Reading Reviews for Troubled waters
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Capella Black Repercussions

6th August 2011:
Again, this chapter has both annoyed and intrigued me. Annoyed, because I hate people cheating, and yet intrigued, because I can really understand why they are both doing it, even if I wouldn't condone it.

I love how you've constructed this slippery slope for Ron to tumble down. It was just a drink. It's just meeting up with a school chum. It was just a one night stand. It is escapism and a set of 'encounters'. Pansy's justification - that he needs a break and to relax - is even more believable, if that's possible, because if that's how she sees such activities generally, then why wouldn't she see her own that way too?

So yeah, this chapter was all about the inevitability of it all, and the way they both allow the situation to happen. Really nicely done.

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Got it in one. You can understand the behaviour but you don't condone it. Just what I was going for, so thank you! :) It was indeed a slippery slope but again, that's how these things happen, one step at a time, and then you're in too deep to get out of it. Sigh. Still, I'm really pleased that you're getting this much out of it because it was a tricky thing to get right, with the motivations and the self-denial and everything. So thanks again!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #27, by Capella Black The second mistake

6th August 2011:
Ron Weasley! Also, Melian! I'm a little shocked! On the other hand, I'm glad to see that he was acting somewhat spontaneously, because adultery Ron isn't someone I like very much.

Having said that, you're reasonings are really good - it's not just "I don't get this at home so I can do whatever I want", but it's also not "this is wrong, why aren't I stopping?". Instead it's the perfect mix of guilt and defensiveness, that fits both the plotline given and the character of Ron.

Weirdly, as I'm going off Ron, I'm beginning to like Pansy more. She's very believable, and doesn't make excuses for who and what she is, which I find oddly endearing. I'm really looking forward to seeing what happens next. On that note...

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor!

Author's Response: I don't like adultery-anyone very much, but it does happen (quite a lot, unfortunately) and I was trying to show how it could, even when someone is happily married. He feels guilty and he knows that what he's doing is wrong, but he can't help himself and is therefore defensive to try to save some face. I hated doing this to him (he's a great character and I really don't think adultery is in his psyche) but, hey, isn't that the point of a challenge?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #28, by Capella Black A chance encounter

6th August 2011:
No! Run away now! Hmm, it seems that no matter how much I shout at Ron, he isn't going to listen to me.

I LOVE how you've started this story so far. As you've said, this is a pretty hard pairing to make realistic, and yet I'm completely buying this. I can totally see the combination of booze, loneliness and 'but it's ok, I know her' leading to Ron letting his guard down, and I can't wait to see how it plays out from this point onwards.

As ever the writing style is flawless and a pleasure to read. I always feel with your stories that I am simply right there, rather than listening to someone tell me about it. I think it's how you avoid unnecessary florid prose, and instead use metaphor and description simply when needed. That's rare, but so powerful.

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor.

Author's Response: Hi Ella! And thanks for dropping by this story, because it hasn't had a lot of attention (despite the short chapters which I hoped might get it some reads during review fest, hahaha).

Anyway yes, Ron, run away now! But I was given a pairing and had to pursue that to wherever it took me, and for Ron that is, indeed, a combination of booze, loneliness and familiarity, as you said. Not wise of him, but then again if people are thinking straight then these situations just don't happen, do they?

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #29, by Mintleaf Acceptance

4th April 2011:
Awh so I guess it was one of those gradual progressions? Hermione is a sweetheart and I'm sure would have thought about her children before all! Pansy, surprisingly, is also super sweet at the end! And I actually think Atlas is a kinda cute name! Anyway, this was really lovely. A great length and an interesting plot that didn't drag at all! I enjoyed it! :)

Author's Response: Yes, definitely one of those gradual progressions. Hermione woudln't want to break her family up permanently but Ron would have a LOT of work to do to get her to trust him again. However I thought it would be too dark and depressing to show that so I skipped to the partial reconciliation that we see here.

As for Pansy, well she's not a bad person I don't think. She was somewhat caricatured in the canon but once she got over her Draco obsession I'm sure she had her good points, and I tried to show that in this story. Very pleased (as I've said before) that you liked her!

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #30, by Mintleaf Recriminations

4th April 2011:
I think Ron's entire rssponse is very real, and to add to that Harry's reaction is what I'd expect to. He was a little on the nice side about it, but I'm sure knowing Ron means acknowledging that Ron can be a bit... Silly. I wonder whether Ron will be able to reconcile with Hermione, and more interestingly, if so, how does he do it? :) I'll keep reading and see!

Author's Response: Yes, perhaps Harry was a little too nice about it, but then again this is his best friend for the past 15 or so years so he'd be treading a little carefully, I think. Or maybe I'm wrong about that, who knows? Anyway I thought it was important that Harry confronted Ron, even if it did make Ron feel even worse (assuming that was possible). Guilt is a horrible thing to have to bear.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #31, by Mintleaf Decisions

4th April 2011:
I wish I didn't know this was going to happen (referring to the pregnancy)! It would have made an excellent turn of events! The inclusion of Nott was interesting. I like that Ron is on a chocolate frog card; I can't quite think of an achievement more suited to him! :D

Author's Response: Ah, sorry about the pregnancy thing, I guess it is a bit of a spoiler. However, I felt that I really should explain why I wrote the story considering how far removed it is from what I usually write, and this challenge was just too appropriate for me to ignore.

As for the chocolate frog card, well I'm afraid I have to admit that I didn't come up with that, that's from JKR herself. I just used that fact to embellish my story a little. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #32, by Mintleaf Repercussions

4th April 2011:
'Till Pansy do us part, more like.' this line is hilarious! Rose asking Ron whether he wants his 'magic beans' is also so, so, so cute! I also like that Pansy admits to being a little fearful of Hermione; she's a force to be reckoned with that's for sure! Again, I really like what you've turned Pansy into after school. Rather than just being Draco's favourite bimbo she seems to be her own person... Though a promiscuous one haha :)

Author's Response: Oh, I'm glad you liked the magic beans thing. It's the sort of thing that young children come up with and it felt right for the story.

I also liked the Pansy being scared of Hermione thing - as you said she would definitely be a force to be reckoned with. And again, thanks for your comments about Pansy's character, I'm so pleased you appreciate that. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #33, by Mintleaf The second mistake

4th April 2011:
Haha what a cheeky chapter :) that being said, it flowed well! I don't know what you were talking about in your author's note on the first chapter; I think it's proof read well enough (though I didn't cast the most critical eye)! I like Pansy's character a lot, strangely enough!

Author's Response: Hi again!

And thanks for saying the chapter flowed okay, because I really wasn't sure about how this story read. As I said, I wrote and posted it in very quick succession so I didn't really have the chance to do a decent proofread.

I'm also glad you like Pansy, I had an idea as to how she'd be and I'm very pleased that it came off okay and didn't turn you off at all. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #34, by Mintleaf A chance encounter

4th April 2011:
I know you said you weren't concerned with characterization but this line makes Harry seem exceedingly pompous: "But Ginís going to kill me if Iím late home again Ė and even if Voldemort couldnít pull that off, I reckon she could.Ē I think it's something about the way it's phrased!

I also think you've reintroduced Pansy in a believable way and form haha :) Good work!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

And thanks for pointing out that line. It sounds okay to me but if you think it's really OOC for Harry then I'll have another look at it. While I said I wasn't all that fussed, I don't want them to be too blatantly OOC because that would defeat the point of the challenge, woudln't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #35, by Beene Acceptance

3rd April 2011:
I completely didn't see this story coming at all, and it sucked me in completely. Unfortunately, Ron's dalliance with Pansy is very realistic. I've had "that talk" with a friend of mine; fortunately for Ron and Hermione they seemed to have patched things up at the present. Hopefully they'll continue to do so in the future.

Have to say you were spot on capturing Ron's guilt. I'm also glad to see you skipped ahead, as I'm not sure I really wanted to read the chapters that contained the omitted time period. That had to be a very dark chapter in the life of Ron.

The best part, though, was the ending. Things don't always have to be stark black and white, and the ending provided several shades of grey. Atlas Parkinson will definitely have some questions in the years to come; wonder if he'll inherit the Weasley hair and complexion? As for Pansy, this is the first story about her that I have actually enjoyed. I can definitely see Pansy raising her son and reveling in the fact that nobody knows who Atlas' father is...again, unfortunately not as rare as one would hope.

Very well done and well-written.

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

I'm so pleased you think I did this story justice. Making a Ron/Pansy pairing work is tricky in any circumstances, but I did want to make it believable. I'm really pleased that you think I got not only the dalliance itself, but also the accompanying guilt and confrontations from friends down pat. That's very reassuring so thank you!

I also agree with you that these situations are very rarely black and white and that was why the ending had the shades of grey that it did. I wanted to keep it so that it could be canon - and therefore compliant with the DH epilogue - but still reflecting the fact that Hermione would never, in that situation, welcome him back with open arms without a LOT of work going into the relationship in the meantime. And that was what I tried to achieve with the last chapter - like you, I thought it woudl be too dark to show the intervening months, but it was important to give the story an appropriate conclusion.

Thanks again for the review, it made my day. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #36, by Nynfadora Acceptance

7th March 2011:
Yay! :)

I really liked that this had a happy ending, it fits in a lot better than if Ron had moved out perminatly, and fits in with his character better too :) And I liked that this continue from six months later, reading about them repairing their relationship for six months might've got a bit dull, while your way gave the reader the necessary information with out the boring bits :D

Really nice to read something different,and I just love reading fics that are completed- weird thing, I guess, so, yeah. loved it :P :) :D

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah, you should know by now that I'd have tried to get this back to canon by the end! If nothing else I wanted this to stay vaguely consistent with the epilogue of DH and so I had to get them back together, or at least trying to resolve their issues, which were pretty significant. But Ron recognised that this was really really important and worked really hard on that, and Hermione eventually managed to forgive him and trust him again. At least, that's how I like to think of it.

Thanks for giving this a shot and reading it all the way through. As I said earlier it's a pretty big departure from the norm for me but that is the point of a challenge and I had a lot of fun writing it. Thanks again :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #37, by slytherinchica08 Acceptance

6th March 2011:
wow i loved this ending it was totally not what i expected! I really liked how you pulled it all off and had Ron and Hermione get back together in the end and that they were working out their problems. It was a great ending and i'm really happy that you did this because it was a really interesting take on the challenge.. it wasnt all happy go lucky it was real and i liked that a lot. Great job on the challenge.

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: Ah, the ending. As I said earlier I'm a canon nerd and if I could get the situation back to something that may one day lead to what we saw in the epilogue, I was going to be happy. OF course it would take ages for Hermione to forgive him and for him to regain her trust, but he'd see that as being more important than anything else so he'd work really hard on it, and Harry and Ginny would support him in that. So I'm glad you liked that because it was my way of getting it back on track to being even vaguely canon. :)

Thanks for setting the challenge. It was a lot of fun and now I know I CAN write something llike Ron/Pansy if I need to. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #38, by slytherinchica08 Recriminations

6th March 2011:
Another really good chapter. I liked seeing the interaction between Harry and Ron over this topic and I liked how Harry was talking about you can look but not touch and that he knows the difference between looking and sampling the goods.. i found that to be rather funny line (funny might not be the right word but hopefully you know what i mean). Great Job on another chapter.

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: Hi again!

I really felt that I had to have Harry give his two cents about this situation, as he'd be sure to let Ron know what he thought about it. And he woudln't be too impressed. I'm glad you liked the "viewing the goods but not handling them" metaphor - I think it's quite common for men to talk that way and it felt right for the situation. I do feel for Ron but he knows he's in the wrong here and has to deal with it. And that's your fault rather than mine, hahahah. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #39, by slytherinchica08 Decisions

6th March 2011:
oo I really liked how you added Nott into the story and that he was the source of information. I really liked how you had Ron find out about the pregnancy and how they both acted about it. I can understand why he wouldnt want to terminate the pregnancy and that she wouldnt either because until someone is actually hit with that situation they really dont know what they would do. Most will say one thing then end up pregnant and decide the opposite. The description in your chapter is great. Cant wait to see how Ron handles telling Hermione. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: To be honest, I'm not really sure where the Nott scene came from, except that I had to get Ron into the hospital somehow so he could run into Pansy and she could let him know. She'd only just found out herself for certain so she was glad to get it off her chest. And yes, thinking one thing about terminations before you actually have to make that decision and the opposite thing afterwards is remarkably common so I'm glad you liked that. I'm sure Pansy would be very vocal about the right to choose but, when in that situation herself, wasn't able to go through with it.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #40, by slytherinchica08 Repercussions

6th March 2011:
I love how well your chapters flow together. Its a really easy read because everything just fits, you dont have to stop and think about how something should be reworded to make more sense or choppy sentences that break it up. Its really interesting so far and cant wait to see how Ron reacts when he finds out that Pansy is pregnant. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: Thank you again! I do try to get a decent flow in my stories, but it doesn't always work (as we all experience, I'm sure). And with this one, again, it was all a matter of just writing and seeing where it took me. I'm still not sure if I took the easy way out and avoided the really difficult scenes, but I think I got most of them in there ... Pansy telling Ron being one of them. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #41, by slytherinchica08 A chance encounter

6th March 2011:
First I must say thank you so much for entering my challenge and finishing it! This was a rather interesting beginning. I can honestly say I have been wondering how you were going to pull off a Ron/Pansy story but here it is and I think the beginning is rather fun and sets the stage nicely for whats to come.

I loved the description through out this chapter and I think you did a pretty good job with these characters as well. I can see Ron as the one who is upset that Hermione is constantly gone for her job. Pansy is rather interesting as well. Again this was a great beginning to this story. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~
Operation: Green with Envy

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Ron/Pansy. I thought it was hilarious, getting that (as you saw from my blog), but I just started typing and this was what came out. I think that if I was to do a proper edit I'd take out the Harry POV and leave it all in Ron's and Pansy's, for the sake of consistency, but when I was writing this was how it came out and I wasn't fussed enough to change it.

As for Hermione being gone all the time, well I'm not sure if she would be but it fit with the story and, with the career she had, it's certainly not beyond the realms of possibility. I'm a canon nerd and I did try to make this as canon as I could, within the parameters I was given in the challenge.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #42, by nextgenoration A chance encounter

28th February 2011:
Hey mel! Here as I promised! :D

So, I'm not a big fan of the Trio cheating, I must admit. However, I was totally drawn in from the first second. I'll be very intersted to see where this goes. I'm personally hoping to see a more sympathetic Ron, after all they went through and survived in the seventh book, I just personally can't see Ron ever wanting to lose Hermione. However! If written well (which I know you will do EASILY), this could be really, really good. So, sufficed to say, you've sparked my interest. And I must commend your stellar grammar and transitions, not that it was any surprise. You have always had great editing! :)

Cheers!

Love ya, ash

Author's Response: HI Ash!!!

Thanks again for dropping by and reviewing this for me, I did feel loved. And for the record, I'm not a fan of the trio cheating either ... but given the Ron/Pansy pairing, how else was I going to write it? AU with them getting together after school? It didn't feel right. So thanks for giving it a go :D And no, Ron doesn't want to lose Hermione, he just wasn't really thinking straight at the time. It happens, unfortunately. Now he's got the problem of how to deal with what he's done.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #43, by Nynfadora Repercussions

28th February 2011:
I like how you write about Ron feeling guilty about this, it makes it so much more realistic, and the way he tries his best to be faithful afterwards too, its strange reading a POV where you love the character thats in the wrong, as it doesn't feel like what hes doing is actually wrong.That probably made no sense, sorry!

Looking foreward to seeing how he treats Hermione later on, and how Pansy tells him the news :)

Author's Response: Yes, poor Ron. He stuffed up and now he's got to suffer the consequences. I like how you didn't really feel that he'd been doing wrong, though, because that means that I had his POV down okay. If he'd felt really bad about it at the time he'd never have done it ... but the guilt afterwards is crippling. (Or so I assume, hahaha.)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #44, by Nynfadora A chance encounter

28th February 2011:
Hello :)

So, never read a Rom/Pansy before (or anything that isn't Ron/Hermione, I really need to get out and stop reading Remus/OCs !) but I really like this so far!

I loved the way you wrote Pansy, and Ron, and how this is (sort of) cannon at the moment, looking foreward to see what it develops into! :)

Author's Response: Hi again! Thanks for the review!

Yes, Ron/Pansy. You saw my musings about it on Twitter, I assume - it was hugely fun to write but god only knows how the story actually reads. However, thanks for giving it a go because I really do appreciate that. And yes, being the canon nerd that I am I did try to keep it canon, though I'm not sure how successful I ended up being. Not to worry. It is called a challenge for a reason, isn't it?

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #45, by Anon. The second mistake

28th February 2011:
You should write on where hermione and draco get together
That would be amazing XD
Just a thought

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

I appreciate the suggestion but this one was written for a challenge and I'm not really a Dramione fan. I do have plans to write a Dramoine parody one day but I'm not sure that's what you're looking for. Thaks for the input, though. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #46, by MYHEART BELONGS TO WOOD The second mistake

27th February 2011:
Oh wow Mel! Holy Cannolis! This and the prior chapter was written very well ( as usual when it comes to your writing) and the start of an awesome story! Looking foward to read more!

MHBTW!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

And thanks for reading my challenge piece. As you realise it's quite different from what I normally write (hence the challenge, hahaha) but I had a bit of fun with it seeing what I could do. Appreciate your support! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #47, by Skygh A chance encounter

27th February 2011:
I only read about half of this but thought I'd give a pity review xD
I'll read it eventually...perhaps

Author's Response: LOL. Thanks for the pity review! It's always nice to get off that big zero, so I really appreciated this, even if you didn't read the story. Like I said it's not what I normally write so I didn't expect a big reaction. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>