Reading Reviews for Winner Takes All
  
375 Reviews Found

Review #51, by argetlam shadeslayer The Game Is On Again

17th July 2011:
Aaahhh, suspense! Must continue to next chapter.

But brilliant job, by the way. This story is so flipping amazing! I apologize for the short review, but darn it, this is just too good for me not to get to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Emma! That you want to rush on to the next chapter is the best compliment of all, and I hope that it begins to answer some of your questions - or maybe ask some new ones to string you further along. ;)

 Report Review

Review #52, by argetlam shadeslayer Now It's History

17th July 2011:
Oh, lord, Susan. Is it too cliche for me to tell you that I smell another wonderful story of yours? (Because I do. The cliche might have something to do with the roses and the garden setting, though.) I've been meaning to read this since I came back to HPFF a month ago (er, I hope you remember me, so this isn't ridiculously nerdy - but I've always been such a fangirl, especially of 'The Fires Within,' and on TDA, heh), and this first chapter is utterly wonderful. (Not to mention, the ABBA-ness of this story rules. You reeled me in with the story and chapter titles. :P) Seriously, I don't think I've ever read a story in which Rose rejects Scorpius - typically, it'd be an odd occurrence - but you wrote this so beautifully, and at the end of it, I found myself cheering for Rose. This chapter is incredibly refreshing, and each line is captivating and eloquently written, all the while evoking this sense of melancholy and uncertainty, but more significantly, a sense of hope and determination, and - best of all - Rose's empowerment (which she may or may not realize has happened yet).

I can't remember the last time I was so excited to read the next chapter of something! Which is why I'm going to end this lengthy, uber nerdy review and carry on reading. (:

- Emma

Author's Response: *sniffs the air* It doesn't sound like a cliche at all, not when my stories take on a scent of their own. XD It's great to see you back again, Emma, and it's a wonderful compliment that you've come to read my stuff after your hiatus, and that you remember my old work too. Thank you very much!

It's fantastic to hear that you like this story! The ABBA song (and many of their other songs) really inspired this story, and I don't think I could have written it the same way without them - don't exactly know why, but something about the title song just fit perfectly with Rose's situation.

lol, I wrote the rejection because I knew very few had done it before (there has to be someone else out there who has - it's not a universally liked ship). It was a challenge to see how well readers would react to an "anti-Scorose" type story, though I do leave evil hints throughout that they might get back together. :P Can't resist that kind of hook.

Thank you so much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story, too! :D


 Report Review

Review #53, by ImagineHarmony Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

17th July 2011:
Fantastic! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Great to hear that you're enjoying the story. :D

 Report Review

Review #54, by ImagineHarmony Building Me A Fence

17th July 2011:
Epic story so far ;)

I love Joseph Gordon Levitt

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #55, by Rose_Weasley324 Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

12th July 2011:
you've done the impossible and turned me into a rose/teddy shipper! this story was just...unbelievably well-written and entertaining :) definitely one of the best fics i've ever read

Author's Response: :O That's amazing news! It's a good ship to sail, and I hope that you continue to enjoy it!

Thank you very much! I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed this story, and it's a fantastic compliment that you think so highly of it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #56, by SunSation Gal 07 Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

12th July 2011:
phew, finally got around to reviewing this final chapter! and I can't believe it's the end! this story was just so amazing! but it was all wrapped up brilliantly. and I cheered when they kissed and thought about time! :P yet another brilliant story Susan.

Author's Response: It's sad to have come to the end - even though there's a sequel in the works, it won't be the same as this original idea. It's wonderful to have finished this story at last, though - it feels like a great accomplishment, and it's mostly thanks to the lovely reviewers like yourself. ^_^

Thank you so much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing this story!


 Report Review

Review #57, by Up and Away Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

12th July 2011:
I waited a long time for this final chapter, and I wanted you to know that it was worth it! I love Teddy and you wrote him beautifully.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm sorry about the wait, but I'm also very glad to hear that it was a worthwhile wait. ^_^ And that you like Teddy is even better. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #58, by Ink Laden Quill Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

8th July 2011:
Boy, I really liked the end of that. I was worried that it was either going to be terribly tragic with a missed connection (which I would have understood), or terribly gushy with the "perfect" ending (which I, too, would understand). This being said, however, I think you found a very happy medium that worked with the characters.

As for the story on the whole, I'm a big fan of your characterization of Teddy. I think I wrote about this in a past review - so it's there somewhere. Overall, though, I've enjoyed reading this because it's well written and I can stand to learn a few things from it.

So thanks for sharing and best of luck with your future projects!

Author's Response: The missed connection idea did come to mind, though it would have meant adding another chapter in China where Teddy comes to see Rose. :P I never planned on a sad ending for this story, though there were many opportunities for it. However, going overboard with a happy squishy ending would not have suited at all - don't think I have the capability of writing such a thing. *hides*

Happy medium is always better, if possible, and I'm very glad that I found it for this story. Rose and Teddy had to have something happen between them by the end, but it couldn't be a head-long leap into true love - that would undermine the realism I'd been attempting to capture with this story.

Thank you for liking Teddy! It's wonderful to hear compliments about him, and I'm glad that I got him right, especially when so many other characters in this story gave me endless problems with characterization.

Thank you very much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing this story! I've appreciated hearing from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #59, by sarahmadison Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

7th July 2011:
A Wonderful ending to a wonderful story. I was a bit scared of how you would end it but you did a fantastic job. So glad Draco was at the door and not scorpius. also glad That Rose was the prize. Thank you for writing such a wonderful fic

Author's Response: Imagine if it had been Scorpius? Oh gosh, I don't think he would have survived (which would have ruined the mood of the story, if not been really satisfying to write :P). It's fantastic that you enjoyed this story and its ending. Thank YOU for reading it, enjoying it, and reviewing. It means a lot. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #60, by explosion Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

5th July 2011:
Honestly, I couldn't have asked for a better ending. It was really beautiful and satisfying to read. You're an amazing writer :)

-Rebecca

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad that the ending turned out so well - it's something that worried me for a long time, hence why the slow updates near the end, but it makes me endlessly happy to know that you enjoyed it. _^

 Report Review

Review #61, by choufleur Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

4th July 2011:
Wow - I have really enjoyed this! I don't usually like Rose/Teddy but you really make it work in the context of the story and they are adults so it's far better!
And thank you thank you thank you for not:
1. Making Rose crash the wedding and it being happy ever after for Scorpius and Rose
2. Making Teddy and Rose declare undying love after a week.
It makes it so much more real than others I have read!
Loved it.

Author's Response: And thank you for liking those aspects of this story. There was a moment of weakness when I nearly made it a Scorose (even though I badly wanted it to end with Teddy/Rose), but it did not at all work with this version of Scorpius, who is far too sleezy to deserve a happy ending - even allowing the marriage to go through at all was a bonus in his favour. I also agree that having Teddy and Rose enter into a romance so quickly would just be wrong, entirely undoing all of Rose's development and going against the premise of realism that I wanted this story to maintain.

It means a lot that you loved this story and even liked the Teddy/Rose aspect of it. Thank you very much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #62, by camren Their Minds as Cold as Ice

3rd July 2011:
That was a great chapter u r doing great keep up the over the top top better than the best spectacular hard work

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #63, by camren Though It's Hurting Me

3rd July 2011:
That was fantastic best story i have ever read

Author's Response: Thank you! That's lovely of you to say so. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #64, by camren Why Should I Complain?

2nd July 2011:
How could malfoy be so cruel i tought he loved roseU r good at this

Author's Response: Malfoy is, after all, a Malfoy. :P They're not the nicest bunch of folks in the wizarding world.

Thank you for the compliment! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #65, by camren Now It's History

2nd July 2011:
This story is off the hook u have to write more

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #66, by MajiKat Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

2nd July 2011:
wonderful wonderful ending! while i wanted them to fall into each others arms (i spend so much time telling people i am not a romantic but...sssh!) i am actually glad it didn't happen. it is more real this way, i think. loved Ron at the end though!

also, very pleased it was not the son but the father at the door. i think i would have groaned if it was scorpius, but i know you and i know you would not do that to me! an excellently avoided cliche!

on draco - i adore the way you wrote him in this. in that final scene, all i could feel for him was sadness. not pity, but actual sadness. you made him a tired, bored, sad old man :( and you did it successfully.

you know how much i love your characters so i won't rant about it too much, only to say that this was probably the first fic that i read where i truly loved rose, in all her forms. she is flawed, she is real and she is not a cliche and thank you for that. after reading so many hermione-clones, your take on rose inspired me and showed me that she was a character worth delving in to in a novel length fic.

teddy was divine. that is all. i want one.

scorpius...perfect. i like to give him strength and i truly admire what you did with him. he was wretched, perfectly hideous and so, so weak. i like that, lol.

lily! how different to your lily in Out of Time. again, you are such a wonderful character writer, susan. to take the same character and write her completely differently - in all aspects - is admirable and is why you are one of my favourite authors on this site. you know what you are doing. i love reading your work.

this fic was wonderful and i really enjoyed reading it - i enjoyed everything about it.

Kate xx

Author's Response: Wow, Kate! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review - I really appreciate hearing from you, as I know that you're incredibly busy. ^_^

Haha, I know! I could have happily had them go all mushy, but then I would have to compensate by killing someone off, and that just wouldn't do. ;) It didn't seem right to place Rose and Teddy in an all-out relationship so soon, especially since both of them are still healing from their last failures. I thought that this was a happy medium between all-out and nothing at all - the potential between them remains, leaving the reader to add in whatever epilogue they'd like.

It would have been too much to make Scorpius the one at the door - and I don't think he would have survived had he actually appeared. All of those Potters and Weasleys together would have made mincemeat of him. :P That alone would have been worth writing, actually.

I shock myself with how much I enjoy writing the post-Hogwarts Draco, seeing that I dislike him in the books, but there's a lot that one can do with him as an adult. He's caught between both worlds because his parents pretty much betrayed Voldemort in the end and he owes his life to Harry, so he can never truly be on the dark side again, but he'll also never be on the light side. It makes for a more complex existence for him, and I think it makes him much more interesting. :) I'm really glad that you liked how he turned out in this story - it reminds me that I should think about working on my Dramione again, if only to write more Draco.

Really? :O My Rose did that to you?! That's insane! I love it, but wow, it's an insane idea. My Rose is so... neurotic and emotional - I don't know how she could be inspiring. I'm glad, though, that I chose to make her more like Ron than Hermione, mostly because of that cliche you mentioned, but also because it made Rose more fun to write. Weasleys are fun to write about.

Thank you, thank you for reading and reviewing and enjoying this story so much! It still causes m amazement to look at this story and see "completed" beneath it. It doesn't feel like it's over yet (not when I'm thinking about a sequel, oh dear). It's been wonderful seeing your reactions to the adventures of Rose throughout this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #67, by girly1393 Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

2nd July 2011:
...I think you've just made me a Teddy/Rose fan.

I really enjoyed Rose's blunderings and the odd yet completely understandable chain of events she experienced. I have a profound respect for her now. To see the disdain from her family and how she pushed against it, first when she was with Scorpius and later when she was without it, it was beautiful. Her development was astounding.

This is a beautiful story. Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Ooh! Have I? That's very exciting to hear. :D There are some lovely examples of the ship on this site, much better than my own version here, that you should definitely check out!

Anyhow, thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! I've enjoyed following your progress through it, and it's wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed Rose's blundering about, and especially that she developed along the way (I didn't think that she would, at times). I really appreciate your comments. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #68, by girly1393 The Judges Will Decide

2nd July 2011:
Uh... What? That ending, not what I was expecting.

Author's Response: Haha, definitely not what most readers were expecting, though there's a trick to it - I swear. ;)

 Report Review

Review #69, by girly1393 The Loser Standing Small

2nd July 2011:
The wolf... Nice tie-in. That makes this story way more epic.

Author's Response: lol, really? I was just trying to tie up loose ends - round off the beginning and the end so that they matched up. :P Glad that you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #70, by girly1393 Rules Must Be Obeyed

2nd July 2011:
He just got married and now he's kissing her? What! Malfoy... -glowers menacingly-

Author's Response: Scorpius makes less sense than Rose - she was at least there to make sure that it actually happened, a sort of fatal curiosity, but the way that he interprets her presence is very incorrect. What a terrible person, that Malfoy!

 Report Review

Review #71, by girly1393 Always Staying Low

2nd July 2011:
Teddy and Rose. What an interesting idea.

Author's Response: Let's hope that it benefits the story. ;) I have a strange affection for this ship, especially in preference to Scorpius/Rose.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #72, by girly1393 Things We've Gone Through

2nd July 2011:
No, it wasn't wise. No, it wasn't really necessary. No, no one had approved of her relationship with him. Yes, she did need to this herself without help. But what will running away solve?

Author's Response: What does running away ever solve, except for a short escape from consequences? Rose still has a lot of growing up to do, and she has to stand up and face the facts - her mistakes, her poor judgments, and the need to move on, away from negative influences.

 Report Review

Review #73, by girly1393 Building Me A Fence

2nd July 2011:
Yes, it was an odd chapter. Rose's friends struck me oddly; it might have just been the situation, but the way they talked about her while she was right that upset me. I didn't think it was right, that they wouldn't talk to her and resorted to talking about her.

Author's Response: I'd not noticed that before, but you're right - they do talk over her, as though she's not there at all. I could say that they're so used to her NOT being there, that they don't realise the impact of their discussion on her, but that would make them not very good friends. :/ It's a mistake of mine, then, and I'm sorry about it. Maybe that's the oddness that struck me as I wrote it.

 Report Review

Review #74, by girly1393 The Loser Has to Fall

2nd July 2011:
Lily is very overdramatic. Three months? That does seem pretty fast. And does Lily know that Rose asked Scorpius to wait? That she never actually said no?

Things are going to get sticky.

Author's Response: Lily's wonderfully dramatic - an original drama queen - and she'll do anything to get what she wants, which is to be better than Rose. Lily definitely knows that whole story behind Rose and Scorpius's relationship, but that doesn't matter to her, unfortunately enough for Rose.

Things are definitely going to get sticky. ;) I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #75, by girly1393 Their Minds as Cold as Ice

2nd July 2011:
That was an interesting development, the Dramione bit. When Hermione started talking about it, I got a little afraid that Rose was Scorpius' sister or something, but then I remembered Rose was already alive. That was a relief.

Author's Response: Oh dear! That would have been quite a development! Wish I'd thought of it, actually... it would have given Rose a much better reason not to get involved with Scorpius. ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>