Reading Reviews for Losing Neverland
  
180 Reviews Found

Review #26, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 16: Stage Three

6th September 2011:
Again, you amaze me with your brilliant characterisations. None of the Weasleys are quite like the other, and that's really hard to do, considering how many of them there are.

I'm so happy for James - he's grown up so much since the start of the story and his evolution is just beautiful to behold. Ella was fabulous as per usual and even though there wasn't as much Rose as I've become used to, her appearance was great.

Fred is FANTASTIC. I love Fred. Fred is awesome. Go Fred! Roxanne made me laugh, and Lucy is just the cutest. For some reason when she hugged him, I started to tear up. I don't know why - perhaps because I didn't expect that sort of reaction from her, but I'm happy that they showed up. That he's finally got more people on his side and they can see how much he's changed.

Gah! Must get to the next chapter!

Author's Response: There are so, so many. I did try and make them somewhat different from one another but I'm not entirely sure how successful I was.

I'm really happy that you mention his growth. He's nowhere near perfect yet but he's getting there.

Fred ♥ I can't even remember him but I think I liked writing him...I might have to reread! I do remember Lucy though and I really like the...simplicity of her gesture compared to the bolshy Fred and Roxanne.

Thank you lovely!

xx


 Report Review

Review #27, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 15: Stage Two

6th September 2011:
OMG THEY KISSED!

THEY KISSED! THEY KISSED! THEY KISSED!

THEY FRIGGING KISSED!

GDSHGODUSGHDSOUGFHDSGUOFDHSGOFUDSGDSHO

I'D FORM A SET OF COHERENT SENTENCES IF I COULD, BUT THEY KISSED!

Author's Response: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

This is my favourite review EVER, just so you know, lovely.

I'M GLAD YOU APPROVE ♥
xx


 Report Review

Review #28, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 14: Stage One

6th September 2011:
The interaction between James and Rose is so beautiful in its simplicity. I'm really glad that she's on his side, the one helping him through his rough patch in his life.

And Ella. Ugh, she's adorable. James' crush on her so really ridiculously adorable.

I know this review isn't exactly, you know, helpful but I'm really anxious to get to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I adored writing those two together. I always liked the idea of the two of them being friends rather than Rose and Al. Rose is far more bearable when she's James' friend!

Helpful's overrated :P Your opinion is most welcome and I'm so glad you like it!

Thank you again, lovely

xx


 Report Review

Review #29, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 12: One Step Back

6th September 2011:
I'm not on the verge of tears. I swear I'm not. I don't feel horrible for poor James. Or Rose. Nope, I don't feel any of those feelings at all.

Except I do. I feel all of the feelings for them, especially James. I can't believe they burned his stuff! I'm sure it'll be explained in the chapters to come.

At least they didn't hurt Beryl. There'd be hell to pay if they hurt Beryl.

Author's Response: You definitely shouldn't feel bad for any of them. James brings a lot of what he does on himself and Rose doesn't know the full story and yet I do feel so sorry for them :P I forget how complicated this story is.

Beryl is safe. Beryl will always be safe ♥

Thank you, my darling
xx


 Report Review

Review #30, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 11: Baby Steps

6th September 2011:
I loved the opening scene between Dominique and Louis. You've given each of them quite a lot of depth, even though they're not the central focus on the story, and it's really lovely. Bill was great, too. Exactly the sort of father/granddad I imagined him being.

All I'm going to say about Ella and James is SQUEE!

I continue to like Rose more and more each chapter, which is disturbing me. I shouldn't like Rose this much. It goes against my very nature, but she's just so wonderful in this that I think I'm going to have to face the facts and admit that aside from James, she's my favorite character thus far. I can't wait to see what you're going to do with her!

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: I tried to do that with everyone, perhaps a little too hard. Dominique and Louis are quite crucial characters at the end and I rarely ever write them so I wanted to try and bring them to life a little. I really liked writing Bill as a grandad, actually :P It came quite naturally.

SQUEE SQUEE SQUEE.

Hahaha, I know. It was so hard writing her and thinking 'I should hate you. I should hate you' but it's very, very difficult to. That is a HUGE compliment on her character that you place her so highly.

Thank you so much!

xx


 Report Review

Review #31, by SnitchSnatcher Chapter 10: A Family Touch

6th September 2011:
So I never got a chance to review this chapter as I left before it was posted, but I've read it again and let me tell you - chills.

I've got them. All up and down my arms, I do, mostly because of that beautiful scene between Molly and James. There was something about their embrace and the fact that she wouldn't let go of her grandson that just touched my heart. I swear my eyes are still glimmering with tears.

And Rose! Oh, I love how you write Rose. I'm sure I've said it before, but your Rose and Marina's Rose are really the only two that I can stomach. The fact that she's so set on helping him is just...well, I'm not quite sure what it is, aside from lovely and selfless and totally not usual Rose behaviour, if the fandom's version of her is anything to go by, but it works. It works really well.

And you know how much I love Ella. She's adorable and I can't wait to see the direction her relationship with James goes in.

Fabulous chapter, dear! Just lovely! Onto the next!

Author's Response:
Your opinion is one of the most important ones on this story, if not THE most important so everything positive you say makes it all worthwhile.

The Molly and James scene is one of my favourites. I wanted it to be touching and believable so I hope that came across. I don't think, after Fred's death and Percy, Molly would ever want to lose a family member again.

Hahaha, I'm so glad you like her. You have no idea how much it PAINED me to write her positively but I kind of pretended she was Molly (II) and that made it a bit easier. Even still, I think Rose would get a decent level of empathy and sympathy from Hermione and Molly (I) too, with the harder aspects of her personality coming from both of her parents. I'm really happy she works.

SO adorable. I love her. She's this little tiny bundle of loveliness.

Thank you so much!

xx


 Report Review

Review #32, by Loony_Scorpy Chapter 19: Tomorrow

25th July 2011:
I reaaally like this story :D it is so original and I love the way that you didn't need OC's that much :) overall your story is brilliantly written and has a great plot :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it. I was kind of hoping I'd not need any OCs but couldn't manage it. One's not bad, is it? :P

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #33, by hpgrl Chapter 19: Tomorrow

10th June 2011:
Hi, just wanted to say that I'm really glad I found this fic. it was a well written, meaningful story. I'm happy that it was Rose that primarily saved James, not ella. I loved Rose's characterization and I loved that you didn't overwhelm the readers by including scenes with too many characters as is often done in next gen fics. Thanks for writing this! I really enjoyed reading it :D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I think it was really important that Rose be the primary help for James, not an OC. I never wanted this to be even slightly romantic but I couldn't work the James-Rose dynamic properly so Ella was written in (literally) later.

Thank you for reviewing. I'm so happy to hear your thoughts.


 Report Review

Review #34, by marinahill Chapter 10: A Family Touch

26th May 2011:
Awww, the Molly and James scene nearly made me cry! I was definitely tearing up a bit there. Of course she'd forgive him, she's his grandmother and she has a certain weakness for him. Very cute and sweet and also very sad. Great chapter, nice introduction of Ella and I can't wait to see what Rose does to help James.

Author's Response: I adore that scene. You've basically summed it all up so thank you so much for reading this bit of tripe and I love youuu.


xx


 Report Review

Review #35, by Jenna822 Chapter 19: Tomorrow

15th May 2011:
This chapter made me cry. It was so well done and so very realistic it really moved me. I think this entire story was just amazing! Completely. :) --Jenna

Author's Response: I think that's one of the greatest complimenta anyone can wish for, as morbid as it sounds! I'm so glad that it moved you - it means my job is well and truly done - and thank you so much for all of your reviews and your support.

 Report Review

Review #36, by Jenna822 Chapter 18: Second Impressions

15th May 2011:
So, I had finished reading this on my phone and when I was looking back through my reviews, I realized I'd never come and left the reviews for it. :(

It's been a bit since I read it, so I skimmed through to refres myself. I rather liked Molly. She seemed a bit like her father only without the attitude about it. I think the scene with James and Ella coming out of the room all dishelved was brilliant. It was a good way to show that their relationship was growing without writing it all out and making this more of a romance, which I know you've said you wanted to avoid. So I think you did a great job there!! Molly was spot on, of course. :) --Jenna

Author's Response: This is really weird :P I was skimming reviews last night and noticed you hadn't got around to leaving them yet. Bang, next day, here you are. It's so strange!

I think most of these minor characters are a bit similar to one another, really. I'd not normally characterise Molly in this way but it worked for the small cameo she received, I think.

I'm really glad you pointed out the development of James/Ella and the (hopefully) subtle way I tried to do it. I really didn't want to be flashing 'JAMES/OC HERE' in people's faces, since as I've said, that's never been the story's aim. I still feel like a bit of a sell-out for making her even into this minor role.

Thank you so much, Jenna. Your reviews are amazing.

xx


 Report Review

Review #37, by AndeeBlack Chapter 19: Tomorrow

17th April 2011:
OMG i ♥ this story it was amazing at first i thought it wasn't going to be very good but it turned out to be brilliant!!!

Author's Response: Haha, thank you...I think? :P

I'm glad it went against your expectations, though. Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #38, by ericajen Chapter 19: Tomorrow

16th April 2011:
BAWW IT'S OVER. This was such a lovely, amazing story, Rachel. I loved your take on James and all of the other next gen characters. You really did wonderful with them. Meeh. I don't know what else to say except great work!

:P

Author's Response: Thank you so much lovely - I'm glad you liked iiit!

MUCH LOVE

xx


 Report Review

Review #39, by Skit Skit Chapter 19: Tomorrow

13th April 2011:
Overall I felt that this fic was extremely well written and the romance portion b/w James and Ella wasn't overwhelming and didn't cut over the main plot of the story. I loved how you wrote James and there were a number of one-liners I really enjoyed. I also like that you add in magic because I've found that some authors disregard that as it's Harry Potter and we -know- it's a magical world... /ramble. Anyway loved it and saved to my favorites! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such lovely comments. I'm really happy that James/Ella worked out the way I wanted to; I didn't ever want it to come across like I was taking an easy way out by adding in the romance, or pandering to a general Next Gen audience. It was meant as nothing more as an extra little plot device and I'm glad it came across that way.

I'm dreadful for discarding magic in these stories, I really am. I did try for this one but then kind of forgot again by the end. Hopefully with the next story I write, it'll be different.

Thank you so much for the review - I'm glad you enjoyed it!

xx


 Report Review

Review #40, by Whimsical Diva Chapter 19: Tomorrow

13th April 2011:
The last few paragraphs were sublime. It's just so refreshing to read fully fleshed out and well-rounded characters. Real people, in other words.

The story rang very true with some of my experiences. Not that I ever really was like James - au contraire I was perhaps a bit square - but a lot of the interactions between various characters resonated eerily well. I might've mentioned this before, but what was especially delightful about the writing was that it was peppered with wonderful nuances which more efficiently nailed a character in a single sentence than countless lines of dialogue or exposition would have ever managed to. The prose seems effortless and different sections segued seamlessly without too many bells and whistles, much to my envy because I've never managed to pull it off, lol.

I wouldn't be too worried about characters transforming way too quickly, to be fair. There were times when I felt had the story not been so "James Vs the rest", had the disparity between the two (James and 'the rest') not been so divorced, had he not been the only one to have made a total hash of things while the rest had managed to hack it, and had everyone not been so unanimously forgiving, the ending would've seemed a little less perfect. Only it's bit rich of me to say that, because I love happy endings. :) Also, sometimes the Weasleys did seem appear slightly homogenised; but there are so many of them that trying to flesh out every single Weasley cousin is like being on a hiding to nothing. And anyway, the writing more than countervails these things, so I've got no business being pernickety.

Congratulations on finishing the story. I remember being a little sceptical when I started reading this, fearing I might find the protagonist utterly unsympathetic, or even worse, too sympathetic. But the story managed to walk the tightrope between these two extremes and never quite tipped off balance. The fic is like a much needed breath of fresh air when the textbook "Nextgen" fanfic has in the space of almost four years devolved into threadbare and repetitive tripe. This is right up there with some of the best coming-of-age stories I've read.

Author's Response: I'm not going to lie, I absolutely adore the end of this story. I was writing and writing this chapter and it just wouldn't end, then those last few parts came out of nowhere and I read it back and for the first time ever with my writing thought 'wow...yeah, that's right'. I was really worried about that dreaded last line but I'm really happy with it.

Oh wow, really? I think one of the best things anyone can ever hope to hear from a reader is that it rings true/is somewhat realistic for them.

I think I've definitely been told that before. I think I've got a bit of a knack for those single lines that say a lot...most of the time I don't even realise I've done it until I read back or even until someone points it out.

The wonder of the last 10 or so chapters of this story (from the Lily+Al chapter on) is that they basically wrote themseleves. I absolutely flew through them and read them back to find they weren't in need of a great deal of work - a few tweaks here and there but nothing I couldn't rectify. Chapters 5-8, however, were really tough, and getting my head around writing in a sort of omniscient voice, and with some proper canon characters thrown in really did make me worry.

Oh, happy endings ♥ I wish I could have gone on for more with this, fleshed out his changes a little greater but I wanted to finish it as soon as I could. I set myself a date to work to and this was what it became, and I couldn't bring myself to delete any of it.

Weasley cousin, aunts, uncles, parents, grandparents - honestly, this story has so many characters that my head just about exploded trying to resolve each strand of their relationships with James. Stupid big family...

I was worried writing it for those exact reasons. I never wanted him to be hated but at the same time, didn't want him to overcome all his problems and become adored because even at this ending, he's not perfect. He might yet fall back into old habits but I'd hope Ella and Rose and all the others would stand by him.

Thank you so, so much. Your reviews mean the world. They're honest and detailed and hugely inspiring. I'm really glad I didn't disappoint with this and that you enjoyed it.

Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Consciouslyignorant Chapter 5: The Invitation

13th April 2011:
Seriously, I had to stop myself from skipping a few chapters to find out what he's done just when I read the summary.
Brilliantly written.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you didn't - it'll only all become clear by the last chapter, if I remember rightly.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #42, by ericajen Chapter 18: Second Impressions

12th April 2011:
OH BAW THIS IS THE LAST CHAPTER THAT IS POSTED. Ah, well. It has been ever so lovely so far. I really like this story. I do believe it shall now have a spot on my favorite stories list. :D And only one chapter left to post! Well. At least I won't be waiting too long, hahaha.

Author's Response: IT IS BUT I HAVE UPDATED SO :D

You're so kind - thank you. It's absolutely not my best writing-wise but I like the plot and the characters and maybe one day I'll come back and rip it to shreds and make it better. Who knows?

Thank you so much for all 18 lovely (easy to reply to) reviews.
-huge squishes-

xx


 Report Review

Review #43, by ericajen Chapter 17: Trying Again

12th April 2011:
Your portrayal of Hermione is love. It's so hard to get her right, but I really like the way you write her. She seems exactly like how I imagine her to be in her adult life. And Ron, too. Baww. Only one more chapter left. :(

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you. I worry so much about writing the Very Canon characters but I much prefer the way I've written them here to the way they were in chapters 3-4. Oddly, this time I didn't have the books to reference whereas before I did. Maybe that's a good thing :P

Two now! Very timely update :P

Thank you so much, Erica ♥


 Report Review

Review #44, by ericajen Chapter 16: Stage Three

12th April 2011:
Bahahah. I really liked Roxanne in this chapter. Blunt and to the point. That's the best way to be. :P You just gotta love those characters who point right at the elephant in the room and address it directly. They're so much fun. :) I can't believe I only have two chapters left!

Author's Response: Ahahaha, I adore Roxanne. She needs a one-shot to herself too at some point. So much to do, so little time. She's completely tactless but also kind of knows what it takes for that massive great big iceberg to melt so you've got to give her credit :P

Thanks agaiiin ♥
xx


 Report Review

Review #45, by ericajen Chapter 15: Stage Two

12th April 2011:
OH MY GOD RACHEL. THAT IS SO CUTE. Baww. Ella and James. Their names even sound adorable together. I really like the way you write them together. It seems natural and they have progressed realistically. And like I said, it was very cute. :P

Author's Response: I love them together so much. Maybe they'll get a spin-off one-shot one day with their adorable little children (-thinks on names-)

I'm so glad you liked the chapter, lovely. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #46, by ericajen Chapter 14: Stage One

12th April 2011:
Well, congratulations to James for getting his job back. Ella seems like such a sweetheart, I really like her character. It'll be interesting to see what happens there. I like that she's different (or at least it's implied that she's different) from other girls he's been with. Although who knows if anything will even happen!

Author's Response: Yes - isn't he good? And I love Ella lots. I don't know whether she's different or merely that James is actually paying attention to her and seeing things in her that he's never taken the time to see in anyone else.

I think your answer to that comes in the next chapter ... or the one after that. It's soon, anyway.

Thank you ever so much, my love ♥


 Report Review

Review #47, by ericajen Chapter 13: Decision

12th April 2011:
Probably not the most relevant comment, but Victoire's family sounds so adorable. I'm still feeling bad for James. I think I shall officially put myself on his side of things. He seems like he deserves a second chance. I hope people begin to give that to him. :)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, they areee. In my head, anyway :P

Ooh, sides being picked. I like. I'm on...well, I don't know. Everyone's side but I know how it ends so I suppose I'm a special case!

Thanks agaiiin ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by ericajen Chapter 12: One Step Back

12th April 2011:
Oh, that was quite sad. I think I may actually be on James' side for this one. Burning his things seems a bit like overkill. Poor thing, especially considering that was all he had in the world. Baww. I really love this story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you said that! Sad was the intention. Again, all isn't quite what it seems and tomorrow's update will explain it but I wanted to knock his confidence a bit :P

DANKE ♥


 Report Review

Review #49, by ericajen Chapter 11: Baby Steps

12th April 2011:
I like this Ella person. She seems nice. James could probably use some more nice in his life. And it'll be interesting to see what kind of progress they can make on the fixing things with the family front. This story is so lovely, Rachel. :)

Author's Response: I love Ella. Lots. I quite wish I'd kept her for something else but she came to me very quickly - name, appearance, personality and everything - so once I'd gained a seal of approval from someone to add in a romantic OC, it was easy :D

And so are you. A thousand grazies ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by ericajen Chapter 10: A Family Touch

12th April 2011:
Baww. James was kind of adorable in this chapter. With Molly, I mean. That was a very sweet moment when they were hugging and he had tears in his eyes. Something about men crying over sentimental things. It can be so cute. :P

Author's Response: He gets adorable from now on! All sweet and lovely and trying. I adore post chapter 9 James. Men crying under any circumstance (except laughter) sets me off so, you know :P

Thank you agaiiin for being so lovely ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>