Reading Reviews for Afterglow
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Janhvi Afterglow

29th November 2010:
wow..wow..wow
LOVE YOUR STORIES.
:)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #2, by avra Afterglow

16th April 2010:
Wow, this is an amazing little story! You are so talented Susan!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's wonderful to hear that you liked it! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #3, by Lizayzay Afterglow

6th April 2010:
whoa, such an interesting ship
it was weird at first
but i dont know im kindof warming up to it
great read!

Author's Response: It is an interesting ship, and it also took me a while to get into writing it. After writing the two stories, I haven't been able to get back into it, either. But I'm glad that you liked the story. Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by kwade1106 Afterglow

28th December 2009:
I've read a lot of stories on here, and this is by far my favorite story yet. Amazing job!

I love Snape/Hermione shipping. (:

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! Your favourite? That's really amazing to hear, and I'm glad you like this story that much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by snapeluvr Afterglow

31st July 2009:
Agh that was absolutly amazing I was so blown away. You definitely have to keep writing on the snape/hermione relationship!! :D You are a amazingly fantastic writer.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! I have one other Snarmione, though I haven't been able to get back into them since. :(

But it means a lot that you enjoyed this story. Thank you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #6, by Infairi Afterglow

9th July 2009:
Hey! So I added this to my faves a really long time ago and when I was looking back at my list of fantastic stories, I realized that I hadn't reviewed this! Being a fellow SAYSer that just doesn't seem right. :P Upon re-reading this oneshot, words have failed me yet again, but I shall try my best.

The beginning is what really sets the mood. You have such a powerful use of vocabulary mixed with delicate phrasing, completely conveying an eerie atmosphere of warfare. I CANNOT get over it, you've earned yourself a new fangirl from the very first paragraph. I would point out the best sentences, but there are far too many.

It's amazing what a rabid plot bunny can do, isn't it? I haven't read that many fics exploring this pairing, but I simply love it. I don't even know what else to say on the matter. I've been known to get a bit irritated with certain characterizations of Hermione, but I think this one is great. She has the faintest trace of her old self, and then a completely new, broken and barely living self... It really adds to the tragedy of the war which is only too real. I actually believe that all of that stuff is happening and it isn't at all cliche like so many stories I've read.

And then there's Severus Snape. You've taken my favorite character and done wonders. He's the same old self - he's still got his personality - but he too has been affected by warfare. I really, truly believe everything he says and does, and it's just so perfect that I really can't think of a high enough compliment for the way you chose to write him. Every sentence of dialogue on his and Hermione's part is simply dripping with tragedy and absolutely flawless. It's quiet and heart-breaking and SQUEE all at the same time.

Going back to the beginning for a moment, I must add that however horrible it is, I loved the description of carnage. The looks in the eyes of the dead... how darkly poetic. And not in a cheesy way. It's so real and terrifying. Your description and feelings and dialogue and every bit of emotion that is clearly visible in this piece is so poignant and PERFECT that this could very well be my favorite story on the archive.

So if my babbling praise lacked sense, then what I'm trying to say is, you got mad skillz, yo. You got a keyboard and you know how to use it.

YOUR FANGIRL,
Chelsea

Author's Response: So even years later it still sounds good? :D That's a wonderful thing in itself to hear because sometimes, older stories get "old" quickly and aren't as worth reading. I'm really glad that this story isn't one of them (it holds a special place for being so different from what I usually wrote at the time - especially the beginning, which is my favourite part of this).

Oooh yay! Both the characters are believable and in character, which doesn't happen enough in Snarmione, but I'm really glad that it worked out here. :D Hermione was the most interesting to write for this story because she was so broken. The war made her into a different person, and while traces of her remain, she's unrecognizable. Even Ron doesn't want to know her anymore.

Snape was probably the harder of the two. He needs to be written in a very particular way - sarcastic and dark, but with that something else that, in canon, became his everlasting love for Lily. I loved writing him more for the second Snarmione story I did ("Afterglow", which is from his perspective), but I'm so glad that, in this story, he turned out well. More than well, from the sound of that squee. :P

Thank you very much for this, Chelsea! It was a fantastic surprise to see this review and I really appreciate that you re-read the story and reviewed it. *wields keyboard* This guy and me aren't going anywhere just yet. But really, I need to write more Snape. ^_^

EDIT: whoa. I just read that this might be your favourite story, and I'm blown away by that. Wow! Thank you very much, it's a huge compliment and just WOW! *glomps*


 Report Review

Review #7, by Skizzy Afterglow

11th June 2009:
That was A M A Z I N G. Well done. I love that ship. You should write more. Also you shoud write a Snape/Lily ship in the Marauders era. That would be awsome.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

I've always wanted to do another Snape/Lily, but as of yet, I'm still waiting for the inspiration. :( Hopefully it'll happen one day.


 Report Review

Review #8, by deep Afterglow

9th April 2009:
very good plot, though
good job in writing it

Author's Response: Thank you! It is deep, especially at the beginning in the battle scene. I'm afraid to think of where my imagination was going at the time. I'm glad you liked the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CaityCaity(SnapeRules) Afterglow

25th October 2007:
Well done, that was brilliantly written and I'm so glad I found it...Sevreus/Hermione fics are so rare to come across and even rarer to find a good one, which this one is. The way you portrayed the characters was believable enough to know they were those characters but still with your own twist of what they may have turned out like after going through so much. Keep it up!!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! I agree that SS/Hr fics are hard to find, especially since a lot of them are OOC. It's wonderful that you enjoyed this one. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by essenni Afterglow

19th October 2007:
Thank you for writing this incerdible story! It is so deep. Usually I don't like reading about battlefields, but here it is written so good that even I enjoyed it. Of course, I just loved the caring Severus Snape.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! ^_^ It's great to hear that you liked the battle scene and how Snape turned out. =D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Bears Kitty Afterglow

27th September 2007:
ok that was not nice having this only be a one shot it should of been longer >_

Author's Response: lol! That's why I wrote a sequel to it. :P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by krazygymnast32 Afterglow

21st August 2007:
I loved it! It was excellent! :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by truesable Afterglow

11th August 2007:
Absolutely brilliant! Although, admittedly, I have a soft spot for HG/SS pairings, all too often they depict Snapes and Hermiones that are disturbingly out of character. This piece is remarkably in-character, remarkably poignant, remarkably crafted - just remarkable! I intended to sit down and read one story for a few minutes, and now look what you've made me do - I have to go read the sequel!

Author's Response: Wow! It's amazing to hear (actually read) you say so - it's incredibly difficult to keep them in character at the same time as trying to pair them together, so I'm pleased that you thought it worked out. ^_^ Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Diandra Afterglow

31st July 2007:
This is incredible! I really really love this story. It's just wonderful how he rescues her and she struggles. Then, they fall in love and become a cutie-pie couple (I apologize for my lack of a vocabulary) and then spend their lives together. I love Snape/Hermione...or more like Snape/anybody because you know he deserves them all (I'm kinda obsessed with him)!!! Great job, I shall definitely be reading the sequel! And congrats on your triumphs in the Dobby Awards!

Diandra

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Diandra! =) The ending is a little too soppy for my tastes, but I am glad that you enjoyed it. Thinking of Snape in such a situation is pleasing, haha, even though it made me write the very different sequel. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #15, by wyrd*sister Afterglow

27th July 2007:
This is brilliantly written and sensitive to detail. :) Can't wait to check out the sequel!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by Snape Obsessed Afterglow

10th June 2007:
I hate this pairing, but I've got to say, his was nicey written. Good job, very well done.

~Snob

Author's Response: Haha, so many people hate SS/Hr, and I can't blame them, really. =P It's great that you enjoyed the story still. Thanks very much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Laiquendi Afterglow

3rd April 2007:
Wow! such an amazing story and so well written. Your descriptions and use of imagery are wonderful, you easily pull the reader into the scene. I loved your characterisations both before and after the final battle, it was so sad to see how they had all been affected by the war.
And the ending...lovely!
~Lai.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much. =D It's fantastic that you enjoyed this story (even the ending, haha) and that the imagery from the beginning pulled you in - that part of this story is definitely one of my favourites. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by elvengirl Afterglow

12th March 2007:
Great story, really the way you wrote it, it was wow.
You are a great writer!
Keep up the good work!
Elvengirl

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ragnatela_1 Afterglow

3rd March 2007:
That was beautifully haunting. I've read very few Snape/Hermione fics, but I'd have to say it was one of the best.

10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much! I'm glad to hear you say so. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by Canadian Warrior Babe Afterglow

24th February 2007:
ha!!! I enjoyed that quite a lot. Eariler I was reading the reviews for thois and fallen, and I was like I'm going to read this. I'm glad I did. The description was good, quite good, and I loved the sad, action picture of her frinds battling in the light of the fire. It was also sad how Ron rejected her so, a little angst into an already shattered mind. I love how you create the feeling Hermione has. The lost love, searching, wondering. It's a great idea and you carried it well. I liked how the rain dark street scene was dipicted, as well as the bar.

this is great and I'm putting it into my favorites. You did a lot with something that another would have struggled with.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you very much for reviewing and enjoying the story. This story is definitely filled with emotion and it was a challenge to write, though I'm glad that I did. =D Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #21, by trease5 Afterglow

21st February 2007:
This was amazing...
I read the second part first merely by chance and have been searching for "afterglow" ever since. It was a great read and i can't stop thinking about this story. You know, when you come across something excellent like this, it stays with you. xoxo

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much for this very kind review. It's great that you enjoyed reading this story so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #22, by lupa_mannera Afterglow

18th February 2007:
WOW...okay, where to start here? The first half of the story I read with this terrible foreboding feeling. You wrote the battleground well. I could picture it. When you said: there was no use fighting back with anything but death I totally understood what you meant. It really hit home the terrible level this had reached. It was a slaughter by both sides. Oooh. Owww. It's so vivid it hurts! I like Remus fighting with 2 DEs...I can see him doing that because he's awesome. You can feel the numbness in the second half of the story that Hermione feels. Ron needs a slap or two, IMHO. I stumbled upon "Fallen" but when I saw it was a continuation, I read this first. Thanks for this story. I'm off to read the next piece. Keep on writing!

Author's Response: Haha, Remus is indeed very awesome. That's why I couldn't let him die - too many theories about his death scare me. =S Anyway, thank you very much for this great review, lupa_mannera. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by silver phoenix Afterglow

18th February 2007:
Oohh. This was so beautifully written. I haven't read many stories with this pairing, but I find myself not minding. Phenominal! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, silver phoenix. I really appreciate your review - it's very kind of you to say this story is phenomenal. =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheFalk Afterglow

12th February 2007:
aww. I like Happy endings.
good job.

Author's Response: Thanks. =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by canadian_dreamer Afterglow

10th February 2007:
Wow, that was amazingly written. I loved it, it's the first story I have read of this ship but it was really well done and believable.
It was perfect in almost every way and i am in awe of you're skills, it's breathtaking how many wonderfull and talented authors I have found on this site!

This must have been my favourite sentance from the whole story, though there were many..." Now they were gone forever to that blackness known as Death. They were now beyond the veil, like so many before them."

Congradulations on such an amazing story!
xXx


Author's Response: *blushes* Wow, thank you very much. I really appreciate your review. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>