Reading Reviews for Operation Happy Ending
  
202 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AKS21 They Stumble That Run Fast

6th June 2012:
when is the next chapter coming out?!? these have been two very long weeks!
-A

Author's Response: Sorry love! I'm currently in the middle of lots of assignments and exams :( But the new chapter will be out within the next two weeks and then I'll be on holidays and you'll have lots of chapters coming at you that you won't even be able to breathe between them! Haha. Hope to hear what you think of Christmas at the Potters :)


T


 Report Review

Review #27, by classicblack Revenge Has No Bounds

5th June 2012:
Remington Oslo... will now become a werewolf?

Ok that's a stretch, I'll stop guessing and get to your review now.

Now wasn't this an action-packed chapter? Seriously (or should I say siriusly?), it was fabulous. You actually have a gift for describing Quidditch games, although Fleet seemed a bit like Jordan to me...

Anyhoo, I thought it was a nice touch how you had the Slytherin and the Gryffindor teams working together. It showed that just because they're Slytherins and Gryffindors, doesn't mean they have to be enemies. Slytherins are all bad, haha. Nice avoidance of generalizations.

The payback on Henry Vale was fantastic. I do enjoy when an author comes up with a good prank for the Marauders to play. It's so difficult to find good pranks these days *sighs*

Soo close... I was all excited because I thought that Lily and James would move up another step in their relationship and then the Patronus happened. Goodness gracious it seems there have been some troubles with Remus! I can't wait to read how James will heroically protect Lily! Don't know why she didn't guess it had something to do with Remus, though.

So, for the first time, I'm actually going to have to live with the suspense of your fantastic cliffhangers because it's late and I have final exams tomorrow. *sighs*. It's time for me to go to bed.

Wonderful chapter, as always. I will be back to review tomorrow!
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #28, by classicblack Forever and A Day

5th June 2012:
Before I finish the chapter: thank you is two words! Not one! Sorry, it's been bugging me, haha...

Frankly, I loved how Lily reacted to Remus being a werewolf. Honestly, so many authors just have her all nice and accepting, but you didn't and I appreciated the fresh take on that bit of information. What's her position on it now, though? That wasn't really clear. Also, I'm wondering if and when she'll tell Remus?

Aww isn't James so sweet, comforting Lily and all? Why can't every girl have a guy like him? *sighs*

Holy cow! Lily... and James... kissing... and... wow!! And then it ended and I was like, awww.

But Petunia... in Hogwarts? Bit of a stretch, but I loved how you showed her perspective about her almost aproving of James and how you mentioned that she knew Snape was in love with Lily. Seems to me like Lily is the only person who didn't know it. I loved that you didn't show they're relationship as strained as it's usually portrayed, but I feel like, although the soft side of Petunia was always there because she took in Harry, Petunia wouldn't have been that... nice(?) to Lily. Just basing on how cruel she was to Harry. I think Petunia's prejudice against all things wizard would have prevented her from acitng like that. It didn't seem totally realistic to me, but I did love it.

I liked how you showed Lily and James's relationship developing, but that it didn't automatically turn into a sappy relationship. Perhaps they can be friends now?

Loved Evie's reaction when James and Lily left. However, sometimes it seems to me like she's more James's best friend than Lily's. Also, what's happening to the Evie-Sirius plot bunny? I supose the flowers floating in her room were some foreshadowing to that, but I'm curious! Don't leave me hanging for long please!

Lots to think about this chapter. There's the growing relationship between Lily and James and then-

MOTHER OF PEARL! What do those last two paragraphs mean?! Who is Mollie Ford? Why is she important to the Death Eaters? How does this have anything to do with Operaiton Happy Ending? So many questions! They need to be answered soon- or else ;)

Lots to think about after this superb chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #29, by classicblack To Yourself Be True

5th June 2012:
Oh yes they can Lily. And they will. Your friends will keep you inside that room for days (okay, maybe I'm being a bit meldramatic) if necessary. However, I love the way you end your chapters. Just the right amount of suspense mixed with finis.

Wow. Lily found out Remus was a werewolf! Can't wait to see the direction you take that in. I can bet it's going to be interesting. Why would it be in James's file, though? Dumbledore didn't know about the Marauders being Animaguses and so wouldn't the information more likely be in Remus's file?

Oh my gosh, I chuckled dryly (yes, again) when Sir Richard flirted with Professor McGonagall! That was so funny and I loved how you gave life to some of the less-recognized members of Hogwarts: the suits of armour. Next, you'll have to feature some paintings. The foreshadowing in the last chapters to that point was really well done, as well.

A thing to improve on: add more events to each chapter. I like short chapters, but I feel like not much happens in each one.

One thing I like about your writing is that you remian completely omniscient. You don't focus on one character's thoughts. You show all of them almost all the time. I feel like so many authors try and fail to do this, but you don't.

As always, great chapter.
Happy writing,
classicblack

 Report Review

Review #30, by classicblack This Band of Brothers

5th June 2012:
My my my my oh my oh my! Congratulations Lily! For growing up a bit! For admitting that James isn't such a bad guy! For listening to whatever reason you had to listen to to see the truth!

The wonderful thing about starting a story months after it's been published is that you don't have to wait for the next chapter for a long time and that the cliffhangers are wasted because you can simply skip on to the next chapter. It's fantastic!! But I did enjoy the cliffhanger, which I'm pretty sure would have added immense suspense had the next chapter not been posted ;)

Can't wait to read why Lily believes James now, but I hope that she wasn't tricked into believing. Because that would just be disastorous and add more drama in the future. Now, I love drama, but still...

It was a rather good chapter. You always have the best ways of beginning your chapters. Very creative and new and fresh. Although, this chapter didn't really have much happening in it, did it?

May I ask why exactly they locked James in a broom cupboard? Was it only to stop him from seeing McGonagall?

Super chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Haha! I know right! Oh that cliffhanger...I do enjoy coming up with them. No no she wasn't tricked, but you will enjoy her reason!

Thankyou! I always wonder when a reader likes a particular part of my writing (like the beginnings) I then start to try harder on them and overthink them, so I hope the beginnings stay like you like them!

Yes haha. It's as simple as that.


Thanks!


T


 Report Review

Review #31, by classicblack Tempt Not a Desperate Man

5th June 2012:
"And so James very quickly threw a long silk cloak around himself and slipped behind a suit of armour. To anyone watching him specifically, they would have been surprised to find he had suddenly and effectively disappeared from sight." Wow, I think every chapter has a least one line that I'm extremely impressed with. Loved the way you introducted the invisibility cloak! Just had to add that before continuing to read the chapter... (by the way, I've got to say I loved the opening to this chapter- very attention-getting and creative. Okay seriously, I'll finish reading now...)

Just a minor correction: the Room of Requirement doesn't show up on the Marauders Map.

So... wow. Just wow. Go James. Honestly, I'd be a bit flattered if a bloke beat up a twit I was dating for me. 'Course, it'd take me a while to believe that he did it for the right reasons and I might question his sanity for a bit, but I'd be flattered all the same. I loved how you tied this into Lily and James's eventual love. Can't wait to see how you tie that part in altogether- what with Lily sealing her fate and all.

You have a great way of introducing key points about Hogwarts/ the Marauders Era (i.e. Map, Room, and Cloak).

I'm still left wondering about Vale's involvement with Gray. Hope that's elaborated on more in the next chapters.

Oh Remington. What is her involvement in all this? Really. One minute I think she likes James and then the next she's telling him that she'll tell Lily what really happened. Honestly, what is with this girl?! I hope to figure her out soon.

I love your drescription of the beginning of Lily's mixed feelings for James.

Fantastic chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Ooh really? Thankyou! By the way, I love the fact that you review as you go along - it makes the feedback so much more relevant.

And oh my goodness, you are so right! Why didn't I pick up on that? Why hasn't anyone else picked up on that! I shall change it when I go through and give each chapter an image. Thanks love!

Umm I should probably say it now...Remington you won't figure out until the very last chapter. Purely because I've written her that way! She's a complex character who I've spent a lot of time on and I can't wait to see what you think when you eventually read it!

Thankyou so much for all your feedback and encouragement! You are a wonderful reviewer!


T


 Report Review

Review #32, by classicblack All That Glistens is Not Gold

4th June 2012:
"He looked rather like a fish, opening and closing his mouth so many times without any sound actually venturing from within." Ah the fish comparison. Frankly, I don't think a story is complete without at least one.

Anyhoo, on to the chapter! The reaction to Sirius being "in love" with Evie seems a bit... girlish? But maybe you planned it like that, haha. I felt like I was back in primary school for a second at a sleepover with my friends. Just seemed to me a bit like teenage boys wouldn't actually act like that...

Loved the reaction as soon as Evie came back into the dorm late. I chuckled dryly to myself, and it takes a lot to make me chuckle dryly, mind you.

Let me guess: Remington has a crush on James and there's going to be a whole dramatic fallout and and mostly likely reconciliation in which Remi hates Lily for loving James, but eventually accepts it and finds love of her own? Just a guess, though.

The ending to this chapter: chilling. Really, it was quite fantastic. Totally and completely out of the blue and I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how you tie that into the plot. Honestly, I'm really excited to follow that plot bunny.

Great chapter!
Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Haha yes I did plan it like that. I find young boys before they mature in relationships tend to be very stereotypically girly in their responses to their friends liking a girl. They push them around and tease them - surprisingly similar to girls at the similar age, but just far more hands on. Or maybe that's just all the boys I know haha!

Yes! Chucking dryly! Awesome!

Haha I loved reading this comment and then seeing your confusion in the next few chapters. I do like leading my readers into a trap of thinking I'm predictable only to pull the rug out from underneath them, it's so fun! Haha.

ooh I like that word - chilling. Thankyou! It's starting to unravel a bit now as you get to the final chapters submitted, so I'll be interested to see what you think about it!


Thankyou so much!


T


 Report Review

Review #33, by classicblack Our Play is Cast, Our Stage is Set

4th June 2012:
I love it! Really, this chapter was quite a refreshing blurb amongst my usual insane readings (does that even make sense?).

Well anyway, this was really a fantastic chapter. It had just the right amount of humour mixed with a dash of drama. Throw in a pinch of romance and a sprinkling Shakespeare-inspired plot and you've got yourself a rather promising first chapter.

Really, I thought this was really attention-getting and fantastic. You wasted no time before getting me interested.

Great chapter, I can't wait to see what you've got next. Evangeline seems like a really interesting leading lady.

Happy writing,
classicblack

Author's Response: Wow thankyou, for all your reviews! It's quite interesting, I wrote this first chapter as a side idea to the main HPFF story I was writing at the time (one I deleted as I abandoned it temporarily) but it was much more popular than the other story I was writing so I kept going!

And on I go to your next review! Haha.


T


 Report Review

Review #34, by Hannah They Stumble That Run Fast

30th May 2012:
Alright this story is BRILLIANT. Please update soon or I might explode

Author's Response: DON'T EXPLODE PLEASE! Haha. Thankyou lovely person! Update is definitely coming soon and I should warn you...I giggled the whole way through it...Hope to hear what you think of it!


T


 Report Review

Review #35, by genhp Method in the Madness

25th May 2012:
I love the Slughorn and Lily interaction with the potion in this chapter. It was very intriguing and felt well thought-out. Great writing, I've been loving this story thus far, keep it up! :)

Author's Response: Haha thanks! Oh man, he was always my favourite professor. Can you tell? Can't wait to hear what you think of the rest of the story!



T


 Report Review

Review #36, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap They Stumble That Run Fast

17th May 2012:
Thanks for the shout out and yay an update!


"Yes you are my prettiest little cat," he purred to his constant feline companion, "You are the prettiest little cat and you are mine, yes you are."

I have been on a Filch kick lately so when I saw you put him in this chapter I was so excited!

Wow. I am seriously a bad influence on you

I loved Lily and James in this chapter. Their relationship has grown so much from chapter one. James is the biggest sweetheart (and Sirius). It's almost too much to handle.

The Head Boy AND Girl out of bed! He rehearsed in his mind, NOW can I use the shackles?

^ Funniest thought ever! Couldn't stop giggling.

I can't think of a better reason to be banned from a Quidditch match than to have been caught sneaking back up to the castle with you. In fact, I've never been happier about being punished

^ Seriously? Seriously? I want my own James Potter.

Yes there is. Can't you hear it?

^ And my own Sirius Black.

The entire portion with Sirius was heartbreaking. I wanted to cry for him. I felt the tears clouding my vision. I knew she was going to want to go find her family but...but...will he go with her? I think he will. It's Sirius. He wouldn't let her go but that'll essentially break up the whole group.

Oh! You just write so well every chapter is captivating. You really make them people. You know what I mean? I read a lot of fanfiction and sometimes the teenagers are so dramatic and so...fictional but you're writing real emotions and real people. That's why I love this story so much.

Author's Response: Um yes. My own JP and SB would be excellent. Okay. Thanks. Bye.

Haha no worries! As you can see you leave awesome reviews so the pleasure was all mine. I'm seriously over the moon that I almost made you tear up with the Sirius part! Their relationship is pretty heart wrenching to me, because I know where it's going I guess. I think he wants to go with her, sure. Whether he will or not...hmm we will see. But I would like to say that Sirius is a man of honour. And nothing proves that more than what he is about to do in the next few chapters.

Thankyou so much for your wonderful words of encouragement. There is nothing a writer wants to hear more than her characters being 'real'. Uh. I can't tell you how much this means to me.

Thankyou thankyou thankyou!


T


 Report Review

Review #37, by ClaryBlack They Stumble That Run Fast

16th May 2012:
haha. BUM. i really wanted it to work out! poor evie... poor SIRIUS! i just have a few comments. You seem to be going a bit to quick, it would be nice for you to elaborate a bit more on the other girls characters, specifically margie. it would feel like more of a complete story if i know all the people in it better. I also think that maybe you know the plot so well yourself that you forget to unravel some of it for the readers?
just some pointers to help you out! but really, over-all a VERY good story!
CLARYBLACK

Author's Response: Ooh feedback, excellent! Thankyou! Sure, definitely, I do tend to move a bit fast, I will try and elaborate more on those girls. Margie actually has an interesting story to unfold so it's interesting that you picked her out haha! As for leaving details of the story out...that's actually on purpose. I hope it's not keeping readers from the story though, because all will be revealed as long as they keep reading! Haha.

Thankyou SO much for your review, I really appreciated it! Hope to hear what you think of the next one.


T


 Report Review

Review #38, by genhp This Band of Brothers

16th May 2012:
I am absolutely loving this so far. Great writing! You have a charming style.

Author's Response: Thankyou! Is it odd that I tried to pull a Prince Charming like face when I read this? Haha. Hope to hear what you think of the next one!



T


 Report Review

Review #39, by CassiePotter They Stumble That Run Fast

15th May 2012:
I ABSOLUTELY ADORED THIS CHAPTER. The way you write the characters is fabulous, and the chemistry between them that naturally comes from that is awesome. I think Evie might just be my favorite character... She's just so relatable! And that Quidditch playing was amazing! Also, speaking of Quidditch, I loved Ainsley! Haha. I can't wait for the next chapter, I'm super excited for Christmas with the Potters! and your chapters are so long! I wish I had enough ideas to write that much in a chapter! This is one of my absolute favorite stories, and I can't wait to see what happens next! It's been absolutely brilliant so far! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: WELL I ADORE YOUR REVIEWS. Thankyou so much for your lovely words! I quite like Evie too, I think she's the person I wish I was - brave, able to get through anything without making too much of a drama, and not really concerned about boys! Haha. Ainsley is a funny one, I enjoy writing him just because I can be as cheeky as I want and get away with it :) Oh man, I have no idea where all the ideas come from and they're all insane! Sometimes I read back on the story and think...did I really write that? Haha. Just keep writing, it will come!

Oh I seriously can't wait to see what you think of Christmas at the Potters!! (she writes with an evil laugh...)

Until next time m'dear,
T


 Report Review

Review #40, by silverunicorn They Stumble That Run Fast

15th May 2012:
awww. Sirius is so sweet and adorable in this chapter! ^_^ love you story so far. can't wait to read more.

silverunicorn xx

Author's Response: Naww I know, wait until the next one though! Phew it gets a little tense...haha. Can't wait to hear what you think of the next one! Especially of Sirius ;)



T


 Report Review

Review #41, by stefanie437 They Stumble That Run Fast

15th May 2012:
lovely! do check out my review on fanficsunderthestairs :)

Author's Response: Thankyou so much for reviewing! I appreciated all your feedback. :) You are wonderful!



T


 Report Review

Review #42, by katti4493 They Stumble That Run Fast

14th May 2012:
I think Evie is going to die. Because Sirius would stay with her until the day she dies, and clearly he is not with her later :( Still brilliant chapter and I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Oo well hang on there! I think I may be a little more unpredictable than you're giving me credit for ;) Til the day she dies may be just an expression ...or maybe not. You'll have to wait and see!


Thankyou! I can't wait to hear what you think of the next one!


T


 Report Review

Review #43, by katti4493 Not Single Sorrows, But Battalions

14th May 2012:
Well, we all knew that was coming, right from when Remington slammed the door when they revealed the plan to her right at the beginning. But it's a great story, keep reading!

Author's Response: Haha yes. I'm glad you kept reading!


Thankyou!


T


 Report Review

Review #44, by katti4493 All That Glistens is Not Gold

14th May 2012:
It all seemed so happy and lovely...until that last bit. I love that you are adding a sinister edge, because obviously, at this point, the war was starting! I'm definitely going to keep reading!

Author's Response: Woohoo thankyou! Yes it is sinister and I'm not sure if you've gotten up to Chapter 13 but it's about to get a whole lot more sinister after that. Sigh. Happiness is never simple is it?

Thanks for your review!



T


 Report Review

Review #45, by stefanie437 Our Play is Cast, Our Stage is Set

10th May 2012:
Hi there! It's fanficsunderthestairs from tumblr, and I just wanted to let you know that I'd LOVE to review your story! I wish more people would ask me to! Tomorrow is my college graduation so I probably won't get to it until Sunday or Monday but I can't wait to read it. I am very honored that someone has actually asked me to review a story! You don't have an ask or fan mail option on tumblr so I figured I'd let you know here...I'll review the last chapter to let you know that I finished reading, and you can check my tumblr page for the review after that :)

Author's Response: ARGH! IT'S YOU!

First of all thankyou so much for agreeing. I can't wait to hear what you think from a professional perspective (the good AND the bad) as all constructive feedback is welcome here. I love writing and anything anyone can say to help me improve is a blessing. Yes, I am a little nervous about what you will say but I just keep reminding myself that even the negative stuff will be good for me. And as I said in my request, I really respect your reviews.

Oh I should really fix that Ask thing shouldn't I? Haha.

Anyway thankyou so much and I hope you had lots of fun at your graduation! Hope to hear from you soon!


T


 Report Review

Review #46, by AKS21 They Stumble That Run Fast

9th May 2012:
Ok a few things i forgot to add in the first review...
the cliff hanger! ah lkhafjhakfjh don't let her go please don't let her go... well maybe if you send Sirius along with her (might finally make her realize her feelings akhdakjfhkah) hehehe
and don't second guess your instincts, I read all of your reviews and your comments and you seem uncertain about how readers will react. TRUST ME WHATEVER YOU ARE DOING IT IS RIGHT! i love this story. I feeling a little bit of JKR when i read it, combined with something new and fresh and i like it :) Also, please don't let there be too much heartbreak, i think i little piece dies inside me whenever these beloved characters hit a speed bump!

AKS

Author's Response: Oh yes the cliffhanger...I'm too fond of them really...don't you worry yourself the Evie/Family thing will totally work out! Eventually...

Oh thankyou! I guess its a creative thing second-guessing yourself but I will certainly have an extra bounce of confidence from now on now that you've said that :)

Heartbreak Shmartbreak...There are many speed bumps on the way to love but I'd like to remind you what the story is actually called ;) ...

Haha thanks again!


T


 Report Review

Review #47, by AKS21 They Stumble That Run Fast

9th May 2012:
OH. MY. GOD. Absolutely incredible! First things first... thank you so much for dedicating the chapter to me! I am so flattered I adore your writing so i feel truly wonderful!

Now back to business, i know i say this all the time but your writing gets better and better every single chapter! I had a smile on my whole face this chapter, it was like i had a hanger stuck in my mouth! I loved the whole Evie playing quidditch thing, she really needed that. the commentating was absolutely hilarious! Now if only Evie can finally accept her feelings ahhh... I'm sure (or rather hope) that it will come in good time! Also, now i'm in love with Sirius :) Oh and i liked the bit at the beginning with Lily and James haha "Wow. I am seriously a bad influence on you"

Keep writing, keep writing, keep writing! You honestly have an amazing gift and you shouldn't waste it.

AKS

Author's Response: Haha no worries love! It was completely honest, I do really love your reviews! So excited that you think my writing is improving yay! I had a hard time writing the Quidditch scene for some odd reason, hence the reason why it took so long to go up, but I'm so glad you liked it :)

And thankyou thankyou thankyou again for another amazing review(s) and all your kind words! Christmas at the Potters will be a special one and I can't wait for you to read it :)


T


 Report Review

Review #48, by VeronicaOlivia They Stumble That Run Fast

8th May 2012:
I. Love. This. Story.

I have to say, really Evie? Really?! You just had to? But I guess I understand. But I just feel like giggling like an idiot whenever James and Lily show up.

I love you, in a friend sort of way.

Author's Response: Haha! Thankyou! I love you too...in a friend sort of way...giggle away love, you'll be giggling so much more in the next chapter!


Can't wait to hear what you think of Christmas at the Potters!!


T


 Report Review

Review #49, by padmoonyfoot7 They Stumble That Run Fast

8th May 2012:
WOW, I was so glad when I saw this story had been updated, and then when I read it it made it even better.
I love the bit with James and Lily and the way he gets in trouble for her.
And the way everyone gets really excited when they find out that Evie will be playing, and how it reunites Remington with the girls - which was very sweet, by the way.
The game was very well written and was quite funny. I don't like the Ravenclaw team at all, but I'm guessing that I'm not supposed to?
The bit with Evie and Sirius was the highlight for me. It was so lovely, the way he loves her so much and when he gets the advice from the Fat Lady the way he talks about the wedding is so sweet. The dancing was absolutely amazingly written and I can't wait to read the next chappie - Christmas at the Potters!! But I don't want Evangeline to leave, because I don't think she shouldn't leave Sirius. Though if he's going with her; that's different. Update soon!
Keep up the good work!!

padmoonyfoot7: over and out!!

Author's Response: Hello!! Aww thankyou! It makes me so happy that you enjoyed this chapter because I was truly nervous about it. I had to reunite Remington, her exclusion was killing me. No, you're definitely not supposed to like the Ravenclaw team...which makes the last Quidditch game I have planned so good. And the Fat Lady, how gorgeous is that scene! Oh how I had fun with that :D I do hope you enjoy Christmas at the Potters...absolutely everyone in one small house...oh the things I could write!


Thankyou again for your lovely reviews!!


T


 Report Review

Review #50, by kellyjelly They Stumble That Run Fast

8th May 2012:
Great chapter! I loved the way it ended. :)

Author's Response: Thankyou! Haha yes I do like my cliffhangers don't I?


T


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>