Reading Reviews for I Am Man, Hear Me Roar
  
62 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Georgia Weasley Dominique

28th March 2010:
Not only is this refreshingly different, it is completely hilarious! You've got a great talent for humor and wit, girl. I enjoy reading your work so much. You have what I have found is sadly lacking in so many fanfics lately:originality. Thanks for the laugh! ~GW

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I was so happy when I saw this review from you. :-D

I don't often feel very original, so I'm very flattered by your comments. I got the male Dom idea from someone else, and I thought, "If everyone in real life assumes he's a girl, what would life be like for him if everyone in the HP-verse thought the same thing?" It cracked me up and I had to write it. The truth has been suppressed for far too long. XD

Thank you again!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #27, by Kenna Dominique

27th March 2010:
what a cool idea!! i always just assumed Dominique was a girl, and now i feel very guilty.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #28, by FannyPrice Dominique

6th March 2010:
You've done it again! Made me laugh out loud, really hard that is. Poor Dom, androgyny is tough. I love the irony of him dating a girl called George--i bet people will get confused and start calling her Dominique and him George. Also, my favorite line has to be the hair made of moonbeams line, followed shortly by the part about the names being so pretty you have to flourish your hands when you say them. Great work. That banner is awesome too! Another great piece!

--FannyPrice (Miranda)

Author's Response: Thanks Miranda! Glad I could make you laugh. :-D

I might follow up on Nick/George in the future. I love them too much to let go, heehee.

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #29, by TheDirigiblePlum Dominique

5th March 2010:
Poor Dominique! I was going to be called that but my mother chose another frenchy name instead, even though I'm half irish and quarter english and quarter scottish... oh well.

This was very funny, which should come as no surprise as you do funny very well! From the "Ms" making me feel liberated" and "my name is Nick" and "Weez-lee". Weez-lee had to be my favourite line. Just because of the way it sounds in my head! "Weez-lee". Brilliant. :D

This story was such a good idea as well! A great spin on a character I always believed to be a girl. I now stand corrected and can only apologise to him. ;)

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! And Dom very happily accepts your apology. :-D

Funny thing is, now I can only envision Dom as a boy. I think I may have to continue writing him that way in other fics!

Thanks again! -hugs-


 Report Review

Review #30, by irrelevant Dominique

27th February 2010:
I really liked it!! I never thought of Dom as anything other than a girl, so this was new for me. But you're right--she could be a he... wow. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by ptc0x Dominique

26th February 2010:
I read this and thought it was fantastic. It was so funny and I laughed the whole way through. You have a very good writing style; I love the way it seems like we are *really* in Dom's head. It's the perfect one-shot for anyone who needs a little laughter in their day. 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I'm glad I could give you a laugh. :-)

 Report Review

Review #32, by hokiechick Dominique

24th February 2010:
Hahaha, this is a hilarious one-shot! I love that "Nick's" indignation just springs off the page at you! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Creperum Dominique

20th February 2010:
i love your style, it's really original. although, the masculine version of dominique is spelled dominic

Author's Response: It is when it's Anglicized, but in France (and other Francophone countries, I believe), Dominique is a common male name. :-)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #34, by MischievousMarauder Dominique

19th February 2010:
Oh man, I love this SO much!
When I read the first couple paragraphs, I was going...'Hey, can Dominique be a boy...?' and then BOOM! The confusion is cleared when he says he's a guy.
I mean, aside from the hilarity factor, this story is SO inspiring. If I ever write a fic concerning Victoire, Dom, and Louis, I'll HAVE to make Dom a guy. The idea is too hilarious not to use...you don't mind, right? Making Dom a guy was YOUR idea in the first place, after all.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this story!
10/10

Author's Response: I definitely don't mind - I'm glad to have inspired someone, and I would love to see more fics portraying Dom as a guy. I always saw Dom as a girl, but after writing this, I can only envision him as a guy. XD

Thanks so much for the fantastic review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by georgina_bass Dominique

13th February 2010:
that was...awesome!:Doh,poor Dom.*snickers* totly Fleur to name her son DOM!:D aah..brilliant:)u wrote it amazingly.:Dand i was veryyy happy by the teddy part:Dbtw,just a Q,where did J.K. say that he/she/IT was called Dom?!anywya,kisses!
J

Author's Response: It really is very Fleur, isn't it? ;-)

JKR talked about the names of all the next generation Weasley kids we don't see in the books, and they're all listed on the HP Lexicon. :-)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #36, by NessaTelemnar Dominique

12th February 2010:
Very original point of view !
Liked your writing style ^^

(My reviews are beginning to sound very standard,
but nevertheless they're sincere :D)

Nina x

 Report Review

Review #37, by harry_is_da_bomb Dominique

5th February 2010:
Amazing. Fantastic! STUPENDOUS!!! It was very very funny. Well- it was a lot of things but funny is at the top of my list. The idea was incredible and original, and your character was apsolutly wonderful. Incredibly believable and funny- i may have mentioned this a few times...but it was really hilarious.

 Report Review

Review #38, by moonbaby11 Dominique

24th January 2010:
Ah, this was pure genius. I loved the part about Albus having a wonky name, and Dominique being 'pretty'. I think you've inspired me. If I EVER chose to write a fanfic about Fleur, Bill and their children, I think that Dominique will most definetly be a boy. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #39, by Margravine Dominique

21st January 2010:
Melanie my dear, I have been meaning to review this for AGES but I am hear at last.

I LOVE THIS. It is possibly one of my two favourite oneshots on this entire site. It is BRILLIANT and INSPIRED and you just single handedly put us into a new era of next gen fics - Male Doms are popping up all over.

On top of that, twasn't enough to have the most original idea.. well.. ever, but the actual one shot is side splitting. Cracked up at the summary, was almost spasming when I got to the 'weez-lee' and then the prettier bf line. Simply genius my dear, as was the George ending! I can't wait to read more!

So yes, I ship Nick/George now happily.

 Report Review

Review #40, by whisky Dominique

19th January 2010:
i love this it is so good, and i am going to read more of your stories!!

 Report Review

Review #41, by collette michelle Dominique

15th January 2010:
Mel, I have been meaning to read this for like aeons! Since you had posted it up really, but I hadn't had the chance.

I simply love you for writing this. I must know more men whom have the name 'Dominique' then I have met females whom have it. Really! But then, hey, I read some fan fiction and Dominique is a girl! So I think I must have missed an interview with JKR or something, so my mind swayed. Only to come to learn some months ago, non, I hadn't!

This was brilliant really. Your humour in stories is ah-mazing! I am beyond jealous of it. I laughed because you feel bad for Dom, the rubbish he has put up with for his name. But I also laughed because I too like the more... what did you call them... 'musical' names.

Dom, as a boy, has such a sarcastic, humours take on everything. I love his thoughts on Charlie and his opinions with Teddy!

I could go on for ever, but I will stop here, this was brilliant, really! It had me in peels of laughter the entire time. I look forward to reading more of your male Dom and George (she seems like a fun character too!)

xx.
Collette

 Report Review

Review #42, by flyaway - not signed in >< Dominique

5th January 2010:
I like Boy Dominique! This made me smile :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #43, by George Whitman Dominique

5th January 2010:
haha. I love George's dad on Seinfeld. This was a great piece. I find it particularly funny because my cousin who is a girl was named by my aunt and uncle Dylan. I had no idea that Dylan was a boy's name until the Dill Pickle herself made it clear to everyone that she despised the name at a family function. Funny thing is her siblings' names both start with a D too. (Dustin and Dayna) I think she would prefer Denise or Destanie, though. ;) Well done!

Author's Response: I love that you can relate to this story in a way! :-) Thanks for reviewing - glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #44, by SiriuslyPeeved Dominique

4th January 2010:
I died of the giggles reading this piece! I agree, why not take a character's gender in an unexpected way, when it was really never said one way or the other? I have a distant relative who is a man with a name generally assumed to be a female name, and he could totally sympathize with your Dominique.

The ending is just pitch perfect. Maybe that is a match made in poor- choice-for-baby-names heaven. Thanks for the laugh!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this wonderful review! I'm glad you enjoyed it and could connect to it in a way. :-)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Unwritten Curse Dominique

3rd January 2010:
MELANIE! :)

This was HILARIOUS. And amazing!

I really don't know what to say! You're totally right - most everyone who writes fanfiction thinks Dominique is a girl. So to expand that and make it most everyone in the wizarding world thinks Dom is a girl... brilliant. Ah!

And not only is this funny, it's well written! Incredibly so. Here are my favorite lines (off the 'well-written' persuasion):

1. Mum went from being a lyrical Delacour to being a plain old Weez-lee. - 'lyircal Delacour' BAH! LOVE!
2. A veritable cloud of androgyny. - umm, WIN. :D

And, of course, there are a billion other things I could quote that made me giggle rather embarrassingly.

I'll just stop my rambling and give you a 10/10 for an incredibly creative, out-of-the-box, entertaining one-shot. BRAVO. Not that I expected anything less from you, darling.

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Thanks, Gina! I think I had way too much fun writing this, though I didn't expect it to be nearly so successful or popular. XD

I'm glad you liked those lines - especially the one about Fleur. I do like her character, but she's so much fun to pick on, especially from her kids' POV.

Thanks for the amazing review!

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #46, by Laugharama_llama Dominique

1st January 2010:
Ah, I apologize for not reviewing this earlier. I did favorite this when it first came up though!

Anyway, brilliant as usual. I really wonder where you get these ideas! I never considered that Dominique might be a boy, but it makes sense! I'm curious to see what you picture Dominique to look like!

Dumdadum! Happy New Years!
Katrina

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Katrina! I think I first got the male Dom idea from WitnesstoitAll - she has a story in which Dom is a male (though he's not really a central character). Then I searched the HP Lexicon and Googled for info on Dominique Weasley - and lo and behold, I found that his/her gender has never been confirmed by JKR (as far as I could find).

I have a banner for this story that's going up as soon as the queue reopens and I can edit the summary. I think it's Alex Pettyfer on the banner, which is fairly close to how I picture Dominique - not exactly, but I had trouble finding an actor who looks exactly like my image of male Dom. :-)

Thanks again! I really appreciate it!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #47, by siriusgirl1 Dominique

1st January 2010:
haha! I hope to see *Mr.* Dominique's story unfold soon! You've really caught my interest. Your characterization is very thorough as far as I can see and the flow of the narration is very smooth. Fantastic job so far! 10/10

Author's Response: It's only a one-shot, though a few people have asked for a Nick/George continuation, so maybe that will come to fruition someday. :-)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by keycampwizard Dominique

30th December 2009:
Nice!!! I love it!!! Even though it is a one shot story you should write more chapters, it is to good to stop!!!
keycampwizard

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Miss Lily Potter Dominique

29th December 2009:
Ha! I loved this. (: I saw your signature and the link was in it, and I thought it'd be amusing. (: It was. XD I love the idea of a male Dom; it's so funny. And yeah, Dominique's usually a girl's name, but I can see where you're coming from. (:

I like how you've got Fleur being all 'Oh, my kids MUST have pretty names!' I can see her being like that.

Great job on this. I can't think of any concrit.

10/10. (:
-Jasmine

Author's Response: If you Google the name Dominique, I think you'd be surprised to see how many male Dominiques there are. I think in English-speaking countries, Dominique is always a girl's name, but it's not that way in France! :-)

Glad you liked that characterization of Fleur. I can't see her any other way!

Thank you so much for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Kimya Dominique

29th December 2009:
I love this! It's funny, it's classic, and totally creative. Dominique; a boy...I think you're the only person who ever thought of that. It's true that he should've been given the masculine version, I believe. And you're right, J K Rowling didn't say anything about Dominique being a man or a woman...although she might have mentioned it in the documentary J K Rowling: A Year in the Life.
I personally think that the middle child of Bill and Fleur is a girl, mainly because of how it's spelled, but you never know!
As usual, you make me laugh with your hilarious wit and humor.
I wish I could tell you some quotes I liked, but there are far too many right now.
Happy Holidays to you too, and I hope you're getting some more writing done!

Author's Response: I'm not the first person to write Dom as a boy, so I can't take credit for the idea, but there are definitely very few stories with a male Dominique.

I even googled the name Dominique, and it really is a gender-neutral French name - I found lots of results for male Dominiques. So that makes it even funnier to me that Dom is automatically considered a female.

Thank you so much for the review, Kimya! Your reviews always brighten my day. :-)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>