Reading Reviews for etc. etc. (and life goes on)
  
938 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Maya V-Day D-Day

13th May 2014:
I still check every night to see if you've updated! Love this story & your talented writing.

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I've posted some news on my blog; there are going to be two chapters left and I'm going to try to update in June. I'm super busy these few months (end of school). You'll see me working on it on the weeks up until I update!

 Report Review

Review #27, by QkStephen V-Day D-Day

5th May 2014:
I missed this story a lot. Your work is always on the list of great stories and this particular one with its passions, intrigue and brilliant dialogue make it totally worth the read and the fandom that should follow

Author's Response: Thank you! The response has been incredible and I've grown so much as a writer because of this story and the readers thinking up crazy theories and analysis that keeps me on my toes. :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by QkStephen Love Overrated, Overruled

5th May 2014:
HOLY MOTHER LOVING PLOT TWIST

Author's Response: :D :D :D :D

 Report Review

Review #29, by amelia_rose_pond V-Day D-Day

4th May 2014:
SWEET LORD OF ALL THINGS VOLDEMORT. YOU LEAVE ME WITH THAT CLIFFHANGER? I have sat for a solid three days straight reading this fanfic and falling in love with Clem's sarcasm and Al's stubbornness and your fantastic scenes of Team Was and now THIS?!?! Fantastic writing but, I HATE CLFFHANGERS

Author's Response: I AM! And unfortunately you'll have to hang there for a wee bit longer, so stock up on snacks. I appreciate the nagging, I just have to finish up this writing workshop first! Much writing to be done *__*

 Report Review

Review #30, by aliceinwonderland789 V-Day D-Day

30th April 2014:
:O SAFJLAKSJDFHLKAJSFD
WHAT. *crawls into a corner* My brains just a messed up muddle of feels right now...

Author's Response: Mix your brain soup with a bit of gelatin and chill for two hours and it ought to be all right. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #31, by The_Crookshanks_Saga V-Day D-Day

29th April 2014:
OH MY TWO TIME LORD HEARTS!!!

Amazing, madam, absolutely astonishing.

Author's Response: Thanks! My first review from a time lord!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Rosey V-Day D-Day

25th April 2014:
Amazing! This is my first time reviewing this story and I just wanted to that say it is so much fun to read an intelligent fluff piece. This is so well done, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #33, by Miss MarlaG Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

21st April 2014:
This entire chapter is, on the whole, brilliant. I could give you paragraphs and paragraphs of how much I loved it (PICKETT!!) But instead, I just want to focus a bit on the most powerful quotes for me. I've never before seen a sex scene written so tasteful, and my metaphorical hat is tipped off to you that you managed to pull it off so effortlessly and delicately. You could get the sense of the urge the characters got all throughout, weaved into the poetry of the moment in the quiet night and the lake, and the way Clemence actually feels about the whole thing in which she just betrays her judgement, not because of uncensored lust, but simply because it was the catharsis that her and Albus' relationship needed at the moment. It was all building up to it, and it was absolutely perfect, and you've actually inspired me to try to find ways to describe the deed without it being considered too much for many readers, but mainly, why its important at all given the characters and context. I think you really achieved this here.

"When he returns for my lips, his mouth is familiar. I know how to fit its mold and I taste a craving too intense to be liquor. Without so many words and plans, Potter is simple and carnal and stupid. He wants me - that's how stupid he is."

I can't even begin with the brilliance of that line. Its Clemence and Albus, stripped stark and true - like they never are, like they truly are, like it fascinates us for them to be.

"Hoarse and senseless, he murmurs into my jaw, "I want you, Clemence. I just want you," and I didn't think words could be addictive, but he needs to make a habit of those.

This is Clemence, in her own self-involved, clinical nature, giving in to the fact of what they're going to do, simply because its what has to happen. I don't even manage to understand fully how you got to evoke this - its sort of like in movies, when huge explosions happen but it's quite or simply the lightest of music as the scene's background. That tasteful, that kind.

In awe, always, of this excellent story and your excellent way of telling it.

Author's Response: You never know how a sex scene is gonna go until you write it xD I remember that initially, it wasn't even there, but I got the idea and thought it would be a great catalyst. If I were really having fun with it, I'm totally okay with smut smut smut; but I understand that a lot of my readers are younger. Sex doesn't get written much, let alone written well, in the teen genre, so I wanted to try showing the messiness, impulsiveness, the wanting, without necessarily overly romanticizing it (and boy do I unromanticize it next chapter).

I think that's how a lot of first times go: you think you're being stupid but you like it and you're not going to stop, and you're curious at how far you're willing to go, like running up to a cliff edge, because it's been too long since the last time you've done something you've never done before. The entire time, you know it's going to happen because you're too damn curious, you're falling off that cliff, and you'd die if you stopped.

And luckily it turned out tasteful! :D Poetic, apparently. Not bad for a first sex scene.


 Report Review

Review #34, by Miss MarlaG V-Day D-Day

20th April 2014:
i hate you
because you make me love this story a little too much
vbjksdvsdkjJKVFNVKJDFVBFKDJBN just the bloody ending, woman - I cannot tell you how powerful that last line is. "He laughs, arms sliding behind my back, and in the drumming of the strengthening storm, he kisses me." It literally brings me goosebumps. I was screaming last chapter, and then once this one started I realised - omg LOVEPOTION. And i'M SO GLAD I WAS RIGHT. AND THAT CLEMENCE WAS RIGHT. EVEN if Al is an idiot for drinking it on purpose. but what can he do? he's in love. with clemence fitzgerald, of all people.

the end chapter was just too cute ah
(more Pickett. Yes, I like this.)
ALSO SCORPIUS/PICKET ACTION. Totally shipping it now.

I was jealous Clemence got to tackle Appy multiple times. I wanted to do that myself.

Bleeding perfect, as always. And just because I'm greedy (it's a flaw), I hereby say: I NEED MORE!

Author's Response: The dichotomy between how Clemence and Albus perceive themselves and how they really are is a funny thing; I don't think Clemence ever clues in to how emotionally charged her actions are, how she makes grand risks after passing up many little ones.

And personally, I find it quite funny how quickly everyone forgives Albus!

Thank you! c:


 Report Review

Review #35, by Miss MarlaG Love Overrated, Overruled

20th April 2014:
YOU DIDNT JUST DO THAT
NO NO NO NO NO

AL CANT STAND HER, NO
NO

Author's Response:
YESSS.

YES.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Miss MarlaG Green for Queen

19th April 2014:
I'd say this chapter was absolutely perfect if it wasn't for absence of Pickett. The other chapter is already up and i'm gonna read it now, but i gotta tell you - I need some Pickett in my life.

Author's Response: He gets a much bigger role as we head toward the end of the story - a bit of a dark horse character. He's a fav of mine too! Opinion may or may not be influenced by Sam Claflin's face.

 Report Review

Review #37, by Miss MarlaG Bare-Knuckled Heartbreaking

19th April 2014:
I am so entirely head over heels in love with this story and this OC and honestly, I have never read something so good before in my life that wasn't written by JK Rowling before (only because The Casual Vacancy is my favourite book ever.) Its not only fic-good, it's /book/-good. You blow me away. I know I need to read more but e continue continue!

Author's Response: Thank you so much ^__^ That's the biggest compliment!

 Report Review

Review #38, by sharkbait Things Potter Can Do with a Vivid Imagination

16th April 2014:
i cannot tell you how much I love Clemence and the little rivalry between her and Al. She's so deliciously calculating and cold - and you aren't throwing the both of them at my faces to ship, but the lingering tension is there. will it be sexual? will it not? i do not know that but I sure want to find out.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love the relative freedom I have with this fic--I'm aware of its status as a romance but I don't write it like how I'd usually write a romance, and I like that it gives off that not-shippy feel. And I think readers soon figure out that I give no guarantees about any couples ;)

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #39, by Anonymous Pseudonymous V-Day D-Day

6th April 2014:
Okay, I'll get straight to the point. Your story sucks. Clemence is an idiot and your story is boring...

And this is me completely jealous of you and your writing abilities. Do I have to say how incredible your story is, or did you realize how I'm completely in love with it , three hundred characters ago? Please update your story! Or is that it? Please, don't do that to me... Oh, and I'm speaking (may I dare to say) for all of your readers and... Fans. Really, I'm like a real life Quirker. And no, I'm not "in love" with a celebrity and I'm not boy-crazy. I am your-story-crazy. Please update!!!

Author's Response: Baha, gave me a scare there. Glad you like it! I'm on a hiatus while I'm enrolled in this writing workshop (I can barely keep up with that by itself). But after that, I will return! Can't stop turning readers into Quirkers, after all.

 Report Review

Review #40, by Humera V-Day D-Day

30th March 2014:
I swear to God, they should turn this into a movie -- one where everything is narrated. Because without the words, the movie would lack the brilliance that you have created on paper/laptop screens.

Hats off.

Author's Response: I wish! I can dream of being the next Mean Girls-Heathers-girl-clique classic, eh?

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #41, by Failed_and_Forgotten V-Day D-Day

23rd March 2014:
OH MY GOD! FINALLY! Bloody Albus and Clemence finally admitting that theres something between them that isn't bloody FAKE! I almost bawled my eyes out when i thought crazy Potter would just ditch her like that. Man am I sitting on edge in every word i read.

and now there's some awkward thingy going on between her and Henry. Oh merlin. XD Oh well, Albus and Clemence all the way!!! Mwuahaha*cough cough* Dang clemence is one BRAVE heroine.

Author's Response: Sort of kind of admitting 8D as close as they will at this point. And then there's the awkward just-as-much-of-a-confession with Pickett, because I am always in favor of making things harder for Clemence.

♥ thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #42, by AlexFan V-Day D-Day

15th March 2014:
First of all, this story is going to be reaching 1000 reviews soon and when that happens I'm going to be the first to congratulate you. Or at least I'll try.

I'm pretty sure this was my favourite chapter of this fic yet. From the moment that the chapter started and Clemence started giving that description of Albus's appearance I just knew that he had been drugged. I knew it I knew it I knew it. The expressions that Clemence was discribing don't just come on the face of someone who is hanging off of the person that they despise. I fully believed her when she came to the conclusion that Albus had been drugged (but it's not like that had anything to do with what I thought or anything psssh).

But Clemence did go slightly crazy though. The extent that she went to to shove that cure down Albus's throat is truly astonishing. This girl could probably end up curing cancer if she put her mind to it.

My entire expression was just a shocked one, mouth open and everything. There was just so much chaos and fighting and shouting and good God, everyone in this fic is serious about their ships by the looks of it. Dead serious. It's like fandoms on tumblr arguing over their favourite ships.

One of the best parts was definitely Scorpius shutting everyone up by announcing that he was gay. Pickett was just not having any of the Team stuff anymore, Pickett is just one hundred percent done with everyone at this point. And I get the feeling that Scorpius might have a crush on Albus and judging by your tumblr, I'm not the only one that feels this way.

I loved it so much when Albus yelled out Clemence and then said that he loved Clemence. I felt like angels had just come out of heaven and were singing around me. Everything just felt right in the world after he said that, nothing was topsy turfy anymore.

And then when they kissed at the end and it was so cute and I didn't even mind that it was a cliche because it was just so adorable and Clemence was trying to be angry but in the end she couldn't keep that up.

Albus and Clemence are my ship of the year without a doubt.

Author's Response: Hee, thank you! It was a hard balance to strike with Clemence and the love potion--Clemence is right from the start, so how do I keep the suspense? And it let me play with her total glossing-over of the evidenc, and desperate hope--which might not have swayed you, but I hoped would plant some doubt in readers' minds! :D At least, for that moment toward the end when Clemence finally doubts herself.

Clemence would cure cancer for the name recognition 8D

It is EXACTLY like fandoms on tumblr arguing over their ships. I have a love/hate with fandom mobs; they're so interesting to watch, I can't help it. Pickett on the other hand, is like 200% done with them--lucky for him, he just became part of the second-most popular ship for this fic 8D

I wouldn't be so quick to hail the angels (I think they're busy people anyhow). At the same time, while the 'I love Clemence' was to stop a mob, while Clemence fought for Albus for selfish reasons, and while they might be 3000% done with everyone at Hogwarts-- there's something genuine in everything these two, even if they don't know it or can't face it. I think that's finally starting to show.

♥ thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #43, by argh V-Day D-Day

9th March 2014:
although i love this story and have been following it forever, i have finally had to succumb to a slight nagging sensation that has cropped up more and more insistently with each chapter i read.

when i embarked on etc., etc., i was so pleasantly surprised. clemence, to me, seemed like a really strong female character. take charge, independent, no-nonsense. but as i continued to read, i couldn't help but feel like this story has, in an increasingly aggressive manner, been perpetuating an over-whelmingly anti-feminist tone.

so much of this plot is about pitting girls against each other. why? it hurts to read, especially since i enjoy literally every other aspect of this story. yet i find it problematic how flawed you hae made all your female characters. i know that the males are flawed too (every character in this fic is, which makes it so realistic and good of a read), but with the males you don't find the same sweeping, caricatural generalizations that have seized hold of the girls.

almost all the girls in this story are portrayed as stupid, desperate, vapid and starving for love. none of them can think independently, none of them can function socially - is this really the type of stereotype you want to put forth? it feels as though instead of having clemence shine on her own like the badass she is, you included appy and all the other quirkers - in increasingly farcical renditions of mental instability - in order to juxtapose the two 'kinds' of girls against each other. clemence vs. appy, ice queen vs. quirker.

the quirkers are depicted in scathing tones that, at this point, make me feel kind of uncomfortable. there is no shred of sympathy granted to them. they're almost nonhuman in their description. yikes.

why do you have to put the rest of the girls down in order to lift clemence up? and why oh why does there have to be so much catfighting, and why oh why does so much of the catfighting have to center around boys? if this fic was a movie, i'm not sure it would pass the bechdel test. clemence, at this point, seems like the only sane female character worthy of sympathy. and even she is still boy-crazy.

maybe i've been analyzing this from a weird angle and just need a shift of perspective, but this has been my impression so far. i'd really appreciate your opinion.

Author's Response: I couldn't fit the response in 4000 characters (I wanted to essay and out came 1500 words), so I posted the response on my oddhour blog! I do appreciate your concerns, so hopefully it clears things up.

 Report Review

Review #44, by Anon V-Day D-Day

8th March 2014:
I think I nearly choked on my own saliva when I found out you updated!! I was really really waiting for THIS chapter! I love the way you write and how you made your characters!! I love Clemence and her personality it's like fresh man!! I mean she's smart, sassy, snarky and crazy and a Slytherin (Albus usually gets paired with Gryffs/Puffs in fanfics). I adore Albus and Clemence couple I hope to read more about their actual like relationship and not talking about Appy or Quirkers - just Albus and Clemence. But I also like Appy, that evil Pink Crazy Girl for a "villain" she's really smart too! I hope she gets a happy ending btw haha XD Pickett is a sweetheart and basically is like the Best Guy Friend hopefully Dom realizes they are perfect for each other but Pickett and Scorp is so cute!! Scorp is so adorable I wanna keep him in my pocket!! :) You're a fantastic writer, your characters are so well thought off and your plot isn't boring or typical I love it! Your stories are addicting. Please keep updating this story, I hope to read more into the whole Albus/Clemence as a "couple" real or pretend, and hope that their dynamic never changes!! :)

Author's Response: Aaah I keep forgetting to respond to this lovely review. Thank you so much! I've wanted to explore Albus and Clemence's relationship for a long time, without so many mindgames and external obstacles, and that's partly why these last five, six chapters have turned out more emotional; slowly the story's been turning inward toward its characters--and it'll be like that until the end of the story from what I've planned. After this chapter, it'll be more like a "peacetime" and //that// just might be the most stressful thing Clemence has to go through. I'll be exploring all of the characters more, too! Quite happy to finally expand on Dom and also give Pickett a bit more screentime.

Bahaha, you are the first that I've seen to wish Appy a happy ending and you know what, I personally hope she gets a happy ending too.

♥ !



 Report Review

Review #45, by Gred Marginally Better Than a Broom Closet

6th March 2014:
Hello! I said in my last review sorry for the long gap, and this gap was so much longer than the last! I'm really sorry - I just haven't had any time - and was this a great chapter to stop reading at!

I'd forgotten how much I love your writing style! And how it's utterly crazy that Clemence and Albus are being chased by hordes of girls, but you manage to make it completely believable.

I love Clemence's idea of pretending to be using the changing room - it never even occurred to me. Shows how good I'd be in a crisis (although, touch wood, this type of crisis will never happen to me!).

I absolutely love Clemence and Albus' banter. And it was an excellent buildup (and setting) to a first kiss. I thought it was very nicely done, and fitted in really well with the story. (I love a good classically-cliched broom closet kiss!)

The ending was great, too. I feel kind of sorry for Dom, walking in on that! And Clemence's excuse, investigative journalism, really made me giggle.

Also, swivel chairs as footstools are probably the most nerve-racking things in my life! I look forward to more Appy - I just really like her name - and QGA can indoctrinate me if you like, but my comments will become nothing but Albus fangirling, most probably.

- Lily, not forgetting to mention Scorpius! (Gred)

Author's Response: Hullo again Gred! Hee, I've been waiting for your reaction to this chapter; when I wrote it, it caused a huge splash for being 'that fic that has a Dramatic Kiss Scene six chapter in.'

At the time, it did not register to me that I was writing a very ridiculous scene with a mob that becomes a reoccuring trope over the course of this fic. This fic originally never featured any mobs; after 21 chapters, there are enough mobs to give one to every member of your family. (sadly lacking in mafia-mobs, however)

Swivel chairs are tricksy things. If you believe in them, they will believe in you. And QGA has recruited many of my readers, so you won't be alone :'D

♥!


 Report Review

Review #46, by A_Johnson49 V-Day D-Day

4th March 2014:
I'm so happy to read this! I have had a severe lack of Snarky Slytherins in my reading as of late. :D I'm looking forward to know Pickett's actual reaction to Scorpius. He handled the shock rather well in this scene.

Author's Response: Next chapter's going to be a lot of reactions--there wasn't time to process much of anything that happened this chapter (most glaringly, Clemence and her complete avoidance of whether Albus actually does love her). Thank for you reading! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #47, by Addison Pickett V-Day D-Day

4th March 2014:
Huzzah! You post once more! Lovely Chapter, really. I'll consider this a late birthday gift from you. (6 days after my birthday. No one has been able to beat the current record of nearly 362 days after my birthday... In their defense, they gave me a gift for both birthdays.)

Anyways... SWEET MERLIN WOMAN! I still ship Picinique, but somehow this chapter got me on the S.S. Pickence. (That would be Pickett and Clemence.) Also love the loco Appy in this. Really suits her.

ALSO... NO MORE TEAM SO AND SO... BUT STILL... TEAM SCORPIUS BECAUSE HE TOTALLY RULED THAT CROWD OF INSANE GIRLS! #TeamScorpius

Wouldn't want to nag, but still waiting for shirtless!Pickett... I don't care if it's cold. I want to read about how surprisingly well his build is for someone so Pickett-like. Please. :>

Love always,
Addie Pickett.

Author's Response: Ooh I'm terrible at giving birthday gifts so I'll consider this a success.

Yaaas, I've done some shipping shuffling, at last! I'm terrible for encouraging team-y things when the whole point is to not encourage team-y things, but I'm only human. No one's yet to be Team Appy, maybe I'll cheer for her 8D

omg, haaa I nearly forgot about shirtless!Pickett. I'll see what I can do, and I'll be sure to make it as cold as possible.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #48, by HarrietHopkirk V-Day D-Day

2nd March 2014:
HEN-NO. Please. And Pickett/happiness. Clemence is too eeevil for him. He's too cool. Other than that, deffo worth the wait. Well done Gina.

Author's Response: Pickett/Happiness is a given ship, ok.

If Clemence puts on sunglasses, will she be cool enough? I can convince you, I swearrr.


 Report Review

Review #49, by StrangeMindEnigma V-Day D-Day

2nd March 2014:
I love this fic. Even though it's oc-centered, it's still good. The
romance and chemistry is pulled off really well. Albus's and
Clemence's relationship is like kismesis with a side of
matespriteship. Please excuse the Homestuck references.
Clemence is an awesome character, even if she's far from
perfect. Not just her, all your other characterizations too. The
humor in this makes me actually laugh out loud. And the plot is
so... so... I don't know how to describe it. That's a good thing on your part. With all these qualities, your fanfic is basically like unicorn-dragon hybrid in the world of fanfiction for being an actual well-written oc fic.
Keep up the good work. I can't wait to see more of this.

Author's Response: Wah, thank you. I looked up the terms heheh, kismet-nemesis. I'm glad you like the fic! I've always been more interested in the Harry Potter world and my own characters, so I like OC fic. It's hard to convince people to read an one sometimes, so I'm glad when they do take a chance on mine.

 Report Review

Review #50, by naughtforreal V-Day D-Day

2nd March 2014:
SQUEE~

I'm going crazy with the ships here. Basically I want to mash all the ships into this huge ball. And hug them. If that's even possible.

The Chapter is so fluffy, Gina. I luff it.

Author's Response: One ginormous continually rolling ball of ships, rolling through Hogwarts collecting more people. In this universe, that could //literally// happen.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>