Reading Reviews for The Middle
  
137 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Ron 4 Hermione For A Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimistic

23rd July 2012:
Another good chapter- its starting to pick up pace now and it sounds interesting! I wonder who the new defence against the dark arts teacher will be??
The canon teachers that you have introduced in this chapter are written just perfectly, especially hagrid. The part about him 'noisily blow his nose' is jsut perfect! :)
I like professor longbottom, he seems to be an interesting character and I'm glad he has faith in her, even if she doesn't!
The head boy and girl also seem like interesting characters, so I'll be keeping an eye on them :D
Good chapter - 10/10 :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Jchrissy A Little Less Seventeen Candles

18th July 2012:
Dom is so bratty/hostile that she make for an amazing narrative voice! I think you are doing a very good job with first person. I find a lot of people having difficulty with tenses from with it, but you didn't falter!

Can you blame her for throwing herself in the seat? She basically is eating rabbit food, she might as well give it to her owl (love his name, btw). Poor girl should get a mountain of waffles on her birthday!

Anyway, I love how you introduced her, and considering I'm not very up to date on next gen, I wasn't sure who she was for a bit, which I liked.

I'm not sure at this point if she'd really have enough Veela blood to be a veela, but I still love the description of it being practically impossible for them to get fat, haha!

I like also that you've shown the contrast in the families with the birthdays in France and the birthdays at the burrow. A firework in her lap?? Poor Hermione!!!

For what a hostile girl she seems to be, she's very honest with herself. At least so far. Admitting you don't know where you're going after school would be hard, but you handle it so it seems very natural for her!

So, this is great so far! I would suggest adding some more descriptions pertaining to the surroundings. You do a great job describing what the charter is doing, but I didn't really get a scenery set.

Very good first chapter! It was so much fun to read and made me want to continue!

 Report Review

Review #28, by CloakAuror9 Consequences Are Overrated

17th July 2012:
Hey there! I am so sorry for taking forever with this review. Things just piled up one after the other and I'm just terrible at time management so...yeah.

I thought that this was a very very interesting chapter. All the chaos in one action-packed chapter is good -really good. I really enjoyed how everything was consistent throughout the end, there wasn't any choppy or confusing bits. It was just an overall great read.

Minnie, is not the sharpest tool in the shed, but you gotta give the girl some credit. She totally surprised at all with that revelation of hers. Ugh, how I wish it was a hundred percent true though.

Matilda Ramsey is the one of the most annoying character I have ever come across with. I seriously thought no one can beat Lily Luna Evans, but hell here is Matilda Ramsey! Merlin, I wish James punched her instead of Castor. Though you can't blame her, the things you do when you fancy someone are, sometimes, greatly annoying. I like the fact that she's jealous though, because that means she knows that Dare likes Minnie! :D Even Castor Greengrass is supporting the theory and by the looks of it, James is too. He probably knew about it before anyone else did because he and Dare are besties.

As I write this review, I am quickly realising how complicated and twisted this story is -a thought that both scares and joys me. You must've spent so much time planning the plot or maybe not, either way you have a really great story right now. Its very interesting and well written so yeah.

Dare better make a move soon. I'm suffering from lack of PDA here. The boy has got a complicated life too, I must admit, he's not loud, obnoxious or arrogant; I don't even know what he truly is.

Anyway, fantastic chapter as always!
Izzy xx

Author's Response: I'm just as bad when it comes to time management, so don't worry about it. :)

Yeah, this chapter had a quite a lot of things going on in it. I'm glad that it was consistent, though. That's probably what worried me most about putting so much stuff in here. I was afraid that everyone would get confused and that it'd seem abrupt, but good to know I pulled it off.

Ah yes, Min's got quite a few tricks up her sleeve. I'm glad that she's keeping everyone on their toes - I really hate it when characters become preditcable. I'm sorry it wasn't true though, but maybe sometime in the future. If Min can learn to let things go, that is.

Hahaha, oh Ramsey. I actually really like writing her character, because she's just that annoying and jealous and ridiculous. And James would never punch a girl, although I'm sure she's tempted him a few times. As for what he knows about Min and Dare, well we'll just have to wait and see, now don't we?

You're not the only one who thinks this story is complicated. I get scared some times about how twisted every thing is, but it's also so much fun. I've definitley spent a lot of time thinking about how I wanted the plot to develop and everything go, but there's also a lot that's improvised. Like the whole thestral crashing into the classroom. I know what I want to happen and how I want everyone to react, it's just getting them there that usually takes me the longest. And that's where the improv comes in!

I'm so happy to know that it's keeping you interested, though. I fear that the complicatedness of the story might put people off, so it's really comforting that you're actually intrigued by it.

Ah yes, Dare's a bit of a mystery. And definitely complicated. To be honest, for the longest time I didn't even know what he was, but I think I've got him figured out now. And as for him making a move, well it's going to take something pretty drastic for that to happen. But who knows, it might be sooner than we think.

Thanks again Izzy, I really appreciate your reviews!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by Ron 4 Hermione Self-Depreciation Is My Specialty

15th July 2012:
Awww! My heart just broke a bit! He is so sweet and he was actually upset that they forgot her birthday!
James seems like a lot of fun- they have a nice relationship going on :)
Did you make the chapter images, there really good?!
10/10 :)

Author's Response: Yeah, Louis's a bit of a sweet heart. And even though he's terrified of Min, he still cares about her. And I did, yeah. The banner and chapter images are all done by me. Glad you like them!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Ron 4 Hermione A Little Less Seventeen Candles

15th July 2012:
Aww, poor minne, how could her parents forget her birthday? (hopefully they're just pretending to forget)
I like the way you learn about the characters mainly through there actions and dialogue instead of just a huge chunk of a describing paragraph!
A good start, It sounds like it could be an exciting story!
10/10

Author's Response: Hi there! Aw, well with the wedding and work and all of that craziness going on, Bill and Fleur haven't exactly been up to par with their parenting. They'll find out eventually, though. And thank you! I try to refrain doing huge character descriptions and just let the readers find out for themselves.

Thanks for the review!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Moonyxluna Consequences Are Overrated

9th July 2012:
Hi! Here with another review :)

I'm sort of speechless at how everything just snowballed while they were arguing in the DADA classroom. It was brilliant, don't get me wrong, but I'm so curious as to how she's going to dig herself out and explain her actions to all of those things. :)

Everyone is calling what Dare and Minnie have 'sexual tension' and it's hilarious every time how much it stops her. I can't believe she pulled the "girlfriend" card, and I thought it was absolutely perfect how much Dare tensed up when she tried to move closer to him.

Matilda's jealous!! That was awesome.

Oh, so this is just something nitpicky, but if you edit you should change all of the moments where you reference McGonagall as 'Headmistress McGonagall' to 'Professor McGonagall' -- we never called Dumbledore 'Headmaster Dumbledore', it was always Professor Dumbledore, so it's just a consistency thing with the book.

I loved how you characterized McGonagall telling off Matilda. It was really in character of her to spin things around and it was awesome to see Matilda get pushed down a peg :D

I think my favorite part was after they left, after the arguing, when she said Silly me for thinking that there was a slight chance a bloke might like me., and Dare's immediate sputtering and correcting of what he had said. That whole scene was just so adorable and I think you wrote it so well. I still am sticking with my guess that Dare fancies her, but I know it's going to take a lot more than that to get him to make a move.

And.. Fred's comment. This is my guess. I think James knows about Dare's feelings (which I'm confirming because of how much he blushed at Freddy's question), and is playing up the "they don't like eachother!" card so that Minnie doesn't find out.

At least, I hope that's the case :) I'm really interested to see what happens as far as consequences so do re-request when the next chapter gets posted! I'm really enjoying reading this story and I think you're going a brilliant job with it. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Hey Julie! Sorry for taking a bit longer to get back to you - it's been a little crazy.

Haha, considering how Minnie's constantly digging herself into such situations, I think she'll be able to find away to get herself out. She just needs to learn to think before she speaks, is all. ;)

Matilda is so jealous of her. It'll be seen much more later throughout the story, once I've established Min/Dare's relationship more.

Ah, yeah I was always confused about that. Thanks for pointing it out and I'll definitely fix it from now on.

Haha, I'm glad you enjoyed that! I figured you'd enjoy their little awkward wall scene. And you are correct - it's going to take a lot more than that for him to make a move. If he ever does, that is. :P

Hmmm, that's a pretty good theory you've got there. I guess we'll just have to find out later on in the story.

Thanks again for your reviews! They've been so helpful and I'm really glad that you're enjoying this.
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Moonyxluna Flight of the Thestral

5th July 2012:
Hi Camila! Here with another review for you :)

I really want to know what happened in the 'Great Quidditch Incident of 2017'.

By now I am familiar with these characters, so I'll just stick to letting you know that everyone stayed true to their personalities as I read through this chapter. I already told you about the dialogue tag/comma stuff so I'm not going to harp on about that again :)

Oh, poor Minnie. Everyone's embarrassing (or, disgusting) her at the breakfast table! I kind of have this feeling - by James' blushing - he knows something a little more than we do. *stores in back of head* I love how everyone just was perfectly fine with adding their own two cents on how obvious all of their tension is to everyone.

Minus the time where Uncle Harry had to sit him down and finally break it to him that babies didn’t come from the Great Hippogriff. - I loved this line. hilarious!

Nat was funny here, and I liked the little set up of tension between her and James. I love how you are taking your time with different aspects of 'relationships' in this story and you aren't just rushing off to get everyone paired off as quickly as possible. Though, I kind of feel like finding out all of the Gryffindors are scared of her really hurt her feelings, so I'm wondering if that will cause a change/push forward in her personality..

Matilda Ramsey.. made her sign a letter just to say she read it? God that girl is unbearable. Is she even allowed to do that!? I loved the jokes about how scarred Louis will be for life because of Nat.

Oh! So I totally get the reasoning for all four houses being in the same classes from one of your responses. It makes complete sense now so.. Yeah just ignore that I pointed that out :p

Dare's brooding over Calvin was very entertaining. I loved Minnie's eyelash batting technique (that TOTALLY worked) to get him to stop being so negative. I would love to read a patronus lesson! They're so fun. Although - following a little bit with Dare's brooding - I'm sort of left wondering if he could produce one :p

And Scorpius and Albus! I was so lost as to how they were 'flying' but the Thestrals was such an entertaining idea. I will feel kind of bad if Albus loses his Prefect badge over that! Keep up the great work, and Re-request! I can't wait to see more Dare and Minnie tension and Matilda evilness and everything♥ I'm going to be all sad when I catch up to you and have to wait for chapters!

-Julie

Author's Response: Haha, all in due time. I'm actually considering revealing it in the next chapter, but if not that one, then the one after that. Shouldn't take too long.

Yay for consistency! And yeah, I've got to go back and edit things up.

The thing with Minnie's "friends", is that they always put their two cents in. Especially when it's not wanted, haha. As for James knowing something, well I'm not so sure. He may have been blushing because he was just really uncomfortable about the idea of his cousin and best friend going at it.

Bahaha, I couldn't help it. Although I have to admit, the Great Hippogriff wasn't exactly my idea. I read it in a fanfiction years ago, but I don't remember what it was called or even what era it was in. I just remember thinking it was hilarious and threw it in there.

If there's one thing I'm doing with this story, is taking my time. Which is rather obvious since I've been working on this for over three years now, haha. But you're right - I don't want everyone all paired off immediately. And who knows if anything will actually happen between them? And as for the whole everyone being terrified fo Nat - well, it definitely hurt her. But I think it's a little too early in the story for her to have a change of heart. She'll probably end up just being harder on everyone, but who knows.

Ah yes, Matilda Ramsey. She's quite ridiculous, that's for sure. Don't worry, it get's worse.

Haha, I also used all four houses in the same class as a plot device, but I'm glad it makes sense.

Of course eye batting would work - Dare's got the will power of a twelve year old boy. Oh, I'm actually really looking forward to a Patronus lesson. I just haven't figured out a way to make it work and be realistic yet.

Hahaha, the whole "thestral crashing into the classroom" idea came from my sister. I was stuck trying to figure out what to do next, and then my sister suggested it (jokingly of course) and I was like, why not? It actually helps move the plot along as well as adding some comic relief. She couldn't believe I actually put it in there, haha.

Thanks again and there'll be plenty of Dare/Min tension and Matilda evilness in the next chapter!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by Moonyxluna Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?

2nd July 2012:
Hi! I'm here with another review :)

I know that awkward 'what now' feeling when you're watching a fight, and I thought Minnie's reactions of it were very accurate. I loved how all of her friends just made her go and talk to him. And they all had valid reasons too, which I liked; you didn't have it just 'hey let's make Minnie go to cause tension' but it was actually a legitimate point that she needed to be the one to do it.

I thought it was funny how painful it was for Minnie to be nice to Dare. The angst was really well written and Dare's rant was completely understandable and relatable. I think you've done a really great job giving him a voice as an OC as well as Minnie, and Nat. I love all of your characters!

I finally got you to stop hating me ♥ I didn't miss that! That's all I'm going to say on that little part but I thought it was sweet.

And then Eli has to go and RUIN EVERYTHING! But it was funny. Nat's reaction was the best, though. There's just so much tension there that the second it may get acted upon all of their friends pounce.

Her little disagreements with herself are entertaining. Every time she goes 'It's not like I cared about him or anything' it made me give one of those 'yeah, sure Minnie.' smiles. You're doing a great job, whether it's your intensions or not, of building up something between them that keeps me cheering endlessly for them.

As always, I thought this was great and I can't wait to see what happens if they have Defense together! Keep up the great work and re-request!

-Julie

Author's Response: Hey there!

Hahaha, yeah I've had far too may of those awkward after-fight moments to even count, so most of Minnie's reaction comes from personal experience. Although she does have the type of friends who would make her go just to cause tension, I prefer it when there's an actuall reason, too.

Painful, indeed. Hahaha, but at least she's trying, right? And that was just a glimpse at all of the angst Dare's got bottled up. That guy is just as screwed up as Minnie is, if not more. And thanks! I'm so glad that my characters are coming through and that you love them. :)

Hahaha, I had a feeling you'd like that bit. And I am intentionally building "something" up, although I try to be subtle about it. Hence, that little sentence being hidden between a bunch of dialogue. ;)

Thanks again Julie and I'll definitely re-request!
-Camila :)



 Report Review

Review #34, by Moonyxluna Good News for People Who Love Bad News

28th June 2012:
Hi! Back for more :)

I TOTALLY used that trick! Bigger hand writing. It works, it totally does. I actually liked writing back in high school too, I was just a slacker :p And then all the teachers started having you type your papers and that didn't work anymore.

I loved the expansion of Brain here. For how large your list of characters is you have a way of making each one of them shine through in their own moments. I can't believe Rose! I mean, yeah, so you don't like the way someone acts but you shouldn't be so rude about it! Especially how she treats Brain. I love the complexity of how each character knows each other and how they all relate to eachother in good and bad ways.

I told you how I was going to point out every little reason why Dare and Minnie should be together, right? Okay, because she's so wonderful with his little sister! I love how their friendship is, even though they're two years apart and have completely different work ethics, they still manage to enjoy eachother company. It's really sweet :)

I noticed a few dialogue tag stuff and mis-capitalized words. For example, when you say, “Whatever, Minnie.” She scoffed, - that should be: "Whatever, Minnie," she scoffed.
pronouns after dialogue, (he or she) unless it's I or a proper name don't need to be capitalized. It's a really minor fix. There's a topic on the forums called "everything you wanted to know about Dialogue" [[harrypotterfanfiction forums -Story help/information. --Writer's Resources -- Grammar Guidelines]] It's immensely helpful with everything that has to do with punctuating dialogue correctly. (I used to be a nightmare)

The Andies.. *eye twitch* urgh.. I know that exact group of girls you're describing, and I think it's funny that they're sitting there insulting Minnie even though they're in the SAME situation! I think Minnie gets the win with her hilarious nicknames :)

More Dare stuff: I loved her inner monologue freaking out that Dare would never confess his undying love for her. And - even though she didn't notice - he totally realized she wasn't at lunch because he was thinking about her, right!? *hopeful smile* you can blame it on 'the bet' all you want, Dare, but I'm on to you...

I warned you, I'm awful. :p

I was kind of confused that there were more than just two different houses in the class together. You mentioned a few from each house, usually there is only two together (like, when Harry would say, "We've got potions with Slytherin" or something) so unless it's a bigger plot part maybe keep that in mind. :)

I'm still waiting for her parents to realize! Every day that goes by for her I keep wondering how big of an apology she's going to be owed for her parents mistake! Oh, and more food descriptions with the cake :D

haha.. I love Dare's comments to them eating.

Wait. Wait wait wait wait. Brain's 'older' brother?

DARE'S A MIDDLE CHILD!?! Like Minnie! Like the title! *flails over how perfect their love is*

Oh no! I have to know what happens next! I thought the last line was such a powerful ending. You know what I'm going to say.. Re-request! You probably already guessed that I loved this. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Bigger handwriting, ftw! Hahaha, I did that pretty much all throughout elementary school. After that I had to type everythig, so there went that. But it was great while it lasted, haha.

If you think my list of characters is big now, just wait until you hit the later chapters. I've got so many OC's it's a bit ridiculous. It's good to know that they're shining, though. It can be hard to handle so many characters, so I'm never sure if they've been developed enough or not.

Brain's role in the little trio is to keep everyone grounded. She balances out Nat's dramaticness as well as keeping Minnie in line. She is the "sweet one" out of the three, so it's good to see that that's coming through.

Ah yes, most of those mistakes are just me being lazy. I've read that thread and have been taught the same thing in all of my English classes - I'm just too much of a bum to double check those kind of things. Thanks for pointing that out though, and I'll definitely go back and fix it.

Hahaha, oh the Andies. Hypocrite is their middle names. Practically all the credit for them goes to Mean Girls, even the whole "two blondes and one brunette" pattern. Yeah, I'm original.

Ah, I figured you'd enjoy that. And sorry to burst your bubble, but he realized that Minnie wasn't at lunch because she always sits with him and James/the rest of the seventh year Gryffies. And Min's presence is a little hard to miss.

As for the houses, I remember reading somewhere that with NEWT classes, since they're much smaller and harder to get into, it's all the houses combined. I could be wrong, but for the sake of the plot I'm going to keep it the way it is.

Oh, it's going to be a while before her parents realize, I'll tell you that. I can also tell you that the apology will be quite big and dramatic. ;) And hooray for food descriptions!

Dun-dun-dun-dun! Yes, just like Minnie, Dare is also a middle child. But don't let that fool you into thinking Minnie's going to accept him. Just because they have a few similarities doesn't necessarily mean they'll start being BFF's.

Thanks again for the review, and of course I'll rerequest! I can't leave you hanging like that, now can I?
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by riptide97 Consequences Are Overrated

28th June 2012:
WHOA school just started and I remember to come check this and TWO UPDATES!! Thank you hahaha you made my life much more cheerful.

OH WHAT WAS MINNIE THINKING?! Ooh well hey maybe her impulsive/semi-conscious mind speaketh the truth? ;) Also I think Al and Scorpius are adorable really they are who does such stupid things as being accidental (or not...) pranksters! And well I want friends like James/Freddy/Dare/Min(/Nat?) they remind me of like HIMYM you know? JAMES AND FREDDY

Author's Response: Hahaha, you're welcome! Yeah I went on a bit of a writing spree now that school's out for me and I have all this free time.

Hmmm, perhaps her subconcious might have been trying to sneak something in there. That, or she was just trying to tick Ramsey off. Both seem plausible to me. And I'm glad you like Al and Scorp! Those two are some of my favorite characters, and they are definitely adorable!

Hahaha, I want friends like them, too. And I'm glad you picked up on that, because HIMYM was actually an inspiration for the relationships in this story. I love that show!
Thanks again for the review!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Moonyxluna Top Marks For Not Trying

27th June 2012:
Hi Camila! I'm back for more :)

Okay, I have been meaning to ask this but I keep forgetting. Do you make all of your graphics for chapters? Because I always admire them a lot wanted to let you know they are really great!

Anyway, review time!

I know I'm repeating what I said in the previous reviews, but you just make me love and want to cheer for Dominique so much here. I'm really curious as to why she fell out of the bed and I thought her views on the 'evilness' of dust-bunnies was hilarious :)

This probably has a bit to do with the fact that I'm writing a 'kid of Oliver Wood' story too, but I loved the way you portrayed Nat through Minnie's eyes. I just think Oliver would [[haa, Oliver would, Oliver Wood... :p ]] be an awesome dad! The two's personalities work off eachother, describing Nat's personality and quirks while giving us the further characterization of Minnie that she isn't as athletic or in-shape as her "Quidditch star's kid" best friend. With her the only thing I can think is to try not to slip in the 'mirroring their parents' role. While you've done a brilliant job with that on Minnie so far, make sure Nat has her own personality and dreams instead of just pinning her as 'the kid of Oliver Wood'.

I loved the joke that Oliver bribed Neville to make his daughter the Captain. That was brilliant!

Another line that made me laugh: That immediately drops his attractiveness level down to right above Dare and just under the Giant Squid -loved! I am interested about her loathing of Hufflepuff! If that attractive of a guy can bring his level to the squid just for his house it must be pretty bad :p

She's so cynical! I love it. Her character just grows more with each chapter and it's so great to see.

It was nice to get a little bit more of a background of Dare here too. I love how she always makes fun of him in her head about being a nerdy goodie, even though it just sets up that lovely lovely tension between them even more. :D Aww! and he's blushing at Nat's comment! I just love him now. I loved how incredibly shocked Minnie was that Dare was even a Quidditch fan. I should warn you, I'm a complete romantic and I'm going to be sitting here pointing out every little spot between them and shouting at you to make them snog and get it over with!

aah, and we get a bet! Even before the moment where she chimed in, I was thinking she was going to bet the longest. I'm wondering if Dare is going to try to thwart her at all or if things will be genuine because he TOTALLY LOVES HER!

Okay.. getting ahead of myself. :p

Repeating, again, that I'm still loving how long your chapters are. And, that they don't feel like it. I get down to the bottom and I still find myself wishing there was more there! As always, re-request dear! I can't wait to read more :) These reviews haven't been very helpful lately.. But I love this, keep up the fantastic work!

Author's Response: Hi and welcome back! :)

Yeah, all the graphics for my story are done by me. They change about every few months though. I think this story has had like, fifteen different banners now? Hahaha, I get bored a lot. But thanks!

So the only reason why Minnie fell off her bed, was because the night before I wrote this I had also fallen off my bed. Creative, I know. And don't underestimate the evilness of dust bunnis. Those are some seriously mean creatures. ;)

Hahaha, Nat is probably one of my favorite characters to write. She's just so extreme and different from Minnie, which I love. I agree that its important not to have kids mirror their parents and I try to make Nat her own person. However, Nat is also a complete daddy's girl (which will be brought up more in later chapters) and grew up kind of idolizing her father. For her, her biggest dream is making her father proud. And right now, she thinks the only way to do that is by doing exactly what he did. It's still early in the story though, so she still has lots of things to learn.

Oh and I read "Knock on Wood" and absolutely loved it! Freddy and Hannah, ftw!

Yes, Minnie's got a bit of a vendetta against the Puffs. It'll be a while before we get to see where exactly that hatred comes from, but it'll happen.

Hahaha, poor Dare. Minnie's such a bully to him, I swear. But now with the bet in play, that'll hopefully start to change. Although I have to warn you, I'm so awkward when it comes to writing romance. I much prefer humor and so I'll probably avoid any Min/Dare scenes for as long as possible. Which means, no snogs for a while. If they ever happen that is, muahaha. :P

Thanks again for your reviews! And no, these have been totally helpful! Like, if you'd have never pointed out that the length of these actually work, I would've spent so much time freaking out about either boring everyone or not giving enough. So yeah, definitely helpful.
-Camila :)



 Report Review

Review #37, by countrymusicfanatic Consequences Are Overrated

27th June 2012:
This was soo good!

Matlida Ramsey cracks me up, she has some serious issues. Does she like Dare? Cuz I think Minnie was right, she seemed jealous...

I loved Minnie's plan and everyone's reactions were hilarious, especially James and Castor's lol. I loved the fight and I'm slightly scared for their detentions since Ramsey seems to be a psychotic, jealous, loon. Merline help Minnie.

The best part had to be the end though, when they were all talking about their careers and Fred kept trying to get Dare to say he has 'feelings' for Minnie which he so does. He's just to scared of James to admit it and Minnie is too stubborn. But they WILL be together because if they aren't then I will cry.

I can't wait for the next chapter, please, please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Hahaha, yeah Matilda's definitely got some issues. And yes, she does have a bit of a crush on the Head Boy. We'll see how that one goes.

Oh, the detention will not be a fun one, that's for sure. I mean, what else do you expect from a psychotic loon? Hahaha.

Aw, well I don't want to make you cry but at the same time, I can't promise the two will get together. Who knows, maybe Dare's fear of James will prevent anything from ever happening? We're just going to have to wait and see.

Thanks again for the review!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by cherry0flower Consequences Are Overrated

27th June 2012:
Ok, so I was waiting for this story to be finished before reading it and, oh, what a mistake I made!! I couldn't stop myself and here I am, begging for another chapter!!! This is so frustrating!! Aahhh! Hum. Sorry for that. So yeah, great story, I'll be watching out for the next chapter(s) :-)

Author's Response: Well, if you'd have waited til it was finished, it probably would've been years until you got around to reading it, knowing how awful I am with updating. But none the less, I'm glad you made that mistake, hahaha. So glad you like and I will try to get the next one up soon.
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by tarynrenee Consequences Are Overrated

27th June 2012:
again a great one! I'm reading this in bed and got that happy comfy feeling of meeting up with an old friend. Your writing is incredible and your characters are amazingly realistic. I hope you update again soon! No pressure though... cough (; keep up the incredible writing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so happy that you think of this like an old friend. That's really sweet! I'll try and get the next one up soon!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by You Have No Idea Who Consequences Are Overrated

26th June 2012:
Awesome chapter! I can't wait to read more : )

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you like it!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by blaaa Consequences Are Overrated

26th June 2012:
AH! an update! yay! ...yeah, I will just calm down now, hehehee. but brilliant stuff as always, the minnie/dare moment against the wall was funny and perfect, hihii. also loved the future/career talk, that was nice:) and of course hated ramsey, but who doesn't, hahaa. all in all loved it and update soon:)

Author's Response: Yay, review! Hahaha, thanks so much! And if you hate Ramsey now, then you're really not going to stand her for the next one, lol. Thanks again for your review, and I'm so glad that you enjoy this!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Hope's Mom Consequences Are Overrated

25th June 2012:
Great new chapter! Ramsey is truly awful - I am glad she wasn't able to get Al and Scorpius in more trouble. Minnie is a hoot. Dare is so afraid of his best friend's wrath that it is really funny. Thanks for the update!

Author's Response: Hahaha, yeah she is. And just wait until the next chapter where you see what she has in store for detention. I'll guarantee you'll hate her even more. Yep, Dare's a bit of a scaredy pants when it comes to James. Although considering how James is the size of a bear, I suppose it's a little understandable. Thanks for the review!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by devyani Flight of the Thestral

25th June 2012:
i am so putting you into my favourite list! i adore u Camila...its 3 am and im laughing and enjoying myself to the core..im kinda getting sad that the chapters are comng to an end so please update sooon..
great job once again :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Haha, well everything at 3 am seems hilarious. Glad that you're enjoying it, and don't worry the next chapter shouldn't take too long. Thanks again for your reviews!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by Devyani For A Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimistic

25th June 2012:
I FREAKING LOVE THIS MINNIE...hats off to you srsly! i love the warm bonding between neville and minnie! and omg love minnie! cant wait to read more. :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so happy to know that you love this.
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Devyani Self-Depreciation Is My Specialty

25th June 2012:
Are you trying out for Quidditch? No.

Are your friends trying out for Quidditch? No.

What do you and your friends do for fun? Nothing.

What did your friends do over the summer? I don’t know.

Do you even have friends? Duh.

Do you like any girls? Blank stare.

Do you like any boys? Death glare.

whoa i loved this! Dom is so coool :D one of the best character centric fics iv read! eager to read more :D
really splendid job!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! That was actually inspired by my own little brother. Glad you like it!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Cavell Consequences Are Overrated

25th June 2012:
You're awesome. And so was this chapter.
I absolutely loved Freddie, and Ramsey, and the Slytherins, and Al and Scorpius, and James - and can I just say everyone was amazing? Too bad there was no Nat, though. It's nice to see you're focusing on other things like careers unlike a lot of people who usually stick to the romance - and Minnie and Dare against the wall being weird - le sigh. I really don't know where you get these things, honestly. All in all, I can't believe how little reviews this chapter has, and I can't wait for the next :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! And yes, you are allowed to say that everyone is amazing. Nat was being a grumpy butt so that's why she wasn't really in this one, but she'll be in the next one, so don't worry. Although romance is listed as one of the genres, this story is more about growing up and trying to figure life out. So of course I had to mention careers/the "future". It's good to know that you enjoy it/aren't bored by it.
Haha, hooray for pressed up against wall scenes! That was kinda a treat for all the Minnie/Dare shippers out there, even though they were being weird and not really doing much. But oh well!

Thanks again for the review! And I think the main reason why it has so little reviews right now, is because this got published a little over an hour ago, haha. But congrats on being the first!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by imaginary lines Flight of the Thestral

23rd June 2012:
i just wanted to let you know that this story is brilliant. i started off the day, looking through stories, slightly bored. when i came across yours, i totally wasn't. i have spent most of the day trying to read as much as possible without seeming to be obsessed with my laptop (which i already am of course). the way you are able to portray each character is amazing; it doesn't even seem like this is a journey just about minnie. the journey seems to be the development of each character in his or her own way. and the way you are able to place comedic relief between each serious moment, or just to get a laugh out of the reader, is amazing. seriously. i am in love with this story and i cannot wait for an update. hopefully there will be more interactions between minnie and dare, as well as minnie and the rest of her family. i do hope that they remember her birthday soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad that you came across this and liked it. :) And you're right, this isn't just about Minnie's journey. Practically every character has their own problems and issues to solve, and I'm glad that you picked up on that. Chapter 8 should be up within in the next week and they'll remember birthday eventually.

Thanks again for the review!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by CloakAuror9 Flight of the Thestral

22nd June 2012:
Ta-daa!

This chapter was absolutely entertaining! I really love Minnie's bluntness and sarcasm when it comes to her thoughts. I think you would do well with a humour genre type of story. :P

I agree with Minnie, Nat is unbearable. I know she's Minie's bestie and all that and I shouldn't be dissing her, but can I really help it? Of course not.

I love the Thestral scene! Go Scorp and Albus! :D

Well, chapter eight ought to be interesting and I am sure looking forward to it! :D

On the other side, Calvin and Dare needs to sort out their problems -or rather, Dare needs to sort out his problems. Calvin seems oblivious of his brother which is pretty weird because shouldn't he be taking notice of his brother? Oh heck, this just got complicated.

Great chapter as always! :D Min/Dare FTW!

Taa,
Izzy xx

Author's Response: Wow, that was fast!

Hahaha, I'm glad you liked it. Yeah, I'm always more comfortable writing humor than anything else, and I've been thinking about doing a few stories that were more comedy central, but we'll see how that goes.

Yeah right now, Nat's not exactly the funnest character. She'll come around though.

Haha, Scorp and Al ftw!

I just finished chapter 8 so it should be up in a few days. Calvin and Dare are definitely complicated. And Calvin knows that his brother doesn't like him, he just doesn't understand why. So for now, he's trying to give him a bit of space.

Thanks again Izzy!
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Moonyxluna For A Pessimist, I'm Pretty Optimistic

22nd June 2012:
Hi! Here with another review for you :) I always get really happy when I see you post because it means I get to read more of this awesome story :D

Paramore! the second I saw that chapter title it was familiar but I couldn't figure out where from. And then I read... like the first sentence :p Anyway, I haven't heard that song in YEARS! I must listen after this.

I've already told you this, but I love how you characterize Dominique. I think she's so funny and entertaining, but you tell it in a way that keeps her so down to Earth. But she shouldn't be so mean to first years! :p The Hufflepuff in me feels bad for laughing when she calls the kid 'chubbers' but it was so funny.

Matilda was awful, but I think Darren White is going to someone I'm going to watch for, especially because he made his way to a chapter image. I loved all of your descriptions of her feelings as each of them entered the scene; I thought they were really believable. Brain was sweet too; I think you've got a great list of original characters so far and I can't wait to read more about them.

Her food descriptions are back! Sorry mixed greens, but you didn't make the cut.-- this line made me laugh way too much :p Who would want salad at a Hogwarts feast!? Okay.. I probably would, but not on the first night!

Your chapter lengths are fantastic, by the way. they give you enough time to really get into the story and learn more about the characters without switching to another part too quickly. The only transition I would take another look at is the one between the note from Professor Longbottom to actually being in his office. It would only be a few quick sentences to keep that all as one and I think the first part ended a little too abruptly.

This is something really minor, but I thought it was kind of strange that Neville called his kid Harry. I think Frank Harry would seem more believable, but that's just my opinion of course :)

I think the end of this chapter was a great introduction into the plot and how Dominique is going to grow through this story. You write her in a way that, even if she is a bit moody and apathetic, I still want to root for her and see her accomplish her dreams. I can't wait to see what happens next :) Re-request!

Author's Response: Hey there! Aw, I'm so happy to hear that. I'm always worried with requested reviews that they won't like my story and so it means a lot to know that you actually look forward to this. I always look forward to your reviews because they're always so awesome. You give the perfect amount of constructive criticism that I need to hear... er, read. :)

Haha, same here. I was really into Paramore when I was fourteen, but it's been four years now since I've really listened to anything of theirs. However, when I was trying to figure out the title for this chapter, that song came up on iTunes and I was like "hey, this can work". Hence the title. But yeah, I think I'm going to go listen to it now, too, haha.

Hahaha, Minnie's got a bit of a bully in her. It also doesn't help that she has this thing against Hufflepuffs (it'll be brought up later in the story), and so any Puff she comes across she kind of just hates by default. Not very nice of her, but hopefully she'll grow out of it.

Ah yes, Matilda. Awful is definitely the best word to describe her, hahaha. And you're right, you should keep a watch on Dare. He's actually fairly important to the plot, which you will learn later on. I'm glad that you like all of my OC's. I've got quite a few in this story, which always worries me because I know that some people are rather put off by them unless they're really well written - me being included. So I only hope that they come out alright.

Haha, I always get really hungry whenever I write those descriptions. And honestly, if I were at a Hogwarts feast, salad and vegetables would be the last thing on my plate. So yeah, Minnie gets that from me.

Really? I'm always at war with the length of my chapters. When I'm actually writing them, I always feel like they're too short and that I need to put more in. But then I'll reach a certain point, usually around 5-6 thousand words, where I start to feel like I'm dragging it out and so that's where I cut it off. And I've always felt that everything is too abrupt because I always cut things off, but it's good to know that that method actually works. And yeah, that transition into the scene with Neville was hard for me, so I just decided to be lazy and leave it at that. I'll definitely try and fix it though.

The only reason I went with Harry Frank versus the reverse, was because I liked the way it sounded better. I'm really picky with how names should sound, and for me, they have to fit or roll off the tongue. So yeah, I know it's more believable the other way but that's just my OCD kicking in.

Thanks again for your review! Haha, yeah this chapter was kind of where the plot actually made its appearance and like you said, I wanted it to be where we get to see the start of Minnie's personal growth. And I'm so glad that even though she's this moody and cynical girl, that she's still likable. I'll definitely rerequest and I'm looking forward to your next review.
-Camila :)


 Report Review

Review #50, by CloakAuror9 Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?

22nd June 2012:
Hey there, I'm so sorry for taking so long! My internet has been down for so long and it still is. Thank God, my cousin's internet never fails.

I admit, at first the Minnie/Dare ship I was a bit doubtful with because Dare came to me as this shy-ish guy and Minnie as the loud-mouthed person she is, I just didn't think it would work. But now? Chapter six in the story? Heck, I just wanted what Eli said to come true!

Dear Merlin, was this boy high?
Oh my Merlin, I was laughing so much at this line. Best line ever. I don't know why but its just so funny!

Dare is really not what I'm expecting him to be, he's got a lot of bottled up feelings that I did not expect to be there. It might be even greater than Minnie's jealousy over Vic. I think they would really make a great couple, if only Minnie could look past the bet.

I love love love this story! I can't wait 'til they're a couple. I will seriously be the happiest person on that day! YOU ARE SERIOUSLY SOME AWESOME AUTHOR.

Chapter seven, come at me!
Izzy xx

Author's Response: Hi! And it's no problem, I'm just glad that you're willing to review this. Thank God for relatives with amazing internet connection, hahaha. :)

Muahaha, so I've finally got you to join the dark side... or you know, ship Min/Dare, whatever. I mean, practically every character in the story ships them, but Minnie holds too much a grudge to let things go so easily. Which means it'll be a while until the two finally get together. If they get together, that is. :P

Hahaha, I'm glad you liked that line. I really only put it in there to fill up space, but hey, whatever floats your boat.

Ah yes, Dare's got quite a few emotions hidden underneath his whole "I hate the world" facade. And yeah, I'd have to agree with you and say that he probably does have more jealousy issues than Min.

From the original version, Dare's character is definitely the one who's changed the most. Before I really didn't care for him, because he was so bland and rather shallow. He was actually the typical "cocky stud muffin with a bad attitude" kinda guy, and I got sick of him pretty fast.

So with this new one, I really wanted to vamp him up some. Give him a bunch of issues and make him just as screwed up as Minnie. Which I'm glad I did, because I like this nerdy angry Dare much better. And you're right, if Minnie's ever able to look past the bet they would make quite the couple. But we'll just have to see.

Aw, I'm so glad that you like this (and think of me as an awesome author). It means a lot, especially when it comes from a requested reviewer. Thanks again Izzy, and I will be stopping by with chapter 7 (and possibly chapter 8, if I can get it up) soon.
-Camila :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>