Reading Reviews for Twice Defied
  
200 Reviews Found

Review #51, by SnitchSnatcher Actually Alone

13th September 2012:
Unsurprisingly, this chapter was flawless.

I'm really very curious as to why Remus is so hesitant about the Order. The only reason I could think of was because of his lycanthropy, but knowing you it's probably a lot cooler/more complex than that. At any rate, I'm excited to see what the reason is behind his hesitancy.

The Lily/James scenes, though brief, are absolutely adorable. I'm so glad that things are looking up for the pair of them. They deserve some happiness in their lives, even if neither of them are particularly satisfied with their jobs.

Anna! I was so happy to see her again, even if she was being a bit too harsh when they were discussing their jobs. It was nice to see her, though, and I hope she returns for a little more.

Mr Finkey sounds like a real gem. :P And I really love your Marlene. I really truly do.

Ack, I'm so excited to continue to the next chapter that I'm ending my review a bit prematurely. Hope you don't mind!

Author's Response: Pssh, you're flattering me FAR too much. :P

Well, by now, you know what happens with the whole Remus situation. I won't get ahead of myself by blabbing on about it until that review!

Aw, I'm so happy you like the scenes with Lily and James together. I really do like writing adorable ones like this, but I find it's hard to fit them in between all the other stuff going on.

Anna will return, though perhaps not as often as you (or I!) would like. It's so funny, but you know how hard it can be to keep in touch with friends who move away? It's like it's just as difficult for me to keep Lily in touch with Anna as it would be in real life! :P So much easier when they were all in the same place every day. Anna is a bit harsh, for sure...but she does generally make up for her foot-in-the-mouth moments. And I think it may also be that her upbringing in a family of critical overachievers has influenced her more than she'd like to admit.

Marlene was one of those characters that came to me in a really vivid way--I could just picture at once what she looked like, what she sounded like, what her personality was like. I'm so glad to hear that you like her!

This was a lovely review, and not at all short! :) Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #52, by SnitchSnatcher New Beginnings & Old Endings

13th September 2012:
You, dear, are silly. This chapter was great! I have no idea what you were worrying about!

I liked the normalcy in the first half. It was nice to see Lily with her family, enjoying life for once rather than living in paranoia and fear. I'm curious to see how she and Petunia get on once they're on their own. Something tells me that something bad is going to happen, which eventually leads to them not talking to each other. Or maybe I'm just a defeatist and always expect the worst. Or maybe I know better than to remain too optimistic, especially where James and Lily are concerned.

The entire scene between Snape and Lily was well done. I did want to punch him, though. Then again, I always want to punch Snape, so good on you!

I really enjoyed the meeting between the Marauders and Moody and Dearborn. It was nicely paced, and I loved all of the insight we got into James' character. I think I've said it before and pardon me if I hadn't because it's criminal, but your James is one of my favorites, if not my absolute favorite. He's just so well-rounded and good. A bit of a prat, yeah, but he means well and his actions reflect his words because Lily's right - he would've warned Snape had the situation been reserved.

Yet another fantastic chapter. I am so hooked!

Author's Response: Hahaha, my worrying knows no bounds sometimes. It's really awful, actually! (And definitely silly, because usually once I stop worrying and post the chapter, it all turns out fine.)

With me writing the story, you're probably safe erring on the side of pessimism, since I seem to have this unexplainable determination to muck things up for my characters at every possible turn. :P (I like to think that keeps things interesting.) I don't think there's any possible way that Lily and Petunia could live together without some kind of upheaval, though!

I'm glad you liked the Snape and Lily scene. I feel the exact same way about Snape. :P

:D I'm so, so thrilled that you like my characterization of James! I used to feel like I had trouble getting inside his head--we don't get as many details about his life in canon compared to Lily, so I had to sit down and really think about what I did know, and how it would create all the things I didn't know. Now, honestly, I love writing from James' perspective just as much as I like Lily's. I'm so happy that he comes off as well-rounded, because he is in my head, and it's always hard to put that down in writing. :)

Yay, I have you hooked! So happy. :D Thank you again for all the wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #53, by SnitchSnatcher Orderly

13th September 2012:
Oh goodness, this chapter was very exciting indeed!

First we have the emotional confrontation with James and his dad. Poor dear. I felt so terrible for him because for one shining moment, he thought there was a breakthrough and then his dad mentioned New Zealand and my heart burst. Luckily Lily and Dumbledore showed up when they did as I don't know if I could've handled too much sad James.

I thought you handled the Order meeting perfectly. There was a lot of subtle tension throughout that had me on my toes every time someone spoke. I was just waiting for a fight or an argument to break out among them but alas! However, I like your Marlene as well as your Dorcas. I also love that there are witches and wizards of all ages in the Order. I've always disliked it when people make all of the Order members that we know of the same age and know each other; it's just not plausible. Besides, I think the Marauders and Lily were a very rare addition to the cause, which I thought you pulled off wonderfully. I can't wait to see what Sirius and Remus and Peter have to say about it/how their induction to the Order will go.

Yet another great job, Penny!

- Molly

Author's Response: I'm loving your reviews! :D

Sad James is very sad. :( I'm actually in the middle of writing a chapter right now with a very, very sad James, and it's not fun at all.

I'm so glad you liked the Order meeting! Hearing that you felt some tension as you were reading is great, because I tend to feel like I'm being long-winded and maybe a bit boring when I have these kinds of scenes. I completely agree about the ages (well, duh, I guess, because I wrote it this way)--looking at the later Order, there were people of different ages and backgrounds, so I thought that made more sense. It's too neat, in my opinion, to have all of them be close to the same age and best friends with each other. And, as you said, it kind of takes the shine off of the Marauders and Lily and how remarkable they were if there are a bunch of other young people.

Now, my only problem is that I can hardly find enough space in the chapters to give all of the other Order members their moment in the spotlight! :P You do find out some more background information about a few of them in one of the posted chapters, though.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #54, by SnitchSnatcher The Right Thing

12th September 2012:
Ouch.

That's all I can say about this chapter, really. It hurt - a lot. My poor babies have been through the ringer and they don't deserve anymore, even though I know it's coming. It can't not come, but I'm doing what I can to brace myself for it.

I am glad that they're finally moving forward. Maybe there's still confusion between them and uncertainty, but that's very realistic to me. There's no way that things could ever go back to normal after the experience they had, and you did that beautifully. As always :P

Author's Response: Yay! Another fantastic review. I'm so happy you're still enjoying the story...I can't tell you how much I worry with this one that I'm being dull or too angsty or something.

This was the chapter that I got stuck after for a long, long time, and looking back, I think part of that was because it is a pretty depressing situation. And I feel so bad because you're right, there's much worse to come, and it always feels like I'm slamming them with miserable thing after miserable thing. Ugh. :/

However--my main hope with all of it is that it comes off as realistic, and so the fact that you think it is makes me very happy! I felt exactly the same way, that things couldn't go back to exactly as they had been before. But that doesn't mean they'll never be good again. :)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #55, by Padfoot Grown Up

11th September 2012:
Finally,the Order members are beginning to accept them and recognise their efforts!I love how you switch the point of view between Lily and James,most Marauder era stories concentrate on Lily,so that's very refreshing to read!I love,love,love your plot,you write in such detail,it's obvious you're taking joy out of this!You know,even though I know how the Lily-James story ends,and you stick strictly to cannon(well done for that!), you still bring your own element,so I find myself getting really excited when I'm reading your story,even if I know what's going to happen!Unfortunately,it's not a happy ending,Lily and the Marauders' story is so tragic!
Oh,and one last thing!Alice had better not be insinuating anything about my Sirius in that pub!Because I'd have to defend his honour!Siriusly!:D
I hope to see more from you soon!And please,don't let the amount of reviews discourage you!I'm sure there are more people reading than you realise!After all,I find that the amount of reviews does not indicate the quality of the story!Believe me,I have seen stories with a lot of reviews that are just not up to your standard!Well done,once more!

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks so much for reviewing. I know you're right about the number of reviews--I always keep chugging along, telling myself that people are reading and just don't have enough time to review or whatever, but then I get paranoid. I start to wonder if people are reading and not reviewing because they don't know how to tell me that they don't like it! All a side-effect of being a neurotic writer. :P I appreciate your reassurances so much!

Things are definitely starting to look up for them with the Order, and I love getting to write them interacting with Alice and Frank and the others more. You really are right that I feel absolutely joyous writing this story (at least, when the writing is going well--I have to admit there have been times where it's been like torture), and that's something I never truly realized for myself. I know I love the story, of course, but you saying that really opened my eyes to how much I care about it. :)

I don't know why, but I've always written James/Lily stories with their POVs alternating. Even when I wrote really awful ones when I was like 12 years old, it always switched back and forth. It's just what's natural to me, and I'm so glad you like it! :)

I was reading this book recently called The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, and I wrote down a quote from it because it seemed to be so applicable to James/Lily stories: "I know what happens and so do you. It's the machinations that wheel us there that aggravate, perplex, interest, and astound me." It's always struck me as strange that a story about two people whose fates we are entirely aware of, and which are terribly sad, can be so popular--but there you have it. It's not about the end, it's about what happens in between.

Now, I don't really know what Alice could have been thinking when she looked at Sirius. Maybe Lily just misinterpreted? Or maybe...well, if it was anything, I'm sure you'll find out at some point. ;) (Sorry!)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing; it really means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #56, by Jess the Enthusiast Grown Up

11th September 2012:
Another wonderful chapter! I' so glad that the Marauders and Lily are being more accepted in the Order; this plot is getting very exciting! And I feel so bad for James; I know his father is going to die - and his mother to follow - but it's still sad. Great update! Can't wait for the next chapter! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Wow, I refresh the page after replying to your review on the last chapter, and there's another one! I feel so spoiled today. :P

I'm glad you're enjoying the plot. I really have a better idea of how it's going to progress now, so it's exciting for me, too.

I always feel like James/Lily stories are heart-breaking, because you know that so many bad things are on the horizon. :( I mean, it's like you said, as bad as James feels now...we know it's not even close to the end for him.

And on that depressing note--I'm really glad you liked the chapter, and hopefully my writing streak will continue and I'll have a new one up pretty soon! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #57, by Jess the Enthusiast All Right

11th September 2012:
What a great chapter! And ahhh the ending! I'm a happy camper, haha :D

10/10

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so glad you liked it! Especially the end. :D

Thanks again for being such a faithful reviewer!


 Report Review

Review #58, by SnitchSnatcher Stop Motion

11th September 2012:
Oh Merlin, I was so tense at the start of this. Honestly thought poor James was being attacked by Death Eaters again. Whew, am I glad that I was wrong! Panic attack successfully averted, lol.

I'm in love with the way you write all of the Marauders. They have this wonderfully organic dynamic between them that just leaps off the page and worms your way into your heart. Even Peter is cute and charming in this, even if I don't quite believe his excuse for not being able to stay the night at James's house. I also love that they're pestering him for details about him and Lily. Such gossipers! :P

I feel so bad for poor Lily, too. The thought of not feeling safe in your own home is very unsettling; I can't imagine what I would do if I was in her situation. Probably cry and never leave my bed, for starters. I hope she takes Petunia up on her offer to move out of the house - she needs a fresh beginning and a way to get rid of all of those horrible memories of the attack.

James showing up at the end of the chapter, of course, made me smile like an idiot, despite the fact their relationship isn't exactly in a good spot at the moment. Naturally I'm keeping my fingers crossed that everything will pan out. I'm sure it will, but that still doesn't mean I'm not nervous about it!

Great job with this chapter. Now onto the next!



Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad I managed to trick you at the beginning! :P (Although sorry for the potential panic attack.)

You know, I always feel like I have trouble writing the Marauders for some reason, so it's great to hear that you think I do it well! I like including Peter--he's another one of those characters that I hate, but is nonetheless really interesting to write about.

Lily and James' whole situation at this point is pretty unpleasant, but they've been through a lot, too. I can't imagine what it would be like either--I try, and clearly this is the result of my attempts. :P One thing that I often wonder about when reading other Marauders Era stories that deal with the war, though, is how easily many of the characters seem to bounce back from traumatic events, and I wanted to try and give this its due...which makes for a kind of depressing situation, I suppose.

I'm glad you liked the chapter, and thanks again for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #59, by SnitchSnatcher Seven Still

10th September 2012:
Wow, you've done what very few authors have ever managed to do and that's feel any amount of sympathy for Snape. And I actually felt quite a great deal for him all throughout this introductory chapter, which I read when you first posted the story but had never reviewed until now. Please forgive me for making such a blunder. :P

Anyway, you did a great job with this chapter! All of the characters felt very in-character - I especially like your Bellatrix. She's so...well, I can't put my finger on the word, but I definitely like her.

I'm so excited to read the rest of this. It's been on my favorite lists for ages - ever since you published it, actually, as I was only somewhat obsessed (read: very) with 'Once Defied'. Now that I'm finally getting around to it, I'm kicking myself for being so silly for waiting so long.

Author's Response: Hello! Oh my gosh, it's so wonderful to see a review from you! I remember some of the lovely reviews you wrote for Once Defied, and of course, I love Distinctly Disenchanted (which I need to catch up on)...I think I also need to be forgiven for not keeping up on that as well as I should have!

You know how sometimes, there are things you write that you can read like a year or more later, and you're just like, "Yes. This is so exactly what I wanted." At the risk of sounding conceited, that is how I feel about this first chapter, so I'm so glad you liked it! (That's the danger, of course--even if you feel good about something you wrote, you can never be sure that other people will like it! :P) The funny thing is, I completely despise Snape. I torture him at every available opportunity in Once Defied and this story, I think. But he is interesting to write, despite all that--pitiable in a really low sort of way, not in the heroic way that so many other people pity him.

And you like the way I wrote Bellatrix! :D That makes me even happier. She's a tough one. I kind of try to make her a little less insane, because I assume that most of that was probably caused by all the years in Azkaban. But then you can't make her normal, of course.

Anyway, I'll stop rambling. I'm just so happy to hear you liked my characterizations, given the characters that were featured in this chapter. I'd love to hear your thoughts as you keep reading! :)

Thanks again (so much)!


 Report Review

Review #60, by Padfoot All Right

3rd September 2012:
A very good chapter,as always!I can assure you the scene at the end was just the way it should be,you did a very good job with it!I love your plot,I'm anxious to see where you'll go with it,and I do hope they will all prove themselves capable of fighting and the Order will stop treating them like they're naughty toddlers soon(although that is incredibly realistic,as they're so young,it's only natural they'd be seeing them the way you describe).I absolutely adore James,he's always been one of my favourite characters,and your James is not disappointing at all!Congratulations on your work overall!I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback! Phew, what a relief that the last scene was all right. :D Like I said, those kinds of scenes make me feel nervous, and I also wasn't sure if it was out-of-place or something.

One thing I've struggled with a bit in this story is the plot, to be honest--it's hard to put it all together without the familiar framework of Hogwarts. I've had a vague idea of how I wanted it to end since I began writing, but I've been putting the "in-between" together sort of as I go. So, I'm really happy that you've been enjoying the plot! :)

This chapter was supposed to be the first time that they really felt good about their involvement in the Order and kind of proved themselves--but then, as I was writing, I ended up kind of spoiling it for them a bit. :P I was beginning to wonder if people would get sick of them constantly mucking things up and being treated like imbeciles, so it's a relief to hear that you think it's been realistic so far. It will definitely improve as the course of the story goes on!

Ahh, I'm so glad to hear you like my characterization of James. :) I used to struggle a bit with it when I was writing Once Defied. Now I don't know whether I like writing his POV or Lily's more!

Thanks again for all your encouragement and praise; it's wonderful to hear! I hope to have a new chapter up soon(ish)!


 Report Review

Review #61, by Lindsay Vernon Dursley

29th August 2012:
Pretty pretty please write more :D

Author's Response: I will, I promise! :) I hit a bit of a stall with the next chapter, but I am vowing to try and push through it tonight. Hopefully the new chapter will be up in the next few days.

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #62, by Leila of the Fairies Vernon Dursley

1st August 2012:
YAYAYAY UPDATE!! :D I love that you incorporated the new Pottermore storyline about how James and Lily met Vernon.

Author's Response: Well, you know me--if it's canon, it's gotta go in there somewhere! (I sort of dread the inevitable day that Pottermore reveals something that completely clashes with this story.) When I first got to this point, I was relieved to finally have a chapter where I had a decent amount of canon to go on--after all, JKR basically outlines the entire dinner conversation--but writing it was kind of hard! It was tough to connect the dots. I'm glad that you liked it!

Thanks for reviewing! Hope you like the next chapter when I get it posted!


 Report Review

Review #63, by StormThief17 Vernon Dursley

31st July 2012:
Yay! Party! I'm so happy to see this update! That dinner was SO funny! And definitely typical of both James and Vernon. The line about goblins in the bank was really funny! I just can't wait to see what happens at that pub! Keep partying and writing! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! (And apologies for being terribly late in replying to it.) I'm glad you liked the chapter. :D I tried to sneak a few funny lines in there, which, with me, is always a bit of a hit-and-miss process--I'm glad that one was good!

Also, thanks again for the Dobby nomination on Once Defied. I honestly didn't expect a nomination--though, of course, like everyone else, there was a small part of me that was hoping for one--and it makes me feel more encouraged than I can say that there's someone out there who thinks highly enough of my story to nominate it. :)

Next chapter coming very soon, I hope!


 Report Review

Review #64, by cass Vernon Dursley

30th July 2012:
A cliffhanger! D: I'm pretty excited to read the next chapter! :) I love your writing and can't wait to see where this story goes!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I don't do cliffhangers often, but one seemed to fit here. :)

I'm flattered that you love my writing! I'm trying to finish up the next chapter in the very near future, so keep an eye out!


 Report Review

Review #65, by TheBattleOfHogwarts Vernon Dursley

30th July 2012:
Arrgh Vernon is such a tosser, James is right! I can't believe he calls Petunia 'Pet'! Oooh, slight cliffhanger. Please update as soon as you can!

Author's Response: The funny thing about writing younger Vernon was imagining him in a budding relationship with Petunia. I mean, there must have been a side to him that she liked, right? So I tried to bring out his...er..."romantic" side in things like him calling Petunia "Pet". :P It somehow seems to fit, in an odd way.

In general terms, however, I wholeheartedly agree with James' assessment of Vernon.

I am trying to finish the next chapter ASAP. In the meantime, thank you for reviewing; I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #66, by TheBattleOfHogwarts Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

30th July 2012:
Poor poor Remus, I feel so sorry for him. LOL Lily says that Vernon might not be so bad. We shall see. I'm looking forward to you writing the scene with all of them at the dinner!

Author's Response: Oh dear, I've somehow managed to let my reviews go unanswered for a month again. :S I'm so sorry! (I guess I was on vacation for about 2/3 of that month, but still.)

I feel very sorry for Remus, too, and for many different reasons. The thing that makes me feel worst about him is that I think he masked a lot of his struggles so as not to appear "different" or "abnormal". That's definitely coming out in this chapter.

Your skepticism about Lily's expectations for Vernon was definitely on target. :P

I'm glad you liked the chapter (and the next one), and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #67, by Jess the Enthusiast Vernon Dursley

28th July 2012:
This is my favorite chapter so far! I love the way you wrote the dinner; I think it's probably very close to what really happened. And I liked how you gave James legitimate reasonings behind his actions and behavior towards Vernon; I think a lot of people write him off as immature but his getting cross over the unemployment thing because of Remus and not himself was very...James. I don't know how else to explain it. He's a very loyal boy, isn't he?
Anywho, I loved this chapter and I'm very excited to read the next one (I hope everyone turns out to be alright!!!) 10/10 :D

Author's Response: I really wish I could express how much I appreciate you coming back to read and review each chapter, even when it takes me a while to post them. It really means a lot, so thank you a million times. :)

I'm glad you liked my portrayal of the dinner! I thought this chapter would be so easy to write because JKR gave the outline of it on Pottermore, but it actually turned out to be quite difficult to string it all together in a way that seemed believable!

That moment is SO James, isn't it? :D I know exactly what you mean. It would have been very easy to just make James' reaction pure immaturity--and in fairness, the initial part of it definitely was just him being childish--but then I thought it would be more interesting to show that other side of him as well.

Thank you again (so much) for the review! I'll try and update as soon as I get back from vacation!


 Report Review

Review #68, by Noon Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

21st July 2012:
This could be one of the best James/lily fanfics I've ever read! I love how you're sticking to facts from the books and how the characters are realistic to some extent ;) I'd love to see what you have in store for all of them next! That would be a nice way to ask for you to update soon please! :D
I swear it's like I'm reading something jk would write herself!! Love it

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really flattered that you would compare my story to JKR--of course, we all know I'm nowhere NEAR as good, but it is very encouraging to hear. :D I do try to stick to the facts that she established as much as possible. It's also music to my ears that you find the characters pretty realistic, as that's another thing that's very important to me.

Your polite request worked, because I'm about to upload a new chapter! Thanks again for the review, and I hope you like the next one!


 Report Review

Review #69, by Jess the Enthusiast Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

10th July 2012:
Wonderful chapter! I love the way you write James and Lily!
Can't wait for the next update! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you hear you enjoyed the chapter. I'm hoping to write more of the next chapter right this moment, so hopefully it won't be much longer before it's up. :)

 Report Review

Review #70, by StormThief17 Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

26th June 2012:
I am so happy that you updated! I've been checking this so much that I almost didn't notice at first! Anyway this chapter is just as good as the others. I think you do a very good job of interweaving the romance and the war, without emphasizing one too much. I am so excited to read about the dinner with Vernon, especially to see how you write Vernon. Update soon? Pretty please?

Author's Response: I am so happy that you reviewed! Sorry it takes me ages; I always start out with the best intentions of getting a new chapter done, and then get a bit distracted/lost along the way. I'm hoping to offer much more regular updates in the future!

It makes me feel really good to hear that you think I'm doing a good job of putting together the romance and the war. That's ultimately what I want to do with this story--there's such a poignant juxtaposition there.

I'm very excited to write the dinner...I think it'll be next chapter. Should be fun!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #71, by Kelsey Marie Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

26th June 2012:
Oh my goodness I've missed this story! I was so excited when I saw you'd updated haha. You're an amazing writer and I love that you're introducing Dursley and putting more emphasis on where Lily and James' relationship is headed. I can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you, it makes me feel so good to know that you missed the story! (I mean, not good that I took so long updating that you missed it, but that you were attached to it, haha.)

I'm glad you're enjoying the trajectory of the story. :D I think writing the meeting between Vernon and Lily & James is going to be really fun. And Lily and James have been pretty steady for a while now, so I think it's only natural for them to start thinking towards the future--especially given everything that they've been through and are currently going through. I think they've had to grow up a bit faster than other people.

Thanks for the review; hopefully I'll update soon!


 Report Review

Review #72, by Prefers Anonymity Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

22nd June 2012:
I loved this chapter and I love your story. I can't wait until you post the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! As you can see, your review the other day smacked me with a sudden burst of motivation to finish the next chapter. :D This got done much earlier than I expected--it's wonderful how reader feedback can make a difference like that!

Hopefully I'll be updating soon! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #73, by SickleLight Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

22nd June 2012:
Hello there!A wonderful chapter,as always,I really enjoy Lily-James stories!What I really love about this story is that you are trying to stick to canon as closely as possible,including the new pottermore information,and you are doing an excellent job too!The spelling and grammar are good,too.Congratulations,you manage to keep the reader's interest through it all!I assume this is a trilogy...I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for your review. :)

Keeping things in line with canon is very important to me, as I know it is for a lot of people. The stories I love most are the ones that stick to JKR's canon as closely as possible, so I try to do the same thing! I'm a bit scared for the new Pottermore info, to be honest--I'm hoping that it doesn't make too much of this story non-canon! I'm glad to hear you appreciate that aspect of it. :)

I actually plan for there to be four (maybe five, depending on how it goes) stories in this series--one leading up to each time James and Lily defied Voldemort, and then one (maybe two) following that and going up to their deaths. I hope I can stay committed and make it through all of them!

Thanks again for the review; hopefully a new chapter won't be too far off!


 Report Review

Review #74, by Prefers Anonymity Dead Ends

20th June 2012:
Hi, I just wanted to say that I really enjoy your writing. I thought "Once Defied" was one of the best fanfics that I've read. Also, I think the plot for "Twice Defied" is progressing wonderfully. I'm really looking forward to reading more. Please post the next chapter as soon as possible! :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for your review! I'm thrilled to hear that you're enjoying my writing. :) I will try and post a chapter as soon as possible--I'm in a month-long contest for writing original fiction at the moment, but I really plan to have something new up in July.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #75, by Somebody Dead Ends

30th May 2012:
I became thoroughly immersed in your previous story, Once Defined, a couple of years ago and I'm sorry to say I haven't found the time check up on Twice Defined as frequently as I would have liked. I've recently found some spare time to begin reading it again and haven't been disappointed! Your story is exceptionally good and more than believable in stark constrast to some of the other stories I've came across on HPFF. There's no need to question the pace of the story, I think it's developing nicely and wouldn't rush it. Part of what makes both Once and Twice Define so good is the fact that they're not rushed. I desperately hope that you continue writing and soon because I love this story! : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's lovely to know you're still reading, if intermittently (which is totally okay, since I write intermittently, too)!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoy the story, and feel that the pacing is all right. I don't know what happened to me between writing the last story and writing this one, but clearly, I've turned into a bit of a headcase who can't judge their own writing very well. (I tell myself this makes me a legitimate author, but who knows, really? :P)

Thank you again! I will continue writing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>