Reading Reviews for The Nerve of Neville
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Mrs Fred Weasley The Nerve of Neville

3rd June 2009:
Neville is one of my favorite characters too! So it was really cool to read a story focused solely on him. I really liked the setting, at the beginning of his sixth year, since in his seventh year Neville's personality really changes so drastically, so I see your story as a sort of stepping stone between timid-Neville and fearless-Neville. Thanks for filling in that gap :)
This is the first story of yours that I've read, but I can tell you're a very talented writer! I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I figured Neville would be in a kind of transition after the Battle of the Ministry, and I wanted to show his slowly emerging self-confidence, and show how a little everyday scenario can be a huge accomplishment for Neville. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #27, by miss1927 The Nerve of Neville

2nd June 2009:
Love it - Neville standing up for himself for once...he reminds me of me actually...and McGonagall's really realistic.
:)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Childish_Fairy The Nerve of Neville

1st June 2009:
Oh my heart! Really this was so sweet, i actaully have tears in my eyes, so beautfuly written, characters were spot on. I loved it.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #29, by cAz The Nerve of Neville

31st May 2009:
love it! keep it up :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #30, by momotwins The Nerve of Neville

27th May 2009:
I laughed out loud several times at this. Really cute and well-written. I think you captured both McGonagall and Neville very well, and I enjoyed the little peek at Alice Longbottom. Great job!

Favorite lines:
I believe that whatever spare time Miss Granger enjoys is generally spent keeping Mr. Potter and Mr. Weasley afloat in their classes

You know, sometimes I think Potter and Weasley have had a rather bad influence on you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It was my first time really writing Neville (and McGonagall, for that matter), so I'm glad they came out well! And thanks for pointing out those two lines - I had to throw Harry and Ron is there somewhere. :-)

 Report Review

Review #31, by Boots The Nerve of Neville

21st May 2009:
Funny! I love stories with Neville. Especially when he stands up for himself. You kinda see him develope in the HP Books, but always in the background. I love your story because it artfully moves him to the main character without losing that elusive something that makes Neville so adorable/lovable/cute.

Author's Response: Thanks! This was really my first try with Neville, and I'm glad it worked out! I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Girldetective85 The Nerve of Neville

20th May 2009:
This is one of my favorite challenge entries so far; wonderful, wonderful job. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside :) You truly have a gift for writing. Neville has rapidly become one of my favorite characters and you've definitely done him justice in this one-shot, showing exactly how he has changed from that awkward, insecure boy to someone who has proved himself - not only to everyone else, but to himself. Love the sass he gave Minerva and it's wonderful how that came full circle from his mother. You've also characterized McGonagall very well. Awesome job!

Author's Response: Your review flattered me so much. :-)

I had a fun time writing this one-shot. Neville was kind of a dark horse of favorite characters for me. Every time I re-read the books, I like him more than the last time. He's one of those characters who grows on me the more I think about how great he is.

I hope to write more about Neville in the future, so your review has really motivated me. Thank you again!!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Strix The Nerve of Neville

18th May 2009:
Really well written and very enjoyable.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading, and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by TheDirigiblePlum The Nerve of Neville

17th May 2009:
:O Is there no END to your talent?

Your characterization again was perfectly done, I just love Neville and his bravery. It's a kind of "frightened" bravery... one that he has to work at but gets better as he gets older. He's just such a little gem! :) Lol I love McGonagall in this too, she's very funny in her own way, and the whole story just oozes the Harry Potter vibe. It's exactly the type of scene I can imagine JK writing as like an extra, maybe for her own amusement. :)

10/10 TheDirigiblePlum

Author's Response: Well, there is the saying that courage is not the absence of fear, but acting in spite of it. I think that's exactly what Neville stands for. :-)

Thank you again for another wonderful, motivating review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Alopex The Nerve of Neville

17th May 2009:
Oh, I just love Neville too! He's one of my favorite characters! And so is Professor McGonagall! You had me from the beginning, just because you picked those two to write about. I enjoyed the description of Neville steeling himself for the encounter at the beginning. What you included about him worrying about his nervous wand-fiddling habit and his flushing made his anxiety seem very real. I think Minerva McGonagall can be a very intimidating lady, and Neville handled himself really well. I felt so proud of him!

I was very amused by Trevor the Toadstool! That's the thing about Neville: he always comes through when he needs to, like when his uncle threw him out the window. The flashback with McGonagall at first seemed weird to me (I'm not a big fan of flahsbacks anyway, so I tend to react negatively), but it really added something to the story. This piece wouldn't have been the same without McGonagall making the comparison between Neville and his mother, and I really enjoyed the cheek both Neville and Alice gave McGonagall.

Author's Response: I agree about Neville coming through when he needs to - it has always seemed to me that he is able to perform well when he just grits his teeth and acts without overthinking it, and the times he gets into trouble and messes things up are when he spends too much time worrying and doubting himself.

I'm glad the flashback worked out favorably, too! Thank you for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Jellyman The Nerve of Neville

16th May 2009:
Um, why are you stories so brilliant? I'm kind of jealous, haha. I love your Neville! He's so adorable! I just want to pinch his cheeks :) Haha, and I love the way you drew McGonagall's memories back to Alice - that was very clever! I like you Alice, by the way, she seem very fascinating, even from that little snippet. And the way you incorporated Trevor into the story was brilliant too :D Excellent work!

Author's Response: Haha...your reviews flatter me so much and make me so happy. :-)

Alice is really fun to write, because I like to think of her as having a bit of an attitude. I was writing a Lily/James 7th year fic, which I ended up scrapping, but in it I had Alice as a matter-of-fact, fun-loving voice of reason who tells Lily to lighten up and have a drink. I would love to do more with Alice sometime. I'll put it on my list of things to write...I think there are about 5000 things on that list right now.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #37, by madelgranger The Nerve of Neville

16th May 2009:
Good story, I love Neville! I particularly liked the flashback. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! The flashback was really fun to write. I like thinking of Neville's parents as fun-loving and even a little bit trouble-making.

 Report Review

Review #38, by ksm The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
thank you. a lovely one-shot

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #39, by lacewings The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
This is incredibly good! I've never seen such perfect characterization on both Neville and McGonagall. The scene is absolutely perfect, JK Rowling would most definitely approve.

Author's Response: Perfect characterization - wow! Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #40, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
Wow!!! I loved that! Firstly, it was a great topic, but you did wonders with it anyway. I especially loved the scene with Alice Longbottom to be. Her son was always known to be like his parents. It was firther genius to switch POVs; it added a lot more interest. Overall, amazing work! You write Neville brilliantly! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the awesome review! I'm glad you liked the POV switch, and the part with Alice. To me, the fic wouldn't have been complete without them.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Violet Gryfindor The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
Oh wow, this is so cute and wonderfully written! The characters were not only realistic and "alive", but also perfectly canon. Neville with his toad and awkwardness, Minerva with her stern logic and soft spots. And your Neville is particularly adorable, more so than one usually finds in fanfiction.

Then there's your writing style, which flows so nicely - you describe just enough without going overboard, really capturing the characters' thoughts and emotions. This line especially caught my attention:

He suspected - and indeed, he believed for the rest of his life - that McGonagall only entertained the rest of their conversation out of pure shock at his persistence.

This and other lines are filled with excellent humour - witty in a most satisfying way. I couldn't stop grinning while reading this. Thanks for writing such an excellent story! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you for your amazing review! I'm glad the characters came alive for you. I was trying to give them a little more spark than they appear to have at first glance. Neville was interesting to write because this was kind of a transition phase for him - he's a little more confident than he was at the beginning of OotP, but probably nowhere near as confident as he was at the end of DH. So it was fun, trying to get him just right.

 Report Review

Review #42, by AndrinaBlack The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
Oooh! Lovely! I loved both Neville and McGonagall in this fic and it gave me a couple of laughs! This fits perfectly with canon too as I think Neville was starting to gain some confidence at this point in time. I also don't remember if transfiguration classes were described much in that year so he might even have been there.

I loved how adorable Neville was in this and his clever logic too with potions. McGonagall was her own strict but kind self. I loved this story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think Neville and McGonagall play perfectly off of each other as characters, and their interactions do have a lot of comic potential...although I doubt that either of them finds it very funny most of the time. :-) Thanks for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by Annachie The Nerve of Neville

15th May 2009:
She shoots she scores!!!

Direct hit on McGonnagall in my opinion, and a great insight into Neville as well. When I read the first paragraph I immediatly started to compare Harry and Neville. As you portray him here you can see the potential in the other possible "Boy that lived"

Most excelent. 10/10. (Would that be a 1 then? :D )

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! And for the score of "1." :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>