Reading Reviews for The Final Battle
  
1,979 Reviews Found

Review #26, by alicia and anne The Knight of the Battle

14th August 2011:
Ha! this is hilarious! I love Sir Cadogan!
He's crazy and I can't believe he distracted Seamus, I bet Seamus was so confused and think "what on earth?" a lot. That must have been so distracting to have. And Sir Cadogan impressing a lady with his yelling. Bless him.
Trust him to be the crazy person in the fight, and challenging people he wouldn't be able to fight.
Wonderful one shot! made me laugh a lot!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #27, by alicia and anne The Bravest Coward

14th August 2011:
Ok now I am crying.
This is beautiful! I'm so glad that Lily came to meet him in the afterlife and told him that she forgave him a long time ago. I can't believe that he kept calling himself a coward if only he could see just how brave he was! And that line when he said he wish he was brave enough to love him. :-(
I'm so glad that Lily and Snape are back together in the end, they should never have stopped their friendship.
You're so amazing for writing this.

alicia and anne
SLytherin

 Report Review

Review #28, by alicia and anne Hannah Abbott's Revenge

14th August 2011:
I loved how she was just so pumped full of revenge and anger and was ready to take down the death eaters no matter what happened to her. It's amazing what revenge can do to adrenaline and you wrote her anger extremely well, I felt like I was feeling her anger along with her. And when she met him at the end the fact that she waited until he turned around just showed that she wasn't going to do it in a cowardly way.
Amazing one shot.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #29, by alicia and anne I Am a Ravenclaw

14th August 2011:
I loved how Marietta was taunting Bellatrix! not many people would have had the courage to do that. I did love the taunting very much. I loved how you wrote this and the ending was just such a little cliffhanger, did she make it? did she not? was it aimed at someone else?
I liked how you mentioned Mariettas feelings towards Ginny and the others about the hex they gave her, I feel sorry for her for not knowing not to drink the veritasirum.
You wrote this very well, it was an enjoyable and gripping read

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #30, by alicia and anne Afterlife

14th August 2011:
I love this idea! I would have never thought of writing about Lily, James and the others watching him from the afterlife. But they must have been too. They must have felt so hopeless from where they were. You wrote how I imagined them all to be so well and I really enjoyed reading about what they thought about the battle. Especially Lily being the worried mum.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #31, by alicia and anne In the End

14th August 2011:
This was a sad one.
You wrote Remus really well in this and the fact that he would be happy to lose his lycanthropy if he died and would finally be normal was a nice addition to his thoughts of his son and just how great he was.
I got really sad when he said he thought he was winning and then how he didn't even see his wife fall until it was too late. The battle is such a sad and horrific time.
I really enjoyed reading this one

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #32, by alicia and anne A Different Kind of Strength

14th August 2011:
I actually cried at his one! This is so heartbreaking and sad and I feel so sorry for the entire Weasley family.
I can't begin to imagine the pain that Molly and Arthur are going through and then to have to put on a brave face and be strong for the rest of their family must be killing them to even think about.
You wrote this so well and you really got the sadness across excellently, it was like we were all there standing with the Weasley's grieving for Fred with them.
Fantastic one shot

alicia and anne
SLytherin

 Report Review

Review #33, by alicia and anne War of Allegiance

14th August 2011:
Oh wow! I never would have thought to write from a wands point of view! you're brilliant! an actual genius!
You wrote this so well and I loved it! I loved that the wand had feelings and was just thinking about how he doesn't want to put his full power behind spells.
It's extremely weird to read from a wands point of view but you made it work so well. You are just amazing!

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #34, by alicia and anne Donít Mess With the Barmaid

14th August 2011:
I love how you wrote Rosmerta! she seems so amazing fighting to protect the students she served and who were too young to be fighting at all. She has such attitude and confidence, and your last line of how people shouldn't mess with barmaids just goes to show that.
I enjoy reading about outsiders of Hogwarts fighting in the battle and see how they feel about it and what side they're fighting on.
I love your take on this and you wrote Rosmerta just beautifully.

alicia and anne
slytherin

 Report Review

Review #35, by alicia and anne War Changes People

14th August 2011:
Ha! that was immense! Who would have thought that Ginny would have that in her! I for sure didn't.
I love the interaction between the two, Ginny's firey personality and Draco's uncaring persona were written expertly and it was like it should have been a scene from the books. I can just see Ginny having cornered Draco and him trying to manipulate himself out of it by trying to be cool and not show his fear.
I really loved this!!

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #36, by alicia and anne Dumbledoreís guilt

14th August 2011:
This was such a good idea! I love the fact that this is from a portraits point of view!
And how they wanted to help even though they were physically able to. I liked the touch of having Snapes portrait already waiting for him to go into it.
I wish that Dumbledore didn't feel all of his guilt and feel the need to hide, and it was sad to see him crying :-(
I really enjoyed this idea and the way you wrote it.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #37, by alicia and anne I wanted to die before you did

14th August 2011:
I like how your one shot shows that even fully trained aurors would have trouble fighting in the war as well as others.
It was amazing that Remus was facing many death eaters at once and was able to hold his own.
The bittersweetness of their words were written well as mere moments later they were taken down. And I loved the line at the end from Tonks.
This was a beautiful one shot.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #38, by alicia and anne Broken

14th August 2011:
I always get so sad when I read anything that has to do with Freds death and your one shot was no exception.
It was nice to see this from Percy's point of view and the pain and hurt he was going through was described perfectly.
The way he felt nothing but the need for revenge at the end was extremely believable and I think you wrote this just amazingly.
I really enjoyed reading this.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #39, by alicia and anne For my parents

14th August 2011:
This was amazing! I have goosebumps and was on the edge of my seat when that girl was fighting the death eater. I was hoping that the character would get there to save them and was sad that they were too late.
It must have been horrible to see all of this and have to watch out for their brother as well, I would have been heartbroken thinking they were out there.
overall a fantastic one shot, I loved how you described the fight and feelings, and I espcially liked how you had them heal themself at the beginning as though they were unstoppable.

alicia and anne
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #40, by Iloenchen We All Have Our Strengths

13th August 2011:
Oh, I really liked this one-shot. It's so interesting to read about the battle from Oliver Wood's POV. I loved that he decided to fight on a broom, it fits him well. Was he actually in the battle in the books? I can't remember - not that it matters very much because you've written it all so well that it sounds very believable to me.

It's interesting how they decide to use the killing curse, but I guess that's what a war makes of you. Also, I loved the idea of summoning the cloak. That part was almost funny, when they were looking at the person from above and had no idea if it was a Death-Eater or not.

Altogether, you've done a great job!

 Report Review

Review #41, by NaidatheRavenclaw Repentance

13th August 2011:
Wow. This was gorgeous, and terrible, all at the same time. By terrible, I don't mean your story, of course, but what you wrote about; the pain, the suffering, that. That was borderline disturbing, but I loved every word!

I love the character you chose for this. She's such a minor character, yet you really gave her a story. You took her and showed that even the smallest of characters can be really important, and really interesting.

Great job with this! It was flawless in every way.
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #42, by NaidatheRavenclaw Ocean Eyes

13th August 2011:
This was so sad, and so well written!

You did such an excellent job of writing this. George's emotions came through better than I see in a lot of stories, and I think you managed to portray how he felt without being overly dramatic or angsty. It was very sad, it was horribly angsty, but it was soft and flowed well at the same time.

My favorite part was the paragraph with all the metaphors. That was just genius.

Your style is gorgeous. The way you fit the words together, and the imagery in this was fantastic. I adored it.

Absolutely amazing job!
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #43, by Snapdragons Halvsies

13th August 2011:
This made me smile! :) It's so very, very Fred to be joking and laughing, even in death. He would want to make George smile - I can't see Fred as being one that would want doom and gloom to follow his death. He'd much prefer to be remembered with laughter and pranks. "It's okay to miss me, but please don't be sad." Loved that!

Him remembering Percy laughing and telling a joke was perfect - I'm so glad that Percy came back and was there in Fred's last moments.

I liked how you mentioned that Fred and George still had that "thread" between them. Not even death could ever really separate them.

"Honestly, you'd think you'd lost half your brain or something. It's still there. I just checked." This was bittersweet for me - it was funny, but it made you think about how lost George must be feeling. It'll be strange for him, having to be by himself for the first time in his life.

A wonderful look in the mind of Fred. I really enjoyed it! :) Great job.
-Snapdragons (Ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Debra20 Hope

10th August 2011:
Charlie! I am so pleased to read an entry focused on him. Charlie is such an overlooked character. He doesn't deserve it. Luckily you were here to save him!

I loved how you played his role in this story around his skills and abilities. Now that I've read it, it seems so natural that Charlie was the one to convince the centaurs to join the Battle. Another successful story mel! You are steadily becoming one of my favourite authors here. With stories like these, how could you now?


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #45, by Debra20 The Bathroom

10th August 2011:
Moaning Myrtle and Luna Lovegood. What an interestingly odd pairing you thought of. Pairing not in the romance sense, more as actors sharing the same scene.

I found both Myrtle and Luna kept very well in character. Especially Myrtle with her wails, and violent attacks to those that made fun of her or disturbed her in any way. It really must have been hard for her to see her 'home' destroyed in the Battle. Myrtle has always been very attached to her bathroom. A very clever move to create your entry around this event and it's effect on Myrtle.


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #46, by Debra20 No More

10th August 2011:
WOW! Is this...is this Hogwarts we are seeing here?

I never thought someone could have this genius idea to give life and conscious thought to the school. And yet, how natural it seems. How normal. How sad. Reading 'her' thought reminded me of a Pygmalion and Galatea. How he breath life into the statue with his life. Hogwarts reminded me of Galatea. You can feel her frozen emotions, not nearing the intensity of humans and yet they are still there.

I never imagined such an impossible task as writing the Final Battle of Hogwarts written from the POV of the school itself could be so masterfully handled. It's amazing what imagination and skill can do. Big big congratulations!


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #47, by Debra20 Brave

10th August 2011:
I found this a great take on the moment Neville freed himself from the body bind spell. I always wondered how he had done it. I can't recall anyone else ever achieving it.

I think the most emotional part of this little tale is the one where Neville sees his parents again. I love it how in Jo's world (and your story also!) the dead or lost loved ones always come to the air of their children/close ones in their most time of need. Harry when he needed to die. Now Neville when he almost gets burned.

I was surprised that you gave him a love interest. Despite being obvious, I for one never really imagined him being in love with someone before. Now I'm really curious to find out more about the girl that sacrificed her life to save his.

All in all, a very enjoyable entry!


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #48, by Arithmancy_Wiz The End

10th August 2011:
I didn't get a chance to read as much of this collab as I hoped but I take it from the other reviews that selecting Harry's POV was a rarity. I agree that he can be rather difficult to write as we know him so well, but I thought you picked up on a lot of good details here. I doubt he would have been able to sleep easily, or wanted to talk much with anyone other than Ron or Hermione...and checking on the body does seem exactly like something he would do. I also thought the ending was very clever. Poor Harry, even after Voldemort is dead he is still having dreams about him.

Overall, I thought this was well-crafted. The musings and reflections were incorporated nicely with Harry's actually meandering through the castle. The best parts were when you provided specific details - like the rubies on the ground or the burning of the bodies. These things hit home a lot more than more general terms like "All the room's contents had been knocked down." You've got a good brain for the former. Don't be afraid to be specific. We don't need to know every detail - in fact the details can just be a quick, well-thought phrase - but unique comments like that really shine.

To offer a little CC, I would say this read a bit rough around the edges at times. For example: "...it was quite different being out in the open in broad daylight...He was back in his old dormitory in Gryffindor tower." While the broad daylight may be metaphoric, it sounds a bit like you are saying he is outside but also in the tower. Also, you mention the Headmaster's tower twice: when Harry comments on visiting it and again in paragraph five. You seem to be saying it both fared well and was hit pretty badly. That's a bit contradictory and makes it hard for the reader to craft a mental image. There are also a few missing words here and there but I know that as a collab, you can't always get in and edit (I always seem to have typos when I first post).

Thanks for sharing your one-shot. Best of luck on future writing!

A_wiz (RC)

 Report Review

Review #49, by Celtic_Dreamer7 A Squib's Help

9th August 2011:
This was great. I loved this. This is one of those moments that you know happened but we never had the opportunity to read because no one can fit everything into a book. Great job showing emotion with the students and how he felt after helping them. I love the part with Peeves. I never could imagine Filch looking for him. But desperate times calls for desperate measures. Your descriptions were great and I loved how you started the piece, right in the middle of the action.

~Celtic~
Celtic_Dreamer7
Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #50, by Debra20 Penance

9th August 2011:
10/10

I am utterly out of speech. How can someone get Percy SO well? So in character. So...so...so...oh Merlin I am really out of words.

In all seriousness, I must admit this must be the best Percy story I have ever read in my time here on HPFF. His portrayal was just spotless. Not too much emotion, but still enough to make the reader deeply feel for him. What I loved best is how you let us know the amount of guilt he was feeling. Knowing every thing he had done in the past, and how little time he had to atone for his mistakes, it was very saddening reading his efforts to explain himself to Penelope. The depth of their relationship has been explored so much in such few words.

Also, knowing what is about to come, Fred dying, made it almost unbearable to read the end. I can't find the right words to praise your story enough. Thank you for making me love Percy!


House Cup 2011, End of an Era Review Extravaganza
Forum name: Debra20
House: Gryffindor

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>