Reading Reviews for Smile Like You Mean It
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #26, by jinx_pickle_jinx Smile Like You Mean It

3rd December 2007:
you're back! wooohooo!!! haha. This was really good, i love Ron! He's so stupid in that adorable sort of way :P Insomnia also seems pretty good, but it kind of seems like its going to be similar to this one? except switched. Looks good though. Its great to see that you're writing again!

xxJINX

Author's Response: I am! LOL. I don't know for how long, but I'm definitely back. And yeah, Ron's a fun character. I love him. Just not with Hermione...heh.

And no, Insomnia is DEFINITELY not like this one. Insomnia is much darker in tone and lacking in humor (that's one way to put it...). I haven't finished it yet, but there isn't necessarily a happy ending. But yeah, believe me, it IS different.

Thanks for reviewing!! :-)


 Report Review

Review #27, by something random Smile Like You Mean It

2nd December 2007:
wow nice story, ashame harry and hermione didn't get together though...

Author's Response: Thank you! I know many people wanted Harry and Hermione to ACTUALLY get together, but I didn't feel it was fitting. I'm pretty sure, however, that it's clear that their relationship is pointing towards that direction, and that's all that matters (in my opinion, at least).

Thanks for reviewing!! :-)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Gryfflepuff Smile Like You Mean It

1st December 2007:
Aww. :) Cute. I miss the Ginny you use more often, but I think Ron's character made up for that. He was really good.
Anyway, it's wonderful to see you back and writing! This was a great step back onto HPFF! I can't wait for more of your writing!

Author's Response: I kind of missed my Ginny, too. BUT Ron was a lot more present in this fic than he usually is, which I really liked. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #29, by bdrman Smile Like You Mean It

27th November 2007:
I can't believe I did not comment on this the first time! This is not anything near the romantic comedies you have written but that wicked sense of humor is still there: "Isn’t it a rule, or something, that all guys have to feel something for their female friends at least once in their life?”
“Brilliant, now I’m a possible one night stand,”
That was funny. Very funny. And it is just the kind of thing Hermione might say. (I actually read another reviewer write about this line but I had to throw in my two cents to also say how much I enjoyed it.)

Author's Response: Hee. I'm glad you liked that. I actually worked that scene over a few times. Originally Harry said something totally different (I can't for the life of me remember what it was...), and it was just weird. Anyway, yes, that's what goes through my head (I know, I know...bad author, putting yourself into characters) whenever I hear that excuse (though it's not really an excuse, I suppose...but then again, I wouldn't exactly know).

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #30, by Hermionesclass101 Smile Like You Mean It

27th November 2007:
Hey, Hermione_Crookshanks!! Another wonderful Harmony one-shot! This was so sweet, especially how HArry stood up for her, and then got all nervous when he tried to explain how he felt. The awkwardness was perfect, especially the line "“Well we didn’t exactly have a normal adolescence, did we? Just think of it as making up for time.”" That line was perfect. And I laughed so hard when Hermione said "Brilliant, now I’m a possible one night stand,” Absolutely one of the funniest lines I've ever read. Can't wait to read Insomnia! 10/10

(= Hermionesclass =)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Those moments were hard to write, so I'm so thrilled you think they turned out right.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #31, by Hell_Hath_No_Fury Smile Like You Mean It

25th November 2007:
goodgood. i liked italot but im a big ginny fan and especially a h/g fan so the harsh treatment of gin was a little hard for me. but good nonetheless.

Author's Response: LOL. I'm sorry! Thanks for still reading even though you ship H/G. I really appreciate it! :-)

 Report Review

Review #32, by donna_cutie1 Smile Like You Mean It

25th November 2007:
it's great i loved it

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)

 Report Review

Review #33, by abhi_nke4u Smile Like You Mean It

25th November 2007:
once again you made me laugh with my stomachs in my hands and thanks for that but i m really disappointed that this is one shot and completed so early. Plz make it longer if possible and thanks again for the wonderful story of the laughter

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so happy you enjoyed it. Unfortunately this WILL remain a one shot, but I may be coming out with another multi-chaptered fic some time soon. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #34, by bdrman Smile Like You Mean It

25th November 2007:
By the way, that was a perfect title. It really sets the tone for the story. And I don't know what all those "rn" things are about. I did not do that. Wierd.

Author's Response: Thank you! Before the song played on the radio, I was attempting to make a poster. For OLA, I had concentrated on the eyes, and for some reason I just decided to concentrate on the lower half of the face. I tried out a happy Harry and Hermione in the front, with a disgruntled Ginny in the back, and when the song came on, I realized that the title HAD to be "Smile Like You Mean It." It was actually a lot of fun coming up with the title. Hee. I usually come up with the title first (I know, I'm incredibly weird), so this was interesting.

And don't worry about th "rn" thing! Weird things like that happen to me all the time. I assumed that you didn't bother to take the time and type that every other line. *Laughs* Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #35, by bdrman Smile Like You Mean It

25th November 2007:
This is a nice early Christmas present. I can't tell you how happy it makes me to come on this page and see a new story. It is very nice to know that you are still writing new things and I get to experience your talent. I live in constant dread of the message "Well folks, I am taking a long break from writing." or "I have lost interest in writing HP stories." I am very glad that today is not that day. :)
rn
rnI had to think about this story for quite a while before it hit me. Then I was very excited about it. It made me think, big time. Now. Your strories have never been big on spells, curses, hexes, house-elves, etc. In short, they don't focus
rnon all the magical trappings that comes along with the Harry Potter universe. They have always been about the people and their relationships toward each other. This story has three apparations and one disapparation and that's it. What it does is allow Harry, Hermione and Ron be regular people with regular problems such as jeaoulsy by a girlfriend toward a female best friend. Not to say that they are not regular people in your other stories but this one really brings it to the fore. THIS is why I love your work so much. These are real people trying to solve real problems. This is sort of an epiphany for me. Cool. (lol)
rn
rnFirst of all, eight times? Wow. That means that Harry is so conflicted by this situation that he has absolutely no idea how to deal with Ginny's jealousy. That sets up some immediate angst and drama. "“It’s not Hermione’s fault Gin’s a spoiled brat..." That's cool. Ron has this whole thing figured out. Of course having been in a relationship with Hermione, breaking it off, seeing Harry and Ginny go after it for this long and living in the Weasley household he seems to have a unique perspective. I really adored that little talk they had outside the house as they listen to Harry and Ginny argue. Ron has some good advice.
rn
rnI must say that I have never seen awkward done so well.
rn"I just suddenly realized how fake it all was.”-Don't think about canon, don't think about canon, don't... Anyway it was interesting to watch how Harry and Hermione are dealing with this. They both know that this breakup is permanent but they are still very comfortable in their roles. Harry the long-suffering boyfriend and Hermione the maligned best friend who is blamed for something that she has no control over. Now they realize that all of this is being turned upside down.
rn
rnThe conversation about what they mean to each other is so good. I really felt like this was a real talk that two people had who are trying to come to terms with feelings they are not quite ready to deal with. It is very easy to keep doing and acting the way you have for years. It's very tough when you wake up one day and realize someone you call a best friend is becoming something else.
rn
rnAll of these things are contained in this story. I am very glad that you did not have them kiss or say "I love you." You set the perfect tone with how you left it. Can't wait for Insomnia!

Author's Response: Oh my God! I'm so sorry it's taken me this long to reply. School became absolutely hectic. I don't think I've been so stressed before. Anyway, I'm on Winter Break now, which means I can finally reply to your reviews (and about time!).

You know, I recently realized that about my stories, too. I just can't seem to WRITE about action, and spells, etc. It's not my forte. It bores me to write about magic. Most likely because I'm just awful with descriptions, and action and such requires a LOT of description. Dialogue is so much easier, and since dialogue tends to be the basis of relationships (in my opinion), I guess my stories are usually relationship-centered. I'm so glad you like it, though! I always fear the day when I’ll get a review calling me out on the fact that my stories are more like scripts.

Yep, the eighth break up. The subject of Hermione doesn't always START the argument, but it definitely decides it. Ginny usually finds some way to work in the fact that Harry seems to care more about Hermione than his girlfriend (I wonder why? *whistles*), and Harry usually goes nuts. The question is, of course, is it because he's sick of Ginny's jealousy, or because he doesn't want to accept the truth? *Cue bad music*

Ron kind of takes my Ginny's place in this one, since Gin's a bit of a...well...yeah. Which is nice. He's an important part of the trio, and I love him to death (I just don't show it well). ANYWAY, yes, Ron definitely knows what's going on, and if anything he's just TIRED of it all, so he's trying to get things to FINALLY move forward. I'm glad you enjoyed the Ron and Hermione talk! It was the first time in a while (or ever?) that I had them have a REAL conversation. I need to include Ron more.

Aw, thank you! Awkward is always so hard for me to write, because you risk getting clichéd or simply TOO awkward. I definitely had that problem in my older stories (and probably will in future ones, too).

I'm thrilled you agree with the decision not to have them kiss or really admit their feelings. Many people are upset with me for that, but I felt it just ruined the whole point of the story. They're not supposed To start a relationship - they're supposed to realize that something's there, something they've ignored for some time now.

I can't wait to post Insomnia! It'll be awhile though. I haven't worked on it since I posted SLYMI, mostly because of schoolwork (blegh). I have finals, SATs, and, to top it all off, I'm also in a play, so who KNOWS when I'll have the time to write. But hopefully it'll be soon.

Thanks very much for reviewing, and I'm so sorry it took me this long to reply! I'll try to get to your other reviews as soon as possible. :-)


 Report Review

Review #36, by fanatic1 Smile Like You Mean It

24th November 2007:
Even though they don't get together it's still a great story! I loved it. Can't wait to see what this 'insomnia' one ends up like. Keep up the great work! If you get the chance read and review my story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I'll try to post Insomnia soon. :-)

 Report Review

Review #37, by Horcruxhuntersdotcom Smile Like You Mean It

24th November 2007:
great story, and i love the song, it's one of my favourites.

Author's Response: I love the song, too! Hee. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>