Reading Reviews for How to tame a Marauder
  
3,866 Reviews Found

Review #26, by nott theodore Elvira's revenge

8th July 2014:
Okay, thank goodness for that! I was really worried at the end of the last chapter and I saw how Sirius reacted to Laura's presence and obviously he believed the story that she'd been seeing Bernie Carmichael behind his back, but I'm so glad that they didn't break up over something like that, especially a lie that Elvira's made up purely because she's jealous of the two of them being together.

I think that you wrote the conversation they had really convincingly; I could understand Sirius's side of the story and the fact that they had unknowingly played on the many insecurities he has when it comes to Laura. It's so refreshing to read a portrayal of Sirius Black that isn't a perfect guy, because it's just not believable then. But I loved the way that they did manage to work it out and in the end it was more about Sirius feeling like he didn't deserve Laura and being terrified of being in love than the fact it might have been possible. And of course Laura wouldn't do something like that. But I'm glad that they're going to get some sort of justice for everything that Elvira's actually done so unfairly to them!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #27, by nott theodore Laura Cauldwell, amateur counsellor

8th July 2014:
Oh my goodness, not again. How on earth do you keep ending chapters with bombshells like that? I swear reading each one of these is like a rollercoaster of emotions and I never know how I'm going to feel at the end of it, but at least I can read on - how bad must it have been for the people reading this as you posted? :P

I really liked the return of Laura as an agony aunt of sorts because it's been a while since people seemed to come for her for advice as much as they used to, but I suspect part of that's because Elvira was one of the main people who used to come and ask for advice with Sirius. It was good to get an insight into both Charlotte and Remus's feelings in this chapter and I felt quite sorry for them both - the only thing that helped was that I know Remus will end up with Tonks and have some happiness finally! And then Sirius as well - I can't believe his parents could be so horrible as to send letters like that which would, obviously, still get to him even though he's left home.

And then the ending! I can't believe that they've struck in such a horrible way to break Sirius and Laura up! It's so awful and unnecessary and it breaks my heart a little bit that Sirius actually believed what they said. I hope they manage to sort it out and that this isn't the end of them!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #28, by nott theodore Nothing to giggle about

8th July 2014:
I really liked the way that you wrote this chapter and the change in attitude of Laura and Lily after Mary's death. To me it would be only natural that after knowing their friend died, they'd not only want to be able to defend themselves as James and Sirius are teaching them to do, but also to fight against the people who killed Mary and her family if they ever encounter them. I know that Lily ended up in the Order and I suspect that Laura will as well because of the way that she's so desperate to fight in memory of Mary.

It's horrible to think that even though Laura's just lost her best friend and one of the students at the school has died, there are still people like Elvira who will ignore all the other serious problems and become obsessed with the fact that Laura's with Sirius, who she fancies. It's so ridiculous really but also a true reflection of life because there will always be people who fixate on things like that. The Bubotuber pus was awful after tampering with her broom, too, and I'm glad Bernie and Seb were there to back Laura up. But I suspect that won't be the worst of what they have planned...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #29, by nott theodore Mary

8th July 2014:
This was such a sad and upsetting chapter to read. I can't believe that Mary is actually gone, and I think you wrote this wonderfully to echo Laura's grief and make the reader feel the disbelief and sadness that she's feeling as well. Mary definitely deserved a whole chapter to herself in this story, especially with her life cut short so tragically. This was a really touching chapter to show that.

I think that the beginning of the chapter captured the panic and fear of her parents really well. They must have been absolutely stricken and terrified when they learned what had happened to the Macdonald family, knowing that Laura was supposed to be with them, and in a way, as horrible as it is, you have to be grateful she wasn't. Their deaths were so sad and futile - they didn't achieve anything. The funeral was making me tear up as I read it and I thought you wrote Dumbledore's speech very well once they'd returned to school. Of course the Slytherins wouldn't pay much attention - some of them are probably related to the perpetrators. But the last section, when Lily began Mary's wall in the dormitory, was beautiful, and so moving. It feels like a fitting tribute and it's a constant reminder of the war which has been on the edges for so long, but which has now touched their lives directly as well.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #30, by nott theodore Cataclysm

8th July 2014:
Oh no! How can you do this to me, take my emotions from happy to devastated in one chapter? I don't know how you can keep writing chapters like this which make me so hopeful for Sirius and Laura in the future and then right at the end you not only leave it on a bit of a cliffhanger but you bring in a piece of news that's going to shock anyone who reads it! I can't believe that Mary and her family are all dead! And just after Sirius and Laura were talking about the fact that the Death Eaters were targetting intermarriages between purebloods and Muggle-born families, and the fact that Mary's mother was worried about it! It's just so awful!

I honestly thought that the worst thing that could happen in this chapter would be that Laura would be found out by her parents and told off by them for lying and deceiving them, but then you go and drop this bombshell! It was just so happy with Sirius and Laura confessing that they love each other and then him giving her wand access to his flat, and then this... it's so upsetting, I just hope that Laura will be alright or that it's some sort of mistake!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #31, by nott theodore London

8th July 2014:
Wow. Okay, I definitely wasn't expecting that confession to come at the end of this chapter - you like writing cliffhangers a little bit too much, I think :P Once again it makes me glad I've got the rest of the story to read straight away, rather than having to wait for whatever happens next!

It was really interesting to get to meet Mary's brother as well as her mother who we've seen before, and they seem like a really nice family. I have no idea how you've been patient enough to keep up writing all the Scottish accents, though - it's so impressive! But it was nice of Mary's mother to let her use them as a cover so she could see Sirius. And then for Laura and Sirius to have those days in London, it's so nice for them because they rarely get time when they can just be a young couple who are in love, rather than worrying about what everyone else thinks and is doing and the stresses of the war as well. The part about Snuffles was really funny, and I loved how you worked that bit in! And then ending the chapter with the confession that Sirius loves Laura - what is she going to do now? I have to read on and find out!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #32, by nott theodore An offer too good to refuse

8th July 2014:
Having read your author's note for this chapter I'm now getting a little worried that something else is going to go wrong when Laura actually goes to stay with Sirius and something that she thought was an offer too good to refuse will turn out to be a bit of a catastrophe... maybe I'm just a bit pessimistic, but I feel like it might not end well. Regardless of that, it's lovely that he's offering for Laura to come and stay with him, and I feel like it's yet another proof of how much he does care about her because really, I don't think he's the sort of person to ask people to stay with him at his flat, because he's so private.

It's lovely to see all of the friendship between Laura and Mary, and that even if the two of them haven't been spending as much time together recently because they've been occupied with their boyfriends, they'll still always be there to help each other out. The fact of what Bernie told Laura is quite worrying, though. It looks like the fan club are indeed getting more malicious and they could have killed her, really, when they cursed her broom like that. She's just lucky Sirius was there - I hope that it doesn't get worse in the future, but I feel like it might...

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #33, by nott theodore Another birthday

8th July 2014:
You know, every time that I see a chapter title like 'Valentines Day' or 'Another Birthday', I get a little bit worried that you're going to write something else which means Sirius and Laura come close to breaking up, so I'm really glad that didn't happen in this chapter! It was a very fluffy chapter but that was quite nice to read because I feel like as we get towards the end of this story, the chapters are going to take us back down to earth again and the effects of the war will become more and more apparent. So it was lovely to read about Laura actually having a nice birthday for a change - much better than the one that Bertram gave her last year, because she now has a boyfriend who knows a lot better and cares for her much more. The section when he gave her the gift was really sweet and shows how close they are, and then I enjoyed reading the section about the birthday party. So much has changed in a year but it really made me laugh to read them arguing about whether James or Sirius was more under the thumb of their respective girlfriends!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #34, by nott theodore Revelations

8th July 2014:
Well this was a really cute chapter! I've known for a while that this was going to happen - it was kind of inevitable with how close the two of them have grown, I think. But I liked the fact that Sirius planned the day for them so carefully but at the same time he wasn't assuming anything, and he's been so careful to take care of her feelings and consider the fact that she went through a horrible experience with Bertram. He's so sweet when he's with her and I think it's good that the other characters have noted the change too, since it makes it more obvious that it's about Laura.

All of the revelations were really interesting to read - of course as a reader we know most of them already from canon, but it was good to see Laura's reaction to everything. Now that she knows all about the fact that the Marauders are Animagi and the fact that Remus is a werewolf I think they'll just grow closer, because she has less reason to mistrust him and suspect him of anything. The foreshadowing of the betrayal with that line about Peter was neatly put in! And I liked the fact that she's finally realised Sirius did follow her on the day at the Potters, so that's erased some more of the pain from the past.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #35, by nott theodore The war finds Hogwarts

8th July 2014:
You might think that this chapter comes across as a bit of a filler chapter but I do think there was some really important parts to be found in it, and I found it really interesting to read as well. I really liked the way that you manage to intermingle the normality of everyday school life and then bring in the horror of the war and some of the other worse, more tragic sides. The fact that Slughorn invited Bellatrix and her husband to come to one of his parties is simply horrendous, but to be honest I could imagine him doing it because he doesn't necessarily think about what's right and wrong as long as it's got the most benefit for him - he doesn't want to get involved in the war, but this way, he's under Dumbledore's protection and keeping links with Death Eaters too. It's understandable how angry everyone was, though!

Poor Lily, to hear that her mother's got worse, and so soon after James lost his father. I feel like she probably has to prepare herself for the worst eventually, but it must be so hard for her being away from home at this time. I liked the way that they got revenge on the Slytherins for what they'd said, but again, it was another reminder of how close the war has come and the prejudices there which are so deep-rooted.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #36, by nott theodore Valentines Day

8th July 2014:
Ah, I knew that things from the fan club were going to get worse! I find the concept of it a little bit strange because I can't imagine ever being one of those girls - why do they obsess so much over someone they've never spoken to, and try to break him up from his girlfriend when he's clearly happy? It's cute how protective Sirius is of Laura though and it is quite amusing to read about their attempts sometimes, I just hope they don't get worse and more malicious...

Valentine's Day was perfect! I loved the way that you wrote it and it was so lovely for the two of them to get the chance to have some alone time as a couple away from everyone else, but also for them to have a significant day like that not get ruined by someone else or one or other of the pair mistrusting something! I liked the end of this chapter as well because I've missed seeing Mary around so much, and she's such a good friend to Laura. They're both quite absorbed in their boyfriends right now which makes sense, but it's nice to see them not neglecting their friendship too.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #37, by nott theodore Duelling lessons

8th July 2014:
I'm glad that Laura's got someone like Lily around who can sort of share the experience of going out with one of the Marauders, because it must be strange for any girl when they're going out with one of the boys from that group, who are all so closely knit. But it's good that Lily trusts James and is there to look after Laura and persuade her they're not doing anything bad; obviously she doesn't know about Remus yet and the fact that they help with his transformations.

I feel so, so sorry for James to find out that his father's died from Dragon Pox. It's such a sudden death and the news must have been awful to take, both for him and Sirius as well who was like their second son. However, I like the fact that you're slowly working in the details that their parents die before James and Lily do as it means that it doesn't seem as sudden or dramatic. I feel sorry for Laura having to deal with the fan club too, it's going to be a lot worse still, I think! But it's great that the boys are teaching Laura and Lily duelling - it shows how much they care about them and it's going to be good for them to practise and be able to defend themselves too.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #38, by nott theodore Confrontations

8th July 2014:
Oh dear, oh dear. It seems like there's always going to be some sort of obstacle in the way of these two, doesn't it? I can understand that in a way because most romances tend to finish when the couple has finally got together, but in this, since it's also a coming-of-age story, it makes sense that it would continue afterwards and we get to see the way that their relationship develops through the time they're together. All of the confrontations in this chapter were really interesting to read. I can sense that maybe the fan club won't back off for long, especially when they realise how much Sirius cares about Laura. And the part with Regulus was really sad to read because the last time we saw him in this story, if I remember correctly, was when he was trying to help Sirius out. Seeing him being so mean and cruel now is awful, but I suppose that's what would have happened if he was tempted towards the Dark Arts. Then the final section, when Laura told Sirius she didn't know if it would work out - why does she have to be so dramatic? I know she's working on her insecurities but I feel so sorry for Sirius when it really isn't his secret to tel!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #39, by nott theodore Reconciliation attempted

8th July 2014:
Yes, finally! I'm so happy that they got back together in this chapter because I'd have been so upset if they hadn't. The two of them work so well together and it's such a relief to see them together again. I've read a lot of Sirius/OC stories before but I think that Sirius and Laura have to be one of, if not my favourite, version of the story. The beginning of this chapter was so well written because I could see how much pain they were both feeling because of their break-up and it's clear how much they both mean to each other. I knew that there'd be an explanation other than the conclusion that Laura had jumped to and I'm glad that she gave Sirius a chance to explain himself when it came to it. He definitely can't go round saying things like that to all the girls, no matter how much of a charmer he's known to be, and it's obvious how much more Laura means to him than any other girl has before. James and Lily's relief when they found out that the two of them had got back together was so funny and I could share in it a bit as well!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #40, by nott theodore Back to school

8th July 2014:
Laura's mum is really perceptive, isn't she? First realising that Bertram Aubrey wasn't the right guy for Laura and then seeing clearly that she's heartbroken when she returns from the Potters so upset and pretending that it's got nothing to do with boys. I also liked the fact that while Laura is so upset she can still worry about her parents because their jobs are really quite dangerous and I hope that they're both okay doing them with this war going on.

Oh no, Laura thinks that Sirius didn't go after her! Of course at this point she doesn't know that he's an Animagus and that dog she saw desperately chasing the car was actually Sirius! I feel so sorry for both Laura and Sirius in this chapter because they're both so miserable and everyone else but them can see that they're pining for each other - they are a bit hopeless, aren't they? All these mixed messages and miscommunications threatening to break them up! But I hope that Laura's seen sense now that Lily's guilt tripped her into meeting and talking with Sirius, because otherwise they'll all be miserable!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #41, by nott theodore At the Potters'

8th July 2014:
Oh no! I suspect that you secretly like torturing all you readers with chapters like this because everything was so perfect and happy and Laura and Sirius were all sweet and fluffy, and then you go and end the chapter like that, and what? They've only been together a few weeks and they've just broken up! This is awful!

I liked the beginning and the way that Laura was so nervous to be introduced to James's parents because they looked after Sirius so well; I thought you portrayed them brilliantly too because they seemed so caring and I imagine they would have been happy to see anyone who made Sirius or James so happy. The part with the car and when Laura tried to teach them to drive made me laugh, but it was a little dangerous, like I thought it would be! Aw, Lily, trying to impress the in-laws!

The party was really cute and I do like seeing the more caring and sweeter side to Sirius that he's tried to show to some extent before but he's never really fully revealed to Laura in this story. But then for everything to be so cute and happy and then for Laura to overhear that! I feel so bad for her! In a way I think her reaction's justified, but then in another I think that's just the way that guys talk to each other and it probably didn't mean what she thought it did. But now they've broken up!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #42, by nott theodore Christmas

8th July 2014:
Ah, what a lovely chapter to start off my day's reviewing with, lots of fluff and Sirius and Laura time! The two of them are seriously so cute and it was nice seeing them get pretty much a whole chapter to themselves so that they could discuss some of the things that had happened in the past without having everyone else there to listen. I love the way you write Sirius at the moment - he's still in character but there are some changes starting to creep in and a lot of that is clearly due to just how much he cares about Laura and wants to protect her and make sure that she's alright. I loved his concern when he was asking about security systems, because it reminded me of when he was talking to Harry. Then the meeting - even if it was in secret - was just so cute. His explanation about the clasp was even sweeter than I thought it would be! And I'm glad that Laura's finally started to realise that just because nobody had the guts to ask her out before, it doesn't mean she's unnoticed or completely ordinary. I loved reading all the fluff between them this chapter and it made me smile to know there'll hopefully be some more in the next with the party!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #43, by nott theodore Confessions

7th July 2014:
This was definitely an 'about time' chapter, I can't deny it! But I loved reading it and I was smiling so much all the way through the chapter to see Laura and Sirius finally get together. Having said that, I think that you managed to build it up really well because now there's time to watch their relationship grow as well; it's so great to see that they've got some happiness too!

I loved the way that all the others reacted to the fact that Sirius and Laura had got together - I think they were the only two who were really surprised about it. Bernie knew that Sirius liked Laura, Lily knew that Laura liked Sirius, and all the Marauders knew that Sirius was crazy about Laura :P It's so funny to think about how hopeless they've been about their feelings and how much time they've wasted, but at least they have admitted it now. Peter was a lot more discreet than I thought he could be but I loved the time that they got together as well. I hope that they can get to see each other over the holidays and I loved all of the confessions about the fact that they've liked each other. It was so amazing and sweet to hear Sirius saying all those things about Laura and confirming everything that I've actually thought over the course of this story!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #44, by nott theodore Snowballing

7th July 2014:
SUCH AN AMAZING CHAPTER! ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ It was so amazing for this to get to finally happen, and I think that the chapter title 'Snowballing' is so appropriate for this chapter because things really do snowball and then there's the whole snowball fight at the beginning as well! Ah, I just got so many feels from this chapter and loved reading it so much. I'm glad that they've finally got a chance of getting together!

Poor Bernie, suffering for the fact that he's going to the ball with Laura because Sirius wasn't the one to ask her first! That's so silly but very in character for Sirius so I'm not surprised. And then Sirius and Laura had such a moment with the snowball fight when they're about to kiss, and they're just adorable and cute!

I really liked the part when you described them all getting ready in this chapter as well, because I think that it helped to show how much things have moved on in the last two years, and how much Laura and Mary and the others have all changed as well. It's so fantastic! And then the ball with Bernie, but Sirius cuts in for a dance. I'm so glad that he finally plucked up the courage to tell her the way that he feels, and really it was so cute and sweet, and I can't think of much to say because it's late and I need to read the next chapter right now!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #45, by nott theodore The worst news possible

7th July 2014:
I feel like there are going to be a lot of problems with my poor, poor feels in these few chapters at the moment. All of the things that keep getting in the way of Laura and Sirius getting together are just so frustrating because I know that they could really easily be together but they're just so obstinate that they don't get together. The news about Sirius really liking someone is perfect because really it's Laura that he likes - and I'm fairly sure that Lily knows about it too. And then Sirius has that conversation with Laura and she won't tell him what's wrong because not being with him is the problem, but he takes it to mean that she doesn't like him! The pair of them are hopeless! I hope that they get together soon!

I feel like there's a lot more build up to the Yule Ball this year because it's going to be a much bigger plot event in the story than the first one, but I'm really excited about it and I can't wait to read what happens there!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #46, by nott theodore Facing reality

7th July 2014:
SO MANY FEELS! Oh wow, this chapter just killed me a little bit inside because I just felt so sorry for Laura here! The poor girl, she thought that she was 'facing reality' but it's just making her more miserable by denying what she wants to happen. I can understand how sad she felt at the beginning of this chapter because she likes Sirius a lot more than she's telling herself, probably. But then when she got caught by the Slytherins on the staircase and had to go to the Hospital Wing - I felt so sorry for her! Mary's a really good friend though and I'm glad she cleared up the fact that Sirius was just attacked by one of the fan club and was overseen by Laura.

Then all of the parts with Sirius! They just gave me so many feels because I felt so sorry for him since Laura was denying all the possibilities that the two of them might get together! It just broke my heart a little bit because the two of them clearly like each other a lot but she's denying it and Sirius is too scared to say anything when she keeps rebuffing him like this, just because she's trying to protect her own feelings!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #47, by nott theodore Pubs, pranks and parties

7th July 2014:
What another great chapter! Although quite a big cliffhanger for you to leave it on so I'm glad that I can just continue reading this story to find out what happens next! Laura's such a lovely and likable main character and I love reading this story from her point of view. Her voice is so strong but she's quite self-deprecating as well, and we can see that in the way that she can't believe that Sirius could possibly like her and it's so sweet to see her like this. I'm so glad that she's got a friend like Mary in her corner to support her though, she's so lovely!

Aw, she should have taken her chance with Sirius at his party while she had it! I'm pretty sure that there was much more to it than him just being drunk and making a fool of himself as Laura thought he might be doing. And then for her to see him kissing another girl in the middle of a corridor! I don't think that he really does have another girlfriend - I'm sure they'd have found out about it before - but I felt so sorry for Laura here!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #48, by nott theodore Broomstick maintenance

7th July 2014:
Lily and James are just so cute! ♥ It made me smile that at the beginning of this chapter you wrote the way that the two of them were absent a lot and at least their friends didn't mind, because they're in the couple bubble that comes right at the beginning of the relationship. It's great to see that they get a chance at happiness at this point and to know that although their lives were short they were happy together all the same.

I loved the conversation between Sirius and Laura and the way that Sirius is really starting to pay attention to all the details about Laura, like the conversation they had over a year ago after the OWLs, because it just shows that really he does like her and is paying a lot of attention to her. I suspect she's something to do with the reason that he couldn't finish his homework, either! The second part with the broomstick maintenance was interesting to read as well, and it's great to see the way that Laura's being accepted by the boys and she's just come into her own and grown in confidence so much more recently that it's fantastic to read about.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #49, by nott theodore It's all about James

7th July 2014:
Aw, more Sirius and Laura conversations, even if the other Marauders were present and she felt like she was making a fool of herself. Her knowledge of Quidditch and brooms was certainly very impressive and I'm not surprised that James was so impressed - regardless of how Sirius feels about her - with her knowledge and wanted her to be a part of the team, or work as their adviser. The news about the fact that she's not allowed to do any extra curricular activities - and that includes boyfriends - is quite unfair! It's probably scuppered Sirius's plans for the year as well :P

I loved the fact that James and Lily have finally got together! It felt realistic for them to get together at this stage and I'm glad you want them to have as much time together as possible because their end is so sad! But I loved the way Lily took the initiative in the end and just got them together, I felt so happy for them and it's a mark of the strength of their friendship that everyone else is as well!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #50, by nott theodore Getting to their Heads

7th July 2014:
And they're back to school for their final year - I can't believe that they've got to seventh year already, although there's still about half of the novel left so I imagine that there's an awful lot going to happen still in this story. It was great to see Lily and James in this chapter and their reaction to the fact that the two of them are Head Girl and Boy for the year. It's a bit of a surprise for Lily, I imagine, since none of them had thought that it would be James, but the way he acted in the attack last year did make it likely that he would get it, and much more plausible.

Ah, so much Sirius and Laura tension! I loved the sly look from Mary and the way that Laura tried to ignore it, but I feel so sorry for her - she's comparing herself to Elvira and the fan club but she's not at all, because she's falling for Sirius because she actually knows what he's like. And he definitely likes her as well but she just won't believe it. Hopefully there'll be lots more Sirius/Laura moments in future chapters and I'm sure James and Lily will get together soon!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>