Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Heaven Can Wait
  
171 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Amira Confrontations (Part I)

19th April 2013:
You're update was like a gift to me.^^ I had just finished my last university exam, switched on the computer and there it was. :D
Today I finally had the time to read it and I really like it!
This time, it is not the meetings of James and Lily that I like best, but the way you make James think over his attitudes and his behavior. You manage to describe it very authentically. Particularly the encounter with Teddy is very interesting.
And it's cute that Lily somehow always remarks that James looks good.^^
I really can't wait for the next update. It's unnerving if reviewers write that but your story is the one I check for updates most frequently - it's my favorite at the moment. If there wasn't any word count, I wouldn't believe that this part is as long as the last ones. I was done reading far too quickly. :)
I hope you take delight in writing on. ;)
Amira ;)

Author's Response: Ah my dear, you always make my day with your reviews! I hope your exam went well.
I love that this is one of your favourites! I can hardly believe it but wow it's amazing to hear that it is! I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter love, and I hope you keep reading!
Thank you so much for coming back :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by Carolynn Forgive and Forget

19th April 2013:
I'm here with a review! Just for a heads up, I didn't get a good sleep last night so forgive me if I missed anything.

On to the chapter, this one had some drama in it which good because it keeps the reader intersted. That all I have to say since this chapter is a bit of a filler. Good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you again !

 Report Review

Review #28, by twins1994 Confrontations (Part I)

18th April 2013:
I love this story and I was really happy when you posted this chapter! I can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much love, I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Carolynn Reflections

18th April 2013:
I'm here with a requested review!

I liked the first bit of Lily's point of view, it was intersting reading about their friendship. Good writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much hope you continue to enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Carolynn Turning Point

18th April 2013:
I'm here with a requested review!

I love the detail! I don't see that often. Expressily in first person!

I like the characters, very much like the books

And, I like that you put some lines from the book to. Good writing!

Author's Response: Thanks very much!!!

 Report Review

Review #31, by sal Confrontations (Part I)

14th April 2013:
AH-MAZING CHAPTER! such a good update, i completely loved all of the lily/james drama :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much dear :) Much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #32, by bhaslhp Alpha Dogs

5th April 2013:
ARE YOU KIDDING?!?! thats all there is?? PLEASE keep writing! this is sooo good, one of the best ive read on this site!! seriously, PLEASE KEEP WRITING AND DONT GIVE UP. PLEASE. i beg you. (quote snape) heheeh x

Author's Response: You don't even realise the difference you've made with this review of yours! Thank you so much :) I've been procrastinating and hesitating with the next chapter and now? well you'll be pleased to know the next chapter is in queue :D Thank you so much for reading and enjoying it! I hope the next chapter doesn't let you down.

 Report Review

Review #33, by MGMalfoy Alpha Dogs

26th January 2013:
I really like the James and Lily love hate relationship, but I really don't care about Mary and Mulciber, great chapter though!

Author's Response: Thank you Malfoy ;)

 Report Review

Review #34, by zipzin Alpha Dogs

23rd January 2013:
This chapter made me laugh very very hard. You are very witty and it is refreshing to read. I'm very curious about Mulciber and Mary so please tell. I have a couple of suspicions but can't be completely sure. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much :) I'm glad you're curious about Mulciber and Mary hope you get some answers in the next chapter that's being written right now :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by True Author Turning Point

25th December 2012:
Hello! I'm True Author with your requested review! =]

I love James/Lily! :) They're one of my favorite characters from the potterverse, so I'm always open to them.

Anyway, let's get back to your story. First off, I really enjoyed reading this, as this has an attractive summary, beginning and plot. You've re-written a scene from Harry Potter from your main character's PoV, which is something most people don't do. You've done a good job, but just try to make it a bit original. Well, I know that you added things of your own, but I'd be lovely if you'll add something original like you can explore the paper and James' thoughts about "L.E."

Your grammar and punctuation is good, but I found some small typos, so you can just check them out again. :) They're very very easy to fix, but clarity improves your chapter.

I loved some details from your chapter! For example- how James said, "Women" just like Harry; how you made his thought linger over lots of things at the same time- which is a very different characteriation of James Potter- and how he accidently wrote "L.E". :) Oh and I must say your story is quite interesting and makes the reader curious. It's hard to bring curiosity in a plot we almost know, so that's great!

A very good Jily fic! :D

Author's Response: Hello dear, thank you so much for your lovely review! I must apologise for my incredible delay in response. Thank you kindly for your compliments they are much appreciates, as is your advice :) They will definitely help me better this story.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Siriusly89(not logged in) Turning Point

16th December 2012:
Hi there! You requested this review quite some time ago, and I'm really sorry I only got round to it now!

This story seems really interesting :D I love that its in James' point of view, but its different to any others I've ever read! I like how you started it in fifth year instead of say, seven when they are already going out, so now we get to see how their relationship evolved! I will most definitely be favouriting this story and reading it over the next week or two :D If you ever want any more reviews, you know where I am :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review Siriusly89 :) I appreciate your compliments I'm glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by Amira Alpha Dogs

15th October 2012:
Hey :)
It's about time to tell you that I simply love your story! :)
I think you're one of the few authors who are able to picture James' and Lily's behavior realistic and loyal to Rowling's idea of them. People tend to exaggerate if they write about James and Lily, especially because there are so many stories about them already.

Your story is special, I really enjoy reading it. :)
I actually had to laugh out laugh at some points, much to the confusion of my sister.^^
It's funny that all of them are simply NOT perfect and continue to make stupid mistakes, just like all people at this age do.
And you really are creative about the Marauder's jokes. They are really funny! I actually never achieved in writing about a Marauder prank that I considered to be this funny. ;)
I really hope you update soon, I really can't wait to read on. ;) The Mulciber/Mary-thing seems to be interesting.
Unfortunately, I'm a person who always needs to get rid of everything on her mind, so ... there is one thing about your story I'd like to draw your attention to. I recognized that you appear to plan to match Sirius with Quinn and Remus with Edith (and perhaps even Peter with one of Lily's friends). As mentioned previously, I think your story is great because it is reaistic, not exaggerated. It already appears to be an enormous fortune that Lily and James, they of all people, were chosen to be the DADA professor's assitants. If of all girls at Hogwarts Lily's friends miraculously start to date James' friends, I would judge it as extremely ... fluffy - it would be a bit like the endings of my Mum's romance novels. :D
I don't know what you plan in reality, I just wanted to tell you about my impression. ;)
Up to know, I think your story is among the top three of all Lily/James stories I ever read - and I occasionally read them since 2009, in English and German, on four websites. ;)
Thanks so much for that story, which made me good-humored, although the sky looks like the sun will never shine again at the moment - fall weather, urg. :D

Regards,
Amira

Author's Response: Thank you so much Amira for your kind, honest and thoughtful review :) I cannot thank you enough for the lovely praise you've given this story! It's made me speechless! Thank you, so very much. :D

I really really appreciate your honesty and your concerns and to put your mind at ease I can assure you that everyone of Lily's friends will not automatically immediately be paired off with the Marauders and start falling in love with them and vice versa. There is much drama to come and while the chapter has been drafted I've decided to make some plot changes which requires a bit of shifting about of certain scenes of the next few chapters. But I will try to get the next chapter out before Christmas (You've inspired me!)

Thank you again. I hope HCW continued to honour the high regard you have for the story :)
~Cali


 Report Review

Review #38, by lilyinlove Alpha Dogs

4th September 2012:
I can't tell you how many James/Lily stories I've read or attempted to read. I adore this couple, they inspire me to write. When I can't write, I read and I'm always desperately searching for stories that are at the very least somewhat well written. It's a rare thing to find a story that is this well written, with a great concept, and makes me literally laugh out loud. This story is a true gem & I can't wait to read more! (Sooner rather than later would be awesome :) )

Author's Response: thank you so much dear for the absolutely lovely review. I love James/Lily for the exact same reason and I'm glad they inspire you to write too. The next chapter is being written and has gone several plot modifications. However I hope to have it out soon. Thank you again, I really really appreciate all the love :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by AlAndAl Alpha Dogs

21st August 2012:
Here's your review (finally!) I am a huge fan of the Marauder's era. I just love them! Their constant trickery and James and Lily's rivalry is just hilarious. So much tension...so little time. This is a good start and I can't wait to read more! The flow of the story is good & you keep everyone on edge. Good cliffhangers! I love me those cliffies. I don't really have much CC to give. I didn't notice any horrendous mistakes or anything! You characterization of Remus is pretty unique. You have him more of an attention seeker than most other fics. It's not my favourite trait that I've seen on him, but I appreciate the creativity with his character.
Overall a great story! Keep writing!
-Allie

Author's Response: Thank you Allie for reviewing Heaven Can Wait :) I love cliffhangers so yes I tend to add them here and there. I however don't understand how you perceived Remus to be attention seeking! I had no intention of writing him that way and frankly has me worried, since its not a trait I would associate with canon Remus. I should probably reread the whole story and see. Anyway thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Cavell Reflections

14th August 2012:
Can I just say that you have a talent with opening lines? Because seriously, you do! The first line of this chapter instantly sucked me in so fast I didn't realise I was already halfway down the page :p Also - gah, I'm horrible with timing, I know, and I'm so sorry :( Forgive me, though this awesome read really cheered me up!

Lily's summer routine was so sweet - I never have routines, I often wing everything, but Lily's was so bittersweet since she talked so warmly of Severus who had hurt her and I feel so sorry for her, the poor girl. Her description of her former best friend made my heart warm, because it was some lovely description on your part, so well done. I also loved the scene where Lily tells Severus what's on her mind - very intense, and very well done, too!

There weren't many mistakes, but I did spot this little thing:

"What's that supposed mean?" - I think you're missing a 'to' there, love ;)

I loved the memories - aww, it was nice to see their friendship over the years even though by now it's ended. One thing I do want to ask you about, in the first memory (which was hilarious, by the way) would the Slytherins really let Lily sit with them at their table? I know it was a little bit before Voldemort rose to power, but even then would they? It's just kind of niggling on my mind, though any explanation you can come up with is good enough for me :)

Sometimes, it did confuse me, though :( Like the shifting from part-to-part again, though maybe sometimes my brain just got a bit muddled and is mixing this up with the other stories I've read today :p I loved the insights into both of Lily and James' minds, though I just preferred Lily's because it showed exactly why Severus called her a mudblood :)

Thanks for requesting again, and sorry for the wait!

--Linn

 Report Review

Review #41, by luciusobsessed Alpha Dogs

13th August 2012:
Before I start this review, let me say this.

A few days ago I was looking through my favorite stories and I noticed you had updated, so I added it to the list in my itouch notes of fanfics to read. Then I went on my review thread and saw your request and thought "what a coincidence!" LOL I don't even know why I said that.

Anyways, thank you so much for the shout-out, it means so so much!

Now, starting the review...I LOVE THIS CHAPTER! I actually got reminded of a situation I was in. 2 years ago, in my junior year, which is Hogwarts 6th year, I had an internship and was paired up with this guy I hated but secretly liked ;p The fact that James and Lily are now interning together so reminds me of that!

Second, I couldn't help but jump when I came across the words "Lucius Malfoy" *blushes*

May I add, your writing and style and descriptions are amazing as always, and had me hooked till the very end! Please update soon because I'm dying for more of your James/Lily romance! Lots of love!! xx

Author's Response: I LOVE when things like that happen! Coincidence! puts a smile on my face :)
I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter! Hahaha you really are lucius obsessed arent you? :P He'll be making random appearances a little bit into the story. So keep an eye out :)

I love your reviews as always and I hope you can keep reading this story. Seriously your reviews are awesome and encouraging, and I love it. Thank you so much, I'm so sorry for the delay in response time.


 Report Review

Review #42, by Moonyxluna Turning Point

9th August 2012:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review :)

Wow! This was wonderful!

I think you've got a great knack for writing James. I really love how you've made him very bored of his OWLs, (not because he's a slacker, but because he's smart) thinking about Lily, and wishing Quidditch was a subject. Even with the way you write his mannerisms you can really tell that it is James without a mention of his name.

I really enjoyed how unsure James is of his feelings towards Lily, and how they progressed through this chapter into him actually feeling remorse, and that sting when Lily denies his friendship the following day. Reading this I can really tell all the time you have spent studying his actions in the little parts we know about him and basing the start of his feelings towards Lily off of those things.

The one thing that I did find kind of distracting was just something really minor. There were quite a few places where you didn't have double spaces in your paragraphs, and it made it a bit difficult to realize where one ended and the next one began with a few of them. It's not something that I'd rush off to edit immediately, but I'd just like to let you know :) I noticed a few missing commas, but in five thousand words I think you did a great job keeping mistakes to a minimum. Everything was well written and it felt very near and dear to reading the things we know about the Marauders.

This is sort of a generic thing, and I think you are okay here because this is James POV and you did stay true to Snape's worst memory with James' attitude towards Peter, but try not to be too harsh on him :) He was friends right along with the Marauders, and while it's really easy to pick on him for being the traitor, keep in mind that James, Sirius and Remus had to have kept him around for something besides the end of every joke.

Leading into my next thing, that I really did enjoy your characterization of Sirius and Remus. I've given you my two cents on Peter, but I liked the other two boys. Remus especially. He's such a favorite of mine and the way he felt so badly about being scolded by Professor McGonagall just felt like it fit into his character really well.

I think with the ending you've got an interesting plot set up. James and Lily is definitely one of those ships that has got to have something to make it special in order to make it successful, and I think you've got something great with the obvious care you've put into writing this and getting the details down successfully. Keep up the lovely work! I'd love to hopefully be of more help in future chapters, so do feel free to re-request for the next chapter :)

-Julie

 Report Review

Review #43, by A Fan Corridor Affairs

4th August 2012:
i... love... it! i really do, it's amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Hope you keep reading! Do tell me what you think of the rest.

 Report Review

Review #44, by malfoygirl101 Alpha Dogs

4th August 2012:
Fantastic story!!! I love it!! Jily forever :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Jily

 Report Review

Review #45, by dragongurl Alpha Dogs

3rd August 2012:
Wow! Honestly, I had expected this to be like every other James/Lily fic, but I was pleasantly surprised! I really like where you are going with this and I can't wait for the next chapter! Great work!

Author's Response: Hey! I'm really really happy that this managed to surprise you and that you liked it too! Thank you so much for reviewing do tell me what you think of the future chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Analesh7 Alpha Dogs

29th July 2012:
So I'm totally adding this to my faves because I just can't wait for an update! ( I hope its very soon) My fave part of this chapter has to be transfiguration Q & A show off. I love how James does whatever to challenge Lily, its really enjoyable. I really liked Mary's P.O.V You really have created a defined voice from James and Lily.

I would actually love to read a chapter with Sirius narrating. Imagine all his outrageous thoughts! Maybe we'll see that in the future?

Author's Response: Hey Analesh! I can't thank you enough for all the lovely reviews you have left for my story. I'm incredibly glad that someone you loves James and Lily as much as you has appreciated the characters in my story and has become attached to it. And the fact that the back story via flashbacks of Lily and Severus's friendship was a heartwarming piece for you really makes me feel very happy!Thank you so much :)!
I'm so happy you enjoyed the humour and found it entertaining and that the characters kept you reading more and that you felt their interactions were good enough. I know Sirius is a much anticipated narration. He will get to narrate but he has to wait his turn ;P

Thank you again very much for all the lovely compliments and the parts you enjoyed the most! I hope you will enjoy future chapters of the story as much :) :)
~Cali


 Report Review

Review #47, by Analesh7 The Welcoming

29th July 2012:
LOL I loved the prank! and the ending jily moment "you smell amazing"

another line i liked(s): Why, you ask? Well, because where people have supportive friends, I’ve got three idiots, who have somehow convinced me that this is just unspoken attraction on her part. In other words: we’ve got passion!

Lily: “Potter, I wish you were a codfish so I could throw you in the lake and know that the Giant Squid would have digested you by morning!”

The three idiots: “She wants you, man!”

Author's Response: Thank you so very much I'm so glad you like this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Analesh7 Corridor Affairs

29th July 2012:
Okay, so this going to be very short because I want to go to the next chapter. I'm loving the Jily moments! I'm loving the humor and i'm loving where the story is going. I love Sirius so much and it was great how you included Lily's friends in this chapter and made them stand out in their own way.

GREAT JOB :)

Author's Response: hahaha Thank you very much! I love that you enjoyed the chapter!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Analesh7 Forgive and Forget

29th July 2012:
GAH!! Another great chapter! the whole thing with Lily's dream was priceless! i was scrolling like mad thinking omg they're together and then BAM! its a dream. And you made it even better by having Dursley appear.

This also made me laugh:“Well well, if it isn’t Little Red!” smirked Black, “Where’s the picnic basket?” The same joke for nearly four years. I gave him a look, “Your mother ate it!”

along with the scene where lily and James are walking down the street and everyone is staring.

I think you did an amazing job with that dueling scene! It was so interesting and adrenaline raising!

I really like how this is moving. Its the perfect pace. You aren't skimming through things are prolonging things.

Heading off to the next chapter now.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for stopping by to review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this one xx

 Report Review

Review #50, by Analesh7 Reflections

29th July 2012:
I loved this chapter! In some parts i was smiling and laughing like when sirius said this:
“Oh great! Here comes the wet blanket!” Sirius said without even turning to look at me."
AND ALSO>> “You should put your mouse back in the box at least,” I commented. “What!?” James sat up so fast his mouse scurried over to my table in fright. He looked down at his pants and double-checked his zipper at which point I realised he’d taken the wrong meaning of my words but decided the expression on his face was worth not correcting him. I laughed hysterically as his face turned bright red." OMG IT THAT HAD TO BE THE BEST PART.

I think you did a great job especially here with Lily's persona. All the flashbacks showing her friendship with Snap was really heartwarming to me. I could really tell they had a genuine friendship that was unfairly ended. What I truly liked the most from this chapter was the ending. When Lily started feeling guilty about what she told James. I thought it was unfair of her to say that to him because he was really looking forward to a relationship with her that didn't involve all that teasing and dislike.

I also liked the little interaction between Lils and James like with the quidditch match and he made an impressive goal and when their eyes met and they shared their secret smiles! I l live for those moments!

Author's Response: Gosh that was such a lovely review! Thank you so much! I love people who enjoy my attempts at humour because trust me I have to work to make it flow naturally! And I love hearing that it actually made you laugh! these are moments I live for xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>