Reading Reviews for Endgame
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #26, by WitnesstoitAll Check

5th January 2010:
Melanie,

First off, in line with your author's note, I think I'll also curl up in a fetal position and cry a bit.

Okay. Better now.

So about that Review...
When I read angsty peices, they are usually angst/romance stories. I was completely unprepared for the completely appropriate darkness that this story held. So was it effectual? Yes. Was it moving? Yes. I loved the tone of this story because, while it was dark and forboding, it was told in a mannerism that Ron would use if he was telling it. The contrast between those two made for an over all chilling feel to the entire story.

Can I take a moment to tell you that I hate you for that Hermione scene? It was so sad. It kept me wishing that Ron could move for a brief moment and squeeze her hand back. And then at the end when Ron is actually dy... dyi... oh I can't say that word and Ron's name in the same sentance, but you get what I mean. So at the end when Ron is d*_i#g and he wishes that he could smell vanilla and ivy, all the emotions I felt in the Hermion scene came bubbling back.

The ending was a depressing but accurate look into Ron's character. Which I think you captured brilliantly. I'm a massive Ronald fan and am very fussy about his characterization.

Since the ending was so chess-y (which suited the ending quite nicely) I think that impact of the metaphor could have been bumped up a bit through out the whole peice if you had included something small in each section. I loved the section headings...

All in all this was a wonderfully/horribly sad fic. I enjoyed reading it immensely, although I am glad you aren't JKR and that Ronald really did survive the poisoning. :) lol.

Melissa

Author's Response: Wow, Melissa - thank you for the massive review! It means a lot to me because I'm still really insecure about my writing when it comes to angst and emotions and dark stuff - so every review is helpful!

I don't even know how to respond properly - I'm just so flattered by your comments. And I hate myself for the Hermione scene, too - but it had to be done, because she lurves him, you see. -nods seriously-

I love that you're fussy about Ron's characterization. Too many fanfic writers massacre him and slander his character and treat him unfairly. I want to restore his dignity. I think he's a lovely character, and I always want to do him justice.

I appreciate the comments about the chess metaphor, and I'm glad you liked it and wanted to see more of it. Perhaps I can figure out a way to enhance that a bit, and go back and revise this one-shot at some point.

I'm glad he survived, too - otherwise I might not have continued reading! I would have been emotionally crippled had he really died.

Thanks so much, Melissa! I appreciate it!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #27, by MollyOly Check

26th December 2009:
Well done! Ron's my favorite, too, which is why all my yet-to-be-posted fic is about getting him together with Hermione --before-- book 7.

When Voldemort tortures Ron from the locket, we see all Ron's fears that have been alluded to all along -- least loved, etc. Your story really covers that well. Ron doesn't get a chance to fully step up to the plate (baseball, not chess) until book 7 (which I suppose is why JKR keeps R/Hr apart until then), so his thoughts, as you show them, are so appropriate.

Poor Ronniekins. I think I'll go curl up in my own fetal position now and dream of our favorite ginger boy.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review (and all of your reviews - I just saw all of them, and they really made my day!)

Ron really is an incredibly insecure guy, which I suppose is the reason many people dislike him, but it's also one of the reasons that I love him as a character. It doesn't excuse his behavior, but in many ways I think he is the most relatable character. He never really feels like he fits in anywhere.

Thank you again for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #28, by foos Check

14th December 2009:
amazing. heartwrenching.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #29, by ELDERWIND Check

14th November 2009:
WOW I MEAN WOW that was an amazing short there

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Ronsgirl29 Check

9th November 2009:
One of my favorite oneshots i have read. this was so good. also extremely sad. I think you wrote it extremely well, and i was almost in tears by the end, good job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by Jellyman Check

8th November 2009:
Um, Mel? You kinda broke my heart. Sorry 'bout the mess, I'm just going to curl into a fetal position and cry for a while. You can find me in the corner if you need me.

BUT NOT BEFORE I WRITE YOU A REVIEW. Okay, so let me give you some back story - I didn't like Ron from about books 1-6 when I read them. I mean, I didn't hate him or anything but I always wondered what he was doing there, other than to be a link for Harry to have people close to him (the Weasleys) other than the Dursleys. I always wondered what the point of having him there was and I really didn't like the Ron/Hermione indications that were popping up everywhere - I thought she deserved better. That was until HP - he completely redeemed himself in my eyes, completely and totally, and I love him and everything about him.

Anyway, to get to the point via a very long-winded way, I say this is the most perfect and accurate portrayal of Ron that I have ever seen. This is a perfect representation of him pre-DH and I am absolutely in awe of it, and you. Honestly, Mel, I think this is the most powerful story I have read in a long time (including published things, mind you) and I can't find the words to describe how much it moved me. Amazing, completely and utterly amazing.

But mainly, Ronald Weasley is sorry for being such a waste of space.
-sniffle- I'll be in the corner now...

10/10


Author's Response: Sorry Georgia! -hugs-

The most perfect and accurate? Wow. THANK YOU! He can be surprisingly tricky to write, considering how simple he seems as a character. I think that's why so many people mess up his character.

Your reviews are so wonderful Georgia! Thank you for this one! I am so flattered. :-)

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #32, by flyaway Check

31st October 2009:
You totally made me cry there :(
Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Lily Roselyn Check

22nd October 2009:
Ohh. You made me cry. My face is totally red and puffy.

(laughs at self)

Brilliant job, anyway.

Cheers,

Sophie

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Melissa Check

21st October 2009:
Good lord . . . I'm honestly not that fond of Ron, but I think I need some chocolate ice cream . . . Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by 1917farmgirl Check

13th October 2009:
Oh, I'm sobbing! How could Ron ever think that! Poor, poor Ron! *Longs to hug him and tell him he's not a waste of space!* That took guts to write. I'm saying well done because it was a splended piece of writing, and your use of words and imagry amazing, but dang you, that hurt to read!

Author's Response: I know...it was terrible to write as well. It made me so sad. But thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #36, by Marybeth Check

12th October 2009:
Wow - very nicely done... he was quite harsh with himself at the end but it was very well written and the whole idea was quite original and powerful. I love your writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #37, by shadowycorner Check

10th October 2009:
Oh my God. OH.MY.GOD.

Because, honestly, is there anything else I can say? Melanie!

*weeps*

Ron is one of my favorite characters, too, that's why the bare concept of this story killed me before I even started reading. The way you've written this...it's a little masterpiece, but it's terrifying and it destroyed me a little inside. There are two sides to the story, and both were absolutely perfect. First, there is the things he witnesses without being able to interwene, the feelings others profess and feel. And the feelings he experiences. The emotions weren't forced on the reader at all, not the usual by-the-deathbed stuff you get. They were painfully subtle, all the more believable and real. Second, the effects of the poison, the way his senses and functions were failing one by one. That was horrible, so, so horrible, but perfectly described at the same time. The inability to do ANYTHING, the slowly fading vision and hearing...oh my heavens, I was stunned. Because, you know, even though this is not the way it happened, you made it so freakishly REAL you terrified me to near death. Especially since this was Ron. I felt close to weeping when he thought about his life, that he was a waste of space. About the friend he was jealous of while he was the only one who was fine with how Ron was. About the girl he was a prat to while she meant everything to him.

I don't know what else to say, truly. This was a great work, an amazing read. Very thrilling and touching and just HORRIFYING. Oh, and I loved the chess allusions, the comparisions...that was a great, creative touch, so fitting for Ron.

*long sigh*

Reading this was truly great, since it's one of those pieces that totally get to you, but I'm never going to read it again so it doesn't kill me completely next time. Also, I apologize for being a bit exuberant. I'm always like that when something makes a huge impression on me. :)

xoxo Elizabeth

Author's Response: Hi Liz! Thank you for the wonderful, fantastic review! I'm really sorry it's taken me so long to respond.

I don't even know how to respond properly, except to say that your review made me immensely happy.

I was very glad to hear you liked the emotions here - sometimes I struggle with that kind of thing, and I definitely wanted to avoid the typical deathbed scene.

I agree, the idea of one's entire body slowly failing and not being able to do anything about it is quite terrifying. I think it carried extra weight with Ron as the victim, because he believes he's so useless and pointless and ineffective. So while, in his mind, not being able to do anything is so typical of his entire life, to people like you and me who love his character, it's ironic because his perspective of himself is so skewed (I hope that made sense).

The chess allusions were my favorite part. They sort of allowed me to structure the whole story, but I didn't want them to overpower it.

Seriously, I loved this review - no apologies necessary! It made me so happy.

xoxo
Melanie


 Report Review

Review #38, by WindCompass13 Check

10th October 2009:
Just five words:
a brilliant piece of work

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #39, by lvl Check

6th October 2009:
This is terribly sad. But in some sick way, I enjoyed it. Wonderfully written.

10/10.

Author's Response: Well, thank you! I know what you mean, about liking it even though it's sad. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #40, by redherring Check

6th October 2009:
Oh my gosh, this was simply heartbreaking! And completely, completely fantastic. Just... wow. Your writing was incredible, the way you wrote the emotions was amazing, and I also love how you fitted this into the challenge - writing an AU ending to the scene in HBP was a brilliant idea :D I loved the references to chess, as well.

You'd think I'd get used to how fantastic your writing is, but I'm still amazed every time I read a new one of your stories xD LOVED IT, Melanie :D 10/10.

Author's Response: Oh, stop it. You are going to give me a huge ego. XD

Thanks for the amazing review! As for my decision to make this into an AU scene from HBP, that was partially brilliance and partially laziness on my part. I knew I had to write about Ron, because I had to use my favorite character, and I went, "Hey! There's already a scene where he gets poisoned! How convenient!!" XD

Thanks again! I really appreciate it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #41, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Check

4th October 2009:
Well. In your request, you asked about emotional impact. This nearly got me teary. The last line was stunning, and I felt for Ron so deeply. The way that the reader knew that he would die almost the entire story (well, except for those who knew what staff challenge 4 is, and those who read your author's note...) didn't keep you from wishing that something, anything, would happen. That his last 24 hours of life were spent paralyzed were even more heartbreaking.

I won't pretend that I knew even half of the chess words, but they added a unique touch to the story that I liked a lot. It made it feel as though everything happened for a reason, and Ron's life was destined to come to an unspectacular end. He was a mere pawn, nothing that couldn't be sacrificed.

The Ron/Hermione mentions were touching as well, I especially liked how he knew the exact date she started wearing perfume. Didn't either Harry or Ron get her that perfume for her birthday? I remember her calling it "interesting" in OotP. Or perhaps it was a different book. I don't know.

There's nothing really to suggest for this story; I haven't read too many entries for the staff challenge, but I've read at least two or three, and this was completely different from the others. In a good way. I attempted a piece for the challenge and it fell through, but I remember thinking that I wouldn't want to write the last 24 hours because they'd be boring and predictable. Yours wasn't. It completely captured me.

Good work, I've favorited this. You write Ron exceptionally well. 10/10.

~lllb

Author's Response: Thanks for the fantastic review!! I am so glad you found this so moving.

I figured I was taking a gamble with the chess words -- I mean, I even had to go look them up; I didn't know them off the top of my head. But I figured it would fit Ron so well. ^_^

Yes...he did get her perfume, for Christmas that year -- I went and looked it up after reading your review. Want to know something ridiculous? I totally forgot about that scene when I was writing this. I thought I was just making it up. How lame am I?? :-P Hopefully that won't throw anyone off when they read this; thanks for bringing that up, though!

I'm so glad I avoided being boring and predictable. You're right, it's difficult to write a fic about just 24 hours, and that's sort of what I was worried about when writing it.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #42, by louise Check

2nd October 2009:
god, i loved it. well, yes, i almost did cry all throughout the story, but it was so beautiful. i hate it that ron felt he was so worthless; it breaks my heart so much.
you write beautifully, and this story was one of the best i ever read. congratulations on this amazing work.
10/10, without a doubt.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #43, by TheDirigiblePlum Check

1st October 2009:
"But mainly, Ronald Weasley is sorry for being such a waste of space."

That last line broke my heart!!! No Ron no!! You're anything but a waste of space!!

From one Ron fan to another, this was just so sad! All his thoughts at the end were probably so true to him, but because he's so brave he tries to cover them all up. All the things that probably plagued him in life came back for him to think about during his death. :(

I love how all your stories are different, ranging from hilariously funny to horrible devasting like this one! And "As of yet untouched" which has to be my favourite. I know I say every one of your stories is my favourite... but that one is something special. :)

All the chess references also gave the story a very Ron-vibe... the one thing he can beat Hermione in! I always loved that, so it was great to see it running through the story. :D

All your stories are stunningly written, and this one is no exception! :D I wonder how many soppy reviews you've had from me so far?! :D

10/10

Author's Response: No, he's definitely not a waste of space! *huggles Ron* It really killed me, to make him die while still believing that. But sadly, that's what he believed at this point in his life. Oh, Ron. *sob*

Glad you liked the chess references! They just suit Ron so much, especially since here I envisioned him as the King, just waiting to be captured. The only game Ron has ever lost, probably.

Thanks so much!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #44, by spreaddapoo93 Check

1st October 2009:
Brilliant and moving... I'm absolutely gobsmacked by your use of chess metaphors! I'm normally not so intrigued by present-tense voice, but I was absolutely moved by this!!! Every sentence is lined so delicately with such profound emotion... It's beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am thrilled that you liked the chess metaphors -- I really structured everything around them, actually. And I'm glad the present tense voice worked for you here. I don't write in present tense very often, but I thought this was one situation that justified it.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #45, by Unwritten Curse Check

1st October 2009:
Here I am for the review you requested! :)

1. 'Ron feels his friendís hands, as real and true as daylight' - Wow. I love this.
2. 'Ronald Weasley is still alive. But with those words, he has already started dying.' - D:, but beautiful.
3. 'the first time Ron Weasley has ever held Hermione Grangerís hand.' - ... and the last. *cries*
4. 'He can still feel their hands, if he tries very hard Ė or perhaps he only imagines it.' - Gah.

...
Where do I start?

PACING: Perfect. Absolutely perfect. I cannot believe how concise yet emotional this one-shot is. You jam-packed everything into such a little amount of words. It's because each word you chose is so effective. Gosh, I'm absolutely green with envy right now!

FLOW: Beautiful. Especially the scene in which he is losing his senses. That was so chilling. It was like watching a ball of yarn unwind. I knew what was at the center - nothingness - and could see what had once been something so whole wasting away. Wow. I don't even have words right now.

TONE: Gah. Wonderful. It's all so dark and almost detached. Thank you for using third person instead of first. It's like we're watching the death from the outside, but only just. We're attached to Ron, but we aren't in his place. So we can empathize with him, but we aren't entirely inside of his mind. That was really effective. And depressing. He belived himself to be just another pulse, and the detatched tone made me, as a reader, see him in that way. Even though I know he isn't. I know he's not a disgrace, and I wanted to scream at him to tell him he wasn't, but I couldn't because of the distance. Okay, so my rambling led me away from 'tone' a bit. Haha.

IMPACT: I was teary-eyed pretty much the whole way through. I'm a pretty sensitive person, but it takes a truly talented writer to produce tears. And that's exactly what you did. Like I said before, you conveyed A LOT in so little words, which is amazing. Such emotion. I'm in love with this one-shot, really.

10/10. Easy. I'm adding this to my favorites. Thank you so much for writing this, and requesting a review from me. I adore your writing. You really have a gift. Please come back and request again any time!

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: OMG. I don't even know how to respond to this review. THANK YOU!

I always love it when people point out their favorite lines, because I like knowing what makes readers happy -- so thank you for that.

I'm just seriously flattered by your whole review. It was important to me that this be an emotional fic, but I didn't really have confidence in my ability to do it. So wow, I'm really just bowled over by the fact that you thought the pacing, flow, etc. were all done well. It is a huge relief!

I agree, at many points the tone is detached. I think I made it that way because Ron is just so firm in his conviction that he's worthless -- he's really just resigned himself to that belief.

Teary-eyed is what I was going for, even though I hate being sad and making others sad. ^_^ Sometimes a little sadness is a good thing, though!

Thanks so much, Gina! This review has really lifted my spirits.

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #46, by theelderwand Check

28th September 2009:
Stirring. Desperate. Moving. This one-shot really channels the emotion. Skillful story-telling.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm very flattered. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #47, by Tuesday Christine Check

28th September 2009:
that was so good. wow. definintly in tears. youre amazing.
sorry you had to kill your favorite though..

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #48, by Laugharama_llama Check

27th September 2009:
:(
That was beautiful though! It was just sad.
You had some beautiful lines in this story (as usual)!

"he finds himself in a heap on the floor Ė as if his legs have suddenly decided to go on holiday."
"Small fingers intertwine with his own; the first time Ron Weasley has ever held Hermione Grangerís hand."

You know, basically every single line was amazing. Nevermind tracking down every single one.
Great job, wonderful, yay!

P.S.: Where are the staff challenges? I feel like I've looked for them everywhere in the forums but I can't find them!
Oh and, what did all the titles (pin, kingslide, en prise) mean? As in, why did you use them, what were their purposes?

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get around to replying! I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic.

On the forums, go to the "Story Challenges" forum and scroll all the way down (past all of the challenge categories) -- you should be able to find the Staff Challenges there. ^_^

I basically used the chess terms to structure the fic -- to sort of frame it, especially since so many of the terms refer to pieces being in danger of capture (like "en prise" and "pin," etc.) Also, I wanted to subtly place Ron in the role of the King, which is why I ended with "Checkmate." Like basically, at this point, Ron is just waiting to be captured, and that's essentially what the King does in chess -- it's not the strongest piece on the board, but it's what the entire game revolves around. Incredibly valuable, though not necessarily the most effective.

Thanks once again for taking the time to read and review!

Melanie


 Report Review

Review #49, by girly1393 Check

27th September 2009:
Checkmate did me in. That was when I cried.

God, this was beautiful. So amazing, so sad. I am so proud of you for doing this-- I don't know if I ever could.

Bravo to you. Bravo to you a hundred times again, and a thousand more after that.

Author's Response: Thanks for the incredible review! Although I'm sorry to have made you so sad, I am a bit pleased to know that "Checkmate" had that effect on you -- I was hoping it would have an impact like that. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #50, by Annachie Check

27th September 2009:
Simply put, this is one of the best things I've ever read. Something i'm pretty sure that I couldn't possibly do to/with my precious Ginny :)

You write with such ease and understanding and flow and things that I suspect I'd be happy to read your shopping list lol.


Poor Ron ...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It definitely was difficult to write -- but rewarding, in a weird way.

Haha, the second part of your review made me laugh. ^_^ Thank you!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>