Reading Reviews for Twice Defied
  
200 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Kristina1990 A Steel Trap

29th December 2012:
I'm so glad that I found your stories! I've been digging my way through this site for the last couple of weeks to procrastinate studying for my exams (it's working extremely well) and these stories are definately very high up on my list!

Hope you'll update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! Fan fiction is an awesome way of procrastinating. I'm honoured to hear that you liked my stories so much. I know I haven't updated in ages--life has gotten the better of me over the last year and a half. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you liked it, though. Reviews, more than anything, keep me holding on to the hope of finishing this story one day.

 Report Review

Review #27, by SpellWatch20760 A Steel Trap

14th December 2012:
I have enjoyed this story very much and i hope you keep updating it often

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the story. Obviously, I haven't fulfilled your wish by updating often...but I haven't yet lost the intention to finish this at some point!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Prefers Anonymity A Steel Trap

4th December 2012:
Please post more of this story. I have been anxiously awaiting the next installment. I absolutely love your stories. Keep it up! :)

Author's Response: I'm really sorry I haven't posted a chapter in a long time. I've been writing James/Lily stories for like the last 10 years, and I've always had these times where the energy I have for writing fades for a while. I think it's coming back. I can't promise anything--and I realize you've probably long since stopped checking for new chapters--but never give up hope! Thank you for reviewing and letting me know you enjoyed my stories.

 Report Review

Review #29, by Kat A Steel Trap

24th November 2012:
Love it can't wait to read more

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Noturavggurl A Steel Trap

31st October 2012:
Good plot development so far. Makes me want to read
more, and I like long chapters when they are as good as this
one.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really happy to hear that you're interested to read more...though not so happy that I don't have more to offer right now!

I also appreciate your feedback about the length; sometimes I really do worry that I'm scaring people off with the length of the chapters. (I'm sure that's the case for some people, but as long as there are a few who don't mind, I'm happy!)

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Canadian_Hogwarts A Steel Trap

23rd October 2012:
I love it!! Please update soon! I just read Once defied and Twice Defied in less than two days...I need more chapters for my new addiction. Actually...add like 7 chapters! Right now!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad to hear you loved the story that much. :) I apologize that I've been slower in updating lately...I'll admit that I've hit a spot in the story where I don't really know where to go next, and plus I'm way more busy because I have a full-time job now. But I am working on more of the story, and will hopefully have something new up soon!

Thanks for your patience and, again, for the review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by Pat A Steel Trap

22nd October 2012:
This is amazing. I'm loving the story so far! I'm keen for next chapter :D Please keep writing!! Good luck aha.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I hope I will have a new chapter up in the next couple of weeks...I started a new job at the beginning of October and it's been a real time leech. I'm planning to try to write 25,000 words for this story in November, though, so hopefully updates should be more frequent.

I'm thrilled that you love the story, and thanks for being patient with me! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by StormThief17 A Steel Trap

12th October 2012:
Awww they are so cute! James and Lily make me so warm and fuzzy. I loved seeing so much of them here. You also managed to do a lot with them but without completely neglecting the wider plot so that was good. Not going to lie, I sort of saw the attack coming, but it was still pretty suspenseful wondering what exactly would result from James and Lily's messup. Great chapter! One minor error is but she could Sirius wasnít having any of it. you need something like but she could see, or she could tell. Also, congrats on winning the dobby!

Author's Response: Hi StormThief! Thank you so much for coming to read and review. :)

Totally know what you mean about the warm and fuzzy feeling. :D I definitely got that when I was writing this chapter, which was fun! I'm glad you enjoyed that part of the chapter, and the way that I worked it into the bigger plot.

I'm not too surprised that you sensed something was off in that scene. James did too, but then, because he's James, he got all distracted by Lily's Patronus. :P

Thank you for pointing out that error--you're definitely right that something is missing there!

And thank you also (I feel so repetitive, haha) for the congratulations! It's a kind of crazy feeling...one of those things you always secretly hope for, but never really think will happen. I really appreciated your nomination in the Best Romance category, as well.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Jess the Enthusiast A Steel Trap

6th October 2012:
I think I have a problem: I squealed way too much during all of the James/Lily bits. But they're just too darn cute! I can't help all the abundance of feels they give me! I loved the whole Patronus thing; I was probably smiling as wide as James was. And she came to visit him! And she loves him! Ah I just can't even jkdsjfgjhsf

Sorry I'll act like a normal person now haha. So I loved this chapter! (And not just the James/Lily bits!) I was very suspicious of the screaming woman and to find out that she's Gamp's wife is unsettling; I feel so bad that Sturgis was attacked, and I don't know how I feel about them not telling the Order about the situation. And I really loved how you described Lily's feelings towards Sirius; I wonder what he has to do in order to gain her trust and liking (since we know in canon that they became friends) and I wonder what she has to do to gain his.
Wonderful chapter! I can't wait for the next update!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: :D Yay, feels! This was definitely a fun chapter to write. Not the most eventful, but it was nice to get to write a lighter scene between James and Lily.

I'm particularly happy you liked the Patronus "reveal", so to speak (though that makes it sound a lot more dramatic than it really is...), because I was really anxious about having to write that scene. I didn't want to make it seem cliched or contrived or anything, and it felt like there was a lot of potential for it to go in that direction. But if it resulted in feels, that is awesome. :D

I didn't know how suspicious the screaming woman/Gamp's wife was going to seem, but I figured that most people would pick up on there being something off. :P In fact, James kind of did too, but his attention was drawn elsewhere by the whole Patronus situation.

I can't say that I know exactly how Sirius and Lily grow closer (yet), but I know that it will happen. :P I feel like Sirius would have a bit of resentment towards Lily because she takes so much of James' attention away--not really because there's anything slashy going on, but just because I think Sirius is a bit unbalanced and selfish in that way. I feel like that's a wound that could definitely be healed with the passage of time...but we shall both see how it all transpires! :P

Thank you again for your reviews! I started a new job a couple weeks ago, and I'm trying to find the time to write more often, now that things are settling down. Hopefully a new chapter will be up before the end of the month!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Jess the Enthusiast Exodus

6th October 2012:
I absolutely loved this chapter! What I really love about this story is how you detail the progression of the war and how it affect James and Lily and the Marauders - and how they cope with it all. It's so realistic and true to JK's work and I am just always impressed. And I loved the second half of the chapter; it was the Marauders being the Marauders again. I think that this is something that probably occurred in canon: sad, dangerous times and then going out one night for a good laugh - just like old times. I thought it was very funny and really great to read.
Great chapter!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hi Jess! Thank you so much for the review (and a small apology for taking a little while to reply).

The war is one of my favourite parts of Marauders Era stories. I mean, it isn't very pleasant, but I feel like it's one of the most compelling parts of their story. I'm so glad you like the way I've portrayed it so far! And especially happy that it seems true to canon and realistic, because those qualities are something I strive for in my writing. :)

I wasn't too sure whether the second half of the chapter came off as well as I had hoped, so I'm very happy to hear that you found it funny! I think maybe I was just mired in some of the darker elements of the story when I was writing it, and I worried that it was going to make a scene that was supposed to be funny kind of depressing. And also conflicted because I didn't want to make it TOO funny, given James' situation. :S Anyway, though--that's just me over-thinking, as usual. I'm really happy you liked it!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #36, by SnitchSnatcher A Steel Trap

4th October 2012:
More Lily/James, I say!

But no, really, yet again you did a great job at balancing the plot with the romance aspect. I loved it!

The plot is definitely thickening and I'm really worried that nothing but bad things will come out of the secret they're all keeping. I wish Lily would've spoken up, but I understand her hesitancy to do so.

Once again, I'm super impressed by your characterization of Sirius. There's just something about the way you write him that feels so canon to me. Perhaps it's the darkness that shrouds his peripheral. At any rate, I love it. I also love how close you've made him and Peter - it makes his reaction to Peter's betrayal all the more believable.

Anyway, I'm so excited to read more of this and demand that you update soon! Yes, you read that right - I demand it! Or, at the very least, very politely request that you publish the next chapter just as soon as you're done with it!

Author's Response: More Lily/James ALWAYS. I really do enjoy writing the interactions between them--they're my OTP and my favourite characters. I've always considered this story much more of a James/Lily story than a Marauders story. But usually, I get worried that people will be annoyed if I only focus on the two of them--and, realistically, it's not like any couple spends ALL of their time together.

Anyway. I seem to be explaining myself for no reason. Moving on... :P

The Order is this fascinating thing to me--I think there's a temptation to see it as this altruistic, let's-join-hands-and-vanquish-evil group, but I just see all of these individual human beings with their own motivations and opinions, and it's wonderfully flawed. Lily and the Marauders aren't the only ones who keep things to themselves, and that will likely come up later on--not in a terribly important way (or, at least, as far as I can think ahead), but I have a few small plans. ;)

I'm SO happy you liked the part about Sirius. I originally wrote that a couple chapters back, but ending up editing it out and saving it for later. :P Oddly enough, Sirius is a character that really intimidates me. I love his dark edges, much more than his good qualities, and I have trouble putting the two together sometimes. And I don't know what it is about him and Peter that just goes together really well in my mind--they always gravitate towards each other in conversations, and I feel like they have a similar sense of humour.

I'm going to try super super super hard to finish the next chapter by next weekend. I know it's a bit later than the weekly updates I've been doing recently, but that's life for you. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #37, by SnitchSnatcher Exodus

3rd October 2012:
Ah! I didn't know that you had updated, so imagine my surprise when I get back from my brief holiday and see not one but two chapters!

This was awesome! I loved how we got plot development in the first half of the chapter and a bit of fun in the second half. You have a lovely way of balancing things out between the two halves so there's never too much of one thing but a nice collection of a whole bunch of things.

The stag bit was a lovely touch - made me grin from ear to ear.

I'm starting to get that sense of dreaded anticipation in my stomach - you know, the one that reminds you that things are about to get darker and far worse than they have been. I'm just bracing myself for the impact of it all.

Great job, Penny, as per usual!

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: :P I was a busy busy author there for a while! (Alas, I started a full-time job this past week, which is really cramping my style when it comes to writing.)

So happy to hear there was a good balance in this chapter. It felt a little off to me for whatever reason, so I'm very glad that it didn't come across that way on your side of the screen. I did think they were due for some fun, though!

Can you believe the stag thing? It was the most amazing discovery. :P

I'm really happy that you've got a sense of anticipation for the rest of the story--definitely makes me feel like I'm doing something right!

Thank you so much for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #38, by Padfoot A Steel Trap

30th September 2012:
Hello!Another wonderful chapter,as usual!I think you did an amazing job with James/Lily,you really know how to keep the balance between romance and the other parts of the plot.Honestly,you're one of the very few authors who can write everything perfectly!I am very satisfied with the chapters' length,I like stories with long chapters,and when it is your story I'm reading,the longer the better!I'm looking forward to more!
P.S.Don't be alarmed if I don't review very often!You won't have lost me as a reader,but it's my final year at school and I'm busier than ever!I'll try my best to leave you a line,though!
And before I forget,James is just ADORABLE!I also love Lily to pieces,but if she has a go at my Sirius again,even inside her head,I'll.start yelling at her..?And she doesn't want that,does she? :)

Author's Response: Hi, Padfoot! Thank you so much for the review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed the chapter. :)

It's great to hear that you think I can juggle the different elements of the story well. You're far too kind, saying that I can write everything perfectly! :) I'm very happy to know that you think there's a good balance, though, because I do worry about that at times. There's a lot of keep a handle on, I'm finding!

Hmm, Lily and Sirius...well, I can't say I really have anything major planned there, but I do feel like there's a bit of natural antagonism between them, so you never know what could happen. :P And if she does get cross with him again, you have my full permission to yell at her.

I'm also relieved to hear that you don't mind the lengthier chapters. I never know whether it turns people off reading or not, so thank you for putting my mind a little more at ease!

I really appreciate your review, especially when you're busy--I know that most people are at this time of year, so I'm flattered that you would take time out of your schedule to read and review. It means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #39, by The Raven_claw All Right

27th September 2012:
Haha I really liked your "Scene of a Sexual Nature" - it was romantic and exciting while still classy and still fitting of the tone of the rest of the story. Bravo. :-)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! That really does make me feel good. Awkward person that I am, I still think about it and inwardly go, "You wrote that?!?! Ugh." But all those words you've used to describe it are exactly what I hoped to achieve, so I'm thrilled! :)

Thank you so much for the review, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of the story as well!


 Report Review

Review #40, by StormThief17 Exodus

26th September 2012:
First review!! I'm sort oif excited for that! Anyway, I loved this chapter! You keep building the suspense and raising the stakes on everything, it's great! I also think you've done a great job of getting down the dynamics of the Ministry. Adding those little details like the lift lady just creates that Harry Potter atmosphere.

I missed having a bigger Lily/James scene in this chapter, but the Marauders totally made up for it! It was so great to see them hanging out just like old times. I also loved the dialogue just before they apparate. That was hilarious!

Great chapter :) I am getting so psyched for the climax of this story! Good luck with Dobby's!

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you so much for the review! I've been checking (far too often) ever since I posted the chapter, so it was really exciting to see a new review! :D

I'm so happy to hear that things are suspenseful and climactic, especially with all the Ministry stuff. It's actually quite fun to write those parts--maybe partially because it's a familiar setting, so I have an easier time navigating it. :)

Yes, I know, I was sad to not be able to work in James and Lily together in this chapter! I figured that it had been a while since I last showed the Marauders together, though, so it was probably time to include that. I'm glad you thought it was funny in parts--as I was writing it, something in me just felt like I wasn't hitting the right note, but maybe it was just my inner critic.

I am planning a good bit of James/Lily interaction in the next chapter, so I hope that'll make up for the lack of it in this one! :)

Thank you again for the review; it's wonderful to hear you're psyched, because I am too!


 Report Review

Review #41, by DeathDay Party Planner The Night of the Second Day

21st September 2012:
I've just finished "Once Defied" and caught up with you here: enjoying it immensely, thank you!

Like Jess below, I'm enthused by the scene with Lily and the other women. Astutely evolved, this coven development presents some clear opportunities for Lily to build significant female relationships, receiving some heart-to-heart insights, particularly with Alice(?), that could clarify and drive her romantic situation with James and weave many additional high impact dramatic canon threads into the main plot.

(Please forgive the mild criticism) - I particularly hope the above is your intent because, for a novel with a declared drama-romance double genre, the romantic relationship has not occupied nearly as much of the story as I'd expect - specifically considering a supposedly loving teenage couple composed of the two main characters who have just experienced virgin sex - the lack of passion is puzzlingly explicit to me at this point.

On the other hand, I applaud your characterization of James' complex relationship with his parents as so dispassionate. That theme seems understandable given their disparate ages, and their long separations. Given he's an only child whose father is dying, without any back-story to condition the relationship, he appears incredibly immature and selfish rather than just ridden by a gathering angst. As you said, it will certainly afford ample opportunity for later self-loathing.

I wouldn't be the Deathday Party Planner if I failed to ask for more murder and mayhem - appropriate to a 15+ rating, of course. It seems reasonable to expect more as the Order vigilantes are operating in a setting the wizard community later stipulated in canon to have been deep in the "first war" at the time. Anyway, I am looking forward to Moody and the other members of the Order earning their legends in lots of knock-down-drag-out cursing, jinxing, and hexing confrontations!

You have made me your fan and I can't wait for your coming chapters. Throughout "Once Defied" and again here, I found myself emotionally embroiled with your building canticle conditioning every piece of your action and dialog with my chilling foreknowledge. Totally enthralled with this story, you have made me fully commit to Lilly and James meme: "...their desperate wish: I don't want you to die."

Again, thank you!

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, what a thoughtful review. :) Thanks so much for sharing your feelings about the story with me! I'm really glad you enjoyed Once Defied and this story so far.

Great to hear that you also enjoyed the scene with Lily and the other women of the Order. (I never thought of them as a coven, but I suppose you're absolutely right!) It's nice to give Lily the opportunity to start fresh and form some female relationships, as you said. It'll definitely enhance some aspects of the plot down the road.

Ack, you know, you've hit on something that relates to one of my main worries about this story. (And no need to apologize--feedback, positive or negative, is always a good thing!) You see, I often fear that I'm not really doing justice to all the different aspects of the plot. Even with the chapters regularly rounding out at 5,000-6,000 words, I always feel as though I don't have enough room to tell all of the things I want to. For example, I do like to write scenes focused on James and Lily, but then I worry that it's going to become too repetitive if I don't show them with their friends/families/etc. So, that may be one reason why the story feels less "romantic".

On the other hand, though, James and Lily have been dealt sort of a rough hand that I think brought the "honeymoon" phase of their relationship to a rather abrupt end. And, of course, there is just simply the fact that I don't think I'm drawn to writing traditional romance in the vein of someone like Nicholas Sparks or Nora Roberts.

Having said all that--I do appreciate your suggestion very much, and I'll definitely keep it in mind as I write future chapters. :)

Yes, I plan to have many more action-filled moments in the future! The lack of them so far is really just because Lily & the Marauders are still being accepted into the Order. They haven't yet been assigned tasks that would bring them close to fighting on a regular basis, but that will happen more and more as time passes. (By the way, I think your user name is really clever!)

Again, I'm so glad to hear you've loved my stories so far! It's been a pleasure to hear your thoughts and feedback. I hope to have a new chapter up fairly soon!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Jess the Enthusiast The Night of the Second Day

18th September 2012:
Another wonderful chapter! I feel so sorry for James! I thought that the disease you came up with was both believable and heartbreaking - so good job! I wonder if Mrs. Potter will catch it since she's been spending so much time taking care of her husband.
I really enjoyed the last scene with Lily and the other women from the Order. I mean, first I squealed because I absolutely love it when Lily realizes that her Patronus is the counterpart to James'; I hope she tells him and that they figure out what it means :) And it was also nice to get into the insight of Order's minds, to fully understand why they behave the way they do around the Marauders and Lily. It makes sense, and it also makes it easier to believe that one day they'll all be the friends that they appear to be in canon.
Lovely chapter; I can't wait for the next update! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for leaving me a review. :)

I'm happy to hear that the disease was believable and sad. It was hard to come up with something that could be considered a strictly "wizarding" disease.

Heehee, it was fun to write the moment when Lily realized her Patronus' is similar to James'. :D I kind of tried to avoid it for a while, because somehow I always feel like it's difficult to write without seeming cliched...but you have to show it sometime! I do indeed have plans for James finding out about it. ;)

I'm glad you liked the insight into the Order, too. I felt like that half of the chapter was maybe a bit dialogue-heavy, but I did want to develop their characters a bit--as you said, that'll hopefully help later on when they start to become closer. :)

Thank you so much--new chapter should be up sometime around the 23rd!


 Report Review

Review #43, by StormThief17 Grown Up

17th September 2012:
I really like the way you portray the relationships within the order. I think Alice is a very sweet person, and I love the girly gossip going on between her and Hestia. Like I've said before, you do a wonderful job of combining both the tragedy and regular life of the time period.

Also, I really liked the way you wove all sorts of things in here--the order/voldemort, Lily and James' relationship(even mentioning Snape!), James' dad, and maybe, just maybe, hints of Peter's true nature. Maybe I'm crazy, but the whole thing with him complaining about being left out makes me think it could play a part--however insignificant--in his betrayal. That's just me.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing again! :D

I'm so glad you like the other Order members. It's difficult to deal with such a large cast of characters--not only because you have to flesh out their personalities, but also because once you've done that, you have to figure out a way to actually include them in the story! Alice is indeed very kind, although I wouldn't necessarily let her fool you into thinking that she doesn't have a tough side. ;)

I'm happy to hear that everything was woven together in a way that you enjoyed. :) It sometimes feels to me like I'm either doing too much tragedy or, conversely, not paying attention to it enough. It's nice to know that I've struck a good balance!

Peter is a very complex character to me, and I think the motivation for his betrayal was the sum of a lot of different parts. I think that feeling left out did probably play into it, though in my mind, it wasn't his biggest motivator. I'm hoping I'll get a chance to explore it a bit later on, even though it'll be limited because I'm writing from James & Lily's perspective. (But if you're curious, you can always get in touch with me on the forums and I'll be happy to elaborate!)

Thanks again for the review! Glad you enjoyed the chapter!


 Report Review

Review #44, by StormThief17 All Right

16th September 2012:
You have no idea how excited I was to check this and see 3, yes 3! chapters I haven't read yet! RL is just drowning me right now, so I haven't been on much for the past few weeks.

This chapter was so intense...the fight, the kiss, everything just moved at such a fast pace. I hink you did a great job of describing everything, especially th fight. I'm so curious now to know who that guy is, and what on earth is going on with the pub. And for once, I don't have to wait! Yay! I hope you got those 12 more reviews and this one starts on your next 1000! Great writing :)

Author's Response: I know, isn't it hard to believe? THREE NEW CHAPTERS! :D I've been on such a roll with this story lately, which I suspect is related to the fact that I have almost nothing else to do at the moment. It's very exciting, though! And if all goes well, I should have another chapter done within a week. :D

I totally understand being consumed by RL, so no worries. :) Get to the story whenever you can, and I'll be happy as a clam!

I'm so glad you found the chapter exciting, and that my descriptions were good. That's one thing that I'm always trying to improve on in my writing! You may find some stuff about that guy in the coming chapters. ;)

I did indeed get the 12 reviews needed! Your is my 1,013th review. :D But really, I've thought about it, and it's like every review I've ever been left is my 1,000th review, because without each one, I never would have reached that milestone. Thank you so much for the reviews you've left me; they've all been so nice! :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by SnitchSnatcher The Night of the Second Day

16th September 2012:
AH! I just about screamed when I saw that this was updated. Ran over here just as fast as I could to read and review. Again, you do not disappoint - not that you ever have, but you know :P

I'm so glad that James has Lily. So unbelievably glad. It must be terrible, having to watch his father dying. But at least he finds solace in Lily.

I really really enjoyed the scene between Lily and the rest of the Order women. Alice's speech broke my heart if only because it was so realistic. This is really the first L/J fic I've read where the war not only plays a part, but it's one of the lead characters, affecting everyone and everything in very real ways.

This was, as always, magnificent, and I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Ah, Molly, I could just hug you for reviewing so fast! It's been ages since I had a review on a new chapter this quickly. :D Thank you so much!

I think James is lucky that he has a good support system, because I can't imagine how difficult it would be to go through what he's going through. I expect it'll make this all a little bit easier to get through, since he has Lily and his friends.

I'm so glad you liked that scene! It was kind of dialogue-heavy, but it was a conversation I really wanted to include, to give a different perspective on the war. And to me, the war is the most compelling part of Lily and the Marauders' story--I mean, romance is always fun, but romance against the backdrop of war? :P It's the stuff that Oscar-winning films are made of!

I already wrote the first half of chapter 13, so it should be up in about a week. I'm having so much fun writing lately, and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the chapter! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #46, by SnitchSnatcher Grown Up

14th September 2012:
I. need. MORE.

I'm so delighted that some of the Order members are finally warming up to them. It's about time! I know I've mentioned it before, but I do really like how you've staggered their ages rather than making all of the Order members the same age; it makes far more sense that way. Alice was a sweetheart and Hestia seems like a real treat. Frank and Sturgis seem all right too!

Poor James. Just when everything was going his way, the chapter ends on a sad note. I mean, we all saw it coming and so did he, but still, it hurts. I just want to pull him close and never let him go, the precious angel.

Another wonderful job.

And now - I can say this - I am eagerly anticipating the next update!

Author's Response: I'm so excited to be able to include some of the Order members more. It's hard to fully flesh out so many people in my mind, but slowly, they are all becoming distinct people. Usually, once I figure out someone that looks like the character, I can work out their personalities much better. The only trouble is finding a good look-alike, though...that can take forever! :P

I felt so bad dumping this on James, because it really is true: things were looking up for him, finally, and then this happened. I guess it has to, but it's definitely not fun to write!

MORE should be on its way fairly soon! :) I'm finding that not being in school is doing absolute wonders for my writing habits. (This, consequently, has made me realize that when I was both in school and writing regularly, I was probably ignoring school 95% of the time. Oops.) I have most of the next chapter written (probably need to rework parts of it and add another 500-1000 words, but that's it), and a fairly good plan in place for the upcoming chapters, so updates should be pretty regular!

Thank you again for all of these lovely reviews, Molly. They've been such a treat to read, and just make me even more excited to finish the next chapter, so you can read it!


 Report Review

Review #47, by SnitchSnatcher All Right

14th September 2012:
EXCUSE ME A MOMENT WHILE I SCREAM INTO MY PILLOW!

Oh. my. GOD.

This chapter was everything I could have possibly wanted and more. There was action! There was suspense! There was intrigue! There was romance! AH! My brain may have just exploded.

Seriously, I loved everything about this chapter. Not that your others aren't completely amazing - because they are. But this one!! AH! I'm still not quite able to form intelligible thoughts, as you can see.

I was really nervous there for a moment. The 'everything went black' made my stomach drop out because I thought that, once again, they'd been captured by Death Eaters or at the very least, DE supporters, which I don't think I could handle just yet.

But my goodness, that ENDING. STILL SCREAMING ABOUT IT!

Author's Response: YAY! I felt a little like shrieking when I read your review! :D I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter so much. I guess it is quite an action-packed one (I actually wondered afterwards if it was TOO much, but your review has convinced me otherwise).

I seem to be a fan of the "everything went black" style chapter ending/break, haha. But no kidnapping this time--just nearly getting arrested. You know, no big deal, just something they do on weekends for fun. :P

The ending--oh god. Seriously, I don't know if I can convey how AWKWARD I am about these kinds of scenes. It gives me really involuntary face spasms when I think about the fact that I've actually put this out there for people to read, haha. On the plus side, though--you enjoyed it! So now I feel much better. Maybe the spasm will just become a twitch from here on out. :P

Thank you for such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #48, by SnitchSnatcher Vernon Dursley

14th September 2012:
This chapter was everything I wanted it to be and more: it was funny at times, heartbreaking at others, and then so exciting at the end! A nervous kind of exciting, of course, but exciting nonetheless! What a way to end the chapter!

Vernon was, of course, the worst sort of person. I was amused by his reactions to James, though.

Now that Lily and Petunia have had their falling out, I wonder what's going to happen with everything between them.

And mostly, I wonder what's going on at the pub! I know Sirius said it was a riot, but I wanna see it in action!

Great job!

Author's Response: Ooh, I'm so glad you liked this chapter! It was actually difficult to weave together all the Pottermore information about this dinner--the subjects were related, but not exactly easy to travel between in casual conversation. I have to admit that I rather enjoyed some of my silly little Vernon-dialogue. :P (Hey, if you can't amuse yourself in this world, you're in trouble, right?)

Lily and Petunia's relationship always strikes me as quite odd. I don't think they hated each other, and this isn't going to destroy their relationship entirely...however, it is going to have some repercussions that will surface later in the story. And last night, I somehow realized that I have written ANOTHER wedding into the plot of one of these stories, completely unintentionally. So you'll see that in a later chapter!

Cliffhanger! :D Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #49, by SnitchSnatcher Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

14th September 2012:
The start of this chapter was absolutely adorable. I was squeeing happily and all of that nonsense over how utterly perfect your James and Lily are and how well you write them. It's just - it blows my mind, really. I'm so envious of your skills!

Poor Remus! I just want to hug him! I'm so glad that James knows the real reason and that Remus was able to get that off his chest. That must've been horrible, keeping that all to himself. Poor dear. *hugs Remus*

AH! Oh my god, I can't wait to see James interacting with Vernon. Oh, I have a feeling it's going to be absolutely hilarious and awesome!

Author's Response: James/Lily feels, right? :D I'm so happy you liked that scene. It was fun to write. But come on, you have no need to be envious--you write James and Lily wonderfully as well!

So, here was where the Remus issue was brought out into the open. I figured it was necessary to somehow work in the fact that James gave him loan when they left school, although it's something that I find quite hard to reconcile with Remus' personality. It's just difficult to imagine him being willing to accept that kind of charity, you know? I think he really would have been miserable not being a part of the Order with all of his friends, though--that probably factored into it a lot.

Thank you again! :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by SnitchSnatcher Dead Ends

14th September 2012:
Aha, Petunia and Vernon, sitting in a tree...you know the rest. I can't wait until Lily finds out what, exactly, Petunia has been up to. I imagine it'll be a very fun moment.

I was in a right state of panic when Lily was following Malfoy and the Minister. I was sure she was going to get caught, but thankfully she didn't. Poor dear. I can't imagine how terrifying that must have been, especially in retrospect.

I'm loving how we're getting all of these threads without knowing just where they're going just yet. First with Malfoy, then with the mystery short man outside of the pub, and then Tyrus March, who, I assume, is threatening Remus. Again, I must say poor dear.

I know I've said it quite a few times, but I adore your individual characterizations of the Marauders. Especially that paragraph following Sirius' remark. It's so true to what we see from him in canon, I can't even. Like I had to pause after I read that paragraph because it was so true!

Lily and James were, as always, adorable together. I love how you alternate between their narratives in each chapter, something I don't know if I've told you or not.

Yet another great job with this one! Now onto the next!

Author's Response: Very perceptive on the Petunia/Vernon thing! ;) Well, I suppose it's not exactly the biggest mystery--not many things are in this era!

There are many threads going on, indeed...and if we're all lucky, I will somehow manage to sew them together into something that looks pretty. :P You'll have to keep a bit of an eye on Malfoy as the story progresses. But don't let him take up too much of your attention... ;)

I'm SO happy you like my characterizations of the Marauders. Especially Sirius. He perplexes me a lot of the time. I like his angst and his lightheartedness in isolation, but they can be hard to reconcile in a single person. I guess I made an attempt at it in that paragraph (which feels a bit like awkward exposition, now that I reread it--but if you like it, I won't complain :P).

I can't remember whether you mentioned the narratives, mainly because I can't remember if I already told you something about it in a response. :P Anyway, at the risk of repeating myself--I don't know why, but I've always written James/Lily stories with alternate POVs. It just never really entered my mind to do it any other way, so I'm always happy when someone remarks that they like it. :)

Thank you again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>