Reading Reviews for Loved and Lost
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Ria Who Wants to Live Forever?

20th November 2005:
Beautiful............that's all I can say; I'm speechless.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you! It's so great to hear you loved it so much. =)

 Report Review

Review #27, by megs Who Wants to Live Forever?

20th October 2005:
I believe that writing from a person's pov is like acting, you have to concentrate on becoming that character. You did that with Ginny... you made her believable, she stil sounded like Ginny. I also think that you wrote this very well, that her feeling's are all very realistic, and as I read I was puzzled by it, so deep into the story that I didn't even notice any grammar mistakes. I think that you should write one with dialogue as I would defeniatly be curious on how you write then. Good Job and Keep Writing! If I find time I'll also review the other one you mentioned.

Author's Response: The challenge of this story for me was that there was no dialogue at all. Usually I'm pretty heavy in that department, so this was an entirely new realm of writing. You're right about the acting part, megs. It takes a lot of energy to take on a characters thoughts and feelings. Thank you very much for reviewing this. =)

 Report Review

Review #28, by beautiful_tragedy Who Wants to Live Forever?

19th October 2005:
i liked this...good job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. =)

 Report Review

Review #29, by summer_rain Who Wants to Live Forever?

18th October 2005:
This was wonderful. The song lyrics really helped close each paragraph, and really fit the story very well. This was really, really good. Ginny was characterized perfectly, and her thoughts were so poignant. You really expressed her thoughts well. The wanting to hate Harry was very good and realistic, and I loved, loved, loved the comparisons between Tom and Harry. This was fantastic and you rocked this challenge!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much, summer_rain. It's wonderful to see how much you liked this story. This was my first time writing Ginny, so I'm glad that you thought it worked out so well. Thank you! =)

 Report Review

Review #30, by nicespice Who Wants to Live Forever?

16th October 2005:
That was so sad. I liked how you were so ambiguous to where and when Ginny was, and then you explained it as the story progressed. If that was your first song fic, that was pretty good. I wrote a song fic and mine was okay. So yeah, your's was excellent, but that's my opinion. Besides it also helped that I'm hopelessly biased towards most inside head angsty stories like this. Curse you for writing a better angsty song fic then me!

Author's Response: lol, thank you very much, nicespice. Not bad for my first songfic, eh? =P It was interesting writing the entire thing using Ginny's thoughts and without description of setting. I'm glad you enjoyed it. =)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Piglet Who Wants to Live Forever?

8th October 2005:
Very good 100000/100

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Piglet. =)

 Report Review

Review #32, by 62442almystery Who Wants to Live Forever?

6th October 2005:
I really liked how Ginny said she wasn't a book, but I also liked how she had loved two enemies. Also, you did a great job with the songfic, making the story fit perfectly with the song.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, magicalmystery. It was a fun piece to write, but quite a challenge at the same time, especially working the song lyrics into it. =)

 Report Review

Review #33, by jynx67 Who Wants to Live Forever?

5th October 2005:
I was listening to my XM Radio and they started playing music for Highlander, one of the orchestrated pieces of this song and it made me think of this story. So, I had to come read it again. It's still so beautiful and poignant. I really must add this to my favorites.

Author's Response: Oh my, jynx. It was a big surprise to get a second review from someone! I really don't know what to say - I'm sitting here grinning madly. Thank you very very very much! =)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Entropy Who Wants to Live Forever?

5th October 2005:
I like how this story was purely narration, with no dialogue. It really depends on what kind of feel you are going for, but this style of story I thought really nicely portrayed a little stubborn heartbreak. Dialogue would have just broken it up, and made it seem choppy. Nice choice of song, good job.

Author's Response: It was a little strange to have absolutely no dialogue, but since I was just focussing in on Ginny's thoughts, it worked out in the end. You're right, dialogue really wouldn't have fit at all. Thanks for your review, I really appreciate it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #35, by LostMaeblleshire Who Wants to Live Forever?

5th October 2005:
Oh my, Violet, out of your realm or not, it was still beautiful! And that ending? Pure grace. And I think that this also showed all of the sides of Ginny. Most of it portrayed her more mature self, while toward the middle, there was a bit where she sounded more childish. It’s just not fair. It helped remind the reader that's she's still only fifteen years of age as opposed to, say, twenty. The lyrics also fit well. I'm glad that you didn't put a whole verse to the song, and just put one or two lines. I think that enlightened the text around it and made a larger statement. The only thing, though, is that it's a tad bit choppy in a few certain areas, though I may just be imagining them. (They don't, of course, take away from the entire story. It's too good for that.) It must have been so difficult not to put dialogue in! So anyway, overall, I believe that this was a wonderful story. Excellent work. (I should thank Linda...)

Author's Response: Finally! Someone has found something wrong! (sorry, it's just unreal to think that a rush-job story like this was perfect =P) It is a bit choppy, mostly because I took my original handwritten version and added bits - which does rather break up the initial flow I'd created. Anyways, I love reviews like this - those that find the good and the bad. ^_^ Thanks so much, LostMaebelleshire, for such a wonderful review. Reading it made my day a lot brighter. =D

 Report Review

Review #36, by Ruperts_Princess Who Wants to Live Forever?

4th October 2005:
I LOVED THIS SOOO MUCH! It was really well written - I mean really well written...you get some fics that you read and the writing isnt just right soo you give up after the first few chpaters - but the way you right I could read 50 chpaters of your fics without getting bored. Its a really interesting idea about Ginny loving both Tom and Harry ---> and that connection that exists - if you think about it that is a workable idea I am suprised I havent seen it anywhere before. Anyway I am glad you replioed to my post on the forum I have really enjoyed reading this fics of yours and dont heistate to PM me with any further stories you want reviewing well done xx

Author's Response: Gosh, wow. This is a very flattering review. =D Thank you very much for it Ruperts_Princess. The idea about Tom and Harry being similar is an interesting idea, but alas I'm not the only one to have written about it - there are a few stories scattered around that also deal with that potentiality. Once again, thank you for reading my story and giving such a wonderful review. You're certainly welcome to r/r any of my other stories as well. =)

 Report Review

Review #37, by BJAuth Who Wants to Live Forever?

2nd October 2005:
Poor Ginny. You've written her angst beautifully here, mixed with anger and despair. I like how you paralleled the two of them - saying how Tom was her first love was a great twist. Very good. Run to him, Ginny. Go with him and tell not to be so silly!

Author's Response: Thank you for such a wonderful review, BJ. I always look forward to what you have to say. ^_^ Is it better for Ginny to run after him or should she make her own life? That is the question...

 Report Review

Review #38, by Hufflepuff Who Wants to Live Forever?

2nd October 2005:
This was beautiful! I adore Queen and Ginny. What could be better than the two together? I think you've captured her thoughts very well. Congratulations on stepping "out of your realm."

Author's Response: Queen and Ginny. What a combination! =D Thank you very much for your kind review, Hufflepuff. It was quite an experience to write this.

 Report Review

Review #39, by timeturner Who Wants to Live Forever?

2nd October 2005:
Oh! What a great combination...Riddle and Harry. You've done magnificent with this, Violet. Songfics are sometimes very very hard to pull off but you've done a great job not only telling a complete story but intertwining the words with the story as well. Great job, thanks for joining me on this crazy ride that will probably go down in history as the most convulted challenge ever done here. ;)

Author's Response: Convulted is certainly a good word to describe the challenge. =D Thanks for what you said in this review. For my first songfic, it's not that bad. Though my favourite thing about the story is what you mentioned about Tom and Harry - quite creepy that thought of Ginny's is... =) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #40, by firefawn Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
Wow... All I can say is wow after reading that... That was truly, undeniably deep. Ginny's parallel between Tom and Harry was particularly effective, as was her profession for them as being her first, and then last, loves. The different types of comparisons used within this piece were done remarkably well, as was the display of human psychology. People's thoughts are oft to run in circles, as did Ginny's here. But most importantly was the end conclusion, that she did not need to wait forever because she already had his love. Tragedy could be found within every line of the story, tragedy for Harry's foolishness, for people's underestimation of Ginny, and for the situations at hand. It's such a shame this is a one-shot because reading more of her deliberate thoughts would be fabulous! (It is a one-shot isn't it? I just followed the link from the forum so did not yet view the classification.) Lastly, I was left with the distinct impression that Ginny would not fall over and die. She would go on strong, and would join the Order agaisnt everyone's wishes, her safety be D*$&ed! I loved seeing that defiance and attitude. Harry's attempt to save her may be what pushes her headstrong self into even more dangerous situations. This is fabulously great, and on another note I was so flattered to see you had enjoyed that old axiom in my one-shot. :) Thank you so much, and thank you for your help and amusing antics on the forums along the way during this challenge as well!

Author's Response: Yes, this is a one-shot unfortunately, I doubt if I'd be able to write anything like it again - it was just that different for me to write. But wow, your review is stunning, firefawn. I really don't know what to say since "thank you" doesn't seem to be enough. =) It's been fun taking on such a challenge as timeturner's - and also thanks for your support and humour on the forums. Thank you so incredibly much!

 Report Review

Review #41, by Rebekka Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
First, you deserve every praise you've got for this song-fic. Song-fic? I didn't notice. It flowed so nicely, so elegantly that the lyrics only emphasized the story's effect, not diminished it. And the word elegant really fits to your story. I think you made Ginny more realistic character to me and I can't believe you wrote about Ginny, too. She's my character for this challenge. :) I truly and utterly hate her, but in your story she is a wonderful character. I think this sentence made this the best song-fic I've ever read: "Instead of asking myself why he left, however, I should rather ask myself a very different question: why should I care?" I have absolutely no critic for you. Brilliant work, Susan.

Author's Response: Elegant? Really? Wow, thanks so much Rebekka! It's strange how Ginny just flowed onto the page once I got started even though I've never written about her before. I was so worried in posting this story that it wouldn't work out (especially that the lyrics wouldn't fit). Thank you for the review - it was a challenge to write such a story but it paid off in the end. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #42, by LogicalRaven Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
Nice song-fic. I think you captured Ginny perfectly. I definately don't think she is going to be one who sits around and waits for Harry to stop playing the noble hero. I've never heard the song, but the lyrics seem very honest.

Author's Response: Thanks, Logical. You're right about Ginny, she's not the stay-at-home type at all. I'm glad the story worked out alright. =)

 Report Review

Review #43, by shortiibabi Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
I loved this, you did an awesome job writing the challenge. I hope mine comes out as good as yours did! great job writing ginny's pov and using the song, I listened to it while I was reading it and it fit perfectly with your plot line. Loved it. :D

Author's Response: Thanks, shortiibabi! This was an interesting piece to write and putting the song lyrics in the right places was just a fraction of the challenge. =D Good luck on your story.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Lovely_luna(not signed in) Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
that was tragicly beautiful. It really made you think about the similarities and differences between Voldemort and Harry, how Ginny loved them both, and how even she said that if it were fifty years before she probobly would have kissed Tom instead of Harry. Her emotions were beautifuly mixed in and the song fitted perfectly. Good Job Violet!

Author's Response: That comparison between Tom and Harry was rather last minute, especially the part when Ginny talks about the kiss. It just fit her personality so well that I couldn't not put it in. =) Thanks for the review, Lovely_luna! It's so wonderful to hear what people think!

 Report Review

Review #45, by jynx67 Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
Okay, first you have to go and thank me in your author's notes. You are very welcome. Second you use a song that ALWAYS brings tears to my eyes. I love this song and the movie from which it comes. Then you write Ginny, very well I might add, EXACTLY how I pictured her mind was going after Harry walked away. I don't normally like songfics (it breaks up the story, I feel), but since I know this song, it brings everything together nicely. Yes, I did have tears in my eyes as I read this. It's beautiful story. Very well done, Violet.

Author's Response: Oh my. I didn't mean to make you cry, jynx! But yes, that song does fit the situation so well - I love that song, but it wasn't until lately that I realized how it fit into HBP. So Ginny came out alright? *phew* I was worried she might sound very OOC since I've never written her before. Thank you for your review! Reading it made me feel so incredibly happy! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #46, by flutterby Who Wants to Live Forever?

1st October 2005:
sob, that was so brilliant and beautiful and touching and lovely and wonderful! you wrote so wonderfully, it's almost like i was feeling what Ginny was feeling. and it was like i was reading her diary, where she could put her deepest, most secret thoughts, and you're story was the window between me and her diary. you really opened up Ginny and poured her soul out. honestly, i don't think i've read such a good story about what GInny's feeling after Harry broke up with her. this was just brilliant. i loved it. great job!

Author's Response: Thank you thank you thank you! I like how you caught on to the diary aspect of the story, which sort of mirrors what she would have told Tom in CoS. I'm glad to hear that Ginny worked out, as well, because I was afraid that she would sound indecisive, even fickle. Your compliemtns have made me very happy indeed. ^_^ Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>