Reading Reviews for Caprice
460 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sometimesup Crossing Borders

27th December 2014:
I liked the "I know that, but you don't know I know that" line XD too funny!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sometimesup Enough

27th December 2014:
I'm enjoying Sirius's POV a LOT, though I am a bit disappointed for missing some Capri/Jason time, I admit. Hopefully we'll get more of them next chapter..I really like Jason so far!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sometimesup Belonged

27th December 2014:
I'm a little confused because at first you said Lily and Severus were happy to be sorted into Slytherin but then you said Lily seemed nice and that she was in the same house as I'm guessing one was a typo. Probably Slytherin since Lily is traditionally a Gryffindor, being muggleborn and such. But it got me thinking about how interesting it would be to reimagine Lily as a slytherin...I wonder if anyone has tried a Jily fic where she is...
Anyway, I really like the nickname Capri and Sirius seems wonderfully mysterious so far.
I liked how you sort of slyly mentioned Peter being fat by saying he took up 2 seats lol. It was cute funny, not mean funny, if that makes sense. (so you get I'm not laughing at him being fat, just the situation. yeah.)
Well, on I go :)

Author's Response: Dear Christine,

Thank you so much for all the lovely reviews. I appreciate them much. :) This story is not abandoned but it will take a while before I can update it, it's still nice to see people like you still reading it though. As for your confusion Lily and Severus are happy to join Slytherin before they are sorted and before they had any idea about how sorting was done. This is because Slytherin is all Severus has heard about growing up and since he was Lily's only connection to the magical world she by default ended up liking and accepting everything he did. But eventually only Severus ends up in Slytherin and Lily is sorted by the Sorting hat to Gryffindor. But yes as you say, it would be intriguing to see Lily as a Slytherin.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sometimesup Life at 11

27th December 2014:
I can already tell this story is going to be really cool! I love the background you set up for your OC -"perfect"- and I'm guessing Aunt Agatha is a witch!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pretense Of Perfection Enough

19th June 2014:
Another good chapter!

Maybe because this is the first one from Sirius' POV, but I feel like his admission to his feelings for Capri might be a little rushed. He's obviously drunk as well, but it just felt slightly unnatural to me.

The party on the other hand strikes me as the type of party that would really get Hogwarts going! I can totally see Sirius and James sneaaking to the Leaky Cauldron to convince Rosmerta to sell them alcohol. I've always imagined this was probably how they pulled it off, considering she as only supposed to be a few years older than they were, according to canon at least. I loved her character!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pretense Of Perfection September

19th June 2014:
Since I've read through the first few chapters, I figured it was time for me to stop by and review.

Caprice is a very interesting character so far! I've grown to like her. I honestly thought that the first three chapters were a bit...strange, from when she was eleven, and then it just fast forwards a few years. I understand that it was important to the plot, but perhaps we could've seen some of those events in flashbacks from the present day or something? Just my opinion.

I really like how you made up new Hogwarts classes, and they fit really well with the school as a whole. I'm generally a stickler for canon, but it was so well done I can't even be upset. I loved it!

Sirius and Caprice living next door to each other is super intense. I feel so bad for her, loving him while she watches him love someone else. It's so typical of teenage life, I remember that heartache well.

Keep up the good work!! Do you have a beta by chance? They're so invaluable to better your writing skills, I can't even stress it. I have several myself (:

 Report Review

Review #7, by Neha The Great Game

21st November 2013:
story is great..plz update soon

 Report Review

Review #8, by DracoFerret11 The Great Game

15th July 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I don't know if you remember, but I've been following this story for a while. It's taken me forever to read this chapter, but here I am! :D So, let's go over things:

Amazing Lines: Okay...there's a huge list of lines that just wrenched at my heart. they are:
~"Still when our eyes met I knew she was hurting, and she knew I could tell. And we both knew there wasn't anything we could do or say to make it better." --This was so splendid. So perfect.
~"She makes me and breaks me and she has no sodding clue."
~Oh, just the entire nickname conversation was wonderful. I loved it. So funny. :)
~"But it was real life. There was no rain and the pain was as evident upon her face as it was unmistakably etched on mine."--THE FELS!
~"The silence between us however rang louder than any thunder could hope to."--Beautiful.
~"Like reading and washing your hair..." I paused to give him another sneering once-over, "or just reading."--hilarious!

Plot: Okay! So, this was an incredibly long chapter. :) I really liked that it moved from the past forward and that we got different points of view. I liked seeing everything that Capri went through trying to decide if she should join the Quidditch team. And the nickname conversation! HILARIOUS. I loved it. :) I've never read a Marauders story that actually dealt with how they chose their names. So good! And everything with James and Lily! It was surprising to me that he didn't just cave and admit his feelings, but I thought the way you wrote it was so much better. I liked that he showed how hurt he was. I felt so sorry for him...

Characterization: Everyone was perfect. Absolutely perfect. Yours is my favorite Marauders story ever. :) I loved Capri in all her scenes. She's so strong, but she isn't perfect and I adore that. And poor James! I felt awful for him when he and Lily were arguing and even worse when she tried to apologize. He's still hurt. She can't just wave her wand and fix that. And Snape! Oh my gosh, Snape! I really, really liked how you wrote for him. I feel so bad for him...which is saying something because I don't even LIKE Snape. Of course, Sirius, Peter, and Remus were all wonderful as well.

Descriptions: I don't even remember if there were a lot of details, but I don't even care. I'm certain this chapter was a 10/10. :) If there were places to add in more details about how things looked, sounded, smelled, felt, etc., I know you'll find them. :D

Emotions: AHHH, the feels! Those moments between James and Lily were so sad. I felt awful for him. Part of me was shouting, "TELL HER HOW YOU FEEL!" but the other part just wanted him to let her know how much she hurts him. Because it's not okay and he has every right to be happy. And then the conversation with Snape. Ughhh. I was so sad for him, even though I don't like him. It was still emotional.

Interactions: Loved every moment between James and Lily, as I mentioned. And the cute little conversation about their nicknames made me laugh so much. There actually wasn't too much Capri in this chapter, but she's still one of the best OCs I've ever read. Hmmm...I thought it was interesting that you made James a Seeker to begin with! Clever way of explaining that movie-error. :) And the Snape conversation...really, I thought it was great. Amazing job making me like a character I'm not fond of.

Style: Beautiful, perfect, amazing. The same things I always say. :D

Flow: I thought it was cool that you added in some flashbacks so that we could see how Capri joined the team. I like that she really encouraged everyone when they thought their chances against Ravenclaw were ruined. She's got a leader's spirit. I just want her to be with Sirius... :( I'm impatient. ;) But anyhow, flow was great. It worked, even with the multiple POV changes and time changes.

As always, another brilliant chapter. Fantastic job! Keep up the amazing work!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Bertie Botts Beans The Great Game

22nd January 2013:
Amazing story! 10/10! Please update quickly, I've been waiting FOREVER for a new chapter! :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much hun! I'm sincerely very sorry for the long delay in getting the new chapter published. Work, classes and life take over from time to time. Will get the next one out asap.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Amira The Great Game

15th January 2013:
Hello you! ;)
I love this chapter! :) You're a fantastic author; write a book and I'll buy it. :D
I have to admit, I haven't finished reading the whole story, yet. I wanted to find out if it's good - then I couldn't stop reading. And I couldn't wait to tell you how much I like it. :D
First, I love your humor. It's fun to read the chapter, expecially the origin of the nicknames is pictured so well. "Moony, Wormtail, Fluffy-feet and Prongs proudly present the Marauder's map" - sounds much better than the orginal version. :D
Second, I think you manage to write realistically. James is both cute and a prat - and Sirius, too. :D I especially like it how you picture James' and Lily's relationship. It's not all fluffy like the common portrayal.
Third, the flashbacks are very nice! There are so many fanfiction writers who have no idea how to use them ...
I'll try to catch up the chapters I skipped as soon as possible. :D
Go on like this!


Author's Response: My dearest Amira :) Thank you so very much for taking the time to review and saying such wonderful things about this story. I'm really glad you liked the chapters and the story. I was quite young and inexperienced when I started this story but I hope I've improved since then. Thank you SO MUCH! you have no idea how reviews like this fuels me to write more :) :)
Glad you liked James, Fluffy-feet and Lily. They'll be interacting more often in the future chapters. Hope you keep reading!
Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tanni The Great Game

9th January 2013:
More more more!!! I think having multiple character points of view really allows the story to expand in personality. I need more!!!

please :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Tanni :) More coming as soon as the chapter is done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by I_Fart_Patronuses Enough

2nd January 2013:

Author's Response: :D thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lin The Great Game

24th December 2012:
I wish there was a 9.5... Really good story, though. Not sure that Sirius would fall in love, he was quite the playboy apparently, but I love the way you chose to represent him. Great job with the Jily as well.
Keep it up!
Linda M.

Author's Response: Thank you very much Linda, I hope you keep reading :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by your loyal reader :) The Great Game

19th December 2012:
love this chapter from beginning to end keeep it up pleasee cant wait for the rest...

Author's Response: Thank you so much dear :) It means so much to me. *hugs*

 Report Review

Review #15, by reverie Life at 11

21st July 2012:
Hey there! It's your fellow Gryffie from the common rooms.

I think this story has potential. It's definitely interesting to end the chapter like that, because the fact that she's Sirius' neighbour is an original twist.

However, I feel that you could really benefit from re-reading this chapter. It's the first chapter of your story, which means it needs to be something very eye-catching. It's quite a small chapter, so I think it'll be easy to correct any mistakes in it. Send me a PM if you're looking for anyone to beta this particular chapter :)

Okay, don't take this the wrong way, but I think this chapter, excluding the end, was droning on. You're also telling the reader all this stuff that doesn't transition well. For example, in one paragraph, you're talking about the girl's father, then suddenly you switch to her pets. The connection here is that she feels lonely without her father because she doesn't have many friends i.e her only friends are her pets. You've forgotten to mention the middle. You've said that she hardly sees her father and that her only friends are her pets, but you've forgotten to mention the rest which would tie the whole paragraph together.

I hope this review wasn't harsh, I really think this story has potential!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughts and input. This chapter was my first serious attempt at writing a fic so yeah it has many faults and I've tried to rectify that without loosing too much of the first edit (simply for sentimental reasons)

I'll try and add a few more details to help with the flow. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #16, by doglover Beacon of Hope

19th July 2012:
thank goodness! finally they broke up!!!

Author's Response: LOL Well they both still have roles to play :) Stay tuned.

 Report Review

Review #17, by doglover The Weasel

19th July 2012:
wow. sirius is being obnoxious!

Author's Response: LOL sort of the point of the chapter :P

 Report Review

Review #18, by hpfanno1 Beacon of Hope

14th July 2012:
thank goodness pads is back! the "new" sirius was annoying the hell out of me...
and jason... well lets just say that if cappie ever get back with the git, then she deserves a good bashing as well.
loved the party sequence!
and there was quite a LOT of character development in this chapter..
let's just say it was worth the wait!
update soon!

Author's Response: The 'new' Sirius was supposed to be annoying and wanting people to hurl things at him :P I'm glad you think it's worth the wait. Hope you like the new chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by TabithaRose Beacon of Hope

30th June 2012:
AH! You must continue!!! I seriously joined just to write you a review. I've read all 18 chapters today and it is so amazing. Please hurry with the next chapter!

Author's Response: Wow! Such a love for this story? Thank you SO MUCH! I will be continuing. I'm so glad you enjoyed it so far :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Urgh Beacon of Hope

27th June 2012:
I wonder if Capri is going to realize she's just as much of a child as Jason was anytime soon. Or that Sirius was right. OR that cutting Sirius out was stupid and so not worth it.
Basically I do not like Caprice all that much right now

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for reading this far. Capri is still a 15 yr old girl so obviously she is still a kid in many ways. She's learning and making mistakes like we all do. Jason was a mistake she didn't anticipate and although she believes that she pushed Sirius away because he couldn't handle Jason, if you look closely I think you'll see she did it more for herself because she couldn't be his friend without being constantly hurt, she loved him too much and not being with him was breaking her apart. So she unconsciously made a decision to get some space and move on with Jason who at the time seemed perfect.
However things aren't over for any of them. Sirius is falling for Capri and Capri is on unsure footing going through a break up with her closest friend pushed to the side and only Nora to be her support. Jason also still has a big role to play. It's definitely not the end of him.
I understand that you're not a fan of Capri right now, but I still wish you would give her a chance.
Anyway, hope you read and enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hope's Mom Beacon of Hope

26th June 2012:
That was some party - lucky Nora! Cappie and Jason's fight was awful but I am not sorry to see them broken up. Sirius and Cappie seem to be on the way to be at least friends again. At least I hope so. Thanks for a great update!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reviewing again :) I'm glad you liked it and I hope you keep reading, Sirius and Cappie's lives are about to intertwine in a big way.

 Report Review

Review #22, by DracoFerret11 Beacon of Hope

26th June 2012:
Hey there, it's Emily again. :] This was another beautiful, wonderful, heartbreaking chapters. I loved it unconditionally.

Characterization: Cappie was spectacular in this chapter. I love how strong-willed she is, especially when it comes to Sirius. He's her friend, and he always will be, but she doesn't just let him off the hook when he messes up. But her vulnerability at the end of the chapter was really just flawless. I could have cried. And Sirius himself! He's such a sweetheart. He loves her. He really does, and right now he's doing what's best for her and I love him for that.

Descriptions: You did such a beautiful job of describing the party. I really felt like I was there. You've hit the nail on the head with this one. :D

Emotions: I could have cried when Sirius realized he loves her. And then when they didn't get a chance to talk about it! I was so sad...AND THAT FIGHT WITH JASON! I could feel the blood boiling. It was very intense.

Plot: I absolutely love this story, as you know. I think you did a wonderful job with this chapter. I loved the party-idea, and that you had it "checked with McGonagall" first. That makes it quite unique from the more farfetched plots that involve elaborate parties. I loved how Nora got her moment, and I ADORED how Sirius figured himself out. I knew it was the "real him" in the last chapter! And he and Cappie dancing! Awww! And then stupid Jason has to come and mess everything up! UGH. I hate him. :P GOOD THING IT LOOKS LIKE HE'S FINALLY GONE! WOH!

Interactions: Loved the reforming of Cappie and Sirius's friendship. It was subtle, but it was beautiful. I think you really handled it well. And I really liked how nice Sirius is to Nora. And the intensity of the fight between Capri and Jason was just tangible. Really, you did wonderfully.

I'm just obnoxiously full of compliments it seems...but the point is that this was another great chapter. Really well done!


Author's Response: I have no excuses for my tardiness other than an extremely busy schedule and exams. I hope that suffices :S

Anyway Emily I love your review (LOVE IT) as I always do! All that wonderful praise and love for this story, it came at a time I needed motivation and I cannot thank you enough! It's spectacular how you can make someone feel that their work is appreciated so much with the words you say :) *hugs* I love you for this really! I cant thank you enough!

Thank you so so much for being a constant support :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by NadineS Beacon of Hope

25th June 2012:
Yaaay, she finally got rid of him! :)) I saw in your reply that he will still play a big role in the story, so I am curious about that :)
It's nice to see that Sirius is still so caring, even after his display in previous chapter. I really hope he won't show that side of him anymore :)) Though, I believe he will, because of Jason and the fact that he was right about him.
Please try to update more often? O:)

Author's Response: Hahha yes, Jason and Capri have hit rock bottom indeed. And yes Jason still has a big role to play. Thing about this story is that while Capri is unpredictable true to her name, Sirius is just as unpredictable :/ so we never know, well I know :P but you know what I'm saying haha.
I will try to update soon! Thanks for coming back and thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by bookworm_hermione Beacon of Hope

24th June 2012:
happy dance, happy dance, happy dance =)
i've been waiting like FOREVER for this chapter
Love it by the way
After this chapter, i have concluded that Jason. is. a. git.

Author's Response: I know I know! :/ I'm so so sorry about the late update it's just that I sort of 'lost it' with the characters and the plot, so i wrote like five different versions of this and messed around with the time line I had planned for the events and after SO MUCH writing and re-writing and editing and re-editing here it is. finally!
I'm so glad you didn't abandon this story though, i noticed i lost a few favourites and even some reviews! :/ but I guess you cant have everying. Now I'm rambling.
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR COMING BACK :) after such a long time.
Jason still has a big role to play so I hope you keep reading and as always tell me what you think. Thanks for being the first to review this chappie. xx till next time.

 Report Review

Review #25, by angel_speaks Belonged

18th June 2012:
The chapters were very well written with minor grammatical errors (just a few missing commas here and there, nothing too noticeable).

The characterization incorporated into the story was well- written the audience can really catch who the person is and "meshes" with the story. Therefore, your story flows well and consistently throughout the chapters that i've read. Good job!!! I'm looking forward to continuing on with reading this as it did hold my attention.

Happy Writing! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey thank you so much for reviewing. I'm working on getting the technical issues sorted, well I've been working on it forever, always plan to get a beta today, and then tomorrow and a year later here I am. :P
Anyway Thank you so much for your time and I will definitely be rerequesting soon :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>