Reading Reviews for Enough
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Jane Webster Enough

11th January 2008:
Gorgeous and beautifully written. I'm not crying, but I'm pretty darn close.
We love you Sev!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! It's so great to know that you enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #27, by Alexa Bonfoi Enough

28th December 2007:
omigosh! That was just beautiful! You put the raw emotions of death and love into words in a believable way! Amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Wow, it means a lot that you enjoyed this story. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #28, by Draco's Hermione Enough

24th December 2007:
Wow, you had me crying so hard! This was an amazing story to read! I had always imagined Snape thinking of Lily as he died. The whole they both died with Harry thing was amazing!
Thank You for Such a great story!

Author's Response: Aww! I'm sorry that it made you cry, but it's great that you liked it. Thank you for enjoying it and reviewing it. It means so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #29, by VampireKisses Enough

10th November 2007:
Hey Susan, its me Kristen from the forums! Anyways I got to say that I loved reading this particular Snilly. Really. I mean you have an exquisite writing style, and Snape himself was in character (it made me feel like you just got possessed by JKR and she wrote it instead! lol) I mean, its really hard to capture Snape because in ones I've read on here where he's either too bitter the entire way or he's too misunderstood, you know what I mean? I also liked how you made Snape think of Lily as a god like creature with the Hers and such. But yeah I think you got him just right. My favourite part however of the entire story were the flashbacks. Really well done. They definetly mirrored that of the playground memories in The Prince's Tale (that's a compliment!) And it made me teary eyed in the end after the last flashback about how death was...for me, it was heart wrenching. Great Job!

10/10 and I favourited this! :)

Kristen

Author's Response: Hey Kristen! ^_^ Wow, thanks for the great compliment! Haha, imagine JKR possessing me, not bad at all. =D It's great that Snape was in character for this, he's hard when it comes to romantic stuff, though JKR did make it somewhat easier with "The Prince's Tale". Even though it was hinted at through the series, it was still a surprise that Snape would actually harbour such a deep love for Lily over that much time. It was from that that I got the idea of making him sort of worship her - she was an unattainable woman for him, so it seemed a natural way of portraying his love for her. I'm glad that it worked for you as well. :) Thanks very much for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #30, by Lizzy Leigh Enough

9th November 2007:
Oh my god. I am actually crying. I've read a lot of stories using this scene, but yours was by far THE BEST. Wow, let me wipe my eyes!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the wonderful compliment! *offers tissue* Sorry for having made you cry.

 Report Review

Review #31, by SilverShadow04 Enough

5th November 2007:
Aw that was so sad but a fitting narrative of Snape's last moment it is as most of your work is: beautiful and oh so very sad. Well done dear, well done.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! ^_^ I really appreciate all your wonderful reviews - it's great to hear your opinions on my stories.

 Report Review

Review #32, by padme_alejandra Enough

3rd November 2007:
You draw out emotion from me for the most unlikely of characters :P

This really struck a chord, if you will, with me. A lot of it has to do with his words, "Look... at... me..." They are my favourite three words from book seven for more reasons then one. So when I realized where this fic was going, and where it would end, it added an extra sense of emotion to the story for me. Now I not only hated James (I know, I can't believe I said it!), I hated Harry and I hated Lily for choosing them over Severus. You made Severus feel so real, and I felt his pain of loss right along with him.

I also loved how you had him never mention 'Her' name, and how you capitalized the word - how he couldn't bear to say her name without painful repercussions.

Another lovely work.

Author's Response: Aww, no likey Snape? :( Oh well, it makes it even better that I got some emotion out for him, haha. I agree that those words were probably the most powerful in the whole series - they symbolise all the love and pain of this man who is so incredibly misunderstood from book one. I'm wowed by how you feel about the Potters now, and Lily's "betrayal" (in a sense) of Snape by choosing James. That wasn't something I meant to bring out in the story, but it is really interesting to think about.

In that moment in DH, it was revealed how Snape worshipped Lily, so it seemed appropriate that speaking her name could only be done with reverence. It's like the way that Voldemort's name cannot be spoken, except that Snape does it more out of respect than fear. Those unspeakable names contrast each other, so that even though both figures hold mastery over Snape, only one demands from him true respect and reverence. Now I'm rambling, oh dear. Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Dani. It's so wonderful that you enjoyed this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #33, by MajiKat Enough

2nd November 2007:
*sobs*

I have sat here for ...i don't know. i've lost track. I've just stared at the screen. i think i cried. i'm not sure. its a blur of emotion. that was incredible. i pitied snape before now but this...wow. this is true pathos. you have understood him so perfectly and conveyed that understanding through his pain and his memories and his acceptance at the end. to me, this was almost a eulogy. it was poetic, masterfully crafted and simply beautiful.

i loved it.

thank you for writing this.
Maji xx

Author's Response: *huggles* I'm sorry it made you cry that much. It is pretty heartbreaking, with all that unrequited love and Snape's death of not only his body, but his heart. Poor Snape. :( This story really came out of nowhere - a fleeting idea that worked out quite nicely, haha. I'm really glad you liked it and your comments mean a lot. ^_^ Thanks very much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing, Maji.

 Report Review

Review #34, by Hushabye_Mountain Enough

23rd October 2007:
*wipes eyes on the corner of shirt*

Susan, that was... so tragically beautiful. It was magical, sorry for the pun, but there's no other way of putting it. It was simply magical. It was so wonderfully composed and written, your style is brilliant, and for the first story of yours that I have ever read, it certainly wasn't a let down, and definitely will not be the last. :)

I think it was too soon after reading DH for me to read this to be honest lol, I'm still so heartbroken by what happened in it, and this gorgeous one shot was just even more moving than the original. Thank you so much for writing such an extrodinary one shot and sharing it with us all, it was simply beautiful :) 10/10, fav'd and on my site, it was just that good. I'll be sure to check out some of your other stories very soon, I'm sure they are all just as wonderful :) Kate xoxo

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, Kate. ^_ ^ I was amazed to see your review here and I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story. Wow, I'm blushing from your kind words and goggling that you fav'd it on your site. Now that I'm speechless... well... thank you? ;-)

 Report Review

Review #35, by essenni Enough

19th October 2007:
Beautiful, just beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #36, by fishergirl Enough

2nd October 2007:
that was so sad it made me cry. 10/10

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry. =( Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Bears Kitty Enough

29th September 2007:
beautiful story and it fits in so well in the holes that were left in the J.K. books

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #38, by Disco Alien Enough

25th September 2007:
Oh my gosh.
That was so sad. And beautiful. I think you captured Snape's thoughts and feelings perfectly. It was like reading something JK Rowling had written. I think maybe, this is the way she sees Snape.
!0/10 and very well done.
This is going on my favourites for sure.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's wonderful that you liked the story. =D

 Report Review

Review #39, by sirius_and_me_forever Enough

15th September 2007:
This is the best Snape/Lily oneshot I have ever read.
It made me cry, and it is really really well written.
You are an amazing writer!

Author's Response: Aww, really? Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #40, by delta Enough

13th September 2007:
I leave for three weeks on vacation, return, and find two new one-shots and an updated FW?!?!?! ^_^

Maybe I should disappear more often. :P

Anyways, this was an absolutely brilliant one-shot. I loved all of the descriptions and especially that first flashback. Snape's pain was so heartbreakingly palpable.

The discussion about Harry and Snape's thoughts of him (and the reciprocation of hate from Harry) was interesting, and I loved how you made Snape classify Lily's eyes as Slytherin green and had Snape, even in his last moments of life, have enough presence of mind to criticize Harry (and James indirectly) for their Gryffindor tendencies.

You didn't soften the blow of Snape's rather anti-heroic and somewhat prejudiced personality at all and that was a feat in and of itself when you're writing a 'good Snape'. You truly managed to humanize Snape, but not wipe him clean of all his sins and fallacies, and I think that in remembering a character that is very important.

Author's Response: Haha, no! Don't disappear, delta! What would I do without all your amazing reviews? This one is no different. ^_^ The story is one of those "pop outs" that come out of nowhere - I think I wrote it in an hour or so. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it and that all the details fit into the story and into canon. =) Poor Snape, this is the only time I've ever gotten fully into his character, and the sight of it's really sad. I can't reread this story without crying because of his humanity, as you termed it (appropriately, I must add). Thank you so much for reviewing, delta. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #41, by sugarkitty232 Enough

9th September 2007:
This. Is so amazing.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =D

 Report Review

Review #42, by hermohninny Enough

7th September 2007:
that was beautiful to read. thanks so much!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #43, by CJ_Black Enough

6th September 2007:
Wow, this was a really lovely story. I do feel like scum for not having read nor reviewed anything in ages, but I'm happy I got to this story, because it was a pleasure to read. First off, I love the title, because it's short and it represents the story best. The descriptions were fantastic, as was to be expected of you because your descriptions are the best. I simply loved your portrayal of Lily here, even if I spend 99% of my time hating her. I think you did a great job with the characters. The romance was beautifully written because it wasn't cheesy. "What he would have given to walk beside her, just one more time." - I loved this line, and how Snape asked so little of life, to simply walk beside her. It's sad, but very very beautiful. I think you captured the essence of their relationship perfectly here. Their conversation about death was wonderfully written, because it shows the difference between them and their views. Lily didn't want to die alone - I think that fits her perfectly. I loved Snape's Death in DH, it was one of my favorite parts, and I love how you told the story here. Once again, I find myself terribly lacking the ability to give some criticism. I also loved the ending, it once again shows how little was enough to make Snape happy. It was a lovely one shot, from line one all the way till the end. Honestly, I loved it. You're an amazing writer. And in case you're wondering, I'm still following The Fires Within *feels like scum again for not reviewing*, and I will review it as soon as I can get some spare time. I love all your stories because they're amazing. 10/10 because it's perfect. Hugs, CJ

Author's Response: You're not at all scum, CJ. Sorry for bothering you to review this when you've been away. I thought you might enjoy it, though. ^_^ Thank you so much for reviewing. It's wonderful that you like how the story turned out. Lily is a challenge, so I'm pleased that I got her right. Wow, your compliments are making it hard for me to think of anything to write. So, I'll thank you again. =D

 Report Review

Review #44, by ShadowKisses Enough

4th September 2007:
You captured the bittersweet angst of Snape/Lily perfectly. This story brought tears to my eyes, and new significance to Snape's last words. [And, if this has anything to do with anything, the banner is jawdroppingly amazing... but yeah. =P ]
10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thanks very much, Saba! I'm really glad that you liked the story (and the banner). =D

 Report Review

Review #45, by HermioneGarnet Enough

2nd September 2007:
Beautiful! "The Prince's Tale" was my favorite chapter in Deathly Hallows. So sad! Snape has always been one of my two favorite characters (the other being Hermione) and his death was one of the hardest ones for me. Brilliant work!

Author's Response: It was a hard death to read, but writing this helped a lot. =) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by noraxslytherin Enough

2nd September 2007:
THAT WAS SO GREAT! *sniffle* you did a marvalous job! excellent job! im crying insanely, but thats okay. that was just...amazing. everything flowed easily and you captured the flashbacks perfectly. the imagery was well gone too. great job!!! *adds to faves*

-nora.

Author's Response: Thanks muchly! ^_^ I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #47, by Misty_Rey Enough

2nd September 2007:
Yay! I was hoping someone would write a fic based on this scene and I'm so happy that it was you, Susan! This fic was extrodinarily written! I sometimes notice that you tend to overwrite and use an unnessesarily large amount of words. But here, you kept it straight to the point and simple, which was good as I thought less was more when it came to Severus's feelings for Lily. Your potrayl of that scene is exactly how I envisioned the situation from Snape's point of view. The flashbacks were well thought out as well, each of them was simple yet significant in the role they played later on in the one-shot. One of your best works!!

10/10
~Misty

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad I've gotten away from that terrible overwriting stuff. Being minimalistic with words is more fun anyways. =D Thank you so much for this review, Misty. I love hearing from you in reviews because you're always honest, so knowing that you enjoyed this means a lot. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #48, by Rupertluver2012 Enough

1st September 2007:
omg omg omg.
do you know how brilliant this is?
it;s greeat.
Even when I thought Snape was evil, he was still one of my favorite characters.
Watching him die like killed me and this was beautifully written.
As much as I love Lily/James; I think in a small part of her heart; it belonged to Severus Snape.
Just a tiny part.
But a part that was enough for him.


I added this to my favorites
only the best or the ones i like most go in there :]

1000/10.

*chow*

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #49, by Florence_Felicity_Dumbledore Enough

31st August 2007:
:'( That's so sad. Poor Snape! You wrote it so well though! 10/10 x

Author's Response: Thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #50, by Jericho Enough

30th August 2007:
That was ... wow. Magnificently done! I love Snape, and I find it hard to find an author who can write him, and keep him in character while still showing a slightly 'softer' side to him. This was amazing! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>