interesting relationship, one that definitely worked for them, and similar to some of my friendships. I too like to listen to what other people have to say, though I use my voice more than Josephine. They often have interesting things to say... And back to the story! I liked how you characterized her relationship with Fred- it definitely seems in character for him to try and push her to open herself up. And we all know how he liked to bet...

Furthermore, I like how you've characterized Josephine's shyness. Her actions at the funeral were sweet and definitely showed the magnitude of what she has to overcome. As well, it was interesting to show her inner debate about her "selfishness"- it immediately made her more human, for while she wasn't completely focussed on herself she also wasn't denying that she was hurting too.

It'll definitely be interesting to see how your story progresses. I can't imagine how she's going to be described as Fred's girlfriend- perhaps she will mope too often near the Weasleys and Mrs Weasley will assume that her relationship with Fred was different than it actually was. Perhaps George will start the farce by dropping a joking remark that will be taken too seriously.

And I'm looking forward to seeing Josephine's development as she struggles to reveal her feelings to George. I imagine that she will still think that her dare with Fred is on and will try to accomplish it by New Year's... But her shyness, coupled with the "romantic relationship" with Fred, will really put a stopper on it.

All in all, I'm very intrigued to see where you take this story and I look forward to your next update!

Author's Response: Hello Roots! This review is incredible, but I first want to apologize for how long it's taken me to respond! I sort of fell off the HPFF wagon there for awhile, but I'm back now and so very grateful for your comments! You're truly wonderful!

Oh, it's so great to hear that you find the plot both unique and well-written! I really wanted to write something that not only felt original, but that was also written in a less common style, so thank you so much for your kind words! It's always nerve-racking posting something that's slightly unusual, but so relieving to know that it's working out!

I can't tell you how lovely it is to hear that people like Josephine's character. I mean, without her being likeable, the story doesn't have ground to stand on. I love her myself, but she's very odd and it's hard to know what people will think of her, so thank you so much! And her relationship with Fred is very important, especially that it feels real and makes sense. At first glance they seem like unlikely friends, but it's amazing to hear that I've been able to tie them together believably! It was a real worry when I first posted this chapter!

The funeral scene was so hard to write. I like to be in denial of Fred's death, but obviously when I'm writing his own funeral, I have to dive into it! Finding the balance between Jo mourning for herself and for others too was tricky, but what a relief to hear it worked for you! :-D

Ooo, I love your theories! All in due time, my friend. ^.^ It's so wonderful to see how intrigued you are, though! I love it! Eep!

You're very perceptive - I really hope you come back to this story when my next chapter is up (hopefully this weekend!) because I love hearing your thoughts on the future of Jo! But I fear I cannot indulge you in said theories because, in the words of River Song, spoilers! ;-)

You're amazing. This review has been exceptional and I really do hope to see you back here again. Thank you so much for taking the time to write me, I endlessly appreciate it! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #35, by JJtheNerdfightingStarkid Introduction: Boxes

17th June 2012:
This story is /so/ good:) Your writing style really is beautiful. I can't wait to see the updates!

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much! I'm so happy to hear that and really flattered that you think so! I'm working on chapter 3 as we speak, so hopefully an update isn't too far off! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #36, by Sara_Sj Promises, Promises

21st May 2012:
Oh my goodness. This story is beautiful. It's painful. It's /real/. Not gonna lie, I did feel some wetness in my eyes, though I didn't cry. I've always loved Fred & George and hgkjdfhgdf I'm truly at a loss. Your main character, Josephine, though an OC, I feel like I've known her for quite a while. She's come off as surprisingly strong and has an amazing character I look forward to get to know. Her friendship with Fred was AMAZINGLY written. You have no idea. It was perfect. Fred & George are hardly ever given justice, I'm never truly happy with the way they are written. But this? This was perfect. Though I didn't see much, I can tell you, from what I can see, that you've done a great job. Please, I know how hard it is to write and update and keep up with life, but please please please update soon. I'm looking forward to your updates!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm really so flattered that the emotions were so real for you that it almost brought you to tears! I adore the twins and just had to write a story for George after he loses Fred. And I'm beyond happy with what you've said about Jo! I've worked really hard on developing her to be realistic and relatable and flawed so it's great to see people appreciating her as much as I do! Also, it's so incredible to hear that I've written Fred and George in character so well! Believe me, I struggled over it for a long time before finally being happy with it and I'm so glad it paid off, because I agree that a lot of people don't write them correctly and I did not want to be one of them! And I'm terrible at updating, but I wrote more of chapter 3 last night and I truly plan to have it posted soon! I'm so glad you'll be sticking around to read more! Thank you so much for this magnificent review! I'm blown away. :-D

 Report Review

Review #37, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Promises, Promises

20th April 2012:
This story is so sad thus far, but also wonderful. The flow is absolutely breathtaking and I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors what-so-ever. You did an amazing job conveying the emotions here and I can not WAIT for another chapter, to see where things progress from here. This is a very original; I've never read anything like it. 10/10 and going in my favorites!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving this beautiful review! I'm so happy you like it and that the emotion of the writing reaches you, too! And it's always great when people can't find grammar/spelling errors! Phew! hehehe I'm working on chapter 3 and will be in a chapter updating competition with a few of my close HPFF friends so this will absolutely be getting an update sometime within the next month! YAY! I'm so excited that you want to come back for more, and thank you for favoriting and, again, for leaving this lovely review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #38, by Gray Raven Promises, Promises

23rd March 2012:
O my God. I can't seem to stop saying O my God because this story is so breathtakingly beautiful. I don't think I've ever been so impressed up to this level before.

Everything is so well written. The story flows very smoothly. It's so rich of emotions. The OC character is much defined and came out very strong as a character, and I can't wait to read more about her.

Simply Wonderful!

Gray Raven,
Huffelpuf

Author's Response: Oh wow... This is such an incredible review, I'm truly blown away! *blushes forever* Seriously, you must not read enough if you think that of my writing! hehehe I'm so, so flattered! Wow...

I'm so thrilled that the writing and the flow and emotions all worked together to make this an enjoyable read! And I'm beyond happy that you like my OC! I've spent a lot of time fleshing her out, so I really appreciate that she's come across as intended! I hope to have a third chapter soon and I hope to see you there!

Thank you again! You're simply wonderful! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #39, by accioHPFF Introduction: Boxes

23rd February 2012:
So you're Tanya? I'm Scott, and I will be your reviewer this evening. I can only dream of reviewing as well as you can write, so this may seem a little substandard. :) I heard you're a little frustrated. I hope this review doesn't frustrate you further, but if it does, can I apologise now? ...and then I'll hide. Plan. :)

*starts review*

WOW. This was amazing! :) You really took advantage of writing a short chapter, it set the scene for the story perfectly, not to mention the tone of the story.

I really like the narrative voice in this. I love how your character acts and feels about things, and I especially love how you use the really short sentences. Every line is so effective, and the way you repeat the "lying in a box" means that it's an image constantly in the forefront of the reader's mind.

I like the way that they aren't celebrating the victory at the Battle of Hogwarts, because of the recent deaths. I think that was a really nice touch. :)

*ends review*

So, this is me (Scott, your reviewer for this evening) signing off. I'm sorry I had nothing useful to tell you. Unfortunately, this work was too good for any feedback to improve. Well, that's fortunate too. Anyway, I'll get around to chapter two eventually, but for now, goodbye! :)

Author's Response: Scott? Scott... hmmm... Sounds vaguely familiar... HOW DO YOU KNOW MY NAME? ;-) And 'substandard'? Pffft, this is such a lovely review, and the fact that you left it specifically to brighten the bad day I was having makes it even more amazing! :-)

Yay! It's so great to hear that the short chapter still managed to have an impact! I was hoping it would be long enough to set the tone, but short enough to be given a chance! haha Glad it did that for you!

Awww, thank you so much! I really love my OC and it's always incredible when people like her as well, especially her inner voice because that's a huge part of who she is, so thank you! And I'm so happy the short lines are adding emphasis and effect because I know it could easily have turned into a 'choppy' piece if not done properly! Short sentences can easily make a story feel very staccato, with no fluidity, but yay for pulling it off! Thank you!!!

I just know that when the seventh book ended, I was of course happy that Harry won, but was definitely mourning our losses, so I just took that and assumed most characters would feel the same! Especially since they were all still surrounded by the evidence of their losses! So sad, but I'm so glad it worked for you! ^.^

Oh, Scott! I know who you are: Scott! Duh. This was a wonderful review, you silly goose :-p Really, this was such a kind review and it sincerely made my day do a 180! Thank you for leaving it, you're a sweetheart! :-D


 Report Review

Review #40, by JJtheNerdfightingStarkid Promises, Promises

9th February 2012:
Well, you've succeeded in making me tear up and very nearly cry! You can really understand what Fred meant to her, and how she's feeling over his loss. :(

On a bit of a better note, however, this is another story I think I'll be adding to my favorites list :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry! Well, sort of... :-p

THANK YOU! Really, tears/crying is honestly one of the greatest compliments I can receive - I'm so happy that the emotions reached on such a high level that it actually caused you to choke up a bit, hehe That sounds kind of awful of me to say, huh? ^.^ But thank you, I'm glad you got such a great sense of Fred and Jo's relationship and how huge that loss was for her!

And thank you! I'm honored that you'd even consider adding me to a favorites list! :-D

Also, I love your penname. hehehe Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!


 Report Review

Review #41, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Promises, Promises

2nd December 2011:
Oh boy.

You have created a masterpiece.

Author's Response: Ah, you're so nice to me!!! Thank you so much! Wow, I'm blown away! Thank you for this simple but outstanding review! Day = Made. :-D

 Report Review

Review #42, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Introduction: Boxes

2nd December 2011:
That last line! Wow. I got a chill. I really did. This entire introduction was quite moving. I could really feel her pain and how alone she feels. The descriptions were right on as were the emotions. I can't comment more on the characters because they weren't shown but I already know I'm favoriting this.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so much! I'm beyond thrilled that the last line landed so perfectly with you! It was definitely my intention and I'm so glad to hear it worked for you!!! Yay! Thank you!!! :-D It's also wonderful that you could feel her emotions and that my descitiptions are what did it! I'm so flattered!!! Eeee! ^.^ Yup, the characters are pretty hidden at the start, but OMG YAY FOR FAVORITING ALREADY! Thank you so much for leaving me this beautiful review!!! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #43, by 1917farmgirl Promises, Promises

8th November 2011:
Girl, you are amazing.

Seriuosly, I don't know how to say this so that you stop being so humble and actually believe I mean it.

Because this deserves the praise. You have created an OC that is interesting, captivating, likable! I want to know what happens and how she is!

And, you made me cry - which really isn't very nice, just so you know.

You twins are incredible. I'm jealous. Very jealous. And I'm not sure I will ever be able to write an OC after reading this, because mine will always fall short.

*applauds* WELL DONE!

Now, more. :)

Author's Response: *dies* My goodness, Jill, you're seriously too nice to me. THANK YOU! :-D

Hahaha Be careful what you wish for - you're gonna give me a big head or something in exchange for my humble demeanor. ;-)

I'm so glad you you like Jo. You know how much I value your opinion, especially when the twins are involved! It's beyond amazing to hear how much you liked both Jo as a character and my portrayal of the twins. It took me forever to feel anywhere near secure about writing them, but your seal of approval is better than hearing it from anyone else - seeing as you are the expert! :-p

*cough* I'm sorry I made you cry... BUT I have to say that I'm extremely flattered that my writing effected you enough to actually bring tears to your eyes. So thank you for that. I'm incredibly flattered. :-)

Lastly, girl, having read SO much of your own work, I know how incredible you are, so don't you dare not write because of me! Believe me, once it's down on paper, everyone will be falling in love with anything you write.

*bows* THANKS AGAIN!

And more, yes! Hahaha Well, as you now, I'm finally starting chapter 3 again and actually making progress (thank Nano)! So this time, it really should be out soon! *crosses fingers*

You're the best.


 Report Review

Review #44, by Lizzfizz Promises, Promises

8th October 2011:
I was practically in tears, it's so moving and sad. How she can never know anything about having family, how she only ever had Fred and her obsession with George. It's so well written too, and Jo has a really strong 1st person voice.
Update soon!
Lizzfizz :)

Author's Response: Eeeep! Is it terrible that I just love when I get reviews from people on the verge of crying? It's such a compliment to me and I'm so grateful to hear that the writing and the story's emotions hit you so hard! Really, I'm extremely flattered! Also, I'm ecstatic that Jo's first person voice is working so well for you because I was nervous to write both her character and from a first person POV. This is such a wonderful review and I'm so happy you chose to leave it! I should have more chapters coming in Novemeber because I'm participating in Nanowrimo! I truly hope to see you back! Thank you!!! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #45, by Lizzfizz Introduction: Boxes

8th October 2011:
Really well written, so sad and I so desperately want to find out about this character. The story is interesting and I would say a bit more, but I have to read the next bit :)

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks so much for the review, Lizzfizz! It's great to hear that the emotions of the piece are really coming through for you! And it's always great to hear that you plan to move on to the next chapter! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #46, by mental_marauder18 Promises, Promises

27th September 2011:
I like it. It's different from the normal stories. it's touching, and i sort of understand her character, like she makes sense. Good work, and hopefully you'll update soon. The worst part of the story is that it's only got two chapters. Why hasn't it got more yet? Update soon, and I'll keep reviewing.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for the lovely review! It's so great to hear that you're liking and understanding Jo! I always worry about her a bit because she's so different than most OC's in fanfiction, so thank you! Yay! :-D

I'm glad you're enjoying it so far and I absolutely love that you want more! Nanowrimo is around the corner and I have plans to use November to write at least 4 more chapters to this story, so hang tight! They'll be posted soon! I hope I'll see you back here when they do go up! Thanks again so much for taking the time to review! ^.^


 Report Review

Review #47, by Lucy Promises, Promises

29th August 2011:
This is a haunting and beautiful story with a lovely unique style of writing. It's only two chapters in and i am already hooked! Please keep writing its truly beautiful and i'm so keen to see where you take this!
Much love and God Bless

Author's Response: Wow... This is such a beautiful review and I can not thank you enough for leaving it! I'm blown away by your calling it 'haunting' and 'beautiful', truly - I couldn't have asked for two greater compliments. And it's so great to hear that you enjoy the style I've chosen to write in, because I was worried about it when I first began, so thank you! And yay for being hooked! :-D I'm working on chapter 3 as we speak and I really hope to see you again! Thank you so much for the gorgeous review. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #48, by maskedmuggle Promises, Promises

10th August 2011:
Not perfect? What else do you need to edit Tanya? This is like SO COMPLETELY AMAZING ALREADY!!! Wow. You are a very talented writer and I do believe that you should write more stories ;) I really, really loved this chapter. You know, usually I get put off by chapters with more than 3000 words, but wow.. you just grabbed my attention and before I knew it, 4000 words had passed! and you left me wanting even more!

I really liked the beginning memory, and then Fred's funeral as well. By the way, I think the way you've structured this story actually makes it all the more amazing. You don't tell us anything, so we're left intrigued from chapter one, and now wondering how Jo's going to interact with George. Gahh, her narration is wonderful, because all her emotions, thoughts and memories and everything are just so.. real! I really like Jo's friendship with Fred. All the dialogue between them in the first flashback memory was really well written, and very enjoyable to read.

And then the funeral. How sad. :( I could really feel Jo's sadness, and having George appear was another interesting moment.

I JUST LOVED THIS CHAPTER. When will you update this? The answer better be soon.. please.. :) Loved this, love the plot so far, the characters, and the writing is wonderful!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

Author's Response: Ee MM! Gah! You're waaay too nice! *dies* THANK YOU! ^.^

See, when I originally wrote this chapter, I had a different idea for the ending that I never completed, but posted the chapter anyway, so I always assumed I'd go back and edit, hehehe. I'm so glad you think it needs no editing! *hugs* LOL I'm constantly worried about it because I rushed that ending, so that really means a lot! And I just love that the story didn't drag for you at all, but that the 4,000 words seemed to fly by! Because this is an emotional story rather than a plot driven one, I always worry that it could drag, so thank you! Really, those are two of the greatest compliments I could have ever asked for with the chapter! *hugs*

Thank you again! It's so great to hear that you're enjoying the structure of the story, as I know it's a bit different than most! And yay for being intrigued! And I never get sick of hearing that you enjoy Fred and Jo's relationship! I worked really hard on that and was thoroughly nervous about it when I originally posted! I'm currently writing out Jo and George's first interaction for the story, so I hope it goes over well!

Yes, the funeral... That actually took me a very long time to write because I wanted the emotions to really be felt, you know? It's so great that you could feel the sadness, I worked very hard for that, thank you!

LOL Eeee Seriously, this is such a kind review! I'm being pestered by pixileanin to update asap, so I'm working on chapter 3 as we speak! It's half complete now, so hopefully soon!

Honestly, thank you so much for such a beautiful review!


 Report Review

Review #49, by _Leo_ Promises, Promises

10th August 2011:
'Fred Weasley is lying in a box.' There it is again, and it draws a beautiful connection to the last chapter.
George and Molly were heart-breaking in their mourning, and I admire you for attempting that scene. It couldn't have been easy to write.
Your descriptions were once again easy to picture, I especially liked Fred with Josephine, like in this sentence: '"You're so full of it, Jo!" he shakes his head and lets out my favourite laugh in a single booming 'Ha!' rubbing the sore spot before tossing the dessert back at me. I dodge it expertly.'
Well done, and I hope there's more soon :)

Leo (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Hello again, Leo! And thank you for another amazing review! Eep! ^.^

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed that repetition and connection to the first chapter! And as difficult as it was to write the funeral scene, I'm so relieved to hear that both George and Molly really got to you, thank you!

LOL It was a lot of fun trying to write the relationship between Fred and Josephine and I'm so glad that it worked for you! And I'm so excited that I could paint a picture for you with my writing! That's such a great compliment, I'm so happy! ^.^

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Chapter 3 is half complete and I was working on it last night, so I hope to have an update for you soon! *hugshugshugs*


 Report Review

Review #50, by _Leo_ Introduction: Boxes

10th August 2011:
The way you introduced your main character is really intriguing.
Leaving aside title and summary, I could feel with her and feel her pain without knowing anything about her or her name. I suppose it's the first person narrative which makes it so personal; so good choice there. One little sentence really got me, so dramatic: '
Fred Weasley is lying in a box.'
I am intriguied to learn how she got from hiding behind that tree after Fred's funeral to walking into her empty house.
Great start!

Leo (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Hello Leo! ^.^

Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I'm incredibly flattered! What really makes me smile is that you can feel right along with Josephine's emotions! Since this story is much more of an emotional piece than a plot driven story, it's so important that those emotions are coming across to the readers, so truly thank you! Eee! ^.^ I'm glad you like the first person narrative! I think most people prefer third person writing, so I was a bit nervous, but I really thought it was the only way to really dig into the emotion of this story, and I'm SO glad you approve, yay! *hugs*

I love small lines that make an impact when I read, so I really wanted to see if I could use the technique myself, and I'm so glad it worked for you and that one of those lines stood out for you! Thank you!

I'm so glad you're intrigued by chapter one! I hope that means you'll stick around! ^.^

Really, thank you so much for the wonderful review, Leo! *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>