Reading Reviews for The Joker and Her
  
799 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Cannons The Dementors on the Train.

23rd October 2013:
Hi, review tag!

Wow this is an awesome idea and I loved PoA so this was so cool. Luna is also my favourite character and I think you portrayed her well, making her actually seem like the second year she was ( I think she was second year in PoA )

You really write Brienne's nervousness or apprehension at starting a new school in a different county and in fifth year. I get the feeling that maybe she didn't have to many friends before?

Anyway this story has tons of reviews so I'm looking forward to seeing if it's amazing! :D

BTW just a thought, I'm wondering if she has to get sorted with the first years, because if she does that's going to be a bit embarrassing for her!

Cannons

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for the review! :) I hope you enjoy the story if you continue. Yes Brienne will be sorted with the first years xD And you will find out a lot more about her character in the future. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #27, by Haronione Sorting

20th October 2013:
Hi Illuminate, here for the review battle :)

This was another great chapter! I felt sorry for Brienne having to have a boat to herself, she must have felt quite out of place being with all the first years! I really really liked that she was impressed by her first sight of the castle - very different to the attitudes the Beauxbatons students had in GoF!

I also liked how the first years all looked up to Brienne to lead them when they first got to the castle, of course they would've seen her as an older, more knowledgable student and not as another newbie like themselves!

Aw, poor Brienne, being made the centre of attention at the sorting - no wonder she went red!! I think I would've too! You wrote the sorting hat well and I felt that the characteristics the hat mentioned had definitely been shown by Brienne in these chapters. I felt bad for her that she was mostly ignored whilst at the Gryffindor table, but I'm sure she'll be making friends soon ;) I really hope so, she certainly needs some!

All in all this was a great chapter, I enjoyed seeing Brienne's sorting and how it was slightly different. I look forward to reading on and seeing Brienne start classes and adjust to her new life at Hogwarts :)

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, thank you very much for reviewing! :D

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #28, by loveinidleness Quidditch Practice

16th October 2013:
Heya,

Here with your requested review. So I ended up reading five chapters... Several reasons for this, you wanted to know about characterisations and flow and that's very difficult to tell after just one chapter. Also you had loads of chap 1 reviews so I wanted to be different :P but mainly I found your story so easy to read I got sucked in.

So far your chapter lengths have been great especially for fanfiction. They aren't too long and heavy which makes me much too tempted to click the next chapter button. You keep the pace up and there's a relaxed flow to the piece so far. You aren't cramming too much in to each chapter so we really get to know your characters which is especially important as Brienne isn't a cannon character. However, by allowing you readers to slowly get to know her you make her feel like one. All of your characterisations so far have been really spot on.

I would like to know a little bit more about Brienne. I like how you're keeping her mysterious but more information about beauxbatons etc would be really fun to read, even if it isn't directly relevant to the plot.

I like how you integrate the original books without obsessing over them or letting them dominate your story. Things like Brienne being impressed by potter and The dementors. I can't wait to see how you continue to blend your story with the cannon.

I love how you're lacing the story with hints about what's coming. It makes me really want to read on to find out exactly how her mother died. It's really heart-breaking the way you integrate that. The last paragraph where she cries after enjoying herself is so poignant and realistic.

Also George and Brienne

Author's Response: Hi! Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to read the first five chapters!

The chapters do get a bit longer later on I'm afraid xD

I'm so glad you like my characterisations! More tidbits about her past life keep coming through.

It's hugely important to me to keep this story in canon so I'm glad you don't think it's too contrived or restricted by that xD

Thank you very much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by marauderfan My Mother

15th October 2013:
Review tag!

Poor Brienne :( What a horrible thing to find out at breakfast! It's wonderful that Fred and George were there for her when she found out, though - that probably helped Brienne out a lot to be able to tell someone about it and maybe have a little less of a burden to bear.

And I like the beginnings of something between George and Brienne - and how Fred can't tell what George is thinking :p

I appreciated the little extra tidbits about Brienne's family in this chapter! And I'm so curious where Brienne's mum was going, and all the mystery around that. The scene at the very end was cute though, how Bri's memories of her mother helped her with a Patronus.

I'm looking forward to see where this goes! Great work on this chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for the nice review, and I'm glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by toomanycurls Sorting

13th October 2013:
Poor Brienne having to ride with the first years. That cannot be dignified. It his a bit humorous though. ^_^

You did a great job with the sorting ceremony. You touched on the song and names being called without going into tedium. I can imagine that being sorted as a 5th year without peers would have been quite embarrassing. :(

Oh man, you're quite the tease with having Brienne think about her transfer then yanking away from it.

I was hoping she'd get to know a few people in this chapter but getting through the sorting and up to the dorms was really awesome. I like how you described Hogwarts and the Gryffindor common room. I really hope she finds solace there soon.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you came back!

I'm glad you liked this chapter, sorry her reasons are a little teased right now but you will find out soon xD

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by toomanycurls The Dementors on the Train.

12th October 2013:
...I am glad you pointed out that this is the prequel to Tower of Stars. Now I can start on this and the Tower of Stars will make a bunch more sense. ^_^

Ooh, I like that Brienne is a transfer student (and that she meets Luna right away). Of course now I want to know why she transferred but I'm sure you'll cover that shorty. I do like that Luna is a rather unobtrusive person and you captured that perfectly.

I really adore how Luna is rather calm throughout the dementors boarding the train. I got a good laugh with Brienne realizing why Luna has her nickname. I thought you covered the dementors really well. It was as scary as I'd expect for someone who wasn't in Harry's train.

Brienne's observations of Hagrid are excellent. You've described him in a way that is different than the books but captures his features accurately.

All in all I really love this chapter. You do a great job setting up Brienne as a new character. I am curious about her reasons for transferring and interesting in seeing how she'll fit in at Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you for this lovely review! Haha, I didn't know if you had read this story but just hadn't reviewed, in any case you didn't seen too confused at The Tower of Stars; I'm glad you came to read this first anyway!

Brienne's reason for transferring will be made clear very soon, and this story explores them and their effects on Brienne.

I'm glad you like my characterisation of Luna- I really wanted to get her right because she's one of my favourites xD

Thank you very much for this lovely review, and I hope you like it if you continue! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by charlottetrips The Dementors on the Train.

23rd September 2013:
Aw, just mid way reading this chapter, I realized that I haven't read a story set in the Hogwarts-era in forever! Actually, I'm not sure I've ever really read one in this era. I think that I feel I'm being somehow disloyal to JKR or something. I can't quite pinpoint my thought on that, so we'll just leave it at that, eh?

I do know that I don't feel disloyal in reading this chapter because you incorporate the familiar so well with the new person you're introducing me to. Luna is so Luna here, friendly but disassociated. We have our "spoiled princess" in Draco, and Remus coming to take care of the kids. It made me smile to see him.

I was pleasantly surprised by the way you wove in details throughout this chapter. You didn't blatantly tell me that Brienne was short and a little chubby, you waited for the right moment and introduced her naturally. Your comment on her having the complexion of an invalid was intriguing. I also liked the observation you made of her French accent fading once she'd spoken English longer. I have friends who live between England and America, and when they visit their families in the UK and come back, their accent is always more pronounced. Then it fades over time.

So you've given me some tidbits to think about (why is she coming to Hogwarts, what was making her an invalid, etc.), but also introduced me a bit to Brienne. Nicely done so far!

Char

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you think I incorporated this well into the canon, that's really important to me. And I like that you recognised the canon characters in the background xD

About the 'invalid' thing, Brienne is very very stressed and depressed in this chapter, so that contributes to her naturally pale complexion xD

Thank you for the lovely review and I'm glad you liked it over all!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Roots in Water Birthdays

19th September 2013:
Hello! It's Roots in Water here with your requested review! (Wow- it looks like I'm getting close to the end of this story!)

And the twist at the end of this chapter... What could it mean? Could her mother actually be alive? If so, I understand why she didn't inform Brienne before- Brienne wouldn't have appeared so grief-stricken, which would have ruined the secret. However, if she is alive, I bet Brienne wouldn't be happy... And that would be understandable too. The amount of suffering she went through after the "death" of her mother could not be wiped away by the realization that her mother is still alive, particularly not after she realizes that her mother purposefully hid the fact from her.

I really liked how you highlighted the cultural differences between Muggleborns and those from magical families. I hadn't really thought about the difference in the significance of the sixteenth birthday before, but it was nicely discussed and executed here. I wonder if Paisley will get a driver's license.

Overall, I definitely think that the chapter flowed well. The sentences worked together well and the changes in time and location weren't abrupt at all.

However, I think that the story you're telling in this chapter could be better explained to the reader if you were to include more description. At times it felt as though we were flying through sections, and though I understand that some of those sections were just there to indicate setting and the passing of time (such as the paragraphs about studying for exams), I wish that you had expanded on others. For example, I really liked Fred and George's idea about wearing pyjamas all day and wish I could have read more about their birthday celebrations (which were sure to have been hilarious).

The change in dynamics that occurred at the birthday celebration was very interesting. I felt certain that that would be the moment where they finally got together- his request to "not freak out" sealed the deal for me. However, he didn't kiss Brienne and instead broke down laughing... And the confusion this caused Brienne to feel ruptured their friendship. (Obviously, I do not have any George/Brienne sensor whatsoever because I thought that he would do something special for her birthday- write her a personal note, or something- but he didn't...).

I think that your characterization as a whole for this story was great. There weren't any problems that I could see and all of their reactions felt natural. I think that you've done a great job of making Brienne's world feel like a reality.

As for dialogue, I think that you do have enough, but there's room to add some more if you so choose. If you do choose, I would suggest adding it into the scenes you expand, because it will feel most natural that way.

Question: why do the students hover near Fred and George during breakfast on their birthday? What are they waiting for/why are they drawn there? I'm just a little bit confused.

All in all, I think that you've done a great job with this chapter. The forward plot movement is fantastic (the mystery of the letter! the shattering between George and Brienne!)and your characterization is great too. Thank you for requesting a review and I hope that I've responded to all of your concerns! :D

Author's Response: Hi! What a lovely long review to find on a Friday morning xD

I think you're right about expanding upon Fred and George's birthday a little. Birthdays were so little explored in the original books so I'd like to have them detailed in some way xD The reason people were gratitating towards them was because they wanted the break from studying and wanted to be cheered up by the twins' birthday excitement xD

I'm glad you think it flows well, I didn't want it to feel like it was rushed in any way.

George is so awkward, I doubt he would have thought to do anything that personal for Brienne xD Especially the debacle on his own birthday.

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #34, by HollyStone73 The Dementors on the Train.

15th September 2013:
REVIEW TAG!
This is a great start! You have a gift with descriptions and paint a very vivid mental picture. The apprehension that Brienne is feeling is very real and not too overdone. I have actually never considered what would happen with students joining Hogwart's anytime after first year, so I like where you are going with this. I'm excited to read on and see where things go from here. Very well done with this, and I'm excited to have a new story to read! Great job!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #35, by Lululuna My Father

14th September 2013:
Review tag! :)

First of all, I love the descriptions of Brienne's relief at being with her father, and the relationship you've built up between them. I liked the explanation about how she wasn't used to seeing her father often, and how they have this sort of long-distance family relationship which now might get a chance to change since his home is now her permanent home. It's so sad that it was brought about because of her mother's death, but I'm happy Brienne has a such an awesome, supportive dad to be there for her.

I like the descriptions of the house as well, and how they have a fire - that's so wizard of them! :P Also, I'm curious as to what Brienne's grandmother did that was notable? And of course, the food descriptions are as mouth-watering and wonderful as always.

I like how Brienne is trying to appear as an adult to her father, and insisting that she is ready to know about the investigation. I can imagine how frustrating it would be, to have lived through this loss and grow up so fast, yet still be babied and taken care of. Her snapping at her father about his losing her mother was very realistic and fit well following the story of how they met, and I thought there might have been some bitterness about the actual divorce there (though perhaps that's reading between the lines a little too much!).

It's funny how for such a domestic and pleasant chapter, I think this is one of the pivotal chapters of your story which gets the mystery and plot being set up to be addressed in the following chapters. You definitely make the reader eager to find out more about Brienne's family and the confusion surrounding her mother's death. :)

Another wonderful chapter! :D

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the lovely review!

Brienne loves her dad a lot, and is a lot closer to his personality than she was to her mother, so they connect rather well. Obviously the issue of the investigation is hard for her, and a little of her mother's fire comes out in Brienne at times.

Brienne's grandma is sadly passed, but was an influential lady at the Ministry :) One of the first lady ministry workers!

Thank you very much for the lovely review, and you have more interaction between Brienne and her father in the few next chapters.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Haronione The Dementors on the Train.

8th September 2013:
Hi Illuminate, here for the review battle :)

I have not read a fic with a foreign student joining Hogwarts and I usually avoid reading fics based during the trios time at Hogwarts. I think this is because I'm dubious of the fic becoming AU with the new student joining the trio etc. However, I was delighted that this doesn't seem the case with this story :)

I am very interested to find out about Brienne, why she has moved to Hogwarts and how she copes with all the change going on in her life. I felt you characterised her very well. I loved the fantastic description in the second paragraph, it was beautifully written and set the mood of the character very well. Who wouldn't be feeling a bit gloomy and distant joining a new school so late, not knowing anyone and being surrounded by people full of excitement at being back with there friends. And on top of this she has other things on her mind. With all this im not surprised she did not have the energy or inclination to discuss herself with Luna.

Talking of Luna - your characterisation of her was great! She was just so very... Luna! I loved her explanation of what the Dementors were :) And the way she is so blase about people calling her Loony, and that she willingly tells Brienne about it. This seems very Luna-like, so calm and unfazed by things that others would be quite distressed about (like being called names and having all your possessions stolen!)

I really enjoyed seeing the Dementors on the train scene from another viewpoint other than Harry's, and I loved Malfoy's reaction to the Dementors :) I could really see Draco having reacted like this.

This was a very well written first chapter and I really enjoyed reading it. You have a lovely writing style, the dialogue and descriptions were strong and I look forward to reading on and finding out more about Brienne :)

Haronione ♥

Author's Response: Hi!

Don't worry, I fight tooth and nail to make sure this adheres to canon, so no worries about her joining the Trio xD She's two years older anyway.

You will find out more about why Brienne has moved if you continue :)

I'm glad you liked my characterisations of Luna and Draco! It was fun writing about both of them xD

Thank you very much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by AlexFan Sorting

7th September 2013:
Hey there! I'm back with another review for the review battle!

One of the reasons that I liked this chapter was because I got to see the sorting ceremony and feast through the eyes of another character. I've read a couple of stories where this was done as well but some times they can get a bit boring. I liked that you didn't go into any unnecessary detail but at the same time you did have enough description so that we got an idea of what was going on.

Anyway, this was a really nice chapter, well done on it!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm glad you liked it and didn't think it was just same old same old :) Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #38, by StellaRose Quidditch Practice

4th September 2013:
Hello, it's Emmy from the claw review thread :)

First off, I remember reading this story AGES ago. Back when I didn't have an account and didn't write fanfict. I also never reviewed either...whoops!

This is going to be my second time reading this story so that I can start on your sequel. Having just started my first ever novel I can really appreciate now all of the planning you've done for this--well done!

I think the most important part of this chapter is the interaction between George and Brienne. We, as readers, see a real turning point when Brienne is able to let loose and laugh for the first time. We finally see her interacting more and fitting in!

I have always been impressed by how you've developed George and Brienne's relationship. It was so subtle and happened so gradually that it was believable.

I do think you could have expanded this chapter even more. Both the scene where Bri spilled ink on George and the scene were the girls questioned Bri about George seemed a bit rushed.

I'm definitely adding this to my reading list so I can get caught up. Keep up the great work! :)

--Emmy

Author's Response: Hi!

Aw, I'm happy you like it enough to read it again and review xD It's a huge compliment, so thank you!

I really wanted their relationship to be believable, I hate when love interests largely ignore each other or don't seem that close, or even that they like each other. So thank you :)

Thank you for pointing out those little bits that I could build upon, I'm always trying to improve :)

Thank you for the lovely review, and I hope you enjoy it if you continue!


 Report Review

Review #39, by AlexFan The Dementors on the Train.

3rd September 2013:
Hey there! I'm here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to start reading this story.

One of the great things about this is that you didn't even have to mention the characters and I could already tell who they were. I consider that a great thing because it shows that you've got the characterizations of cannon characters down.

I also like how you used Dementors to show that what year it was instead of telling it outright, that was also something else that I admired.

Your characterization of Luna was great though, she wasn't over the top or anything like that. She sounded like Luna but a younger version of her.

Anyway, great first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for the lovely review and you thought my characterisation was good xD I try my best to get it as spot-on as possible.

 Report Review

Review #40, by marauderfan Lupin's Welcome

2nd September 2013:
Tag!

This is a great chapter, and I really liked the character development that comes out here. You've introduced more of a mystery surrounding Brienne's mum and I am so curious to find out more (as Brienne must be, as well!) I liked Brienne's star-struck moment at seeing the Boy Who Lived, haha.

The twins! I love them, and the way they marched Brienne to class was hilarious. Despite all the angsty sad things going on in Brienne's life, she's not going to be able to dwell on them too much with Gred and Forge around. And I think that'll be good for her. I liked her reaction to them too, her bewilderment and attempts to brush them off!

I also liked when you mentioned all her previous interactions with Hogwarts boys, especially how they had been asking if any girls at Beauxbatons needed a pen pal. I would have loved to read more of that, I think it'd be a really entertaining scene, lol.

One of my favourite things in fanfiction is actually just the everyday stuff at Hogwarts. Classes, friendship, etc. and I loved the way you did that in this chapter, with the DADA scene. Lupin was spot on, and that seemed just like a lesson he would teach on the first day. Well done!

I see that this story is completed, so you may be done editing it, lol. But just in case you go back to edit, there are a few things in here you might want to look at:

Brienne was at a loss to what they were now up to.
You used that phrase twice within a few paragraphs, so it seemed a little repetitive. Maybe one of the times you could re-word it a little.

And here... Lupin stood up straight and made his way to the back of the class, where he lifted his wand and conjured a large figure, something that looked like a mannequin made of tin, out of thin air. Lupin made his way back to the front of the class,
you started off two sentences with "Lupin". That's an easy fix though, you could just change one to "he".

Those little things aside, this was a great chapter and I'm really enjoying the story!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you think there's a nice balance of happy and sad things going on with Brienne- now the twins are in her life she should be a lot happier!

Also I'm happy you like the way I wrote Lupin. He's one of my favourites so I really want to get him right xD

Thank you for the wording things! I am constantly editing (so much I think the validators are probably sick of me) so thank you so much for pointing those out, I'll definetely fix them.

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #41, by academica My Mother

1st September 2013:
Hello, here from Review Tag :)

I thought you did a nice job with this chapter. I really felt like Brienne's emotions were very tangible, and I liked how you used this vulnerable moment to show the beginnings of feelings between her and George. Poor Fred has no clue!

The story about Brienne's mother is really puzzling. I'm definitely curious about where she was going and why her journey was interrupted--and I can't help but think that something sinister is behind the mystery.

I liked your ending, too, with the Patronus charm. The timing seems right with her being in fifth year and it seemed to give Brienne (and the reader) a spark of hope to be able to utilize the positive memories she still had of her mother.

Great work!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi! :D Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad you liked it, and thought all of the emotions were translated well.

 Report Review

Review #42, by 1917farmgirl Sorting

29th August 2013:
I actually read this the other night, right after I read the first one, but I was so tired I knew any review wouldn't make much sense. Hopefully I can remember what I wanted to say now.

It was really interesting to see the Hogwarts sorting and start of the year feast through different eyes. I was sitting here wracking my brain trying to remember if we saw Harry's 3rd year sorting or not, but I think we didn't, right? Wasn't he with Madam Pomfrey? So way to fill in a missing scene AND advance your plot!

Professor McGonagall had very little patience for Brienne in this section. Is that on purpose? Is there something there I should be looking for?

I find it very interesting that you put Brienne through the sorting with the first years, complete with riding the boats and everything. That was certainly not very fun for her, poor girl. I did like it when all the first years looked to her to lead them up the stairs. That was fun.

Ah, Gryffindor. I almost thought she was going to end up in Ravenclaw. But, while some people might tell you it was cliche to put her in Gryffindor, I like it. I think you should write what you want in stories, regardless of what other people think should happen.

I really liked your idea of how the dormitories work. That is something I have always wondered about. In the book they always run to the top of the stairs, go through the door, and they are in their dorm. And I've always wondered, what about the OTHER years?

Again, great story and writing! Will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thank you for coming back!

I wanted Brienne to get the authentic sorting experience xD And yeah, Harry was with Madam Pomfrey at this time so it was nice to stay in canon here.

Professor McGonagall will have certain responsibilities for Brienne as her Deputy Headmistress (and Head of House), so as a recently betraved girl and a transfer student I bet she would be a bit of a chore to her xD

I think Brienne would make a great fit for any House other than Slytherin- her dad was a Hufflepuff, she's very loyal and studious. But I think essentially she fits at Gryffindor best :) I think she's a bit like Neville and Hermione, and needs just a bit of encouragement to let the inner Gryff out :)

I like to make my own explanations for little mysteries like the dorms :)

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #43, by Lululuna Was It?

29th August 2013:
Hello dear! :)

I really, really loved this chapter, and how the story is progressing so naturally along the timeline of the Hogwarts school year. I'm sure I've said this in previous reviews, but I appreciate how the story concentrates on little details, like meals and getting ready to leave for the holidays, which even the HP books have been known to gloss over. The Christmas holidays are really a chance to give the reader a break from the constant narrative of life at Hogwarts and get to know the characters outside of the school setting, and you've set that up very well here, even with images as simple yet lovely as Brienne carefully packing her things, or Angelina being tired and grumbling at breakfast.

Ah, the kiss!!! I'd been wondering when one of those two silly kids was going to make a move, and the way it happened was so awkward and adorable. I love the relationship developing between Brienne and George, and it's very refreshing to read about, since so many HPFF relationships are founded on strange love/hate interactions. Bri and George are actually friends before lovers, and I feel like even if they lost their romantic connection their friendship would eventually survive, which is a real mark of the maturity and compatibility between them.

I don't blame Brienne for getting annoyed with the boys on the train, especially with how George acted so indifferent when we all know he likes her. Her frustration was definitely justifiable, and the boys' apology was quite cute and quirky as well. And looks like there might be some sparks between Paisley and Lee as well, hmm...

One thing I noticed which is more of a bone to pick with the whole Hogwarts-Express system is that if Hogwarts is in the Highlands, and students like Paisley live in Scotland, why are they taking the train all the way back to London when they live in the opposite direction?! Especially for Muggleborns -Paisley is one, right?- whose parents can't Apparate or Floo them back North easily. An option could be to give a reason for Paisley traveling to London- shopping, visiting family, etc.- but it was something I thought about! :)

Something I love about this story is Brienne's interactions and relationships with other people: like her friendships with Fred and Angelina, her romantic tension with George, and how she notices the differences between Fred and George which others might not pause to think about. The father-daughter relationship is great as well, and I'm excited to read more of it in future chapters, when you re-request! :D

Author's Response: Hi! :D Wow, what a nice present to find!

I really like writing about food so I like writing about the meals xD Just adds a little more detail, like you said.

I'm glad you liked the kiss, they had been working towards it for quite some time xD I'm also very glad you don't think Brienne was overreacting on the train- I do want readers to feel that her anger is justified.

That is a very good point about Paisley- I don't think there is any other way to collect students from Hogwarts unless they live in Hogsmeade. But yes, I will add a reason for her to be in London, cause I bet it would be a bit annoying for her to travel all the way back to Edinburgh xD Maybe she would get a plane?

I'm so glad you liked the chapter, thank you very much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by 1917farmgirl The Dementors on the Train.

28th August 2013:
Farmgirl here from review tag.

Okay, at 100+ reviews I am INCREDIBLY impressed, and a little worried this review probably won't make a lot of difference to you.

I'm also a little ashamed. I've seen this fic around for years. Being a twins fan, I tend to pay attention to stories with Fred and George in them. It's been on my to-read list for a long time, but real life has a nasty way of getting in the way. Also, I have to confess. I've been a bit afraid to jump into this. I have a story I've worked on myself for a long time that involves an OC and the twins, and I was terrified because yours is so often praised... I've always been afraid that after reading your wonderful character, mine would seem very silly. Or all the good ideas would be taken, LOL.

BUT, I've decided it is time to jump in. I warn you, I'm a slow reader without a lot of spare time, but I do try to finish the stories I start reading.

Now, on to this intriguing chapter. Right away you capture me with Brienne's story - answering some questions, but leaving a lot more hanging to make me think. She seems so lonely and I want to know what's happened, why she's had to come to Hogwarts from France.

Liked her meeting Luna, even though they are quite far apart in age. Luna is a good place to start if you're looking for acceptance without questions. :D (And I really love Luna, so that was fun.)

Kudos on writing Hagrid! I love the guy, but avoid him like the plague in my stories because I just can't get his speech pattern right.

But oh, that's rather embarrassing, making Brienne ride in the carriages with the first years!

Oh, I also loved the image of the girls shutting the dementor out of their compartment. Way to be proactive, ladies!

Very nice first chapter, and yes, I'm excited to know more. They glowing praise and amount of reviews are certainly deserved. I'll be back for more when I can!

Author's Response: Hi! xD This review just gives me a big old "Aw, shucks" moment.

It's always nice to see a new opinion :) And I hope you enjoy the rest of the story when/if you get around to it :)

Writing Luna and Hagrid was fun, they are both rather distinctive so I wanted to give them a go :)

Thank you very much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #45, by TheGirlWithTheLaughingFace The Dementors on the Train.

23rd August 2013:
Review Tag!!

First off let me say that I am seriously fan girling right now because this will be an George/Oc story and I love me some Weasley Twins! So thank you for that!

Now onto the review for this chapter. I really loved how you incorporated how out of place Brienne is because she isn't a first year just starting school but she isn't part of a clique yet at Hogwarts. I especially love how she sat with Luna because honestly who doesn't love Luna and I love the comparison of Draco to the spoiled girls of Beauxbatons.

All in all this was a really good first chapter and I'm off to read the next.

Author's Response: Hi! :D Aw, I love some Weasley Twins too!

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter and thought the dynamics of it were realistic so far. That's really important to me :)

Who doesn't love Luna? I don't think anybody could say "Me!" because it's impossible.

Thank you for the lovely review and I hope you enjoy it if you continue :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Cassius Alcinder Holding On, Letting Go

22nd August 2013:
Back for the penultimate chapter! (love that word)

The scene where Brienne receives her mother's necklace was very well written. We could really feel the sense of memories and nostalgia coming over her, and how anything that reminds he of her mother might be a reassuring presence, kind of like Harry's stag patronus. But of course, there might be danger lurking inside it. Stanley can be such a killjoy, but its probably better to be safe.

Just like Harry and friends, they still have to be students and take exams on top of everything else that's going on, so it was good that you included that.

Paul's presence adds an interesting twist, and I imagine he may come into play in the sequel.

And the closing scene between Brienne and George, just perfect. Totally sums up the awkwardness of all their interactions so far, and how they're still drawn to each other in spite of it all.

Can't wait to see how this ends!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad you like this chapter, it was a tough one to write what with the last scene and the introduction of Paul.

Thank you very much for the review and I hope you like the epilogue :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by Cassius Alcinder Birthdays

16th August 2013:
Back again for Chapter 21!

It was amusing to see which Muggle traditions crossed over into the wizard world, and I wonder if the super sweet 16 thing will catch on with them.

And of course, Fred and George couldnt let their their own birthday be forgotten. And then when George tried to kiss her, that captured the painful awkwardness of teenage romance very effectively.

It's also good to see that Stanley is finally making some progress on the investigation. Now that we know who the suspects are, the tension seems to be rising.

Can't wait to see how this ends!

Author's Response: Hi! :) Nice to have a review from you again!

Really glad you like this chapter and I hope you enjoy the ending when you get to it :)

Thank you very much!


 Report Review

Review #48, by academica Lupin's Welcome

12th August 2013:
Hello, stopping by from Review Tag!

I liked the normalcy of Brienne's first class. Her meeting with Fred and George was really cute, and I think you did a great job making their dialogue sound very canon and appropriate to their characterization. I also liked that her spell work wasn't perfect, but she wasn't talentless either--she's just a normal girl. It's nice to see.

I do want to point out that there was a line right after Harry's entrance that I don't think was meant to be italicized, as it wasn't a thought.

The other thing that seemed a bit off was Lupin knowing her parents. His words reminded me a little too much of what he said to Harry in canon. I think it would be good if you could go back and explain how it's different with Brienne's parents, so she isn't seen as just a female version of Harry.

Nice work :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks you for the review :)

Yeah, I really want to make Brienne seem like a normal, human girl xD Not perfect, and not too much like a female Harry, so thanks for pointing out the Lupin thing, I'll go through and try to make it a little more original :)

And thanks for pointing out the italicized bit, I'll fix that :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by Dreamless Epilogue

29th July 2013:
Wait what? The ending is so confusing?

Author's Response: Hi! I'm sorry you're confused by the ending- the epilogue takes place at a different place and with different characters as the rest of the story :) It has significance in the sequel. I hope that clears up any confusion you have!

 Report Review

Review #50, by AlAndAl Epilogue

26th July 2013:
I have not read this story in probably 11 months... and I don't know if you remember, but I am obsessed with it. I absolutely adore how you write Fred and George. Coming back to this story has made me so happy and now I see you have a sequel! I'm squeeing! BRIENNE FINALLY KISSED GEORGE LIKE UGH I'VE BEEN WAITING TO FANGIRL OVER IT but you didn't disappoint it was perfect. I cannot wait to read the sequel I'm going right now :) EK I'M OBSESSED

Author's Response: Hi! xD Wow, thank you so much! I'm so so glad you liked it after this time and I hope you like the prologue to the sequel just as much :D

Thank you again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>