Reading Reviews for Ronald's Box
  
263 Reviews Found

Review #51, by ariellem The Rejected-Boys' Christmas

30th December 2011:
Hello again! Great chapter (like always), I love the way you write Ron. In every story he's abused, and made into an idiot just so Hermione can be with someone else, but here you write him as a loyal best friend, and a true hero, which he really is!

JKR would approve. :)

Author's Response: I love Ron so much and I have to agree with you, rarely do we see him written really in-character. I wanted to give him the place he deserves with this story, to show that he was present and he had an opinion on what was happening.

You think she would? Well, just for saying you think so, it made my day, Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #52, by ariellem Bravery comes in tiny packages apparently

30th December 2011:
Hello!

Again another great chapter! I loved how everyone was finding out things that their parents hadn't told them, or were exaggerated. You're a great writer!

Author's Response: Wow thanks so much for this comment! This story is just so much fun to write that it makes me really happy that people enjoy it as well.

 Report Review

Review #53, by ariellem Little lies corrected

29th December 2011:
LOVED THIS CHAPTER! I loved how the kids got to see how their parents lied to them. And the bit about Hermione was hysterical!

I hope I get you again for the review tag!

Author's Response: thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed! It was a lot of fun to play with the story and imagine what the Trio might have decided wasn't suitable for their children's ears.
And of course, Hermione! I had to make the most out of the short time Ron disliked her!


 Report Review

Review #54, by Your Secret Santa :) Valentine and Azkaban

23rd December 2011:
This is a very interesting plot. I've never seen anything like this before, it's very unique. I like it :) I like how the kids compare the story they were told with the actual story. They certainly will have a lot to talk to their parents about. Something I'd like discussed? Hmm. I'm not sure. Start singing the poem :D I'd love to read Ginny's reaction (and Harry's!) if they did. Anyway, great job, and I can't wait for the next chapter!

Merry Christmas, and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for this review, simply saying that you thought this was interesting and original made my day!

The discussion will be a good one, although it will be toned down a bit considering that the last scenes they will witness will be after Ginny's capture. I take you idea and will work with it, thanks! Can't wait to see who you are so I can credit you though!!


 Report Review

Review #55, by ariellem First Look at Hogwarts' Fall 1991

18th December 2011:
“Dad really overuses the adjective ‘wicked’”

Rose is right on the money with that statement, again a very funny and enjoyable chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed and yeah, that sentence was so much fun to write! I made that comment to myself when I was reading the books the first couple of times.

 Report Review

Review #56, by ariellem Sortings and brilliant plans

18th December 2011:
Hello again! This story is great! I noticed you had a couple typos, but nothing big and it was still easy to understand. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'll definitly go back and look for typos. It bothers me so much to leave them (and yet I am so bad at finding them in my own work)...

 Report Review

Review #57, by EverDiggory Finding the box

18th December 2011:
I laughed so much! I like the subtle characterization, that was absolutely excellent! It was a teensy weensy little bit lacking in setting details. Just a little though. I can already tell that characterization is your strength!
Great start! Cannot wait to continue!
By the way,this is EverMalfoy here with your review! 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed!
I love these characters so it was easy to describe them and give them life. As for the detailing, I will definitly get working on that; usually people tell me I put too much of them in so, I'm glad you're opening the door so I can write more!!!


 Report Review

Review #58, by HartOfARebel Valentine and Azkaban

17th December 2011:
Wahey to updating =D
Brill chapter..I love the additions to the story that you've put in. Like the scene in the common room when they talk about what subjects to take and the lads tease Harry about the poem! It's really nice to see things from Ron's point of view..like in the hospital wing when his emotions effected the Next Gen kids.

Eh, as for questions..I really want them to ask Hermione if she could move her tail when she was a cat..and did it twitch when she was annoyed like it does in real cats?? lol
Ask Ginny what in Merlin's name possessed her to right a poem for Harry and get it sent to him from a singing 'cherub' x)
Ask Ron did he love/like Hermione at yet!
Ask Hermione did she love/like Ron yet!
Al probably wants to know why he's named after Snape =/ For the first 6 and a half years of knowing Snape, they hated him and he seemed to hate them...complicated stuff!

A question I picked up from another reviewer...where's James at?

Update soon =] I love(!!!) this story!

Author's Response: Aahh, thank you so much for such a nice review, I'm gla dyou liked this chapter.
I love writtin things from Ron's view, he would remember the moments like this, the ones that make him laugh, much more then Harry would.

I'm glad you liked the hospital wing scene. I will need to re-write it but the idea is there and I thought it would be a different way to show Ron's feelings considering he isn't one to voice them or write them to his parents.

Love the questions! Thank you so much!
As for the last one, where is James, well, you have to remember that James is 16 at that time so he would be anywhere except with his younger siblings at their grandparents' house during summer. I will put a word in the next chapter though, because a lot of people ask. Also, it had nothing to do with the character, but I did think that 5 kids would be too much for the story; it was easier to cut him then the others since it would have meant either 2 siblings or 2 of the same age gone.

The next update will be after the holiday break, sorry, but it's impossible for me to write it all before the queue closes. Real life is horrible these days...


 Report Review

Review #59, by Becka Potter The game of life and death

14th December 2011:
omg i love dis story :DDD can't wait to hear wat happens next 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm having a blast writting this story and I'm glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #60, by Ronsgirl29 Finding the box

13th December 2011:
Hello :)

I'm really excited to read this story! A lot of plots can get a bit repetitive on here because it's all within the same universe, but this is really original! Ron is my favorite character, so I'm interested to see how his memories are going to shape the story. I also like the little quirks you've given some of the next gen characters. Rose and Hugo remind me of how my siblings and I act ahah.

Can't wait for the rest!
-ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Hi!
Ron is the greatest and so underestimate, I hope this story puts him into light!
I agree that the plot ideas can get repetitive and considering this story is taken directly from canon and following the books' storyline, some things will definitly be a repetition of the original but the idea here, is to add more flesh to these stories; give them a more "homey" feel.
Thanks so much for your comments, particularily comparing your relation to your siblings to the ones in this story, makes me feel a bit more secure about how I created them!


 Report Review

Review #61, by Shannedo Finding the box

12th December 2011:
Lovely story! I was referred here from the forums (Review the person above you in the Gryffindor common room) and I have to say I will definitely be reading the rest of this! The characters are really funny and I can't wait to read the rest. 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for saying this, I'm glad you enjoyed your read! The next gen Weasleys are so much fun to write; they're born with the perfect genes for adventure and curiosity!! I hope you keep on reading and let me know what you think of the rest!

 Report Review

Review #62, by ariellem Finding the box

11th December 2011:
Hello Ramona Flowers! :)

I like this, it's a nice start and it's hard to believe that you're a beginning author because it's so nicely written. I like the name G-mum too, it sounds like something George would totally do.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review!
I'm blushing like crazy here, reading that you think I write nicely!!
G-mum is a George thing, isn't it? I do believe that Molly would enjoy it as well; who wouldn't really? Petunia maybe ? :)


 Report Review

Review #63, by gingersnape The Rejected-Boys' Christmas

8th December 2011:
Hi Akussa!
This is sucha wonderful story and it is just as adorable and yet thought provoking as it was when I started reading! You really have a way of capturing the emotions that were in the books and the comments from the kids are hilarious!

This chapter was really nice because it is easy to forget just how close Harry and Ron were and what family meant for Harry. Belonging is at the heart of the series and you captured the different perspectives on it beautifully with the bits of the letter, the commentaries from the kids, and the scenes themselves.

I can't wait to keep reading and I hope you're doing well,

Annie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review!

I think this is my favorite chapter in the entire story so far; to me, that Christmas was a turning point in Harry's relationship with the Weasley clan. They were the only ones in the Gryffindor House so the older boys had to accept Harry as one of their own; the sixth brother.
I completly agree with you that belonging is one of the main theme of the series and I'm glad you consider that I managed to capture that as well.

I am doing horribly occupied but well none the less, hoping you are doing good as well and thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #64, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Bravery comes in tiny packages apparently

7th December 2011:
Fred and George threw a bunch of dungbombs at Filch and they have to clean the Great Hall by hands while Filch lists the types of physical punishment he wishes to give them.

Made me giggle, especially once the kids reacted to it. I feel like I'm reading Harry Potter all over again and I haven't since the final book came out. So it's nice to reread the stories but also with a bit of a twist because the reactions add a nice flavor to the story!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! This is exactly what I want the readers to feel!
I used to like reading those kind of "the (X people) read the books" kind of story but it never satisfied me! I always felt like there were all those missing little moments in those books that could have been exploited a bit more.
The books follow a stick timeline and action/suspence storyline but a lot of little, unimportant moments pass by; moments that are not worth writting in a book but that strenghtens the friendship and makes the kids grow up. I know it's not a perfect story but if it brings a smile on the reader's face, than I'm happy as well!


 Report Review

Review #65, by hpgrl Finding the box

6th December 2011:
Hi! This is blue.knight from the forums with the review tag. I love the premise of this story and this chapter is a greater opening chapter that really makes me curious as to where the story will go from here. I did get a bit confused with the tense, but I scanned the rest the next chapter and noticed that that was in present tense as well. There were a few instances of past tense in this chapter that made the flow a tiny bit choppy- nothing a quick read through won't fix. Otherwise, I love the characterization and think that this story is awesome!

great job!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much for your kind words.
Yes, the tenses are a bit mixed up some places, I know, I'll need to get a second person to look at it. I know that present tense is a rare occurence but, search me why but this story wrote itself in that tense...
Thanks again, I appreciate your comments a lot!


 Report Review

Review #66, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Little lies corrected

5th December 2011:
Ah! I just adore this story. The kids thoughts and Ron's thoughts compliment each other so well. I love his letters. I can really hear his voice through them. Oh! I adore Al. 'The One' how cute. He carries a quill and parchament with him at all times. What a little nerd! :D

I can't believe I still have 7 years to go with her in my year...” Ron’s booming voice trails.


"No dad, it's more like a lifetime with her," Rose snorts.

I LOVED THIS PART! I couldn't help but chuckle because Ron and Hermione were so made for each other, I swear. Oh! And I like how they're not sure what's going to happen because their parents don't seem to tell them the entire truth to their stories but who can blame them? They broke the rules quite a lot! I can't wait for them to question Harry and the rest later on, will they? I have to find out!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm giddy with pleasure upon reading your reviews. I have so much fun writting this story, I'm glad people enjoy it as well!

Al is a very insecure kind of boy; I feel like he needs to take notes of everything and be prepared at all times just so he is ready for every opportunity that comes by him.

They will question their parents about everything but is quite a while. For a reason you might stumble across in a couple chapters (if you keep reading) they will go through the second year too before they actually do talk to their parents. Just so you know, the converstaion will happen in chapter 16. I personnaly can't wait to actually write that chapter!! Thanks again for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #67, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap First Look at Hogwarts' Fall 1991

3rd December 2011:
The ending was very poetic! Caught me by surprise. I really enjoy this story and I liked this chapter. I like the way they all analyze the situation and add their own input in. I think I like Hugo the best though. He sounds so cute. I love reading Ron's letters because you really get his character right and I giggled when Rose said he uses the word 'wicked' too much.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, you know, I love Hugo too! I'm working on a story about his first year at the moment (I want to have it all written before I start posting; 5 chapters down so far!) and I've really fallen in love with that boy!

I'm so pleased you think I got Ron's character right! I didn't want him to sound too imature but at the same time, he really was immature back then! He was still a little boy who had been showered with love and had not been exposed to much life hardship (aside from being poor) so he took things less to heart.
Ah yes, the "wicked" comment! I think it's one of the first comments I wrote because it's one of the first comments I remember thinking when I read the books myself!


 Report Review

Review #68, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Sortings and brilliant plans

2nd December 2011:
Ah! What a neat idea (yup I said neat). I'm really excited to see what they'll see because you have little twists to everything. I would love if you also did maybe a short story collection or just a short story in general of what Teddy saw exactly. Maybe give us some insight on the Maraduars (your take) and Tonks/Remus.

This is a lovely story!

Author's Response: Youhou! I got a "neat" !!!

Thank you so much for this review, I'm so pleased that you like my little twist.

You know, I've been thinking about making that story about Teddy and the Tonks and Remus side of the spell but I want to make it perfect! I'd really need to come up with great letters for Teddy to go through and that's the hard part. I want to make them believable and not just filler. I am definitly looking toward writting it though, sometimes!


 Report Review

Review #69, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Finding the box

2nd December 2011:
OH WOW! I was pleasantly surprised while reading this first chapter. I just thought it would go through Ron's items and the years like we know it but letters to Ginny and Molly? That will prove to be quite interesting! This was actually quite the heart warming piece.

I loved this line: no other grandmother in the world had such a hip name.

Aw! I love grandmothers! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!
I'm glad you thought this was a heart warming chapter; it's the goal of this story actually. It's not meant as a action packed, mystery or romantic story, it's one way of going back on those books we all know and love, with a little tiwst to the stories.

I have no idea why I named Molly G-Mum but I found it hilarious! My grand-mother is one of the most important person in my life (she's 93) and I believe Molly would be too for her grandchildren. And that she would love to hold such a special place in their lifes and in their hearts.

Thanks again for your review, I hope you like the rest as well!


 Report Review

Review #70, by RosieQueen Valentine and Azkaban

1st December 2011:
EPIC!!! Love this story so much: UPTADE SOON OR ELSE!!!
Before the cousins confront their parents, make a small letter from ron that talks about their adventure in the chamber. Then you can interrupt the scene to the part where they confront their parents. Play-script of questions:

Albus: Dad, remember when everyone thought you were the heir of slytherin and how you were petrifiyng other students?
(Albus has a bright smile)
(James Potter II laughing in the background)
(Harry glares at Albus)
Harry: Vividly.

Lily: Mum, remember when you sent dad that singing valentine? It was sooo cute!
(Ginny turns a light shade of pink)

Rose: Mum, what's it like to be a cat? Did you cough up any hairballs?
(Hermione has an uneasy look on her face)

Hugo: How was it that you guys always ended up at the wrong place at the wrong time?
Ron: Trust me, Hugh, I always wonder the same thing.

make sure to include James in this scene.You DO know that harry has a third child, right?(James is the oldest) I hate when authors completely ignore or don't know about one of Harry, Ron, Hermiones or ginnys children.

PLZ UPTADE SOON I LUV THIS STORY!

Author's Response: Well, thanks!

There is still a chapter left before they get back to their parents so the forest and the chamber is coming, don't worry!

Thanks for the questions.

As for James, I'd like to answer in the same tone : do you think I'm idiot :D ? Of couse I know they have an older boy! I also know that any 16 years old would be anywhere but with his younger siblings at their grandparents during summer!!!

Thanks again for the review and I will answer all of your questions in the coming chapters, promise!


 Report Review

Review #71, by ginerva_molly_weasley Sortings and brilliant plans

1st December 2011:
I love how you've portrayed the relationship between Ginny and Ron as so close! It makes a nice change to the sib ling rivalry which is shown in some of the stories.

The whole idea about there being a spell which enables the children to go back in time to see their parents past is amazing! Its such a unique idea but I also think that you've portrayed it quite well with ghiving a plausible reason as to why Teddy perfected the charm.

I'm interested to see the next chapter :D

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this!

I find it highly improbable for Ron and Ginny to not have been this close. Ginny was Ron's sibling closest in age, the others being the twins, they already had a close friend and probably pushed Ron away when they were younger (like all older siblings do). Also, Ron being so insecure and scared to be left out, he probably didn't want Ginny to feel left out even though she wasn't in school with them yet.

The spell idea came very naturally. I imagined that Remus (who saw Harry missing and not knowing much about his parents) he would have thought to plan something for his own son, just in case. And having this power? Of course Teddy would search for a way to make this even better; that's what I would have done anyway, in that situation!!

I'm glad you enjoyed thanks!


 Report Review

Review #72, by ginerva_molly_weasley Finding the box

30th November 2011:
I love love love this!

Typical Weasley children and their inquisitive nature is shown here by the idea that they wanted to find out as much as they could about their parents.

The whole idea of the memory boxes is a very original idea which gives the story a certain edge to it, but it also makes us want to carry on and read the rest of the story.

I really like the way you've done this. Well done :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this nice review, I'm glad you liked the opening chapter!
I agree so much with the Weasley curiosity; they really are the best children to do this kind of thing!!

I'm glad you liked it and found it original; this is hard to do in this place!! Thanks again for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #73, by Tiffile Valentine and Azkaban

30th November 2011:
First, this story is great! And I hope Ron sends a "In case we get killed" note to his mom and dad so we can see them visiting the spiders (Al and Rose would love this) and finding the page from the book also a tell me all about Percy letter to Ginny about his girlfriend and her reply.

As for questions from the kids;
I really would like to know if she controlled her tail or did it move on its own?
Why am I named Snape?
Did you know all Malfoy's look alike? / How disturbing is that?
Where is your Lockhart poem?

Just a few. *smile* ,,, Please don't stop!

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review my story, I appreciate it a lot and I'm glad you enjoy it!
Don't worry, we'll definitly see the spiders' scene if not in the way you expect it!

As for your questions, thanks very much, they have been put on my list and will certaintly come up!


 Report Review

Review #74, by c31000v Valentine and Azkaban

27th November 2011:
I loved this!!! put up the next Chapter quickly! also how are you going to do the whole fight scene without Ron being in the Chamber with Harry and Ginny? Continue this story, it is one of my favorites!

Author's Response: Hi! thanks for this lovely review!!
The next chapter will take a couple more days; life is crazy right now and I can't find the time to sit down and write it but it's all in my head. As for how I'm going to write the chamber scene, I'll keep this a secret :P but don't worry, I've got a plan!
Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #75, by magicmuggle01 Valentine and Azkaban

25th November 2011:
Hi again. Once again an excellent chapter. You just seem to slide everything into place nicely to enable what your writing to fit the storyline.
As to ideas, how about having Ginny (after she's been rescued by Harry and speaking to the trio later) narrating a letter about how she ended up in the chamber of secrets. That way you could maybe include that bit somehow into the story.
Another well earned 10/10 and plz plz update very soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for those kind words, glad you liked this chapter!

This is honestly the hardest place, you know? Making sure that I don't forget the timeline of the original story and figure out what Ron did tell and what he kept to himself. What to show and what not, so that the story still makes sense to the kids. I'm glad you think I'm doing an ok job though, makes me feel a bit more confident!

Thanks for the idea, I'll definitly work on getting that in there somewhere! As for the next chapter, it's coming as soon as the queue reopens!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>