Reading Reviews for Twice Defied
  
196 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainpixie Stop Motion

28th September 2014:
Hi!!! I happened to check out this site (after a hiatus of my own) and saw that you have been answering reviews! Ahh!! I don't have a specific review for this chapter-sorry! I just wanted to say that I'm glad you're back! Even if you don't update. But I hope that you will! I don't know when you answered my review about bouncing ideas...but the offer stands! I don't know if there is a way to privately give you my email address? I'm not sure if it's allowed on the website rules...but maybe in the forum? Either way, it's just good to see old hats active again :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dobby101 A Steel Trap

7th June 2014:
Hello!

I know you haven't updated this story in a long time, and, after checking your page, it doesn't seem as if you've been on HPFF in awhile, but I just wanted to drop you a review telling you that I just spent the last week devouring both your stories, Once Defied and Twice Defied.

You are an incredibly talented writer and I love that you stick to canon so much...you make me want to write a story like yours! You have definitely sucked me into your plot and your characterizations and I must admit that I'm a little upset that I may not get to read anymore of your amazing writing.

Since you have asked for constructive criticism in almost every author's note I've read, I will say that I wish that James and Sirius had a closer relationship. At times, it seems like James and Remus are closer. However, I do like how you make Sirius and Peter so close...it makes it more realistic that Sirius would want to switch Peter to secret keeper for the Potters.

(I also love how Peter is an actual full-fledged character and not just some wimp who follows the others around)

Well, that's all I've got to say for now. Thanks for writing such an amazing story and if you ever do venture back to this page, I hope this review encourages you to keep writing. You should not let a talent like this go!

Wonderful job,
Dobby(:

 Report Review

Review #3, by Harris A Steel Trap

21st April 2014:
I have never reviewed before but this story is amazing!!! I hope you decide to continue!! I'm just a bit worried by the long time gap. I hope you are OK, and I hope you decide to write again soon.

Much Love

Harris x

Author's Response: Thank you! I am okay, other than losing the motivation to write for a while. I'm still trying to decide if I have it in me to pick this back up again. I can't promise anything, but I would love more than anything to finish this story! I really appreciate the review--gives me one more reason to try and get back in the swing of things!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Torrey A Steel Trap

18th July 2013:
I love the route your taking with the story! Personally, I feel like there is no such thing as too much James/Lily...please update soon! :0)

Author's Response: Thanks, Torrey! I know it's been ages since you reviewed and since I updated last, but I really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Torrey Dead Ends

17th July 2013:
I just wanted too let you know that I LOVE the story! I think you're doing an excellent job making the plot as well as the character interactions believable and highly interesting!

Author's Response: Thank you! I never, ever get tired of hearing from readers that they think what I've written is believable. That's always what I strive for!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Elizabeth A Steel Trap

15th July 2013:
I love the amount of James/Lilly! Hopefully you'll update soon, since I'm hooked

Author's Response: Thank you, Elizabeth! I'm sorry I haven't updated in so long. I hope you're doing well, and if I do update one day, you'll find your way back. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by g A Steel Trap

1st July 2013:
I'm really loving it!! when are you publishing the next chapter? I think there should be more James/Lily! You wright really well!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so flattered by your compliments. Unfortunately, I can't say when or if I'll post the next chapter, but I expect it's been so long that you've forgotten all about me anyway!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Kaitie A Steel Trap

27th April 2013:
I really love this story :) you've got me hooked with the plot and the characterization and everything! Keep on updating please please please please please :D

Author's Response: Thanks, Kaitie! I'm sorry that I never posted another chapter. I really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed my writing, and I hope to be able to have more for you one day!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rainpixie Exodus

14th April 2013:
I love your long chapters! I get so lost in the story I don't even realize they are over until they are over. Please add more chapters! I'm nervous that you have abandoned the story and it is just too good to be abandoned.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like the long chapters! I always personally feel like chapters of stories that I love that are less than 4000 words are just too short.

If there was a "Begrudgingly Abandoned" status, I probably would have assigned it to this story. Because, to be quite honest, there was a long time where I didn't foresee returning to finish it. (I'm a bad author.) However, I never really WANTED to leave it unfinished, and still don't.

We'll see what the future brings! In the meantime, I've really enjoyed reading your reviews. Thanks for leaving them.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rainpixie The Night of the Second Day

14th April 2013:
I think your version of James's dad's disease is creative. It's magical without being too ridiculous. It is troubling that both of his parents die of a disease, but his mother has yet to be affected (that we as of yet know of course). This really is a destined tragedy, isn't it? Sigh. I also thought Alice's speech was rather poignant. It does put perspective on why the order members are so distant to the marauders doesn't it? In a separate semi related thought I am hoping for some kind of reconciliation between lily and Sirius. So far it seems like the marauders have accepted lily as James's girlfriend, but not as their friend.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really happy to hear you found the disease believable.

I've always envisioned (in a vague sense) how things would improve for the relationships between the Order and the Marauders/Lily, and between Lily and James' friends. I figured things would be a bit boring if it was all perfect from the start! ;) I would love to get the motivation together to actually write it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Rainpixie Grown Up

14th April 2013:
Are you writing a book in real life? You should.

Author's Response: Well, it's kind of funny that you ask that--I haven't written a book (unless you count a really flimsy first draft), but that was part of the reason I've been away for so long. I was trying to focus on original fiction writing more. But fan fiction always has this lure for me!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rainpixie All Right

14th April 2013:
OK it's like I'm watching a movie in my head while I'm reading and I just don't know if I can sing your praises loudly enough. I'm curious though-i had expected an appearance from Mary.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I really appreciate all the words of encouragement. :)

No Mary in action as a Hit Wizard. Yet. ;)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rainpixie Vernon Dursley

14th April 2013:
I'm nervous and excited that things are picking up with the order!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like the building of action in the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rainpixie Peeled Grapes & Monogrammed Towels

14th April 2013:
Petunia is such a boar. Sometimes I do wish that lily was more passionate about her relationship with James though. However as per usual I am completely enamored with your writing! You are quite possibly the most talented writer I have yet had the pleasure to read on here! Please please update! If you are feeling stuck (I read something of the sort in an answer to another review) I'm sure any one of your readers would be thrilled to help bounce ideas! This one would in particular :)

Author's Response: Petunia is very frustrating. It's hard to believe that she cut her sister off so cruelly!

Other people have made the same point as you about the passion in Lily and James' relationship, and I do notice it myself when I re-read this story. On the one hand, I have to stand by the way that Lily sees their relationship overall--I've always believed that James would have been the one who is more in love in their relationship. (There's always someone who's more in love.) But it's not wrong for you to wish for it to be different! And on a related note, I feel weird writing those "passionate" scenes--strangely voyeuristic, even though they're fictional characters.

I have no idea if you're still around (I see you haven't posted any reviews since last August), but I have to say, I wouldn't be opposed to bouncing ideas off someone. I was and still am stuck! Trying to figure out if I can get unstuck, though. Thanks for your offer!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rainpixie Dead Ends

13th April 2013:
Sorry if my nerd is showing but I am in love with your grammar. Also you are so good at writing dialogue! It doesn't over power the chapter and you capture distinct individual traits in each character. I am just as anxious as James for things to pick up with the order though

Author's Response: No need to apologize for nerdy comments! I love grammar, too, so I understand, and am really happy that mine is good!

And, gah, it just makes me feel so proud to hear that you like my dialogue! It's funny, because I've always known that I write dialogue better than description, but it's another thing to hear it from someone else.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rainpixie A Steel Trap

12th April 2013:
Please please PLEASE update!! I'm hooked, addicted, dependent- and now strung out!

Author's Response: Oh dear, now I feel really bad about not updating! :( I want to try, I really do. The best motivation is reading reviews like yours, so thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by V.B.I. The Night of the Second Day

26th February 2013:
I just started reading your first story, Once Defied, a few days ago and I got so engrossed that now I'm here. I just wanted to tell you that I think your writing has gotten stronger and stronger by the chapter. I like Twice Defied even more than the original and have loved everything you've done plotwise with this story. I had chills for this entire chapter. James's struggle to deal with his dad's death at the beginning is palpable, and Alice's speech to Lily is incredibly powerful. What Alice said also hit on a theme that I've never seen explored in a fanfiction before. Great work with the story, I'm sad that I'm coming to the end of where you've updated and I'm hoping for more updates to come!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Rusty A Steel Trap

14th February 2013:
Hi!
Firstly, I'd like to say that I'm sorry I haven't reviewed any of your chapters before. I don't really have much of an excuse except to say that since finding Once Defied a few days ago, I've been absolutely HOOKED to the story (and this one too) and couldn't bring myself to write a review when I could have been reading instead! Which, of course, is very selfish, considering how much time you must put into writing these stories for us! But seriously, I hope I can make up for it by saying that reading your story was like as if my mind had been magically obliviated or something and I could read Harry Potter for the first time again, I was that invested in what happened to the characters and the plot and everything that happened. And I can't really give much higher praise than that, since JKR is one of the few who has done that to me in the past :)
But I noticed that you haven't posted a new chapter for a few months, and I really hope this has more to do with the fact that you've been really busy rather than that you're considering abandoning the story... I know I would definitely love to read more of Twice Defied, and maybe even eventually Thrice Defied! It's crazy but your characterisations are pretty much exactly how I imagined all the Marauders and Lily, and I love how canon you are as well :) It definitely makes it easier to imagine that this really happened, which is pretty much exactly what I was looking for when I found Once Defied.
Anyway, this is a SUPER long review, but hopefully it makes up for me not reviewing previously!
I guess I want to finally say, no matter what you choose to do with this story, thank you so much for taking the time to write as much as you have! It couldn't have been easy, but you're a really good writer and I really hope you do decide to finish Twice Defied and then Thrice Defied as well! I know, I don't ask for much... Haha :) But I would definitely read and re-read them if you do decide to continue :)
So in review, this story is perfect and you are amazing and please write more!!! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Bree A Steel Trap

1st February 2013:
I enjoy reading James/lily, so don't feel like you have to hold back or anything

Author's Response: Thank you for being so attentive to answering my requests for feedback! I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Bree The Night of the Second Day

1st February 2013:
I thought the disease was excellent. Something really believable (in this fictional world).

I also really liked that the girls started to bond a little

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad the disease was believable; trying to stick to canon (even in the things I make up) is super important to me.

I love Alice and her friends--it's nice when characters come into your head with personalities at least partially formed, which these ones did. If I did pick this back up again, one of the things I'd be most excited to write about would be Lily getting to know them more!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Bree Vernon Dursley

1st February 2013:
I'm getting pretty excited now that things seem to be picking up.

I really like the way you've portrayed lily and James' relationship. While they aren't unrealistically forgiving of each other's mistakes that occurs in fluffy pieces, they don't do that annoying 'on again, off again' routine with the angst of drama. It's refreshing

Author's Response: Thanks, Bree! I was just re-reading this story yesterday (wondering, "Yikes, can I really pick this up again?!"), and this chapter was my favourite.

I hate unnecessary drama in stories, hence the lack of it in my own. Sometimes, I wonder if that makes me boring, so it's nice to hear that others enjoy it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Kristina1990 A Steel Trap

29th December 2012:
I'm so glad that I found your stories! I've been digging my way through this site for the last couple of weeks to procrastinate studying for my exams (it's working extremely well) and these stories are definately very high up on my list!

Hope you'll update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! Fan fiction is an awesome way of procrastinating. I'm honoured to hear that you liked my stories so much. I know I haven't updated in ages--life has gotten the better of me over the last year and a half. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you liked it, though. Reviews, more than anything, keep me holding on to the hope of finishing this story one day.

 Report Review

Review #23, by SpellWatch20760 A Steel Trap

14th December 2012:
I have enjoyed this story very much and i hope you keep updating it often

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the story. Obviously, I haven't fulfilled your wish by updating often...but I haven't yet lost the intention to finish this at some point!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Prefers Anonymity A Steel Trap

4th December 2012:
Please post more of this story. I have been anxiously awaiting the next installment. I absolutely love your stories. Keep it up! :)

Author's Response: I'm really sorry I haven't posted a chapter in a long time. I've been writing James/Lily stories for like the last 10 years, and I've always had these times where the energy I have for writing fades for a while. I think it's coming back. I can't promise anything--and I realize you've probably long since stopped checking for new chapters--but never give up hope! Thank you for reviewing and letting me know you enjoyed my stories.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Kat A Steel Trap

24th November 2012:
Love it can't wait to read more

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>