Reading Reviews for How to tame a Marauder
  
3,860 Reviews Found

Review #26, by nott theodore The war finds Hogwarts

8th July 2014:
You might think that this chapter comes across as a bit of a filler chapter but I do think there was some really important parts to be found in it, and I found it really interesting to read as well. I really liked the way that you manage to intermingle the normality of everyday school life and then bring in the horror of the war and some of the other worse, more tragic sides. The fact that Slughorn invited Bellatrix and her husband to come to one of his parties is simply horrendous, but to be honest I could imagine him doing it because he doesn't necessarily think about what's right and wrong as long as it's got the most benefit for him - he doesn't want to get involved in the war, but this way, he's under Dumbledore's protection and keeping links with Death Eaters too. It's understandable how angry everyone was, though!

Poor Lily, to hear that her mother's got worse, and so soon after James lost his father. I feel like she probably has to prepare herself for the worst eventually, but it must be so hard for her being away from home at this time. I liked the way that they got revenge on the Slytherins for what they'd said, but again, it was another reminder of how close the war has come and the prejudices there which are so deep-rooted.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #27, by nott theodore Valentines Day

8th July 2014:
Ah, I knew that things from the fan club were going to get worse! I find the concept of it a little bit strange because I can't imagine ever being one of those girls - why do they obsess so much over someone they've never spoken to, and try to break him up from his girlfriend when he's clearly happy? It's cute how protective Sirius is of Laura though and it is quite amusing to read about their attempts sometimes, I just hope they don't get worse and more malicious...

Valentine's Day was perfect! I loved the way that you wrote it and it was so lovely for the two of them to get the chance to have some alone time as a couple away from everyone else, but also for them to have a significant day like that not get ruined by someone else or one or other of the pair mistrusting something! I liked the end of this chapter as well because I've missed seeing Mary around so much, and she's such a good friend to Laura. They're both quite absorbed in their boyfriends right now which makes sense, but it's nice to see them not neglecting their friendship too.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #28, by nott theodore Duelling lessons

8th July 2014:
I'm glad that Laura's got someone like Lily around who can sort of share the experience of going out with one of the Marauders, because it must be strange for any girl when they're going out with one of the boys from that group, who are all so closely knit. But it's good that Lily trusts James and is there to look after Laura and persuade her they're not doing anything bad; obviously she doesn't know about Remus yet and the fact that they help with his transformations.

I feel so, so sorry for James to find out that his father's died from Dragon Pox. It's such a sudden death and the news must have been awful to take, both for him and Sirius as well who was like their second son. However, I like the fact that you're slowly working in the details that their parents die before James and Lily do as it means that it doesn't seem as sudden or dramatic. I feel sorry for Laura having to deal with the fan club too, it's going to be a lot worse still, I think! But it's great that the boys are teaching Laura and Lily duelling - it shows how much they care about them and it's going to be good for them to practise and be able to defend themselves too.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore Confrontations

8th July 2014:
Oh dear, oh dear. It seems like there's always going to be some sort of obstacle in the way of these two, doesn't it? I can understand that in a way because most romances tend to finish when the couple has finally got together, but in this, since it's also a coming-of-age story, it makes sense that it would continue afterwards and we get to see the way that their relationship develops through the time they're together. All of the confrontations in this chapter were really interesting to read. I can sense that maybe the fan club won't back off for long, especially when they realise how much Sirius cares about Laura. And the part with Regulus was really sad to read because the last time we saw him in this story, if I remember correctly, was when he was trying to help Sirius out. Seeing him being so mean and cruel now is awful, but I suppose that's what would have happened if he was tempted towards the Dark Arts. Then the final section, when Laura told Sirius she didn't know if it would work out - why does she have to be so dramatic? I know she's working on her insecurities but I feel so sorry for Sirius when it really isn't his secret to tel!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #30, by nott theodore Reconciliation attempted

8th July 2014:
Yes, finally! I'm so happy that they got back together in this chapter because I'd have been so upset if they hadn't. The two of them work so well together and it's such a relief to see them together again. I've read a lot of Sirius/OC stories before but I think that Sirius and Laura have to be one of, if not my favourite, version of the story. The beginning of this chapter was so well written because I could see how much pain they were both feeling because of their break-up and it's clear how much they both mean to each other. I knew that there'd be an explanation other than the conclusion that Laura had jumped to and I'm glad that she gave Sirius a chance to explain himself when it came to it. He definitely can't go round saying things like that to all the girls, no matter how much of a charmer he's known to be, and it's obvious how much more Laura means to him than any other girl has before. James and Lily's relief when they found out that the two of them had got back together was so funny and I could share in it a bit as well!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #31, by nott theodore Back to school

8th July 2014:
Laura's mum is really perceptive, isn't she? First realising that Bertram Aubrey wasn't the right guy for Laura and then seeing clearly that she's heartbroken when she returns from the Potters so upset and pretending that it's got nothing to do with boys. I also liked the fact that while Laura is so upset she can still worry about her parents because their jobs are really quite dangerous and I hope that they're both okay doing them with this war going on.

Oh no, Laura thinks that Sirius didn't go after her! Of course at this point she doesn't know that he's an Animagus and that dog she saw desperately chasing the car was actually Sirius! I feel so sorry for both Laura and Sirius in this chapter because they're both so miserable and everyone else but them can see that they're pining for each other - they are a bit hopeless, aren't they? All these mixed messages and miscommunications threatening to break them up! But I hope that Laura's seen sense now that Lily's guilt tripped her into meeting and talking with Sirius, because otherwise they'll all be miserable!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #32, by nott theodore At the Potters'

8th July 2014:
Oh no! I suspect that you secretly like torturing all you readers with chapters like this because everything was so perfect and happy and Laura and Sirius were all sweet and fluffy, and then you go and end the chapter like that, and what? They've only been together a few weeks and they've just broken up! This is awful!

I liked the beginning and the way that Laura was so nervous to be introduced to James's parents because they looked after Sirius so well; I thought you portrayed them brilliantly too because they seemed so caring and I imagine they would have been happy to see anyone who made Sirius or James so happy. The part with the car and when Laura tried to teach them to drive made me laugh, but it was a little dangerous, like I thought it would be! Aw, Lily, trying to impress the in-laws!

The party was really cute and I do like seeing the more caring and sweeter side to Sirius that he's tried to show to some extent before but he's never really fully revealed to Laura in this story. But then for everything to be so cute and happy and then for Laura to overhear that! I feel so bad for her! In a way I think her reaction's justified, but then in another I think that's just the way that guys talk to each other and it probably didn't mean what she thought it did. But now they've broken up!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #33, by nott theodore Christmas

8th July 2014:
Ah, what a lovely chapter to start off my day's reviewing with, lots of fluff and Sirius and Laura time! The two of them are seriously so cute and it was nice seeing them get pretty much a whole chapter to themselves so that they could discuss some of the things that had happened in the past without having everyone else there to listen. I love the way you write Sirius at the moment - he's still in character but there are some changes starting to creep in and a lot of that is clearly due to just how much he cares about Laura and wants to protect her and make sure that she's alright. I loved his concern when he was asking about security systems, because it reminded me of when he was talking to Harry. Then the meeting - even if it was in secret - was just so cute. His explanation about the clasp was even sweeter than I thought it would be! And I'm glad that Laura's finally started to realise that just because nobody had the guts to ask her out before, it doesn't mean she's unnoticed or completely ordinary. I loved reading all the fluff between them this chapter and it made me smile to know there'll hopefully be some more in the next with the party!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #34, by nott theodore Confessions

7th July 2014:
This was definitely an 'about time' chapter, I can't deny it! But I loved reading it and I was smiling so much all the way through the chapter to see Laura and Sirius finally get together. Having said that, I think that you managed to build it up really well because now there's time to watch their relationship grow as well; it's so great to see that they've got some happiness too!

I loved the way that all the others reacted to the fact that Sirius and Laura had got together - I think they were the only two who were really surprised about it. Bernie knew that Sirius liked Laura, Lily knew that Laura liked Sirius, and all the Marauders knew that Sirius was crazy about Laura :P It's so funny to think about how hopeless they've been about their feelings and how much time they've wasted, but at least they have admitted it now. Peter was a lot more discreet than I thought he could be but I loved the time that they got together as well. I hope that they can get to see each other over the holidays and I loved all of the confessions about the fact that they've liked each other. It was so amazing and sweet to hear Sirius saying all those things about Laura and confirming everything that I've actually thought over the course of this story!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #35, by nott theodore Snowballing

7th July 2014:
SUCH AN AMAZING CHAPTER! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ It was so amazing for this to get to finally happen, and I think that the chapter title 'Snowballing' is so appropriate for this chapter because things really do snowball and then there's the whole snowball fight at the beginning as well! Ah, I just got so many feels from this chapter and loved reading it so much. I'm glad that they've finally got a chance of getting together!

Poor Bernie, suffering for the fact that he's going to the ball with Laura because Sirius wasn't the one to ask her first! That's so silly but very in character for Sirius so I'm not surprised. And then Sirius and Laura had such a moment with the snowball fight when they're about to kiss, and they're just adorable and cute!

I really liked the part when you described them all getting ready in this chapter as well, because I think that it helped to show how much things have moved on in the last two years, and how much Laura and Mary and the others have all changed as well. It's so fantastic! And then the ball with Bernie, but Sirius cuts in for a dance. I'm so glad that he finally plucked up the courage to tell her the way that he feels, and really it was so cute and sweet, and I can't think of much to say because it's late and I need to read the next chapter right now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #36, by nott theodore The worst news possible

7th July 2014:
I feel like there are going to be a lot of problems with my poor, poor feels in these few chapters at the moment. All of the things that keep getting in the way of Laura and Sirius getting together are just so frustrating because I know that they could really easily be together but they're just so obstinate that they don't get together. The news about Sirius really liking someone is perfect because really it's Laura that he likes - and I'm fairly sure that Lily knows about it too. And then Sirius has that conversation with Laura and she won't tell him what's wrong because not being with him is the problem, but he takes it to mean that she doesn't like him! The pair of them are hopeless! I hope that they get together soon!

I feel like there's a lot more build up to the Yule Ball this year because it's going to be a much bigger plot event in the story than the first one, but I'm really excited about it and I can't wait to read what happens there!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #37, by nott theodore Facing reality

7th July 2014:
SO MANY FEELS! Oh wow, this chapter just killed me a little bit inside because I just felt so sorry for Laura here! The poor girl, she thought that she was 'facing reality' but it's just making her more miserable by denying what she wants to happen. I can understand how sad she felt at the beginning of this chapter because she likes Sirius a lot more than she's telling herself, probably. But then when she got caught by the Slytherins on the staircase and had to go to the Hospital Wing - I felt so sorry for her! Mary's a really good friend though and I'm glad she cleared up the fact that Sirius was just attacked by one of the fan club and was overseen by Laura.

Then all of the parts with Sirius! They just gave me so many feels because I felt so sorry for him since Laura was denying all the possibilities that the two of them might get together! It just broke my heart a little bit because the two of them clearly like each other a lot but she's denying it and Sirius is too scared to say anything when she keeps rebuffing him like this, just because she's trying to protect her own feelings!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #38, by nott theodore Pubs, pranks and parties

7th July 2014:
What another great chapter! Although quite a big cliffhanger for you to leave it on so I'm glad that I can just continue reading this story to find out what happens next! Laura's such a lovely and likable main character and I love reading this story from her point of view. Her voice is so strong but she's quite self-deprecating as well, and we can see that in the way that she can't believe that Sirius could possibly like her and it's so sweet to see her like this. I'm so glad that she's got a friend like Mary in her corner to support her though, she's so lovely!

Aw, she should have taken her chance with Sirius at his party while she had it! I'm pretty sure that there was much more to it than him just being drunk and making a fool of himself as Laura thought he might be doing. And then for her to see him kissing another girl in the middle of a corridor! I don't think that he really does have another girlfriend - I'm sure they'd have found out about it before - but I felt so sorry for Laura here!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #39, by nott theodore Broomstick maintenance

7th July 2014:
Lily and James are just so cute! ♥ It made me smile that at the beginning of this chapter you wrote the way that the two of them were absent a lot and at least their friends didn't mind, because they're in the couple bubble that comes right at the beginning of the relationship. It's great to see that they get a chance at happiness at this point and to know that although their lives were short they were happy together all the same.

I loved the conversation between Sirius and Laura and the way that Sirius is really starting to pay attention to all the details about Laura, like the conversation they had over a year ago after the OWLs, because it just shows that really he does like her and is paying a lot of attention to her. I suspect she's something to do with the reason that he couldn't finish his homework, either! The second part with the broomstick maintenance was interesting to read as well, and it's great to see the way that Laura's being accepted by the boys and she's just come into her own and grown in confidence so much more recently that it's fantastic to read about.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #40, by nott theodore It's all about James

7th July 2014:
Aw, more Sirius and Laura conversations, even if the other Marauders were present and she felt like she was making a fool of herself. Her knowledge of Quidditch and brooms was certainly very impressive and I'm not surprised that James was so impressed - regardless of how Sirius feels about her - with her knowledge and wanted her to be a part of the team, or work as their adviser. The news about the fact that she's not allowed to do any extra curricular activities - and that includes boyfriends - is quite unfair! It's probably scuppered Sirius's plans for the year as well :P

I loved the fact that James and Lily have finally got together! It felt realistic for them to get together at this stage and I'm glad you want them to have as much time together as possible because their end is so sad! But I loved the way Lily took the initiative in the end and just got them together, I felt so happy for them and it's a mark of the strength of their friendship that everyone else is as well!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #41, by nott theodore Getting to their Heads

7th July 2014:
And they're back to school for their final year - I can't believe that they've got to seventh year already, although there's still about half of the novel left so I imagine that there's an awful lot going to happen still in this story. It was great to see Lily and James in this chapter and their reaction to the fact that the two of them are Head Girl and Boy for the year. It's a bit of a surprise for Lily, I imagine, since none of them had thought that it would be James, but the way he acted in the attack last year did make it likely that he would get it, and much more plausible.

Ah, so much Sirius and Laura tension! I loved the sly look from Mary and the way that Laura tried to ignore it, but I feel so sorry for her - she's comparing herself to Elvira and the fan club but she's not at all, because she's falling for Sirius because she actually knows what he's like. And he definitely likes her as well but she just won't believe it. Hopefully there'll be lots more Sirius/Laura moments in future chapters and I'm sure James and Lily will get together soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #42, by nott theodore Summer holidays

7th July 2014:
I was really glad Sirius made an appearance in this chapter even though it was summer, because I love the scenes with the two of them. And Sirius, a little bit. Maybe ;) I'd actually forgotten about the fact that Laura had agreed to wait till Mary was of age to take the Apparition test, but it's great that they both passed. And that she passed her Muggle driving test, too - I dread to think what the Marauders would be like if she actually did try and teach them to drive. I think that dangerous would probably be the best adjective to describe that concept.

The wedding was a nice interlude to read and to see some more of Laura's family and another appearance from Bea. It made made me laugh how much Laura had to coach her sister on how to behave properly as a bridesmaid at the wedding though - a year out of school and the younger sister is still sorting out problems caused by the elder :P Then it was great to see another Diagon Alley trip as well, with the girls again - I'm really glad Laura and Mary got included more and more with the other three so that all five are now friends. And I'm looking forward to see what it's like when Lily finds out that James is the Head Boy!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #43, by nott theodore Exams

7th July 2014:
Once again, you somehow managed to make a chapter about exams interesting to read about! I think that alone says something about how interesting and entertaining this story is to read, not to mention the quality of your writing.

Laura is making me laugh a little bit with how pessimistic she is when it comes to Sirius. I can understand why she would be so convinced that he's never going to like her but it's obvious that he does to me and she's putting herself through hell for nothing - soon she'll be worrying that he sees her as just another one of the fan club! I've not mentioned her character development for a while but she's grown so much in confidence over this year that it's really nice to see.

I loved reading about the conversation between Sirius and Laura (okay, I love reading all interactions between the two of them) and seeing the way that he decided to confide in her. It shows how much he trusts her and is more proof to me that he likes her; at least he's going to be able to support himself now and he won't feel so bad about the fact he's living off charity.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #44, by nott theodore Deciding the Quidditch Cup

7th July 2014:
Haha, I liked the way that you wrote the return to school after the excitement of the Dementor attack and the fact that they've gone back to somewhere which - although magical - is just like any other secondary school and full of people who tell each other stories and let rumours get out of hand until they're completely ridiculous. It's quite interesting to see the contrast in the normality of that and the way that teenagers always act, and then the gravity of the war on the other hand.

Ooh, so much tension at the Quidditch match! I loved the fact you wrote Laura as being so conscious of her proximity to Sirius because it felt right considering she's only recently discovered her crush on him. And Gryffindor won the match as well, so that just makes it all even better! Oh no, I felt so sorry for Laura again at the end of this chapter because if Sirius was avoiding Laura, it can't have been for the reason that she thinks, that he wants to stop her feelings! I hope she doesn't think like that for too much longer!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #45, by nott theodore Hogsmeade under attack

7th July 2014:
Aw, I feel so sorry for Laura in this chapter. She's just so down and feeling sad after what happened with Bertram - and that's perfectly understandable for me - but she doesn't need to be! She doesn't think she deserves what she actually does and has such low expectations for herself. I think that Mary was probably being a good friend by telling her not to get her hopes up with Sirius, because while I'm sure he does like her, it would be awful for Laura to fall for him and not have the feelings returned when they're all becoming good friends. Those Sirius/Laura moments, though! He was so sweet telling her she is beautiful and holding her hand and putting his arm around her - I think he'd have carried on like that if James hadn't spotted him, to be honest!

Oh my goodness, another Dementor attack! I didn't expect the Hogsmeade trip to end that way at all but I liked the way that you used it to give an explanation for why Dumbledore might have made James Head Boy after not being a prefect. He's shown such brilliant leadership skills here and it's clear how great they'll be at fighting Death Eaters in the future if they managed this as just sixth years!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #46, by nott theodore Intrusions and epiphanies

7th July 2014:
Ah, Laura has finally clicked that the reason she isn't all that bothered about Bertram (well she is, of course, but if she'd liked Bertram more then I think it would have been harder for her to deal with the news that he was cheating on her) is because she's actually got a crush on Sirius. Eep, this is exciting news! I liked the fact that she only told Mary for now because even though she's friends with the other girls, they're not as close as Laura and Mary are at the moment and it's better for them to keep each other's secrets, I think.

Bertram's really a nasty piece of work. I can't believe that he'd first of all try and pretend that nothing happened when Laura saw it, and then tell her he loves her to try and get her back. If anything, he's in love with the idea of her, the girl that he's created in his head that isn't really Laura. I'm so glad that the boys are looking out for her as well as the girls, and she certainly shouldn't be bothered so often with Sirius being as protective as he is. They both definitely like each other now - I just hope that they can carry on getting closer and then get together eventually!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #47, by nott theodore Bertram's end

7th July 2014:
You know, until reading your author's note for this chapter I'd completely forgotten that James and Sirius had got into trouble for cursing Bertram Aubrey so it's amazing that you took that tiny detail and worked it into the story like this. I felt so, so proud of Laura and the way that she dealt with finding out about Bertram cheating on her. She was so mature and together about the whole thing and even though she'll shed lots more tears over it, she can be proud she didn't show how much it got to her.

I feel like Sirius probably told her for slightly the wrong reasons, but it's good that the other boys were there to measure his response as well. And the conversation between the two of them afterwards was really cute! ♥ I just wanted to give Sirius a hug for doing so much to distract Laura and look after her when she'd found out something so horrible. It must have been hard for him since he likes her so much but it was really sweet to take care of her and he clearly trusts her to tell her about the cloak and show her the map as well. I'm so glad Laura's got all the girls to rally around her and look after her too now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #48, by caapotter Epilogue

7th July 2014:
No wonder you won most addicting story! I've been at it for just a few days and I haven't slept last night!!! I was heart broken with Laura's faith, though I really thought it fit best in terms of canon. I guess I would be worse if they just broke up. Congrats on the writing and the story. Brilliant I must say!!! Caa xx

 Report Review

Review #49, by nott theodore Exposing the lies

7th July 2014:
I KNEW IT! I knew it, I knew it, I knew it. Well okay, I didn't know that Bertram was cheating on her but I knew that he wasn't a good guy and that Laura would be better off without him. But anyway, I'll talk about that in a little bit...

Ugh, looking back at the beginning of this chapter, I'm really annoyed at how two-faced Bertram was when he was with Laura and yet at the same time he was probably cheating on her. It's just so unfair and mean and she deserves a lot, lot better than someone who'd treat her like that. But the Sirius and Laura conversations made me smile! It's nice to see them getting on a lot better now and growing gradually closer, and I suspect that Sirius already has feelings for Laura, although Laura's denying hers since she's got a boyfriend.

The part about the Turpin Tales was sweet, as well. I thought that Sirius had bad taste in girls when I read he was going out with Dione earlier on but I think that it's quite cute they were so worried and surprised and simply didn't have a clue that she spread rumours like that. And then the ending! I didn't expect that to happen but I suppose that was what the boys saw on the map? Anyway, reading on to find out what happens...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #50, by nott theodore Gryffindor vs Hufflepuff

7th July 2014:
So Bertram expected her to support Hufflepuff instead of Gryffindor in a Quidditch game just because he's in that house? This just gets worse and worse! How could he think that he knows Laura when he's hoping that she'll change her mind and support a team that's not her own? He clearly doesn't know her at all well. But Gryffindor won! :D And Sirius and Laura are starting to interact more and get closer too, so that's great to see!

I'm not surprised that Laura took Bertram home to see her parents and family in the Easter holidays but at the same time I think that it's made her think a bit more about whether she wants to be with him or not - I hope so, anyway! (Can you tell that I really don't like Bertram?) I wish she'd had chance to have that talk with Mary! The part at the end when the four boys were looking at the map and talking about something on it was really intriguing. I can't work out what it is yet - maybe something to do with the Slytherins? But of course it's even more intriguing for the girls who don't know about the map!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>