Reading Reviews for Sensible
  
41 Reviews Found

Review #26, by emmapotter Secrets

9th March 2010:
Great update! :)
I've favourite-d this! :) I really don't have anything to say, it was all so perfect! :)
love
Ak
P.S: 10/10! :)

Author's Response: yay! That is the highest compliment any author can get from a requested review. I've finished this (it was a oneshot I broke into four) so updates should be soonish, just have to juggle a few WIPs.
Thanks so much for taking the time!


 Report Review

Review #27, by emmapotter Surprise!

9th March 2010:
This was awesome!
Sorry, ahem.
Hi, emmapotter here, with your requested review!
LOL, you had me laughing for a while as I read this one. It's just right, the fluff! :)
I really like the Teddy/Rose moments, it was natural..the flow everything was perfect.
Moving on to the next! :)
love
Ak
10/01

Author's Response: Oh wow you are SO fast! Thanks lovely!
I'm so glad you liked it! Fluff doesn't come naturally to me, I tend to kill people and keep them apart, so I'm glad it was fluffy and enjoyable!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #28, by MrsKatieGrint Secrets

7th March 2010:
Oh my... An amazing cliffhanger if I do say so myself! I really am interested as to what he has to tell her...

I really liked how you put the last paragraph at the begin of this chapter. I think it just made things so much easier. Again your details were fantastic and the emotion and this chapter was just screaming! I love it! And I have to say, you've got me hooked! I will most definatly check up on this story! I really can't wait to see what you're going to do with this story! :D

Author's Response: This was all SUPPOSED to be a oneshot, but I noticed some irresistable cliffies and broke it up to four parts. For the same reason I put the 'previously' it felt awfully soapiesque, but this is my foray into fun and frothy, so why not?

You are far, far too kind, but I am so glad you are enjoying this, I wasn't sure about it because it hasn't got much response.

I've got the rest written (just 2 chapters really, maybe 3 if I get new ideas) it is just a matter of juggling my multiple WIPS.

Thanks again for the lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #29, by MrsKatieGrint Surprise!

7th March 2010:
Fantastic start! I love that its from Roses point of view! Your fluff was very cute, and I think most fluff is suppose to be cliche. You did an amazing job in the orginalitly of this story. I'm really interested as to where this story will lead. Everything you described in this story was amazing beautiful. You just have amazing adjectives! Really I can't wait to see what you do with this! Keep up the awesome writting! :)

Author's Response: Thankyou so much for such lovely reviews! I love writing from Rose's POV and in this I wanted to write something happier and lighter than my normal work, which is far more serious and depressing.

I tend to just go overboard with descriptions, but this chapter was extensively edited by some lovely author friends of mine, and it would be rubbish without their suggestions!

Glad you liked it, hope the rest doesn't disappoint!


 Report Review

Review #30, by anna75 Secrets

5th March 2010:
i enjoyed the chapter and am definately looknig forward to the next one. Im more of a lily/teddy fan but your story has great potential keep up the good work.

Author's Response: The next one is handwritten, I just need to find it and type it up. Lily/Teddy is an unusual ship which I quite like, but not as much as Teddrose :)

I'll try not to disappoint. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by anna75 Surprise!

5th March 2010:
I've just found this story and I think its fantastic going to read the nexy chapter now.will update again.

Author's Response: I'm very glad you found the story, I hope you continue to like it. Thanks for reviewing, it really does mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #32, by J_O_I_Rowling Secrets

4th March 2010:
oh, is teddy a werewolf? is that why he's "always travelling overseas"? and that room is where he transforms every full moon? poor teddy. and scorpius sounds adorable, but did rose actually get over him when they broke up?

Author's Response: oh VERY good guesses there, but you'll just have to wait and see!

Rose still has mixed feelings toward Scorpius, she doesn't know how she feels, but she doesn't like him going out with her cousin either.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by J_O_I_Rowling Surprise!

4th March 2010:
another favourite! i'll read the next chapter before i review properly. but i must say, i wasn't expecting scorpius with dom when i saw the characters...

Author's Response: Yes, I do like playing with different pairings in next gen, there are so many possibilities, and yet they aren't explored as much as they could be. Thanks for reading, reviewing and favouriting!

 Report Review

Review #34, by CARPE DIEM Secrets

1st March 2010:
Ahh, suspense! I have no idea what the secret is... But I am loving this story so far! Your characterization is FABULOUS, and I love how you've steered away from the typical Rose/Scor, Ted/Vic ships, and instead transformed this story into that of amazing originality and beautiful writing. Looking forward to the next update :]

Author's Response: AHH lovely new reader! Thankyou so very much for taking the time to review!

I'm glad you liked the characterisation, and I think I've just read far too much Next Gen to be happy with the canon implied ships anymore.

You are far far far too kind but I appreciate it VERY much and I can inform you that this story is completed (it was a very long oneshot I broke up into four), I just have to juggle updating a few other WIPS as well.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #35, by sarah Secrets

27th February 2010:
O when o when will we recieve an update to this magnificent story. I am dying here.

Author's Response: Haha you just got one!
I actually have the rest handwritten, I just need to find time to type it up! It should be soon.

Thankyou SO much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #36, by Jellyman Surprise!

10th February 2010:
I can't believe it has taken me this long to read some of your stuff! The review exchange was the perfect opportunity :D

I'm so excited to see where you take this! It has a really promising start - I love that Dom has that little bit of a cougar-ness in that she is older ;D And Rose has a really strong voice, which is no easy feat when writing in third person so well done! For your first fluff piece, this was really great - while I did think the beginning was a little stronger than the rest, the flow was perfect though I think the pace could have been picked up a smidgen. But it is a longer fic so I am probably wrong :) I loved the dynamics between the characters, you could really feel the Weasley vibe!

Brilliant start, and I'm favouriting this for sure! Can't wait for more :D
xx

Author's Response: Georgia you lovely silly!
Firstly, I am very very new! Only six months of writing ff and 2 on TGS, so it isn't surprising at all =)

I always thought the age gap commonly put between Vic and Dom to make her Rose's bff/rival was a bit strange, so I had fun making her a bit of a cougar (although I realise now male Dom would have been far funnier).

As for the fluff - I really do struggle with it, I'm never happy with anything fluffy I write, but it is such a compliment to hear that from YOU! Pace is spot on actually: this was written as a oneshot and ended up around 8K, so I split it into four, making what was the 'introduction' a full chapter.

Thankyou for a lovely review - it really did make me smile! xx


 Report Review

Review #37, by Matiilda Surprise!

8th February 2010:
Lol "Lulu" what a cute nickname. I liked the story, it was really cute. Bit too fluffy lol, but that's all right ! I think it was well-written anyway, which is a good thing. Would you maybe review my story as well?

xx Matiilda

Author's Response: hi! Thankyou for reviewing!
It's not my normal style, which I probably why I went overboard with the sugar, but it does get less fluffy.
I'm actually swamped by RL things at the moment, as well as having a full review thread at the Golden Snitches to get to, but if you swing by either the review thread or this page in about a week or two to remind me, I'll be happy to get on it when I have some time!


 Report Review

Review #38, by SnitchSnatcher Surprise!

7th February 2010:
I must say, I don't know what you were worried about, dear! This was great! Even though there's only one chapter, you really get a feel for the Weasley family dynamic. Each of the characters has their own personality traits, but there are still very familiar pieces to each of them that make them relate to one another. It's genius, really, the way you manipulated the characters to flow so well together!

Also, let me be the first to say that I actually like your Rose, which is saying something because I generally don't like stories with Rose as the main character. But yours - well, this has a lot of potential to be amazing, if I'm being entirely honest. I'm really intrigued to see where you're going to go with this whole Dom-and-Scorpius-have-been-dating-for-two-years thing! I can tell it's going to make as many problems as it resolves? Hahaha.

Anyway, really great work here! I enjoyed it immensely and can't wait to see where you take this!

Author's Response: MOLLY -squishes-
This is a lovely review and you are lovely!

I have SERIOUS issues with fluff. I love to read it, but I really struggle to write it, but I also had a minor freakout when I realised all my stories are about misery and heartbreak and decided to write something HAPPY and fun and light for once. The result was a very long oneshot I had to break into four for hpff.

I am very happy you like Rose, especially if you don't normally. I think you are being far too kind/insane/loffly for liking this sorry snippet, but am relieved the Weaseley family came across reasonably distinct. Hopefully the rest of this doesn't disappoint! There is more Dom/Scorp, but Teddy and Rose more or less take over because I love them and Henry Cavill is love =P.

Thankyou SO much my dear for the review, encouragement and for favouriting! I'm such a fangirl of yours it really made my day!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Sadly Romantic Surprise!

30th January 2010:
Your attempt at fluff is an abysmal failure of epic proportions. Sorry Margravine. Perhaps reading more fluff and more practice will help you in fluff-writing in the future.
It's cutely comedic and somewhat romantic, with all it's little hints of couple-pairings and that somewhat humourous innuendo near the beginning. But it's definitely not fluff.
Kudos for the attempt though.

Author's Response: Oh hush. If I didn't know you personally this would make me cry, as it is I shall merely ruffle your hair disdainfully the next time I see you.

It is silly and it is sappy and it is the closest I will get to proper fluff. -sulks-
I'm going to hold all the books I have of yours hostage until you admit that my silly nonsense can be considered fluff.


 Report Review

Review #40, by Laugharama_llama Surprise!

28th January 2010:
Hi Jo! It's Katrina from TGS :) I decided to pass by and re-read the first chapter to refresh my memory, hahaha!

Omgsh Jo, this was even better than the first, if that was even possible!! I loved all the little things you added! But the great part is, that other than that first paragraph, I couldn't TELL what you've changed/added! You wove everything together so perfectly!

Even though I've already read this, it's so funny that it still got many many laughs out of me! I wouldn't really classify this as fluff, but more like non-angsty romance? Haha, point is - I really enjoyed it!!

I think my favorite line was:
“Take your hands off my sister!” screamed Louis, drowning the rest of the babble out.
Overprotective brothers are my favorite, as I have one of my own and two of his friends fancy themselves as my brothers too. But this was even FUNNIER because Louis is YOUNGER than Dom! Hahahaha! No lie, I did a forehead slap when I read that!

That was wonderful, Jo!! Oh and as grammar nazi, I am proud to say that I didn't notice any grammar mistakes whatsoever! :D

Author's Response: hey kat! Thankyou so much for reviewing on top of all the other help you've given me with this! You're an angel!

I think it really needed fleshing out, it was all dialogue :) and the best part of having 3 helpers is that you all picked up on different problems! It is due to you three that this is even readable!
I am SO relieved you like it - deliberate humour is so far out of my normal style I never even considered this particularly funny, so even ONE laugh is a surprise. Glad you liked Louis, he has his work cut out with his two sisters! I think he threatens Scorpius in the next one :P
Thankyou so much my dear! I was getting mildly worried that this wasn't getting reviewed when it is the most mainstream piece I've written, so I do appreciate it!
x Jo


 Report Review

Review #41, by Nar Surprise!

27th January 2010:
Very fluffy. I think my blood's turned to candyfloooaaarghhh *dies*

Except for right at the end. It would've been fluffier if everyone had calmed down, hugged Scorpius and bestowed upon him the honorary title of Malfoweaslepottegrangupin and then Alex Zabini had proposed to Victoire and everyone had drowned in a rising tide of golden syrup. But I guess that's why this isn't a one-shot and they'll do that next chapter.

>sparing a half guilty, half defiant look for Rose.
Shades of Scorose?

I like how, despite the multitudinous Weasleys and half-Weasleys, none of them blur together. Obviously you haven't had much space to flesh them out, but the differences are still pretty clear.

The only nitpick I have (despite the hints of Scorose, but that's a wholly personal thing) is that sometimes you don't put a punctuation mark before the quotation marks.

>“Happy Birthday, Dom”

Like that.

Like I said, total nitpick and I love the actual text please no lynching.

Love, Nar xxx

Author's Response: LYNCH LYNCH LYNCH!
haha joking dear. I have actually edited this a fair bit, that version is in the que now, so I will spare you..this time. Don't die on me, I won't get to chuckle about Al and co then!

I was determined to write a HAPPY story and the happy oneshot turned into a horridly cliche short story, but no one can say I didn't give fluff a shot! There is Scorose in the past, but, as you will see, it is in the past - this is TEDDROSE FTW.
Unfortunately, I didn't have your inspired suggestion when I wrote this, so the next chapter is less fluffy and involves death threats to Scor (but no proposals to anyone, just a kidnapping). I'll see if I can work it in the end, but Scor doesn't like hugs, they mess up his hair.

Thankyou for your lovely review, it's always great to hear what works and doesn't! and good to know the weasely crew were reasonably distinct!
xx Jo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>