43 Reviews Found

Review #26, by FriendofMolly Who is going to Hogwarts in the Autumn?

29th May 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
Now this was a chapter I was waiting for. Ginny has done so many mature things, because it was forced on her. She still is a teenager. Yes, she is in love with Harry, but she rushed the engagement. Now I see she is seeing just what married life, and adulthood will entail. Her chat with Molly was, I think overdue, but it was perfect. You had Molly with the perfect attitude. She knows it's time to be a little tough on Ginny. Harry too is going to be in need of guidance. He was deprived of living in a normal family, until he was 12. Even then it was too short, and busy of a time for him to appreciate the family dynamics. The good news is that they have the best examples of just what they need to do. Excellent chapter.
FoM

Author's Response: Chapter 8 and 9 are now posted, and in the right order! Sorry for the mixup.

This was a good chapter to write. Yes, there was some very deliberate attempt to show Ginny wanting to grow up and then seeing that maybe this being grown up was not all as easy as it looked.

Somehow "Happily Ever After" looks a lot easier than ALL THE REST OF MY LIFE!

And I certainly see Molly as a parent who knows just when the best love is tough love, and the best help is letting you live with the consequences of what you did.
Harry needs role models, and it's his choice of role models, like his choice of friends when he went to Hogwarts, that will make a difference. I see Harry as trying to be a father like Arthur, and probably like Bill Weasley. Harry is going to have to learn family dynamics. Of course every family has different dynamics. But I think you could easily draw a lot of parallels between Arthur and Harry, both married to very strong willed and somewhat volatile women. I would imagine the Potter children would be just as afraid of a howler from Ginny Weasley as the Weasley boys were of a howler from Molly. Well, Arthur and Harry too; wife, mother-in-law, daughter, those women are not push overs.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #27, by Yunkol The Black and Potter Vaults

27th May 2012:
I LOVE it. Thank you for leaving in Ron's reaction to the thought of Harry & Ginny having sex. I just LOVE Ron's reactions to the two of them being together.

Author's Response: Ron has his issues. I'm trying to write a little more Ron and Hermione, and my beta is helping.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #28, by FriendofMolly The Black and Potter Vaults

23rd May 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
Though there was a lot of wonderful scenes in this chapter, there were some (for me) that weren't. I really am not comfortable with the way Ginny is about getting engaged to Harry. If she had at least had Harry proposing it would have been better. This way it seemed that he was tricked into it,(he was) and I'm afraid what that might mean later. I know he was intending to, it just seemed rushed. And to let the Bug push her into it, just not the way I see Ginny. Sorry my opinion. But now that you have brought more prophesies, (I can't wait to hear those!) into it, I guess it had to be for the good of the Wizarding World. I just hope that Harry realizes that happieness.
FoM

Author's Response: My assumption is that by this point in the story although it is only a few days after the battle Harry and Ginny have already pretty much decided that they are a couple. They are young, but Harry is very much a one girl person, and Ginny's first choice, even when she was dating other people, has always been Harry. And it's not like Harry did not want to marry Ginny. I'm trying to write the story more that the moment got away from her. Harry's not at all unhappy that he's engaged. A little sheepish about how it happened, but not unhappy. I have it be kind of a running joke, how Ginny 'yessed Harry into marrying her.'
As the author I have Ginny getting the start of her 'Happily Ever After.' She's engaged to Harry Potter! It does solve at least one problem; she's much less threatened by all the witches writing to Harry. It doesn't magically solve all her problems, however.
We have more going on in this story than we had in the first telling of it, with a conclusion of sorts about a year on. LadymBlack and I just wrote again about the general outline of the four story series covering the nineteen years. I'm sure there will be other parts that you will like, and parts you might not like at all.

Thank you for the review.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #29, by OfficialHarryandginnyPolice The Black and Potter Vaults

23rd May 2012:
Your perception of Ginny Weasley is very wrong, I must say.

You should re-read the books. The least I can say, is Ginny a is much more polite person. What are you making her out to be some kind of tart and beast of a women?
She is really more bubbly and funsy than you're making it sound. Read up on the Leo zodiac sign. I can tell you, Mrs. Rowling keeps up with her astrology. Copy that. Ginny is..I dunno, attractive, but she ain't a hoe like that. Her personality and actions is what I think harry likes. :) Cheers.

Author's Response: You are not the first person to question my Ginny.

I like Ginny. She is basically a good person, a very strong high spirited one. I don't think she is always the most polite person. I don't think she's a beast, but she's pretty sexy. She was actively snogging other boys when she couldn't snog Harry, and I don't think I'm out of line in portraying her as having a good sex drive. I do think it is exclusively focused on Harry at this point.
I don't think she is always nice. If you were playing a sports game against her and got in her way I think she would run right over you, if it were legal and if that was what it took to win. If you were hassling one of her children I think she would Bat Boogey Hex you, and much later in the story I have her Bat Boogey Hexing a Ministry official. Not real nice, but real Ginny Weasley Potter.

Read the previous review. And if you still disagree keep reading, and keep arguing.

Thank you for reviewing! I would much much rather get a review like yours than a short "nice story" that does not say anything.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #30, by FriendofMolly Harry tells his story

18th May 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
Finally Harry was able to tell the story. Now he and the others can go on as they need to. There's is much work to be done. I look forward to the chapters to come. It also seems that Ginny is finally maturing in regards to her relationship with Harry. It didn't alays make sense. She was mature enough to take on nursing Teddy, but she wasn't able to see that Harry (who was never a womanizer) loves and wants only her. Thanks!
FoM
PS Now get busy writing PLEASE!!!

Author's Response: It takes a while to get chapters though the validators. I’m not a ‘trusted author’ and I’m not sure if I’ll ever be. There is another chapter in validation, and more ready to go. LadymBlack and I are working on chapter 10, but I have quite a bit of work to do on it.

Some of the later chapters that were posted before are going to take major reconstruction. I’m reasonably happy with the plan to have 4 stories, and with the transitions between the stories, but there is a lot of work left to do to make it all work.

The Black and Potter Vaults was posted May 17. It says there is a three day wait for validation but I always add a day. The next chapter will probably be out next Monday.


Jet


 Report Review

Review #31, by FriendofMolly Riddle’s Estate

18th May 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
A very interesting policy, having the killer inherit his victims estate if there is no known family members to do so? I suppose if was an agreed upon duel, but Riddle never asked permission to kill. I think the Geezergamot needs to overturn that one. But in this situation it will eventually aid the Ministry and the whole Wizarding World. I do wonder when Harry himself finds his parents estate. I don't think Riddle stole that, as Harry was still alive, not to mention Riddle vaporizing after he killed the Potters. I can't wait to read the next.
FoM

Author's Response: We know Harry inherited his parents' estate. He came into full possession of both his parents' estate and the Black estate when he turned 17; of course he was on the run when he turned 17 so that is something that has to be dealt with.

Many of the post Hogwarts stories have sections where Harry finds out what is in those two estates, and how large they are.

You could think if you wanted that Riddle found an obscure law or custom and forced people to follow it. There is nothing nice or honorable in Tom Riddle.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #32, by FriendofMolly Teddy

18th May 2012:
Jet, and LadyM,
And life just gets more and more complicated But then again life is, and life after a War more so. I will say your invention of a magical way of nursing a child without the mother is outstanding. I am surprised that Lucius is not locked up. I can understand Narcissa and Draco, but that sniveling snake, not so much. I am really getting this story and am anxious to read the rest.
FoM

Author's Response: Mrs_Granger liked the Mother Minerva's bra. I'm still a little sad at the few reviews I've had by I think young girls who are upset at Ginny wanting to nurse, thinking that there was something upsetting or wrong with a baby on your breast. My wife nursed all four of our children, and most of our grandchildren were breast fed. My wife says it was a fantastic feeling having a baby on your breast. My view of Magical families is not of Little Debbies and HoHo's and bottle fed babies but nursing and wholesome food and natural remedies.

The Ministry has just not gotten around to Lucius yet. I don't like the stories that imply that suddenly there was a fully staffed and functioning ministry; wars and major changes of administrations don't happen that neatly.

Jet
Jet


 Report Review

Review #33, by FriendofMolly Greeting the grieving

17th May 2012:
Jet and LadyM,
Exactly right. I have read stories that had the Weasleys grieving alone at the Burrow, trying bravely to carry on. Then there's the ones where there is little to no grief expressed. You have a wonderful mix that mimics the real life I have observed. I was surprised at the restraint Harry showed when the Bug showed up. I do love what you have written. I think Ginny is finally letting it sink in that Harry loves her and only her. Once she accepts what really is, that is when the bonding can ramp up. Now I must continue.
FoM

Author's Response: YOUR BACK!! I'm thrilled!

LadymBlack has been a wonderful beta. Not only is she fantastic at the technical aspects, fact checking and working on the spelling, but she has written some great dialogue. When she objects to a story thread or something it is always much better when I've re-written it.

All the letters from the other witches wanting Harry are really doing a number on Ginny. If we remember her and Cho in DH she is somewhat jealous anyway.

I don't think Harry loses his temper very often. I think as he has gotten older he is more and more in control, and that he will probably continue to be given more to understatement and trying to accomplish things without theatrics. I't always succeed, but he's not by nature a showman.

Ginny, well ...

Jet


 Report Review

Review #34, by FriendofMolly Meanwhile, at Gringotts and back at the Ministry

17th May 2012:
Jet and Ladym,
Unfortunately Harry doesn't have a clue that he needs to reassure Ginny that she is his heart. Perhaps if he does, she will tone down her wardrobe. Arthur (you) found the best place for the couple to be. They'll be together, yet will need to act accordingly to the situation. I think it will give them a perfect time to bond (I believe that's what Kreacher was suggesting). I look forward to the next chapter. This just gets better and better.
FoM

Author's Response: The sleeping situation is an Author's choice. One of the things I talked to Mrs_Granger about when we were talking about her story, and then a little when she did some beta work on mine, was Author's choices. Most people don't seem to be interested in the more technical aspects of writing, how and why you make choices.

Of course sleeping together but not 'sleeping together' is awkward. It doesn't help that Ginny has found her mother's Touch-of-Lust spell. The 16 year old hormones are almost out of control anyway. Another Author's choice.

Harry is just too busy. I've read too many stories where suddenly everything is perfect. I don't think it's that easy.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #35, by FriendofMolly Battle Day

17th May 2012:
Jet,and Ladymblack,
I loved both of your first stories, but this is a step above. I love the flow, the interactions, the tone and the emotions. I feel it is very, very close to Canon. I can see ahead just how good this story will be. I was struck by Ginny's new curse, Boggart!, that is so perfect. Keep it going.
FoM

Author's Response: I read somewhere that there is one sort of tragedy when we don't get what we wish for but another when we DO get what we wish for. I'm a little surprised at how much the story focuses on Ginny (since I'm not a girl.) I'm very grateful that LadymBlack is.

A lot if the improvement in the story line is due to my great beta; as authors always say the really bad parts are all mine.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #36, by phoenix9279 Harry tells his story

17th May 2012:
Much better. Nothing against the old story(as it was a good one) but this is a drastic improvement. There is much more clairity and a better flow to the storyline so far. 12/10(I know I cant rate that high but I did)

Author's Response: I started writing over three years ago. I knew I could do a better job than some of the authors on the site. Since then I hope all the practice has made me a better writer.

A little advice and beta work by Mrs_Granger helped. LadymBlack is the most fantastic beta. Not only is she great on the technical aspects, spelling and grammar and keeping things true to canon, but she's a good writer. When she has added dialogue it is always good. When she suggests that the story line needs work, that something doesn't work, what we end up with is always better than what we started out with.

Mrs_Granger suggested that the story had begun to wander. Ladymblack was reluctant at first to suggest starting over, but we have. I now have an outline of four stories taking in the 19 years, with endings and beginnings. The transitions will be very different from Harry's point of view than from Ginny's point of view, but that's part of the story.

Please keep telling us what works, and what doesn't work.

Thank you for the fantastic review!

Jet


 Report Review

Review #37, by OfficialHarryPotterandginnyPolice Riddle’s Estate

13th May 2012:
I'm really enjoying this one, though, I think you have the Ginny character a little off. Still, it's enjoyable.

Hurry and get the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you. Ladymblack us really helping me improve my story. Hers is pretty good too.

The next chapter has just been posted. My beta and I have been through 8 chapters, but it takes a while for them to get approved. The delay is 4 days right now.

What would you like to see in Ginny? More or less what?

Jet


 Report Review

Review #38, by phoenix9279 Greeting the grieving

29th April 2012:
I love the additions you have made to the chapters that are up so far. I like the rewrite's direction and pace so far it feels less rushed than the origional. I am courious as to the new title, though. Are you intending to do a year by year telling of the 19 years(+) after?

Author's Response: Thank you again for your review.

No, the first story ends the summer after the 1st Anniversary, at the ball at the end of the International Confederation of Witches and Wizards, when Ginny realizes that she IS living Happily Ever After. Harry's not so sure; he sees the future as more problematic. Still working on that transition, and the re-writes may be more major as we get there.

The second story is about four years, Broomsticks and Bad Guys, and covers Ginny's Quidditch career and the capture of the last of the death eaters. Some of the missing people brought up in this first story have to be resolved in the second story.

The third story covers the birth of the children, and the fourth covers the time between the birth of the children and Albus going to Hogwarts.

Albus is more and more the focus of the fourth story, and is the most important character in the second generation story I am working on. I think it is important that JKR has the epilogue focusing on Albus, not James, going to Hogwarts.

We will see if I can pull it off. Having fun trying.

JetLaBarge


 Report Review

Review #39, by ladymblack Meanwhile, at Gringotts and back at the Ministry

20th April 2012:
It would indeed help immensely to have a British beta, someone who could correct our hopelessly American wording. As hard as I try, I always make some goofs.

I'm glad to see this is being well-received, so far! Can't wait to see Chapter Three up soon!

Author's Response: At least you are not the only one reviewing. Chapter 3 should be up this weekend. Good to see some people appreciate the rewrite.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #40, by phoenix9279 Meanwhile, at Gringotts and back at the Ministry

19th April 2012:
I love the updated read. It makes the chapters make a bit more sense. As always a perfect 10/10.

Phoenix

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

It was not an easy decision to start over. However Ladymblack and I decided that the story needed more work than just a little revising. Both Ladymblack and Mrs_Granger commented that the mess of a story needed more structure, with at least some resolution and endings as the smaller stories end.

We added some things and took out others. There will be more major changes in the middle, although the general direction of the story is pretty well set.

I'm still looking for a British beta, but if we get one it will be more to make language changes, not the major work Ladymblack and I are doing.

Again, thank you. Always interested in what works for you and what does not.

Glad to know this additionn worked.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #41, by phoenix9279 Battle Day

19th April 2012:
At first I was confused by this, but seeing what you have in store for this story(now stories), I like the new direction. As always a perfect 10/10 keep up the good work.

Phoenix

Author's Response: Thank you!

JetLaBarge and Ladymblack


 Report Review

Review #42, by Hopeless Battle Day

17th April 2012:
Hey Jet, loving the re-write. It still has that just after the battle feel. A series of stories is a great idea! I can't wait to see where you and ladymback take this.

Excellent start! ~Hopeless

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

Ladymblack and I decided that the story needed to be more focused, with each of the series of stories with some sort of conclusion. Mrs_Grainger also commented on how the story was beginning to wander in the middle.

We are up to 5 chapters done. What is now chapter 6 is posing a little bit of a challenge.

Chapter 2 is up and chapter 3 has been submitted.

JetLaBarge


 Report Review

Review #43, by ladymblack Battle Day

15th April 2012:
What a great start! Everything isn't all roses after a war. I always applaud those who not only recognize that, but do an excellent job of depicting the pain and hard work that go into rebuilding a society.

Author's Response: Chapter 2 is up, chapter 3 is submitted. Making progress. Thank you!

Jet


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>