71 Reviews Found

Review #26, by maskedmuggle III. Getting the Girl to the Ball

7th May 2012:
Aw that was great :) Usually I do root for super happy endings where they both fall in love and live happily ever after, but the way you wrote this is definitely more realistic, and it was still quite a happy ending :) I really liked how when James was rejected at the beginning, you didn't say anything like he was instantly brokenhearted, etc like many fics do. I loved how you said "It didn't hurt as much as make him queasy" because I can really see that happening so much more.

It was really nice to see the progression in their relationship as they both came to terms with it, and leading up to the ball. The dialogue is just great, and I love James and Ellian's characters. By the way, I love how your chapter titles are like a progression! So clever :) Oh and I spotted Bea + Lucy + Albus in there! :D Ahh just a really lovely and sweet story ^_^ Enjoyed it~ and you should write the rest of James and Ellian's story!

Author's Response: James and Ellian's story is really sweet on the whole ^__^ It's quite happy all around, but maybe just not the traditional happy ending. As I've met more people, I find that so many of them have funny kind of love stories that aren't neat and tidy, but very interesting and wonderful, and I wanted to tell that kind of story with them. This is just a little snippet though; maybe one day I can tell their full story.

Hee, yes Capers characters making their cameos there 8D Bea went to Yule Ball with Albus; I've always loved that detail about them.

♥ thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Elizajane III. Getting the Girl to the Ball

6th May 2012:
That was so cute I made my husband pause what he was watching while I read parts of it to him. You write the cutest banter. :)

Author's Response: Bahaha, that's adorable, I hope it didn't pause him too long xD And thanks so much ^__^

 Report Review

Review #28, by Bluestreakspirit III. Getting the Girl to the Ball

6th May 2012:
Yay! I would very much enjoy a sequel to this, thanks. That would be utterly fantastic because I'm still not really sure what Ells and James are - not that they know either - and I'd like to see what happens. And, of course, that mysterious unbeknownst-to-even-her detail about Ellian (dun dun dun...) has piqued my curiosity!

A couple of my favorite lines:
"Technicality!"
"Ells, you're ruining the moment." "Oh."
"Fancying her was the best decision ever."
...aaand the whole "I don't know" situation after the kiss. :)

Thanks so much for finishing this! As I said, I'd really like a sequel and I think I'll go start "And Capers Ensue" now because I haven't really been into it before. Hopefully I'll like it - if it has a James, I think I should. See you soon with "etc."?
-Cat

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you liked it ^__^ It's not really so much of a sequel as their actual story haha. This was just a random moment from their Hogwarts years. They have this sort of not-relationship for many many years, and I've always wanted to write it, because it goes into a lot of the things touched on in this last chapter in more detail, and they explore what they want in a relationship and love.

Bahah, their kiss! First kisses are really just awkward most of the time, and sometimes it's not even bad or good, I think what happens a lot is that it's just /strange/!

I hope you enjoy Capers! James shows up briefly, and he gets mentioned a lot, like the awesome character that is always there in spirit. And etc. should be the next thing I update! ^__^

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Patroni II. Getting the Girl

3rd May 2012:
Wonderful! And James seems so characteristically James but also immensely likeable. And the basic conceit of the self-help manual is really interesting too. I'm looking forward to the next part.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) It's been lots of fun to write someone like him, this huge dork who gets away with everything because he's just so darn charismatic and genuine 8D Hopefully I can finish it up soon!

 Report Review

Review #30, by maskedmuggle II. Getting the Girl

22nd April 2012:
AH! That was pretty intense at the end yet so amazing! I love the idea of the re-write because it means I get to read more! I don't even know how to describe your writing - it's just so fantastic and brilliant, and just such a joy to read. I love this James and Fred and Ellian, and I can't wait to find out what happens next. When will the final chapter be up?? Because I hope it's very soon.. ^_^

Oh the things Ellian says is just so humourous too: "sides, billions of people have figured out love before you existed. That is... generally how you exist." and "I am tolerating your existence, like I do every other day." Gah, and the end - when James finally blurted it out! I just loved this, really. I'm surprised I didn't see this earlier, but now that I have, I really hope you get the third chapter out soon! :)

Author's Response: Ahh! Thanks so much :3 It should be the next thing I'm working on after this Capers chapter. I just have to knuckle down and write it when I can. But I have definitely got that itch to finish this very soon.

Hee, I love everything they say. It's the kind of humour I love to incorporate in Capers, but since this is a short story and generally plotless, I can just have them say silly things and build a scene around it 8D

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #31, by crazybookworm II. Getting the Girl

17th February 2012:
"James." Scritch-scratch.

"I think I love you."

Squeak.

BRILLIANT.
I almost died from the heart stopping suspense!
What happens next? I cant wait, please don't make her break his heart! I think she might like him too, but she's scared of getting hurt? Typical James,only realizing he loved her when he saw other boys paying attention.
Please update soon? And a "they all lived happily ever after" ending would be much appreciated!

Author's Response: ^__^ I'm hoping to finish it sometime in March, so I shant leave you in suspense for /too/ long. I think I've got an ending very fitting for the likes of James and Ellian, so I hope you'll like it!

 Report Review

Review #32, by Cavell II. Getting the Girl

5th February 2012:
Brilliant writing - as always, of course. Please update it soon! I love Ellian (and her name) and James and Fred were brilliant, as was Al, the sweetheart. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I adoreee Ellian's name -- my favorite out of all my OCs ever. Not too girly and shortens to a zillion things if necessary :D

 Report Review

Review #33, by ashleym15 II. Getting the Girl

4th February 2012:
LOVE this :) please update the last bit!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I definitely will try.

 Report Review

Review #34, by sophie_hatter I. The Girl

2nd February 2012:
So, I really enjoyed this chapter. I saw your note about reworking it from a one-shot into a short story, and I never saw it in it's first incarnation, so I'm here fresh.

I loved the concept - James and Fred on a mad-cap scheme, with help from their sensible friend. And I'm a sucker for a romance, especially where friends realise there is more at stake than just friendship, so this was right up my street.

I thought the flow was really good, and as every your dialogue was great (I'm also a fan of Capers, so I knew this would be good:-)).

I think If there was one piece of CC I would make, it's that the pacing was a little off. I would have liked to see a little more framing of James and Ellian's friendship before he started to see her as more than a friend. As it stands, it feels a little rushed.

The acid test of any story is always whether I want to read the next chapter, and in this case, I certainly do. I really enjoyed it, and I'm excited to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) It was really quite the silly (re: completely implausible) concept, but I couldn't help but adore the James I had written in here, so I decided to rewrite it. And another person who's read Capers! :D It's quite interesting, actually, because this was the first next gen that I had written so I got a lot of my next gen characterizations from here.

That always bothered me too. I actually have a separate James and Ellian novella plunny, but I'll probably never get to it D: This oneshot is actually a lot less about their romance as much as it is James being silly James, so i hope the short story as a whole will be a bit better with the flow :) although I ought to finish it...

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by luna_lovely II. Getting the Girl

1st February 2012:
this is so cute :D can't wait for the last part!

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Hopefully I can get to it by the end of the month, or early March.

 Report Review

Review #36, by forsakenphoenix I. The Girl

22nd January 2012:
All right, it's OFFICIAL: I'm marrying your writing.

You have this way to creating these fantastic stories that bring not only Next Gen Hogwarts to life, but your characters as well. Each character is unique and multi-faceted. Your Fred is perfect and you still carry his voice over from And Capers Ensue. This line especially rang true for me and his slight obsession with Anjali: Fred had a weakness for the glamorous sort, stunning bombshells with better-than-perfect figures and legs a mile long.

I love being able to see him interact with James as his sidekick since we only really get glimpses here and there during And Capers Ensue of what their relationship was like. It's easy to see James as the mastermind but he still relies on his friends to help him, much like Bea relies on her friends too. Your stories are all about the friendships and ohmygod, it just makes me so happy, you know? It's hard to find stories that aren't angsty or about some sort of tragedy and here you are, writing these phenomenal humorous Next Gen stories that, to me, are like canon. Like I said, MARRYING YOUR WRITING. I'm serious, your characters are canon for me. True story.

I love Ellian and how she sort of tolerates James's craziness with a fondness only best friends can have. James's sudden realization that Ellian is a girl and he notices how pretty her eyes are, oh man, he is such a poor sap. He's falling in love with his bestie and he's all put out that a) Fred is better at flirting than him, and b) all these guys want to ask Ellian out.

I'm so excited to read the rest of this (when I'm not studying, of course) and I wish I could just read your writing forever and live with your Next Gen characters and enjoy Hogwarts as it's meant to be - a fun learning experience and making great friends with no threat of war or evil wizards.

Love this and you (in a totally non-creepy way).

Author's Response: asdfgk my writing accepts your proposal; it would like a wedding as soon as possible so we can all enjoy the cake reception.

Hee, that is the one line that is definitely very "Oh, Freddie" of the first chapter. I don't really get to show what he's like when Bea's not around in Capers yet. It was so fun writing this Fred that was a little younger and more relaxed.

James influenced Bea quite a bit, and it's been really interesting to write him especially because this oneshot has nothing to do with their escapades in Capers (since this was written first). But I still tried to incorporate how James held a group together like glue - he's the one with the ideas but also has the charisma to match so that he can convince everyone else to play along. AND OMG YES, FRIENDSHIP STORIES~ They are so few and far between sometimes ;_;

Ellian doesn't actually get expanded upon too much in this story (as it was primarily about James and nonsense when I first wrote it), but I've always had this novella plunny featuring her and James about their life from when they're 20-30 (and as a bonus, I'd get to write bits of the Capers cast older as well). It's /completely/ different and I probably won't have the time to write it after I'm done with Capers, but I really want to.

Thank you so so much :3 ♥ I can't believe my writing even comes anywhere /close/ to being anyone's headcanon but I am flailing madly here. I LOVE YOUUU in a totally creepy way.


 Report Review

Review #37, by Amy II. Getting the Girl

22nd January 2012:
so cute! i loved this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #38, by Rumbleroar goes roar II. Getting the Girl

22nd January 2012:
Awww so cute :) Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by PetrificusTotalus II. Getting the Girl

22nd January 2012:
Gah! It's amazing! I CAN'T EVEN EXPRESS HOW MUCH I LOVE THE FLUFF. But, seriously, it's like hilarious, awesome fluff which is the best kind :) :)

Author's Response: IT'S BEEN VERY LONG SINCE I HAD TO WRITE PURE FLUFF. I'm glad you like it! :D

 Report Review

Review #40, by PetrificusTotalus I. The Girl

22nd January 2012:
Eeek! Love it! So hilarious :D

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by Shay_Gryff I. The Girl

10th December 2011:
I want more! Keep writing!

Author's Response: I'll try :) !

 Report Review

Review #42, by hungry I. The Girl

12th November 2011:
So good. I really like this James.
I WANT MORE!!
Nom. Nom. Nom.

Author's Response: Oh, thanks! ^__^ I still haven't had time to finish this, alas, but I'll try to get to it.

 Report Review

Review #43, by Free_Rhapsody I. The Girl

1st October 2011:
That was brilliant! How do you come up with such wonderful situations? Favourite part: " there was a spike of crazy when it came to yellow scarf-wearing girls "
Yep, I have a yellow scarf. All I need now is my own James Sirius Potter.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D Hehe, I think I got inspired by How I Met Your Mother regarding the crazy levels ;)

 Report Review

Review #44, by StEpH_M I. The Girl

26th September 2011:
All of your Stories are really different and I love being able to read something new that hasn't be done before (well it's new to me).
I think I like the idea of James and Fred are going to write a book about how to get a girl, it just seems like it would be so amusing. I would buy it just for the laughs. I also like how at the end James falls for Ellian, it's so cute! Also how you made Fred the one that was more successful was just so amusing. And the fact that it only took James a littler flirting from other boys towards Ellian to realize that he actually had a thing for her.

Your writing is amazingly detail and really nice to read. It makes me feel like I am actually there witnessing the whole thing and laughing.

I really love the start, "The foreign allure of the Beauxbaton and Durmstrang visitors was too much for the resident Hogwarts students to not make a fool of themselves.
In the case of James Potter, Fred Weasley, and Ellian Cearney, making a fool of themselves was the point." It really made me laugh and all I could think of was 'why am I not surprised.' I also liked how you had James be rejected, in most next gens I read James always gets the girl but I found it great that he didn't, I laughed at him for a while over it.
Also the line "Even after the asparagus-flavored butterbeer fiasco last year?" it was just something that you would never hear, I loved that about it. I mean who would come up with an idea like asparagus-flavoured butterbeer and actually try it, that wasn't James Sirius Potter?

There is one thing you could fix, I noticed that you added an extra 'they' to this part, "And so, they off they went," other then that it was all really good :)

I look forward to reading more as part of your present. And please keep writing I would hate to not be able to read such amazing stories anymore.

Author's Response: I have my themes but I have gone from fluff to crack to drama to horror! It's a crazy ride hee.

Girls adore the suave boy with the touch of shyness. Freddie's got that in the bag 8D James, well James just needs to listen to his wibbly jealous heart.

James might be charming, oh-so-charming, but the line between charming and creepy is a thin one xD

Woops! I am a terrible proofreader. Fixed!

Eee, and I am looking forward to what you think of them :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Lumos_Nox I. The Girl

28th August 2011:
I just wanna say, the ending of that was too cute. Absolutely perfect. Love the whole scarf bit. Love the entire thing.

Author's Response: Hee, I'm glad you like it! :) I really need to get on posting the rest; it was originally a oneshot, that I just pulled apart.

 Report Review

Review #46, by You Have No Idea Who I. The Girl

12th August 2011:
I like this story : ) You should updats soon!

Author's Response: Oh thanks! :) I have some old bits written, but I haven't really gotten to it yet, unfortunately :P

 Report Review

Review #47, by momotwins I. The Girl

6th August 2011:
Fluffy and plotless? I love fluffy and plotless! I couldn't resist the title of this story, it sounded hilarious. I've read parts of And Capers Ensue, but not all of it, so I'm glad this can stand alone. And yes, it did that well, I didn't have any trouble following along. And I have to say, I love James and Fred. James is hilarious with his untapped market (sounds like he's right though!). This line: "There Fred went, complicating things again with his common sense and practicality." XD Love! I like your Fred the vigilant wingman, it's a bit different characterization than you usually see of Fred 2 but I like it better actually.

Ellian seems like a fun character; I like how she interacts with James ("Normal people call it a bell curve"). She's a good foil for his personality. James hitting on a girl then realizing he'd already been shot down by her before totally cracked me up. James realizing he's falling for his friend was also totally sweet and adorable. And funny. This is some very fun and funny writing. Really must make time to read Capers Ensue in full.

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Oh man, you chose my super-fluff! It's definitely standalone -- just sharing the same universe is all. I realized afterwards that I got a lot of my next gen character inspirations from this fic (Dorky Charismatic James, Awkward Albus who wants to be like him, Wingman Fred) so I just made it fit when I rewrote it, since the characters were a bit shallowly done in the original.

In a daring duo, there almost always needs to be wingman for any potential for long-term success :D In the case of James, he needs two sensible minds to keep him down, apparently xD

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you like Capers :)


 Report Review

Review #48, by Loony_Scorpy I. The Girl

18th July 2011:
Ooh this is awesome!! I loved it, I'm getting to And Capers Ensue haha it's next on my list to read! :D especially if this is anything like it! :D

Author's Response: Ooh yay! It's a bit different, Capers, but it is also in third person. This is a lot more fluffy and romancy xD

 Report Review

Review #49, by The other Twin I. The Girl

6th July 2011:
aw! I want more! DDD: I hate reading WIP's because I always catch up to the end of chapters far to fast. >< Of patience, I have none. But this is godd, write more faster and I'll bribe you with craptastic graphics, even though your's are much better. :3

Author's Response: Baw, I have some stuff written in my notebooks but I'm not sure when I can get to it. It used to be a completed oneshot, but I'm just in the process of rewriting it. Hopefully i'll get to it soon! ^__^ Glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #50, by ravenclaw_princess I. The Girl

14th May 2011:
Hehe, this story was so hilarious. I can't believe you added statistics in HP, but it worked really well and the references made me laugh every time they crept in.

They whole story was very sweet and fluffy. I like how James just came out and said his feelings at the end. After all of his joking around, it was the first time he let his guard down and showed his true feelings.

I like the way everyone is characterised, from Fred and James' mischief making streak, Ellian's organization and maths wizardry, to poor shy uncertain Albus (and I totally agree with his name choice).

Dialogue was very natural and believable and the whole story flowed well together. I also loved how you added the pick up line. Ellian's response to it was very clever. Well done on a really good fic.

Author's Response: Aw thanks :) It needs to be rewritten soon though xD There is something quite charming about fluff, as silly as it can get sometimes. So sweet, although I try not saccharine. The characters, I think, are extra fun to write when doing silly fluffy things.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>