Reading Reviews for Game
  
669 Reviews Found

Review #26, by spreaddapoo93 Chasing, Seeking, Keeping

13th November 2012:
Oh, what a juicy chapter! Despite my mind's mushy state at the thought of the last paragraph (yum yum, Woodie...), I will attempt to appraise you (once more)! Your dream-writing style is drop dead amazing - I don't know how you come up with some of these images, but they're as ingenious as they come...

I'm guessing here that all of this has something to do with that honeybug (Yeah, right) she consumed which tasted suspiciously like butterbeer?! I'm excited to find out!

Anyway, splendid job! Absolutely amazing!

Author's Response: Hee, I really had to put in an Oliver-in-a-towel scene because how can I not in a fic with /Oliver Wood/ let's be real.

Silly Rona, can't even tell when a honeybug is neither honey-flavored or bug-flavored! She should've known better. Ah well, at least it led to Oliver in a towel - for the benefit of us all :'D


 Report Review

Review #27, by spreaddapoo93 Convoluted is an Understatement

13th November 2012:
Haha, hello! It's been forever since I've opened this fan fic, wow... I had to start from the beginning, and here I am now. It's as brilliant as I remembered it being - Oh, dear puppetmaster, my heart strings lay prostrate at your mercy!!!

Wonderful chapter; so deliciously tantalising~ Might I also say that your chapter images are absolutely beautiful and quirky (much like Rona herself).

Author's Response: Ah, hello! :D A returning reader, wow! I'm glad you enjoy it as much the second time around ^_^

Thank you! Laura Marling is so pretty :')


 Report Review

Review #28, by my_voice_rising The Last Match

7th October 2012:
Awww, sweet. What a pleasant ending. I apologize for not leaving the reviews this story deserved along the way--I finished the whole thing yesterday and didn't leave much room for responding before I was hastily on to the next chapter.

I kind of thought/hoped that Oliver was going to take her to meet Jonathan Ridley as the ending scene, but I really appreciate your ability to leave a simple ending that fits the story and your characters completely, and which ties everything together nicely.

And I didn't mention it earlier in the story, but I love Oliver and Jason's bromance, especially the imaginary clink of their glasses.

All in all, wonderful story, easily one of the best I have ever read in my entirely-too-many years on HPFF. I'll definitely be reading pretty much all of your other work ;)

Author's Response: One of the potential ending scenes was actually, her meeting Jonathan Ridley. It actually does happen. That scene was moved into the short story collection, which has stories that take place from post-Hogwarts onwards.

Ah, you mean Jeremy! Yesss, their bromance is the absolute tops to write.

♥ thank you so so much again ^__^


 Report Review

Review #29, by my_voice_rising Well, That was Unexpected

6th October 2012:
Hehe!! Great relationship between Rona and the team. I feel like Cho is being left out, though I understand that you're trying to keep the characters primarily a pack of wild boys, which is indeed entertaining to read. I love that Jason grabs her shoulders and shakes her, hoping that she hasn't been snogging Oliver. And this line had me laughing for quite some time, "She scanned around at the team, who stood around blowing at their hair or staring at some thrilling scene beside their feet." Also, George's line,
"Give it up, Wood. It's just one girl. You can't expect a flawless record." was perfect.

I love his decision to kiss her as an act of revenge. Even more that she was hypothesizing that he worked out ;) It would have been a hilarious thing to watch, actually, with Oliver still dressed as a woman.

Author's Response: The actual issue with Cho was mostly that she was amongst the younger set, with the fourth years, who don't really do much, heh. In retrospect, could've done a lot more with the team, but ah well. I do love writing the boys though - I still write packs of them - so darned silly ♥

Baaahaha, never did figure out what happened to Oliver properly ;) the mystery makes it I suppose.


 Report Review

Review #30, by my_voice_rising News Spreads Faster Than a Snitch

6th October 2012:
Another great chapter. I love Hannah's character so much! We get a really good feel for her and Rona especially, though I'd like to see a bit more development with Edie and Penny. Clearly Edie is nurturing to her brother and is definitely under constant stress for running around after him, but that's all I've really gotten from her. Also, Penny is head-over-heels for Percy and a bit assertive, but I haven't seen much to separate her from Rona, for example (except that she is a bit more of the instigator.)

Either way, I really enjoyed this chapter. The banter between the friends in their corridor and at breakfast was great. I particularly loved Edie "editing" her paper without her quill actually touching it. Also, Edie is the name of my character for my Oliver/OC and you had me panicked that I'd named her after a canon character, haha.

I was a bit confused by Oliver's parting statement, particularly about publicly mortifying Rona and stories with him in them. It seemed that Rona was confused as well, so maybe that was just your goal--to leave the reader feeling similarly confused.

Reading right along. :)

Author's Response: You're now witness to my great love of large casts 8D Game is sort of like, my kitchen sink fic. It was my first fic and I had basically attempted to stick everything that I wanted into it, and some elements were done better than others. Game lacks a strong supporting cast, but it is something that I've learned from since. One of the fics I write now, Capers, is a rotating-PoV fic that has two leads and three additional main characters. My other fic, etc etc, has two leads and a supporting cast of five. They're much more entwined into the plot/subplots and fleshed out, and learning from Game's mistakes helped a lot.

Game is the only fic where I've been able to write proper girl comraderie though, because none of my other fics have it so that all the girls in the same year are close friends. That's something I can only find here.

Guh, let's just say I was muddling with another plot hole LOL! There were a lot of strange explanations admittedly, but if you make it past the sixth chapter, things start making sense from there because there was actually a two year hiatus between writing the sixth and seventh chapters, and I was older and learned how to plan after that xD


 Report Review

Review #31, by my_voice_rising Let the Game Begin

6th October 2012:
I'm going to have to review as I go, because there is too much to comment on and I don't want to forget! :)

Really great rationalizing behind why Penny told Oliver that Rona knew who the strategist is. Simple, but it makes total sense. He wouldn't expect to be led right to her.

I can't help but feel that you're satirizing other characterizations of Oliver here... as in, I hope you are ;) He's very flirtatious at first, to an almost unbelievable extent. But then you turn it on its head and make it totally canon--the only reason he was acting so OOC was for the sake of Quidditch, which is entirely IC. Really great, there. I love the line, "'What sort of pickup line is that?' 'One that I thought would work.'" Their dialogue is really great and their characters are well-matched for one another.

And hats off for the little bit of feminism in here! Of course Oliver would think it was a bloke. I love that little twist, but again it makes total sense. Also that she hadn't even thought of calling herself the Strategist. I like that the Ravenclaw Quidditch team seems to have ignored her expertise thus far and that she's finally getting her due respect.

Really, really wonderful characterization here. Even that Oliver has a particular stance he takes during practices and that often he counts things off on his fingers. Your spelling, grammar and punctuation are perfect. And clearly you're an experienced writer. I cannot believe this is one of your "older, embarrassing" fics. I think it's completely wonderful. Reading on!

Author's Response: Bahaha, it's funny because you're mentioning a lot of things I added in after I first wrote this (I was, and still am, a chronic editor. I only stopped editing this fic when I had other fics to tend to, and then I was able to look back and officially classify this as 'old writing'). There was a lot I did to fill up the plot holes. I did try to sort-of subvert the love-hate cliches (I do satirize the hell out of Albus/OCs in another fic I have). I remember I wrote a lot of what I did because I felt like realistic progressions of relationships were underrepresented in fiction.

Feminism leaks into everything I write, aha, sprinkled everywhere really. I try to be super careful about the sort of messages that might come across in my writing, because I feel like the rom-com genre is fraught with enough terrible lessons already, and I don't need to contribute. I think there's a lot of 1) blaming the male lead 2) relying on the male lead, so the sexism goes both ways. What I wanted to say with this fic was, the blame goes both ways, and healthy relationships are all about communication. But I suppose it's still early to be rambling about this sort of stuff xD

Thanks so much again!


 Report Review

Review #32, by my_voice_rising The Secret Has a Temper

6th October 2012:
Man. Well I know this story is long-since completed and has a thousand and one reviews, but I just wanted to drop in and say how relieved I am right now. I've been looking for a funny Oliver/OC story that isn't founded on the characters hating one another for no apparent reason. And your characterization of Wood seems very refreshing, from what little you've already let on--namely that he wasn't being a completely arrogant jerk within the first few lines of his introduction. Also I think Laura Marling was the perfect person to use as a portrayal of Rona. I can clearly picture her (or her lookalike) doing all of this. I am really really excited to have found my new reading project. On I go!

Author's Response: Ahh, I saw you around the forums a bit, because I noticed you were writing an Oliver/OC too. Bahaha, I remember the disclaimer I put in the beginning of this fic. The beginning's a bit absurd because I wrote it back when I was sixteen, and it was admittedly influenced by all those jerkish Oliver Wood fics, which I've amended over the years. The later chapters I still get quite nostalgic for; I haven't written so much pure fluff in so long, and the plot evens out, hehehe.

Love Laura Marling and her music. I had her as my forum icon for the longest time, so people started thinking I looked like her (and it got so bad that so did I).

♥ thank you so much for reading! I hope you like it!


 Report Review

Review #33, by shadowcat2 The Last Match

24th August 2012:
OMG. It's finally over. I liked how it ended. the quidditch match was perfect. loved their pre-match snogging scene. The best part was they were so comfortable around each other. The fact that were playing against each other was no longer a problem, which i think was great. Absolutely loved the story. Looking forward to more bromance and romance in the sequel. I am sure i will end up loving the sequel as well. Thank you for this lovely story!

Author's Response: The last chapter ended happily enough so for the epilogue I just finished with even /more/ happy things xD You know, I never really thought of how important it is that they're comfortable playing against each other - I had just wanted to show that they realize there are more important things than winning - and now I really love that you point it out, because I see it in a new way now! ^__^

Thank you so much for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #34, by shadowcat2 Intervention Convention

24th August 2012:
Rona got her job back. Roger is somewhat less annoying now.most importantly, Oliver and Rona are finally together.Yay! Happy endings. *heart heart*

Author's Response: HAPPY ENDINGS FOR ALL :D Haha, I love cliffhangers, but I love happy endings even more~ :'D

 Report Review

Review #35, by shadowcat2 Everyone but the Girl

24th August 2012:
I absolutely loved the conversation between Jeremy and Oliver. They so needed to talk with somebody. who doesn't love a bit of broromance?
Reading about Oliver's brooding and showering *ahem* was fun. I can't believe Rona misunderstood a row for a break up. She can be so silly sometimes. But we adore her, nonetheless. The story is almost over. I think i will read the sequel to Game as soon as this is over. :)

Author's Response: Two of my favorite people finally talking ♥

Hehehehe. I LOVE OLIVER'S BROODING. See, I'm a bit annoyed by Albus' brooding in etc, but Oliver's brooding mmm. He /shower/ broods.


 Report Review

Review #36, by shadowcat2 No One Plays to Lose

24th August 2012:
*sighs*
It's finally over. i know Rona messed up big time. But at least she knows that Oliver wasn't using her. Your fluffy scenes are always great. But you're great at writing angst as well.
I have always loved reading your stories. It started with Capers then etc etc and now Game. It has been an amazing journey so far. Thank you!

Author's Response: I love that you recognize that Rona's made a mistake. A lot of people ignore that and call Oliver a jerk for making her cry, but the point of this whole blow-up is something I wanted to say about relationships, one that I think isn't shown enough in fiction - that fights aren't simple and one-sided, but they're a bundle of frustration, miscommunication, bad timing, stubbornness and a million other things.

Thank you so much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #37, by shadowcat2 O Captain, Not My Captain

24th August 2012:
The intervention of the team was quite interesting. I kinda like Jason now. Rona finally told the truth. I expected Oliver to shout and get angry. But he didn't. Either he is too forgiving or something is fishy. I just hope it's the former.
Oh,the Oliver and Rona banter was very sweet.

Author's Response: Jason is a darlinggg.

I was very careful about how I wrote Oliver angry. I think it made more sense that he wouldn't be immediately angry - there were people there and he hadn't quite processed anything. But he did feel betrayed, and was figuring out how to react to that. It's closer to real life, from what I've seen.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #38, by shadowcat2 Fortune Takes a Holiday

24th August 2012:
Rona is Oliver's first date. How cute is that? Their date was quite sweet too. Wish Roger didn't have to come and ruin it. I was kinda expecting the worse. Something like Oliver overhearing their conversation and finding out that Rona was responsible for the Natalie incident. I even thought that Oliver might dump Rona since she got fired and hence, is no longer useful. I hope things get better soon.

Author's Response: The second half of Game has so much fluff :3 also cliffhangers. But mostly fluff.

Ahaha, that does seem possible, but I suppose you saw how I wrote it instead. But you were close on Oliver finding out about Natalie! Only one chapter's worth of events off.

I like how people always seem to expect the worst with my stories though xD


 Report Review

Review #39, by shadowcat2 Happenstance Happens Entirely Too Often

24th August 2012:
Awww. They're kissing. That was cute. No, that was super cute. That was ADORABLE. Haha. I hope you remember my hierarchy of cuteness :P
I liked everything led to that kiss. I hope the consequences are not bad. As long as Oliver and Rona end up together, it's all good.

Author's Response: The hierarchy returns! 8D (when it comes to me spazzing, it eventually it just becomes incoherent keyboard smashing)

hehe, I suppose you shall see - or you've already seen! 8D


 Report Review

Review #40, by shadowcat2 A Sugar-Induced Revelation

23rd August 2012:
Awww. that was the cutest night ever. They bonded over Quidditch. But Rona is still lying about some of the things she did before. I just hope Oliver is not hiding anything too serious either. They already look like an adorable couple. Would love to see what happens next. Gee, i think i love this story now. :D

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! :3 I'm glad you've been enjoying it. Tis only 2/3s of the way through, so plenty more to come!

 Report Review

Review #41, by shadowcat2 Chasing, Seeking, Keeping

23rd August 2012:
I like Jeremy and Hannah together. I hope he doesn't get his heart broken though.The dream was so funny.I think she isn't feeling well because of those Honeybugs. It's tested like butterbear. Maybe it has something to do with Edie's brother. Ahh. CLiffhanger. How much i love one of those. Oliver in a towel. This will be VERY exciting.

Author's Response: You caught onto Edie's brother's trick!

I remember when I first thought of Oliver in a towel, and I thought, yes, I must now ;D and so I did.


 Report Review

Review #42, by shadowcat2 Boys Will Be Boys

23rd August 2012:
Oliver knows about the strategist already? How did that happen? He seems to have a lot of things planned in his head.. Despite that, it appears he is getting protective of Rona already. It's kinda cute. Rona finally admitted that she has a crush on Oliver. Oliver and Rona likes to flirt. I like to see them flirt. I hope you like to write about them flirting as well.

Author's Response: I hinted him about knowing about the strategist last chapter :) More will come! Hee, glad you like their flirting. I always miss writing fluff when I reread them ^__^

 Report Review

Review #43, by shadowcat2 In Which Oliver is Sensitive

23rd August 2012:
Oliver was watching Rona sleep. How adorable is that? I am glad Rona and Oliver are getting along now. They have also started to flirt which is great.

Author's Response: Bahah, well he only watched a while, any longer and it gets creepy ;D

 Report Review

Review #44, by shadowcat2 Spare the Guilt, Spoil the Captain

23rd August 2012:
Aww. Rona is crying. Oliver should feel guilty for hurting her like that.

Author's Response: Baww yes, though I think one will find that it goes both ways!

 Report Review

Review #45, by shadowcat2 Well, That was Unexpected

23rd August 2012:
Selling Oliver to the Weasley twins. Love Rona's idea. It's so wicked. :D
Oliver took the perfect revenge. I always love this kind of dramatic kisses.

Author's Response: I didn't realize, until I wrote a few more dramatic kisses, how much I apparently like writing them xD It began early for me!

 Report Review

Review #46, by shadowcat2 News Spreads Faster Than a Snitch

23rd August 2012:
Why did Quidditch blokes have to be so fit? it's not fair. Oliver and Rona conversations are fun to read. I really liked that bit about no one being able to stop Rona from finishing a book once she reached the last 50 pages. I loved how Oliver managed to distract her though.

Author's Response: It is a rule. Quidditch blokes also must have at least 1.5 shirtless scenes 8D

 Report Review

Review #47, by shadowcat2 Let the Game Begin

23rd August 2012:
I have always loved Oliver Wood/Oc stories. This story looks like fun. Your plots are always amazing. So i am pretty sure I will fall in love with this story in no time. The idea of a strategist in Quidditch is very believable. Oliver's attempt at flirting was fun to read. Rona looks like an interesting character as well. :D

Author's Response: Hee, reading my very first fic? ;3 Hope you enjoy! Oliver Wood is my first love ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by tangledconstellations The Last Match

29th July 2012:
OH, LOVE.

THIS WAS THE MOST PERFECT ENDING TO EVERYTHING I'VE EVER NEEDED IN MY LIFE EVER.

Honestly, since I started reading this fic I have been addicted. I have actually been thinking about it when I haven't been reading it! At work today, while tidying the sale rail (I work in retail!) I was conjuring up possible endings for this, and DREADING reaching this point, but at the same time as being SO excited, too!

This is such a triumph of a fic. You should be so proud of this, even if it is a little older now compared to the recent stuff you're writing at the mo. It doesn't make this any less brilliant. The sheer number of reviews is so impressive already and should just show you how many people have adored Rona and Oliver and Penny and Hannah and Roger and and and and. everyone, as much as I have! I've always been a little daunted to read fics that have so many reviews; there are so many epic stories on HPFF that I know I've got to get round to reading at some point, because they've got to be amazing to get so much feedback. This is one of them! I'm glad I've read it. Be so proud of yourself. Please do be. You really are an incredible writer.

This was...amazing. Fun and funky and fluffy and fab. I'll definitely be checking out the sequel in the future. But right now - thank you for this :'} the most perfect ending to the most perfect fic.

Laura xxx

Author's Response: YOUR FANGIRL

HAS MADE ALL MY DAYS

SO MUCH.

Like you can't see me, but as I'm responding, every few words, I just flail my hands up, because I don't know how to translate that into my response. But I am physically flailing, I thought you ought to know.

I've grown up with Game. It was my first piece of writing. I rewrote so much of it, went back and edited it even months after it was completed. The great thing is, looking into my other writing, I can see how themes in my other stories have branched out from stuff I wrote in Game that I didn't expand upon as much as I wanted to. I think as old as Game will ever get, I'll always love it. It's like a home :D

Bahaha, the sequel really isn't much. I really mean it when I say it's a short story collection of mindless fluff so, it's like ah... a coffee break sized piece of fun? xD It's random cute stuff I just want to post because I have it, aha. I think I will write more of it next year though. Game/Play is the story that follows my own life the most, and now that I'm crossing into adulthood and I'm starting to learn what it's like to live on my own, I can write that for Rona too. That's more of the overarching theme of that one.

AHHH Thank you so so much again :33 ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by tangledconstellations Intervention Convention

29th July 2012:
You are such a little monkey! I totally thought something AWFUL was going to happen, basing it from all the enigmatic hints in your authors responses and authors notes...except now it's a 'happy epilogue-esque frolic through the Ravenclaw - Gryffindor game!' :D :D :D i cannot wait for ittt!

This chapter was so wonderful and i love that you tied up all the loose ends. Finally, there is peace between Rona and Roger! And Rona and Oliver...and just generally RONA AND THE WORLD. :} so many hilarious one liners in this chapter. and beautiful moments - Oliver squishing her from behind! I melted. this was really lovely :'}

Eep, so on to the last chapter! Irregardless of the fact that it will be over, i bet in the future i'll return to this fic again and again :D

Laura xxx

Author's Response: BWAHAHA. Well, I wouldn't be surprised if I made something terrible happen, but on the other hand, I love a happy ending ;D

IT'S LIKE ONE STEP AWAY FROM WORLD PEACE~ kind of. I just want to group hug everyone :3

♥ gahh I AM JUST SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT!~


 Report Review

Review #50, by tangledconstellations Everyone but the Girl

29th July 2012:
YOU CAN MAKE IT OLIVER. KEEP GOING. *plays chariots of fire*

Oliver's viewpoint really worked so well here. You can kinda see how stubborn they are BOTH being. {: if he had thrown that clock i swear i would have punched him. then steered him in the direction of Rona. i love the way that neither Oliver or Rona are the bad ones in this situation. usually with like, 'couples conflict' theres always one you can kinda blame, but this is so teenagery and so real and honest. the amount of times me and my own boyfriend have fallen out (though admittedly not over Quidditch) and neither of us know who is right or wrong - it's just so real. i love that Oliver does so obviously care, though :'}

ALSO - PERCY. YAY! i feel as though he properly gets a moment in the spotlight here, and i love him a million percent. he is so sarky and pompous i want to wrap him in a blanket and squish him!

on to the next one! eeep!

Laura xxx

Author's Response: You totally made me relive the days when I first posted this chapter 8D I got flooded with RUN OLIVER RUN! reviews and it was totally like there was this cheering section in made up of my readers and it was the best thing ever. ♥

And hee, I'm thinking you read my response earlier, but yes, I totally looked at my own couple conflicts with the bf. I remember in the beginning, most of them were the little things we don't even realize we're doing, especially when an issue is a bigger deal to one person than the other. Those are the hardest things to learn.

Hee, I had such fun writing Percy 8D He has his concerns in the right order.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>