Reading Reviews for Ignite
  
311 Reviews Found

Review #26, by LightLeviosa5443 Irons in the Fire

20th November 2013:
Awe!

I wish people would give Scorpius more credit, he's actually been really helpful through this entire thing!!

I love how the house elf likes Selena, interesting. I also really enjoyed when you had her have an answer to everyone's question. Great chapter.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius has been a great background-level supporter and thus gets overlooked. Poor guy, he does deserve some credit.

Selena can cope with the House Elves because she treats them how they expect and want to be treated - she politely but firmly gives them a job and then trusts them to get on with it. And, sometimes, she's not as dumb as she looks! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #27, by LightLeviosa5443 Cooking on Gas

20th November 2013:
I love how Scorpius and Rose had that little moment in the hallway. It was so cute!!

Can I just say that I love how fabulously smart Rose is? And I'm so proud of Scorp for remembering that bit in the Hogwarts contract!!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: I felt bad writing Rose in this story - she IS rocking smart, but she's always stood next to Methuselah Jones who, as we'll see, is a downright genius. But Rose is academically smart and ALSO far better than Jones at lateral thought, dealing with people, and working with a dynamic, changing situation. She has her moments of shining.

As, sometimes, so does Scorpius. He survives by wits, not smarts, but he's no slouch in the brains department when he gets going. Poor kid needs to realise this.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #28, by LightLeviosa5443 Out of the Frying Pan

20th November 2013:
What a mean house elf! I guess Dobby was the only helpful one of his race, huh? I mean, if they helped the students, then the six that were still well could figure out what was going on.

I really hope they find out what's going on. I kind of giggled when I saw Potter was checking on Hufflepuff though I'm not entirely sure why.

If Scorpius has been outsmarting teachers for years, couldn't he find a way to break into the Headmasters Office?

You've created an extremely captivating and interesting story, and I'm impressed with how many details you've put in and what you've created. I'm absolutely loving this story.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: I'm sure there ARE other kind and helpful House Elves. Just Harley isn't one of them - or, rather, he's not helpful in the way Dobby's helpful.

Scorpius likes to think he's been outsmarting teachers for years. He can pull the wool over their eyes in the classroom, on occasion. Beating the wards and protections around the Headmaster's Office? That's something else - but we'll see about that some point in the future.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by LightLeviosa5443 Hot Pursuit

20th November 2013:
Poor Hugo. Rose is going to freak!

I wonder why the dementors were there? What is causing all of this craziness?! I was a bit confused during that dementor scene, but they were confused so I think that's a good thing.

I hope they figure out what's going to happen, soon!!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Yeah, Rose isn't going to be so happy when she finds out Hugo's in a bad way. She's stressed enough as it is.

Everything IS confused. Answers might take a while in coming out, but they'll be there, worry not! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #30, by LightLeviosa5443 Fever Pitch

20th November 2013:
I really liked this chapter. I'm so curious as to what's going on. I honestly would just plow through them, but I thought I'd let you know how much I'm enjoying the story, as I like it when people do that for me!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Certainly not going to object to people stopping to say a few kind words about my work! It's good to hear, and I'm glad to know you're enjoying this. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by LightLeviosa5443 Like Wildfire

20th November 2013:
Loved this chapter. I can't wait to read what's going to happen next. What were the centaurs running from or for? What was with the creepy fire and nasty smell?!

Great chapter!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: All in good time. Mysteries shall be revealed. I'll make folks dangle a little while more for the answers, mind.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #32, by LightLeviosa5443 Sackcloth and Ashes

20th November 2013:
I love detentions in the Forbidden Forest! Those are always the most fun! I'm really liking the way this story is coming along, though what I really can't wait for is for Albus to forgive Scorpius. Poor guy.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: This one will definitely be a detention to remember! Albus and Scorpius will make up soon enough, don't worry - they can't stay mad at each other for too long. Albus is far too forgiving.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by Allison On an Open Fire

19th November 2013:
I started this novel yesterday and I'm at a loss for words. I've never been into the "next generation" and you've turned my opinion around. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Oddly, I'm not a huge Next Gen fan myself. Guess I wanted to do a Next Gen story in a style which would appeal to me. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #34, by LightLeviosa5443 The Melting Pot

19th November 2013:
I really liked this chapter.

I'm interested in finding out Scorpius' side of the story, and what really happened in the past relationship that is causing all of these problems. Also, when is Rose going to break up with Flynn, because really! He's such a prat!

I love your writing style, I waited a few chapters before I started to review to make sure that I was really captivated, but I know I'm going to continue reading this one. Brilliant job!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius' story will come out over the course of the fic, have no fear. As will some sort of resolution or peace-making between Rose and Flynn who, really... he DOES have good points. Just he also has glaring flaws she has yet to see.

I'm glad you're enjoying the fic! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #35, by Gail Melt Into Me

16th November 2013:
THE SIRIUS PART HAS ME CRYING.

Author's Response: GOOD.

Nah, seriously, thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #36, by Shayanne Dubois Embers

16th November 2013:
This is the best picec of work I have ever read! You really really should consider writing your own stories. You do have a great talent. I love the way it's a fanfiction, but focuses more on the actual plot than the romance. But that there is still romance in the plot. A perfect balance. You, my friend, are a fabulous writer.

Author's Response: Huzzah, double review joy. Happens to us all. So I'll just say thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Shayanne Dubois Embers

16th November 2013:
This is the best picec of work I have ever read! You really really should consider writing your own stories. You do have a great talent. I love the way it's a fanfiction, but focuses more on the actual plot than the romance. But that there is still romance in the plot. A perfect balance. You, my friend, are a fabulous writer.

Author's Response: I do write my own stories - but fanfiction is easy fun, I fuss less about the pressure, and it kills time when I'm editing and grafting. But thank you! And, yes - I'm a sucker for romance, but I think romance is best driven by plot, and plot without strong relationships (romantic or otherwise) under it would be dull!

Many thanks for the kind words and the review.


 Report Review

Review #38, by Wizards_unite Embers

13th November 2013:
Wait NO please write an epilogue! I want to know what happens! I've read this story from the beginning and loved all of the characters and I want to know what happens to Locket!

Author's Response: Don't worry! There is a sequel, titled 'Starfall'. The first chapter is up. I should put a note on that in this finale! More will be revealed, I promise.

 Report Review

Review #39, by RocioWeasley270500 Embers

11th November 2013:
I can't believe it's over. Wonderful story, excelent characters and the passion you've put into this is breathtaking. I'll keep my eyes open for the sequel

Author's Response: The sequel, entitled Starfall, is up and started already. Thanks for enjoying, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Dear Dobby Embers

11th November 2013:
I've read a lot of fanfic, but I haven't seen anything like this. Your story actually felt like a Harry Potter book. It's definitely my favorite. Awesome job!

Author's Response: I think Ignite would make a terrible young adult book, but I'm glad I'm keeping the spirit of the Potterverse intact! Thank you for enjoying, and thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #41, by Penelope Inkwell Embers

9th November 2013:
Wow. I canít believe itís over. This was so good. SO, so good. I just donít even know what to write now. Iím filled with that sense you get after you read a good book, where you just feel that strange, sad relief that you finally know everything, that itís finally over. Itís like watching your balloon float away into the sky--that sense of release and sadness.

Also, Iím reduced to not being at my most linguistically gifted at the moment, so suffice it to say that you did a really, really good job. And I loved every chapter. Even the ones that I hated.

Thank you.


Favorite Quotes:

"All of their proper conversations had happened while she was an otter.Ē

'Ask her why she made the Elixir of Clarity,' he blurted out, because today the only way he could feel remotely capable of resolving conflict was to yell people's secrets.


-'It's no big deal. It's just, Malfoy Manor. Old house. Stuffy. You know?'

-'I never liked the place,' opined Ron Weasley, straight-faced. 'And besides, I realised you've never had one of my mum's Sunday roasts and I reckon that's the worst thing I ever heard.í

--the best part of this is how absolutely morbid this joke is, considering the events of the only time we know of Ron Weasley being at Malfoy Manor. And then how he follows it up with such a lighthearted comment. The juxtaposition of dark humor and actual happy moments is, like, the *essence* of this story.


AND WAIT! THEREíS *MORE*?!!!

YESs. (Just remind me to purchase a defibrillator first. Itíd be nice to have some reassurance that Iíll be able to restart my heart, since your stories put it in so much peril. So many emotions!

Yay : D

--Penny

Author's Response: I am beyond glad this chapter provided necessary catharsis to all that came before! It doesn't wrap everything up, by any means, and I wanted to leave threads lingering for Starfall's sake, but at the same time, reconciling the major emotional arcs of Ignite was important. That it didn't bundle everything up into a neat package, but was still satisfying, is heartening.

I don't know about you but when I lost my balloons as a kid I mostly threw an epic tantrum. :P

Interesting you picked up on the Malfoy Manor reference. It's something which struck me about Scorose - his ancestral home is where her parents were horribly tormented and actually tortured. That's WEIRD. SUPER WEIRD. Also glad the contrasting feel is a juxtaposition instead of whiplash-inducing!

And yes. There's more. Always more... but thanks for all the reviews so far!


 Report Review

Review #42, by Penelope Inkwell Blaze of Glory

9th November 2013:
Oh my sweet goodness, was Methuselah able to produce a patronus because he was so happy to finally be with Selena? Because he finally had a good enough memory?! Because if so, that is just...so...*sniffle*...heartbreaking. And sweet.

And. Heart. Breaking.

But I suppose I really should have seen this coming. I mean, after Tim, anyone was pretty much fair game. I let myself be lulled into false complacency. I should have known a sacrifice was imminent. I hate that it happened, but it does fit the sort of epic nature of this story. Iíd have almost expected that, if someone was going to sacrifice themselves, itíd be Al. Heís the white knight type. Which I suppose is part of why it isnít him--youíd see that coming, but you donít expect to see Methuselah Jones running into danger. Itís a real 180, especially when you think about that he nearly abandoned Scorpius in the same place, still using his logic, at the beginning of the story. It shows a real evolution of character. Methuselah never changes *who* he is--driven by logic, reason, and a desire for knowledge--but he does change *how* he is . He goes from being concerned with himself and his own preservation to caring about a whole group of people, and uses his logic in a completely different way. And of course it was the most logical thing. Of course it was. That he could still be perfectly rational and do such an impulsive thing without actually being impulsive at all is so thoroughly Methuselah.

Ack.

Iíll just briefly mention that Scorpius, Albusí, and Methuselahís patronus (I was going to make a patronus plural joke, but jokes just doesnít seem appropriate at the present) are perfect for them (canít think of Roseís if it was mentioned previously). And also the way you had the Dementors creep up on Scorpius in such a way that it was hard to tell what was natural fear and what was being caused by the evil mind games--that was really well done.

Okay. Iím gonna read forward. And sulk for a while, if thatís okay. Good job. But...*sniffle*...sadness.

But still good job.

--Penny

Author's Response: Unfortunately, yes. Methuselah couldn't have cast a patronus without a memory as strong as the ones he built with Selena. And without the patronus, he wouldn't have been able to sacrifice himself. It's vicious.

I felt pretty bad killing Tim. I mean, he was 13 years old. But I felt horrid killing Methuselah, though it was inevitable as the situation arose. He grew, he changed, and though in essentials he remained much as he had ever been, he finally had a reason to care about others. Compassion, essentially, became a factor in his logic process.

I have not yet shown Rose's patronus, though hope to do so in Starfall. It was never relevant, though may become so in future. Glad the insidious dementor thoughts crept in slowly, I didn't want it lit up in lights of "Dementor Thinking Now!" And if they'd prey on anyone and feel natural, it'd be Scorp.

Sulking is allowed. Perhaps required for this chapter! But thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #43, by em Embers

8th November 2013:
i am both overwhelmed by your brilliant conclusion and devastated that this story is over! great job! I hope you write a sequel - or at least more of this scorpius and rose!

Author's Response: There will, indeed, be a sequel! It's out now, in fact - you can carry straight on into Starfall if you wish for more.

Thanks for following the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #44, by water_lily43175 Embers

6th November 2013:
I AM HERE! Of all the times for this chapter to go up ... yeah. Bad timing. Bad, bad timing. However, I can now read this. All is well in the world.

Except for Methuselah being DEAD. But you can't fix everything.

I suddenly find myself wondering what being bed-ridden for months has done to these guys' bodies. I imagine the convenient explanation of "they're magical so their bodies coped" could go some way to making things not so bad as they might be. I guess it's possibly a plot point you didn't WANT us to start thinking about at great length ... but now I have thought about it, and it's intriguing me.

Poor Selena's grief honestly brought me to tears. The whole thing is just so heartbreaking, especially because of the effect it's likely to have on her. I mean, how do you recover from something like THIS at, what, sixteen? It doesn't bear thinking about. I absolutely love Selena's mother already, too. Even though we've barely seen any of her. It's nice to have a healthy child/parent relationship in the Potterverse, because so many characters seem to have no idea how to be a good parent! And the talk of the global council is obviously setting things up for Starfall, which excites me A LOT. All of the juicy political goodness!

Poor Selena.

Beautiful Scorpius/Nat moment. Lovely to see her becoming more human again. Their hug was wonderful. And ... this is the bit where everything becomes incoherent. Not COMPLETELY incoherent, because that only comes with Dimitri, but Cal is my favourite of the Main Four, and I will ship Cal/Nat forever, so this makes me VERY EXCITED. He's come to see her! Naw. Scorp is so adorable with his little match-making. I love his strange urges to help people. You realise, of course, that I will never be truly content until you actually write this Cal/Nat conversation. Or at least until I learn of its outcome. Unless that comes in Starfall? Here's hoping, if there's more Nat to come I'm all over it.

Oh my god please throw Dimitri into Starfall. He can be Russia's rep on the council. DO IT.

Love that Hermione's jealous (or at least IRRITATED) that someone else other than her is in charge of this council. And is doing so with such gusto. Bless her. I am getting excited about Hermione wanting Nat on board with regards the cure, it suggests my wish of more Nat will be granted. Scorp with another beautiful caring moment as he tells Hermione to learn Nat's full story before judging. Ungh I want a Scorpius.

Oho. OHO. The Scorp/Draco moment we'd been promised. And it doesn't fail to live up to expectations. Draco just ... has no clue. I love how Harry just appears as a looming presence in the background. I don't really have any words for Draco, other than he's a total 12+. And Astoria intrigues me too, purely because she must have some sense to up-and-leave Draco. Even if she HAS seemingly cut ties with Scorp too.

Lovely scene to end with. Harry offering his hospitality, and Ron being wonderfully Ron. MARVELLOUS. Basically, a chapter which ties up all the immediate loose ends, and leaves many more left to be dealt with in Starfall, which is an immensely tantalising thought. I'm already on prologue watch! And I will say more when it's not the early hours of the morning and I'm not totally SHATTERED and I can word good. But basically, this were a good fic. WELL DONE.

Author's Response: I admit I'm coughing through the "what does this do to the bodies" bit in this epilogue because... now's not the time. But it's not done them GOOD, that's for sure. The care program instituted by Nat and the House Elves will have stopped them from complete muscle atrophy, but being bed-bound will have taken its physical toll, as will Phlegethon. That will be touched on in the sequel.

Selena's grief... there was no way to do it which wasn't raw and horrible. So I embraced it being raw and horrible. How does one recover from this? On the one hand, it was a fledgling relationship, and she's young. On the other hand, wounds go DEEP. We shall see. And we'll see a lot more of Lillian Rourke, she's certainly a significant member of the supporting cast. And yes, a very dedicated and caring mother. Thankfully the Trio make good parents, or decent parents, in this - I couldn't bring myself to give them horrid family lives!

More on the international assembly in Starfall!

Nat and Scorpius needed to end their little relationship arc - and show how much they helped one another. Nat was the supportive adult Scorpius never had, and he's only just now realised the role she played as a mentor. And as for Scorpius - his faith in Nat has done her boundless good, because nobody sided with her in years. Decades.

Yes! Cal! I wasn't going to have him show up at first, but I wanted to end Nat's story as she's relegated to supporting cast in Starfall. It feels a little twee, perhaps, especially if one hasn't read the Anguisverse, but Nat deserves some happiness. She DID save the day in some significant ways. And yes, although relegated to supporting cast in Starfall, we will find out what's going on in her life very early on. And if Cal's in her life.

At present, no plans for Dimitri. If I ever need a foreign rep or a Russian, he's there, though!

Hermione has her reasons for being grouchy about Lillian Rourke, but some of those, yes, are because it's not HER show. Hermione doesn't cope with not being in absolute control in a crisis. More on Hermione, Nat, and Lillian in Starfall, and how their various responsibilities intertwine!

I am glad the Draco row doesn't disappoint. It's certainly not the last we've seen of him, and we WILL meet Astoria at some point and find out what's going on with her. As ever, the surface glance can be deceiving.

I have no idea how Ron stole the last spoken line in the story, other than by Being Ron. I'm glad this worked to tie up everything, though! If there had been no Starfall, it would have been a much longer finale, but seeing as there'll be a continuation I just wanted to draw a line under the Hogwarts plot, and the emotional arcs of those affected by that.

The long term stuff comes soon. This hardly feels like an ending, it's just jumping from one story to the next. ONWARD!

And thanks, as ever, for ALL the support and reviews.


 Report Review

Review #45, by Chelsea Embers

6th November 2013:
This was exqusite! I was hooked from the phrase "Hufflepuffs hunt in packs," and could hardly put it down until the end. I am truely glad I found this story!

Author's Response: Wonderful to hear. I'm so glad that even now people are finding the story from the beginning and enjoying the ride.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Solana Embers

5th November 2013:
I am absolutely, tremendously fulfilled and satisfied by this ending. You were so right -- this felt real in every sense. I still didn't want Methuselah to die and I'm still mourning him, but with everyone still dealing with the crisis in the wider wizarding world now ... we will have quite a lot to follow in the sequel.

Someone asked for the title. Please let us know so we can look for it ... you know, just in case.

I SO love Rose/Scorpius and look forward to further developments in their budding relationship. I love Ron's tacit approval of their pairing and the fact that Scorpius now feels loved and cared for as he so needed to. I'm so glad he's going home with Al because it will help him grow even more!

Poor little Selena. You've promised she'll be prominent in the sequel and I'm so glad. Seems like her mother will be a stalwart support for her as well as a strong fighter against the criminals who did this.

So you've brought back together Nat and Cal! I thought Scorp's wry comments to them were priceless! Oh, I just can't wait til the sequel. Please don't make us wait too long for the first chapter!

You're absolutely awesome! What a writer you are! Looking forward to it ... !

Author's Response: The sequel will indeed open up the world as a whole, moving massively beyond Hogwarts' walls - at present there are no plans for Hogwarts to ever appear in the sequel, whose title is going to be 'Starfall'.

We'll see more of Rose, Scorpius, the parents, Selena, in the future - and now we've met Selena's mother who, you're right, is going to be an integral part of the world at large and her daughter's life.

I'm glad you feel this chapter wrapped everything up well; I'm pleased with it but the audience must be, too! Thanks for following and reviewing. More to come very, very soon, I promise!


 Report Review

Review #47, by missdagane Embers

5th November 2013:
Amazing final for an amazing fic. One of the best I read. Thank you so much for this. I'm impatient to read the sequel. It seems that you plan to write three parts? Well, what a good idea.

Author's Response: I think a story of this scope deserves the traditional trilogy treatment, no? In which case you should know it's all going to go a bit mad from here.

Focusing on one at a time, admittedly, but hopefully I can work my way through a three-act epic. Part 2 coming soon! Cheers.


 Report Review

Review #48, by ihate coming up with usernames Embers

4th November 2013:
No! You can't leave me! Make another chapter! How Draco reaches out to Scorpius! Or how Scorpius stands up to his father! Or how he finds his knew life with the Weasley-Potter clan! But you cant leave me now! I will literly start to cry! In other words, I loved it to much to let it go. It was a great story and for some of the lines I would literly start laughing for five minutes, and my family would look at me like I was a crazy person. I mean "Almost lose his daughter, recieves compliment. Actully lose a broomstick, disaster." I was laughing for so long. Props on the story, and you should defently keep writing. P.S. If you hear crying from far away, its probably me missing this story.

Author's Response: Worry not, there is a sequel in the works, answering all/most of your questions... and probably bringing up new ones. I'm polishing off the first few chapters and then I shall begin to post it, very very soon!

Glad you've enjoyed the tale, the drama, the humour. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #49, by AriesGirl40 Embers

4th November 2013:
Ooooh, all set up for a sequel I see. Can't wait to see what you do with it. This story was wonderful! Great job. See you again soon

Author's Response: Yep, the pieces are indeed in place for Round Two. I'm cracking on with writing it and once I've edited the first few chapters into a state I'm happy with, I'll start posting.

See you soon indeed!


 Report Review

Review #50, by Gillian Blaze of Glory

4th November 2013:
I will never stop crying about this. You beautifully eloquent, brilliant b*stard. I thought I was sad when Sirius died, I thought I was heartbroken when Fred died... But this. This absolutely destroyed me. You are one sick, amazingly talented author and I cannot wait to read every one of your publications. Please, never stop writing.

Author's Response: Methuselah's death has broken many hearts, it seems. Including mine, I wanted very much to find a way to save him. But I could not.

There will be more to come - more from this universe, a sequel in the works right now, and hopefully coming soon.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>