Reading Reviews for Into the Darkness
  
45 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Noblevyne Standing on the Edge

4th May 2005:
This is fantastic! Snape's inner monolgue is perfectly believable and exactly the sort of thing I see running through his head at this very important moment in time. His indecision (which is not truly indecision, more like he's just allowing himself a moment of weakness to further convince himself) moves the story along well. His actions, his speech, his descriptions- all wonderfully Snapish.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Noblevyne! Your review has made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside. I'm actually quite speechless at all the great things you said...

 Report Review

Review #27, by icy_cool_hermione Standing on the Edge

24th April 2005:
Wonderful! You're great at descriptions and Snape's character! I've never read a Snape-turning-into-spy story before...and this was really well done! Your writing style is simple...but yet so effective! The only thing is...I'd have liked it just a little longer=) But it's probably just me wanting to read more of this wonderful work and Snape! Glad you decided to do a sequel...anyway, I'll stop rambling now. Oh, before I go, my favourite line: 'With a long solemn face, intense eyes, and strong features, he could have been handsome had he ever tried, but the hardness of his heart was what would keep him from ever being so. '

Author's Response: Thank you so much, icy! Wow, this was a raving review - just the thing to get the ideas going and the urge to write more. My only regret with this story is that it's not longer, but hopefully the sequel will make up for that. I'm really glad you enjoyed this one-shot. :-)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Lily Severn Standing on the Edge

24th April 2005:
This was beautiful. Your description of Severus, in body language, thought, and speech, was perfect. The description of the hall at the beginning had me hooked; this entire piece was wonderful to read. Thank you for sharing this!

Author's Response: *blush* Thank you very much. It means a lot to have a fellow fan of Severus Snape say they really liked reading this. The description of the hall at the beginning just came out of nowhere for me, but it really set the tone for the rest of the story. I'm glad that you liked it so much.

 Report Review

Review #29, by forsakenphoenix Standing on the Edge

20th April 2005:
Oh, Susan...why haven't I ever read this before? I haven't read many Snape fics, nonetheless one that reveals his thoughts before he decides to spy for the Order. You have an amazing talent for description (acid-stained hands, for example). And when Severus stops the stairs from moving him closer to his decision, I loved that part. It shows his uncertainty but also his transition from Death Eater to spy. I'm not sure anyone has really written about this before in a fic, and if they have, obviously I haven't read it. But I'm very glad you decided to write it (and that I decided to read it) because I'm pleasantly surprised. I never really thought about why Severus decided to spy for the Order. And you've really given some thought about it, which I commend you on. I do hope you continue soon. I would like to read it, if you do.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, if you say it's good, Missy, then it really must be. Wow, I'm just reeling from reading your wonderful compliments - thank you so much! I enjoyed writing this so much - getting into Severus' mind like that was inspiring. The sequel to this is partially written, hopefully I'll get it up soon. :-)

 Report Review

Review #30, by JLSRS Standing on the Edge

19th April 2005:
LUVIN IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's my personal favourite of the one's I've written, so having others like it as well is great.

 Report Review

Review #31, by Rebekka Standing on the Edge

13th April 2005:
Oh my, you write him well. I especially loved the scene in the stairway. You are very good and I have no critic for you. Sorry about that. And I'm very glad that you have decided to continue this. Very cool. :) I love Snape.

Author's Response: Snape's one of my favourite characters, which made this a really interesting story to write. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it as much as I did writing it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by BJAuth Standing on the Edge

6th April 2005:
With a long solemn face, intense eyes, and strong features, he could have been handsome had he ever tried, but the hardness of his heart was what would keep him from ever being so. Yes! Like it! Wonderful descriptions, though I would have liked a little more length, but that's just me being greedy about Snape! It's got a depth to it though,and I like his inner voice. I hope to get to your other stories soon, but this is a great one to start with.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, BJ! Your kind words mean so much to me. It would have been longer, but I sort of ran out of energy and decided to end it with Dumbledore's line. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this - it's probably my favourite of the one's I've written.

 Report Review

Review #33, by Lucid Standing on the Edge

14th March 2005:
Very good! I love the way you had Severus torn with his decision on the stairs, halfway to heaven halfway to hell. You write in an easy to read way, but give the reader information to think over. I think your Snape is very Canon too.You must absolutely continue with this, I would love to read what you think Snape would get up to next.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Lucid! My favourite part of the story has to be where Severus is half-way up the stairs because it really shows his transition from Death Eater to spy. I am planning the sequel to this at the moment and it should be out sometime in the near future. :-)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Hermione Rowling Standing on the Edge

12th March 2005:
Great story! You seemed to change tenses. First you wrote walked and then filters. You descriptions are amazing! It really make the reader seem like they are right there, within the story. This is really an small decision that you turned into a interesting (good) read. It takes the little thought about decision of Severus to a very descriptive story. The only thing is that maybe Severus could have been a little more restained in his decison. I know that the whole story was about him thinking but when it actualyl came to him talking to Dumbledore he was quite quick at giving an answer. Great story! You really have a lot of talent!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! The tense thing has been mentioned before, so I'm going to have to do some revisions to this. I suppose he could have been more restrained with Dumbledore, but I picture Severus as a little impatient and wanting to get the moment over with. Thanks again! :-)

 Report Review

Review #35, by timeturner Standing on the Edge

9th March 2005:
As usual, this in wonderful.. Very emotionally, descriptions are well-rounded and the story line is unique. I don't like Severus but you make him human and paint a great picture of how difficult his situation truly was. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you timeturner! It's great to hear that, although you don't usually like Severus, you were able to see him as human in this story. He's an interesting character to write about. I wasn't sure about this story (and still am not - something about it is just... meh), but I'm glad that you thought it was wonderful, that really makes me feel better about it.

 Report Review

Review #36, by JolieFille252 Standing on the Edge

4th March 2005:
excellent one shot-loved how you really showed his inner struggle... only thing is a couple of times I think u switched tenses and went into present tense, most likely by accident...but just try to stick to one tense-past always works the best in fics.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Snape is a really interesting character to write about, especially with his inner struggles. I'll check out those tenses - thanks for pointing them out - somehow I always end up messing them up.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Sophia Montgomery Standing on the Edge

26th February 2005:
You write with lots of descriptions, lots of 'show-don't-tell'. Good Job!!

Author's Response: Yes, I do try to get the "show don't tell" descriptions because they make the story come alive more. I really enjoyed writing this one-shot and I'm glad that you liked it too.

 Report Review

Review #38, by ball_of_fluff Standing on the Edge

24th February 2005:
I really like this story. I can see the plot twisting into something very interesting. How long do you plan to make this FF? Whatever the answer is, kudos. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! You're not the first to ask if I'll continue this story, which was originally planned as a one-shot. Perhaps in the future, I'll take a shot at continuing it.

 Report Review

Review #39, by H P Fan Standing on the Edge

21st February 2005:
Well, that was pretty good. You were very descriptive and gave all the details. Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #40, by CrystalClear Standing on the Edge

16th February 2005:
WOW! This one-shot was really spooky and cool at the same time! I think you captured the characters of Dumbledore and Snape very well, in the best way possible, actually. Keep up the good work on your other stories. They're really good!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, CrystalClear! I tried really hard to get Snape and Dumbledore right, so your review ups my confidence through the roof. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #41, by Healer_25 Standing on the Edge

15th February 2005:
You actually did what I just commented on, it would still be interesting to see the fall into darkness sort of a prequel to the rise out of darkness. Very intriguing, and you even got me to shiver! I love it

Author's Response: Thanks for taking a look at this, Healer. You're not the first to ask about sequels, and I'm honestly thinking about continuing Snape's adventures. It'd be a fun story to write.

 Report Review

Review #42, by Marvolo Standing on the Edge

14th February 2005:
Ooooh, absolutely bone-chilling. You've done so well with the style and phrasing, and Severus has been stripped to his true character, none of this hot teacher business. I really liked it, and I hope that you further this story in some way. This was such a unique idea, and it really intrigued me. I'll be back to read more of yours soon!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot, Marvolo! This is the way I like Snape, cold and hard but with a concience, not the "hot teacher" as you nicely put it :-D. I was surprised to see that no one (or very few) had actually written about Snape becoming a spy before, so I thought it'd be a great idea for a one-shot. Perhaps some follow-ups to this will come to mind later on.

 Report Review

Review #43, by Musegaarid Standing on the Edge

11th February 2005:
This is an excellent one-shot. Dumbledore and Snape are the hardest characters to write, but you've got them down pat. Great!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I really enjoyed writing Snape's character because he is so complex. It's nice that you reviewed mine after my reading yours yesterday, I hope that you add more stories of your own soon. :-)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Acappella Standing on the Edge

9th February 2005:
This is a very intiguing as well as descriptive story. The part that got me was the fact that everything was very canon, from the ideas going through Severus' character (whom I think you have completely nailed) to the appearance of everything. This story was written with extreme talent and the fact that it is a one-shot fic increases the essence of it. You created a wondeful beginning and ended with an end that brought all the loose information together in a wondeful conclusion. The only thing I can complain about is that you used quite a bit of fragmented sentences that appear a tad off. I give it a 4.9 out of 5!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review, Acappella. I wasn't sure about the conclusion at first, but now I won't change it. I'll take a look for those sentence fragments...

 Report Review

Review #45, by patronus Standing on the Edge

8th February 2005:
ahh... the beginning of the end... great shot for a first chapter. keep it up!

Author's Response: first chapter? Well, I suppose I could go further and write the adventures of Severus Snape: spy for the Order (actually, that's an idea!). Thanks for your reivew!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>