Reading Reviews for Amoretti
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LorLai Amoretti

12th November 2006:
This was a beautiful story. I loved it.

Both your James and Lily were phenomenally portrayed. I adored the concept of this story, just loved the whole thing to pieces.

I hate to ruin this wonderful review, but who was used for Lily on the banner? Perfect capture!

Author's Response: The girl in the banner is Laruen Ambrose, and I agree, she does make a perfect Lily. =) Thanks very much for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #27, by LooneyChick Amoretti

11th November 2006:
Oh my gosh... that was really good. Everything I have read on this site lately has just been a bunch of crap, but I really enjoyed reading this. Your writing stye is very unique. I wish that this story wasn't just a one-shot because I think that you could really develop it. But I love it all the same. I am about to go and check out your page, because I am hoping that you have written more than this. Love your story though... just wanted to repeat that.

Author's Response: This is probably the most humourous I get in a story before going to outright parody, so there's not likely anything else of mine quite like this one. It was a lot of fun to write and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. ^_^ Thanks very much for reviewing. =)

 Report Review

Review #28, by Ydnas Odell Amoretti

5th November 2006:
You know I almost never read Lily and James fics. There are just to many of them and they are mostly pointless.

But I read this and really liked it. You don't know how astounding a feat that is. This is sweet. And I can really picture James and Lily this way.

I'm going to have to read some Edmund Spencer now. Which is even more astounding because I read very little poetry.

Great job. A 10!

Author's Response: They're almost as ubiquitous as Dramonies, if that's possible. ;-) It's great that you enjoyed it! I don't usually go in for writing fluff, so it's a pleasure to read such kind reviews. =)

 Report Review

Review #29, by Emmeline Amoretti

14th October 2006:
Very pretty. You got inside James's head very nicely, and literary allusions are always good. A short review, I know, but as your story was, quite literally, "short and sweet", and you seem to have recieved many reviews already, I'll pare my comments down. :-)
-E

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your review. Gotta love literary allusions; I can't help but include them. ^_^ I'm very glad that you enjoyed the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #30, by nickelei Amoretti

7th September 2006:
That was so adorable. It was a great read!

Author's Response: Thanks! =)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Flourish and Blotts Amoretti

22nd August 2006:
Excellent! Funny, but not hilarious-just the way I like it. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad that you liked the story. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #32, by Hunny_Baby_Doll Amoretti

10th August 2006:
Ooooh. That was nice. [: Very diffrent. &i like that.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. =)

 Report Review

Review #33, by Natalia_ Amoretti

2nd August 2006:
Nice story :o)

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #34, by annalupin Amoretti

24th July 2006:
lovely. just, lovely. I really want more.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it. =D

 Report Review

Review #35, by _Lexi_ Amoretti

22nd July 2006:
lol gr8 story

Author's Response: Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #36, by redskin_football89 Amoretti

21st July 2006:
That was great. Pretty sweet... can you do a tiny little sequel with James writing a love poem to Lily... and another, and another... she doesn't know it's from him, but she thinks it's really sweet... and then maybe get her think that a handsome Ravenclaw guy wrote it and break James's heart cuz it's all part of the freakin' drama... then she finds out it was James who wrote it from Remus and then all's well at the end cuz it was sealed by a kiss? AWWWW. Gosh, I'm overwhelming myself here. Anyway, fantastic job! Well written and almost no grammatical errors... 10/10 for sure!

Author's Response: Well, if you like that idea, why don't you write it up yourself? =P I've got more than enough stories to write myself and that type of story isn't what I really like writing anyway. Amoretti is a one-shot and that's how I'm keeping it, sorry. I'm really glad that you liked the story, though. Thanks so much for reviewing. =D

 Report Review

Review #37, by Bowles Amoretti

19th July 2006:
Very nice little Lily/James fic. I really like the interaction between them, and James's inner dialogue is very interesting to read - sort of like a commentary to what's going on in the entire fic as it's happening. Good one-shot.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for the great review, Bowles. It's awesome that you enjoyed the story. Having it in first person from James' perspective helped take it to another level that would have been hard to reach if it were in third person - the story just wouldn't have worked without it. =)

 Report Review

Review #38, by TheOne Amoretti

12th July 2006:
Wow! You do a great job in the first person and you write James extremely well! The whole time i felt like i was sitting right next to James, and i even began to get annoyed by the flipping of pages haha! Great job I have no critisism!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks so much! James works so well for me in the first person, which is strange because I don't usually think about him as a character, not like with Sirius or Snape. Thanks for reviewing! =)

 Report Review

Review #39, by Tiger_Cruise_Ginny (not signed in) Amoretti

5th July 2006:
this was really cute.... i really enjoyed reading it... i liked at the end how he picked up the book and said Spencer. It couldn't hurt, could it? that was...i dont want to say cute, but something along the lines of cute...hmm...i dont think i'll ever figure out the proper word, but once again great story

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the story. It is meant to be "cute" - that's how I wrote it with the sillyness of James coupled with the romantic poetry Lily was reading. =D

 Report Review

Review #40, by LostMaeblleshire Amoretti

27th June 2006:
I think that I can officially say that you have finally caused me to fall in love with Marauders fanfiction. I never really have enjoyed it much before (preferring JKR's small tidbits about them) but your stories have changed my mind. I admit that, late last night and earlier today, I was doing as many variations as I could on the search function to find some Marauder stories, after reading some more of The Fires Within. (I meant to leave a review of chapter fifteen, but my cat had fallen asleep on my right arm, and I couldn't type a decent review with only my left.) But anyway, this was a bloody brilliant story. I especially loved it being told in the view of James, and the fact that it was Sirius who was his replacement. That really made me grin. And I could hear the flipping in my head, actually, as the story progressed. That would have driven me insane, too.

Author's Response: I have? *cheers* There are lots of excellent Marauders stories out there, though there are quite a few of the lesser sort too *rolls eyes*. That's funny about your cat falling asleep on your arm, lol. =D

Anyway, thanks so much for the review. It's great that you enjoyed James' silliness (because he is very silly). The part about Sirius taking his place felt like the perfect way to make James feel even worse, though Lily does improve his mood slightly. The flipping idea actually came from people telling me to not make so much noise while reading - it is a really annoying noise, no wonder it bothered James so much. =D


 Report Review

Review #41, by SouthernDarling Amoretti

24th June 2006:
wow this a really good story.....and yes I was wondering if you could make me a few chapter banner(picture....idk what they are called) for my story Freedom Fighters =] i would really love it if you would....my email is= SouthernGirrl54@yahoo.com
you probually need to read it first if you want to
--Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I can try to make you something, if you give me enough information about it. =P

 Report Review

Review #42, by timeturner Amoretti

6th June 2006:
It’s so like James to start talking to us and then digress into something else before he remembers what he was supposed to be talking about. Well, I don’t know if he’d act that way but it’s sure the picture I have of him in my head. I laughed out loud with the comment about her being a “fast reader” and the snotty “could they win without me”. Goes perfectly with the arrogance we know of him and you managed to just slip it right in. I cherish my little bit of Sirius that you gave me, although I must admit that I kept hoping Sirius would stride across the room and kiss her. But, alas, James decided to read poetry instead. Couldn’t be that he has a bit of romantic in him, could it? As always, my dear, your stories are always absolutely splendid. I liked how you used the pages to tie everything together..definetly a mundane thing and to tell the truth, it probably would have driven me nuts right along with James :P Wonderful work.



Author's Response: Now that wouldn't work, would it? It'd certainly be a shocker if Lily and Sirius started making out while James looked on. =D Oh goody, I'm glad my James turned out correctly - that his personality was canon. I keep thinking that he's either too arrogant or too sensitive. It's also great that the pages were successfully mundane and maddening. Makes you wonder if Lily was purposely turning the pages so loudly. =P Thanks so much for the review, timeturner. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #43, by summerlove x3 Amoretti

5th June 2006:
very cute one-short !!

Author's Response: Thanks! =)

 Report Review

Review #44, by altrustic_writer Amoretti

31st May 2006:
Brilliant! You did an outstanding job using Spenser's Amoretti!!! Because at its face it's about a difficult courtship (she thinks him quite vain) that ends in a good marriage, but at its bones, its about the beauty of human relationships

I think it is clever that you used this particular sonnet for Lily and James. It stands out to me as very thoughtful and applies so well on so many levels. I also think Amoretti!!! foreshadows well James and Lily's fate:

One day I wrote her name upon the strand,
But came the waves and washed it away:
Again I wrote it with a second hand,
But came the tide, and made my pains his prey.


You did a great job on Lily and James' personalities! Very Rowlings-esque! Also, I laughed out loud quite a few times with the wittiness of both characters! Great stuff!

Personally, I've always had a difficult time with Elizabethan poetry. Back when I had to read Amoretti, I about choked on all of the quatrains and couplets, and I loathed his use of alliteration! (I'm a neanderthal, I know.) But I totally salute you and how you gave this sonnet a new life in a very clever and modern way! You are quite the writer!

Author's Response: Amoretti fits perfectly with the James/Lily relationship, as you said. The basis for this story was the first sonnet from the collection:

Happy ye leaves when as those lilly hands,
Which hold my life in their dead doing might...


which works really well with Lily's page-flipping and James' melodramatic flair. =D When timeturner put out the challenge, I thought about books, then poems, then Spencer (a natural sort of thought process for me) and finally came to the fanfic idea. I love using Elizabethan poetry in my stories - they wrote it so well back then! It is hard to read, I agree, but once you do get it, the words are beautiful. ^_^

Look at me, prattling on again. Just mention something from English lit and off I go... Anyway, thanks so much for your great review. I really appreciate it and enjoyed reading it very much. =)


 Report Review

Review #45, by delta Amoretti

29th May 2006:
Hmm, an interesting way to approach Timeturner's challenge. I did it, but it turned out extremely differently. You included such cliches as James being distracted by Lily's presence and her every word or look being worshipped by him, yet you still managed to make it interesting and to a point, unique. I liked the poetry thing and the Sirius being the seeker thing was an ingenious stroke. The fact that you were able to derive so much from the turning of pages is well done and imaginative. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much, delta. I thought it'd be interesting playing with the L/J cliches by writing a story that wasn't at all romantic, at least according to both parties involved. It was far too much fun torturing James - first he's stuck with Lily, then the news about Sirius comes along... I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed it. It's so nice of you to have reviewed this and other things I've written - I really appreciate it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #46, by Misty_Rey Amoretti

27th May 2006:
Aaaaw!! It's so sweet! This has all the makings of a good fic. Humour, angst, drama and some subtle loving! LOL. That's my favorite thing about this fic. The attraction between james and lily is there but it's played subtlely. Alot of stories lack subtlety by throwing the emotion in the readers face. This story, however, has just the right length and amount of discreet flirting. The flipping was cutely done! Great job!

P.s:- Love the Banner!!!

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Misty_Rey. I wanted to write a cute J/L story, but ended up with a sort of "before the romance" story, which I like even more (and I'm glad you liked it too). This showed the in-between stage, which lots of people seem to leave out in stories, so it was fun to explore it. =)

 Report Review

Review #47, by I_Shant_EatFlamingoTongues Amoretti

25th May 2006:
I really enjoyed this!

The characterization has been done wonderfully, especially the interaction between Lily and James. It fit quite nicely into my mind's idea of how things would have been between them. Also, my compliments on James' hurt pride. The cause goes well with the picture of prideful arrogance that's been painted in the books, without it being over the top or too understated. Everything just works, from Lily's diction to James' (slightly...crazed? energetic? not sure what word I'm looking for) thoughts to the flow. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks very much for the great review. With my one-shots, I try to stay as canon as possible, so it's great to hear that you felt both characters were portrayed well. Since all we have seen of James is that one scene in OotP, I took his obvious arrogance and transferred it to a different kind of scene, this time with Lily and Lily alone. She kindly distracts him from thoughts of Quidditch - even at the end she keeps him from murdering Sirius. =P Lily's a little harder to write, but I'm glad her sarcasm worked out right. =) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Bibbs Amoretti

25th May 2006:
oh, for crying out loud, Violet. Here I sit, idiotically grinning into my computer screen for the past 10 minutes. I've been wanting to read this, ever since I first saw the summary. It sounded really funny!! But I kept forgetting. So sorry it took me a bit.

Now, back to the idiotic grinning. That was hilarious!!! One of those things thats funny without really meaning to be. Well, I'm sure you meant it to be, but it was...subtle...natural...not forced. It was brilliant and that's all there is to it.

You're making me melt for James. All of his drama, woe is me, the worst day of my life. All because he couldn't play Quidditch. *sigh* The visual of him peeking over the couch at Lily, who is all the way across the room from him, is the cutest thing ever. You have to admire him for all of his attempts, and even more that he knows how he fails dismally but keeps on trying. And the way he let a simple sound like a page turning get to him, God love him. His entire outlook on the situation is quite humorous and that's why I am smiling so stupidly right now.

Now, on to Lily, she cracked me up too! Could she be any more sarcastic, rude, dry?? And I get the feeling she really enjoyed it. And you know, I'll bet she was turning those pages like that on purpose just to annoy him. Geez, why can't they just figure it out and realize that they are perfect for each other? It's enough to drive a person mad.

Now if you'll excuse me, I must go exploring your page for more James.

Author's Response: Was it really that funny? Wow, I never expected people would find it funny, really, because my humour can be classified as ... strange. But I'm really glad you liked it, Bibbs, and even more glad that it made you grin idiotically. =P I guess that the fact that it wasn't forced or that I wasn't meaning to be funny was what made it funny in the end. *confuses herself*

Haha, James is so much fun to write. He's sweet, but very arrogant and full of himself. The thing about the Quidditch is sort of a balance against his feelings for Lily - he may be nervous and romantic when it comes to her, but with Quidditch, he is a true sports fan. =D I think that Lily quite got her revenge in this - her part was almost more fun to write than James'.

I probably need to write more things like this. They're short, sweet, and really allow my mind to go crazy (no seriousness in this story, that's for sure). Thanks so much for reviewing, Bibbs. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little ficlet. =)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Potterholic Amoretti

25th May 2006:
Oh, this is really great! I’m going to add this to my favourite. It’s so like James to get distracted by Lily like that, lol. I really like how James got so annoyed by the flipping, and the couch trick. I’ve never thought of that, oh well. James’ thoughts are really funny too, I caught myself smiling when I read them. Great job. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Potterholic! Poor James - I really tortured him with this story, but it was lots of fun to write. I'm glad that it was fun to read as well. =D

 Report Review

Review #50, by gryffruler28 Amoretti

24th May 2006:
Hey, I liked that idea of the lenghening couch! Its not mentioned in the books, is it? You know, Violet, I actually like that sound - Flip *grin*. I don't usually prefer reading in first person, but I immensely enjoyed reading "Amoretti". What does Amoretti mean, anyway? Is it some other language?

Another question - is it a one-shot? Seems like one. Love it. This is the first I've read of yours. And it definitely did the trick. When I get time, I'd love to read more of your fics :)

Author's Response: I don't think it's mentioned in the books - it was just an idea that came to me because couches never seem to be long enough (not when you're tall at least). =D Amoretti is Italian for "Little Loves" - which is the title Spencer gave his one set of sonnets. The English translation suits the story well enough, I think. =)

Sadly, this is just a one-shot. A sort of random act of inspiration. Honestly, I don't think I could keep up the same lightness and humour if I kept going - typically I stick to drama. =P Thanks so much for your great review. I really appreciate it. =)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>