Reading Reviews for etc. etc. (and life goes on)
  
1,091 Reviews Found

Review #26, by SilverMoonFairy Kiss Me Twice, Shame On Me

7th August 2016:
I feel like I'm going to finish this story in a matter of day, if not hours. It's so torturous and tension filled and OMG I HAVE TO READ MORE!

You know, I'm normally a lot more detailed with my reviews because I stop and open a word document and remark on the scenes, but I can't tear my eyes away from this and now you're stuck with short reviews. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU WRITE TOO WELL! XD

Al is... What is he DOING?! My heart is fluttering uncontrollably. They can't go to the QGA, Colon will gouge her eyes out if they're there together! I like how HE is changing HER and not the other way around, but I can't see Clemence just leaving what she does...

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Oh look, something suspicious! Your favorite kind of thing!"

Dom and Pickett better be married by the time this is over. What is she doing with Scorpius? Honestly!
-Liz

Author's Response: THE SHORT REVIEW COMPLIMENT I'll keep this in mind. I also just read your comments on the book club thread and oh man you're so detailed! It's really cool seeing stuff analyzed. People ask me to analyze my own stories sometimes, but I really enjoy seeing what other people take from it.

I'm imagining you clutching Al's shoulders, 'what are you DOING, you can't DO that.' I'm sitting here steepling my fingers because back then, even I didn't know where this would all lead eventually; I THOUGHT I did, then I kept finding wilder ideas!



 Report Review

Review #27, by SilverMoonFairy Marginally Better Than a Broom Closet

7th August 2016:
*breaking the rules and reading further after finishing all the questions*

Is THAT what changed the story? Because I may have done something rather similar in my chapter update last night. XD

Oh my gosh, my golly! The Quirky Girls are RABID. It's utterly ridiculous! A mob that shakes the floor and it's really funny that Al couldn't remember the password. Is he a Prefect even? Because that's funnier!

I knew he was up to something! Girlfriend indeed! And that kiss was EXPLOSIVE! HOLY CRAP! I'm still jumping from the squeeing! So, question- are they both ice queens? Because Al isn't exactly a bad boy. I'm not very good with subversion, lol.

I most definitely have to go on to the next chapter...
-Liz

Author's Response: YES, THE REVOLUTIONARY SIXTH CHAPTER KISS. It was hilariously groundbreaking, you can read all the reactions from when I first posted it and it was just utter shock.

Albus isn't a prefect (I thiiink Scorpius is the prefect, I don't recall anymore). Also prooobably not cool enough to be an ice queen (pun intended). It's best not to squint too hard at any subversion unless you see something pop out at you; I wrote the fic for multiple audiences - you can happily read the story just for the characters/story; and then there might be some additional jokes/aha's for those who are familiar with certain tropes/references :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by SilverMoonFairy Certifiably Quirky

6th August 2016:
I've been meaning to mention this for a few chapters, but I keep forgetting. I like how you segment the story, stopping to almost go into Clemence's personal notes on people and things, completely separate from the rest of the story, but still vital information for the reader. It's one of my favorite parts!

I'm beginning to think that Rose, Albus, and Scorpius are plotting to take down Witchy Business. Al, with his fake girlfriend, and Rose and Scorpius with fake rumors about breaking up.

Another wonderful chapter! I'm bouncing with excitement! I did find a few technicals.

The common room couches could put me in a coma when falling asleep is the last thing I want to do.
This sentence sort of reads like it ends with a different sentence.

Helen Nott keeps me up to date with the passwords.
It was Helena a few lines up.

before Yule Ball,
the Yule Ball or Yule Balls

Super excited for this story!
-Liz

Author's Response: Writing etc in this segmented fashion gave me a lot of freedom to try different styles; very, very fun and enlightening!

You've already learned to trust no one! :D That will serve you well.

Thank you again! I'll have to fix these typos up (I didn't even notice the Helena one, because her name is "supposed" to be Helena but I don't use that in the rest of the fic, so moot point).


 Report Review

Review #29, by SilverMoonFairy A Vivid Imagination

6th August 2016:
*squees* I love this! There's so much tension! And too much Mature Content leads me to imagining them pushing each other against walls, BUT THAT'S BESIDES THE POINT!

I feel like Pickett is so on top of this Dom/Scorpius thing because he likes her and is jealous and is trying to make Clemence put a stop to it so he can keep his love a secret... OH UNREQUITED JOY!

Love the chess match! And he DOES like the banter! I feel like dancing in giddiness! *dances* I'm sad, though, because the first thread for the club is only for up to chapter 5 and I want to read it all, haha!

One little technical!

last afternoon' duel

And that's all!
-Liz

Author's Response: My friend was reading it and she was like, "there is CONSTANT TENSION." Pickett warns you in advance, too :'D everything is sexual tension if you look hard enough!

My other friend made me a graphic for this story that literally just says "unrequited" so you can guess what that means, hehehe.

You can always take a sneak peek at next week's reading ;) Chapter 6 changed everything for this fic when I wrote it. I didn't plan it and it completely shaped the rest of the story. I saw the book club thread and oh MAN those are some quality questions!! I hope people participate! I'd tell people to, but not sure how many people are Ravenclaws?? If there was an open thread, I'd totally direct people there!


 Report Review

Review #30, by SilverMoonFairy May I Have This Duel?

6th August 2016:
Holy crap, I suddenly ship Al and Clemence so HARD! Wonderful chapter! Pickett is brilliant and DOM TAKE YOUR HANDS OFF SCORPIUS! C'mon, why does she hate Rose so much? FAMILY! Sheesh!

What a show! That duel was amazing! That's something I have trouble with- writing duels and quidditch. You pull it off beautifully and WOW. I want to read it again!

Just a quick technical before I go, found this hiding in all that awesomeness-

But I'm won't make things worse.

Tata!
-Liz

Author's Response: HA! THE SHIPPING BEGINS! What would this story be without rampant shipping?

I'm pretty sure I used to hate writing action scenes but now they seem so fun?? Or maybe I'm just thinking after the fact. The duel was definitely a fun one :'D

Ahh, thanks for pointing out the typos; I know I have quite a few scattered throughout but editing on multiple fic sites has made it a hassle to actually fix them.

Thank you for another review!


 Report Review

Review #31, by SilverMoonFairy Chess for Three

6th August 2016:
I am so in love with your story! It amuses me, actually, that Dom is a reporter. Not long ago, I was reading another story where she was also a reporter, a rather nosy and pushy one, too.

Clemence is wonderful! I love her and I hate her. She makes life interesting. She's very no-nonsense and to the point which makes her that much more hilarious to read. Cool and level headed, getting under the skin of those she investigates- OH!

Being a fan of the Everything Wrong With series on YouTube, I just had to say...

"...et cetera, et cetera. Life goes on." - Roll credits...

-Liz

Author's Response: There's something especially infuriating about people like Clemence and Dom when they want something, because they're the type to pursue the thing until they have it, and their shamelessness about it is their greatest weapon ;)

 Report Review

Review #32, by SilverMoonFairy Manic Panic Mondays

6th August 2016:
Holy crap! We're reading your story for Book Club and, wow, this is amazing! A relation of Rita Skeeter- I've been thinking of writing something with her recently but I don't think I can out do this. The flow and grace and outright audacity of your character is amazing and I love how she doesn't even like what she does, but she's good at it, so she does it anyway. Wow! I'm so excited for the rest of the story!

-Liz

Author's Response: Ahh, how exciting! I hope you enjoy the rest! And definitely try to write that Skeeter story (ALL the snarky, underhanded reporters, pls). Thank you for your kind comments! c:

 Report Review

Review #33, by Reader Epilogue

1st August 2016:
Im gonna be honest...I feel like clemence didn't really deserve a happy ending. She never really changed or atoned for her mistakes. A lot of this fic read as blatant wish fulfillment dressed up in pretty words.

Author's Response: Fair enough, I suppose we'll disagree here. I do think Clemence matured, and a big question about the fic is really whether anyone truly changes or atones. I don't think she needs to explicitly do so to arrive to this resolution.

 Report Review

Review #34, by baletgir Epilogue

24th July 2016:
I'm so sad this is over, but I am really glad you've stick with it and finished this! It is so sad how many people have disappeared from HPFF and abandoned fics (I'm just as guilty of this), so it's great to see someone who is still dedicated.

I always come back to HPFF when real life is less than stellar, and it's great to be able to come back to Harry Potter characters because they are like old friends.

This fic was wonderful, and I reread the entire thing before finishing it and I loved it just as much the second time around. There were so many great aspects that I can't even pick a favorite twist, but it was really real. I'm so glad that she didn't end up with Albus, too easy. And Janey burning down the newsroom? I never would have guessed that, I was shocked, but it was brilliant!

I hope you keep writing, I look forward to reading other fics by you in the future!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'd feel waaay guilty leaving stories unfinished, if I got this far. I did very nearly give up at the end, but I'm so glad I didn't. The response I've gotten for the last few chapters have been so rewarding *u*

I love that a lot of the twists were really just Clemence's expectations going awry; she's mostly burned by herself or by risky situations she knowingly enters - her wonderful running theme. Albus, too, defies her expectations constantly, from his initial impression to his last one.

♥ thank you so much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #35, by dawn_rising Epilogue

29th May 2016:
10/10 what an AMAZING story! I wasn't sure it would ever get finished, but it did and I'm so glad I stuck around for the end.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a trial, but I finally did manage to finish it :'D

 Report Review

Review #36, by a Epilogue

28th May 2016:
alknhbvftcxszxecrvtbynuimo,komjinhou gfytcdxec7rf68tg7yh

Author's Response: I will take this as a good thing.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Penelope Inkwell Appy Ever After

20th May 2016:
Wow. Clemence is straight up fractured. She's always been very ~in her head~, but ever since she sort of lost her identity in A Kingdom for My Name, she's been crumbling. It's like she makes less and less sense with each passing paragraph, constantly contradicting herself. Even she can't work through who she really is. I can't even decide if she's just more honest about her motivations than most people, or if she's internalized a lot of self-hate and casts herself as a villain because she's lacked many positive relationships. Probably a mix of both, I guess. But when she said, "It's me, isn't it?" I say, lip shaking. "The crazy one—it's me." I was just like, weeell...

kinda, yeah.

She might not be as crazy as Appy. But she's still lost a lot of her stability here. She's flashing so quick back and forth on what she believes about people, about love. She wants it; she never wanted it. She's heartless; she has a heart. Scorpius is pathetic; Scorpius is admirable in the purity of his love (so pure that he considered removing Albus' ability to consent to a relationship? But alas, that is a discussion for another day. I'm writing a story about Merope slipping Tom Sr. love potion, so I can understand a certain amount of well-meaning self-delusion, I guess). She can't decide if Albus is lovable and she's terrible for not loving him, or if she's really worth more than she has to offer. And the girl has no earthly idea about herself. She's a mess.

I hated everything, trusted in nothing, and in the absence of real purpose, it had been enough fulfilling this myth of myself. I wasn't happy but I was triumphant and that was almost the same. AND I didn't have enough heart for my prince and too much heart to play villain...
--the combination of these lines is basically everything I've been thinking about Clemence. She's been so consumed with the myth of herself, so stuck on whether to cling to it or admit that there is more to her.


CC:
He might not wait, but if Albus ever felt the same, he wouldn't hesitate if only to undo the hurt since then.
--I was a little confused by this sentence. To undo the hurt since when?


Even amidst all the angst, you keep the humor, which I appreciate. And honestly, I was glad to see the newsroom burn. It seems the best possible outcome for her, really. It's like she's been wanting to let it go, and destiny or fate or some angry girls finally made the choice for her. And I think it's going to be for the best. The real question is where on earth she'll go from here.

I wasn't really sad about her breakup with Albus. I'm about as confused about their relationship as she is. How good a guy *was* he, really? I go from being sad for him to tired of him and back to sad, but either way, they were a toxic pair. Nothing good was ever going to come of that, I don't think. Her crazy-dream Appy was right. Whatever mixed motivations she may have had, her relationship with Albus was really all about her rivalry with Appy. She has a lot to say about Scorpius, Rose, and Dom, but really her situation has been terribly similar. The whole lot of them were using each other, one way or another: Albus used Clemence to take down QGA and to be his reformed villainess, and he used Appy to strike out at Clemence. And then both girls just used Albus as a kind of tug-of-war piece. Really, it makes the situation between Dom, Rose, and Scorpius look positively healthy!

I was glad to see her finally cry in the end, finally open up to all her confusion. I don't really know where she stands--I still think Clemence is more than she believes she is. I think she has more capacity for kindness and affection than she realizes, but she's been in a toxic environment for a long time. She still has a lot of growing to do. I'm curious what this epilogue is going to be like, and I'd be very interested to see what Clemence turns into down the road. She's still trying to deny it, up till the very end, but by the time she's outright sobbing, it seems like she at least understands that she has the capacity for emotion, and that she isn't the heartless person she's pretended to be for so long. She's so prideful, but really she's tearing herself down all the time, and even at the end, she doesn't quite understand why anyone would care about her. She still thinks they're fools for it. I really do hope she finds some real self worth, outside of just being a successful writer.

I feel like Clemence's journey hasn't really been about finding herself so much as about admitting that she *doesn't* know herself in totality, that she doesn't have it all figured out. And that's okay, because she's young. She *should* still be growing and changing, not just clinging to this artificial image she made for herself at 14, when she wanted to take over the world (or Hogwarts, at least) and needed a persona to do it. I mean, I always appreciated her confidence, but it's been interesting to see her contradict herself more and more until she finally just kind of shatters.

I'm just hoping she can put herself back together--maybe with help--in a way that will make her happier. That she can have a chance. Because as long as she was clinging to that persona, how could she ever be happy. At least with the shattering, there's hope of rebuilding better.

Clemence has been a fascinating character with so many contradictions. I just can't wait to see how she ends up in the epilogue! It's always a pleasure to read your work. :D

--Penny

Author's Response: Leave it to Clemence to have a bildungsroman that ends in fire.

Don't remind me about the contradictions! Trying to describe them while making sense was the absolute worst :'D Unorthodox as some of Clemence's story is, this really is her quintessential growing-up-teen moment. She has irrevocably changed over the past months and she is trying to go back to a version of herself that is no longer who she is. She's grappling with becoming someone she does not recognize, unsure of whether it's because it's who she really is or who the world is telling her is normal, and this is probably the first time she's ever had to face this, at this scale. She contradicts herself because she thought she knew who she was; she was so sure! She's always sure! And maybe she was right months ago, but not anymore.

I love the bit of darkness to Scorpius' secret, and also how it's sort of an unhealthy relationship on both ends, with Albus being relatively aware of how Scorpius felt about him. I think Clemence is mostly amazed that someone like Scorpius, who seems pure, could feel that strongly obsessive about Albus to rationalize love potion. (Also, oop, I can see why that line is confusing; I meant to show how Scorpius is functionally over Albus and isn't waiting for him or anything, but if Albus returned his feelings, Scorpius' feelings would come right back just to undo all the emotional torment since his crush began)

I asked myself many times how the newsroom should burn, as the impact and meaning changes with who lights it up. I could never see Clemence doing it herself, but if she saw it burn? I think, at that point, she would finally let it burn.

One big question I've asked from the beginning is, does love justify the means? Because so often in fiction, love is a cop-out justification, and I really wanted to address that in these relationships that are unhealthy but everyone is pretty honest and aware of it and manage to love and care at times despite that. There was good and bad - it was not all for naught! - but at what point does it become a romanticization?

And it's so great to finally see her cry - finally, a catharsis! It's the most hopeful crying I've ever written. Growing up, I had a hard time connecting with other people because I didn't have a large capacity to care; it was just who I was and I would assume other people were like me. I put a lot of that into Clemence's disbelief that anyone would care for anyone let alone her like that. It was really important for me that Clemence didn't have some tragic backstory that "justifies" her personality; female characters rarely get to have this emotional range without explanation.

Thank you so so much again! I can't wait to see what you think of the epilogue c:


 Report Review

Review #38, by Penelope Inkwell Trust Whom You Love, or Is It the Other Way Around?

20th May 2016:
Oh gracious! I didn't realize I was so far behind, but now I don't even know if I'm emotionally prepared to finish this story.

I don't even know what to think. I feel kind of like Dom in this situation
--like, yes Clemence is using Albus. And in some ways I don't like that? But it's also his spotlight that's put her in this situation, and if she broke up with him now she'd lose her voice and her reputation altogether. Besides which, he's still far from perfect. I mean, I think he means well in that "nice guy" way that's so irritating--he sees himself as the hero of the story, no ifs, ands, or buts. The funny thing is that you rarely get someone who truly considers themselves the villain, like Clemence. It's interesting to watch her feel torn between her own persona. It's like she's built up this larger than life character for herself, and the truth is she's started to outgrow it--she can be more than just the 2-dimensional heartless journalist that she pretends to be, probably in an effort to win the approval of her aunt. But at the same time, she doesn't want that identity *stripped* from her by being Albus' girlfriend. It's all very tangled with the feelings and the motivations, and I don't even know quite what to think, at this point.

I liked that Scorpius got hired on to the Witchy Business staff. It's nice to see him being competent at something, after all he's been through. Different sides, and all. I could actually see him being a good journalist, in that way that you show--he's very disarming. Maybe not *clever*, per say, but people will talk to him. I wonder what *will* happen to Witchy Business, in the end. The number one thing about this chapter seems to be that Clemence doesn't really know who she is or what she wants anymore, and is just kind of holding steady and trying to ride out the tide and pretend more confidence than she really has.

And now, for the lines that were my favorite gems of the chapter:

A dark aura radiates around her, hissing and snapping at anyone too close—some sort of privacy perfume.
--I love these magical quirks you come up with. You could earn Fred and George a fortune just coming up with magical inventions for them to create.

"I understand young love can be volatile," Slughorn continues, "but do refrain from forming—what's the term nowadays?" Parchment rustles. "Ah. Armies."
--gold

"I won't deny that I've considered mild poisons...I don't take pinky promises lightly."
--there's the Appy we know and fear. I loved the turnaround there. She may have rebranded, but girl is as crazy as ever.


- My head jerks toward him. It tumbles out: "You looked!"

- He's a beat slower:
"You looked!"
--that was a cute bit. These two. At least they're on the same wavelength

"You're doing it again, by the way—that thing where you shame people for caring about you..."
--A++ Pickett! Call her out! In as much as I ship anyone in this story--which seems a risky thing to do, considering how shipping has gone--I ship these two. I mean, I'd be just as happy if Clemence ended up single, I think, but the thing is that Pickett gets her in a way that Al clearly never will. He sees through her illusions and doesn't turn her into anything she's not. Albus wanted to turn her into someone "good" so badly that now, when he looks at her, that's what he sees. Clemence looks in the mirror and sees someone bad, and that's not entirely true, either. I think Dom's a little too self-focused to really know (or entirely care) *what* Clemence is. She's willing to just accept her as a friend and be done with it. But Pickett--Pickett does get her. And at the very least, I hope he remains in her life. She needs someone who can see her more clearly.


I'm very interested to see how you're going to wrap this. I can't really imagine how it's going to end, but I'm eager to find out.

--Penny

Author's Response: Ahh you're back!! I can't wait to hear what you think of the ending c:

I love hearing your analysis of the characters. I think all of what you say has some basis; I don't have easy answers to any of that either and you could go around in an endless chain of "yes well, but..." to argue for any side. Resent is such a big part of Clemence's current feelings. She might be in a decent situation and Albus loves her but can she get over how she got here? She's taking advantage of Albus, but she warned him and he must be aware of it on some level considering their history, so what of that? And then toss in an identity crisis, because turns out she's not always right about herself...

Scorpius was supposed to be a minor character and I remember suddenly having to drum up things for his future because he surprised me with all of his secrets! And some of those do make him a pretty good journalist out the bat, especially for a school like this.

Confused old Slughorn never gets old.

The end to this chapter is probably the most emotional part of the story, barring the next chapter, and it surprised even me. I knew Pickett and Clemence care about each other in a way that never needed verbalizing, but when it came time to verbalize it, it became such a vulnerable moment, exactly because Pickett gets Clemence and doesn't play her games; he gives her the choice to live up to her own words and she takes it.

Thank you thank you for the review ♥!


 Report Review

Review #39, by pinkpanther16 Epilogue

15th May 2016:
Wow, I can't believe this story is finally over. It HAS been a wild ride. With all of the stuff that Clemence and the other characters have been through, I'm surprised they all made it out alive. Congratulations for pulling though and finishing the story, as well as writing this intriguing, original, well written masterpiece. I'm so glad I was able to follow you through your journey. :)

Author's Response: A little knocked down, but alive :') Thank you so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Bluewolf80 Epilogue

14th May 2016:
This isn't the type of HP fanfic that I usually read, but I enjoyed it all the same. It was crazy and whimsical. Some out of the characters were totally outrageous (hem, hem Appy and gang) yet it made the experience more fun and amusing.
I'm very big on technical details so the issues of having a paper in school that is left in the loos, mobs of girls, crazy clubs, drinking w/out getting caught, elections for Head Boy/Girl and using the Goblet of Fire. I realize this is a less serious story but most of those things wouldn't have been possible at Hogwarts. Some others... maybe, if rules changed a great deal in the 20 years since The Trio were there. It's still a strict private boarding school; not a public high school. I can see where the standards would have to be relaxed for your plotline to work though.
Overall good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's in no way supposed to be a "realistic" take on school; it's a satirical take - closer to the kind of silly setup you'd find in a teen comedy movie or similar. I'm not concerned with the story following canon Hogwarts (it would be far different story otherwise!) as long as the setting is internally consistent.

 Report Review

Review #41, by randomniname Epilogue

11th May 2016:
This epilogue was so perfect. Everything is settled, everyone is calm, it's like observing the now clean and empty room you are moving out of, a sense of completion and of loss, a farewell but also the joyful expectation of new thrilling things.

It is late, I am tired, I am deeply moved by this ending and my eyes are a bit watery for some reason. I'll leave a more rational review tomorrow, but for now just one thing: thank you Gina. etc. is the first story where I feel such attachment towards all characters, but also the author, the artwork, the language and everything (and I've been a bookworm since I can hold a book).
I'll go to sleep with a cosy warm feeling in my chest tonight.
Kisses from Germany!

Author's Response: I screeched about an ambiguous ending for so long that I'm shocked myself at how settled everything is. But the one thing I was certain about was that everything would be both different and the same and life would going on, and so it does.

Ahh! I can't wait to hear more from you. I'm so glad you feel that way. It means so much coming from a fellow bookworm ♥


 Report Review

Review #42, by Celeste Epilogue

11th May 2016:
GINA MY LOVE.

CONGRATULATIONS, YOU'VE DONE IT AND I AM SO PROUD OF YOU.

I know I've jumped on and off and on and off this story during these past five years, but nonetheless, it has always been an amazing story. I think I told you in the beginning when you were writing it that it was hard for me to read -- because I was SO jealous that I hadn't written it and couldn't write like this. This story, beyond being steamy and shippy, is so clever and fun and witty. All the witticisms, the snappy retorts, the awesome descriptions, have basically made etc a joy to read (despite turning me a horrendous shade of green).

Ok. Clemence. I have been there with Clemence since the day you picked her name and I went "What kind of name is that??" I remember the days of Priscilla/Clemence (they even ended up with the same face claim in the end!! Lily Collins! They are soul sisters) and our convos on snarky women. And Clemence is snarky, and complicated, and convoluted, but this story has been about more than just her growth--it has been about her discovery of herself, of who she is when she peels back her own expectations and facades. And watching her grow has been amazing. One of my fave aspects of this story is watching her grow more self-aware and more honest, even if it was painful. I also love how respectful your story as been of her...and of teenagers as a whole, actually. Their feelings, their theatrics, their romances, it's all valid and real.

Albus. Ok, you know how I feel about the Albus of it all. I mean, Albus is necessary. I like him. I even kind of shipped Clebus in this chapter if only because it was really hard to see him so torn up about it. But I mean Albus is steamy and all, but I am here for the Clemence of the situation and always have been.

I was SO happy with the ending!! You know I have unabashedly pushed for the Clickett and it was so the right move for this story.

This story has been such a fun and well-written ride. A story of self, selfishness, self-truths and self-discoveries. Your writing is and has been a joy to read.

I hope you keep writing and keep amazing us.

Love,
Celeste

Author's Response: IT'S DONE, I'VE DONE IT, AHHH. Five YEARS.

Teehee I'm glad you could read it through your horrendous green jealousy, even though you know, I have plenty of green for you, so obviously we ought to all become Slytherins. You, Julia, Gubby, and others have all shaped my sense of humor, so I owe those witticisms partly to all of you. Otherwise, I'd just be making puns and newspaper headlines all day.

(I did not realize Clemence would be such a controversial name! The pronunciation! The gender! And here I just thought it was a form of clemency!)

I always say that, as ridiculous as the situations in etc. are, is it really more ridiculous than real life? Is it not just a microcosm of the world and its media circuses, flashy headlines, and watered-down politics? The world never stops being teenage drama, really, it's just dressed up in different ways, so I could never think teens are ridiculous; the WORLD is ridiculous. And making sense of yourself in that world is an ongoing struggle. Clemence never really "answers" any of her own questions, because they're the sort of questions that don't have ones, but she finds a certain peace with them, and I'm glad for that.

I can't believe how many of you who were here when I started writing this ship Clickett. It's like everyone was in on the memo except me!! I mean, I shipped it vaguely but I never thought it would be a thing (I got caught in the Albus of it all) but THEN SUDDENLY I'M WRITING IT.

and I'm glad you like it and everything else, and you are so sweet ♥U♥ thank you SO MUCH!


 Report Review

Review #43, by AlexFan Epilogue

10th May 2016:
I was a little heartbroken when I found out that Albus and Clemence weren't going to get together (I've read the the same James/Lily fic for the past two weeks, I was that shocked. Is this how Snily shippers feel?) That being said, I've come to accept it, and this epilogue kind of helped me accept that fact. I don't know why but this epilogue just made it really obvious that ALbus and Clemence weren't made to last. But I would hope that somewhere in the future the two of them would at least learn how to be proper friends with each other.

I liked that the story ended on a cheery note, it's been such a wild ride that it's kind of nice to see all of the characters moving on in one way or another and slowly figuring out who they are. When I think about it, Pickett and Clemence understood each other that Albus and Clemence didn't.

And most importantly, I'm so happy that there was actually an end to the story, there were a lot of times that I worried this story would never be finished, and would just sit as a work in progress and it's haunted me for years. It kept me up at night sometimes because oh my god what if she never finishes the story, I need to know how it ends! So yay! I'm so glad this story managed to see its own end and good luck on all of your original stories!

Author's Response: I think the love story of etc. still firmly belongs to Albus and Clemence. It's just not a love story that has a clean, happy resolution. They clashed, loved for the briefest of moments (or are still in love, for certain parties), and parted. There was something great there, even if it wasn't healthy or lasting; a love, even if it wasn't an epic.

I'm personally happy it ended on a cheery note! because I knew the general situation it would end with but I had no idea as to the tone—it definitely wasn't supposed to end in a kiss! It was sort of thrilling to end it that way, so uncharacteristically unambiguous of me :p

Apologies for any lost sleep, bahaha, I know the feeling. I felt so bad while updating the last few chapters because it literally took years! Thank you for sticking with it, and all your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #44, by mcdash Epilogue

10th May 2016:
I love it. I love love love it. I wasn't too shocked about Clem and Pickett because I've grown to love them together (or do I just love Pickett/anyone?). But Janey? Never who I thought would be the person to do it. I thought that maybe Dom had set the room ablaze since she was pretty much out the door by the end of the story anyways, but I love that it was Janey. She's my favorite.
This was such an amazing story, no matter how many years it took to get here. Some of my favorite characters ever are in etc. (literally just Scorpius) and I think it's been a real treat to read it, so, really, thank you, Gina.

Author's Response: Pickett/Anyone sounds about right :D Dom is many things but strangely not malicious; mostly vain xD Janey--I always thought Clemence underestimated her; coddled her, in an way. I love the weird way they leave each other at the end, where it feels like Clemence finally sees her as a rival but loses respect for her as a person. And Scorpius appreciates your appreciation!

♥ ♥ ♥!


 Report Review

Review #45, by C Epilogue

10th May 2016:
I can't believe etc is finally over! (Or that "Pickett I ship it" is endgame, although I'm much more pleased by the latter fact than the former). This story's been a part of my life for years now, one of the two fanfics I still follow, and it's been a privilege to see it through to the end. Thank you so much for writing this wonderful wonderful story, for sharing it with all of us; if your original work is ever published, I look forward to reading it!

Author's Response: ME NEITHER. Thank you so much for following this fic through the years and while it's changed. I still keep track of authors and comics and blogs that have been dormant for years, so I know the feeling of waiting an eternity for a resolution, and I'm so glad it's been worth it for you. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #46, by naughtforreal Epilogue

10th May 2016:
SUNFLOWERS!!!

It's done! I can't believe it. I have this warm feeling in my chest and I sort of feel like crying and smiling and Gina, I am so proud of you!

I am so proud of Clemence, too. Honestly, this chapter is oozing with quotable quotes--nope, the whole etc etc is oozing with quotable quotes nothing new

but I adored this:

I became who I needed to be to survive, and today, I will take the rubble inside of me, forge a new self, and do it again.

But I'll remember.


(just because I am a sucker for rising above the ashes monologues)

and I haven't really told you this but I'm really glad to stumble upon etc etc. It started out as this 'Get the Boy' stuff and it tumbled, rolled and it didn't splat. Instead, it rolled into this amazing girl-powered bowling ball throwing off stereotyped bowling pins along the way.

(I tried on the metaphor but you can ignore it)

My heart clapped for Clappy and poor, traumatized Albus. Janey the Usurper, well. I kinda refused to see that coming. I knew it had to be one of the Witchy Business staff and I'm sorry I thought it was Dom (I thought she was tired of the drama) but well played, Janey, well played.

Anyway, SUNFLOWERS!!!

Transfigured as booze.

WHICH IS EVEN BETTER than the sunflowers themselves. (Honestly, Henry. Where can one buy you?)

I am not complaining with the kiss ending. That is all you need to know. #Clicket4Eva XD

GINA. It's over. Well done, my friend. You've been amazing. You deserve a bouquet of flower-transfigured-booze too. Or cake. Cake is better, I think. AHHH whatever it is you're about to do next, I'll be creeping upon you once in a while. Or twice. ♥♥♥

Author's Response: SUNFLOWERS!!! Are they not the HAPPIEST flowers and thus PERFECT for Clemence? She has never been so simultaneously touched and horrified.

I had all of those same feelings when I finished, as well as frantically messaging literally everyone I possibly could and trying to find an outlet for them.

The newsroom burning is funny to me because that was ALWAYS in the plan - one of the very few things to make it through from the beginning. And the phoenix rising from the ashes metaphor fit SO PERFECTLY (and makes a great newspaper name) and I loved writing that Heathers-esque imagery of Clemence walking down the hallway covered in smoke and ash, tired yet defiant.

:3 I also very much appreciate your metaphor. I will frame it. Mainly because it did very much start as a straight parody and became this hulking ball of female-led politics.

Omg perpetually shocked at people thinking it was Dom! She's so chill. She never really DOES anything, things just kind of get handed to her, so I never imagined her capable of doing something so dramatic. But Janey, well, Janey's 100% a do-er and does those things 100%.

BUT YES. SUNFLOWERS. BOTH transfigured as booze and actual sunflowers!! I couldn't wait for you to read the ending :'D I paused and thought at one point, "oh my god Dianne's face when she reads this"

♥ ahhh thank you for all your squees, I still can't believe it's over AHHH


 Report Review

Review #47, by happyanon Epilogue

10th May 2016:
Its not quite the ending I thought but its definitely Clemence Fitzgerald. Thank for sharing this story for us to see. You've given Potterheads another world to enjoy magic. Thank you! This will truly be a most memorable fanfic for me. I have come to love your characters and your metaphors. And choice of words. And I will forever adore this story. I hope only good things for you. A bright future for you in writing!! Much love, as always!

Author's Response: It's been quite the adventure, both me dragging Clemence around and Clemence dragging me along; and the metaphors! I didn't think I had that many in me.

Thank you! c:


 Report Review

Review #48, by GubraithianFire Epilogue

9th May 2016:
You did it, oh my god oh my god OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. I’ve been freaking out ALL DAY because oh my god, oh my god, I have no other words. Congratulations. I’m so proud of you. Thank you for this story – for all the stories you’ve already written and the ones you’ve yet to write – but thank you especially for writing etc etc. HP fanfic, let alone the Albus/OC-with-a-twist genre (can we call it a genre, or did you make it one?) would not be what it is without etc etc. I would not be what I am without it (and, um, without you, probably).

One of these days – probably this time in exactly a week – I’m going to go back and reread this from the beginning, mostly because I remember almost nothing of anything before chapter 20, but partly, also, because I love the narrative evolution that’s happening here so much, and I want to see it actually evolve over one sitting instead of over several years. Or rather, the narrative evolution that has already happened. Because this is done. Life goes on, and I fully expect this will too, in its myriad forms, but, you know. I'm trying to gather my thoughts and realizing that I don't have the mental capacity to say very much of anything. I remember when Capers was being finished, I knew essentially what I wanted to say, but for this, idk, it's a harder thing to reckon with, or maybe it's because by now you know exactly what I'm trying to say, and you'd say it so much better than me (and more quickly, and with less parentheticals), and I've probably said it all already at some point or other before, but anyway:

It's been such a pleasure to watch Clemence grow, and you with her, or vice versa. It's been such a pleasure to watch this story get increasingly complex, increasingly vibrant, increasingly dark and unsettling and romantic and definitely not romantic. I'm constantly in awe of how you've navigated all these threads, all these characters, and Albus especially (that closure scene is marvelous), the specific kind of minotaur-in-the-maze our poor Clemence fears she is. (Does this make Pickett Ariadne? I know this is not the myth, but I like the idea that Pickett is trying to lead Clemence out of the maze she and Albus/Theseus made). You imbue so much independent life into all these characters - their psychologies, their dialogues, their very selves - and I know a lot of that is you, and I don't know how you manage to do it, but that you do it, and that you execute it so flawlessly... Gina, you're s u c h a good writer. In case you ever, ever doubt it, or forget it, let me remind you, you are. No one else could have written this story, though many have tried. (Me included, twice; not including Confectionary, which I affectionately think of as having started it all). You are, in every sense of the word, an original. I don't know if Capers solidified your authorial voice more than this, but etc etc is a truly unforgettable work. Except for... all the things... I did forget... ahem.

There's one thing I actually have never forgotten, though. You can guess what that is:

22nd February 2011:

Clemence is such a '30s gumshoe that it's incredible. I love her. And her editing quill and her crew and Pickett, who I already imagine as this brooding sex god in the making. Clemence/Pickett. Clickitt. I don't even know, partner in crime.


And this:

Author's Response: BROODING HENRY. You and your ill-fated ships. I hadn't even considered it, but Clickett is so catchy. Especially compared to Clebus, which sounds like a bad hick name.

I called it from the very beginning, over five years ago, but even I didn't think it would end with a kiss.

♥ here's to climbing out of the morbid curiosity rabbit hole at last

Author's Response: I can breathe finally oh my god. I'm still rereading it like I can't believe it, it's done (it's CANON), it's DONE. God, all of you sing such high praises, I can't; I am melting; I am plummeting my head into my blankets flailing; I am making incoherent noises at 2am.

Even though most of etc's story has changed because my whims themselves changed and not due to some overall plan, it's weirdly appropriate to see Clemence's narration morph from overconfident, devil-may-care gossip reporter to war-hardened leader - to survive, as she would say, when really she doesn't need to do any of this at all. She does it because she cares - so much! - and the remarkable thing is how she's suppressed it for so long.

In the beginning she is Clemence and at the end she is Clemence, yet the difference is so stark, just in the way she talks and carries herself. She's exhausted. She repeats that over and over. Caring in the slightest exhausts her and I understand why the Clemence in the beginning had to exist and how she could have easily continued to exist if no tempting enough of an obstacle came in her way. But it did, and she can't go back, and now we have this wounded-but-very-much-alive, *hopeful* Clemence of the epilogue.

I'm dying a little bit at the Ariadne comparisons, but now I'm picturing it and I can't unsee Greek Myth AU; brb making more incoherent noises.

But mostly dying a lot over everything you're saying ♥♥♥ you are saying things I don't know how to respond to. Clemence's story (in its various forms, fic, OF, etc) is/will be probably the most personal story I'll ever write and I'm embarrassed to say how much I learned about myself while writing it; or maybe I just dug out those thoughts I could never put into words and forced them into words; those questions no one else was asking, Clemence asks. etc answers so few of the questions it raises partly because I don't have the answers and I'm LOOKING for the answers as I write, but I also know they're not meant to be universally answered.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ thank you 2011 gubby for predicting Clickett first and giving the ship its name and for climbing into the morbid curiosity rabbit hole with me; thank you 2016 gubby for being equally flabbergasted that I ended this WITH A KISS of ALL THINGS.

just thank you ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by pinkpanther16 Appy Ever After

1st May 2016:
Wow, I can't believe this story is petty much over. Its definitely been a wild ride, and I've loved every second of it. One of my favorite stories on this entire site. Thank you for writing this amazing story and actually pulling through and finishing it. I'm glad Clemence finally had some realization and found peace with herself.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! c: It's taken a long time, but I'm finally finishing it!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Jessica Appy Ever After

14th April 2016:
Excellently written chapter. I was Cheering for Clemence all the way. Waiting for the epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you! c:

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>