Reading Reviews for Fleur de Lys
  
76 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Sandy La malchance

5th December 2010:
I heart your Fleur and Beell! So lovely. You have a wonderful way with words. How? Well, I want each and everyone of Fleur's shoes just from the way you described them. The green ones, the black pumps, the patent Mary Janes, the yellow ones.Yay to me for discovering this story!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really glad that you do! Aw, I'm so happy that you think so :) Me too, you can never have enough shoes. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by JennyMc La malchance

3rd December 2010:
I like how she didn't get the secretary job (right away, at least) and instead getting a janitorial job. This chapter was enjoyable to read. Keep it up! :)

-Jen

Author's Response: I feel like if everything fell at her feet, it'd be too cliche. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #28, by JennyMc C’est la vie

3rd December 2010:
I'm starting to see where the story's going. And I'm happy to see that you've got Fleur's little sister in the story. I can't believe I've forgotten about her. Oops.

-Jen

Author's Response: Yeah, I added in Gabrielle and I'm hoping to add in some other characters, as well. Thank you for reading! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #29, by JennyMc Tête-à-tête

3rd December 2010:
No, I don't think it's cliche. I'm curious to read where the story's going. :) It does seem that Fleur has a bit of a shopping problem, but then again, it's shoes. They're pretty important, haha. :)

-Jen

Author's Response: I'm glad! I agree with you on the shoe part, haha :)
Thank you for reading!

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #30, by JennyMc Impossible n'est pas français

3rd December 2010:
Hi!

This is my first Bill/Fleur fic that I've read and I like it so far. :) It's sweet. Bill seems exactly as I pictured him, just a really nice person. The third person POV is perfectly fine. I like a good third person POV sometimes. Oh! And the lavender platform pumps with the red soles? Are those Christian Louboutins? I only ask because that's my favorite shoe designer. Haha.

-Jen

Author's Response: Hi there!

Aw, well I'm glad that you do :) I just thought first person would get too messy with Fleur's accent. Yes, they are :) I like his shoes, too. Haha, my favourite shoe designer is Pierre Hardy. Thank you for reading!

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #31, by angeless7fallenstarsong Impossible n'est pas français

27th November 2010:
Oh, Fleur... I have to admit, I don't really agree with the idea of her being so airheaded since she was a TriWiz Contestant, after all, but it's par for your course, or whatever the phrase for that is.

"Oh!" isn't really a French thing to say. At least not where I lived. I suggest you substitute "Ah!" which is more common French. (As in, "Ah, non.")

Overall, great start. :) Ta ta!

Author's Response: Well, she may seem air-headed, but I hope to make it come across to people that she does have some depth to her. Her liking clothes and being a damsel in distress occasionally doesn't make her air-headed.

It's curious that you say that, because I'm part French. They speak differently in France (if that's the place you lived in that you're referring to) than where I live, but we still say "Oh."

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by siriusly_magical La malchance

21st November 2010:
I love this story so far, it's really cute how Fleur is so tongue-tied around Bill. I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: I'm really happy that you do! Oh, there's gonna be way more tongue-tied-ness for Fleur ;)
I will, I'm in the process of writing the next chapter!

Thank you so much for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by MischiefMitched Tête-à-tête

28th September 2010:
ClearCutDiamonds,

Once again, you managed to garner my attention with the second installment, "Tête-à-tête," of Fleur de Lys. I very much enjoyed this fast and fun read and am coming to like the character of Fleur more and more with every chapter. I can firmly say she's the french counterpart of the legendary Carrie Bradshaw!

I look forward to indulging in part trois very soon!

Cheers, MischiefMitched

Author's Response: Well, I'm really glad that you liked this chapter! I hope that you continue to like her and the characters I introduce in further chapters. Haha, I never thought about it that way, but you're right!

I hope you'll like it!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #34, by MischiefMitched Impossible n'est pas français

24th September 2010:
ClearCutDiamonds,

Freshly instated at H.P.F.F, I'm pleased to say your chapter of Fleur de Lys, "Impossible n'est pas français" has become my first read. Though I am only un episode in, I'm eager to continue as I find your work to be a delightful and fashionable piece of fiction à la Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic series.

I'm happy too see another writer like myself be able to segue from the world in Vogue to J.K. Rowling's magical universe.

Again, I'm eager to continue on and hope to see Fleur bring that Louboutin heel into a repair shop! Cheers!

Sincerely, MischiefMitched

Author's Response: Hi!

Well, I'm very flattered to be your first read! The Shopaholic series inspired this story a little and I'm so glad that you like it so far.

This story is really the first story that I incorporated my interests into. Fleur and I have our shoe obsession in common and I'm really glad that someone else interested in the fashion world has come to like this story, too.

I hope that you'll like it! She will, although I'm not sure it'll happen anytime soon, Fleur is terribly absent-minded. And I'm so glad that someone got the Louboutin reference.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #35, by RomanticJC La malchance

5th September 2010:
Great story. pairs of shoesnine ’undred and fifty-six pairs of shoes I wish I add that number too

Author's Response: Thank you! Haha, you and I both.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, I appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by Miss Lily Potter La malchance

2nd September 2010:
Aw, this is sweet. (: Well, not really "sweet", per se, buut... it's... cute. (: Ha. I love Bill/Fleur, such an adorable pairing.

So she's got a job, though it's not the one she wanted... Wow. 956 pairs of shoes? I wish I had that many... *sigh* (;

Another adorably awesome chapter. :D
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad that you think so! They are! Not enough fanfics of them though.

Basically, yeah. Oh, me too.. :)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #37, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 La malchance

29th August 2010:
janitor? that is the last thing you think of when you hear the name fleur

10/10

clea smith

Author's Response: Yeah, that was kind of the point. Fleur is going to learn about new things.. I was trying really hard not to make this cliche.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by hufflypuff La malchance

26th August 2010:
great chapter - update soon! and Bill is so cute, i love him :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I will try! I love writing him and their awkward conversations

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #39, by Livy La malchance

26th August 2010:
Very cute! very funny! cant wait for the chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you thought so! I will try to update this asap! Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by momotwins C’est la vie

22nd August 2010:
Gabrielle's owl cracked me up. Very cute touch. Gabrielle throwing her sister out of bed - literally - was a bit much I thought. Her interaction with Fleur at the bank was cute though, and felt very sisterly. Isn't Gabrielle only about 11 at this point? I can't remember her age. I didn't find the French at all difficult, but I speak French so I may not be the best person to offer an opinion on that ;) I am very much enjoying that the French accent is correctly done, though.

I hope you plan to post another chapter soon! I quite enjoy this ship, can't wait to see how this progresses.

Author's Response: I added in that small detail and I'm glad someone picked up on it. It was just a minor touch that I felt describes her personality. I try and think of how my younger sister acts and the things she does, so that Gabrielle and Fleur's relationship is relatable. You're right, she is supposed to be 11 at the wedding, but in this story she's 16. Yeah, I haven't had any complaints on the French yet, so I think people can more or less understand what's going on. I'm constantly going over the dialogue to make sure it sounds how a French person with a heavy accent would speak English so I'm glad that you like it.

It's actually in the queue! Thank you for reading and all your encouragement, I really appreciate it! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by momotwins Tête-à-tête

22nd August 2010:
The way Bill keeps averting his eyes, I didn't notice it in the first chapter (well I did, but it didn't really register, you know) - I think he's doing it because he recognized she was part-veela and is trying to counter the effects by not looking directly at her. Arthur is sure to point this sort of thing out to the younger boys, so I like that Bill knows how to deal with it, kwim?

Fleur's distress rings true, and it feels very real as she winces over having said too much to a stranger. Great job with this chapter.

Author's Response: You know, as I was writing this, every time I mentioned him averting his eyes, I didn't remember what Mr Weasley had said about Veelas. Thanks for pointing that out. When I wrote it, he's averting his eyes because he's attracted to her and doesn't want to make it noticeable.

I try to write Fleur in a way that shows that she has bad luck just like everyone else and it's not just because she's a Veela that she thinks she's above everyone else. I'm trying to portray her like any normal girl. Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #42, by momotwins Impossible n'est pas français

22nd August 2010:
Love! Her accent was perfect, and longer words she says in French still, it was really very well done. I can totally picture Fleur having no head for money and getting in too deep because of shopping. I like that she instantly brushes off a man's attention as based on her veela heritage, but she still unloaded her problems on a sympathetic ear. It's great characterization. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so happy that you love this! :)

I'm really glad that it came across well and that people can more or less understand the French. I really wanted to make Fleur realistic and not this ice cold Veela that she is kind of portrayed as in the books. I'm so glad that you think the characterization is great because I tried really hard to make her relatable and real.

Thank you so so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by Erised C’est la vie

21st August 2010:
I love this story! You've done a great job with the characterisation - I've always imagined Fleur to be a little girlier - and the setting where she meets Bill was perfect!

10/10 :)

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you do! I've always had an idea of Fleur's personality that I don't feel I've ever read someone else write. I wanted to write a character that was obsessed with shopping and girly and Fleur just fit. What I'm trying to convey is that she's still part Veela, but she has bad luck and is flawed just like everyone else. I really can't wait to get to her and Bill's relationship!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #44, by EllaBelle18 Tête-à-tête

17th August 2010:
Oh no! I thought Bill was the glamorous Curse Breaker! Now he's a financial advisor?!?

Author's Response: I know he's a curse breaker, but it's all coming along. I'm keeping this as close to canon as possible, don't worry!

Thanks for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #45, by Miss Lily Potter C’est la vie

8th August 2010:
I think I'm learning more French reading this story than by taking my one year of French I. XD

I really like this story. (: I'm not usually one to read Fleur-centric, but I like the way you've written her. She's pretty, but that's not all she is, and I like her shopping addiction. (:

Awww, the beginning of Bill and Fleur! How sweet. (: And I really do mean that.

I like it, and I will be adding this to my favorites. Though now I keep thinking in a French accent. ><
-Jasmine

Author's Response: Haha, well then I'm glad!

I'm so happy that you do, thank you! Me neither, but this idea popped into my head and it had to be Fleur. I'm glad you like my characterization of her. Yes, she may be a Veela, but she's flawed just like anyone else - and she has bad luck, as well. :)

I'm really excited to get into their relationship.

Thank you, I'm so glad that you do like this! As I write this, I always think in a French accent, too.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #46, by livy C’est la vie

8th August 2010:
I love the story!! and the shoes!!! i so can understand buying shoes when you cant afford them!!! brillant!! your a great writer you mke ur characters so vivid!! my fav story and the teddy vic story too!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I love shoes! Haha, so can I. Thank you for your kind review! I'm so glad you like the stories! :)

 Report Review

Review #47, by Me C’est la vie

7th August 2010:
PLEASE MAKE MOREEE I"M DYING!

Author's Response: Aw, I will! The next chapter is coming! :)

 Report Review

Review #48, by hufflypuff C’est la vie

25th July 2010:
love this story! can't wait to see what happens next with Bill and Fleur - and the Gabrielle character is great - funny and believeable :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you do! I'm really excited to start writing their scenes together. I'm glad you like Fleur, she's written based on my younger sister.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by mrs_scorpiusmalfoy C’est la vie

24th July 2010:
Lovely! :)

What I meant by slightly cilche was... like, Confessions of a Shopaholic. She's not exactly Becky, but then the whole being in debt and all is sort of like it.

I like Gabrielle. It's how I see my relationship with my sister (the one I can relate to).

Brilliant. Keep 'em chapters coming!

Jaz

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I never really wrote her to be like Becky, but I see why you could compare them. I'm just writing a slightly fluffy humor story of what I think Fleur's like. Hopefully once I get the story rolling, it'll seem a little less cliche.

I like writing her. Oh, yeah, those scenes with Gabrielle and Fleur are exactly like me and my younger sister. I'm glad you can relate!

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I will keep the chapters coming! :)

Amandax


 Report Review

Review #50, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 C’est la vie

22nd July 2010:
Love the chapter Gabrielle is definitly funny!

10/10

clea smith

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it! I actually like writing Gabrielle so there will definitely be more of her in the future chapters.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

Amandax


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>