Reading Reviews for Brains & Brawn
  
247 Reviews Found

Review #26, by HP will never die When You Said You Needed Space

23rd January 2013:
Well. What can I say apart from WOW!? This is such a great story. I started reading it expecting it to be a straightforward romance, but it's so much more than that. Your plot is so amazing with all that mystery about claudias family and Isabella. And I love Oliver!! Please please update soon!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! Seeing your comments brings a smile to my face -- albeit a tired smile, considering it is 6:33AM and I haven't gone to bed yet. Yikes.

But yes. The reveal is coming up. I hope you do enjoy it. ^_^

Thanks for taking the time to leave me a review! You're wonderful! ♥


 Report Review

Review #27, by NoxFlame172 When You Said You Needed Space

5th January 2013:
Nice chapter. So close to knowing everything! I think I've got it figured out though haha! :)

And I'm glad that Charlotte and Oliver have made up! I guess I can kind of understand where Oliver was coming from now, and his reasoning for avoiding Charlotte.

Also, I love the way that you write Lupin. He's seems very true to the way he was portrayed in the books. I love each time he just pops in with his wise words and advice!!

Can't wait for the remaining chapters! I think this is probably my favourite story on the site!! :)

Author's Response: Oooh. I do need to hear what you think you've figured out ;) though I will admit that it isn't hidden particularly well. xD I've been dropping hints but I don't know if there's a big hole or if my hints are just really obvious. :) I do hope you enjoy finding it out, anyways, though. ^_^

I meant to write more of Lupin into the story...but Charlotte and Oliver took on a life of their own and sort of moved things along of their own accord. -rolls eyes- They have their own opinions, of course, hehe.

Anyways, thanks so much for sticking with this story for so long! I always look forward to seeing what you have to say. ^_^ As always, thank you for your lovely reviews! I take forever to respond but you betcha that I read them as soon as they're posted.



 Report Review

Review #28, by SydneyBlack When You Said You Needed Space

5th January 2013:
:] I just feel so..so content, right now! I never really took an interest in Oliver, but you have made me see the light!
Can't wait for chapter 28 :)
10/10

Author's Response: COME TO THE SIDE OF OLIVER. I've always had a soft spot for Oliver. I don't know whether it's because of Sean Biggerstaff's portrayal (or name, even. I mean, SERIOUSLY? So many funny puns.) or the way his character acts in the books. I think the scene that won me over was when Oliver was mourning the loss in the shower and Fred and George joked that he was trying to drown himself, HAHA. :')

Thank you so much for all your reviews! it means so much to me! I hope you enjoy chapter 28 ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by archer_of_the_wolves When You Said You Needed Space

2nd January 2013:
Aaaah, they've finally made up! :D Heh, hopefully after an amazing victory made by Gryffindor something that all your reader's have been waiting for will happen? ;) Also, gotta love Lupin :)

I'll forgive you for the late chapter just because I'd be a hypocrite if I didn't xD Can't wait to see what the next 4 chapters have in store for us, Charlotte, and Oliver!

Author's Response: Yay! Took them long enough, right? I hope you enjoy the Qudiditch part in chapter 28 because it was a pain in my bottom to write it. I literally rewrote that scene 5 times and got out my book and read the chapter on the Quidditch final and then wrote and rewrote it to make it more canon and changed things...blah.

Thanks for the forgiveness! @_@ It was definitely overdo. I hope you can continue to forgive me for the late chapters. Life gets in the way. If it was summer vacation year round, many more updates would be coming. HAHA.

And thank you for taking the time to leave reviews. It means so much to me. ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by AmeliaQ When You Said You Needed Space

30th December 2012:
I found this ff yesterday, and I have been hooked since. You're an amazing writer and I just love you'r plot. Hehe.. the plot thickens, love that phrase!! You're amazing and the story is amazing.

Author's Response: Wow! @___@ You're amazing! How did you read so many chapters?! I have to applaud you. Seriously. That's incredible and it gives me all these warm and fuzzy feelings.

And thank you so freaking much for the praise. It means so much to me. @_@ I hope you have a happy new year and thank you, again, for taking the time to leave a review.

It makes me really happy. :') ♥


 Report Review

Review #31, by SydneyBlack Minus the Drama and the Fraud

29th December 2012:
I feel extremely behind, mostly because you posted this in May (I think). In my defence, I discovered this addicting story this afternoon.
Anyway, I congradulate you on graduating :)
I really love your story, as I do enjoy a good Oliver/OC.
Again, congradulations, and I'm gonna try to catch up :]

Author's Response: Ahh, I posted this story ages ago. Literally. It's been...-checks real fast- like 2 12 years.

Holy crap. It's taken me this long to finish it? Man. I suck.

But thank you! :) I'm glad you're enjoying this story! I set out to write a different Oliver/OC so I'm hoping it fulfills that expectation.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Happy new year!

Your review means the world to me :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #32, by poor_old_snuffles When You Said You Needed Space

29th December 2012:
HURRAY FOR A NEW CHAPTER :D *happy dance* And I'm very glad there are still four chapters to go, but I don't know what I'm going to do when it's over :S

'"I don't think we'll ever know exactly what occured between Scarlett and Noah...but I do know that...well..." She lowered her voice and whispered the second half of the sentence.' OMG you cannot do that to me!!! What was the second half of that sentence??!!

Now for a few of my favourite parts:

'I knew my face was flushing, but his legs were so much longer than mine!'


The two of them getting stuck in the trick step - hilarious!! They should have just snogged right then and there, haha ;)


"LookcharI'mablodidiot..." I'm so happy they finally made up :D


'"Stuck in the trick step, I see."

"A notable observation, sir," I laughed.' Ahh, Lupin, what a man xD

So, while I have forgiven you for the time I had to wait for this chapter (it's an awesome chapter, how could I not forgive you?), GIMME MORE SOON PLEASE :DDD

Author's Response: You are my hero, you know that? I hope you know how much it means to me that you review every single chapter.

Seriously. You're my hero. I wish I could shower you with chocolates and cookies.

Just, thank you so much and I appreciate the forgiveness. I will update soon! It'll be my new years present ^___^ !

Happy new years! Thank you, again, for all your support throughout every chapter. I don't know what I would do if I didn't have readers like you!!!



 Report Review

Review #33, by Padfoot88 When You Said You Needed Space

29th December 2012:
So glad things are progressing, Oliver was being such an idiot. Also can't wait to find out what the whole mystery with Isabella and Claudia is!

Author's Response: Right? Oliver can be quite dim-witted sometimes but it's not his fault. :)

The mystery shall be revealed ~*~*~*

I have literally been building up everything for that moment so I hope it does not disappoint! :D

Thank you so much for your review! I appreciate it so much ^_^

Happy New Year!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #34, by Nelle07 Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

16th December 2012:
Love this!!! Please do update faster! I hope she at some point avoids Oliver!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm trying to update faster. I've been hoarding the final 4 chapters of B&B on my computer so I'm posting them now! I hope you enjoy. :)



 Report Review

Review #35, by Ravenclaw Chica Quick Fix and Heartbeats

8th November 2012:
She gave me a wide smile and picked up her quill, "What would I do without you, Lotty?"

"Fail," I responded easily, "You would fail."

LOL! I died laughing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found that funny! :D I wish I could write humor but alas, I'm really bad at it. Hopefully, you found other bits funny, too xD

But thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #36, by Megara Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

23rd October 2012:
The plot is coming together and I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: thank you so much! :D ^_^

 Report Review

Review #37, by my_voice_rising To be Lonely is a Habit

20th October 2012:
Hi there! I'm so excited to find another well-written Oliver/OC. The first scene was wonderful; I loved her leaving him having to re-try to start off his sentence several times. I also really like your portrayal of Katie Bell. She's pretty brave, approaching Charlotte like that, and made a really good point.

I also like Charlotte a lot in that a part of me dislikes her--and I know how that sounds. She's a really great OC and a believable person; I as a reader am becoming frustrated with her stubbornness, especially on her opinions of Oliver (yes, he should care more about studying, and she should be more open to others having interests other than studying--they're both preparing for their future in different ways.) I thought she was snobbish and rude for pointing out her better marks to her best friend, but I think that makes up for the fact that she's very intelligent. I find her rather immature as well, but Alex is the one to point it out and make her realize it, so I'm assuming she will make a major change throughout the story. You've got a really good system of checks and balances going on with her personality to keep her well-rounded. I think she's a fantastic OC.

Alex, however, I love through and through! And therefore I have complete faith in Charlotte turning out okay ;) I really liked her line about Charlotte being a Hufflepuff beneath it all. Poor 'Puffs. No respect at all.

I wonder if you're satirizing the relationship of most Oliver/OCs where they hate each other for absolutely no reason. When Alex says, "That's it? He insulted you?" you're definitely articulating at least my feelings when reading a story where there's absolutely no reason for the hatred/sexual tension that starts off so many fanfics. Nice touch, even if unintentional. :)

Some minor critiques: why wouldn't McGonagall have asked Hermione to tutor Oliver, once Charlotte had already refused? I think you should better explain why it all rested on her. Secondly, I think the entire exchange in McGonagall's office was a bit random. Perhaps you could either lengthen it, since we all love how secretly Quidditch-crazed McGonagall is, or take it out entirely. It just seems like an odd addition being as short as it is. Also I believe "Seer" is capitalized, but you may want to double-check :)

All in all a wonderful start, and I'm really glad to have found your story! Oliver/OC authors unite!

Author's Response: thank you for taking the time to write out such a thoughtful review! :D i love long reviews! and it's taken me a few moments to gather my thoughts so hopefully this response doesn't sound completely scatter-brained.

i'll address your critiques first! i don't think McGonagall would've asked Hermione to tutor Oliver since she's only a third year and at this point, Oliver and Charlotte are both Seventh Years. she might be the "brightest witch of her age" but I don't think it'd make sense for a 13 year old to be tutoring a 17/18 year old. and i liked the idea that there might be someone else in Gryffindor who might be as smart as Hermione. :P

i haven't gone back to reread/edit some of my earlier chapters, but i understand where you're coming from. i definitely know that i have to flesh out a few more scenes and that they do seem sort of randomly placed...derp! thanks for pointing it out ^_^

also, HAHA yes. satirizing the relationship of most Oliver/OCs. both in that they hate each other for no reason, and that there's always sort of this theme of quidditch. like quidditch is involved in my story, but it doesn't play as big of a part as it does in other stories! :) and i don't think that Charlotte necessarily HATES Oliver, more that she finds him overrated. HA. but it's okay that you dont' like her too much. i didn't like her too much at first and she's my own creation HAHAHA. :D but she definitely grows on you (at least she grew on me, HAHA :D)

i also have my own personal critique of my work in that i feel like i should have done a better job of weaving her friends into all the chapters...like sometimes one character is more significant than another one and doesn't get as much growth, etc. but i guess in my own defense (i'm rambling, i'm so sorry @_@) that the story IS from Charlotte's POV so i suppose she's biased in that way and that she can't always be interacting with everyone all the time. :) kekeke.

but in general, i am SO FLATTERED. AH. you've left such a wonderful review! i can't even begin to thank you. :) it must've taken you forever to write it out, hehe :D :D there's definitely going to be a lot of editing when i finish but for now, i'm just going to keep plowing forward and leave it to you awesome reviewers to point out stuff i should fix. :D :D

thanks again, for taking the time to do this! it's made my night ^___^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #38, by Love is a Mix Tape Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

19th September 2012:
I adore the intricacies of this story. Drew for instance was a new kind of villain. The layers to relationships and details are lovely.

Also are all the chapter titles lyrics from songs? I know that some are for sure.

Any chance you'd be willing to tell me what they are? I already recognize ones from The Hush Sound and All Time Low. We seem to have similar taste in music and I am insatiably curious about it!

Author's Response: hehe, thank you so much! such compliments @___@ they make me blush! and yes, the chapter titles are from songs :D i've been meaning to go back and edit in which songs they're from...:X i was just going to make a big list at the end but i feel like it'd probably be more efficient if i just included them at the end of the chapter. heh. :D

there's a lot of panic! at the disco and some are taylor swift (very few) and a lot of jack's mannequin/something corporate mixed in as well. :D

thanks again for leaving a review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #39, by Mazz Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

4th September 2012:
omg so I've read this entire story over the whole day and it's like quarter to three in the morning right now so I don't know what to say but asdfghjkl this story is fabulous and charlotte is such a lovely character and oliver omg i love you and claudia and alex and piper and the weasleys oh they are all so cool and isabella there is so much we do not know and i want to know oh god i'm so tired this review sucks but lovely lovely wonderful story i love everything.

apart from drew.

he sucks. more than this review.

Author's Response: dudeee, you craaayy! you read my story in over a whole day? WOW. i am so impressed and flattered and just WOW. thank you so freaking much. i can't even convey how thankful and appreciative i am!

this review did not suck. it's fabulous, just like you and THANK YOU SO MUCH. you don't know how happy this review has made me. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #40, by Mazz Pretty Down to your Bones

4th September 2012:
omg happy birthday today then :) I love this story so far - I don't generally read this era of fan-fiction but this is so good and I have so many chapters ahead of me and I am so excited!!

Author's Response: thank you! :) i love that you're excited for this! it gets me pumped and wanting to write more chapters and update faster! :)

 Report Review

Review #41, by poor_old_snuffles Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

21st August 2012:
First, congrats on the TA status - yay for faster updates! And also, yay for this chapter being so dramatic and so close to revealing everything!! Please tell me we'll find out what's going on soon??

Secondly, I apologise that it's taken me almost a MONTH to leave a review - somehow, I only just noticed you'd updated :O

Now, on to more pressing issues ... BAD OLIVER! Bad, mean Oliver :( This has to stop soon, okay??? Oliver needs to stop being mean and confess his love for Charlotte and then they can live happily ever after :)

Also, I couldn't stop laughing when Charlotte said "The library is locked after hours!" xD

Can't wait for more (even though I am sad that this story will be ending soon)!!!

Author's Response: Hehe. Thank you! & no worries! :D The fact that you still stopped by to review is pretty awesome! So it means a lot to me that you did stop by. ♥

I'm editing and getting ready to put the new chapter up right now! It's been too long and I've been slacking because I've been playing the sims too much. D: but that's just random information, hehe.

Thanks so much! :D It means so much that you've reviewed. ^^ You are awesome!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by chrysanthemum Tongue-Tied and Overloaded

6th August 2012:
This story is amazing! I love it!
Why though, is Charlotte so terribly embarrassed about having paint in her hair?

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

And wouldn't you be embarrassed about having nasty bits of paint in your hair? Keke. I know I definitely would! But I am easily embarrassed by all things so I suppose you may not be embarrassed. :D

Thanks for taking the time to review! I really appreciate it. ^_^



 Report Review

Review #43, by ruby_slippers Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

31st July 2012:
I LOVE this story!
Poor Charlotte! FINALLY her and Claudia are sharing there info! This is gonna be GOOD! Isabella is a bloody cow to, don't care if she's had some mad tortured childhood - it does NOT give her the right to be minipulative and cruel to those around her! ... skank
Oliver is also being stupid. Silly boy this is not the time to withdraw. Silly silly silly.
I love your characters (even the ones i hate!) and how you have developed them and the plot! Its so great and such fun to read! So thanks for that :)

Author's Response: Hehehe. I'm glad you're enjoying this. :D I'm enjoying it...a lot. Too much, actually. I'm really excited to get close to end...and hopefully you will like the end result. :)

Oh, Oliver. He's just so...awkward. Hopefully things will clear up soon. ;) Maybe. Hehe.

I'm glad you're really liking this story! Your support means a lot to me. :) Thanks for the review! ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by NoxFlame172 Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

28th July 2012:
Wonderful chapter, I really felt for Charlotte and what she was going through.
I can't beleive that Oliver was ignoring Charlotte after everything that was being said about her! I really hate how people will believe such outrageous rumours about others, especially when they don't know anything about them. I just really hate gossiping!
Glad we're finally going to work out the whole Claudia/Isabella stuff...I think I've pieced it together, but I want to know if I'm right!! Haha!
Congrats on being a trusted author! Can't wait for the next update!! And only four more to go!

Author's Response: Ugh. Rumors. Don't even get me started. :( And Oliver...I think, personally, is just really awkward. He doesn't know what to really do so he does what any teenager does -- avoid the problem...which is bad. But it's also quite wishy-washy on his part...cough.

And yes! Claudia/Isabella stuff. :D I think a few of you have pieced it together -- which thrills me to no end! I left tons of little, itty-bitty clues throughout all my chapters so knowing that you guys have picked up on them makes me feel really happy. :D It's like reassurance that I'm not wasting my time putting them there ;)

Thanks so much! :D I can't believe this story is so close to being finished...-cradles first story like a baby- Thanks for the review! I really appreciate it. ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by MrsScottyMcCreery9398 Old Friend, Why Are You so Shy?

27th July 2012:
Omg I love this story!!! Well, I enjoy most Oliver wood stories being that I'm slightly obsessed ;) But this is definitely one of my favs so far! I hope you update soon, and congrats on becoming a trusted author!
If you have the time, please check out my Oliver wood story :D thanks!

Author's Response: thank you! :D it means a lot that you've taken some time to leave a review! & i will try my best to get to read your story. :)

thanks for leaving a review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #46, by ruby_slippers Never Been Anywhere as Cold as You

24th July 2012:
Oh my goodness!!! So much happening!! What is going on with Claudia and Isabella?? (Ten says they are half sisters or something and Claudia's mum stole her dad from Isabella's mum hence her intense hatred for boyfriend stealers). Seriously though Isabella is HORRID! Horrid bloody cow! Bloody good show Oliver!!
I love that your characters are so complex! It makes for a much more interesting read! Claudia is still a little bit of a mystery.
Can't wait to see what happens next! LOVE this story!

Author's Response: Heee. I can't comment on anything plot-wise, but I can give you this -- ;)

I'm glad you're really enjoying this story! And that these plot points aren't annoying or whatever for you. :D And I love my characters so much. I'm glad that you're picking up on their growth, which was something I really focused on!

Things are going to start wrapping up, soon! So I hope I don't disappoint! Thanks so much for the review & for keeping up with this story!! ^___^ It makes me so happy! ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by NoxFlame172 Never Been Anywhere as Cold as You

19th July 2012:
Good chapter, even if you didn't think it was your best it's still pretty good!! I like Ophelia, and the comparisons between potions and cooking was quite interesting.
I'm so glad that Oliver ended things with Isabella, but I'm worried for Charlotte, it seems that Isabella is gonna take it out on her.
And what is happening between Claudia and Isabella? The plot is thickening indeed!!
Look foward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D And yes! I was thinking Potions was like chemistry but Gina was saying how she always thought it was like cooking -- which makes sense when you really think about it! Maybe it has a little bit of both? What do you think? Hehe :D

Claudia and Isabella are in some dep doo-doo. Just saying. And you should be worried.

I'm worried, even. :)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! :D It makes me feel so happy to read them. ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by archer_of_the_wolves Never Been Anywhere as Cold as You

18th July 2012:
A new chapteer! :D And now Oliver and Isabella have broken up!! :D I'm very curious about the plot thickening with Claudia and Isabella. Hm... Oh, I so can't wait to see what happens next! :O

Author's Response: I did not know when Oliver and Isabella were going to break up, but my fingers just sort of took over and it happened! :) Better late than never, I say!

I'm glad you're curious about the plot! :D I'm really excited to reveal everything!! But you know what people say! All in due time. :D

Thanks so much for the review ^_^ ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by poor_old_snuffles Never Been Anywhere as Cold as You

16th July 2012:
Woohoo, a new chapter! :D I really enjoyed it, even if you aren't completely happy with it (if it makes you feel any better, I never feel 100% happy with my own updates haha). Now what's all this drama with Claudia and Isabella, hmm??? "And the plot thickens" indeed ... Tell me more ;)

And YESYESYES Oliver broke up with Isabella!!! Thank you!!! :DDD Yay! Haha xD

Can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Ugh. Looking back, I still have issues with it. Mostly with the lack of flow. I feel like I jumped around a bunch because, let's face it, it was pretty filler-y. D:

But it gets better, I sweaaar! :D So thanks so much for sticking with me ^_^ This story is really nearing its end so I'm really excited to start tying things together and revealing the big Claudia/Isabella things. :D

Thanks for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by archer_of_the_wolves A Love Scene from a Bad Dream

28th June 2012:
Awww, yay, she's finally rid of Drew and with Oliver now!! :D

I'm scolding myself right now for not having reviewed before. I found this story awhile ago and forgot about HPFF a little over a year ago. I just came back and reread your story and caught up on the chapters I hadn't read yet :) I loved how much of Claudia and Oliver we got to see over their holiday!

I'm being a little greedy (okay, a lot greedy), but hopefully, as it's summer now, you won't be as busy so you can update frequently because I am once again addicted to your story! :D Love it!

Author's Response: Hehe. Thanks so much for this review. :3 It really brought a smile to my face. ^_^

I'm trying to update more frequently but I get so freaking lazy and I feel so bad. :z Lately, I've been struck with writer's block so I just barely pushed through that. :X

Hopefully the new chapter doesn't disappoint. @_@

Thanks again for your awesome review! ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>