Reading Reviews for Werewolf Academy
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Princess Of Hugs VI: Gethin

21st November 2009:
*Mouth hanging open* JP, what the heck?!?!? Well, it kinda was Darcy's fault. Good, good, good!! 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #27, by 1DarkAngel1 II: Darcy

22nd October 2009:
another great second chapter! a girl at my old scchool was called darcy!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review

 Report Review

Review #28, by 1DarkAngel1 I: Thanos

12th October 2009:
wow, wow, wow, wow, wow! i need to read more soon!

Author's Response: Well, there are 7 chapters! Enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #29, by Princess Of Hugs V: Rafe

10th October 2009:
Oh, poor Rafe!! *Gives him a hug* Cala, what the heck? Oh, I think you should give more information about the wolf forms. What color are their pelts? Just curious!! 10/10!!

Author's Response: In the next chapter, I'll give more description. Thanks for the tip!

 Report Review

Review #30, by Princess Of Hugs IV: Kiara

10th October 2009:
Oh!!! *Beats Dwayne with the brick once more then leaves him* Poor Thanos!! *Gives Kiara a hug* 10/10!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #31, by belladonna nightshade IV: Kiara

26th September 2009:
hey, i love your story.
its do different from all of the other fan fics
great job please keep on writing, i realy want to know if J.P is who i think it is,

Author's Response: Thanks, I really tried to make this different and original. It's quite fun to write. I've got four more chapters pre-written, and since the queue's so short, updates will be fairly quick.

 Report Review

Review #32, by Princess Of Hugs III: Arnulf

16th August 2009:
Good, good, good! *Does a little happy dance* 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, thanks, thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #33, by Princess Of Hugs II: Darcy

16th August 2009:
Good job! 10/10! *Continues to quietly beat Dwayne over the head with said brick*

Author's Response: Thanks again! Don't kill Dwayne though! I need him!

 Report Review

Review #34, by Princess Of Hugs I: Thanos

16th August 2009:
Good job! *Quietly hits Dwayne over the head with a brick*

Author's Response: Thanks! I think that a lot of characters in this story deserve some brick-to-head action. :P

 Report Review

Review #35, by DarkLadyofSlytherin I: Thanos

16th August 2009:
Interesting take on a werewolf academy. It's exactly what I would expect from one though. Incredibly dark and morbid, and still hold an air of superiority that werewolves lack in the HP books. Though, I expect we will be seeing an HP character or two, eventually? I enjoyed it, keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Yep, there'll canon people, though not for a few chapters. I never really had to think too hard about what I wanted the academy to be. It was dark, deadly, and full of at least partially-evil people. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #36, by DeaVanity III: Arnulf

15th August 2009:
Once again a nice chapter ^^ . And we met a new character... I really wonder who's behind all of this and how the Werewolf Academy came to be and all that... xD . Again 10/10 - great job!

~ DeaVanity

Author's Response: Keep wondering... that's what you're supposed to do. And there are plenty more characters coming! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #37, by DeaVanity II: Darcy

9th August 2009:
omg, I want more ^^ . This story goes to my favourites!
And JP... James Potter, gosh, I have to check if this is AU so I'll know if it's maybe James I, hehe...

I like Darcy, though. F***-everyone-behaviour is great and it fits well with her. I'm giving this 10/10 x)

Author's Response: Thanks! I really like Darcy as well- she's really fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #38, by DeaVanity I: Thanos

9th August 2009:
This story is... unique? Definitely. Original? Yeah, that too. xD
Anyway, I think it's very good and I've never read anything like it.
I'm quite curious though, does Fenrir have anything to do with this? I suppose I'll just have to read everything x)

Author's Response: Yes, I'm going to have to say that you'll have to read to find out. I'm finding that the hardest thing about writing a mystery is not answering the reviewers questions...

Anyway, thanks for the great review! I do tend to try and write... different ideas. Cliches are in my nightmares!!


 Report Review

Review #39, by JLHufflepuff II: Darcy

8th August 2009:
I love the characterization of these unfamiliar characters. I feel like I am getting to know them. Although this is set in the Potterverse, I feel like it could really be any world. You could (depending on the plot) morph this into original fiction really easily. I'm really enjoyin this so far!

Author's Response: I feel like it's only distantly related to the Potterverse... Although I'm going to try and get more familiar characters in later on. I'm glad you feel like you're getting to know the OCs, I hate stories where you get OCs shoved on you and you can't keep track of them, so I'm trying to give lots of info on them. Thanks for reviewing!!!

 Report Review

Review #40, by JLHufflepuff I: Thanos

8th August 2009:
Wow... this is a very creepy but good idea. I am wondering if this is Fenrir's little palace of werewolfdom? At any rate, I'm interested to see where this goes!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! As for Fenrir... I have to keep telling myself not to tell reviewers what will happen!

 Report Review

Review #41, by mentality II: Darcy

24th July 2009:
you still have me interested :). I think I like Darcy-- she has that air of not caring what people think of her (especially in the beginning, when she was putting on her clothes). You left the story in suspense, which is good, because you will have readers (including me) begging for more. I like your originality...not everyone can pull off a plot like this and make it sound good. I found nothing cliche or boring in this chapter, and I can't wait for more.

10/10

Mental

Author's Response: Thanks! Darcy may be my favorite character in this; she doesn't care about certain things and cares deeply about some others. I'm glad nothing's cliche or anything like that, because werewolf stories are overdone way too much and I'm glad you think mine's all right. :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by mentality I: Thanos

24th July 2009:
Very original :). I like that. I also like the fact that you give all of your characters life. Even though I only read one chapter, I feel sorry for Thanos and everything he has to go through on a daily basis. That's very good. I felt that this was more of an introductory chapter meant to help develop the plot, but you still showed that you have an amazing gift capturing the moment. Overall, I'll give you a 9/10.

Author's Response: It was introductory, but a lot of the early chapters are like this one, I'm afraid, in which by describing ordinary life I end up doing a lot of explaining. But I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by rachm34 II: Darcy

21st July 2009:
I think, if you had not requested for me to review I never would have opened my eyes to something as good as this. This normally, werewolf and stuff is out of my vicinity of reading because there can be so many clichees. Apart from this there is only one other story I think I've enjoyed on here (maybe more?) having to do with werewolves. Your writing is carefully crafted, beautifully woven to pull this all together. YOur oc's are so original that when you look at this it's almost as if this is not anything having to do with Harry Potter but something more you own. It's such an original part of fanfiction. It's beautiful in it's own way. Such a great great job you are doing. I am dying to know who JP's true identity is.

Author's Response: Yeah, this is kind of dark and I think that's putting people off. I think werewolves are cliched because so many people like Remus Lupin and try to write him and lots (not all) writers sort of ruin the whole werewolf business, which is rather delicate. At the moment I do think that this is very different fanfiction than some people picture, but I think Harry Potter things will get more involved later on. Thanks for the great reviews!

 Report Review

Review #44, by rachm34 I: Thanos

21st July 2009:
You really know how to drag readers into your stories. Even if they don't want to become, absorbed in it they do. You pull them right in with the words you use. Your word use is beautiful, your descriptions create fireworks of images in one's mind.

I feel as if the mystery is yet to begin, and you're merely just setting up for it. Your writing style is quite poetic, and beautiful. There were a couple times when I felt when one or two sentences where a bit off in the rhthym. It seemed as every sentence was tuned perfectly but a couple. You seemed to jump a bit out of character for a second or two. But this was a fabulous beginning. I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yes, thanks to some help from Vampire_Kisses, I've found a couple things to tweak. However, I'm glad this dragged you in, my fear is of having a story that I know is good but it doesn't get really good until later on and nobody returns to see it. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by RonsGirlFriday II: Darcy

12th July 2009:
I liked this chapter because it brought out some delicate issues of authority -- like the levels of authority and the idea that the Master might eventually have trouble keeping control of what he created. I thought you sort of demystified the Master, while at the same time reinforcing his image as the person in charge, so that was an interesting effect.

I would have liked to learn a little more about Darcy and her relationship with the Master. It seems that, even though the other members of Darcy's group are still afraid of the Master's powers (like Gethin, who knew it would be bad to be defiant), Darcy has no problem standing up to him and being blunt with him, and I was left wondering why the Master tolerates that from her. But if it was your intention to keep it ambiguous and mysterious, then good job. :-)

I like how you're building up the mysteries one piece at a time. It makes me want to keep reading so I can eventually figure it out.

Author's Response: Thanks! I loved writing Darcy and the Master; it was more fun than I expected. I don't want to give away everything about the relationship at once, but it's safe to say that Darcy is also just a more defiant person than the rest, and more of a leader than any of the others are.
This is my first shot at a real, true mystery, so I'm glad it's working.


 Report Review

Review #46, by VampireKisses II: Darcy

12th July 2009:
Interesting chapter! Can I take a guess at who JP is? Is it James Potter II? :) It's probably not, but that would be a nice plot twist - the son of the golden boy who created a place for werewolf killers. Is Dwayne JP's love child?

I love your character names, they are very original and they stand out very much in my mind. How much consideration do you put into naming these dark characters?

I like the relationship between Darcy and JP. It reminds me of the relationship between Bellatrix and Voldemort. Was that your intention?

Speaking of Darcy, I think she is a very intriguing character to work with. To me, it seems like you could go either way with her...make her really evil or switch her to the good side. I think when you have that dexterity, that's a sign of a well drawn out character.

I think your dialogue is very natural and believable. I also think that your descriptions of the characters were nice. I like knowing wat characters are supposed to look like. However, "chocolate skin" does seem a wee bit cliche, in my opinion. Maybe it's because of most fics that describe Hermione's eyes as chocolate etc. but I think it would make the description much more interesting if you used a more uncommon word like "mud".

I'm sorry that this isn't my best review, but I really liked this chapter and I can't wait to see how it all unfolds. By the way, your snippets of backstory are great. I find it all fascinating.

9/10. Please keep going with this fic, I think it will be fantastic ^_^.

Love,
Kristen

Author's Response: Wow, thanks!

I refuse to reveal who JP is... but I\\\'m delighted you\\\'re guessing. I also refuse to tell you Dwayne\\\'s relationship with him... Muhahaha

As for names, all of them stand for \\\"darkness\\\" or \\\"death\\\" or something along those lines. They come from a variety of cultures. I don\\\'t spend much time on them, I usually find them on the internet, and ones that are prouncable but uncommon I take. I have a list of about thirty names to use for this fic.

I wasn\\\'t thinking about Bellla and Voldemort when I wrote this, though it\\\'s probably true that I subconsciously channeled them. Although Darcy resents the Master more than Bellatrix did.

It\\\'s good to know that Darcy was written well, I think she\\\'s by far my favorite character. The balance of good and evil in her is exactly what I love writing. And thanks for the suggestion on my descriptions, I wanted you to get to know them because I\\\'m kind of throwing OC after OC at the reader and anything that distinguishes the character is great.

This was a great review! I love the detail you put into them, it really makes my day. There are few reviewers who find enough good and bad things to comment on.

THANKS!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Aisu Hoshino I: Thanos

10th July 2009:
I have to say that this is a very well-written and original piece with an interesting concept. I liked Thanos and really wasn't expecting that twist at the end. I'm guessing Dwayne is the main character? It is certainly interesting and not confusing at all. Good job!

Author's Response: No, Dwayne isn't the main character, there really is no one 'main character' but there are several co-MCs and Dwayne is a rather imporant. I'm glad you liked it, thanks for the review!!!

 Report Review

Review #48, by californialove I: Thanos

10th July 2009:
hola! i'm here with your review from the HPFF forums!

hokay, so! you wanted me to tell you if i dragged me in. well, honestly, it kinda did. its the first chapter of a horror/dark story, and usually, if you don't want to be like those stupid so called horror movies, you wouldn't put the juicy stuff in the beginning. not saying that that this chapter isn't juicy, but you get what i mean.

i thought it was interesting how you finally gave the world a school meant for students of all ages that are werewolves. that kinda gives me the impression that being a werewolf is more accepted in the future or people are just trying to keep all the werewolves locked up together like they did with the people with leprosy. if the second option is true, it kinda sparks my curiosity to wonder where this story is going.

but one thing, i gotta admit, that could be hard on both the reader and writer is dealing with OCs all around. I mean, we really have to put our imagination into what your characters are looking like and that could sometimes make it harder for the readers to get into because they're so used to reading about canon characters. but for me, i really didn't have a hard time imaging what thanos would look like. first i pictured like this beefy greek god of a man, but then i got your description and shrunk him down to look like those middle school kids who are like, smaller than their backpacks.

nice work!

californialove

Author's Response: Thanks! Actually, neither of your ideas about the school are the exact truth, that's the beauty of the mystery of it. I promise you'll find out all that later. I know I'm throwing OC's at the reader, and I hate it, that's one of my pet peeves, actually, getting bombarded with OCs that you can't remember for the life of you. I'm trying to make it a little easier for the reader with short, meaningful descriptions. But, in this story's case, canon characters would kind of mess it up. More will appear later. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #49, by VampireKisses I: Thanos

8th July 2009:
Hey Sarah! It's Kristen from the forums :). I saw this in a review thread (no, I'm not a creeper! xD) and I had to click on the link because this looked VERY intriguing.

I love your summary. It is very reminiscent of what would be taglines on a movie poster. In a way, it questions the reader I think (I know it had me thinking) into wonder and by that, I believe it is a well thought of summary that will be in people's minds for a while. It's dark, short, snappy, and twisted and I love it!

Your descriptions are the quintessence of excellence. In all seriousness, my jaw dropped in awe as I read your beautiful first paragraph. Your word choice is so astounding! I could picture everything you described because they were so powerful. I loved how in the first paragraph you kept the angry vibe with the wrestling bodies of clouds. In a way, your descriptions made this eerie chapter poetic.

However, I saw some spelling errors. "...the violet booming of the battle" - should violet be violent? I merely question this because I know some thunderstorms can have purple skies but it didn't really fit the description. And another one like this I saw was "...stripped off all their closes" - closes should be switched to clothes. I would go through, reread, and check for more. As far as I could tell, your grammar was nice.

Your character names are awesome. Does Thanos have a particular meaning? Do your werewolves in general have name meanings that fit their personalities? Are they given to them by the Master or teachers? Anyway, I just think they're very original and they stand out better than most other fics.

I love Dwayne's sadistic character. I can tell he's going to be good fun to read.

Okay, time for more sour (my word for constructive criticism): "In fact, in French the literal meaning of the Proie’s name was Loud Prey" - this didn't sit right with me, I'm sorry. It seemed awkward and out of place, because it's surrounded by beautiful depictions of the scene and back story that it comes off slightly clinical. It doesn't seem like it is necessary information to keep the story going, so I think that bit would have been better off in an author's note.

I also think that the name "The Master", though used in Buffy the Vampire Slayer (it's a general term so you're good :D), is much more elegant and in its own way, scarier, than JP to be honest. JP sounds a little bit amateurish and from my impression of the guy from what you told me through this chapter, he is to be taken very seriously.

You have a superb writing style but there were times where I felt that you slipped from this gothic story teller to something a little less I guess. What I mean is that there were some wordings that made a sentence a wee rough around the edges. Like "Apparently the latest name the Master was..."; if you remove the word "apparently" it makes that sentence more mature. I would also suggest getting rid of "...even something childish like SGW, " for the same reasons. :)

I actually think your chapter title is cool. I loved how you named it after the boy whose point of view you wrote from. And the description was also very telling, it made it very professional. Are you going to do every chapter like that?

Some parting questions for you: how did the werewolf academy come to be? I never heard it mentioned at all in the series or JKR say that werewolves had their own school. Are you going to tie it into canon?

Lastly, just out of curiosity, does the book or movie versions of "Blood and Chocolate" have anything to do with the production of this fanfic? It just reminded me of it.

Okay, well that's it for now! I can't wait for when you update on this work.

A (9/10) and this will have to go in my favorites :P

Love,
Kristen

Author's Response: Wow! What a long, detailed review! I can\\\'t tell you how glad it made me to see how much time and thought you put into it!

Summaries always have been a challenge for me- It\\\'s rare that I find a way to put enough info and mystery in it at the same time. But I\\\'m glad this summary worked out, it was deliberately short because sometimes that\\\'s just the best way to get people to read it.

Descriptions are another thing I strive to make work but aren\\\'t always good enough, so once again I\\\'m glad that you found them to connect enough to the story.

I agree with everything you said about the maturity of the writing- much of what you pointed out was correct and I\\\'ll be fixing it. However, JP is just another secret of the school and will be better explained later.

Yes, all the titles of the chapters will follow the pattern of the first. I\\\'m in a dilemma, because some POVs will have to repeat, but I\\\'m sure I\\\'ll think of something. This is a mixture of a novella and almost a collection of one shots, so it was hard to find acurate titles.

As for your questions, they\\\'ll all be answered in due couse of the story. There was no mention of a werewolf school, but I\\\'m going to make this as canon as possible.

I\\\'ve never heard of Blood and Chocolate, that\\\'s kind of cool.

I figured I had to to have a long response to such a long and wonderful review! Once again, thank you SO much!


 Report Review

Review #50, by theroonilwazlib I: Thanos

8th July 2009:
In a word - amazing. I do love werewolf stories, and I couldn't stop reading after the first two paragraphs - by the middle of the chapter I was already thinking of taking Thanos home and keeping him as a pet.
At first it seemed confusing, but it was just because of the load of info, which is fine. After a while all became more obvious, so don't worry. I'd like more insight as to why Thanos isn't as vicious, that part was a bit unclear, but maybe it was meant to be like that...? I guess I'm just being picky. I really did enjoy this, keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks! The whole story is supposed to be a bit of a mystery, so I was trying to give out information so that you knew what info you were and weren\'t supposed to know.

Thanos isn\'t vicious simply because deep inside he was not meant to kill. The kids have brought up to know that vicious is good, but some realize that taking a life is going too far, and are trying to figure out what\'s right, without bringing attention to themselves. Hope that helps. Thanks bunch for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>