Reading Reviews for For Keeps
  
96 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ruby_slippers Home Is Where The Floo Is

11th May 2011:
i like that there is a bit of a turning point for victoire, i like that she stuck it to teddy good and propper without swooning once! you go girl! mostly i loved the mother daughter exchange at the end :
"no one has beautiful feet mum"
"you do"
aren't mums the greatest?? (i say this recognising that i am infact quite a dad's girl too!)

Author's Response: Mums ARE the greatest, especially when they forgive our occasionally taking them for granted. This is MY mum's favorite chapter :-)

And, yes, our little Vic is growing up.

Take care and thanks so much for the review!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #27, by Ms V Never Trust Superstitions Born From Excessive Time at Sea

16th April 2011:
I'm really confused. Hope it gets better

Author's Response: Oh, no! It's all so clear in my head. I hope it gets better, too!

I'll tell you the conjuring of the Fiendfyre is directly related to previous events. The lightning storm that destroyed the Fiendfyre was conjured by the Lightning Wand. The story of its owner will be revealed as the plot unfolds. So will the agenda of the fairies who know how all these wands fit together.

Thanks for the review. On revision, it's tremendously helpful to know where the mystery gets difficult to follow. I really appreciate hearing what you think, and hope you give me a chance to clear up the mysteries.

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #28, by bree It's Not Like I Havenít Seen It Before

20th February 2011:
i love your story! please update!
i just spent an hour reading all your chapters up till here.
I must say...impressive! you've given victoire her own story thats equally as fascinating as hers and teddy's!
you have an amazing voice as well : )

Author's Response: Hi bree!

I can't thank you enough for the lovely review. I'm smiling huge now. I'm a little behind on the next chapter but I'm working on it. Promise!

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #29, by Pinguin It's Not Like I Havenít Seen It Before

12th February 2011:
I am not a very good reviewer at all. But I just saw that you don't get a lot and that's not good at all - cause this story is GREAT! I loved the rug-incident. And I think the Gillywater is suspicious as our little hate-object is. But what I can't guess is, why Iska wants Teddy in the first place. Not that I don't think he is charming, but there has to be more... And I can't wait to see where this story is going!

Author's Response: Hi Pinguin

Your suspicions are dead on and yes, as much as Victoire - and I - love Teddy, there might be more than charm involved.

I'm so excited you're enjoying the story. Thanks for the review. It made my day!

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #30, by caputdraconis It's Not Like I Havenít Seen It Before

9th February 2011:
Let me just say this: It takes a pretty good fanfic writer to make me as passionate with my feelings for a character as I am with Iska. So good job, because I'd really like to just punch her.
And while I'm at it, I'd like to punch Teddy too if it would be okay. He deserves it.
The whole beginning of this chapter was "yay bliss and happiness" and then the end was just *slap*. So good job with that too.
Notes, notes, notes: "She really wanted to correct him for jumping to the conclusion James meant snogging." There are several cases like this that just catch me on occasion. It may be due to my speed reading habits learned from reading in school, but it would just clarify the sentence a little more if you put something, such as the word "that" in between "conclusion" and "James" in this sentence. This happens once or twice, but I'm a picky individual, so it's probably just me.
All in all, lovely, and I cannot wait to see what happens next! Ugh! I have to wait for the next chapter to get through validation... how upsetting.
Cappy

Author's Response: Cappy!

I'm glad you don't hate me for bringing them to the brink and yanking them back. I was thinking someone might want to punch me ;)

Thanks for the notes. I did go through and make some changes. I'm still writing the next chapter. I tend to write in chunks and then break up the chapters when I think I've got the flow ironed out. I'm working on the next chunk now. It'll come and I'll try not to let it be too long a wait.

Thanks as always for the great review!

~Ty


 Report Review

Review #31, by caputdraconis That Which Does Not Kill Us

3rd February 2011:
And now I'm depressed.
Not because this was a tear-jerker chapter, but because I now have to wait for updates, and that always sort of saddens me. So goody.
BUt I liked this chapter a lot. I like the ideas here, and I feel a little bad for Teddy about the stuff with Albus, but more bad for Al, actually. Poor kid with the letter... And Teddy and Vic just need to suck it up and get back together, because they practically are at this point. That's all I can say.
I hope you update soon, but no pressure... haha. I will be following regularly for updates.
C.

Author's Response: This chapter was written as part of the one that follows and that's in queue now, but a few days off still with the validation. I should have posted it right after this one validated but got distracted with some editing I wanted to post.

Teddy and Vic are very close at this point and she's starting to push some topics she's been avoiding. Al, of course, is easier for her to speak to Teddy about than herself, but she's trying.

Hopefully next chapter will be worth the wait. There's a lot going on and, if I did it well, the key to Teddy and Iska's relationship and some important info regarding his time away will become clear (to the reader at least).

Hang in there!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #32, by caputdraconis The Allure of Other People's Drama

31st January 2011:
Uh oh! So much in this chapter... oh my, oh my, oh my... I'm going to have to read again-- sort of in a spacey mood, and this is the wrong chapter for that. But wow. My god.
You were eager to get all of this out, weren't you? No a/n for one thing... but on top of that... there were more typos in this than the others-- just so you know for editing reference. Nothing that made it unreadable. Just a couple of typos is all.
All righty. Well good job yet again. Wonderful!
C

Author's Response: Yeah, I did put some pressure on myself to get this out. It was the reveal for a lot of backstory and converging drama. Also the lead up to the turning point, and I felt like it was taking me ages to move forward - not the plot but the ability to steal time to actually write it.

Thanks, I'll get back to fix up the typos. It's always easier to see when I go back after some time away from it.

Thanks for reviewing!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #33, by caputdraconis Wagging the Dog

31st January 2011:
Okay so I wrote this entire wonderful, rambly review and then, just as I was sending it, my internet cut off and the review was lost for all eternity. And I was very sad and had to get off the computer for its own safety. So this is the gist of what I can remember after calming down--

Now that the fiery inferno that is midterm week in the average American high school has passed, I am free to return to my regular somewhat obsessive reading and reviewing schedule.

Let me just say how happy I am with this chapter. I didn't realize until it was pointed out how similar Owen is to Sirius, but it is so true! I love Sirius, and I love Owen. He is definitely my favorite, and his plotline is my favorite of this, or at least neck and neck with all of the Vic/Teddy relationship or not drama with Iska combined whatever...

Anyway, as to your comment about losing interest, you're not losing mine. I totally understand where you're coming from though. I feel the same way with my fic that is on this site. I think it has something to do with the short attention span of fanfic readers-- myself included. I have a tendancy to like and follow a million fic, read and review and keep adding a thousand more until I don't know which is which, which I've read recently, what's been updated, and so on and so forth. So it doesn't mean, i don't think, that they don't like your fic... it's just they like so many fics. But yeah, I fear tehe same thing with mine. It's like "does anyone give a crap" but I understand, like you, that the semi-boring chapters are absolutely necessary for development, though I feel a lot of readers have a hard time grasping that concept and realizing that one "Dull" chapter does not mean the rest will be. They just like excitement all the time, and with sites like this and fanfiction it makes excitement all the time totally possible...

So to anyone out there skimming the reviews of this for spoilers, like I am guilty of doing: this fic retains its awesomeness the whole way through!

So awesome job, can't wait to keep going, as usual of course. Sorry for the rambling. I think this was more rambly than the first one I wrote last night... haha. :)
Cappy

Author's Response: Cappy!

I think Owen is a lot what Sirius would have been like if he'd had a loving family. Owen was somewhat on his own after his mother died. He was raised by his bachelor uncle who managed a string of hotels so he moved around and had a lot of freedom, but he always had the support of someone caring. Just not a lot of discipline. The poor boy had no idea how to react when he left and Victoire and his assistant Dorothy went all maternal on him. His uncle had always been more like Teddy - let him work it out on his own and he'll be back when he's ready.

I'm so glad to hear you're still liking the story and taking the time to ramble about it. I went for a long time without any sort of feedback on the later chapters so I was really wondering. I can tell people are reading, or at least hitting the pages, but not what they're thinking about them. You're an angel for reviewing every chapter. I really appreciate it.

Take care and thanks again for reviewing!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #34, by caputdraconis The Brilliance of Footed Pyjamas

23rd January 2011:
This chapter made me very happy. Know why? Because of all the Teddy and Vic lack of tension and such... Makes me so freaking happy! Because you know, I really don't think it's them settling into being comfortable as friends... It's something else entirely. Which makes me so. freaking. happy.
By the way, thanks for the inspiration. My fanfic mind flies all over the place, so currently I had a Rose/Scorp and Founder fic going... and then suddenly, the lightbulb when off... I've started my own Teddy/Vic fic. Totally different, a lot more fluff. Haha.
C

Author's Response: Yay, happy! 'Friends' can be difficult after you've crossed that line. Enjoy the happy, I can't promise the tension's all gone, but they are more like they used to be (when no one else is looking, that it).

Inspiration! Excellent. That could quite possibly make this the best review I've ever gotten. I will definitely keep a look out 'cause a little fluff here and there can be good for the soul.

Take care and happy writing!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #35, by caputdraconis Double, Double Dates and Trouble

23rd January 2011:
I'm glad that Owen is getting closer and closer to solving all of his issues and whatnot. That would be a good thing, in my personal opinion, just because I love Owen-- like I love most of your secondary characters, apart from... Iska basically... But whatever. I don't count her.
Keep it up! C

Author's Response: Yes, Owen's big distraction is almost at an end. Whatever will he do with all his free time? Hmmm.

I'm ecstatic you're liking the likable secondary characters and also that you're not so much liking the less than likable one :)

You don't have to count her, but don't count her out just yet ;)

Thanks for the awesome review!

~Ty


 Report Review

Review #36, by caputdraconis The Politics of Petting

21st January 2011:
Another wonderful chapter, of course. I would say that these later chapters are on par with the others, if you were wondering. They are just as well written. In my opinion. I was just curious-- how long do you intend, roughly, for this fic to be? I'll keep reading no matter how long it is haha. I'm excited for the next chapter, and excited to see how Fin and Vic's research goes... should be interesting, to say the least.
C.

Author's Response: I can tell you this fic is a bit more epic than I originally intended. Maybe not that bright to have started with such an undertaking, but if you're going to do something, DO IT, right?

Chapters 16/17 (written as one but posted as two) are the turning point of the story. I have the story completely sketched and important chunks written, but I'm not sure of final chapter count. Time wise the story runs about a year.

Thanks for the review. I'm excited you're still liking it :)

~Ty


 Report Review

Review #37, by caputdraconis Just Bob, Bob, Bobbing Along

18th January 2011:
Let me just say-- Go Micah. Go Micah. Go Micah.
I am very proud of her last moment there. Give Teddy a wakeup call and smack in the face-- just what he needed, truly.
My mean grammar picky editor is coming and I try to refrain from being so-- my friends go a little crazy, as I am always correcting their grammar-- this isn't so much as grammar as it just is... spelling? I don't know. I wouldn't point it out if it didn't happen more than once... you often say your when it should be you're. And I wouldn't think of pointing it out... if I were a normal and sane person. But my goal in life is to be an editor, and my friends told me I need to be a little more... critical. Anyway. That's all I have to say about that.
All in all, wonderful chapter. I'm interested to see where Teddy takes all of this... Hopefully he'll take it intelligently and wakeup.
C

Author's Response: Anytime you want to flex your editorial muscle on my story, I'm all for it. Like I said, I'm learning. The your/you're is inattention, I'm affraid. Not that I won't confess to being an occasionally really rubbish speller.

I had the random thought that I'd like to see how different British English spelling is, so I switched my dictionary. Now I'm entirely screwed up when I'm at work, but the exercise has been interesting. I should stop, but I feel committed to completing the fic with some consistency.

Micah has some very good moments and not near as many social filters as Vic. I guess Teddy now knows where he stands with her anyway.

Thanks for the comments!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #38, by caputdraconis Adventures in Competitive Table Poaching

18th January 2011:
I have no table poaching prowess. My social life involves the follow: coming home and getting my jammies and reading fanfic all night. Or writing it. I personally see nothing wrong with this, but I welcome the world to judge me if they see fit.
I really enjoyed this chapter, really and truly. Short, sweet, to the point, focused, and yet, eluding to things just as the other chapters did. One of my favorites thus far, certainly.
As much as Micah is a very talented table poacher, I would not have been all that pleased to be in Vic's situation at the beginning of the chapter.. . that's a little awkward. And poor Fin. he still is getting used to the tepid waters of Micah-ville. Anyway, yay. Can't wait to keep on plugging. ~C

Author's Response: No judging here :)

I know a world class table poacher. Her gift extends to parking spaces as well - it's uncanny. She's the semi-inspiration for this chapter.

A favorite, excellent! I'm grinning huge.

Yeah, Vic and Fin didn't find the situation near as amusing as Micah for sure. At least she is somewhat aware not to push boundaries with Fin too, too far. Even for good food.

Thanks for plugging away!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #39, by caputdraconis Didn't Say I Wasn't Tempted

17th January 2011:
Intriguing chapter! Yay. I'm excited now for more to come with the project and more with Fin and such. This is going to get even better I can tell. Sorry I haven't read in a while-- lazy weekend, spending time writing my own fics and regular stuff and such...
But i didn't forget about the amazing Vic. i'm so pumped to keep reading now.
C

Author's Response: I hope it gets even better. I'm trying my best :)

You're truly an inspiration for taking the time to review so no need to ever apologize.

Thanks!
~Ty



 Report Review

Review #40, by caputdraconis Not Your Standard Muggle Event

15th January 2011:
Teddy and Victoire are stupid. They need to just realize that they're perfect for each other and everything will be okay.
Anyway, amusing chapter, to say the least. Oh Vic... And oh Owen. I'm really intrigued by him particularly and I'm quite interested to see what else happens in his chunk of the story. Thank you for the wishes of luck on my test! I did very well haha.

Author's Response: Yay for doing well on tests and amusing chapters. Oh, Owen, he is a good balance to his both his friend's stupidity. A big piece of his chunk is coming up, no worries.

Take care and thanks for the review!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #41, by caputdraconis The Princess is Far From Comfy

12th January 2011:
Beautiful yet again. Mostly because of the last chunk making it so wonderful. Talk about tension, huh? Awkward... They'll get over it-- they better. XD.
Short review this time-- I should be studying for a test... which is not what I really want to do. I would actually like to keep reading. But wonderful, wonderful. S'all I can say.
C

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm wishing you lots of luck on the test. Although, its taken me a while to respond so you've likely already taken it. Hope all went well!

The tension and the awkward aren't entirely over, but they are trying.

T


 Report Review

Review #42, by caputdraconis Where Do You Sweep Things If You Haven't Got a Rug?

11th January 2011:
Wonderful, but I've come to expect that in these five chapters.
First, let me be a critic-- this was the only chapter of the first five that felt long to me. I don't know what it was. I wasn't bored, per se, but I wasn't necessarily as into it after a good chunk as I was with the others. And then, finally, sometimes, it seemes like you use these simple, choppy sentences that sort of divert from the rest of your style in a noticeable way, one example being, "Later that evening, Bill planned to grill on the deck of the boat for the first time, and everyone was ridiculously excited for it." It's not simple in the syntactical definition of a simple setence-- sorry I'm a major English geek-- but it seems rushed and there's just something awkward about it...

That's all the negative I have though... now the positive.
I did like the letters, quite a bit. I employ stuff like that a lot in my non-fic writing-- it's a nice break, and it helps get the point across in a more exciting manner. And i liked the colors. Color was nice. Not that that's your writing, it's just boring to look at one color background forever. It makes me tired.
I'm starting to really love Micah. She's a sweetheart, a very down-to-earth, great character, the sort of friend at character like Vic certainly needs. And then there's Fin. I think I'm really going to like him, especially with his odd knowledge of human hormones. What an oddity. A perfect oddity.

I'm very excited to read more-- to see where Vic is going to end up with her Teddy rehab and such. I must say, I don't really want her to get over him. I want him to get on with his life and get rid of that Iska. But then again, perhaps it would be acceptable if they were capable of living life without each other, for the first time... That would be an interesting twist (okay, I'm just trying to convince myself it would be okay if that is the way the rest of this novel goes. I won't judge or stop reading if it does... I'm just hoping and crossing my fingers that there is more Teddy/Vic love in the future. And less Iska... and now I'm writing the longest thing ever shoved in parethesis-- I love the name Iska. It reminds me of Ick which is exactly what I think when I think of her. Icksa is what I hear in my mind when I read her name. Anywho...)

Good job yet again!!! Will read more and review more unless I am annoying you with my rambly reviews...
:) C

Author's Response: Thanks for the constructive comments. Transitions are something I struggle with and you nailed just where that really shows, I think. Come to think of it, this whole chapter is rather transitional. I will look at making it smoother.

Ah, color. I wondered if I'd get past validation pushing the html as I do, but I agree it does make it more readable - which is likely why it wasn't considered a formatting issue. Yay.

You're way ahead of me on the name which is Iska Corinne Kincaid. You and Al also think alike, but I won't say more.

Micah and Fin are going to be around for sure so I'm glad you like them.

Loving the rambly reviews, and I'm quire honored to be the recipient of the world's longest thing in parenthesis.

Take care!

~ a very appreciative Ty


 Report Review

Review #43, by caputdraconis The Fine Art of Reciprocity is Dead

11th January 2011:
Okay, another lovely chapter, very lovely.
Now let me just say I'm not so fond of Iska, but I do believe that is the point, so good job creating a mutual feeling of animosity between reader and main character. Poor Vic.
And Theo? I'm disgusted and repulsed. Good for her giving that quill back. That's all I can say.
I really like the sort of dive into the world of wandlore and such. So wonderful. I've always liked that aspect of the HP series, as is talked about so frequently in Deathly Hallows... It always captivated me. But I'm not creative enough to write my own fic involving it. I can't wait to see where all of this goes.
You've got so much going on here-- Bimas, "Theo" and Iska, Owen and the wand, the stuff with Remus and Teddy's journey, the boat, and Vic's "transformations" and such-- don't think it's a bad thing. I'm just wondering where it all is going to go and why you use each part of it. I'm so excited! I shall happily keep reading. Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Ha, Vic's not so fond of Iska or Theo either. The quill was possibly a little passive aggressive, but certainly satisfying for her.

I LOVE the possibilities of wandlore. Its been great fun to work out the circumstances around which they will play their part in the story. You should try - I bet you are far more creative than you give yourself credit for.

I do have a reason behind all of the various working parts to the story. I'm trying my hardest to weave them together well. Fingers crossed!

Thanks again for the lovely review. You're tremendous!

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #44, by caputdraconis Seven is So Not My Lucky Number

10th January 2011:
Yay. Okay. I'm now enjoying a lot of long and rambling reviews, so I hope you don't mind--
Can you say awkward... poor Vic. But I am girl with a soft spot for romance, so of course I like Teddy-- i've liked him since before he made his appearance in this chapter. Awesome. I have decided that things will all end up fine. But that's not up to me... so I guess I have to keep reading, haha.
Not that that's a chore. Your writing is so good, and very witty. it amuses me, and it's the right balance dialogue/description, which is good, becasue I can't stand fics where all people do is talk. So good job! It's really connects to people Vic's age, or roughly around there I suppose. So good job and I will keep reading and reviewing if you don't find my reviews worthless and annoying.

Author's Response: As a matter of fact, I don't mind your reviews at all. They make my day!

I'm thrilled to amuse and delighted I'm finding a readable balance. The awkward is not over, they've a ways to go and I'm glad you have a soft spot for Teddy because it could be a bumpy ride.

~Ty


 Report Review

Review #45, by caputdraconis It's All Fun and Games Until Someone Gets Summoned

10th January 2011:
let me second a question asked by Victoire herself-- "What's an Iska?" I hope the next chapters dont make me angry... haha xD.
in my opinion don't ever ever ever worry about length. i totally agree with you. i impatiently wait for validation as well... i wish i could post all forty-thousand words of my fanfic as one chapter with divisions within. so i totally understand. and i didn't find it confusing. i really love this. great job!! your writing reminds me of mine-- a lot of thoughts and description, sometimes outweighing dialogue... i personally prefer this... so awesome job!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all the reviews. Its taking a while, but I shall respond to every one because I enjoy hearing all you have to say.

Everyone will find out what's an Iska, but not next chapter. Will drag that out a tad.

Take care!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #46, by caputdraconis Nothing Good Ever Came From a Long Eared Owl

10th January 2011:
I've taken a break from HPFF for a while, so this is the first fic that I have read since I've been off the site... and let me just say I'm glad to be back. I won't be going anywhere any time soon. This is wonderful. It's my first Victoire fic, and I've considered writing my own Victoire fic before, so i'm critical. but I love this so far. I hope the rest does not disappoint-- I'm sure it won't.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm thrilled you returned and are giving my story a try. I hope it does not disappoint. It's my first creative writing attempt so I'm truly excited to hear you like it. Chapter 2 is my weak link, I hear, so if you can make it through that... we might be ok.

Victoire's a pretty fun character so I hope you do write your own.

Thanks so much for the review!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #47, by liza_potter Didn't Say I Wasn't Tempted

28th December 2010:
I am so, so sorry Ty - I promised reviews for you on Christmas Day. Here I am, three days later. :( I'm very sorry - I got so caught up in the holidays. Enough of my excuses, though. I will finish the other reviews for your story, simply because I love it and I'm determined. Maybe not before the new year but we'll see. Again, I'm sorry! But let's move on to the actual review, yeah?

Victoire's condition really is interesting. She's a snidget? Suddenly, it all makes sense- all the little hints you gave. Very clever of you! Especially the Snitch hint, I remember I was so confused about that one. It was nice having some history about Victoire's condition, but I can't wait to find out more! Why does Victoire only have this, though? Why not Dominique and Louis, too? Is it because she's the oldest? Ah, I hope there's more to discover about this!

Good for Victoire for standing up to Trimble like that. :) I hope Fin says yes. I'm growing more fond of him by chapter, and so is Victoire it seems. He's an interesting fellow isn't he? Alright, I'll stop with all the Fin loving. Hehe.

Like Victoire, I don't want to like Iska. But she seems nice. Ugh. Why couldn't you make her a complete and utter cow so I can feel alright when hating her? But no. You made her nice. It was considerate of her to fix the rug. And it seems she's found herself some fangirls with the Pauls, hasn't she? ;)

And Teddy. I'm not sure where the two of them are. After all Teddy and Victoire have been there, there's no way they can be friends. Not that easily. And I can sense a tension between them.

I'm very eager to read the next chapter. You've added some mystery into the mix, and I can't wait to see how that plays out. I'm quite interested in Victoire's schooling and BIMAS too.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Liza,

Oh, no apologies. Your reviews are great and I've nothing but awe and gratitude for the time you've spent.

Victoire is more emotional than her siblings which makes her prone to the change. I think the veela blood gives them all a genetic possibility for the ability, but the condition itself is extremely rare and requires a certain personality to manifest it. Vic's emotions channel the magic around her when she reacts to things. Louis has a very laid back personality while Dominique is more practical and directed, so they aren't likely to experience it.

Victoire did stand up for herself so the work she's done to control her shifting is paying off a little, even if she isn't completely confident in it yet. Loving the Fin loving! He is a good kid and I think Victoire recognizes that already.

Iska is definitely the Pauls' kind of girl, which isn't a resounding vote of confidence in itself, but I wouldn't be doing my job if I made it too easy to hate her. Got to complicate things a bit.

Thanks again!
~a very grateful Ty


 Report Review

Review #48, by liza_potter Not Your Standard Muggle Event

24th December 2010:
You know, my reviews for your story are special.

1.They are long, and (hopefully) in-depth.
2.They are made to help you, and to make you realize what an awesome story you have.
3.They are from me.
4.There are more reviews coming for you tomorrow, on Christmas Day.
5.They are from me. If you have not guessed by now, I am your Secret Santa over from TGS. :D


*whispers*
3 and 5 are the most important.

Oh, Owen. He is a nice guy, very funny. I am glad Victoire seems to be becoming such good friends with him. I am just wondering if that will lead to something more. ;) Maybe that will knock some sense into Teddy? But I do not want Owen to get his heart broken. I have really come to care for his character.

I loved the rug bit! Honestly, if you are going to have wizards and witches living the Muggle way in a Muggle house, you are bound to run into some trouble. Speaking of that, I think you did a great job with it. I am always a bit wary of wizarding folk living the Muggle way, especially since it always seems to be popping up among Hogwarts projects. Those same projects often include a fake husband the girl usually ends up falling for and a weird baby doll they have to take care of. Hehe. Point is, it could have easily turned into a cliche. But it actually is very original, and I cannot wait to see how learning to drive turns out for them! *snickers*

I really felt embarrassed for Victoire. Poor thing, I would have been absolutely mortified. It is quite funny, though. One day, maybe even Victoire will see the humor. Tehe. Still, I am glad the rug bit happened since it caused that awkwardly adorable Teddy/Victoire moment.

It was sweet of Teddy to drop by and help Victoire. And bring her some food to eat, too. It is one of those moments when the Teddy from the flashback comes and makes an appearance again. Still, chips and chocolate will not be able to fix what happened. Heís trying, so I will give him some credit, but I am still angry with him.

Phineas is slowly rising up my Favourite Character List. I like him. Not to sound like an overprotective parent, but he is a good kid. xD He sort of saved the day as well, so I am happy he got some credit. He is a bit nerdy and unsociable, but in the most adorable way possible. I hope there is more of Phineas in the next chapters!

Going into the favourites. And that is something that I did not plan on. I just thought I would review every posted chapter of your only story, but I ended up falling in love with it. With Victoire, with Owen, and Phineas, and Micah and even Teddy. Yeah, shocker, I know.

Merry Christmas Ty! I hope you have a fantastic Christmas Eve, and you will see me tomorrow with the rest of your presents!

Enjoy your day,
Liza

Author's Response: Liza!

You ARE special. An awesome Santa. Truly part elf, I'm convinced.

Can't comment on where Owen is going. He'll be a bit distracted with his hunt for his father, but beyond that, can't say.

Teddy is trying, but it's ok to still be angry. Those two have a ways to go before they really resolve things, but that's why it's a novel.

I think Phineas is adorable too, and he is going to be around, no doubt there.

I'm so flattered you like the story. Can't tell you how great that is to hear. Christmas was fantastic and so are these reviews - and you!

Thanks!
~Ty


 Report Review

Review #49, by liza_potter The Princess is Far From Comfy

24th December 2010:
You know, smaller chapters are much better. I have not noticed it much, but your chapters are quite long and filled with lots of action. Shorter, smaller chapters work brilliantly. I mean, I adore this chapters length- it was much shorter than your usual chapter, but it was sweet, to the point and I did not feel like I was suffocating between all the words and action happening. XD Haha. Love the new length! And the flow works better, too. No awkward transitions! You did a good job there.

Ah, Iska, I honestly do not know how to feel about that girl. She does not do anything to earn my dislike, but she has it anyways. I think its because of her name. I might have mentioned this before (or not. I have a bad memory ;)) but she has a dodgy name: Iska. Dodgy name = dodgy girl. Or maybe because she seems so perfect. Pretty, polite, nice, ladylike, neat, enamored with Teddy. Oh, sorry, I meant Theo. :P But I would love to see Iska and Victoire shopping for rugs! Ahaha, can you imagine? I swear, if that will actually happen, I will die happy.

And you have introduced us to the bookends Pauline and Paulette. How annoying those two are! But there is always someone like that in your life, no? I do not like them already, just like Victoire. This reminds me, I am really starting to feel what Victoire is feeling. When she wa annoyed at them, so was I. When she was angry at Teddy, so was I. I am definitely connecting with Victoires character more and more.

More Teddy in this chapter! Teddy when he is not in a trance with Iska, and when heís not so cold and distant. The Teddy in this chapter (Avoiding or eavesdropping? Stay. Talk to me. You canít avoid me.) is like the Teddy I saw in the flashback. He is fun, and playful, and knows Victoire better than anyone. While I am glad he has made an appearance, I am still mad at him, just like Victoire.

Author's Response: Definitely worth the change to break up the chapter, and I am trying to manage my chapter lengths as part of my pacing. Live and learn.

Iska is a challenging character to write. I'm actually glad you don't know what to think of her. Haha the rug bit isn't going to go that way, but it is fun to imagine that little side trip!

I love how everybody relates to the bookends. Definite universal annoyance. And I'm ecstatic you're feeling for Victoire.

Ah, Teddy, not hard to see why she likes him but equally easy to understand why she wants to shake him.

Take care~
Ty


 Report Review

Review #50, by liza_potter Where Do You Sweep Things If You Haven't Got a Rug?

24th December 2010:
Victoires finally a BIMAS student! Yay! (: I really like how you showed that- Victoire getting into BIMAS, I mean. Through letters to Sara. That was nifty of you. Instead of spending a chapter or so describing the process, you include it in a letter and still manage to remind us of Sara. Well done! I thought the format of the letter was very cool, too, much like the BIMAS letter in the first chapter.

Micah is becoming more pronounced as a character. Quick question: where is she from? Victoire thought she had an odd accent, and she speaks like a USA Southerner. Well, I am sure not every Southerner talks like that, but just some of her word choices make me that of that. Like yíall, and how she called Victoire sugar. She is interesting. Her background is unknown to her, but she is a likeable character. Her dialogue is superb, btw.

Sometimes I feel like some of the dialogue is a bit stiff, especially Victoires. She is your MC; and you are letting us into her thoughts, but do not let her take over, kk? ^_^ Phineas dialogue seems very in character for him. He is obviously a very intelligent wizard, and talks like a text book. :P But like I said, that is simply the way he is.

Speaking of Phineas, I am really enjoying his character. I do not know if it is because hes a Ravenclaw, or because he is one of those awkward, introvert types but I am really enjoying him. I hope there will be more of him in the upcoming chapters. I have a good feel already on his character, and I just want to find out more.

Victoire is really growing on me. I have already said in previous reviews how you have made her character unique and different from other Victoires. She is not perfect, or flawless, or anything like that. She has flaws and quirks and she seems to thrive off the page for me now. (: I really want her to continue to grow and flourish. What I noticed just now was her condition was not mentioned for awhile. I am not sure if I should be worried about this. And I am waiting to see if she will trust Micah or even Phineas so much to tell them about her condition.

I am really in love with your writing style. Despite some stiff dialogue and the occasional awkward break, you have a lot of strengths and a very well written story on your hands. Your characterization is very strong, and there is some wonderfully timed humor. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm grinning huge.

I worried some about the letters turning people off but it seemed a more efficient way to skim through the summer with only the necessary bits. I'm so glad to hear it worked for you.

Micah is from southern USA - Louisiana to be exact. Her dialogue is the easiest for me, probably because I grew up in the south myself. I get what you're saying about some of the dialogue being off. I'm a reviser by nature so I am making my way back through here and there looking to make it more hit and less miss ;) You're comments are helpful for that.

There will be more Phineas, no doubt about that.

Again, I can't tell you how much I appreciate your comments.

~a still grinning Ty


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>